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VEHICLE DEALERS

822.005 Acting as vehicle dealer with-
out certificate; penalty. (1) A person com-
mits the offense of acting as a vehicle dealer
without a certificate if the person is not the
holder of a valid, current vehicle dealer cer-
tificate issued under ORS 822.020 and the
person buys, sells, trades or exchanges vehi-
cles either outright or by means of any con-
ditional sale, bailment, lease, security
interest, consignment or otherwise.

(2) This section does not apply to persons
or vehicles exempted from this section under
ORS 822.015.

(3) The offense described in this section,
acting as a vehicle dealer without a certif-

icate, is a Class A misdemeanor. [1983 c.338
§790; 1985 c.16 §389; 1985 ¢.598 §1]

822.007 Injunction against person act-
ing as vehicle dealer in violatil:)n of vehi-
cle code or rule; court-imposed monetary

enalties. (1) In addition to any other reme-

ies provided by law, the division may peti-
tion the circuit court to enjoin a person from
acting as a vehicle dealer in violation of the
Oregon Vehicle Code or any rule adopted by
the division.

(2) A single act in violation of the pro-
visions of the Oregon Vehicle Code or of any
rules adopted by the division relating to ve-
hicle dealers sgau be sufficient ground for
the court to issue the injunction.

(3) In addition to issuing an injunction,
the court may assess a penalty not to exceed
$15,000 if the division proves by a prepon-
derance of the evidence that a person is act-
ing as a vehicle dealer without possessing a
vehicle dealer certificate. The court shall
also award reasonable costs and disburse-
m52{lt§52’] attorney and enforcement fees. [1991
C.

822,009 Civil penalties for violations
of statutes or es. (1) The division may
levy and collect a civil penalty, in an amount
not to exceed $1,000 for each violation,
against any person who has a vehicle dealer
certificate if it finds that the dealer has vio-
lated any provisions of the Oregon Vehicle
Code or of any rules adopted by the division
relating to the sale of vehicles, vehicle titl-
ing or vehicle registration.

(2) The division may levy and collect a
civil penalty, in an amount not to exceed
$5,000 for each violation, against anfr person
if it finds that the person is in violation of
ORS 822.005 (1) and (2) or of any rules
adopted by the division relating to the sale
of vehicles. [1991 c¢.541 §3)

822.010 Unlawful display or sale of ve-
hicle without certificate; exemptions;
penalty. (1) A person commits the offense of

unlawful display or sale of a vehicle without
a vehicle dealer certificate if the person is
not a vehicle dealer issued a certificate un-
der ORS 822.020 and the person does any of
the following:

(a) Displays a new or used motor vehicle,
trailer or semitrailer for sale.

(b) Acts as any type of agent for the
owner of a vehicle to sell the vehicle or acts
as any type of an agent for a person inter-
ested in buying a vehicle to buy a vehicle.

(2) The following people are not subject
to any prohibition or penalty under this sec-
tion:

(a) A person who has an exemption under
ORS 822.015.

(b) A person who receives no money,
goods or services, either directly or indi-
rectly, for displaying a vehicle or acting as
an agent.

(3) The offense described in this section,
unlawful display or sale of a vehicle without
a vehicle dealer certificate, is a Class A
misdemeanor. {1985 c.16 §388; 1989 ¢.171 §93]

822.015 Exemptions from vehicle
dealer certification requirement. In addi-
tion to any exemptions from the vehicle code
under ORS 801.026, ORS 822.005 does not
apply to the following vehicles or persons:

(1) Road rollers, farm tractors, traction
engines, trolleys, and implements of
husbandry.

(2) The owner of a vehicle as shown by
the vehicle title issued by any jurisdiction 1f
the person owned the vehicle primarily for
personal, family or household purposes. If the

erson has sold, traded, displayed or offered
or sale, trade or exchange more than five
vehicles in one calendar year, the person
shall have the burden of proving that the
person owned the vehicles primarily for per-
sonal, family or household purposes or for
other purposes which the division, by rule,
defines as constituting an exemption under
this section.

(8) A receiver, trustee, personal repre-
sentative or public officer while performing
any official duties.

(4) A real estate licensee representing a
buyer or seller in a transaction involving a
mobile home considered real property under
ORS 308.875 or 820.510.

(5) The lessor or security interest holder
of a vehicle as shown by the vehicle title is-
sued by any jurisdiction.

(6) Except as otherwise provided in this
subsection, a manufacturer who sells vehi-
cles the manufacturer has manufactured in
Oregon or mobile homes that the manufac-
turer has manufactured anywhere. Nothing
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in this subsection prevents any manufacturer
from obtaining a vehicle dealer certificate
under ORS 822.020. This subsection does not
exempt a manufacturer who sells or trades
campers or travel trailers.

(7) An insurance adjuster au.thorized to
do. business under ORS 744.505 or 744.515
who is disposing of vehicles for salvage.

4+ (8) Except as otherwise provided in this
subsection, a person who sells or trades or
offers to sell or trade a vehicle that has been
used’ in the operation of the person’s busi-
ness. This subsection does not exempt a per-
son who is in the business of selling, trading,
displaying, rebuilding, renting or leasing ve-
hicfes from any requirement to obtain a cer-
tificate for dealing in those vehicles. . (1983

¢.338 §791; 1985 .16 §390; 1985 c.316 §8; 1985 ¢.598 §2;
1987 ¢.217 §10; 1987 c.261 §6; 1991 c.541 §8]

822.020 Issuance of certificate; fee. The
division shall issue a vehicle dealer certif-
icate to any person if the person meets all
of the following requirements:

(1) The person must complete the appli-
cation for a dealer certificate described un-
der ORS 822.025.

+ (2) The person must deliver to .the divi-
sion a bond or letter of credit that meets the
requirements under ORS 822.030... :

(3) The person must deliver to the divi-
sion a certificate of insurance that meets the
requirements established by ORS 822.033.

(4) The person must pay the fee required
under ORS 822.700 for issuance of a vehicle
dealer certificate. [1983 c.338 §792; 1985 c.16 §391;
1989 ¢.434 §1; 1991 ¢.331 §144]

822.025 Application; contents. An ap-
plication for a vehicle dealer certificate is-
sued by the division under ORS 822.020 shall
be upon a form prescribed and furnished by
the division, shall be signed by the applicant
and -shall contain all of the following: .

(1) A full statement of the names of the
gersons applying with their residence and
usiness addresses:

(a) If the applicant is a firm or partner-
ship, the name of the firm or partnershi
with the names and places of residence of a
members thereof:

(b) If the applicant is a corporation, the
names of the principal officers and their res-
idences, the name of the state under whose
laws the corporation is organized and the lo-
cation of the places at which the business is
to be carried on and conducted.

(2) The name under which the business
is to be conducted.

(3) The state, city and county where the
business is or is to be located.

+ (4) The name and make of all vehicles
handled. ' .

1. (5) Whether or mot used vehicles are
handled. - : . :

(6) A certificate from the applicant
showing that the applicant is or will ‘be a
dealer in vehicles who has established or will
be establishing a vehicle business at the lo-
cation given. o

(7) A certificate signed by a person au-
thorized by the local governing body to do so,
stating that the location -of the business or
proposed business compljes with any land use
ordinances or business regulatory ordinances
of the city or county. :

(8) Any information required by the divi-
sion to efficiently administer the registration
of vehicles and regulation of dealers or other

relevant information rec}ujred by the division.
(1983 ¢.338 §793; 1985 c.598 §3

822.030 Bond or letter of credit re-
quirements; action against dealer and
surety. (1) A bond or letter of credit re-
quired to qualify for a vehicle dealer certif-
icate under ORS 822.020 or to qualify for
renewal of a certificate under ORS '822.040
must comply with all of the following:

:* (a) The bond shall have a ' corporate
surety 'licensed- to ‘do business within this
state. A letter of credit shall be an irrev-
ocable letter of credit issued by a commercial
bank as defined in ORS 706.005. The surety
or bank shall notify the division if the bond
or letter of credit is canceled for any reason.
The surety or bank shall continue to be lia-
ble under the bond or letter of credit until
the division receives the notice required by
this paragraph, or. until the cancellation date
specified in the notice, whichever is later.

(b) The bond or letter of credit shall be
executed to the State of Oregon.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this

garagraph, the bond or letter .of credit shall
e in the following sum:

(A) If the applicant is seeking a certif-
icate to be a dealer exclusively in motorey-
cles, mopeds, Class I all-terrain vehicles or
snowmobiles or any combination of those ve-
hicles, the bond or letter of credit shall be
for $2,000. .

(B) Except as provided in subparagraph
(A) of this paragraph, if the apglicant is
seeking a certificate to be a vehicle dealer,
gig o(b)gnd or letter of credit shall be for

(d) The bond or letter.of credit described
in this subsection shall be approved as to
form by the Attorney General.

(e) The bond or letter of credit must be
conditioned that the person issued the cer-
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tificate shall conduct business as a vehicle
dealer without fraud or fraudulent represen-
tation and without violating any provisions
of the vehicle code relating to vehicle regis-
tration, vehicle permits, the transfer or al-
teration of vehicles or the regulation of
vehicle dealers.

(f) The bond or letter of credit must be
filed and held in the office of the division.

(2) Any person shall have a right of
action against a vehicle dealer, against the
surety on the vehicle dealer's bond and
against the letter of credit in the person’s
own name if the person suffers any loss or
damage by reason of the vehicle dealer’s
fraud, fraudulent representations or vio-
lations of provisions of the vehicle code re-
lating to:

(a) Vehicle registration;
(b) Vehicle permits;

(c) The transfer or alteration of vehicles;
or

(d) The regulation of vehicle dealers.

(3) If the certificate of a vehicle dealer is
not renewed or is voluntarily or involuntar-
ily canceled, the sureties on the bond and
the issuer of the letter of credit are relieved
from liability that accrues after the division
cancels the certificate. [1983 ¢.338 §794; 1985 c.16
g:ilggj 1985 ¢.598 §6; 1987 c.261 §7; 1989 c.434 §2; 1991 c.331

822.033 Requirements for certificate
of insurance, A certificate of insurance re-
quired to qualify for a vehicle dealer certif-
icate under ORS 822.020 or to qualify for
renewal of a certificate under ORS 822.040
must comply with all of the following:

(1) The certificate shall:

(a) Be issued by an insurance carrier li-
censed to do business within this state;

(b) Show that the dealer is insured by a
policy that provides the minimum limits of
coverage required under ORS 806.070;

(c) Show that the dealer is insured by a
policy that provides for payment of judg-
ments of the type describedp in ORS 806.040;

(d) Show that the dealer is insured by a
policy covering all vehicles manufactured,
owned, operated, used or maintained by or
under the control of the dealer;

(e) Show that the dealer is insured by a
policy that also covers all other persons who,
with the consent of the dealer, use or oper-
ate vehicles manufactured, owned or main-
tained by or under the control of the dealer;

(f) Be dated as of the date of the motor
vehicle policy for which it is given;

(g) Contain the policy number; and

(h) Provide that the insurer shall give
the division written notice of any cancella-
tion of the policy and that the insurer shall
continue to be liable under the policy until
the division receives the notice required by
this paragraph or until the cancellation date
specified in the notice, whichever is later.

(2) The certificate of insurance must be
filed and held in the office of the division.

(3) A dealer is exempt from the require-
ment to file the certificate of insurance de-
scribed in this section if the dealer certifies,
in such form as may be required by the divi-
sion, that the dealer:

(a) Will be dealing exclusively in vehicles
of a type exempted from financial responsi-
})él)ity requirements under ORS 806.020 (1) to

(b) Will be dealing exclusively in mobile
homes; or

(¢) Will conduct business in such a man-
ner that the dealer does not have ownership,
cc;gfxégl] or possession of any vehicle. (1989
C. a,

822.035 Division inveﬂ:lifation of appli-
cation; dealer number; es; records in-
spection; dealer plates and identification
card. The division:

(1) Upon receipt of an application for a
vehicle dealer certificate, shall examine the
application and may make an individual in-
vestigation relative to statements contained
in the application.

(2) Upon being satisfied that an applicant
is entitled to a vehicle dealer certificate and
that the proger fees have been paid for the
certificate, shall assign the vehicle dealer a
distinctive dealer number that allows the
dealer to conduct business under the certif-
icate and shall forward to the dealer a vehi-
cle dealer certificate stating thereon the
dealer’s number.

(3) Has authority to determine whether
or not an applicant for a vehicle dealer cer-
tificate is a vehicle dealer.

(4) Has authority to make suitable rules
for the issuance of vehicle dealer certificates
to expire consistently with ORS 822.040.

(5) Shall make inspections of any vehicle
dealer records required under ORS 822.045
and of any vehicles included in a vehicle
dealer's inventory or located on the vehicle
dealer’'s premises. Inspections required b
this subsection shall be conducted by the di-
vision at reasonable intervals, during normal
business hours, and shall not exceed a scope
of inspection necessary for the division to
determine the following:
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(a) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with
statutes regulating vehicle dealers under the
vehicle code;

(b) A vehicle dealer’'s compliance with
those provisions of the vehicle code regulat-
ing the titling and registration of vehicles;

(c) A vehicle dealer’'s compliance with
rules adopted by the division relating to the
regulation of vehicle dealers and the regis-
tration and titling of vehicles; and

(d) The identification of stolen vehicles.

(6) Shall provide a vehicle dealer with
plates described under ORS 805.200 to allow
the exercise of the privileges granted under
ORS 822.040.

(7) May provide a vehicle dealer with
identification cards in the names of the
owners of the business or in the names of
authorized employees of the business.

(8) May adopt any reasonable rules nec-
essary for the administration of the laws re-
lating to the regulation of vehicle dealers,
the 1issuance of vehicle dealer certificates,
the issuance of vehicle dealer identification
cards and the issuance of vehicle dealer
plates. The rules adopted under this sub-
section must be consistent with the statutory
provisions of the vehicle code. The rules may
include, but are not limited to, grounds and
procedures for the revocation, denial or sus-
pension of vehicle dealer certificates and for
placing vehicle dealers on probationary sta-
tus. [1983 c.338 §796; 1985 ¢.16 §394; 1987 c.261 §7a]

822.040 Privileges granted by certif-
icate; supplemental certificate; duration;
renewal; rules. (1) The holder of a current,
valid vehicle dealer certificate issued under
ORS 822.020 may exercise the following
privileges under the certificate:

(a) A dealer is authorized, without vio-
lating ORS 803.025 or 803.300 to use and op-
erate over and along the highways of this
state all vehicles displaying the dealer’s
plates whether registered or not or whether
or not a certificate of title is issued for the
vehicle subject to the following:

(A) This paragraph does not authorize
dealers to use or operate vehicles under
dealer plates unless the vehicles are actually
owned or controlled by the dealer and in ac-
tual use by the dealer, members of the deal-
er’s firm, any salesman thereof or any person
authorized by the dealer. Vehicles operated
under dealer plates may be used for the same
purposes as are any other vehicles registered
in this state that are registered by payment
of the fee under ORS 803.420 (1). This para-
graph is subject to the limitations under ORS
822.045.

(B) Nothing in this paragraph allows
dealers to use or operate mobile homes under

dealer plates. All movement of mobile homes
by dealers shall be by trip permits issued
under ORS 803.600 and 820.560.

(C) Vehicles registered or titled in an-
other state, country, province, territory or
the District of Columbia are subject to the
provisions under ORS 803.300 and 803.305
applicable to such vehicles.

(b) A dealer is entitled to receive dealer
plates and replacement or additional dealer
plates. As many additional dealer plates as
may be desired may be obtained upon the
filing of a formal application for additional
plates with the division. The plates issued to
dealers shall be of the description under ORS
805.200, and shall require the payment of fees
as provided under ORS 805.250.

(c¢) The person is not subject to the pro-
hibitions and penalties under ORS 822.005 as
long as the holder’s vehicle dealer business
is conducted in a location approved under
the certificate.

(d) The dealer shall be considered the
owner of vehicles manufactured or dealt in
by the dealer, before delivery and sale of the
vehicles, and of all vehicles in the dealer’s
possession and operated or driven by the
dealer or the dealer’s employees.

(2) The holder of a vehicle dealer certif-
icate may move a place of business approved
under the certificate or open additional
places of business under the same business
name by obtaining a supplemental certificate
from the division under this subsection. The
following all apply to a supplemental certif-
icate issued under this subsection:

(a) The division shall not issue a supple-
mental certificate under this subsection if
the business moved or opened will be oper-
ated under a different business name than
that indicated on the current certificate. Any
business that a vehicle dealer operates under
a separate business name must be operated
under a separate certificate and the dealer
must apply for and pay the fees for a regular
dealer certificate for the business.

(b) A supplemental certificate issued un-
der this subsection is subject to the fee for
supplemental certificate renewal under ORS
822.700 upon annual renewal.

(3) A vehicle dealer certificate is valid
for a one-year period and may be renewed as
provided by the division. The division shall
only renew a certificate if the applicant for
renewal does all of the following: _

(a) Pays the required annual fee for re-
newal under ORS 822.700.

(b) Delivers to the division a bond that
meets the requirements under ORS 822.030.
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(c) Delivers to the division a certificate
of insurance that meets the requirements
under ORS 822.033.

(4) The division may adopt suitable rules
for the issuance and renewal of certificates

under this section and ORS 822.020. [1983 c.338
§795; 1985 c.16 §393; 1985 c.174 §12; 1985 c.400 §5; 1985
¢.598 §7a; 1989 c.434 §4]

822.042 Procedures for transfer of title
by vehicle dealer. (1) A vehicle dealer
transferring title or any interest in a vehicle
or camper shall:

(a) Within 25 calendar days of the trans-
fer furnish the certificate of title or other
primary ownership document for the vehicle
and any release thereon to the security in-
terest holder next named, if any, otherwise
to the lessor or, if none, to the purchaser;

(b) Within 30 calendar days of the trans-
fer submit to the division in a manner that
complies with any a;_pplicable statutes and
rules, an application for title on behalf of the
person to whom the title is to be furnished;
or

(c) Within 25 business days of the trans-
fer provide a notice of delay to the security
interest holder next named, if any, the lessor,
if any, and the purchaser. The notice shall
contain:

(A) The reason for the delay;

d(B) The anticipated extent of the delay;
an

(C) A statement of the rights and reme-
dies available to the purchaser if the delay
becomes unreasonably extended.

(2) A vehicle dealer shall maintain re-
cords as determined by the division by rule
to show whether the dealer has complied
with subsection (1) of this section.

_ (8) A vehicle dealer that fails to compl
with the provisions of subsection (1) of this
section is subject to revocation, cancellation
or suspension of the dealer’s certificate pur-

suant to ORS 822.050.

(4) The provisions of this section do not
apply to the transfer of title or any interest
in a mobile home if the transfer is subject to
@] escrow transaction. [1989 c452 §2; 1991 c.873

822.045 Vehicle dealer offenses; penal-
ties. (1) A vehicle dealer improperly con-
ducts a vehicle dealer business and is subject
to the penalties under this section if the ve-
fl}icle dealer commits any of the following of-
enses:

(a) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of failure to obtain a supplemental vehicle
dealer certificate if the vehicle dealer moves
a place of business approved under a vehicle
dealer certificate or opens any additional

place of business using the same business
name as a place of business approved under
a vehicle dealer certificate without first ob-
taining a supplemental dealer certificate un-
der ORS 822.040.

(b) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of failure to maintain proper vehicle dealer
records if the dealer does not keep records
or books with all of the following informa-
tion concerning ani'1 used or secondhand ve-
hicles or campers the dealer deals with:

(A) A record of the r,purchase, sale or ex-
c?an e or of the dealer’s receipt for purpose
of sale.

(B) A description of the vehicle or
camper.

(C) The name and address of the seller,
the purchaser and the alleged owner or other
person from whom the vehicle or camper was
purchased or received or to whom it was sold
or delivered.

(D) For motor vehicles, the vehicle iden-
tification number and any other numbers or
identification marks as may be thereon and
a statement that a number has been obliter-
ated, defaced or changed, if such is a fact.

(E) For trailers and campers, the vehicle
identification number and any other numbers
or identification marks as may be thereon.

(F) A duly assigned certificate of title or
other primary ownership document or a bill
of sale from the registered owner of the ve-
hicle or camper from the time of delivery to
the dealer until the dealer disposes of the
vehicle or camper.

(c) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of failure to allow administrative inspection
if the dealer refuses to allow the division to
conduct an inspection under ORS 822.035 at
any time during normal business hours.

(d) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of failure to allow police inspection if the
dealer refuses to allow any police officer to
conduct an inspection under ORS 810.480 at
any time during normal business hours.

(e) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of improper dealer movement of a mobile
home if the dealer moves a mobile home on
the highways of this state without first ob-
5315“5%% a trip permit under ORS 803.600 and

(f) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of illegal use of dealer vehicle for hire if the
dealer allows any vehicle operated under ve-
hicle dealer registration plates issued under
ORS 805.200 to be loaned or rented with or
without driver for hire or direct compen-
sation.

(g) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of improper use of dealer plates if the dealer
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or employee of the dealer causes or permits
the display or use of any special vehicle
dealer registration plate on any vehicle not
owned or controlled by the dealer.

(h) A person commits the offense of im-
proper display of dealer plates if the person
operates over and along the highways of this
state any unregistered vehicle owned or con-
trolled by the dealer and the dealer plates
are not displayed in the manner provided in
OIRS 803.540 for the display of registration
plates. '

(i) A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of failure to exhibit the dealer certificate if
the dealer fails to permanently exhibit the
certificate at the place of business of the

erson at all times while the certificate is in
orce.

() A vehicle dealer commits the offense
of failure to provide clear title if, within 15
daKs of transfer of title or any interest in a
vehicle or camper by the dealer the dealer
fails to satisfy:

(A) The interest of any person from
whom the dealer purchased or obtained the
vehicle or camper;

(B) The interest of any person from
whom the person described in subparagraph
(A) of this paragraph leased the vehicle or
camper; and

(C) All security interests in the vehicle
or camper entered into prior to the time of
transfer.

(k) Except as provided in subsection (2)
of this section, a vehicle dealer commits the
offense of failure to furnish certificate of ti-
tle if, within 90 calendar days of transfer of
title or any interest in a vehicle or camper
by the dealer, the dealer has failed to:

(A) Furnish the certificate of title or
other primary ownmership document for the
vehicle or camper and any release thereon to
the security interest holder next named, if
any, otherwise to the lessor or, if none, to
the purchaser; or

(B) Submit to the division in a manner
that complies with any applicable statutes
and rules, an application for title on behalf
of %h% person to whom the title is to be fur-
nished.

(2) A dealer shall not be considered to
have committed the offense described in par-
agraph (k) of subsection (1) of this section if
the dealer demonstrates that:

(a) The dealer has made a good faith ef-
fort to comply; and

(b) The dealer’s inability to provide title
is due to circumstances beyond the dealer’s
control.

(3) The offenses described in this section
are subject to the following penalties:

(a) The offense described in this section,
failure to obtain a supplemental vehicle
dealer certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor.

(b) The offense described in this section,
failure to maintain proper vehicle dealer re-
cords, is a Class A misdemeanor.

(c) The offense described in this section,
failure to allow administrative inspection, is
a Class A misdemeanor.

(d) The offense described in this section,
failure to allow police inspection, is a Class
A misdemeanor.

(e) The offense described in this section,
improper dealer movement of a mobile home,
is a Class B traffic infraction.

(f) The offense described in this section,
illegal use of dealer vehicle for hire, is a
Class B traffic infraction.

(g) The offense described in this section,
improper use of dealer plates, is a Class C
traffic infraction.

(h) The offense described in this section,
improper display of dealer plates, is a Class
B tratfic infraction.

(i) The offense described in this section,
failure to exhibit the dealer certificate, is a
Class A misdemeanor.

(j) The offense described in this section,
failure to provide clear title, is a Class A
misdemeanor.

(k) The offense described in this section,
failure to furnish certificate of title, is a

Class A misdemeanor. (1983 c.338 §797; 1985 c.16
ﬁ?; 1985 ¢.598 §8; 1987 c.261 §8; 1989 c.452 §3; 1991 ¢.873

822.050 Revocation, cancellation or
suspension of certificate. (1) The division
may revoke, susgend or place on probation a
vehicle dealer if the division determines at
any time for due cause that the dealer has
done any of the following:

(a) Violated any grounds for revocation,
suspension or probation adopted by the divi-
sion by rule under ORS 822.035.

(b) Failed to comply with the require-
ments of the vehicle code with reference to
notices or reports of the transfer of vehicles
or campers.

(c) Moved or caused a mobile home to be
moved without complyin% with the require-
ments for trip permits under ORS 820.560.

(d) Caused or suffered or is permitting
the unlawful use of any certificate or regis-
tration plates.

(e) Violated or caused or permitted to be
gllo51?3eg ORS 815.410, 815.415, 815.425 or
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(f) Falsely certified under ORS 822.033
that the dealer is exemgt from the require-
ment under ORS 822.020 or 822.040 to file a
certificate of insurance.

(g) Continued to fail to provide clear title
or repeatedly failed to provide clear title in
violation of ORS 822.045.

(2) The division shall cancel a vehicle
dealer certificate immediately upon receipt
of legal notice that the bond described under
ORS 822.030 is canceled.

(3) The division shall cancel a vehicle
dealer certificate immediately upon receipt
of notice that the certificate of insurance re-
quired under ORS 822.033 is canceled.

(4) Upon revocation, cancellation or sus-
pension of a vehicle dealer certificate under
this section, the division shall recall and de-
mand the return of the certificate and any
vehicle dealer registration plates issued un-

der ORS 805.200. [1983 c.338 §798; 1985 c.16 §396;
§2]85 ¢.251 §26; 1987 c.158 §176; 1989 c.434 §5; 1989 c.452

822,055 Failure to return revoked,
canceled or suspended certificate; pen-
alty. (1) A person commits the offense of
failure to return a revoked, canceled or sus-
pended vehicle dealer certificate if the divi-
sion recalls and demands the person to
return any certificate or registration plates
under ORg 822.050 and the person has those
items requested and does not return them to
the division without further demand.

(2) The offense described in this section,
failure to return revoked, canceled or sus-
pended vehicle dealer certificate, is a Class

A misdemeanor. [1983 ¢ 338 §799; 1985 ¢.393 §56; 1987
¢.158 §177]

822.060 Illegal consignment practices;
penalty. (1) A vehicle dealer issued a certif-
icate under ORS 822.020 commits the offense
of illegal consignment practices if the dealer
does any of the following:

(a) Takes a vehicle on consignment and
does not have proof that the consignor is the
registered owner, a security interest holder
or lessor of the vehicle.

(b) Takes a vehicle on consignment from
a security interest holder without the secu-
rity interest holder first completing a repos-
session action prior to consigning the vehicle
and providing the dealer with proper docu-
mentary proof of the repossession action.

(c) Takes a vehicle on consignment and
does not have the terms of the consignment
agreement in writing and provide a copy of
the agreement to the consignor.

(d) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has on

consignment and does not pay the consignor
within 30 days of the sale.

(e) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has on
consignment and does not either provide the
purchaser with the title to the vehicle or
with other primary ownership documents or
apply to the division in the purchaser’s name
foxl' title to the vehicle within 30 days of the
sale.

(f) Does not allow the division or any
duly authorized representative to inspect and
audit any records of any separate accounts
into which the dealer deposits any funds re-
ceived or handled by the dealer or in the
course of business as a dealer from consign-
ment sale of vehicles at such times as the
division may direct.

(g) Takes any part of any money paid to
the dealer in connection with any consign-
ment transaction as part or all of the deal-
er's commission or fee until the transaction
has been completed or terminated.

(h) Does not make arrangement for the
disposition of money from a consignment
transaction with the seller at the time of es-
tablishing a consignment agreement.

(2) The offense described in this section,
illegal consignment practices, is a Class A
misdemeanor. [1985 c.16 §398; 1991 ¢.873 §46]

822,065 Violation of consigned vehicle
transfer; penalty. (1) A person commits the
offense of violation of a consigned vehicle
transfer if the person consigns a vehicle to
a vehicle dealer issued a certificate under
ORS 822.020 and the person fails or refuses
to deliver the title or other primary owner-
ship document for the vehicle to the dealer
or purchaser upon sale of the vehicle under
consignment.

(2) The offense described in this section,
violation of a consigned vehicle transfer, is
§a4 7(]31ass A misdemeanor. (1985 c.16 §399; 1991 c.873

822.070 Conducting illegal vehicle re-
building business; penalty. (1) A person
commits the offense of conducting an illegal
vehicle rebuilding business if the person is
not the holder of a valid current dealer’s
certificate issued under ORS 822.020 and the

erson does any of the following as part of a
usiness:

(a) Buys, sells or deals in assembled, re-
constructed or substantially altered motor
vehicles.

(b) Engages in making assembled, recon-

structed or substantially altered vehicles
from motor vehicle components.

(2) This section does not apply to the
following persons or vehicles:

(a) An insurance adjuster authorized to
do business under ORS 744.505 or 744.515
who is disposing of vehicles for salvage.
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(b) A person who assembles, rebuilds or
reconstructs not more than two vehicles in
any one-year period.

(¢) Roadrollers, farm tractors, trolleys,
traction engines, implements of husbandry,
well-drilling machinery, fire wagons or fire
engines.

(d) Motor vehicles that are not of a type
reguired to be registered under the vehicle
code.

(e) The holder of a wrecker’s license is-
sued under ORS 822.110.

(3) The offense described in this section,
conducting an illegal vehicle rebuilding busi-
ness, is a Class A misdemeanor. [1985 c.16 §400)

822.075 Notice of civil action on mobile
home held in inventory; penalty for re-
moval. (1) Upon taking any action author-
ized by ORS 822.007 or 822.009, the division
may post a notice of civil action on any mo-
bile home held in inventory by a person act-
ing as a vehicle dealer without a certificate.
The notice shall inform the public that the
person offering the mobile home for sale is
currently the subject of a judicial or admin-
istrative proceeding in order to determine
whether the person does not hold a vehicle
dealer certificate as required by law and that
it therefore may be unlawful for the person
to sell the mobile home to a retail customer.

(2) A notice posted in accordance with
subsection (1) of this section may be removed
only upon authorization by the division. The
division shall authorize removal within 10
days after any one of the following:

(a) The dismissal or termination of the
procegding instituted under ORS 822.007 or
822.009:;

(b) The person has fully paid any lawfully
owing civil penalty and is otherwise in com-
pliance with the provisions of this chapter;
or.

(¢) The division finds that the mobile
home is being offered for sale by a person
who holds a vehicle dealer certificate or a

erson who is exempted by the provisions of
RS 822.015 from the certification require-
ment.

(3) The division may levy and collect a
civil penalty, in an amount not to exceed
$5,008 per occurrence, against any person
who removes a notice posted in accordance
with ‘subsection (1) of this section without
authority to do so. [1991 c.541 §6]

822.080 Procedures for civil penalties
imposed under ORS 822.009 or 822.075;
disposition of moneys. (1) Civil penalties
under ORS 822.009 or 822.075 shall be im-
posed in the manner provided in ORS
183.090.

(2) An application for a hearing on a civil
55121?)17? imposed under ORS 822.009 or

(a) Must be in writing;

(b) Must be postmarked or received by
the division within 20 days from the date of
igxév(l;cge(z) of the notice provided for in ORS

(c) Must state the name and address of
the person requesting a hearing; and

(d) Must state the action being contested.

(3) Hearings on civil penalties imposed
under ORS 822.009 or 822.075 shall be con-
ducted before a representative of the divi-
sion.

(4) The division may, at its option, assign
any unpaid civil penalty to the Department
of Revenue for collection. The department
shall deduct reasonable expenses from any
amounts collected.

(5) All civil penalties received under ORS
822.009 or 822.075 shall be paid into the State
Treasury each month and credited to the ac-

count of the Motor Vehicles Division. [1991
c.541 §85, 11]

WRECKERS

822.100 Conducting a wrecking busi-
ness without a certificate; Fenalty. 1) A
person commits the offense of conducting a
wrecking business without a certificate if the .
person 1s not the holder of a valid, current
wrecker certificate issued under ORS 822.110
and the person does any of the following:

(a) Carries on or conducts, in whole or
in part, the business of buying, selling or
dealing in vehicles for the purpose of wreck-
ing, dismantling, disassembling and offerin
for sale the used vehicle components thereof.

(b) Carries on or conducts, in whole or
in ﬁirt, the business of buying, selling or
dealing in vehicles for the gurpose of wreck-
ing, dismantling, disassembling or substan-
tially altering the form of any motor vehicle.

(c) Carries on or conducts, in whole or in
part, the business of selling at wholesale
wrecked, dismantled, disassembled or sub-
stantially altered vehicles.

(d) Engages in the activity of wreckixiF,
dismantling, disassembling or substantially
altering vehicles including the crushing,
compacting or shredding of vehicles.

(2) The offense described in this section
does not apply to persons or vehicles ex-
empted from this section under ORS 822.105.

(3) The offense described in this section,
conducting a wrecking business without a

certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor. [1983
c.338 §800]
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822.105 Exemption from wrecker cer-
tificate requirement. In addition to ex-
emptions from the vehicle code under ORS
801.026, ORS 822.100 does not apply to the
following:

(1) An insurance adjuster authorized to
do business under ORS 744.505 or 744.515
who is disposing of vehicles for salvage.

(2) Road rollers, farm tractors, trolleys
or traction engines.

(3) Implements of husbandry, well-drilling
machinery and invalid chairs.

(4) Golf carts. [1983 c.338 §801; 1985 c.598 §9)

822.110 Wrecker certificate; qualifica-
tions; fee; application; local government
approvals; bond or letter of credit. The
division shall issue a wrecker certificate to
any person if the person meets all of the fol-
lowing requirements:

(1) The person must establish that the
area approved under the wrecker certificate
for use in the wrecking business meets one
of the following criteria:

(a)'The area is more than 1,100 feet from
the nearest edge of the right of way of any
state highway.

(b) The business conducted within the
area is hidden or adequately screened by the
terrain or other natural objects or by
plantings, fences or other appropriate means,
so as not to be visible from the main traveled
way of the highway, in accordance with rules
adopted by the State Highway Engineer or a
duly authorized representative of the high-
way engineer.

(¢) The area and the business thereon are
located in an area zoned for industrial use
under authority of the laws of this state.

(2) The person must pay the fee required
under ORS 822.700 for issuance of a wrecker
certificate.

(3) The person must complete the appli-
cation for a wrecker certificate described
under ORS 822.115.

(4) The person must deliver to the divi-
sion any approvals by local governments re-
quired under ORS 822.140.

(5) The person must deliver to the divi-
sion a bond or letter of credit that meets the

re&uirements of ORS 822.120. [1983 c.338 §802;
1985 c.16 §401; 1991 ¢.331 §139]

822,115 Application; contents. An ap-
plication for a wrecker certificate issued by
the division under ORS 822.110 or for re-
newal of a certificate under ORS 822.125
shall be ugon a form prescribed and fur-
nished by the division, signed and verified b
the applicant and containing all of the fol-
lowing:

(1) A full statement of the name of the
person applying for the certificate with the
person’s residence and business addresses.

(2) If the applicant is a firm or partner-
ship, the name of the firm or partnership,
with the names and places of residence of all
its members.

(3) If the applicant is a corporation, the
names of the principal officers and their res-
idences and the name of the state under
whose laws the corporation is organized.

(4) A description of the dimensions and
the location of the ance or places at which
ghe bélsiness is to be carried on and con-

ucted. ‘

(5) A certification that the right of way
of any highway adjacent to the area proposed
for approval to conduct the wrecking busi-
ness under the certificate is used for access
to the premises and public parking.

(6) Any other relevant information re-

uired by the division. [1983 c.338 §803; 1985 c.16
2; 1987 ¢.261 §9]

822,120 Bond or letter of credit re-
quirements; action against certificate
holder and surety. (1) A bond or letter of
credit required to qualify for a wrecker cer-
tificate under ORS 822.110 or renewal of a
certificate under ORS 822.125 must be: -

(a) With a corporate surety licensed to
transact business within this state, or as to
a letter of credit, an irrevocable letter of
credit issued by a commercial bank as de-
fined in ORS 706.005;

(b) Executed to the State of Oregon;
(c) In the sum of $2,000;

(d) Approved as to form by the Attorney
General;

(e) Conditioned that the person issued
the wrecker certificate will conduct business
without wviolation of this section, ORS
803.140, 819.010, 819.012, 819.016, 819.040,
822.140 or 822.150; and

(f) Conditioned that the bond or letter of
credit is subject to an action under this sec-
tion.

(2) Any person shall have a right of
action against the holder of a wrecker cer-
tificate and the surety on the holder’s bond
or the wrecker's letter of credit issuer-if the
person suffers any loss or damage by reason
of the certificate holder’s violation of this
section, ORS 803.140, 819.010, 819.012,

819.016, 819.040, 822.140 or 822.150. [1983 c.338
§804; 1985 c.16 §403; 1985 c.176 §3; 1991 c.331 §140; 1991
¢.820 §17; 1991 c.873 §48)

822.125 Privileges granted by certif-
icate; supplemental certificate; duration;

renewal; identification cards; rules. (1)
The holder of a current, valid wrecker cer-
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tificate issued under ORS 822.110 is not sub-
ject to the prohibitions and genalties under
ORS 822.100 as long as the holder’'s wrecking
business is conducted in the location ap-
proved under the certificate.

(2) The holder of a wrecker certificate
may expand the dimensions or move a place
of business approved under the wrecker cer-
tificate or open an additional place of busi-
ness under the certificate upon issuance of
a supplemental wrecker certificate by the di-
vision. The following apply to supplemental
certificates issued under this subsection:

(a) The division shall grant a supple-
mental certificate upon request of an appli-
cant under this subsection if the applicant
obtains local government permission for the
supplemental certificate under ORS 822.140.

(b) Upon application for renewal of the
supplemental certificate, the division may
waive the requirement that an applicant for
renewal under this subsection obtain local
government approval under ORS 822.140 of
the suitability of the applicant to establish,
maintain or operate a wrecking yard or
business.

{c) No fee shall be charged for a supple-
mental wrecker certificate under this sub-
section.

(3) A wrecker certificate is valid for a
one-year period and may be renewed as pro-
vided by the division. The division shall only
renew the certificate of any certificate
holder who does all of the following:

(a) Pays the required annual fee for re-
newal under ORS 822.700.

(b) Completes the- application described
in ORS 822.115.

(c) Obtains local government approval
under ORS 822.140. The division may waive
the requirement that an applicant for re-
newal obtain local government approval un-
der ORS 822.140 of the suitability of the
applicant to establish, maintain or operate a
wrecking yard or business.

{(d) Maintain a current bond that meets
the requirements under ORS 822.120.

(4) The division may provide the holder
of a wrecker certificate with identification
cards in the names of the owners of the
business or in the names of authorized em-
ployees of the business.

(5) The division may adopt suitable rules
for the issuance and renewal of wrecker cer-
tificates and 1identification cards. (1983 ¢.338
§805; 1985 c.16 §404; 1987 ¢.261 §9a)

822.130 Division inspection of books,
records, inventory and premises. (1) The
Motor Vehicles Division may inspect the
books, records and inventory of and the

premises used b§ any business issued a cer-
tificate under ORS 822.110 for the purpose
of determining compliance with any of the
following:

(a) Those laws regulating the issuance of
certificates to wreckers.

(b) Requirements for records under ORS
822.135.

(c) ORS 802.200, 803.140, 819.010, 819.016,
819.030, 819.040 or 822.120.

(d) Rules adopted by the division con-
cerning business issued certificates under
ORS 822.110.

(2) Provisions for enforcing this section
are established under ORS 822.135 and
822.145. (1985 c.16 §406; 1991 c.873 §49]

822.135 Improperly conducting wreck-
ing business; penalty. (1) A person commits
the offense of improperly conducting a
wrecking business 1if the person holfs a
wrecker certificate issued under ORS 822.110
and the person does any of the following:

(a) Fails to permanently exhibit the
wrecker certificate at the place of business
of the person at all times while the certif-
icate is in force.

(b) Expands the dimensions of or moves
any of the person’s places of business or
opens any additional places of business with-
out obtaining a supplemental wrecker certif-
icate by the procedure under ORS 822.125.

(c) Fails to maintain records at the per-
son’s established place of business that re-
cord and describe the following:

(A) Every motor vehicle purchased,
transferred, wrecked, dismantled, disassem-
bled or substantially altered by the person;

(B) The name and address of the person
:_o alclld from whom the vehicle was trans-
erred;

(C) The vehicle identification number and
other identification marks or numbers on the
vehicle; and

(D) A statement indicating any such
numbers or marks that have been obliter-
ated, defaced or changed.

(d) Fails to have in the person’s pos-
session a duly assigned certificate of title or
other primary ownership document or notifi-
cation of award or purchase for a motor ve-
hicle from the time the vehicle is delivered
to the person until the person disposes of the
vehicle. If the certificate of title has been
surrendered as provided in ORS 819.012, the
person must have a notification of award or
purchase in order to comply with the pro-
visions of this paragraph.

(e) Refuses, at any time, to allow a police
officer to inspect the books, records, inven-
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tory or premises of the person’s wrecking
business.

(f) Fails to maintain, for the purposes of
the person’s wrecking business, a building or
an enclosure or other barrier at least six feet
in height that is constructed, established or
formed in compliance with rules adopted by
the department.

(g) Fails to keep the premises on the
outside of the establishment clear and clean
at all times.

(h) Conducts any wrecking, dismantling
or altering of vehicles outside the building,
enclosure or barrier on the premises of the
business.

(i) Except as otherwise provided in this
paragraph, stores anﬂ vehicles or vehicle
garts or conducts the business outside of the
uilding, enclosure or barrier on the prem-
ises of the business. A person is not in vio-
lation of this paragraph if the person
complies with the following limits:

(A) In an area zoned by the city or
county for industrial use, a wrecking busi-
ness may display and offer for sale motor
vehicle parts or nonoperating vehicles out-
side the enclosure or barrier in a single de-
fined area limited to not more than five

ercent of the total area of the business and
if no more than eight vehicles are displayed.

(B) In an area zoned by the city or
county for any use other than industrial use,
a wrecking business may offer not more than
four vehicles for sale in an area outside of
the building, enclosure or barrier.

(§) Fails to immediately file with the di-
vision, upon transfer of a wrecked or dis-
mantled vehicle, the form furnished by the
division to report the date of transfer, a de-
scription of the vehicle, the name and ad-
dress of the purchaser and other information
respecting the vehicle required by the divi-
sion.

(k) Except as otherwise provided in this
paragraph, fails to keep the business hidden
or adequately screened by the terrain or
other natural objects or by plantings, fences
or other appropriate means so as not to be
vigible from the main traveled way of the
highway in accordance with the rules of the
State Highway Engineer. This paragraph
does not apply to a business that is:

(A) Farther than 1,100 feet from the
nearest edge of the right of way of any state
highway;

(B) Located in an area zoned for indus-
trial use under authority of the laws of this
state; or

(C) A business established before June
30, 1967.

(L) Expands or moves any place of busi-
ness approved under a wrecker certificate or
opens any additional locations for the
wrecking business without obtaining a sup-
plemental certificate under ORS 822.125 or
obtaining an additional wrecker certificate.

(m) Fails to allow the division to conduct
inspections as provided under ORS 822.130.

(2) The offense described in this section,
improperly conducting a wrecking business,

is a Class A misdemeanor. (1983 c¢.338 §806; 1985
¢.16 §407; 1985 ¢.400 §6; 1991 ¢.820 §18; 1991 ¢.873 §50]

822,140 Local government approval
requirements. (1) To meet the requirement
for local government approval of a wrecker
certificate under ORS 822.110 or for a sup-
plemental certificate under ORS 822.125, an
applicant must comply with any regulations
established by a city or county under this
section and must obtain the approval of the
governing body of the:

(a) City, if the business is or will be car-
ried on within an incorporated city of less
than 100,000 population.

(b) County, if the business is or will be
carried on outside of any incorporated city.

(2) A city or county governing body shall
grant approval of a wrecker certificate or
renewal when requested under this section
if the governing body:

(a) Approves the applicant as being suit-
able to establish, maintain or operate a
wrecker yard or business;

(b) Determines that the location or pro-
{)osed location meets the requirements for
ocation under ORS 822.110;

(c) Determines that the location does not
vioéate any prohibition under ORS 822.135;
an

(d) Approves the location and determines
that the location complies with any regu-
lations adopted by a city or county under
this section.

(3) The governing body of a city or
county may regulate the expansion of prem-
ises or the establishment of premises at a
new location under a wrecker certificate. An
ap?licant must comply with the regulations
before the division may issue a supplemental
wrecker certificate. In adopting regulations
under this subsection, a governing body:

(a) Shall consider the extent of develop-
ment of surrounding property as a residential
area;

(b) Shall consider the groximity of
churches, schools, hospitals, public buildings
or other places of public gathering;

(c) Shall consider the sufficiency in num-
ber of other wrecking businesses in the vi-
cinity;
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(d) Shall consider the health, safety and
general welfare of the public;

(e) May establish zones in which wreck-
ing businesses are permissible and other
zones where they are prohibited; and

(f) May prescribe limitations on the di-
mensions of the premises on which wrecking
businesses are conducted.

(4) Regulations of a city governing body
that are adopted under this section apply to
wrecking businesses located outside of and
within six miles of the boundaries of the cit,
unless the county governing body in whic
the area is located has adopted regulations
under this section that are applicable in the
area. {1983 c.338 §807; 1985 c.16 §408)

822.145 Revocation, cancellation or
suspension of certificate or identification
card. (1) The division may revoke any
wrecker certificate issued under ORS 822.110
or identification card issued under ORS
822.125 if the division determines at any time
for due cause that any of the following have
occurred:

(a) The person holding the certificate has
failed to comply with any requirements for
registration of vehicles under the vehicle
code.

(b) The person holding the certificate has
violated ORS 803.140, 819.010, 819.012,
819.016, 819.040 or 822.135.

(c) The person holding the certificate has
caused or suffered or is permitting the un-
lawful use of the wrecker certificate.

(d) The premises where the wrecking
business is conducted no longer has access
to any adjacent highway from the place
where the wrecking business is conducted.

(e) Any highway adjacent to the premises
where the wrecking business is conducted
does not have public parking available.

(f) The person holding the certificate has
gizozls?lliéesd any regulation adopted under ORS

(g) The person holding the certificate has
failed to allow the division to conduct in-
spections as provided under ORS 822.130.

(h) The person holding the certificate has
failed to supply the certification concerning
highway access and public parking or has
violated the requirements of such certif-
ication. .

(i) The person holdin
card has unlawfully use
lawful use of the card.

(2) The division shall cancel or suspend
any wrecker certificate immediately upon re-
ceipt of legal notice that the bond described
under ORS 822.120 is canceled.

an identification
or permitted un-

(3) Upon revocation, cancellation or sus-
pension of a wrecker certificate or identifi-
cation card under this section, the division
shall recall and demand the return of the

certificate or identification card. [1983 c.338
§808; 1985 c.16 §409; 1985 c.176 §4; 1987 c.261 §9b; 1991
¢.820 §19; 1991 ¢.873 §511

822.150 Failure to return revoked,
canceled or suspended certificate or
identification card; penalty. (1) A person
commits the offense of failure to return a
revoked, canceled or suspended wrecker cer-
tificate or identification card if the division
recalls and demands the person to return a
certificate or card under ORS 822.145 and
the person does not return the certificate or
card to the division.

(2) The offense described in this section,
failure to return a revoked, canceled or sus-
pended wrecker certificate or identification

card, is a Class A misdemeanor. (1983 c.338
§809; 1987 ¢.261 §9cl]

TOWING BUSINESSES

822.200 Operating illegal towing busi-
ness; exceptions; penalties. (1) A person
commits the offense of operating an illegal
towing business if the person does not hold
a certificate issued under ORS 822.205 and
the person does any of the following:

(a) Engages in the towing or recovering
of vehicles by any means for any direct or
indirect compensation when the vehicle be-
inﬁ towed or recovered is owned by a person
other than the person performing the towing
or recovery activity.

(b) Engages in towing or recovering by
any means, as part of any business operation
of the person, vehicles that are wrecked,
damaged, disabled or abandoned or replace-
ment vehicles. .

(c) Purports in any way to be engaged in
the business of performing activities de-
scribed in this subsection.

(2) This section does not apply to any of
the following:

(a) Persons ogerating under and within
the scope of a vehicle transporter certificate
issued under ORS 822.310.

(b) A person who provides assistance to
another motorist, whether or not compen-
sation is received, if the assistance is not
provided as part of the business operation of
the person providing the assistance.

(c) A person engaging in any activity re-
lating topa vehiclg %:1 gwhich ythat pe);‘son
holds a security interest.

(d) An employee of a person issued a
towing business certificate under ORS
822205 while that employee is performing
official duties as an employee.
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(3) The offense described in this section,
%ﬁerating an illegal towing business, is a
§41%]SS A misdemeanor. (1983 c.338 §811; 1985 c.16

822205 Certificate; qualifications; fee.
The division shall issue a towing business
certificate to any person if the person meets
all of the following requirements to the sat-
isfaction of the division:

. (1) The person must complete an applica-
tion on a form and in the manner established
by the division by rule.

(2) The person must maintain insurance
in amounts and providing coverage of the
type required for motor carriers under ORS
chapter 767. The division may accept the
certification of the person as evidence of
compliance with this subsection or may re-
quire other evidence, as the division deter-
mines appropriate.

(3) The person must maintain insurance
providing $15,000 coverage for cargo trans-
ported by the person. An applicant is not re-
quired to comply with this subsection if the
applicant tows or recovers only vehicles that
are owned by the applicant. The division may
accept the certification of the person as ew:-
dence: of compliance with this subsection or
may require other evidence, as the division
determines appropriate.

(4) The person must maintain vehicles
used by the person for the purposes of towing
or recovering services so that they meet
minimum safety standards established by the
division by rule. The division may accept the
certification of the person as evidence of
compliance with this subsection or may re-
quire other evidence, as the division deter-
mines appropriate.

(5) The person must pay the fee required
under ORS 822.700 for issuance of a towing

business license. [1983 ¢.338 §813; 1985 c.16 §412;
1985 c.400 §7]

822.210 Privileges granted by certif-
icate; duration; renewal; regulation of
holder. (1) The holder of a current, valid
towing business certificate issued under ORS
822.205 may exercise the following privileges
under the certificate:

(a) The person and any employee of the
person who is performing official duties are
not subject to the prohibitions and penalties
under ORS 822.200.

(b) The person is entitled to receive spe-
cial towing business registration plates. The
following apply to plates described in this
paragraph:

(A) The holder of the certificate or a
erson in the performance of the person’s of-
icial duties as an employee of the certificate

holder may use the plates:

(i) For towing and recovering vehicles;
and

(ii) For towing unregistered vehicles over
the highways of this state without first ob-
taining registration for the vehicles or trip
permits required under ORS 803.600.

(B) The plates shall be of the design pro-
vided under ORS 805.200 and are subject to
gayment of fees for issuance as provided un-

er ORS 805.250.

(2) A towing business certificate expires
one year from the date of issuance unless
renewed. A certificate holder may renew the
certificate by payment of the fee for renewal
of a towing business certificate under ORS
822.700. A person whose certificate expires
must qualify for a certificate in the same
manner as a person who has not previously
held a certificate.

(3) The holder of a towing business cer-
tificate is subject to regulation by political
subdivisions as provided in ORS 801.040 and
822.230, and to regulation under ORS chapter

767 as provided in ORS 801.035. [1983 c.338 §812;
1985 c.16 §411; 1987 ¢.765 §4]

822215 Grounds for denial, suspen-
sion, revocation or refusal of certificate.
The division may deny or refuse to issue any
towing business certificate under ORS
822.205 or may suspend, revoke or refuse to
renew any towing business certificate issued
uFon proof that the a(f)plicant for or holder
of the certificate has done any of the follow-
ing:

(1) Used fraud or deception in securing
the certificate.

(2) Received in any manner or by any
device any rebate or other additional fee for
towing or recovery from a person who per-
forms repairs on a vehicle who does not also
own the vehicle. This subsection does not
prohibit the payment of the towing fee by a
person who performs repairs on a vehicle if
the fee is included in the charges by that
person for repairs on the vehicle.

(8) Uses vehicles for the purposes of
towing or recovering services that do not
meet the minimum safety standards estab-
lished by the division.

(4) Fails to display special towing busi-
ness registration plates and stickers or iden-
tification devices for J>roportionall
registered tow vehicles issued under OR
805.200 on each vehicle used to tow or re-
cover vehicles.

(5) Fails to maintain the amounts and
types of insurance required to qualify for is-
suance of a towing business certificate under
ORS 822.205.

(6) Fails to obtain any permits or au-
thority required under any provision of ORS
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chgyter 767 or rules adopted thereunder.
[1983 ¢.338 §814; 1991 c.284 §30]

822.217 Proportional registration for
tow vehicles. (1) Any person who qualifies
under ORS 822.205 for a towing business
certificate may choose to register qualified
vehicles under the proportional registration
provisions of ORS 768.007 or 768.009. Except
as otherwise provided in this section, tow
vehicles registered under ORS 768.007 or
768.009 are subject to the same requirements,
conditions and privileges as other vehicles
registered under those sections. Tow vehicle

roportional registration is subject to the
ollowing:

(a) In addition to any application for
registration required by ORS 768.007 or
768.009, the agplicant must certify in a man-
ner determined by the division by rule that
the applicant meets the qualifications speci-
fied in ORS 822.205.

(b) The applicant must hold a towin
business certificate issued under O
822.205.

(c) In addition to any application for re-
newal of registration required by ORS
768.007 or 768.009, in order to renew propor-
tional registration for a tow vehicle, the ap-
plicant shall certify to the Public Utility
Commission that the applicant meets the
qualifications specified in ORS 822.205.

(d) The division shall issue appropriate
identification devices for proportionally reg-
istered tow vehicles. The design for such de-
vices shall be as determined by the division
by rule and the fees for such devices are as
provided in ORS 803.577.

(e) An identification device for propor-
tionally registered tow vehicles is subject to
cancellation as provided in ORS 822.218.

(2) A vehicle that has been issued tow
vehicle proportional registration may be used
only for the purposes described in ORS
822210. Violation of this subsection is
punishable as provided in ORS 822.200 for
og&rgg?g an illegal towing business. (1991
C.

822.218 Cancellation of identification
device for proportionally registered tow
vehicle. (1) The division shall have the au-
thority to investigate and verify information
provided in conjunction with application for
proportional registration of a tow vehicle
under ORS 822.217. The division may cancel
an identification device for a proportionally
registered tow vehicle if the division deter-
mines that the owner or lessee of the vehi-
cle, or an employee of either, has:

(a) Operated the vehicle in violation of
tow vehicle registration limits;

(b) Falsely certified an application re-
quired by ORS 822.217 for registration or re-
newal of registration of a proportionally
registered tow vehicle; or

(c) Falsely completed an application un-
der ORS 822.205 for .a towing business cer-
tificate.

(2) If a tow vehicle proportional registra-
tion identification device is canceled under
this section, the vehicle is not eligible for
registration under ORS 822.205 for a period
<§)2t'9 ]one year after the cancellation. [1991 ¢.284

822,220 Authorization to obstruct
traffic; failure to take precautions; pen-
alty. (1) The operator of a wrecker or tow
vehicle may stop the wrecker or tow vehicle
where it obstructs traffic when the operator:

(a) Is engaged in the salvaging of another
vehicle; and

(b) Takes the precautionary measures re-
quired by this section.

(2) A person commits the offense of fail-
ure to take precautions when obstructing
traffic with a tow vehicle or wrecker if the
person is operating a wrecker or tow vehicle
engaged in the salvaging of another vehicle
and the operator does not do all of the fol-
lowing:

(a) Determine that the salvaging opera-

tion requires stopping the wrecker or tow
vehicle 1n the roadway.

(b) Place warning signs or signals as
prescribed under ORS 815.070 at a suitable
distance in each direction upon the roadway.

(c) Activate tow vehicle warning lights
described in ORS 816.280.

(3) The offense described in this section,
failure to take precautions when obstructing
traffic with a tow vehicle or wrecker, is a

Class D traffic infraction. {1983 ¢.338 §815; 1985
c.71 §9]

822,225 Failure to remove injurious
substance; penalty. (1) A person commits
the offense of tow vehicle operator failure to
remove injurious substance if the person is
operating a tow vehicle that is removing a
wrecked or damaged vehicle from a highway
and the person fails to remove any glass or
other injurious substance dropped upon the
highway from such vehicle.

(2) The offense described in this section,
tow vehicle operator failure to remove
injurious substance, is a Class C traffic in-
fraction. (1983 c.338 §816; 1985 c.71 §10)

822230 City or county regulation of
towing businesses. (1) Notwithstanding
ORS 822.200 to 822.225, and except as pro-
vided in subsection (2) of this section, a city
or county may, by charter or ordinance, reg-
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ulate towing businesses if the city or county
charter or ordinance provisions pertain only
to towing authorized by ORS 98.812 and the
provisions:

(a) Regulate an aspect of a towing busi-
ness that is not regulated by ORS 822.200 to
822.225; or

(b) Regulate an aspect of the towing
business that is regulated by ORS 822.200 to
822,225 and the provisions of the charter or
ordinance are more stringent than those of
the statutes. .

(2) This section does not authorize impo-
sition of any license fee or tax on a towing
business by a city or county.

(3) The governing body of a city or
county may adopt ordinances that include,
but are not limited to, the following require-
ments:

(a) That towing businesses accept meth-
odshof payment other than and in addition to
cash.

(b) That towing businesses post fees in a
conspicuous place at the location of the
towed vehicles.

(c) That any posted signs that warn of
the possibility of towing or that give infor-
mation about recovery of a towed vehicle be
prominently displayed and show the fees
charged to recover a towed vehicle.

(d) That towing businesses offer trans-
portation at a reasonable cost from within
the immediate vicinity of the place from
wl;lip}i the vehicle was towed to the towed
vehicle.

(e) That towing businesses establish lo-
cations for towed vehicles in such a way that
no vehicle will be towed a greater distance
than is necessary and reasonable.

() That towed vehicles be stored in a

public location that has at least one attend-
ant on duty at all times. [1987 ¢.765 §2]

VEHICLE TRANSPORTERS

822.300 Acting as vehicle transporter
without certificate; exemptions; penalty.
(1) A person commits the offense of acting
as a vehicle transporter without a certificate
if the person is not the holder of a vehicle
transporter certificate issued under ORS
822.310 and the person drives or tows any
vehicle over the Eighways of this state that
is:

(a) Required to be registered under the
vehicle code;

(b) Driven or towed on its own wheels;

(c) Driven or towed from outside this
state or from a manufacturer or vehicle
dealer within this state; and

(d) Driven or towed to a prospective pur-
chaser, manufacturer or dealer or the agent
thereof either in this state or in any other
state, territory or foreign country.

(2) The offense described in this section
does not apply to persons or vehicles ex-
empted from this section under ORS 822.305.

(3) The offense described in this section,
acting as a vehicle transporter without a

certificate, is a Class C traffic infraction.
[1983 ¢.338 §817; 1985 c.16 §413]

822.305 Exemptions from vehicle
transporter certification requirement. In
addition to any exemptions from the vehicle
code under ORS 801.026, ORS 822.300 does
not apply to the following:

(1) Vehicles lawfully operated with plates
ngglézlaed to vehicle dealers under ORS

(2) Vehicles lawfully operated with regis-
tration plates issued by this state.

(3) Vehicles being towed by other vehi-
cles lawfully operated with plates issued for

towing businesses under O 822.210. [1983
¢.338 §818; 1985 c.16 §414)

822310 Privileges granted by certif-
icate; duration; renewal; identification
cards; fee; rules; regulation of holder. (1)
The holder of a current, valid vehicle trans-
porter certificate issued under this section
may exercise the following privileges under
this certificate:

(a) The person is not subject to the pro-
hibitions and penalties under ORS 822.300
while transporting vehicles as provided un-
der this section.

(b) The person is entitled to apply for and
receive a sufficient number of special vehicle
transporter plates or devices and may trans-
port vehicles as provided under this section
while displaying the plate or device. Only
one plate or device shall be displayed on a
vehicle. The plates or devices shall be of a
design described under ORS 805.200 and shall
require a fee for issuance as provided in ORS
805.250. A plate or device issued under this
paragraph may be used on any vehicle trans-
ported by the person.

(c) The person may drive or tow on its
own wheels over the highways of this state
any unregistered vehicle from outside this
state or from manufacturers or dealers
within this state to a prospective purchaser,
manufacturer or dealer in this or any other
state, territory or foreign country. This par-
agraph only permits the Ferson to transport
mobile homes from the place of manufacture
to the place of business of a mobile home
dealer holding a certificate under ORS
822.020. Any other movement of a mobile
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home by the person must be under a trip
permit issued under ORS 803.600.

(2) The division shall provide for the is-
suance and renewal of vehicle transporter
certificates under this section to persons
regularly engaged in businesses that require
the certificates.

(3) The division may provide the holder
of a vehicle transporter certificate with
identification cards in a manner determined
by the division by rule.

(4) Vehicle transporter certificates issued
under this section are subject to all of the
following:

(a) A certificate described in this section
is valid for a one-year period and shall be
renewed as provided by the division.

(b) The division shall not issue a certif-
icate to a Eerson until the fee for issuance
of the certificate under ORS 822.700 is paid.

(5) The division may adopt suitable rules
for the issuance and renewal of certificates
described by this section.

(6) A person issued a certificate under
this section is subject to regulation under

ORS chapter 767 as provided in ORS 801.035.
%})%8]3 ¢.338 §819; 1985 c.16 §415; 1985 c.598 §10; 1987 ¢.261

822.315 Improper use of vehicle trans-
porter plate; penalty. (1) A person commits
the offense of improperly using a vehicle
transporter plate if the person is the holder
of a vehicle transporter certificate and the
person does any of the following:

(a) Exercises privileges granted under
ORS 822.310 for vehicles with special vehicle
transporter plates issued under ORS 822.310
without conspicuously displaying the plates
on the rear of each vehicle.

(b) Uses a special vehicle transporter
plate to transport a mobile home to a situs
not permitted under the privileges granted
under ORS 822.310.

(c) Allows any person other than the
transporter or transporter's employee to use
the special vehicle transporter plates issued
to the transporter under ORS 822.310.

(2) The offense described in this section,
improper use of vehicle transporter plates, is
a Class C traffic infraction. (1983 c.338 §820]

822.320 Revocation of certificate and
cards. (1) The divisioni may revoke a vehicle
transporter certificate issued under ORS
822.310 if the division determines that the
holder of the certificate has transported a
mobile home to a situs not permitted under
the privileges granted under ORS 822.310
without obtaining a trip permit issued under
ORS 803.600.

(2) The division may demand and require
the return of any vehicle transporter certif-
icate revoked under this section, of any spe-
cial vehicle transporter plates issued to the
holder of the revoked certificate and of any
identification cards. [1983 c.338 §821; 1987 c.261 §9]

822,325 Failure to return revoked cer-
tificate and cards; penalty. (1) A person
commits the offense of failure to return a
revoked vehicle transporter certificate if the
division demands and requires the return of
any certificate, cards or plates under ORS
822.320 and the person has those items de-
manded and does not return them to the di-
vision.

(2) The offense described in this section,
failure to return a revoked vehicle transpor-
ter certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor,
{1983 ¢.338 §822; 1985 ¢.393 §57; 1987 c.261 §9f]

822.400 [1983 ¢.338 §823; 1985 c.16 §416; repealed by
1987 ¢.261 §13]

822,405 [1983 c.338 §824; 1985 c.16 §417; repealed by
1987 c.261 §13]

822410 (1985 ¢.16 §420; 1987 ¢.217 §11; repealed by
1987 ¢.261 §13]

T 822415 [1985 c.459 §14; repealed by 1987 ¢.261 §13]
822420 [1985 ¢.459 §15; repealed by 1987 ¢.261 §13]

DRIVER TRAINING
(Commercial Driver Training Schools)
822.500 Operating commercial driver

training school without certificate; pen-
alty. (1) A person commits the offense of op-

erating a commercial driver training school
without a certificate if the person is not the
holder of a valid, current driver training
school certificate issued under ORS 822.515
and the person operates a business or
nonprofit enterprise that engages, for a con-
sideration, in educating and training persons,
either practically or theoretically, or both, in
the driving of motor vehicles.

(2) The offense described in this section
does not apply to a business or nonprofit en-
terprise engaged in educating and trainin
persons for a profession or an accredite
secondary school, college or university.

(3) The offense described in this section,
operating a commercial driver training
school without a certificate, is a Class A
misdemeanor. [1983 c.338 §826; 1985 c.393 §58]

822.505 Commercial driver training
school bond; requirements; actions
against school or surety. (1) A bond re-
quired under ORS 822.515 for issuance or re-
newal of a commercial driver training school
certificate must comply with all of the fol-
lowing:

(a) The bond shall have a corporate
surety licensed to do business within this
state.
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(b) The bond shall be executed to the
State of Oregon.

(c) The bond shall be in the sum of
$2,500.

(d) The bond shall be approved as to form
by the Attorney General.

(e) The bond must be conditioned that
the person issued the certificate shall con-
duct business as a commercial driver train-
ing school without fraudulent representation
and without violation of any rules adopted
by the division under ORS 822.515.

(f) The bond must be filed and held in the
office of the division.

(2) Any person shall have a right of
action against a commercial driver training
school and against the surety on the bond of
the school in the person’s own name if the
person suffers any loss or damage by reason
of the school’s fraudulent representations or
violation of rules adopted by the division un-
der ORS 822.515.

(3) If the certificate of a school is not
renewed or is revoked or canceled, the
sureties on the bond shall be relieved from
liability accruing subsequent to cancellation
or revocation by the division. (1983 ¢.338 §827]

822.510 Proof of imsurance; require-
ments. An applicant or holder of a commer-
cial driver training school certificate may
maintain proof of insurance required under
ORS 822,515 for issuance or renewal of the
certificate complying with any of the follow-
ing:

(1) The school may file a certificate of
insurance with the division that complies
with all of the following:

(a) The insurance must be issued to the
school.

(b) The insurance must be issued by an
insurance company authorized to do business
in this state.

(¢) The insurance must show that the in-
sured has grocured and has in effect a motor
vehicle liability policy that provides at least
the following coverage:

(A) $50,000 because of bodily injury to or
death of one person in any one accident;

(B) Subject to the limit for one person,
$100,000 because of bodily injury to or death
of (’;wo or more persons In any one accident;
an

(C) $25,000 because of injury to or de-
struction of the property of others in any one
accident.

(d) The policy shall designate by explicit
description or by appropriate reference all
motor vehicles with respect to which cover-
age is granted.

(e) The policy shall insure any and all
persons using any motor vehicle owned or
operated by the school with the consent of
the school against loss from the liabilities
imposed by law for damages arising out of
the operation, use or maintenance of the
motor vehicle.

(2) The school may provide the division
with proof that the school has a bond that is
conditioned on the payment of claims in the
amg_unts required f())r insurance under this
section.

(3) The school may provide the division
with a certificate of the State Treasurer
stating that the school has deposited with
the State Treasurer the sum of $50,000 in
cash or in securities that may be legally
purchased by fiduciaries or for trust funds
and that have a market value of $50,000.

(4) The school may obtain a valid certif-
icate of self-insurance from the division. (1983
¢.338 §828]

822,515 Certificates; issuance; suspen-
sion or revocation; duration; fee; bond;
proof of insurance. (1) A person who holds
a valid, current commercial driver training
school certificate issued under this section is
not subject to the prohibitions or penalties
under ORS 822.500.

(2) The division shall adopt rules to pro-
vide for the issuance of commercial driver
training school certificates under this sec-
tion. Rules adopted by the division under this
section shall provide requirements for all of
the following:

(a) Requirements for a certificate under
this section including requirements concern-
ing manner and form of application, location,
place of business, facilities, records, equip-
ment, courses and standards of instruction,
instructors, previous records of the school
and instructors, financial statements, sched-
ule of fees and charges, character of school
operators and instructors, vehicle equipment
and condition and inspection during reason-
able business hours.

(b) Any other matters the division may
prescribe for the protection of the public.

(3) The division:

(a) May refuse to issue or renew or may
suspend or revoke any certificate issued un-
der this section in any case where the divi-
sion finds that the applicant or certificate
holder has violated or failed to comply with
any rules adopted under this section or any
provision of this section, ORS 822.500 to
822.510, 822.525 or 822.530.

(b) Shall cancel immediately any certif-
icate if a bond described under ORS 822.505
is canceled by legal notice.

59-385




822.520

OREGON VEHICLE CODE

(4) Commercial driver training school
certificates issued under this section are
subject to the following:

(a) A certificate shall expire on the last
day of each calendar year.

(b) The division shall not issue a certif-
icate to t%lgerson until the fee for issuance
of the certificate under ORS 822.700 is paid.

(¢) The division shall not renew a certif-
icate until the fee for renewal of the certif-
icate under ORS 822.700 has been paid.

(d) A fee for a certificate may not be re-
funded in the event any certificate is refused,
suspended or revoked.

(e) The division shall not issue or renew
a certificate unless the applicant or certif-
icate holder maintains a bond that meets the
requirements under ORS 822.505.

(f) The division shall not issue or renew
a certificate unless the applicant or certif-
icate holder maintains proof of insurance
that meets the requirements under ORS
822.510. [1983 c.338 §829; 1985 c.16 §418; 1985 c.598 §11]

822.520 Failure to return revoked,
suspended or canceled commercial driver
training school certificate; Penalty. 1A
person commits the offense of failure to re-
turn a revoked, suspended or canceled com-
mercial driver training school certificate if
the division revokes, suspends or cancels a
commercial driver training school certificate
issued to the person under ORS 822.515 and
the person does not immediately return the
certificate to the division.

(2) The offense described in this section,
failure to return a revoked, suspended or
canceled commercial driver training school

certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor. (1983
¢.338 §830; 1985 ¢.393 §59]

(Driver Training Instructor)

822.525 Acting as driver training in-
structor without certificate; exemptions;
penalty. (1) A person commits the oftense of
acting as a driver training instructor without
a certificate if the person is not the holder
of a valid, current driver training instructor
certificate issued under ORS 822.530 and the
person, for compensation, teaches, conducts
classes or gives demonstrations to or super-
vises practice of persons in the driving of
motor vehicles whether acting on the per-
son’s own behalf or acting as an operator of
or on behalf of any business or nonprofit en-
terprise or school engaged in educating and
training persons, either practically or the-
oretically, or both, in the driving of motor
vehicles.

(2) The offense described in this section
does not apply to a Ferson acting as an op-
erator of or on behalf of:

(a) A business or nonprofit enterprise
engaged in educating and training persons
for a profession; or

(b) An accredited secondary school, col-
lege or university.

(8) The offense described in this section,
acting as a driver training instructor without

a certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor. [1983
¢.338 §831; 1985 ¢.393 §60]

822,630 Certificate; issuance; suspen-
sion or revocation; duration; fee. (1) A
person who holds a valid, current driver
training instructor certificate issued under
this section is not subject to the prohibitions
or penalties under ORS 822.525.

(2) The division shall adopt rules to pro-
vide for the issuance of driver training in-
structor certificates under this section. Rules
adopted by the division under this section
shall provide for all of the following:

(a) Requirements for driver training in-
structor certificate including requirements
concerning manner and form of application,
moral character, physical condition, know-
ledge of the courses of instruction, traffic
laws, safety principles and practices, drivin
record, driving ability and previous persona
and employment record.

(b) Any other matters the division may
prescribe for the protection of the public.

(3) The division may refuse to issue or
renew or may suspend or revoke any certif-
icate issued under this section in any case
where the division finds that the applicant
or certificate holder has violated or failed to
comply with any rules adopted under this
section.

(4) Driver training certificates issued un-
der this section are subject to the following:

(a) A certificate shall expire on the last
day of each calendar year.

(b) The division shall not issue a certif-
icate to a person until the fee for issuance
of the certificate under ORS 822.700 is paid.

(c) The division shall not renew a certif-
icate until the fee for renewal of the certif-
icate under ORS 822.700 has been paid.

(d) A fee for a certificate may not be re-
funded in the event any certificate is refused,

guz?pended or revoked. [1983 c.338 §832; 1985 c.598
1

822.535 Failure to return revoked or
suspended certificate; penalty. (1) A per-
son commits the offense of failure to return
a revoked or suspended driver training in-
structor certificate if the division revokes or
suspends a driver training instructor certif-
icate issued to the person under ORS 822.530
and the person does not immediately return
the certificate to the division.
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(2) The offense described in this section,
failure to return a revoked or suspended
driver training instructor certificate, is a
gsllz]ass A misdemeanor. [1983 c. 338 §833; 1985 ¢.393

GENERAL PROHIBITIONS

822.600 Failure of garage to report
accident or bullet contact; penalty. (1) A
person commits the offense of failure of a
garage to report an accident or bullet con-
tact if the person is in charge of any garage
or repair shop to which is brought any motor
vehicle that shows evidence of having been
involved in a serious accident or struck by
any bullet and the person does not report to
the nearest police station or sheriff's office
within 24 hours after such motor vehicle is
received giving the registration number and
the name and address of the owner or opera-
tor of such vehicle.

(2) An additional report need not be made
under this section when the owner of the
vehicle is also the owner of the garage or
repair shop and the person has made a report
under ORS 811.725 or 811.730 that includes
the information required by this section.

(3) The offense described in this section,
failure of garage to report accident or bullet
contact, is a Class A traffic infraction. [1983
¢.338 §834]

822,605 False swearing relating to
regulation of vehicle related businesses;
¥enalty. (1) A person commits the offense of
alse swearing relating to regulation of vehi-
cle related businesses if the person know-
ingly makes any false affidavit or knowingly
swears or affirms falsely to any matter or
thing relatinE to the regulation of vehicle
dealers, wreckers, towing businesses, vehicle
transporters, snowmobile dealers, Class I all-
terrain vehicle dealers, commercial driver
training schools or driver training instruc-
tors under the vehicle code.

(2) The offense described in this section,
false swearing relating to regulation of vehi-

cle related businesses, is a Class C felony.
[1983 ¢.338 §836; 1987 ¢.217 §12]

FEES

822,700 Certification fees. (1) Fee for
issuance of a wrecker certificate under ORS
822.110, $54.

(2) Fee for renewal of wrecker certificate
under ORS 822.125, $54.

(3) Fee for original issuance of vehicle
dealer certificate under ORS 822.020:

(a) $95, for a certificate covering a single
place of business; and

(b) $30, for each additional place of busi-
ness to be covered by the certificate and op-
erated under the same name.

(4) Fee for renewal of vehicle dealer cer-
tificate under ORS 822.040:

(a) $95, for renewal of vehicle dealer cer-
tificate covering single place of business; and

(b) $30, for each additional place of busi-
ness to be covered by the certificate and op-
erated under the same name.

(6) Fee for issuance of towing business
certificate under ORS 822.205, $17 for each
vehicle used for towing or recovery purposes.

(6) Fee for renewal of towing business
certificate under ORS 822.210, $17 for each
vehicle used for towing or recovery purposes.

(7) Fee for issuance of vehicle transpor-
ter certificate under ORS 822.310, $25.

(8) Fee for renewal of vehicle transporter
certificate under ORS 822.310, $25.

(9) Fee for issuance of driver training in-
structor certificate under ORS 822.530, $20.

(10) Fee for renewal of driver training
certificate under ORS 822.530, $20.

(11) Fee for issuance of commercial
driver training school certificate under ORS
822.515, $100.

(12) Fee for renewal of commercial driver
training school certificate under ORS
822.515, $100.

(13) Fee for issuance of appraiser certif-
icate under ORS 819.230, a reasonable fee to
cover the cost of issuance established by the
division by rule that shall not exceed $10.

(14) Fee for renewal of an appraiser cer-
tificate under ORS 819.230, a reasonable fee
to cover the cost of renewal established by
the division by rule that shall not exceed
$10. [1983 c.338 §835; 1985 ¢.16 §421; 1985 c.459 §16; 1985
¢.736 §6; 1987 ¢.261 §10)

822,705 Annual fee for persons holdin
current vehicle dealer certificate. Eac
person holding a current vehicle dealer cer-
tificate shall pay an annual fee of $14 to the
division. Moneys from the fee are contin-
uously ap];ropriated to the division for the

ose of ¢ ing out the provisions of
8 822.007, 822.009, 822.075 and 822.080.
The fee imposed under this section is in ad-
dition to fees under ORS 822.700 for issuance

and renewal of a vehicle dealer certificate.
[1991 c.541 §7)
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