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813.025

GENERAL PROVISIONS

813.010 Driving under the influence of
intoxicants; penalty. (1) A person commits
the offense of driving while under the influ-
ence of intoxicants it the person drives a ve-
hicle while the person:

(a) Has .08 percent or more by weight of
alcohol in the bgood of the person as shown
by chemical analysis of the breath or blood
of the person made under ORS 813.100,
813.140 or 813.150;

(b) Is under the influence of intoxicating
liquor or a controlled substance; or

(c) Is under the influence of intoxicating
liquor and a controlled substance.

- (2) A person convicted of the offense de-
scribed in this section is subject to ORS
813.020 in addition to this section.

_ (3) The offense described in this section,
driving while under the influence of
intoxicants, is a Class A misdemeanor and is
apgh_cable upon any premises open to the
public. [1983 c.338 §587; 1985 c.16 §293; 1987 c.138 §5]

Note: The amendments to 813.010 by section 7,
chapter 835, Oregon Laws 1991, take effect October 1,
1992. See section 9, chapter 835, Oregon Laws 1991, The
text that is in effect on and after October 1, 1992, is set
forth for the user’s convenience.

813.010. (1) A person commits the offense of driving
while under the influence of intoxicants if the person
drives a vehicle while the person:

(a) Has.08 percent or more by weight of alcohol in
the blood of the person as shown by chemical analysis
of the breath or blood of the person made under ORS
813.100, 813.140 or 813.150;

(b) Is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or
a controlled substance; or

(c) Is under the influence of intoxicating liquor and
a controlled substance.

(2) A person may not be convicted of driving under
the 1nfluence of intoxicants on the basis of being under
the influence of a controlled substance unless the fact
that the person was under the influence of a controlled
substance is pleaded in the accusatory instrument and
is either proved at trial or is admitted by the person
through a guilty plea.

(3) A person convicted of the offense described in
this section is subject to ORS 813.020 in addition to this
section,

(4) The offense described in this section, drivin,
while under the influence of intoxicants, is a Class
misdemeanor and is applicable upon any premises open
to the public.

813.020 Fee to be paid on conviction;
examination; treatment; mandatory im-
prisonment or community service. When
a person is convicted of driving under the
influence of intoxicants in violation of ORS
813.010, a court shall comply with the fol-
lowing in addition to any fine or other pen-
gltsy0 ilénposed upon the person under ORS

13.010:

(1) The court shall require the person to
do all of the following:

(a) Pay to the court the fee described
under ORS 813.030 in addition to any fine
imposed under ORS 813.010.

(b) Complete an examination by an
agency or organization designated by the
court to determine whether the person has a
problem condition involving alcohol or con-
trolled substances as described in ORS
813.040. The designated agencies or organ-
izations must meet the standards set by the
Assistant Director for Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Programs to perform the diagnostic
assessment and treatment of problem drink-
ing, alcoholism and drug dependency and
must be certified by the Assistant Director
for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs.
Wherever possible a court shall designate
agencies or organizations to perform the ex-
amination that are separate from those that
may be designated to carry out a program of
treatment.

(c) Complete a treatment program, paid
at the expense of the person convicted, as
follows:

(A) If the examination required under
this section shows that the person has a
problem condition involving alcohol or con-
trolled substances, a program for rehabili-
tation for alcoholism or drug dependence
ap{)roved by the Assistant Director for Alco-
hol and Drug Abuse Programs.

(B) If the examination required by this
section shows that the person does not have
a problem condition 1involving alcohol or
controlled substances, an alcohol or drug in-

formation program ai)proved by the Assistant
Director for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Pro-
grams.

(2) The court must impose and not sus-
pend execution of a sentence requiring the
person either to serve at least 48 hours’ im-
prisonment which shall be served consec-
utively unless justice requires otherwise or
to perform community service for times
specified by the court under ORS 137.129.

or purposes of this subsection:

(a) A court may provide for the impris-
onment to be served 1n jail, minimum secu-
rity facilities or inpatient rehabilitation or
treatment centers.

(b) Whenever the judge
mandatory imprisonment to be served other
than consecutively, the judgment must spe-
cifically so provide and the judge must state

the reasons in writing. (1983 ¢.338 §588; 1985 c.16
§294 and former 487.549; 1989 ¢.576 §5; 1991 ¢.657 §3]

813.025 Designation of agency to per-
form diagnostic assessment and treat-
ment; qualifications. A court may
designate a single agency or organization to
perform the diagnostic assessment and treat-
ment described in ORS 813.020 (1) or 813.260

rovides for the
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(1) when the Assistant Director for Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Programs certifies that:

(1) An agency or organization may accept
such designations due to the lack of alterna-
tive agencies or organizations in the service
area; or

(2) An agency or organization has applied
to and been authorized by the Assistant Di-
rector for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs
to operate a demonstration project which
combines diagnostic assessment and treat-
ment. The assistant director shall by rule set
forth the conditions under which a demon-
g;:]ration project may be authorized. (1991 c.557

813.030 Amount of fee; distribution.
The fee required by ORS 813.020 (1) shall be
in the amount of $220, except that the court
may waive all or part of the fee in cases in-
volving indigent defendants. The court may
make provision for payment of the fee on an
installment basis. The fee shall be ordered
paid as follows:

(1) $90 to be paid by the defendant di-
rectl{1 to the agency or organization provid-
ing the diagnostic assessment;

(2) $105 to be credited and distributed
under ORS 137.295 as an obligation payable
to the state; and

(3) $25 to be paid to the Assistant Direc-
tor for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs for
deposit in the Intoxicated Driver Program
Fund created by ORS 813.270. [1985 c.16 §296;
19585"77 c§49§)5 §29; 1989 ¢.576 §§6a, 7a; 1989 ¢.635 §§1, 3; 1991
C.

Note: The amendments to 813.030 by section 29,
chapter 905, Oregon Laws 1987, as amended by section
7a, chapter 576, Oregon Laws 1989, and section 4, chap-
ter 557, Oregon Laws 1991, take effect July 1, 1992. See
section 39, chapter 905, Oregon Laws 1987, as amended
by section 1, chapter 460, Oregon Laws 1991, The text
that is in effect until July 1, 1992, is set forth for the
user’s convenience.

813.030 The fee required by ORS 813.020 (1) shall
comply with all of the following:

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the
fee shall be in the amount of $220. The court may waive
all or part of the fee in cases involving indigent de-
fendants. The court may make provision for payment
of the fee on an installment basis.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3)
of this section, the court shall distribute the money re-
ceived from the fee under this section in accordance
with an expenditure plan approved by the Legislative
Assembly through the budget process during the period
when the Legislative Assembly is in session or by the
Emergency Board during the interim period between
sessions. The expenditure plan may provide for dis-
tribution of the moneys for any of the following pur-
poses:

(a) For payment of the agency or organization
providing the examination required under ORS 813.020.

(b) For the Intoxicated Driver Program Fund es-
tablished under ORS 813.270.

(¢) To pay for pohice traimng.

(d) To pay for the administrative expenses of gov-
ernmental agencies involved in administering programs
relating to persons who drive under the influence of
intoxicants.

(e) To provide moneys for other programs relating
to persons who drive under the influence of intoxicants
as the legislative review agency determines appropriate.

(3) In addition to any moneys distributed to the
Intoxicated Driver Program Fund under subsection (2)
of this section, the court shall distribute $25 from each
fee collected under subsection (1) of this section to the
Intoxicated Driver Program Fund.

813.040 Standards for determination
of problem condition involving alcohol or
controlled substances. This section estab-
lishes, for purposes of ORS 807.060, 813.020
and 813.500, when a person has a problem
condition involving alcohol or controlled
substances. For purposes of ORS 807.060,
813.020 and 813.500, a person has a problem
condition involving alcohol or controlled
substances if it is determined that the person
has a problem condition in which the per-
son’s health or that of others is substantially
impaired or endangered or the person’s social
or economic function is substantially dis-
rupted because of the person’s:

(1) Habitual or periodic use of alcoholic
beverages; or

(2) Use of or loss of the ability to control
the use of controlled substances or other
substances with abuse potential including a
condition that may have developed:

(a) A physical dependence in which the
body requires a continuing supply of a drug
or controlled substance to avoid character-
istic withdrawal symptoms; or

(b) A psychological dependence charac-
terized by an overwhelming mental desire for
continued use of a drug or controlled sub-
stance. [1983 ¢.338 §589]

813.0560 Out-of-service orders for oper-
ators of commercial motor vehicles;
grounds; duration; rules. (1) A police offi-
cer or a person authorized by the Public
Utility Commission to perform vehicle safety
inspections shall issue an out-of-service order
to the operator of a commercial motor vehi-
cle if any of the following applies:

(a) The person has reasonable grounds to
believe that the operator has consumed alco-
hol or other intoxicating beverage within
four hours prior to the time the operator be-
gan operating the vehicle or at any time
while operating the vehicle. As used in this
garagraph, “reasonable grounds” includes,

ut is not limited to, smelling alcohol on the
breath or person of the operator.

(b) A chemical test of the operator’s
breath discloses any amount of alcohol in the
blood of the operator.

(¢ The operator possesses an
intoxicating beverage while operating the
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813.110

vehicle. This subsection does not apply to
possession of an intoxicating beverage that
1s manifested and transported as part of a
shipment.

(2) An out-of-service order issued under
this section shall become effective upon its
Lssuance and shall remain in effect for 24

ours.

(3) The division shall adopt rules requir-
ing that any driver issued an out-of-service
order under this section be required to report
the order to the division and to the driver’s
employer. Rules adopted under this section
may include, but need not be limited to, rules
specifying the times within which reports
must be made and the contents of the re-
ports. [1991 ¢.185 §14]

IMPLIED CONSENT
(Breath Test)

813.100 Implied consent to breath test;
confiscation of license upon refusal or
failure of test. (1) Any person who operates
a motor vehicle upon premises open to the
public or the highways of this state shall be
deemed to have given consent, subject to the
implied consent law, to a chemical test of the
person’s breath for the purpose of determin-
ing the alcoholic content of the person’s
blood if the person is arrested for driving a
motor vehicle while under the influence of
intoxicants in violation of ORS 813.010 or of
a municipal ordinance. A test shall be ad-
ministered upon the request of a police offi-
cer having reasonable grounds to believe the
person arrested to have been driving while
under the influence of intoxicants in vio-
lation of ORS 813.010 or of a municipal ordi-
nance. Before the test is administered the
person requested to take the test shall be
informed of consequences and rights as de-
scribed under ORS 813.130.

(2) No chemical test of the person’s
breath shall be given, under subsection (1)
of this section, to a person under arrest for
driving a motor vehicle while under the in-
fluence of intoxicants in violation of ORS
813.010 or of a municipal ordinance, if the
person refuses the request of a police officer
to submit to the chemical test after the per-
son has been informed of consequences and
rights as described under ORS 813.130.

(3) If a person refuses to take a test un-
der this section or if the test under this sec-
tion discloses that the person, at the time of
the test, had a level of alcohol in the per-
son’s blood that constitutes being under the
influence of intoxicating liquor under ORS
813.300, the person’s driving privileges are
subject to suspension under ORS 813.410 and

the police officer shall do all of the follow-
ing:

(a) Immediately take custody of any
driver license or permit issued by this state
to the person to grant driving privileges.

(b) Provide the person with a written no-
tice of intent to suspend, on forms prepared
and provided by the division. The written
notice shall inform the person of conse-
(81‘11?1“3:?)8 and rights as described under ORS

(c) If the person qualifies under ORS
813.110, issue to the person, on behalf of the
Motor Vehicles Division, a temporary driving
permit described under ORS 813.110.

(d) Within a period of time required by
the division by rule, report action taken un-
der this section to the division and prepare
and cause to be delivered to the division a
report as described in ORS 813.120, along
with the confiscated license or permit and a

cog of the notice of intent to suspend. [1983
¢.338 §591; 1985 c.16 §298; 1985 c.672 §19]

813.110 Temporary
fiscation of license. (1) Except as otherwise
grovided by this section, police officers, on

ehalf of the Motor Vehicles Division, shall
issue temporary driving permits described
under this section to persons when required
under ORS 813.100.

(2) The division shall provide police de-
partments and agencies with permits for is-
suance as required by this section. The
division shall establish the form and content
of permits described in this section as the
division determines appropriate, but in a
manner consistent with this section.

(3) A permit described in this section is
subject to all the following:

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b)

of this subsection, the permit 1s valid until
the 30th day after the date of arrest.

(b) During the 12-hour period following
issuance of the permit, the person is subject
to ORS 807.570, and the permit is not a de-
fense to a charge under ORS 807.570.

(¢) The permit shall be issued without
payment of any fee.

(d) The permit grants the same driving
rivileges as those granted by the person’s
ngri%% taken into possession under ORS

(4) A police officer shall not issue a per-
mit under this section if:

(a) Driving privileges of the person were
suspended, revoked or canceled at the time
the person was arrested;

(b) The person whose license was taken
into custody was operating on an invalid li-
cense;

ermit upon con-
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(c) The person was not entitled to driving
privileges at the time of the arrest for any
other reason; or

(d) The person holds a license or permit
anting driving privileges that was issued
y another state or jurisdiction and that is

not taken into custody under ORS 813.100.
[1985 c.16 §142; 1985 ¢.672 §17]

813.120 Police report to division. (1) A
re%ort required by ORS 813.100 shall disclose
substantially all of the following information:

(a) Whether the person, at the time the
person was requested to submit to a test, was
under arrest for driving a motor vehicle
while under the influence of intoxicants in
violation of ORS 813.010 or of a municipal
ordinance.

(b) Whether the police officer had rea-
sonable grounds to believe, at the time the
reqduest was made, that the person arrested
had been driving under the influence of
intoxicants in violation of ORS 813.010 or of
a municipal ordinance.

(¢) Whether the person refused to submit
to a test or if the person submitted to the
test whether the level of alcohol in the’ per-
son’s blood, as shown by the test, was suffi-
cient to constitute being under the influence
of intoxicating liquor under ORS 813.300.

(d) Whether the person was driving a
commercial motor vehicle and refused to
submit to a test or if the person submitted
to the test whether the level of alcohol in
the person’s blood; as shown by the test, was
.04 percent or more by weight.

(e) Whether the person was informed of
consequences and rights as described under

ORS 813.130.

(f) Whether the person was given written
notice required by ORS 813.100.

(g) If the arrested person took the test,
a statement affirming that the person con-
ducting the test was appropriately qualified.

(h) If the arrested person took the test,
a statement affirming that any methods, pro-
cedures and equipment used in the test com-
18)11):'3 . E\;a:)ith any requirements under ORS

(2) A report required by ORS 813.100 may
be made on one or more forms provided by

the division. [1983 ¢.338 8405; 1985 c.16 §215; 1985
¢.672 §20; 1989 ¢.636 §42]

813.130 Rights of and consequences for
person asked to take test. This section es-
tablishes the requirements for information
about rights and consequences for purposes
of ORS 813.100 and 813.410. The followin
apply to the information about rights an
consequences:

(1) The information about rights and
consequences shall be substantially in the
form prepared by the Motor Vehicles Divi-
sion. The division may establish any form it
determines appropriate and convenient.

(2) The information about rights and
i:onsequences shall be substantially as fol-
ows:

(a) Driving under the influence of
intoxicants is a crime in Oregon, and the
person is subject to criminal penalties if the
test shows that the person is under the in-
fluence of intoxicants. If the person refuses
the test or fails, evidence of the refusal or
failure may also be offered against the per-
son.

(b) The person will fail the test for pur-
poses of criminal penalties if the test dis-
closes a blood alcohol content of .08 percent
or more by weight. The person will fail the
test for purposes of the Motorist Implied
Consent Law if the test discloses a blood al-
cohol content of:

(A) .08 percent or more by weight if the
person was not driving a commercial motor
vehicle;

(B) .04 percent or more by weight if the
gerson was driving a commercial motor ve-
icle; or
(C) Any amount if the person was under
21 years of age.

(c) If the person refuses or fails the test,
the person’s driving privileges will be sus-
gended. The outcome of a criminal charge for

riving under the influence of intoxicants
will not affect the suspension. The suspen-
sion will be substantially longer if the person
refuses the test.

(d) If the person refuses or fails the test
and has an Oregon driver license or permit,
the license or permit will be taken imme-
diately and, unless the person does not cur-
rently have full valid vm& grivileges, a
temporary driving permit will be issued to
the person.

(e) If the person refuses the test, the
person will not be eligible for a hardship
permit for at least 90 a{s, and possibly for
one year, depending on the person’s driving
record. The person may possibly qualify for
a hardship permit in 30 days if the person
fails the test, depending on the person’s
driving record.

(f) After taking the test, the person will
have a reasonable opportunity, upon request,
for an additional chemical test for blood al-
cohol content to be performed at the person’s
own expense by a qualified individual of the
person’s choosing.

(g) The person has a ri%ht to a hearing
to challenge the validity of the suspension
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before the suspension becomes effective. The
R/}arson must make a written request to the

otor Vehicles Division for such a hearing.
If the person wins at the hearing, the per-
son’s driving privileges will not be sus-
pended. If the person loses at the hearing,
the suspension will remain in effect during
any court review of the hearing.

(h) The following times:

(A) If the person is issued a temporary
driving permit under ORS 813.100, the num-
ber of hours before the driving permit will
be effective and the number of days the per-
mit will be effective.

(B) The number of days within which a
gizgsgilo must request a hearing under ORS

(C) The number of days within which a
hearing under ORS 813.410 will be held.

(3) If the person is driving a commercial
motor vehicle, the information about rights
and consequences shall include, in addition
to the provisions of subsection (2) of this
section, substantially the following:

(a) If the person refuses the test or sub-
mits to the test and the level of alcohol in
the person’s blood is .04 percent or more b
weight, the I!l)erson’s commercial driver h-
cense or right to apply for a commercial
driver license will be suspended and no
hardship permit authorizing the person to
drive a commercial motor vehicle will be is-
sued. The suspension will be substantially
longer if the person refuses the test.

(b) The suspension of the person’s com-
mercial driver license or right to apply for a
commercial driver license will be for the
person’s lifetime if:

(A) The person refuses the test or sub-
mits to the test and the level of alcohol in
the person’s blood is .04 percent or more by
weight; and

(B) The person’s commercial driver li-
cense or right to apply for a commercial
driver license has previously been suspended
because the person was convicted of a crime
punishable as a felony, of failure to perform
the duties of a driver or of driving while un-
der the influence of intoxicants or because
the person refused a previous test or submit-
ted to the test and the level of alcohol in the
person’s blood was .04 percent or more by
weight.

(4) Nothing in this section prohibits the
division from providing additional informa-
tion concerning rights and consequences that
the division considers convenient or appro-
priate. [1985 c.672 §22; 1987 c.673 §3; 1987 c.801 §11;
éi}gf ¢.171 §92; 1989 ¢.636 §43; 1991 c.185 §15; 1991 c.860

(Field Sobriety Tests)

813.135 Imxl.\ied consent to field
sobriety tests. Any person who operates a
vehicle upon premises open to the public or
the highways of the state shall be deemed to
have given consent to submit to field
sobriety tests upon the request of a police
officer for the purpose of determining if the

erson is under the influence of intoxicants
if the police officer reasonably suspects that
the person has committed the offense of
driving while under the influence of
intoxicants in violation of ORS 813.010 or a
municipal ordinance. Before the tests are
administered, the person requested to take
the tests shall be informed of the conse-
quences of refusing to take or failing to sub-
;111;}: to the tests under ORS 813.136. (1989 c.576

813.136 Consequence of refusal to sub-
mit to or failure of field sobriety tests. If
a person refuses or fails to submit to field
sobriety tests as required by ORS 813.135,
evidence of the person’s refusal or failure to
submit is admissible in any criminal or civil
action or proceeding arising out of
allegations that the person was driving while
griiier the influence of intoxicants. [1989 c.576

CHEMICAL TESTS; METHODS AND
REQUIREMENTS

813.140 Chemical test with consent;
unconscious person. Nothing in ORS
813.100 is intended to preclude the adminis-
tration of a chemical test described in this
section. A police officer may obtain a chemi-
cal test of the blood to determine the amount
of alcohol in any person’s blood or a test of
the person’s blood or urine, or both, to de-
termine the presence of a controlled sub-
stance in the person as provided in the
following:

(1) If, when requested by a police officer,
the person expressly consents to such a test.

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this
section, from a person without the person’s
consent if:

(a) The police officer has probable cause
to believe that the person was driving while
under the influence of intoxicants and that
evidence of the offense will be found in the
person’s blood or urine; and

(b) The person is unconscious or other-
wise in a condition rendering the person in-
capable of expressly consenting to the test
or tests requested. (1983 c.338 §593; 1985 ¢.16 §299]

813.150 Chemical test at request of
arrested person. In addition to a chemical
test of the breath, blood or urine adminis-
tered under ORS 813.100 or 813.140, upon the
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request of a police officer, a person shall be
permitted upon request, at the person’s own
expense, reasonable opportunity to have any
licensed physician an(? surgeon, licensed pro-
fessional nurse or qualified technician,
chemist or other qualified person of the per-
son’s own choosing administer a chemical
test or tests of the person’s breath or blood
for the purpose of determining the alcoholic
content of the person’s blood or a chemical
test or tests of the person’s blood or urine,
or both, for the purpose of determining the
presence of a controlled substance in the
person. The failure or inability to obtain
such a test or tests by a person shall not
preclude the admission of evidence relating
to a test or tests taken upon the request of
a police officer. [1983 c.338 §594; 1985 c.16 §300]

813.160 Methods of conducting chemi-
cal tests; duties of Health Division and
Department of State Police; reports;
costs. (1) To be valid under ORS 813.300:

(a) Chemical analyses of a person’s blood
shall be performed by an individual shown to
be qualified to perform such analyses and
shall be performed according to methods ap-
proved by the Health Division. For purposes
of this para%lra&)h, the Health Division shall
ai)prove methods of performing chemical an-
alyses of a person’s blood that are satisfac-
tory for determining alcoholic content.

(b) Chemical analyses of a person’s
breath shall be performed by an individual
possessing a vahd %ermit to perform such
analyses issued by the Department of State
Police and shall %e performed according to
methods approved by the Department of
State Police. For purposes of this paragraph,
the Department of State Police shall do all
of the following:

(A) Approve methods of performing
chemical analyses of a person’s breath.

(B) Prepare manuals and conduct courses
throughout the state for the training of po-
lice officers in chemical analyses of a per-
son’s breath, which courses shall include, but
are not limited to, approved methods of
chemical analyses, use of approved equip-
ment and interpretation of test results to-
gether with a written examination on these
subjects.

(C) Test and certify the accuracy of
equipment to be used by police officers for
chemical analyses of a person’s breath before
regular use of such equipment and period-
ically thereafter at intervals of not more
than 90 days. Tests and certification required
by this subparagraph shall be conducted by
trained technicians.

(D) Ascertain the qualifications and com-
petence of individuals to conduct such ana-

lyses in accordance with one or more
methods approved by the department.

(E) Issue permits to individuals according
to their qualifications. Permits shall be is-
sued to police officers only upon satisfactory
completion of the prescribed training course
and written examination. A permit shall
state the methods and equipment which the
police officer is qualified to use. Permits
shall be subject to termination or revocation
%t 1t-he discretion of the Department of State

olice.

(2) In conductin% a chemical test of the
blood, only a duly licensed physician or a
person acting under the direction or control
of a duly licensed physician may withdraw
blood or pierce human tissue. A licensed
physician, or a qualified person acting under
the direction or control of a duly licensed
physician, shall not be held civilly liable for
withdrawing any bodily substance, in a med-
ically acceptable manner, at the request of a
peace officer.

(3) An individual who performs a chemi-
cal analysis of breath or blood under ORS
813.100 or 813.140 shall prepare and sign a
written reﬁort of the findings of the test
which shall include the identification of the
police officer upon whose request the test
was administered.

(4) Any individual having custody of the
report mentioned in subsection (3) of this
section shall, ugon request of the person
tested, furnish that person or that person’s
attorney, a copy of the report.

(5) The expense of conducting a chemical
test as provided by ORS 813.100 or 813.140
shall be paid by the governmental unit on
whose equipment the test is conducted or by
the governmental unit upon whose request
the test was administered if no governmental

unit’s equipment is used to conduct the test.
(1983 ¢.338 §173; 1985 c¢.16 §57; 1985 ¢.337 §2]

PLEA AGREEMENT

813.170 Plea agreement prohibited. (1)
Notwithstanding ORS 135.405 to 135.445, a
person charged with the offense of driving
under the influence of intoxicants shall not
be allowed to forfeit bail or plead “guilty” or
“no contest” to any other offense in ex-
chancie for a dismissal of the offense charged.
No district attorney or city attorney shall
make any motion and no judge shaﬁ, enter
any order in derogation of this section. This
section does not prohibit diversion as pro-
vided under ORS 813.200.

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 135.881 to
135.901, a person charged with the offense of
driving under the influence of intoxicants
shall not be allowed to enter into any pro-
gram of supervised performance or diversion
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except as provided under ORS 813.200. [1983
c.338 2]

DIVERSION

813.200 Notice of availability of diver-
sion; getition; form; contents. (1) The
court shall inform at arraignment a defend-
ant charged with the offense of driving while
under the influence of intoxicants as defined
in ORS 813.010 or a city ordinance conform-
ing thereto that a diversion agreement may
be available if the defendant meets the crite-
ria set out in ORS 813.215 and files with the
court a petition for a driving while under the
influence of intoxicants diversion agreement.

(2) The petition forms for a driving while
under the influence of intoxicants diversion
agreement shall be available to a defendant
at the court.

(3) The form of the petition for a driving
while under the influence of intoxicants di-
version agreement and the information and
blanks contained therein shall be determined
by the Supreme Court under ORS 1.525. The
getition forms made available to a defendant

y any city or state court shall conform to
gle requirements adopted by the Supreme
ourt.

(4) In addition to any other information
required by the Supreme Court to be con-
tained in a petition for a driving while under
the influence of intoxicants diversion agree-
ment, the petition shall include:

(a) A waiver by the defendant of the
ri%)t to speedy trial or sentencing in any
subsequent action upon the charge;

(b) An agreement by the defendant to
complete at an agency or organization desig-
nated by the city or state court a diagnostic
assessment to determine the possible exist-
ence and degree of an alcohol or drug abuse
problem;

(¢) An agreement by the defendant to
complete, at defendant’s own expense based
on defendant’s ability to pay, the program of
treatment indicated as necessary by the di-
agnostic assessment;

(d) An agreement by the defendant to not
use intoxicants in conjunction with the de-
fendant’s operation of a motor vehicle and to
comply fully with the laws of this state de-
signed to discourage the use of intoxicants in
conjunction with motor vehicle operation;

(e) A notice to the defendant that the di-
version agreement will be considered to be
violated if the court receives notice that the
defendant at any time during the diversion
period committed the offense of driving while
under the influence of intoxicants or com-
mitted a violation of ORS 811.170;

() An agreement by the defendant to
keep the court advised of the defendant's
current mailing address at all times during
the diversion period;

(g) A waiver by the defendant of any for-
mer jeopardy rights under the federal and
state constitutions and ORS 131505 to
131.525 in any subse%uent action upon the
charge or any other offenses based upon the
same criminal episode; and

(h) A sworn statement, as defined in ORS
162.055, by the defendant certifying that the
defendant meets the criteria set out in ORS
813.215 to be eligible to enter into the driv-
ing while under the influence of intoxicants
diversion agreement. [1983 c.338 §369; 1985 c.16
§191; 1987 c.441 §4]

813.210 Petition; filing fee; service on
prosecutor; objection. (1) After an
accusatory instrument has been filed charg-
ing the defendant with the offense of driving
while under the influence of intoxicants, a
defendant may file with the court a petition
for a driving while under the influence of
intoxicants diversion agreement described in
ORS 813.200. The petition:

(a) Must be filed within 30 days after the
date of the defendant’s first appearance on
the summons, unless a later filing date is al-
lowed by the court upon a showing of good
cause.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this
subsection, may not be filed after entry of a
guilty plea or a no contest plea or after
commencement of any trial on the charge
whether or not a new trial or retrial is or-
dered for any reason.

(2) The defendant shall pay to the court,
at the time of filing a petition for a driving
while under the influence of intoxicants di-
version agreement, a filing fee established
under ORS 813.240. The court may make
grovision for payment of the filing fee by the

efendant on an installment basis. The court
may waive all or part of the filing fee in
cases involving indigent defendants. The fil-
ing fee paid to the court under this sub-
section shall be retained by the court if the

etition is allowed. The filing fee shall be

istributed as provided by ORS 813.240.

(3) The defendant shall cause a copy of
the petition for a driving while under the
influence of intoxicants diversion agreement
to be served upon the district attorney or
city attorney. The district attorney or city
attorn:t{ may file with the court, within 15
days after the date of service, a written ob-
jection to the petition and a request for a

earing. [1983 c.338 §370; 1985 c.16 §192; 1987 c.441 §5;
1987 c.534 §1]

813.215 Eligibility for diversion. A de-
fendant is eligible for diversion if:
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(1) The defendant had no charge of driv-
ing while under the influence of intoxicants
or its statutory counterpart in any jurisdic-
tion pending on the date of commission of
the present offense and within 10 years be-
fore the date of the commission of the pres-
ent offense the defendant has not been
convicted of or forfeited bail or security for
such an offense;

(2) The defendant was not participating
in a driving while under the influence of
intoxicants diversion program or in any sim-
ilar alcohol or drug rehabilitation program in
this state or in any other jurisdiction on the
date of commission of the present offense and
within 10 years before the date of commis-
sion of the present offense the defendant has
not participated in any such program;

(3) The defendant had no charge of mur-
der, manslaughter, criminally negligent
homicide or assault that resulted from the
operation of a motor vehicle pending in this
state or in any other jurisdiction on the date
of commission of the present offense and
within 10 years before the date of commis-
sion of the present offense the defendant has
not been convicted of any such charge;

(4) The present driving while under the
influence of intoxicants offense did not in-
volve an accident resulting in death or phys-
ical injury, as defined in ORS 161.015, to any
person other than the defendant; and

(5) The date of commission of the offense
for which the agreement is petitioned is later
than November 1, 1981. [1987 c.441 §3]

813.220 Matters to be considered by
court in determining to allow diversion
agreement. After the time for requesting a
hearing under ORS 813.210 has expired with
no request for a hearing, or after a hearin%
requested under ORS 813.210, the court shal
determine whether to allow or deny a peti-
tion for a driving while under the influence
of intoxicants diversion agreement. In mak-
ing ? determination under this section, the
court:

(1) Shall consider whether the diversion
will be of benefit to the defendant and the
community.

(2) May take into consideration whether
there was an early recognition by the de-
fendant during the proceeding that a course
of diagnosis and treatment of problem drink-
ing, alcoholism or drug dependency would be
beneficial.

(3) May take into consideration whether
there is a probability that the defendant will
cooperate with the &viagnostic assessment and
treatment agencies.

(4) May take into consideration whether
the defendant will observe the restrictions

contained in the diversion agreement. ' [1983
¢.338 §371; 1987 c.441 §6) .

813230 Diversion agreement; record;
duration; effect of denial. (1) When the
court allows a petition for a driving while
under the influence of intoxicants diversion
agreement filed as provided in ORS 813.210,
the judge taking that action shall sign the

etition and indicate thereon the date of al-
owance of the diversion period, the length
of the diversion period and the date upon
which the driving while under the influence
offense occurred. The petition when signed
and dated becomes the diversion agreeément
between the defendant and the court. The
court shall make the agreement a part of the
record of the case. The court shall send to
the Motor Vehicles Division, within 48 hours
after allowing the petition, a certified co
of the diversion agreement. The Motor Vehi-
cles Division shall make the diversion agree-
mentda part of the defendant’s operating
record.

(2) A driving while under the influence
of intoxicants diversion agreement'.shall be
for a period of one year after the date the
court allows the petition. During the diver-
sion period the court shall stay the drivin'g
while under the influence of intoxicants of-
fense proceeding pending completion of the
diversion agreement or its termination.

(3) When the court denies a petition for
a driving while under the influence of
intoxicants diversion agreement, it shall
continue the offense proceeding against the
gﬁfendant. (1983 338 §372; 1985 c.16 §193; 1985 ¢.710

813.236 Attendance at_ victim impact
treatment session as condition of diver-
sion; fee. In a county that has a victim im-
pact program a court may require.as a
condition of a driving while under the influ-
ence of intoxicants diversion agreement that
the defendant attend a victim impact treat-
ment session. If the court requires attend-
ance under this section, the court may
require the defendant, as part of the diver-
sion agreement, to pay a reasonable fee to
the victim impact program to offset the cost
of the defendant’s participation. A court
shall not order a defendant to pay a.fee in
excess of $5 under this section. [1987 c.830 §2]

813.240 Amount and distribution of
filing fee. The filing fee paid by a defendant
at the time of filing a petition for a driving
while under the influence of intoxicants di-
version agreement as provided in ORS
813.210 shall be $327 and shall be ordered
paid as follows if the petition is allowed:

(1) $90 to be paid by the defendant di-
rectly to the agency or organization provid-
ing the diagnostic assessment;
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(2) $112 to be credited and distributed
under ORS 137.295 as an obligation payable
to the state;

(3) $100 to be treated as provided for dis-
gosition of fines, costs and forfeited bail un-
er ORS 153.630; and

(4) $25 to be paid to the Assistant Direc-
tor for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs for
deposit in the Intoxicated Driver Program
Fund created under ORS 813.270, to be used
for purposes of the fund. [1983 c.338 §373; 1985
c.16 §194; 1985 ¢.277 §3; 1987 c.905 §30; 1989 c.576 §§8a,
9a; 1989 ¢.635 §§2, 4; 1991 ¢.557 §6]

Note: The amendments to 813.240 by section 30,
chapter 905, Oregon Laws 1987, as amended by section
9a, chapter 576, Oregon Laws 1989, and section 6, chap-
ter 557, Oregon Laws 1991, take effect July 1, 1992. See
section 39, chaciter 905, Oregon Laws 1987, as amended
Eﬁr section 1, chapter 460, Oregon Laws 1991. The text

at is in effect until July 1, 1992, is set forth for the
user’s convenience.

813240 (1) The filing fee paid by a defendant at the
time of filing a petition for a driving while under the
influence of intoxicants diversion agreement as provided
in ORS 813.210 shall be $327 and shall be distributed by
the court as follows if the petition is allowed:

(a) $90 to the agency or organization providing the
diagnostic assessment;

(bXA) In the case of distribution of the fee by a
municipal or justice court, $12 to the Department of
Revenue to be credited to the Police Standards and
Training Account established by ORS 181.690; or

(B) In the case of distribution of the fee by a cir-
cuit or district court, $12 to the State Court Adminis-
trator for deposit in the Police Standards and Training
Account;

(c) $125 to the Assistant Director for Alcohol and
Drug Abuse Programs for deposit in the fund created
unger ORS 813.270, to be used for purposes of that fund;
an

(d) $100 to be distributed as provided for the dis-
position of costs under ORS 153.630.

(2) If less than the $327 filing fee is paid to the
court by the defendant under subsection (1) of this sec-
tion, the money actually received shall be allocated in
the amounts provided first to the agency or organiza-
tion providing the diagnostic assessment, second to the
Police Standards and Training Account, third to the
fund created under ORS 813.270 and the remainder as
provided for the disposition of costs under ORS 153.630.

(3) The Chief Justice of the Oregon Supreme Court
may require that any or all fees distributed by circuit
and district courts under this section be distributed
through the offices of the State Court Administrator.

813.250 Motion to dismiss charge on
completion of diversion; admissibility of
statements. (1) At any time after the con-
clusion of the period of a driving while under
the influence of intoxicants diversion agree-
ment described in ORS 813.230, a defendant
who has fully complied with and performed
the conditions of the diversion agreement
may apply by motion to the court wherein
the diversion agreement was entered for an
order dismissing the charge with prejudice.

(2) The defendant shall cause to be
served on the district attorney or city attor-
ney a copy of the motion for entry of an or-

der dismissing with prejudice the charge of
driving while wunder the influence of
intoxicants. The motion shall be served on
the district attorney or city attorney at the
time it is filed with the court. The district
attorney or city attorney may contest the
motion.

(3) If the defendant does not appear as
provided by subsection (1) of this section
within six months after the conclusion of the
diversion period, and if the court finds that
the defendant fully complied with and per-
formed the conditions of the diversion agree-
ment, and if it gives notice of that finding to
the district attorney or city attorney the
court may on its own motion enter an order
dismissing the charge of driving while under
the influence of intoxicants with prejudice.

(4) No statement made by the defendant
about the offense with which the defendant
is charged shall be offered or received in ev-
idence in any criminal or civil action or
proceeding arising out of the same conduct
which is the basis of the charge of driving
while under the influence of intoxicants, if
the statement was made during the course
of the diagnostic assessment or the rehabili-
tation program and to a person employed by
the grogram. [1983 c.338 §374; 1985 c.16 §195; 1987
c.441 §7]

813.255 Termination of diversion. (1)
At any time before the court dismisses with
prejudice the charge of driving while under
the influence of intoxicants, the court on its
own motion or on the motion of the district
attorney or city attorney may issue an order
requiring defendant to aY ear and show
cause why the court should not terminate
the diversion agreement. The order to show
cause shall state the reasons for the pro-
posed termination and shall set an appear-
ance date.

(2) The order to show cause shall be
served on the defendant and on the defend-
ant’s attorney, if any. Service may be made
by first class mail, postage paid, atfdressed to
the defendant at the mailing address shown
on the diversion petition and agreement or
at any other address that the defendant pro-
vides in writing to the court.

(3) The court shall terminate the diver-
sion agreement and continue the offense
proceeding if:

(a) At the hearing on the order to show
cause, the court finds by a preponderance of
the evidence that any of the reasons for ter-
mination described in this section exist; or

(b) The defendant fails to appear at the
hearing on the order to show cause.

(4) If the court terminates the diversion
agreement and continues the offense pro-
ceeding, the court:
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(a) On defendant’s motion and for good
cause shown, may reinstate the diversion
agreement at any time before conviction, ac-
quittal or dismissal with prejudice.

(b) If defendant is convicted, may take
into account at time of sentencing any par-
tial fulfillment by the defendant of the terms
of the diversion agreement.

(5) The court shall terminate a diversion
agreement under this subsection for any of
the following reasons:

(a) If the defendant has failed to fulfill
the terms of the diversion agreement.

(b) If the defendant did not qualify for
the diversion agreement under the criteria in
ORS 813.215. [1987 c.441 §9]

813.260 Designation of agencies to
perform diagnostic assessments; duties
of agency. (1) Courts having jurisdiction
over driving while under the influence of
intoxicants offenses shall designate agencies
or organizations to perform the diagnostic
assessment and treatment required under
driving while under the influence of
intoxicants diversion agreements described in
ORS 813.200. The designated agencies or or-
ganizations must meet the standards set by
the Assistant Director for Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Programs to perform the diagnostic
assessment and treatment of problem drink-
ing, alcoholism and drug dependency and
must be certified by the Assistant Director
for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs.
Wherever possible a court shall designate
agencies or organizations to perform the di-
agnostic assessment that are separate from
those that may be designated to carry out a
program of treatment.

(2) Monitoring of a defendant’s progress
under a diversion agreement shall be the re-
sponsibility of the diagnostic assessment
agency or organization. It shall make a re-
port to the court stating the defendant’s
successful completion or failure to complete
all or any part of the treatment program
specified by the diagnostic assessment. The
form of the report shall be determined by
agreement between the court and the diag-
nostic assessment agency or organization.
The court shall make the report of the diag-
nostic assessment agency or organization
that is required by this subsection a part of
g%e record of the case. [1983 c.338 §375; 1991 c.557

813270 Intoxicated Driver Program
Fund; creation; uses. The Intoxicated
Driver Program Fund is created to consist
of moneys placed in the fund under ORS
813.030 and 813.240 or as otherwise provided
by law and of gifts and grants made to the
fund for carrying out the purposes of the

fund. The moneys in the fund may be used
only for the following purposes:

(1) To pay for providing treatment for in-
dividuals who enter diversion agreements
under ORS 813.200 and who are found to be
indigent. Payment for treatment under this
subsection may include treatment for prob-
lem drinking, alcoholism or drug dependency.
Payment shall be made as provided by the
Assistant Director for Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Programs by rule to agencies or or-
ganizations providing treatment. '

(2) To pay for evaluation as provided by
law of programs used for diversion agree-
ments.

(3) To pay the cost of administration of
the fund by the Assistant Director for Alco-
hol and Drug Abuse Programs.

(4) To pay for materials, resources and
training supplied by the Assistant Director
for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs to
those persons, organizations or agencies per-
forming the diagnostic assessments or pro-
viding education or treatment to persons
under diversion agreements.

(5) To pay for providing treatment or in-
formation programs required under ORS
813.020 for individuals who are found to be

indigent. {1983 c.338 §141; 1985 ¢.16 §42; 1989 c.576 §10;
1991 ¢.557 §8]

EVIDENCE

813.300 Use of blood alcohol percent-
age as evidence; percentage required for
being under the influence. (1) At the trial
of any civil or criminal action, suit or pro-
ceeding arising out of the acts committed by
a person driving a motor vehicle while under
the influence of intoxicants, if the amount of
alcohol in the person’s blood at the time al-
leged is less than.08 1;:ercent. by weight of al-
cohol as shown by chemical analysis of the
gerson's breath or blood, it is indirect evi-

ence that may be used with other evidence,
if any, to determine whether or not the per-
son was then under the influence of
intoxicants.

(2) Not less than.08 percent by weight of
alcohol in a person’s blood constitutes being
under the influence of intoxicating liquor.

(3) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this
section, for purposes of the Motorist Implied
Consent Law as defined in ORS 801.010, for
a person who is under 21 years of age, any
amount of alcohol in the blood constitutes
being under the influence of intoxicating lig-
uor.

(4) Percent by weight of alcohol in the
blood shall be based upon grams of alcohol

er one hundred cubic centimeters of blood.
§18%83 ¢.338 §590; 1985 ¢.16 §297; 1989 ¢.715 §7; 1991 c.860

59-248



DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INTOXICANTS

813.404

813.310 Refusal to take chemical test
admissible as evidence. If a person refuses
to submit to a chemical test under ORS
813.100 or refuses to consent to chemical
tests under ORS 813.140, evidence of the
person’s refusal is admissible in any civil or
criminal action, suit or proceeding arisin
out of acts alleged to have been committe
while the person was driving a motor vehicle
on premises open to the public or the high-
ways while wunder tﬁe influence of
intoxicants. [1983 c.338 §595; 1985 c.16 §301]

813320 Effect of implied consent law
on evidence. The provisions of the implied
consent law, except ORS 813.300, shall not
be construed by any court to limit the intro-
duction of otherwise competent, relevant ev-
idence in any civil action, suit or
proceedings or in any criminal action other
than a violation of ORS 813.010 or a similar
municipal ordinance in proceedings under
ORS 813.410. [1983 c.338 §596; 1985 c.16 §302]

SUSPENSION
(For Conviction)

813.400 Suspension upon conviction;
duration; review. Driving any vehicle upon
anz highway or on premises open to the
public while under the influence of
intoxicants constitutes grounds for suspen-
sion of driving privileges. The following ap-
ply to this section:

(1) Upon receipt of a record of conviction
for an offense described in this section, the
division shall suspend the driving privileges
or right to apply for driving privileges.

(2) The suspension shall be for a period
described under Schedule II of ORS 809.420,
except the division shall not reinstate any
driving privileges to the person until the

erson complies with future responsibility
lings.

(3) A person is entitled to administrative
review of a suspension imposed under this

section. [1983 c.338 §353 (8); 1985 .16 §166 (8); 1985
¢.393 §10a (8); 1985 c.669 §2a (8); 1991 ¢.702 §13]

(Of Commercial Driver License)

813403 Suspension of commercial
driver license upon conviction; review.
Driving a commercial motor vehicle upon
ang thhwa{ or on premises open to the
public while under the influence of
Intoxicants constitutes grounds for commer-
cial driver license suspension. The following
apply to this section:

(1) Upon receipt of a record of conviction
for driving while under the influence of
intoxicants, the division shall suspend the
person’s commercial driver license if the
person was driving a commercial motor ve-

hicle at the time the person committed the
offense.

(2) The suspension shall be for a period
described under ORS 813.404.

(3) A person is entitled to administrative
review of a suspension imposed under this
section.

(4) Suspension under this section is in
addition to any B&uspension under ORS
813.400. {1989 c.636 §40; 1991 c.702 §14]

813.404 Duration of suspension of
commercial driver license for conviction,
implied consent violation or out-of-state
conviction or suspension. When the divi-
sion imposes a suspension of a commercial
driver license under ORS 813.403 or 813.410
(2), or when the division imposes a suspen-
sion of a commercial driver license under
ORS 809.400 (3) for conduct in another juris-
diction that is substantially similar to that
described in either ORS 813.403 or 813.410
(2), the suspension shall be for a period of
time determined according to the following:

(1) If the person’s commercial driver li-
cense has not previously been suspended un-
der ORS 809.410 (18), 813.403 or 813.410 (2)
or under ORS 809.400 (3) for anything other
than a serious traffic violation, and:

(a) The person was not driving a com-
mercial motor vehicle containing a hazard-
ous material and the suspension 1s for refusal
of the test under ORS 813.100, the suspension
shall be for a period of three years.

(b) The person was not driving a com-
mercial motor vehicle containing a hazard-
ous material and the suspension is either
because the person was convicted under ORS
813.010 or because the test under ORS
813.100 disclosed that the person had a level
of alcohol in the person’s blood that was.04
percent or more by weight, the suspension
shall be for a period of one year.

(c) The gerson was driving a commercial
motor vehicle containing a hazardous mate-
rial and the suspension is for refusal of the
test under ORS 813.100, the suspension shall
be for a period of five years.

(d) The person was driving a commercial
motor vehicle containing a hazardous mate-
rial and the suspension 1s either because the

erson was convicted under ORS 813.010 or

ecause the test under ORS 813.100 disclosed
that the gerson had a level of alcohol in the

erson’s blood that was .04 percent or more

y weight, the suspension shall be for a pe-
riod of three years.

(2) If the person’s commercial driver li-
cense has previously been suspended under
ORS 809.410 (18), 813.403 or 813.410 (2), or
has been suspended under ORS 809.400 (3)
for something other than a serious traffic vi-
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olation, the ‘suspension'shall be for the life-
time of the person. For purposes of this
subsection, a suspension'is not a previous
suspension if it arose from the.same occur-

rence as the current suspension. (1989 c.636 §41;
1991 ¢.185 §16]}

(Uilder Implied Consent Law)

813.410 Suspension upon receipt of
Eolice report on implied consent test;
earing; validity of ension; appeal. (1)
If the division receives from a police officer
a report that is in substantial compliance
with ORS 813.120, the division shall suspend
the driving privileges of the person in this
state on the l{;Oth day after the date of arrest
unless, at a hearing described under this
section, the division determines that the sus-
pension would not be valid as described in
this section. A suspension of driving privi-
leges imposed under this subsection shall be
féollz3 Zzgeriod of time established under ORS

(2) If the division receives from a police
officer a report pursuant to ORS 813.120 that
discloses that the person was driving a com-
mercial motor vehicle and refused to submit
to the test or submitted to the test and the
person’s blood, as shown by the test, had.04
percent or more by weight of alcohol, the di-
vision shall suspend the person’s commercial
driver license on the 30th day after the date
of arrest unless, at a hearing described under
this section, the division determines that the
suspension would not be valid as described
in this section. A commercial driver license
suspension imposed under this subsection
shall be for a period of time established un-
der ORS 813.404.

(3) If within 10 days from the date of ar-
rest, the division receives a written request
for a hearing from a person whose driving
privileges or commercial driver license the
division proposes to suspend under this sec-
tion, the division shall provide a hearing in
accordance with this section. Except as oth-
erwise provided under this section, a hearing
held by the division under this section shall
be subject to the provisions for contested
cases, other than appeal provisions, under
ORS 183.310 to 183.550. The applicable ap-
peal provisions are as provided under ORS
813.450 and section 24, chapter 672, Oregon
Laws 1985. Notwithstanding ORS 809.430, the
division is not required to give any notice of
intent to suspend or suspension in addition
to that provided under ORS 813.100.

(4) A hearing required by this section is
subject to all of the following:

(a) The hearing shall be before a repre-
sentative of the division.

* (b) Unless there is an agreement between
the person and the division that the hearing
be conducted elsewhere, the hearing shall be
held either in the county where the alleged
offense occurred or at any place within 100
miles of the place where the offense is al-
leged to have occurred, as established by the
division by rule.

(¢) The division may contract with any
gerson or agency to hold the hearing on be-
alf of the division and to report findings
from the hearing to the division and any
person or agency may in individual cases is-
sue final orders on behalf of the division.

(d) A person who requests a hearing un-
der this section and who fails, without just
cause, to appear in person or through an at-
torney waives the right to a hearing not-
withstanding the provisions of ORS 183.415.
If a person waives a right to a hearing under
this paragraph, the division is not required
to make any showing at hearing.

(e) Except as provided in ORS 813.440 or
upon remand under ORS 813.450, the division
shall hold the hearing and issue a final order
within 30 days of the date of the arrest.

(f) In connection with the hearing, the
division or its authorized representative may
administer oaths and shall issue subpoenas
for the attendance of witnesses at the hear-
ing requested by the person or the division
and the production of relevant documents.

(g) The hearing shall be recorded by
whatever means may be determined by the
division and shall include testimony and ex-
hibits, if any. The record of the proceedings
shall not be transcribed unless requested by
a party to the proceeding.

(5) The scope of a hearing under this
section shall be limited to whether the sus-
pension is valid as described in this sub-
section. A suspension under this section is
valid if all of the following requirements
have been met:

(a) The person, at the time the person
was requested to submit to a test under ORS
813.100, was under arrest for driving while
under the influence of intoxicants in vio-
lation of ORS 813.010 or a municipal ordi-
nance.

(b) The police officer had reasonable
grounds to believe, at the time the request
was made, that the person arrested had been
driving under the influence of intoxicants in
violation of ORS 813.010 or of a municipal
ordinance.

(¢) The person refused the test under
ORS 813.100, or took the test and the test
disclosed that the level of alcohol in the
person’s blood at the time of the test was:
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(A) .08 percent or more by weight if the
person was not driving a commercial motor
vehicle;

(B) .04 percent or more by weight if the
gerson was driving a commercial motor ve-
icle; or
(C) Any amount if the person was under
21 years of age.

(d) If the report under ORS 813.120 indi-
cates that the person was driving a commer-
cial motor vehicle, the vehicle was in fact a
g(())mg(x)%rcial motor vehicle as defined in ORS

1.208.

(e) The person had been informed under
ORS 813.100 of rights and consequences as
described under ORS 813.130.

() The person was given written notice
required under ORS 813.100.

(g) If the person arrested submitted to
the test, the person administering the test
was qualified to administer the test under
ORS 813.160.

(h) If the person arrested submitted to
the test, the methods, procedures and equip-
ment used in the test complied with require-
ments under ORS 813.160.

(6) A suspension imposed under this sec-
tion shall remain in effect pending any ap-
peal or remand of a final order issued under
this section and there shall be no stay of the
suspension pending appeal or remand.

(7) Unless a person fails, without just
cause, to appear in person or through an at-
torney at a hearing requested under this
section, a person shall have the right to ap-
ﬁeal any final order by the division after a

earin%l under this section by filing a peti-
tion. The following apply to this subsection:

(a) The person shall file the petition in
the circuit court for the county where the
person resides or, if the person does not re-
side in Oregon, in the circuit court of the
county in which the arrest took place within
30 days after issuance of the final order of
the division.

(b) The court upon receipt of the petition
shall set the matter for hearing upon 10
dgs’ notice to the division and the petitioner
unless hearing is waived by both the division

and the petitioner. [1983 ¢.338 §358; 1985 c.16 §167;
g?? ¢.672 §13; 1987 c.158 §170; 1989 ¢.636 §44; 1991 c.860

813.420 Duration of suspension for re-
fusal or failure of breath test. When the
division imposes a suspension under ORS
813.410, the suspension shall be for a period
of time determined according to the follow-
ing:

(1) If the suspension is for refusal of the
test under ORS 813.100 and the person is not

subject to an increase in the suspension time
for reasons described in ORS 813.430, the
suspension shall be for a period of one year.

(2) If the suspension is for refusal of the
test under ORS 813.100 and the person is
subject to an increase in the suspension time
for reasons described in ORS 813.430, the
suspension shall be for a period of three
years.

(3) If the suspension is because the test
under ORS 813.100 disclosed that the person
had a level of alcohol in the person’s blood
that constituted being under the influence of
intoxicating liquor under ORS 813.300 and
the person is not subject to an increase in
the suspension time for reasons described in
ORS 813.430, the suspension shall be for a
period of 90 days.

(4) If the suspension is because the test
under ORS 813.100 disclosed that the person
had a level of alcohol in the person’s blood
that constituted being under the influence of
intoxicating liquor under ORS 813.300 and
the person is subject to an increase in the
suspension time for reasons described in ORS
813.430, suspension shall be for a period of
one year. [1985 c.16 §171]

813.430 Grounds for increase in dura-
tion of suspension. This section establishes
circumstances under which ORS 813.420 re-
quires an increase in the time for suspension
of driving privileges and under which ORS
813.520 requires an increase in the time be-
fore the division may issue a hardship per-
mit. A person is subject to an increase in
suspension time under this section if any of
the following apply:

(1) The person is presently participatin,
in a driving while under the influence o
intoxicants diversion program in this state
or in any similar alcohol or drug rehabili-
:gtion program in this or any other jurisdic-
ion.

(2) Within the five years preceding the
date of arrest any of the following occurred:

(a) A suspension of the person’s driving
ﬁx;ivﬂeges under ORS 813.410 or 482.540 (1981
placement Part) became effective.

(b) The person was convicted of driving
under the influence of intoxicants in vio-
lation of ORS 813.010 or its statutory
counterpart in another jurisdiction or a mu-
nicipal ordinance.

(c) The person commenced participating
in a driving while under the influence of
intoxicants diversion program in this state
or in any similar alcohol or drug rehabili-
tation program in this or any other jurisdic-
tion. (1985 c.16 §173; 1985 c.672 §15; 1987 c.801 §12]

813.440 Hearing on validity of suspen-
sion for persons unable to request or ap-
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Rlear at hearing within required time. (1)
otwithstanding ORS 813.410, the division
may provide a hearing to determine the va-
lidity of a suspension under ORS 813.410 for
a person who, for one of the reasons de-
scribed in subsection (2) of this section, was
unable to: .

(a) Request a hearing within the time re-
quired by ORS 813.410; or

(b) Appear, either in person or throuﬁg
31113 Zti%)mey, at a hearing held under O

. (2) The division may provide a hearing
under this section only if the reason for the
EerSon’s inability to request or attend a

earing within the time required under ORS
813.410 was caused by any of the following:

. (a) The person’s physical incapacity, ver-
ified by a plgysician to the satisfaction of the
division to be of a nature that would prevent
the person from making the appropriate re-
quest or attending the hearing.

(b) A death in the immediate family of
the person, verified to the satisfaction of the
division.

(¢) An error of the division.

(d) Other just cause as defined by the di-
vision by administrative rule.

(3) A hearing held under this section is
subject to the same provisions as a hearing
held under ORS 813.410, except that the di-
vision is not required to hold the hearing and
make the determination within the time re-
quired by ORS 813.410.

(4) The granting of a hearing under this
section shall not delay the imposition of a
suspension under ORS 813.410 within the
time required under ORS 813.410. However,
if a person establishes that the person was
deprived by division error of an opportuni;ﬁ
to appear at a hearing, the division sh
rescind the suspension and shall promptly
schedule a subsequent hearing to determine
the validity of the suspension under ORS
813.410. In other cases under this section,
when the division is unable to hold the
hearing within the time required by ORS
813.410, the division shall rescind any sus-
pension imposed under ORS 813.410 only if
the division determines, at a hearing held
under this section, that the suspension was
not valid as described under ORS 813.410.

(5) The following apply to this section:

(a) The division shall issue a final order
within 10 days after the hearing described in
this section.

(b) If the division has rescinded a sus-
pension under subsection (4) of this section
and if the division, at the hearing described
in this section, determines that the suspen-

sion is valid-as described under ORS 813.410,
the division shall reinstate the. suspension
effeé:tive five days after the final order is is-
sued.

(¢) Notwithstanding ORS 809.430, no ad-

ditional notice or order of suspension need
be given. [1985 c.16 §169; 1985 c.672 §14; 1987 ¢.272 §5]

813.450 Appeal from suspension for
refusal or failure of breath test. (1) The
getition to the circuit court appealing an or-

er of the division after a hearing under ORS
813.410 shall state the nature of the
petitioner's interest and the ground or
grounds upon which the petitioner contends
the order should be reversed or remanded.

(2) The court shall conduct the review
without a jury. Review shall be limited to
the record of the division’s hearing.

(3) Any party to the proceedings before
the circuit court may ap[():eal from the judg-
ment of the court to the Court of Appeals.

(4) Upon review in the circuit court and
Court of Appeals, the court may affirm, re-
verse or remand the order as follows:

(a) If the court finds that the division has
erroneously interpreted a provision of law
and that a correct intexipretation compels a
particular action, it shall:

(A) Set aside or modify the order; or

(B) Remand the case to the division for
further action under a correct interpretation
of the provision of law.

(b) The court shall remand the order to
the division if it finds the division’s exercise
of discretion to be any of the following:

(A) Outside the range of discretion de-
legated to the agency by law.

(B) Inconsistent with a division rule, an
officially stated division position, or a prior
division J)ractice, if the inconsistency is not
explained by the division.

(C) Otherwise in violation of a constitu-
tional or statutory provision.

(c) The court shall set aside or remand
the order if it finds that the order is not
supgorted by substantial evidence in the re-
cord.

(6) Upon review, the court shall affirm
the division’s order unless the court finds a
ground for setting aside, modifying or re-
manding to the division under a specified
provision of this section. [1985 c.672 §23]

813.460 Division procedures upon ver-
ification of suspension of driving privi-
leges of wrong person. If the division
verifies to its satisfaction that it has sus-
pended the driving privileges of the wrong
person under ORS 813.410 because a person
arrested for driving under the influence of
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intoxicants gave false identification at the
time of the arrest, all the following apply:

(1) The division shall immediately rescind
the suspension order under the false name
and shall issue a suspension order for the
period set forth in ORS 813.420 to the person

arrested.

-(2) The division shall issue the order in
the manner set forth in ORS 809.430.

(3) No further notice of suspension need
be given.

(4) The time limitations in ORS 813.410
(1), (2), (3) and (4)e) do not apply to a sus-

pension order issued under this section. (1985
c.672 §25; 1989 ¢.636 §47]

813.470 Division notation on record of
person acquitted after suspension. The di-
vision shall make a notation on the driving
record of a person indicating that the person
was acquitted of a charge of driving under
the influence of intoxicants if:

(1) The person’s driving privileges were
suspended because the test under ORS
813.100 disclosed that the person had a level
of alcohol in the person’s blood that consti-
tuted beinﬁ under the influence of
intoxicating liquor under ORS 813.300;

(2) An accusatory instrument was filed
charging the person with driving under the
influence of intoxicants in violation of ORS
813.010 arising out of the same incident that
led to the suspension of the person’s driving
privileges;

(3) The person was acquitted of the
charge; and

(4) The person presents the division with
a certified copy of the judgment of acquittal
from the court clearly showing the location
of the court, the date of the arrest and the
findings of the court. (1987 ¢.303 §2)

HARDSHIP PERMITS

813.500 Restrictions on issuance. (1) If
a person’s license is suspended for driving
while under the influence of intoxicants un-
der ORS 813.400 and the suspension period
is determined by ORS 809.420 (2)(b) or (c),
the division may only issue a hardship permit
to the person under ORS 807.240 if the per-
son, in addition to any requirement under
ORS 807.240 and any applicable requirements
under ORS 807.250 and 813.520:

(a) Is examined by the Assistant Director
for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs or its
designee to determine whether the person
has a problem condition involving alcohol or
controlled substances as described in ORS
813.040; and

(b) Complies with the requirements of
this section.

(2) If the Assistant Director for Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Programs determines that
the person has a problem condition involvin
alcohol or controlled substance, as describe
in ORS 813.040, the division may issue the
permit to the person only if both the follow-
ing apply:

(a) The person enrolled in a program for
rehabilitation for alcoholism or drug depend-
ence anroved by the Assistant Director for
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs.

(b) The Assistant Director for Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Programs recommends, on
the basis of the person’s progress in the re-
habilitation program, such reinstatement in
writing to the division. If the Assistant Di-
rector for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs
makes a recommendation under this para-
graph, the Assistant Director for Alcohol and
DruiAbuse Programs shall state specifically
in the recommendation the times, places,
routes and days of the week minimally nec-
essary for the person to retain employment,
to attend any alcohol treatment or rehabili-
tation program or to obtain necessary med-
ical treatment for the person or a member
of the person’s immediate family.

(3) If the Assistant Director for Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Programs determines that
the person does not have a problem condition
involving alcohol or controlled substances as
described in ORS 813.040, the division ma
issue the permit to the person only if, in ad-
dition to any requirements under ORS
807.240, the person enters an alcohol or drug
information program approved by the Assis-
tant Director for Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Programs and the division determines that
issuance of a permit is appropriate. If the di-
vision issues a permit to a person described
in this subsection, the division shall require,
under ORS 807.240, that the person complete
the program as a condition of retaining the
permit. [1983 c.338 §328; 1985 c.16 §145; 1987 ¢.801 §13;
1989 c.401 §2; 1991 ¢.557 §9)

813.510 Limitations on privileges
granted by permit; conditions of permit.
This section establishes limitations that the
division is required or germitted to place on
hardship permits issued under ORS 807.240
to persons whose suspension is based upon a
conviction for driving under the influence of
intoxicants or upon ORS 813.100. Limitations
placed on a hardship permit under this sec-
tion are in addition to any limitations placed
on the permit under ORS 807.240. A person’s
permit is subject to suspension or revocation
as provided under ORS 807.240 if the division
determines that the holder of the permit has
violated any limitation placed upon the per-
mit under this section. Violation of a limi-
tation under this section is punishable as
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provided by ORS 811.175 or 811.182. The lim-
itations are as described in the following:

(1) A hardship permit issued to the per-
lson shall limit the person’s driving privi-
eges:

(a) To the times, places, routes and days
the division determines to be minimally nec-
essary for the person to retain employment,
to attend any alcohol treatment or rehabili-
tation program or to obtain required medical
treatment for the person or a member of the
person’s immediate family; and

(b) To times, places, routes and days that
are specifically stated.

(2) The person’s driving privileges under
the permit are subject to suspension or re-
vocation if the person does not maintain a
good driving record, as defined by the ad-
ministrative rules of the division, during the
term of the permit.

(3) If the person is in a rehabilitation
program under ORS 813.500, the person must
complete the rehabilitation program.

(4) The division may require the person
to complete a driver improvement program
under ORS 809.480 as a condition of the per-
mit.

(5) If the person is involved in a diver-
sion agreement under ORS 813.220 and
813.230, the division may require the person
to successfully complete the diversion pro-
gram as a condition of retaining the permit.

(6) The division shall condition the per-
mit so that the permit will be revoked if the
person is convicted of any of the following:

(a) Reckless driving under ORS 811.140.

(b) Driving under the influence of
intoxicants under ORS 813.010.

(c) Failure to perform the duties of a
driver under ORS 811.700 or 811.705.

(d) Fleeing or attempting to elude a po-
lice officer under ORS 811.540.

(e) Driving while suspended or revoked
under ORS 811.175 or 811.182. [1983 c.338 §329;
ég]85 c.16 §146; 1987 c.730 §21; 1987 c.801 §14; 1991 c.208

813.520 Limitations on division au-
thority to issue hardship permit or rein-
state driving privileges. In addition to any
provisions of ORS 807.240 and 813.510 or
807.250, this section establishes limitations
on the authority of the Motor Vehicles Divi-
sion to issue driving privileges under ORS
807.240. The division may not reinstate any
driving privileges or issue any hardship per-
mit under ORS 807.240 as provided under any
of the following:

(1) For a period of 90 days after the be-
ginning of the suspension if the suspension
is for refusal of the test under ORS 813.100

and the person is not subject to an increase
in the time before a permit may be issued for
reasons described in ORS 813.430. This pe-
riod of 90 days shall be reduced by the time
the division refused to issue a hardship per-
mit under subsection (5) or (6) of this section
if the person’s driving privileges were sus-
pended based on the same occurrence.

(2) For a period of 30 days after the be-
ginning of the suspension if the suspension
is because the test under ORS 813.100 dis-
closed that the person had a level of alcohol
in the person’s blood that constituted being
under the influence of intoxicating liquor
under ORS 813.300 and the person is not
subject to an increase in the time before a
hardship permit may be issued for reasons
described 1n ORS 813.430. This period of 30
days shall be reduced by the time the divi-
sion refused to issue a hardship permit under
subsection (5) or (6) of this section if the
gerson’s driving privileges were suspended

ased on the same occurrence.

(3) For a period of one year after the be-
inning of the suspension if the suspension
1s because the test under ORS 813.100 dis-
closed that the person had a level of alcohol
in the person’s blood that constituted being
under the influence of intoxicating liquor
under ORS 813.300 and the person is subject
to an increase in the time before a hardshi
permit nﬁgy be issued for reasons describe
under ORS 813.430. This period of one year
shall be reduced by the time the division re-
fused to issue a hardship permit under sub-
section (5) or (6) of this section if the
gerson’s driving privileges were suspended
ased on the same occurrence.

(4) For a period of one year after the be-
ginning of the suspension if the suspension
i1s for refusal of the test under ORS 813.100
and the gerson is subject to an increase in
the time before a hardship permit may be is-
sued for reasons described in ORS 813.430.
This period of one year shall be reduced by
the time the division refused to issue a
hardship permit under subsection (5) or (6)
of this section if the gerson’s driving privi-
leges were suspended based on the same oc-
currence.

(5) For a period of 90 days after the be-
ginning of the suspension under ORS 813.400
if it is the person’s second conviction for
driving while under the influence of
intoxicants if the suspension period is deter-
mined by ORS 809.420 (2)(b). This period of
90 days shall be reduced by the time the di-
vision refused to issue a hardship permit un-
der subsection (1), (2), (3) or (4) of this
section if the person’s driving privileges were
suspended based on the same occurrence.

(6) For a period of one year after the be-
ginning of the suspension under ORS 813.400
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for driving while under the influence of
intoxicants if the suspension period is deter-
mined by ORS 809.420 (2)(c). This period of
one year shall be reduced by the time the
division refused to issue a hardship permit
under subsection (1), (2), (3) or (4) of this
section if the person’s driving privileges were
suspended based on the same occurrence.

(7) To any person who has a mental or
physical condition rendering it unsafe for the
person to drive a motor vehicle.

(8) If the suspension is based upon a
conviction for a violation of ORS 813.010 or
is imposed under ORS 813.410 based upon
ORS 813.100 to a person who has available

ublic or private transportation sufficient to

ulfill the person’s transportation needs while.

the person is suspended.

(9) For a period of 30 days following im-
position of suspension, if the person, within
the previous year, has been convicted of a
major traffic offense as defined in ORS
153.500 and the suspension is based upon a
conviction for violation of ORS 813.010 or is
isxilgosed under ORS 813.410 based upon ORS

100. [1985 c.16 §148; 1985 c.672 §16; 1987 c.673 §la;
1987 ¢.801 §15; 1989 ¢.224 §141; 1989 c.401 §3]

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES

Note: Chapter 746, Oregon Laws 1987, as amended
by chapter 576, Oregon Laws 1989, and chapter 453,
Oregon Laws 1991, provides:

Sec. 1. (1) The Traffic Safety Division, in consul-
tation with the Traffic Safety Committee, shall establish
a pilot program for the use of ignition interlock devices
by persons convicted of driving under the influence of
intoxicants and granted hardship permits under ORS
807.240. The Traffic Safety Division shall select an ap-
propriate number of counties for participation in the
pilot program.

(2) The Motor Vehicles Division shall adopt rules
that specify requirements for ignition interlock devices
that may be used and shall publish a list of devices that
a:jeet the requirements. The list may include devices

at:

(a) Do not impede the safe operation of the vehicle;

(b) Have the fewest opportunities to be bypassed;

(c) Correlate well with established measures of al-
cohol impairment;

(d) Work accurately and reliably in an unsuper-
vised environment;

(e) Require a deep lung breath sample or other ac-
curate measure of blood alcohol content equivalence;

(f) Resist tampering and give evidence if tampering
is attempted;

(g) Are difficult to circumvent, and require pre-
meditation to do so;

(h) Minimize inconvenience to a sober user;

(i) Operate reliably over the range of automobile
environments or automobile manufacturing standards;

(j) Are manufactured by a party who is adequately
insured for product liability; and

(k) Have a label affixed in a prominent location
warning that any person tampering with, circumventin
or otherwise misusing the device is subject to civi
penalty. [1987 ¢.746 §1; 1991 c.453 §14]

Sec. 2. (1X(a) When a person is convicted of driving
while under the influence of intoxicants in violation of
ORS 813.010 or of a municipal ordinance, the Motor
Vehicles Division, in addition to any other requirement,
shall require that an approved ignition interlock device
be inst;hed and used in any vehicle operated by the
person:

(A) Before the person is eligible for a hardship
ﬁermit. The requirement shall become a condition of the
ardship permit for the duration of the hardship permit.

(B) As a condition of full reinstatement of the per-
son’s driving privileges after the ending date of the
suspension resulting from the conviction. The Motor
Vehicles Division shall only require a device under this
paragraph for the first six months after the ending date
of the suspension caused by the conviction. Violation
of the comfition imposed under this subparagraph is a
Class A traffic infraction.

(b) Paragraph (a) of this subsection applies only to

gersons convicted in counties chosen by the Traffic

afety Division to participate in the ignition interlock
device pilot program.

(2) If the court determines that ?F%roved ignition
interlock devices are reasonably available, the court
may require as a condition of a driving while under the
influence of intoxicants diversion agreement that an
approved ignition interlock device be installed in any
vehicle operated by the person. Courts shall not exer-
cise authority under this subsection during any period
the courts have notice from the Executive Department
Office of Economic Analysis that there are not sufficient
moneys in the Intoxicated Driver Program Fund to %aly
the costs under subsection (4) of this section. e
Executive Department Office of Economic Analysis shall
not issue any notice under this subsection if federal
funds are available to me the cost of the interlock de-
vices for indigents and costs of analysis of the use of
interlock devices.

(3) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this
section, if an ignition interlock system is ordered or
required under subsection (1) or (2) of this section, the
person so ordered or required shall pay to the provider
the reasonable costs of leasing, installing and main-
taining the device. A payment schedule may be estab-
lished for the person by the Traffic Safety Division.

(4) The Traffic Safety Division may waive, in whole
or in part, or defer the defendant’s responsibility to pay
all or part of the costs under subsection (8) of this sec-
tion if the defendant meets the criteria for indigence
established for waiving or deferring such costs under
subsection (5) of this section. If the defendant’s respon-
sibility for costs is waived, then notwithstanding ORS
813.270, the costs described in subsection (3) of this
section shall be paid from the Intoxicated Driver Pro-
gram Fund.

(6) The Traffic Safety Division, by rule, shall es-
tablish criteria and procedures it will use for qualifica-
tion to waive or defer costs described under subsection
(3) of this section for ingi.ﬁ:nce. The criteria shall be
consistent with the stand for indigence adopted by
the Federal Government for purposes of the food stamp
program.

(6) The Motor Vehicles Division shall suspend the
driving privileges or right to apply for driving privi-
leges of a person who fails to install or use an ignition
interlock device when required under subparagraph (B)
of paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of this section. The
suspension shall continue until six months after the
ending date of the suspension resulting from the con-
viction. {1987 ¢.746 §2; 1989 ¢.576 §1; 1991 c.453 §15]

Sec. 8. (1) When a court orders installation of an
ignition interlock device pursuant to section 2, chapter
746, Oregon Laws 1987, the court shall send a copy of
the order to the Motor Vehicles Division. The division
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shall note the requirement on the driving record of the
person required to install the device.

(2) The division may not issue a hardship permit
under ORS 807.240 to any person who is ordered to in-
stall an ignition interlock device on the person’s vehicle
until the person furnishes the division satisfactory proof
that the cﬁm‘ce has been installed on any vehicle owned
or operated by the person. The division shall determine
by rule what constitutes satisfactory proof under this
subsection.

(3) When the division issues a hardship permit to
a person who is required to have an ignition interlock
device, the division shall note on the permit that the
device is required. The notation constitutes a limitation
on the permit and a person who violates the limitation
is Yums able as provided in ORS 811.182 for driving in
§i2¢]) ation of a hardship permit. [1987 ¢.746 §3; 1989 ¢.398

Sec. 4. Notwithstanding section 3 of this Act, if a
person 18 required, in the course and scope of the per-
son’s employment, to operate a motor vehicle owned by
the person’s emploirer, the person may operate that ve-
li}icle without installation of an ignition interlock device

(1) The employer has been notified that the em-
ployee is operating with a hardship germit. restricted as
provided in section 3 of this Act; an

(2) The em;f)loyee has proof of the notification in
the possession of the employee while operating the em-
g‘l;])yer’s vehicle in the course of employment. [1987 ¢.746

Sec. 5. (1) A person commits the offense of know-
ingly furnishing a motor vehicle without an ignition
interlock device to someone who is not authorized to
drive such a vehicle if the person rents, leases, lends
or otherwise furnishes a motor vehicle to someone the
person knows to have been ordered or required under
section 2, chapter 746, Oregon Laws 1987, to install an
ignition interlock device, and the motor vehicle is not
equipped with such a device that is in working order.

(2) The offense described in this section, knowingl
furnishing a motor vehicle without an ignition interloc
device to someone who is not authorized to drive such
a vehicle, is a Class A traffic infraction. [1987 ¢.746 §5;
1989 ¢.576 §2]

Sec. 6. (1) A person commits the offense of unlaw-
fully soliciting another to blow inte an ignition inter-
lock device or start a motor vehicle equipped with an
ignition interlock device if the person has such a device
as a result of an order or requirement under section 2,
chapter 746, Oregon Laws 1987, and the person requests
or solicits another to blow into the device or start the
motor vehicle so as to circumvent the device.

(2) The offense described in this section, unlawfully
soliciting another to blow into an ignition interlock
device or start a motor vehicle equipped with an ig-
nition interlock device, is a Class A traffic infraction.
(1987 c.746 §6; 1989 ¢.576 §3]

Sec. 7. (1) A person commits the offense of unlaw-
fully blowing into an ignition interlock device or start-
ing a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock
device if, for the purpose of providing an operable mo-
tor vehicle for someone required under section 2 of this
Act to have such a device, the person blows into an
ignition interlock device or starts an automobile
equipped with the device.

(2) This section does not apply to a person who is
required to have an ignition interlock device and who
blows into or starts the person’s own vehicle that is so
equipped.

(3) The offense described in this section, unlawfully
blowing into an ignition interlock device or starting a
motor vehicle ‘equipped with an ignition interlock de-
vice, is a Class A traffic infraction. [1987 ¢.746 §7]

Sec. 8. Notwithstanding ORS 813.270, moneys in
the Intoxicated Driver Program Fund may be used to
pay for administration and evaluation of the pilot pro-
gram established by this Act and for the costs of par-
ticipation in the program for indigents. {1987 c.746 §8]

Sec. 9. (1) A person commits the offense of
tampering with an ignition interlock device if the per-
son does anything to a device that was ordered installed
pursuant to section 2 of this Act that circumvents the
operation of the device. '

(2) The offense described in this section, tampering
with an ignition interlock device, is a Class A traffic
infraction. (1987 ¢.746 §9) -

Sec. 10. (1) The Traffic Safety Division in cooper-
ation with the Motor Vehicles Division shall evaluate
the pilot program authorized by chapter 746, Oregon
Laws 1987, and shall r?sort the evaluation to the
Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly. The program will
be considered successful if the recidivism rate for those
subject to chapter 746, Oregon Laws 1987, is reduced by
at least 10 percent over a one-year period.

(2) The Traffic Safety Division shall evaluate the
effectiveness of the use of diversion in cases involving
driving under the influence of intoxicants. The Motor
Vehicles Division and Alcohol and Drug Abuse Pro-
Erams of the Mental Health and Developmental Disa-

m;% Services Division shall cooperate and assist the
Traffic Safety Division in the evaluation and study un-
der this subsection. The study and evaluation shall be
presented to the Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly and
shall include any recommendations for the improvement
of the use of diversion that are developed during the
st;léig' §al%¢]i evaluation. (1987 ¢.746 §10; 1989 ¢.576 §4; 1991
c.

Sec. 11. This Act applies to persons convicted of
driving under the influence of intoxicants on and after
gﬁ] effective date of this Act [July 16, 1987). [1987 ¢.746

Sec. 12, Chapter 746, Oregon Laws 1987, is repealed
on June 30, 1993. [1987 c¢.746 §12; 1989 ¢.576 §12]

Note: Section 11, chapter 576, Oregon Laws 1989,
provides:
Sec. 11. The provisions regarding requirement of
gm'tion interlock devices under section 2, chapter 746,
regon Laws 1987, apply to persons who do any of the
following on or after the effective date of this section
[June 30, 19891

(1) Apply for a hardship permit, regardless of the
date of suspension.

(2) Apply for a driving under the influence of
intoxicants diversion agreement, regardless of the date
of the alleged offense.

(3) Become eligible for reinstatement of driving
rivileges after suspension based on a conviction under
RS 813.010, regardless of the date of the conviction.

[1989 ¢.576 §11]
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