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CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT 653.0

668.005 [ Repealed by 1967 x596 § 151. 

hU NDIUM WAGES

653.010 Definitions for ORS 653.010 to
653.261. As used in ORS 653.010 to 653.261, 
unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) " Average weekly wage" means the

average weekly wage of workers in covered
employment in Oregon, as determined by. the
Employment Division of the Department of
Human Resources for the preceding fiscal
year. 

2) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

3) " Employ" includes to suffer or permit
to work; however, " employ" does not include
voluntary or donated services performed for
no compensation or without expectation or

contemplation of compensation as the ade- 
quate consideration for the services per- 
formed for a public employer referred to in
subsection ( 4) of this section, or a religious, 
charitable, educational, public service or

similar nonprofit corporation, organization

or institution for community service, reli- 

gious or humanitarian reasons. 

4) " Employer" means any person who
employs another person including the State
of Oregon or a political subdivision thereof

or any county, city, district, authority, public
corporation or entity and any of their

instrumentalities organized and existing un- 
der law or charter. 

5) " Minor" means any person under 18
years of age. 

6) " Occupation" means any occupation, 
service, trade, business, industry, or branch
or group of industries or employment or class
ofloyment in which employees are

g y employed. 

7) " Organized camp" means a day or
resident camp, whether or not operated for
profit, established to give campers recre- 
ational, creative, religious or educational ex- 

perience in cooperative group living wherein
the activities are conducted on a closely
supervised basis, whether or not the camp is
used primarily by an organized group or by
members of the public and whether or not

the activities or facilities are furnished free
of charge or for the payment of a fee. 

8) " Outside salesperson" means any em- 
ployee who is employed for the purpose of

and who is customarily and regularly en- 
gaged away from the employer' s place or
places of business in making sales, or ob- 
taining orders, or obtaining contracts for
services and whose hours of work of any
other nature for the employer do not exceed
30 percent of the hours worked in the

workweek by the nonexempt employees of
the employer. 

9) " Piece - rate" means a rate of pay cal- 
culated on the basis of the quantity of the
crop harvested. 

10) " Salary" means no less than the
wage set pursuant to ORS 653.025, multiplied

by 2,080 hours per year, then divided by 12
months. 

11) " Wages" means compensation due to

an employee by reason of employment, paya- 
ble in legal tender of the United States or
check on banks convertible into cash on de- 
mand at full face value, subject to such de- 
ductions, charges or allowances as are

permitted in ORS 653.035. 

12) " Work time" includes both time
worked and time of authorized attendance. 
1967 c.696 § 2; 1979 c.153 § 2; 1983 c.274 § l; 1985 c.99 § l; 

1985 c.170 § 1; 1989 c.446 § 1; 1991 c.829 § 21

653.015 Statement of policy. It is de- 
clared to be the policy of the State of Oregon
to establish minimum wage standards for
workers at levels consistent with their
health, efficiency and general well- being. 
1967 c.596 § 11

653.020 Excluded employees. ORS

653.010 to 653.261 does not apply to any of
the following employees: 

1) An individual employed in agriculture
if: 

a) Such individual is employed as a hand

harvest or pruning laborer and is paid on a
piece -rate basis in an operation which has
been, and is customarily and generally re- 
cognized as having been paid, on a piece -rate
basis in the region of employment and is

employed by an employer who did not, during
any calendar quarter during the preceding
year use more than 500 piece - rate - work -days
of agricultural labor; 

b) Such individual is the parent, spouse, 
child or other member of the employer' s im- 

mediate family; 
c) Such individual: 

A) Is employed as a hand harvest or
pruning laborer and is paid on a piece-rate
basis in an operation which has been, and is

customarily and generally recognized as hav- 
ing been, paid on a piece -rate basis in the
region of employment; 

B) Commutes daily from a permanent
residence to the farm on which the individ- 
ual is so employed; and

C) Has been employed in agricultural

labor less than 13 weeks during the preced- 
ing calendar year; 

d) Such individual, other than an indi- 
vidual described in paragraph ( c) of this sub- 
section: 
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653.022 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

A) Is 16 years of age or under and is
employed as a hand harvest laborer, is paid
on a piece -rate basis in an operation which

has been, and is customarily and generally
recognized as having been, paid on a piece - 
rate basis in the region of employment; and

B) Is paid at the same piece -rate as em- 
ployees over 16 years of age on the same
farm; or

e) Such employee is principally engaged
in the range production of livestock and

earns a salary and is paid on a salary basis. 
2) An individual employed in domestic

service on a casual basis in or about a family
home. 

3) An individual engaged in administra- 
tive, executive or professional work who: 

a) Performs predominantly intellectual, 
managerial or creative tasks; 

b) Exercises discretion and independent
judgment; and

c) Earns a salary and is paid on a salary
basis. 

4) An individual employed by the United
States. 

5) An individual who is employed by an
institution whose function is primary or sec- 
ondary education, and in which the individ- 
ual is an enrolled student. 

6) An individual engaged in the capacity
of an outside salesperson or taxicab operator. 

7) An individual domiciled at a place of
employment for the purpose of being avail- 
able for emergency or occasional duties for
time other than that spent performing these
duties, provided that when the individual

performs emergency or occasional duties, the
individual must be paid no less than the
wage specified in ORS 653.025. 

8) An individual paid for specified hours

of employment, the only purpose of which is
to be available for recall to duty. 

9) An individual domiciled at multiunit
accommodations designed to provide other

people with temporary or permanent lodging, 
for the purpose of maintenance, management
or assisting in the management of same. 

10) An individual employed on a sea- 
sonal basis at: 

a) An organized camp operated for profit
that generates gross annual income of less
than 500,000; or

b) A nonprofit organized camp. 
11) An individual employed at a

nonprofit conference ground or center oper- 

ated for educational, charitable or religious
purposes. 

12) An individual who performs services
as a volunteer firefighter, as defined in ORS
652.050. 

13) An individual who performs child
care services in the home of the individual
or in the home of the child. 

14) An individual employed in domestic
service employment in or about a family
home to provide companionship services for
individuals who, because of age or infirmity, 
are unable to care for themselves. 11967 c.696
3; 1971 e758 §3; 1973 x383 § 1; 1977 c.238 § 1; 1979 x153
1; 1981 c.361 § 1; 1983 c.319 § 3; 1989 c.446 § 2; 1991 c.829
l; 1991 c.870 § 11

653.022 " Piece-rate- work -day" defined
for ORS 653.020. As used in ORS 653.020 ( 1), 

piece -rate- work -day" means any day during
which an employee performs any agricultural
labor on a piece -rate basis for not less than
one hour. For the purposes of this section, 

em loyee" does not include any individual
employed by an employer in agriculture if
such individual is the parent, spouse, child
or other member of the employer's immediate
family. [ 1971 058 §2; 1989 c.446 § 31

653.025 Minimum wage rate. Except as

provided by ORS 652.020 and the rules of the
commissioner issued under ORS 653.030 and
653.261, for each hour of work time that the
employee is gainfully employed, no employer
shall employ or agree to employ any em- 
ployee at wages computed at a rate lower
than: 

1) For the period September 1, 1989, to
December 31, 1989, $ 3.85. 

2) For calendar year 1990, $ 4.25. 

3) For calendar years after December 31, 
1990, $ 4.75. [ 1967 c.596 § 4; 1973 c.403 § 3; 1975 c.504

1; 1979 c.832 § 1; 1979 c.886 § l; 1985 c.99 § 2; 1985 c.161
l; 1989 e.446 § 41

653.027 Wage rate for persons under
18 years of age. An employer who employs
individuals under 18 years of age in agricul- 

tural labor and who pays such individuals by
the amount of work produced or services

rendered shall pay such individuals the same
rate of payment for the work produced or
services required as paid to individuals over
18 years of age. [ 1973 c.403 § 21

653.028 [ 1975 c.504 § 2; 1977 c.238 § 2; 1979 c.832 § 2; 
1985 c. 161 § 2; repealed by 1989 c.446 § 51

653.030 Commissioner may prescribe
lower rates in certain cases. The commis- 

sioner shall issue rules prescribing the em- 
ployment of other types of persons at fixed

minimum hourly wage rates lower than the
minimum wage rate required by ORS 653.025, 
when the commissioner has determined that
the application of ORS 653.025 would sub- 

stantially curtail opportunities for employ- 
ment for specific types of persons. The types
of persons for whom a minimum hourly wage

51 -28



CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT

rate may be set are limited to persons who
are mentally or physically handicapped or
who are student - learners, as defined in ORS
653.070. [ 1967 c.596 § 5 M, 1973 x403 § 4; 1979 x886 §2; 
1981 c.850 § 1; 1985 c.99 § 31

653.035 Deducting value of lodging, 
meals and other benefits furnished by
employer; treatment of commissions and
tics. ( 1) Employers may deduct from the
minimum wage to be paid employees under
ORS 653.025, 653.030 or 653.261, the fair

market value of lodging, meals or other fa- 
cilities or services furnished by the employer
for the private benefit of the employee. 

2) Employers may include commission
payments to employees as part of the appli- 

cable minimum wage for any pay period in
which the combined wage and commission

earnings of the employee will comply with
ORS 653.010 to 653.261. In angy pay period
where the combined wage and commission

payments to the employee do not add up to
the applicable minimum wage under ORS

653.010 to 653.261, the employer shall pay the
minimum rate as prescribed in ORS 653.010
to 653.261. 

3) Employers, including employers regu- 
lated under the Federal Fair Labor Standards

Act, may not include any amount received
by employees as tips in determining the
amount of the minimum wave reauired to be

paid by ORS 653.010 to 653.261. [ 1967 x596 §§6, 

7; 1977 c.238 § 31

653.040 Powers of commissioner. The
commissioner, in addition to the commis- 

sioner's other powers, may: 

1) Investigate and ascertain the wages

of persons employed in any occupation or
place of employment in the state. 

2) Require from an employer statements, 

including sworn statements, with respect to
wages, hours, names and addresses and such

other information pertaining to the employ- 
er's employees or their employment as the

commissioner considers necessary to carry
out ORS 653.010 to 653.261. 

3) Make such rules as the commissioner
considers appropriate to carry out the pur- 
poses of ORS 653.010 to 653.261, or necessary
to prevent the circumvention or evasion of
ORS 653.010 to 653.261 and to safeguard the
minimum wage rates set under ORS 653.010
to 653.261. [ 1967 x596 §8; 1985 c.99 § 41

653.04b Records to be kept by ein oy- 
ers; itemization of deductions from
wages. ( 1) Every employer required by ORS
653.025 or by any rule, order or permit issued
under ORS 653.030 to pay a minimum wage
to any of the employer's employees shall
make and keep available to the commissioner
for not less than two years, a record or re- 
cords containing: 

653.055

a) The name, address and occupation of
each of the employer's employees. 

b) The actual hours worked each week
and each pay period by each employee. 

c) Such other information as the com- 
missioner prescribes by the commissioner' s
rules if necessary or appropriate for the en- 
forcement of ORS 653.010 to 653.261 or of the
rules and orders issued thereunder. 

2) Each employer shall keep the records
required by subsection ( 1) of this section

open for inspection or transcription by the
commissioner or the commissioner's designee

at any reasonable time. 

3) Every employer of one or more em- 
ployees covered by ORS 653. 010 to 653.261
shall supply each of the employer' s employ- 
ees with itemized statements of amounts and
purposes of deductions in the manner pro- 
vided in ORS 652.610. [ 1967 c.696 §9; im c.99 § 51

653.050 Employers to post summary
of law and rules; commissioner to furnish

summaries and copies. Every employer re- 
quired by ORS 653.025 or by any rules, or- 
ders or permit issued under ORS 653.030 or

653.261 to pay a minimum wage to any of the
employer' s employees shall keep summaries
of ORS 653.010 to 653.261, summaries of all

rules promulgated by the commissioner pur- 
suant to ORS 653.010 to 653.261 and summa- 
ries of all rules promulgated by the Wage
and Hour Commission posted in a conspicu- 
ous and accessible place in or about the
premises where such employees are em- 

ployed. Employers shall be furnished copies

of these summaries by the commissioner
without charge. In addition, upon request, 
the commissioner shall furnish the complete
test of all rules promulgated pursuant to

ORS 653.010 to 653.261 and by the Wage and
Hour Commission to any employer without
charge. [ 1967 x596 §10; 1977 x238 §4; 1985 c.99 § 61

653.055 Liability of noncomplying em- 
ployer; contrary agreements no defense; 
wade claims; suits to enjoin future vio- 
lations. ( 1) Any employer who pays an em- 
ployee less than the wages to which the
employee is entitled under ORS 653.010 to
653.261 is liable to the employee affected: 

a) For the full amount of the wages, less

any amount actually paid to the employee by
the employer; 

b) For costs and such reasonable attor- 

ney fees at trial and on appeal as are allowed
by the court; and

c) For civil penalties provided in ORS
652. 150. 

2) Any agreement between an employee
and an employer to work at less than the

wage rate required by ORS 653.010 to 653.261
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is no defense to an action under subsection
1) of this section. 

3) The commissioner has the same pow- 
ers and duties in connection with a wage
claim based on ORS 653.010 to 653.261 as the
commissioner has under ORS 652.310 to
652.445 and in addition the commissioner
may, without the necessity of assignments of
wage claims from employees, initiate suits
against employers to enjoin future failures to
pay required minimum wages or overtime

pay and to require the payment of minimum
wages and overtime pay due employees but
not paid as of the time of the filing of suit. 
The commissioner is entitled to recover, in
addition to costs, such sum as the court or

judge may adjudge reasonable as attorney
fees at trial and on appeal. The commissioner

may join in a single proceeding and in one
cause of suit any number of wage claims
against the same employer. If the commis- 
sioner does not prevail in such action, the

commissioner shall pay all costs and dis- 
bursements from the Bureau of Labor and
Industries Account. [ 1967 c.596 § 11; 1977 c.513 § l; 
1981 c.850 § 2; 1981 x897 §90; 1985 c.99 § 71

653.060 or discriminating
against employee pro ' bited in certain

cases. No employer shall discharge or in any
other manner discriminate against any em- 
ployee: 

1) Because the employee has made com- 
plaint that the employee has not been paid
wages in accordance with ORS 653.010 to
653.261. 

2) Because the employee has caused to
be instituted or is about to cause to be in- 
stituted any proceedings under or related to
ORS 653.010 to 653.261. 

3) Because the employee has testified or
is about to testify in any such proceedings. 
1967 c.596 § 12] 

653.065 Application of Administrative
Procedures Act. ( 1) All proceedings under
ORS 653.010 to 653.261 shall be conducted in
compliance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550. 

2) All rules of the commissioner under
ORS 653.010 to 653.261 shall be issued in
compliance with ORS 183.310 to 183.550. [ 1967

c.596 § 13; 1985 c.99 § 81

653.070 Student - learners special wage; 

conditions; rulemaldng; effect upon em- 
ployer of failure to comply. ( 1) As used in
this section: 

a) " Bona fide vocational training pro- 
gram" includes any vocational training pro- 
gram approved by the Superintendent of
Public Instruction pursuant to rules of the
State Board of Education which provides for

part -time employment training which may be
scheduled for a part of the workday or
workweek, for alternating weeks or for other

limited periods during the year, supple- 

mented by and integrated with a definitely
organized plan of instruction designed to
teach technical knowledge and related infor- 
mation given as a regular part of the

student - learner's course by an accredited
school, college or university. 

b) " Student - learner" means a student

who is receiving instruction in an accredited
school, college or university and who is em- 
ployed on a part-time basis, pursuant to. a

bona fide vocational training program. 
2) Notwithstanding ORS 653.025, em- 

ployers shall pay student - learners at least 75
percent of the minimum wage prescribed by
ORS 653.025. 

3) The number of hours of employment

training for a student - learner at subminimum
wages, when added to the hours of school
instruction, shall not exceed eight hours on

any day or 40 hours in any week. 
4) The Commissioner of the Bureau of

Labor and Industries may adopt rules pre- 
scribing the procedures and requirements for
application and issuance of special certif- 
icates authorizing the employment of

student - learners at subminimum wages. The

rules shall require that the following condi- 
tions be satisfied before the issuance of such
special certificates: 

a) The employment of the student - 

learner at subminimum wages authorized by
the special certificate must be necessary to
prevent curtailment of opportunities for em- 
ployment. 

b) The occupation for which the
student - learner is receiving preparatory
training must require a sufficient degree of
skill to necessitate a substantial learning pe- 
riod. 

c) The training must not be for the pur- 
pose of acquiring manual dexterity and high
production speed in repetitive operations. 

d) The employment of a student - learner

must not have the effect of displacing a
worker employed in the establishment. 

e) The employment of the student - 

learners at subminimum wages must not tend
to impair or depress the wage rates or work- 
ing standards established for experienced
workers for work of a like or comparable
character. 

f) The occupational needs of the com- 

munity or industry warrant the training of
student - learners. 

g) There are no serious outstanding vio- 
lations of the provisions of a student - learner
certificate previously issued to the employer, 
or serious violations of any other provisions
of law by the employer which provide rea- 
sonable grounds to conclude that the terms
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CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT 653285

of the certificate would not be complied with, 
if issued. 

h) The issuance of such a certificate
would not tend to prevent the development

of apprenticeship under ORS chapter 660 or
would not impair established apprenticeship
standards in the occupation or industry in- 
volved. 

W The number of student - learners to be
employed in one establishment must not be

more than a small proportion of its working
force. 

5) Failure to comply ith subsection ( 2) 
or ( 3) of this section shall subject the em- 

ployer to a penalty of 75 percent of the min- 
imum wage prescribed by ORS 653.025 for
each hour of work time that the student - 
learner is gainfully employed. The Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries
shall have a cause of action against the em- 

ployer for the recovery of the penalty. [ 1979
c.886 § 5; 1981 c.850 § 3; 1989 c.491 § 621

Note: 653.070 was enacted into law by the 1*& Ia- 

tive Assembly and added to ORS chapter 653 by legis- 
lative action but not made a part of any series therein. 
See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further ex- 
planation. 

663.105 [ Amended by 1953 c. 123 § 2; repealed by 1967
c.596 § 151

659.110 [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
663.116 ( Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151

663.120 [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
683125 [Repealed by 1967 x596 § 151
663.205 [ Amended by 1961 c.337 § l; repealed by 1967

c.596 § 151

653210 [Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151

653.216 [Repealed by 1967 c.696 § 151
653.220 [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
663226 [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
663.250 (Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
653296 [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
65&M [Repealed by 1967 x596 §151
663246 [Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151

653260 [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
65a= [ Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151
663260 [Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151

GENERAL EMPLOYMENT
CONDITIONS

663.261 Minimum employment condi- 
tions; exempt employments. ( 1) The com- 

missioner may issue rules prescribing such
minimum conditions of employment, exclud- 

ing minimum wages, in any occupation as
may be necessary for the preservation of the
health of employees. Such rules may include, 
but are not limited to, minimum meal periods
and rest periods, and maximum hours of
work, but not less than eight hours per day
or 40 hours per week; however, after 40

hours of work in one week overtime may be
paid, but in no case at a rate higher than one

and one -half times the regular rate of pa of
such employees when computed without en- 

efit of commissions, overrides, spills and

similar benefits. 

2) Nothing contained in ORS 653.010 to
653.261 shall be construed to confer author- 

ity upon the commissioner to regulate the
hours of employment of employees engaged

in production, harvesting, packing, curing, 
canning, freezing or drying any variety of
agricultural crops, livestock, poultry or fish. 

3) Rules promulgated by the commis- 
sioner pursuant to subsection ( 1) of this sec- 

tion do not apply to individuals employed by
this state or a political subdivision or quasi - 
municipal corporation thereof if other pro- 
visions of law or collective bargaining
agreements prescribe rules pertaining to
conditions of employment referred to in sub- 

section ( 1) of this section, including meal pe- 
riods, rest periods, maximum hours of work
and overtime. [ 1967 c.596 § 5 ( 2), ( 3); 1971 c.492 § 1; 
1981 x361 §2; 1985 c.99 § 9] 

653265 Overtime for persons em- 

ployed in canneries, driers and packing
VWhen employed in canneries or

driers or packin plants, excluding canneries
or driers or packing plants located on farms
and primarily processing products produced
on such farms, employees shall be paid time
and a half for time over 10 hours per day and
piece workers shall be paid one and a half
the regular prices for all work done during
the time they are employed over 10 hours per
day. [ Amended by 1971 c.492 § 21

863.210 ( Repealed by 1967 c.596 § 151

653.276 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 151

653.280 Employer to safeguard em- 
ployee' s trade equipment. (1) An employer
shall take all reasonable precautions to safe- 

guard all trade equipment which is owned by
an employee and is located on premises un- 
der the employer' s control. 

2) As used in ORS 653.285 and this sec- 
tion, unless the context requires otherwise: 

a) " Employer" and " employee" have the

meaning provided for those terms in ORS
652.310. 

b) " Trade equipment" is limited to mu- 
sical instruments and sound equipment. 

c) " Premises" means the place where the
employer and the employee of the employer
are engaged in the furtherance of a common
enterprise or the accomplishment of the
same or related purposes in operation. [ 1975
x488 § 71

653.286 Liability of employer. If an em- 
ployee' s trade equipment is damaged upon or
stolen from premises under the employer' s
control as a proximate cause of the employ- 
ers failure to comply with ORS 653.280 the
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employee has a right to file an action against
the employer, and the employer is liable, for
financial settlement as is needed to repair or
replace the equipment. If an employee seek- 

ing to recover for damage to or theft of trade
equipment prevails on such action, the em- 

ployee shall be awarded reasonable attorney
fees at trial and on appeal. [ 1975 x488 § 8; 1981
c.897 § 91; 1991 c.67 § 1581

653.295 When noncompetition, and bo- 
nus restriction agreements enforceable; 

apelicability of restrictions. (1) A noncom- 
petition agreement entered into between an
employer and employee is void and shall not

be enforced by any court in this state unless
the agreement is entered into upon the: 

a) Initial employment of the employee
with the employer; or

b) Subsequent bona fide advancement of
the employee with the employer. 

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section applies
only to noncompetition agreements made in
the context of an employment relationship or
contract and not otherwise. 

3)( a) Paragraph ( a) of subsection ( 1) of
this section applies only to noncompetition
agreements entered into after July 22, 1977. 

b) Paragraph ( b) of subsection ( 1), sub- 

sections ( 4) and ( 5) and paragraph ( a) of sub- 
section ( 6) of this section apply to
employment relationships and bonus re- 

striction agreements in effect or entered into
after October 15, 1983. 

4) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not
apply to bonus restriction agreements, which
are lawful agreements that may be enforced
by the courts in this state. 

5) Nothing in this section restricts the
right of any person to protect trade secrets
or other proprietary information by injunc- 
tion or any other lawful means under other
applicable laws. 

6) As used in this section: 

a) " Bonus restriction agreement" means
an agreement, written or oral, express or

implied, between an employer and employee
under which: 

A) Competition by the employee with
the employer is limited or restrained after
termination of employment, but the restraint
is limited to a period of time, a geographic
area and specified activities, all of which are

reasonable in relation to the services de- 
scribed in subparagraph ( B) of this para- 
graph; 

B) The services performed by the em- 
ployee pursuant to the agreement include
substantial involvement in management of
the employer's business, personal contact

with customers, knowledge of customer re- 

quirements related to the employer' s busi- 
ness or knowledge of trade secrets or other

proprietary information of the employer; and

C) The penalty imposed on the employee
for competition against the employer is lim- 

ited to forfeiture of profit sharing or other
bonus compensation that has not yet been
paid to the employee. 

b) " Employee" and " employer" have the

meaning provided for those terms in ORS
652.310; and

c) " Noncompetition agreement" means

an agreement, written or oral, express or

implied, between an employer and employee
under which the employee agrees that the
employee, either alone or as an employee of

another person, shall not compete with the

employer in providing products, processes or
services, that are similar to the employer' s
products, processes or services for a period
of time or within a specified geographic area

after termination of employment. [ 19'TJ c 646 §2; 
1983 c.826 § 1; 1985 c.565 §85] 

653.300 health benefit plan options for
certain employees; limitation on cost to
employer or health benefit plan for exer- 
cise of option. ( 1) Each public or private
employer in this state which offers its em- 
ployees a health benefit plan and employs
not fewer than 25 employees, and each em- 
ployee benefit fund in this state with not
fewer than 25 members which offers its

members any form of health benefit, shall
make available to and inform its employees
or members of the option to enroll in at least
one health maintenance organization which
provides health care services in the ge- 
ographic areas in which a substantial num- 
ber of such employees or members reside. 

Where there is a prevailing collective bar- 
gaining agreement, the selection of the

health maintenance organizations to be made
available to the employees shall be made un- 
der the agreement. 

2) No employer or benefits fund in this

state shall be required to pay more for health
benefits as a result of the application of this

section than would otherwise be required by
any prevailing collective bargaining agree- 
ment or other contract for the provision of
health benefits to its employees. 

3) Notwithstanding subsection ( 1) of this
section, no employer or benefits fund need
provide such an option unless at least 25
employees or members agree to participate in
a health maintenance organization. [ 1985 c.747
70] 

Note: 653.300 was enacted into law by the Legisla- 
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 653 or any series therein by legislative
action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for fur- 
ther explanation. 
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EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS

653.305 Inquiry and order on employ- 
ment of minors. (1) The commission may at
any time inquire into wages or hours or
conditions of labor of minors employed in

any occupation in this state and determine
suitable hours and conditions of labor for
such minors. 

2) When the commission has made such

determination, it may issue an obligatory or- 
der in compliance with ORS 183.310 to
183.550. 

3) After such order is effective, no em- 
ployer in the occupation affected shall em- 
ploy a minor for more hours or under
different conditions of labor than are speci- 
fied or required by the order; but no such
order nor the commission shall authorize or

permit the employment of any minor for
more hours per day or per week than the

mmaximu fixed by law or at times or under
conditions prohibited by law. [ Amended by 1967
c.596 § 16; 1979 c.886 §3] 

653207 Issuance of employment cer- 

tificates by commission; effect of failure
by employer to comply; school districts
required to cooperate in certificate issu- 
ance. ( 1) The Wage and Hour Commission

shall provide a method for issuing employ- 
ment certificates to minors and employment
certificates to employers for the employment

of minors in accordance with rules and reg- 
ulations which it may hereafter adopt pursu- 
ant to the provisions of ORS 183. 310 to

183.550, and shall by such rules and regu- 
lations require reports from employers em- 
ploying minors. 

2) Failure by an employer to comply
with ORS 653.305 to 653.340 or with the reg- 
ulations adopted by the Wage and Hour
Commission pursuant to this section shall
subject the employer to revocation of the
right to hire minors in the future at the dis- 
cretion of the Wage and Hour Commission, 
provided that an employer shall be granted
a hearing before the Wage and Hour Com- 
mission prior to such action being taken. 

3) All school districts shall cooperate
with the Wage and Hour Commission and
make available upon request of the commis- 
sion, information concerning the age and
schooling of minors who have applied for or
been issued an employment certificate. [ 1971
c.626 § 2] 

653.310 Person under age 18 to work
only if employer has employment certif- 
icate on file; list of minor employees. No
child under 18 years of age shall be employed

or permitted to work in any employment
listed in ORS 653.320 ( 2), unless the person

employing the child procures and keeps on
file and accessible to the school authorities

of the district where such child resides, and

to the police and the commission an employ- 
ment certificate as prescribed by the rules
and regulations adopted by the Wage and
Hour Commission pursuant to ORS 653.307, 
and keeps a complete list of all such children
employed therein. [ Amended by 1971 c.626 § 31

653.315 Working hours for children
under 16 years of age; exceptions; meal
times; posting notice of hours. ( 1) No
child under 16 years of age shall be employed
for longer than 10 hours for any one day, nor
more than six days in any one week. 

2) No child under 16 years of age shall

be employed at any work before 7 a.m. or af- 
ter 6 p.m., except for those: 

a) Employed in agriculture. 

b) Employed in youth camps. The term
youth camps means those camps operated

and maintained primarily for the supervised
recreation and education of youth of either

sex during the public school vacation peri- 
ods. 

c) Employed as newspaper carrier or
vendor. 

d) Employed under a special permit
which may be issued by the Wage and Hour
Commission, after investigation and good
cause shown therefor, in suitable work which
is not detrimental to the child' s physical and

moral well- being. The Wage and Hour Com- 
mission or its representatives shall investi- 

gate periodically the conditions of labor for
which the special permit has been issued, to
determine whether or not the permit should
be continued. 

e) Employed in or about private resi- 
dences at domestic work, chores and child
care. This exception does not extend to em- 
ployment in places where child care or

training is carried on as an occupation. 

3) Every child under 16 years of age is
entitled to not less than 30 minutes for meal
time at noon, but such meal time shall not
be included as part of the work hours of the
day. 

4) Every employer of children under 16
years of age shall post in a conspicuous place
where such children are employed, a printed

notice stating the maximum work hours re- 
quired in one week, and in every day of the
week from such children. [ Amended by 1957 c.419
l; 1961 c. 205 § 1; 1981 c.228 § 11

653.320 Employment of children under
14 years; exceptions; notice of access to
Wage and hour Commission. ( 1) No child
under the age of 14 years shall be employed

in any work, or labor of any form for wages
or other compensation to whomsoever paya- 

ble, during the term when the public schools
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of the town, district or city in which the
child resides are in session. 

2) No child under 14 years of age shall
be employed or permitted to work in, or in
connection with, any factory, workshop, 
mercantile establishment, store, business of- 
fice, restaurant, bakery, hotel or apartment
house. 

3) The Wage and Hour Commission may
allow children between the ages of 12 and 14

to be employed in any suitable work during
any school vacation extending over a term
of two weeks and may issue permits therefor. 
The commission shall exercise careful dis- 
cretion as to the character of such employ- 
ment and its effect on the physical and moral

well-being of the child. 
4) Exceptions may be made by the Wage

and Hour Commission exempting a minor or
class of minors from the above provisions. 
The child so employed under this provision
shall be given notice of confidential access
to the Wage and Hour Commission. [ Amended

by 1971 c.625 § 11
65&= [ Repealed by 1967 c.527 § 31

653.326 Employing vocationally
trained minors in employment otherwise
prohibited. ( 1) The Wage and Hour Com- 

mission may by special permit authorize a
child under 18 years of age to engage in em- 

ployment otherwise prohibited by law if the
hilcd has successfully completed vocational

training for such employment conducted by
any school district, or training that the com- 
mission considers equivalent thereto, and the
child: 

a) Has graduated from high school; or

b) Is employed during such time as pub- 
lic schools are not in session for a period

exceeding 30 days. 
2) The commission or its representatives

shall investigate periodically the conditions
of the employment for which a special permit
has been issued, to determine whether or not
the permit should be continued. [ 1967 x347 § 21

653.330 Employment of minors in cer- 
tain logging operations prohibited. No

person shall employ or allow: 

1) Any person under the age of 18 years
to act as engineer of or have charge of or

operate any logging engines used in logging
operations. 

2) Any person under the age of 16 years
to act in the capacity of giving signals to the
engineer in loggiasg operations or receiving
and forwarding such signals. 

653.335 Elevator operators to be over

18. No person shall employ or allow any
person under the age of 18 years to run, op- 
erate or have charge of, any elevator used

for the purpose of carrying either persons or
property. 

653.340 Employment of minors for

message and delivery service. ( 1) No per- 
son under the age of 18 years shall be em- 
ployed or permitted to work as a messenger

for a telegraph or messenger company or
anyone engaged in such a business in the
distribution, transmission or delivery of

goods or messages before 5 a.m. or, after 10
p.m. 

2) No person under the age of 16 years
shall be employed or permitted to work in
the telegraph, telephone or public messenger
service. 

653.345 Declaration of policy. The Leg- 
islative Assembly finds that the crops of
berry and bean growers in Oregon are im- 
periled by the federal law prohibiting the
employment of youthful agricultural workers. 

Since suitable replacements for such workers

are not available, the long established use of
youthful berry and bean pickers must be
permitted to the extent that it does not in- 
terfere with interstate commerce and federal

law. The Legislative Assembly further finds
that such agricultural employment is
healthful, a good introduction to the work

ethic and develops an understanding of the
role of agriculture in society. [ 1975 c.422 § 11

653.350 Employment of children under
12 years for certain agricultural labor; 
conditions. ( 1) An individual who is less
than 12 years of age but not less than nine

years of age may be employed to pick berries
and beans in this state outside of school
hours if: 

a) The individual is employed with the
consent of the child' s parent or guardian; 

b) The berries and beans picked are sold

within the state only and not transported out
of this state in any form; 

c) The Assistant Director for Employ- 
ment or the designee of the assistant director
certifies that there are not sufficient workers
available in the immediate area to harvest

the berry or bean crop without the employ- 
ment of youthful pickers; and

d) The individual is paid at the same
rate as other employees of the employer who
are 12 years of age or older and are engaged

in picking berries or beans. 
2) Each basket or container holding

berries, berry products, beans or bean pro- 
ducts picked by individuals who are less than
12 years of age must be distinctively marked
so as to prevent the berries, berry products, 
beans or bean products from entering inter- 
state commerce. [ 1975 c.422 § 21

653.355 Exemption of certain employ- 
ers. Nothing in ORS 653.345 to 653.355 shall
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apply to employers which are exempt from
the child labor provisions of the Federal Fair
Labor Standards Act. [ 1976 c.422 § 31

653.360 Employment of minors in cer- 

tain boating and commercial fishing sit- 
uations. Notwithstanding any other

provision of ORS 653.305 to 653.370: 

1) Minors 16 years of age and 17 years

of age may be employed as assistants on
chartered fishing or pleasure boats. 

2) Minors 14 years of age and 15 years

of age may be employed at dock areas used
by chartered fishing or pleasure boats. 

3) Minors less than 18 years of age may
be employed on commercial fishing vessels
without an employment permit when em- 

ployed and supervised by the minor's grand- 
father, grandmother, father, mother, brother, 
sister, uncle or aunt. [ 1979 c.626 § 21

653.365 Em loyment of minors by
parents. Notwithstanding the provisions of
ORS 653.370, a parent or person standing in
place of a parent may employ the child of the
parent or a child in the custody of the parent
under the age of 18 years in any occupation. 
1981 c.820 § 31

653.370 Civil penalty for unlawful em- 
ployment of minors. ( 1) In addition to any
other penalty provided by law, the Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries

may in ose upon any person not regulated
under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act

who violates ORS 653.305 to 653.370 or any
rule adopted by the Wage and Hour Com- 
mission thereunder, a civil penalty not to
exceed $ 1, 000 for each violation. 

2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.482, any
petition for review of an order imposing a
civil penalty under this section must be filed
within 30 days following the date the order
upon which the petition is based is served. 

3) Except as otherwise provided in this
section, civil penalties under this section

shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.090. 

4) All sums collected as penalties pursu- 
ant to this section shall be first applied to- 
ward reimbursement of the costs incurred in

determining the violations, conducting

hearings under this section and assessing
and collecting such penalties. The remainder, 
if any, of the sums collected as penalties
pursuant to this section shall be paid over
by the commissioner to the Division of State
Lands for the benefit of the common school
fund of this state. The division shall issue a
receipt for the money to the commissioner. 
1981 c.820 §2; 1986 c.120 § 1; 1989 006 §20-, 1991 c.734 §601

663406 [ Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71

663A10 [ Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71

MUM [Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71

663.420 [ Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71

653.620

663.426 [ Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71
669430 [Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71
6636 [Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71

663440 [ Repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71
663A45 [ Amended by 1967 c.67 § 23; repealed by 1971

c.626 § 71

WAGE AND HOUR COMMISSION

653.505 Wage and Hour Commission; 
appointment; confirmation; term; vacan- 
cies. ( 1) The Wage and Hour Commission is
established and shall be composed of three

commissioners who shall be appointed by the
Governor for the term of four ears and until
their successors are appointed and qualified. 
In selection of the members of the commis- 
sion, the Governor shall give due consider- 

ation to the interests of labor, industry and
the public. Not more than two of the mem- 

bers of said commission shall belong to the
same political party. 

2) Upon the expiration of the term of

any commissioner, the Governor shall ap- 
point a successor. 

3) The Governor shall fill any vacancy
on the commission by appointment for the
unexpired portion of the term in which the
vacancy occurs. 

4) All appointments of members of the

commission by the Governor are subject to
confirmation by the Senate in the manner
provided in ORS 171.562 and 171.565. 
Amended by 1967 c.696 § 17; 1973 092 §271

653.510 Organization of commission; 
chairman; quorum; compensation and

expenses. ( 1) On or before January 20 of
each year, the commissioners shall elect a
chairman. Each chairman shall hold the po- 
sition until a successor is elected. 

2) A majority of the commissioners shall
constitute a quorum to transact business. 

The act or decision of such majority is con- 
sidered the act or decision of the commis- 

sion. No vacancy shall impair the right of
the remaining commissioners to exercise all
the powers of the commission. 

3) Each commissioner is entitled to
compensation and expenses as provided in
ORS 292.495. [ Amended by 1961 c.337 § 2; 1969 x314
681

653.515 Commissioner as secretary; 
personnel and expenses. ( 1) The Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries
shall be the secretary and executive officer
of the Wage and Hour Commission. 

2) The secretary of the commission may
employ such clerical assistance and incur
such expenses as may be necessary in per- 
forming the duties of the secretary. 

653.620 Duties of commission gener- 

ally. The Wage and Hour Commission shall
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administer, execute and carry out the pro- 
visions of ORS 653.010 to 653.545 and 653.991. 
Amended by 1975 c.605 § 301

653.525 Rules and regulations of com- 

mission. The commission may prepare, adopt
and promulgate rules and regulations for the

carrying into effect of ORS 653.305, 653.315
and 653.505 to 653.540, including rules and
regulations for the selection of members and
the mode of procedure of conferences. 

Amended by 1961 e205 § 21

653ZM Meetings and hearings; 
subpoena; administering oaths; witness

fees. ( 1) The commission may hold meetings
for the transaction of any of its business at
such times and places as it may prescribe. 

2) The commission may hold public
hearings at such times and places as it
deems fit and proper for the purpose of in- 
vestigating any of the matters it is author- 
ized to investigate under ORS 653.535. 

3) At any such public hearing any per- 
son interested in the matter being investi- 
gated may appear and testify. 

4) The commission may subpoena and
compel the attendance of any witness at any
such public hearing. Any commissioner may
administer an oath to any witness who testi- 
fies at any such public hearing. 

5) All witnesses subpoenaed by the com- 
mission shall be paid the same mileage and
per diem as are allowed by law to witnesses
under ORS 444.415 ( 2). [ Amended by 1983 040

241; 1989 x980 § 17a] 

653.536 Investigating compliance with
orders; prosecution for violation. The
commission shall, from time to time, investi- 
gate and ascertain whether or not employers

are observing and complying with its orders
and take such steps as may be necessary to
prosecute such employers as are not observ- 

ing or complying with its orders. 
653.540 Assistance to commission. The

Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and
Industries shall, at all times, give to the

commission any information or statistics in
the office of the commissioner that would

assist the commission in carrying out ORS
653.305, 653.505 to 653.535 and render such
assistance to the commission as is consistent
with the performance of the official duties of
the commissioner. 

653.545 Visitation rights of commis- 
sion; prosecution of offenses against child

labor laws. ( 1) The commission or anyone

authorized by the commission in writing may
visit the factories, workshops and mercantile
establishments in their several towns and

cities and ascertain whether any minors are
employed therein contrary to ORS 653.310 to
653.320, 653.340 and the rules and regulations

promulgated by the Wage and Hour Commis- 
sion pursuant to ORS 653.307 and shall re- 
port any cases of illegal employment to the
proper school authorities and to the district

attorney of the county. The commission may
require that the employment certificates and
lists of minors employed in such factories, 
workshops, or mercantile establishments, 

shall be produced for their inspection. 

2) The_ commission shall bring com- 
plaints for offenses under ORS 653.310 to
653.320 and 653.340 to the attention of the

proper district attorney who shall prosecute
such offenses. [ Amended by 1971 c. 626 § 41

853.600 [ 1973 c.564 § 2; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

653.605 [ 1973 c.564 § l; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
663.610 [ 1973 c.564 § 6; repealed by 1975 x114 § 11
653.615 [ 1973 c.564 § 3; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

659.820 [ 1973 c.564 § 5; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1) 

663.626 [ 1973 c.564 § 7; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
653.630 [ 1973 c.564 § 8; repealed by 1975 x114 § 11

653.635 [ 1973 x564 § 11; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
853.640 [ 1973 c.564 § 9; repealed by 1975 c.114 § 11

663.645 [ 1973 c.564 § 10; repealed by 1975 c.114 § 11
653.650 [ 1973 c.564 § 12; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
653.655 [ 1973 c.564 § 13; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
653.675 [ 1973 c.564 § 14; repealed by 1975 c.114 § 11

653.680 [ 1973 c.564 § 15; repealed by 1975 c.114 § 11

663.885 [ 1973 c. 564 § 17; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
663.890 [ 1973 e564 § 18; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

65M [1973 c.564 § 19; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11
653.700 [ 1973 0.564 § 20; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

HEALTH INSURANCE POOL

653.705 Definitions for ORS 653.705 to
653.785. As used in ORS 316.096, 317. 113, 
318.170 and 653.705 to 653.785, unless the
context requires otherwise: 

1) " Board" means the Insurance Pool

Governing Board established under ORS
653.725. 

2) " Carrier" means an insurance com- 

pany or health care service contractor hold- 
ing a valid certificate of authority from the
Director of the Department of Insurance and
Finance, or two or more companies or con- 

tractors acting together pursuant to a joint
venture, partnership or other joint means of
operation. 

3) " Class of employee" means an em- 

ployee classed as either management or non- 

management employee. 

4) " Eligible employee" means an em- 

ployee of an employer who is employed by
the employer for an average of at least 17. 5
hours per week who elects to participate in

one of the group benefit plans provided
through board action, and sole proprietors, 
business partners, and limited partners. The
term does not include individuals: 
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a) Engaged as independent contractors. 

b) Whose periods of employment are on
an intermittent or irregular basis. 

c) Who have been employed by the em- 
ployer for fewer than 90 days. 

5) " Family member" means an eligible
employee' s spouse and any unmarried child
or stepchild within age limits and other con- 

ditions imposed by the board with regard to
unmarried children or stepchildren. 

6) " Health benefit plan" means a con- 

tract for group medical, surgical, hospital or
any other remedial care recognized by state
law and related services and supplies. 

7) " Premium" means the monthly or
other periodic charge for a health benefit
plan. [ 1987 x591 §21

Note: ORS 653.705 to 653.785 were enacted into law
by the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or
made a part of ORS chapter 653 or any series therein
by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised
Statutes for further explanation. 

653.715 Policy. It is the intent of the
Legislative Assembly by enactment of ORS
316.096, 317.113, 318.170 and 653.705 to
653.785 to increase access to health insur- 

ance by developing a program employing
preventative and primary care and then to
minimize the medical care cost shifts caused

by the providing of uncompensated care by
hospitals. [ 1987 c.591 $ 11

653.717 Policy for level of services. It
is the policy of the State of Oregon to pro- 
vide health services to those in need. Ser- 
vices to Oregonians who do not have health
insurance must include substantially similar
medical services as those recommended by
the Health Services Commission under ORS

414.720 and funded by the appropriate legis- 
lative review agency, as defined in ORS
291.371, pursuant to ORS 414.025, 414.036, 
414.042, 414.065 and 414.705 to 414.750. Uses
C.381 § 11

Note: 653.717 was enacted into law by the Legisla- 
tive Assembly but was not added to and made a part
of ORS chapter 653 or any series therein by legislative
action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for fur- 
ther explanation. 

653.725 Insurance Pool Governing
Board; qualifications; term; vacancies. (1) 

There is established an Insurance Pool Gov- 

erning Board consisting of seven voting
members six of whom shall be appointed by
the Governor. Of the members appointed by
the Governor, two shall be employers and
one shall be an employee representing or- 
ganized labor. At least two shall be know- 
ledgeable about insurance but who are not
officers or employees of a carrier and not

consultants to a carrier or contractor. The
Director of the Department of Insurance and

653.745

Finance shall appoint a consumer represen- 

tative who shall serve as a voting member. 
2) The term of office of each member is

three years, but a voting member serves at
the pleasure of the appointing authority. 
Before the expiration of the term of a mem- 

ber, the appointing authority shall appoint a
successor whose term begins on July 1 next
following. A member is eligible for reap- 
pointment. If there is a vacancy for any
cause, the appointing authority shall make
an appointment to become immediately effec- 
tive for the unexpired term. 

3) The appointing authority shall not al- 
low any position on the board to remain va- 
cant for more than 60 days after the vacancy
occurs. ( 1987 c.591 § 3; 1989 c.381 § 171

653.735 Expenses; chairperson; quo- 

rum; meetings; rules. (1) A member of the

Insurance Pool Governing Board shall not be
compensated but is entitled to reimburse- 
ment for expenses as provided in ORS
292.495 ( 2). 

2) The board shall select one of its vot- 
ing members as chairperson and one of its
voting or nonvoting members as vice - 

chairperson, for such terms and with duties
and powers necessary for the performance of
the functions of such offices as the board
determines. 

3) A majority of the members of the
board constitutes a quorum for the trans- 
action of business. 

4) The board shall meet at least once

every three months at a place, day and hour
determined by the board. The board also
shall meet at other times and places specified

by the call of the chairperson or of a major- 
ity of the members of the board. 

5) In accordance with applicable pro- 
visions of ORS 183.310 to 183.550, the board
may adopt rules necessary for the adminis- 
tration of the laws that the board is charged

with administering. [ 1987 c.591 § 51

653.745 Board duties. (1) In carrying out
its duties under ORS 316.096, 317.113, 318.170
and 653.705 to 653.785, the Insurance Pool
Governing Board shall: 

a) Enter into contracts for adminis- 
tration of ORS 316.096, 317.113, 318.170 and

653.705 to 653.785 including collection of
premiums and paying carriers. 

b) Enter into contracts with carriers or
health care providers for health care insur- 

ance or services, including contracts where
final payment may be reduced if usage is be- 
low a level fixed in the contract. 

c) Retain consultants and employ staff. 
d) Set premium rates for employees and

employers. 
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e) Perform other duties to provide low
cost insurance plans of types likely to be
purchased by eligible employers. 

2) Notwithstanding any other benefit
plan contracted for and offered by the board, 
the board shall contract for a health benefit
plan or plans best designed to meet the needs
and provide for the welfare of eligible em- 
ployees and employers. 

3) The board may approve more than one
carrier for each type of plan contracted for
and offered but the number of carriers shall
be held to a number consistent with adequate
service to eligible employees and family
members. 

4) Where appropriate for a contracted
and offered health benefit plan, the board
shall provide options under which an eligible

employee may arrange coverage for family
members of the employee. 

5) In developing any health benefit plan, 
the board may provide an option of addi- 
tional coverage for eligible employees and

family members at an additional cost or pre- 
mium. 

6) Transfer of enrollment from one plan
to another shall be open to all eligible em- 
ployees and family members under rules
adopted by the board. 

7) If the board requests less service than

is otherwise required by state law, a carrier
is not required to offer such service. 

8) The board shall have authority to
employ whatever means are reasonably nec- 
essary to carry out the purposes of ORS
316.096, 317. 113, 318.170 and 653.705 to

653.785. Such authority shall include but is
not limited to authority to seek clarification, 
amendment, modification, suspension or ter- 

mination of any agreement or contract which
in the board' s judgment requires such action. 

9) The board by order may terminate the
participation of any employer if for a period
of three months the employer fails to perform
any action required by ORS 316.096, 317. 113, 
318.170 and 653.705 to 653.785 or by board
rule. [ 1987 c.591 §§6, 71

Note: Sections 3, 7, 10, 13 and 16, chapter 381, 
Oregon Laws 1989, as amended by chapter 916, Oregon
Laws 1991, provide: 

Sec S. ( 1) The Insurance Pool Governing Board
shall report to the Sixty -sixth Legislative Assembly by
submitting copies of its report to the President of the
Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives
who may refer the report to appropriate standing com- 
mittees. 

2) A preliminary version of the report, the con- 
tents of which is described in paragraphs ( a) and ( b) of
subsection ( 2) of section 2 of this Act [ 653.7481, is due
by September 1, 1990, and the final report is due by
January 1, 1991. The final report shall be submitted in
the manner described in subsection ( 1) of this section. 
1989 c.381 § 31

Sec. 7. ( 1) On and after July 1, 1995, or the date
on which chapter 836, Oregon Laws 1989, is imple- 
mented, whichever is later, all employers who have not
provided employee and dependent health care benefits, 

including group health insurance, a self - funding entity
or an employee welfare benefit plan that provides health
plan benefits, or participation under ORS 653.765, shall
make monthly payments to the Insurance Pool Find
equal to the contribution set by the board for each em- 
ployee of the employer. The payments shall be based on
a percentage of taxable payroll calculated to be equiv- 
alent to 75 percent of the cost of a basic or standard
health benefit plan for each employee and at least 50
percent for dependent coverage. 

2) The Insurance Pool Find shall be continuously
appropriated to the board for the purpose of providing
access to adequate health care for employees of em- 
ployers described in this section. 

3) An employer who is eligible under ORS 653.765
Ma) to ( c) who obtain health benefits for employees by
means other than through the pool shall notify the In- 
surance Pool Governing Board of the number of em- 
ployees being provided health benefits by the employer. 

4) Upon application therefor by an employer who
is otherwise subject to making the payments required
under this section, the board may exempt the employer
from such requirement due to hardship and fix the
terms and conditions of the exemption. The board by
rule shall establish procedures under which it reviews
such applications. The denial of an exemption is
appealable under ORS 183.484. 

5) If a person first becomes an employer after July
1, 1995, the person shall be allowed 18 months from the
commencement of business as an employer before being
required to make payments under this section. If the
person obtains employee and dependent health benefit
coverage during the 18 -month period and meets the el- 
igibility requirements of ORS 653.765, the person shall
be eligible for a tax credit in the amount of $25 per
month per eligible covered employee or 50 percent of the
total amount paid by the person during the taxable
year, whichever is less, for one year after such coverage
is provided. In all other respects, ORS 316.096, 317. 113
and 318. 170 apply to the person to whom this subsection
applies. [ 1989 c.381 § 7; 1991 c.916 § 20] 

See. 10. Before January 1, 1992, the board shall
report publicly on the number of employees provided
health care benefits as described in section 7 of this Act
on October 1, 1991, who did not receive such benefits
before April 1, 1989. If the number exceeds 50,000, ORS
316.096 and 317. 113 are further amended as provided in
sections 11 and 12 of this Act, effective January 1, 1992. 
In determining the minimum number for purposes of
this section, the Insurance Pool Governing Board shall
include the number of employees who are covered by
the pool or who were covered by the pool during the
period and whose coverage was withdrawn from the
pool but continued by means described in and which
has been reported to the board under section 7 of this
Act. [ 1989 c.381 § 101

Sec. 13. Before January 1, 1993, the board shall
report publicly on the number of employees provided
health care benefits as described in section 7 of this Act
on October 1, 1992, who did not receive such benefits
before April 1, 1989. If the number exceeds 100,000, ORS
316.096 and 317.113 are further amended as provided in

sections 14 and 15 of this Act, effective January 1, 1993. 
In determining the minimum number for purposes of
this section, the Insurance Pool Governing Board shall
include the number of employees who are covered by
the pool or who were covered by the pool during the
period and whose coverage was withdrawn from the

pool but continued by means described in and which
has been reported to the board under section 7 of this
Act. [ 1989 c.381 § 131
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Sec. 16. Before January 1, 1994, the board shall
report publicly on the number of employees provided
health care benefits as described in section 7 of this Act
on October 1, 1993, who did not receive such benefits
before Aril 1, 1989. If the number exceeds 150,000, sec- 
tion 7 o this Act is repealed, effective January 1, 1994. 
In determining the minimum number for purposes of
this section, the Insurance Pool Governing Board shall
include the number of employees who are covered by
the pool or who were covered by the pool during the
period and whose coverage was withdrawn from the

pool but continued by means described in and which
has been reported to the board under section 7 of this
Act. [ 1989 c.381 § 161

653.748 Board to provide fair health
service packages; report to legislative
committee. ( 1) The Insurance Pool Govern- 

ing Board shall provide packages of health
services that are fair to consumers, providers
and citizens of this state. 

2) The board shall: 

a) Examine the advantages and disad- 
vantages of various alternatives for imple- 

menting a statewide pool; and

b) After considering employee health
benefit plans being provided by employers
and the full priority list recommended by the
Health Services Commission, the board shall
determine benefit packages and other re- 
quirements that should be in place before

implementing ORS 653.765 ( 4). 
3) Report on its activities pursuant to

this section to the Joint Legislative Commit- 
tee on Health Care. [ 1989 081 §21

Note: 653.748 and 653.750 were enacted into law by
the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made
a part of ORS chapter 653 or any aeries therein by leg- 
islative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes
for further explanation. 

653.750 Oregon Health Council to
monitor and evaluate benefits; board to
furnish data to council. ( 1) The Oregon
Health Council shall monitor and evaluate

the adequacy and effectiveness of health
benefits available under ORS 653.705 to
653.785 and the effect of the plans on health
care costs. 

2) The Insurance Pool Governing Board
shall supply the Oregon Health Council with
data obtained by the board in implementing
ORS 653.705 to 653.785. [ 1989 c.381 § 16a1

Note: See note under 653.748. 

653.755 Employee contribution; em- 

ployer contribution; payroll deduction. (1) 

The monthly contribution of each eligible
employee for health benefit plan coverage
shall be the total cost per month of the ben- 
efit coverage afforded under the plan or
plans, for which the employee exercises the

option, including the administrative expenses
therefor less the portion thereof contributed
by the employer. An employee may enroll in
more than one option at a time so long as
they do not offer overlapping services. 

653.765

2) The employer contribution shall be

the amount necessary to pay the cost of the
health benefit plan covering the employer's
covered employees, as described in ORS
653.775, and other plans selected by a cov- 
ered employee for which the employer does

not require the employee to pay, including
the administrative expenses therefor. An em- 
ployer is not required to enroll an employee

who is already enrolled in a health benefit
plan not offered by the Insurance Pool Gov- 
erning Board. 

3) Payroll deductions for such costs as

are not pa able by the employer shall be
made by the employer upon receipt of a
signed authorization from the employee indi- 

cating an election to participate in the plan
covering the employee or the employee' s im- 
mediate family. [ 1987 c.591 § 81

653.765 Employer eligibility. ( 1) In or- 
der to be eligible to participate in the pro- 

grams authorized by ORS 316.096, 317. 113, 
318.170 and 653.705 to 653.785, an employer
shall: 

a) Employ no more than 25 employees
who do not have health insurance as a
spouse, dependent or otherwise. 

b) Have not contributed within the pre- 

ceding two years to any group health insur- 
ance premium on behalf of an employee who

is to be covered by the employer' s contrib- 
ution. 

c) Make a contribution to be set by the
board toward the premium incurred on behalf
of a covered employee. 

2) An employer may elect to cover fewer
than the tot of employees so long
as its covered class includes all employees in
the class. 

3) The Insurance Pool Governing Board
may waive the provision of paragraph ( a) of
subsection ( 1) of this section if a sufficient
number of the employees of the employer are
eligible for medical assistance under ORS

chapter 414 so that only 25 or fewer employ- 
ees are eligible for coverage under this sec- 
tion. 

4) On and after July 1, 1991, with the
approval of the Sixty -sixth Legislative As- 
sembly, the board may establish health in- 
surance programs for employers who employ
more than 25 employees or for those employ- 
ers employing 25 or fewer employees who
have provided health insurance for the pur- 
poses of ORS 653.705 to 653.785 only, if the
employer otherwise satisfies the require- 
ments of this section. 

5) The board shall not discriminate

against any contractors which offer services
within their providers' lawful scopes of prac- 
tice. 
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6) Any contribution by an employer to a
health insurance plan within the preceding
two years solely for the benefit of the em- 
ployer or the employer' s dependents shall not

be considered to disqualify the employer un- 
der paragraph ( b) of subsection ( 1) of this
section. [ 1987 c.591 § 9; 1989 c. 171 § 75; 1989 c.381 § 41

653.767 Public service contracts to re- 
quire contractor to provide health care
benefits for employees. ( 1) Every public
service contract shall contain a condition

that the contractor shall provide health care

benefits to all employees who are performing
services previously performed by public em- 
ployees performing duties under the contract. 
This subsection does not apply to temporary, 
nonongoing or nonrecurring contracts. 

2) As used in this section, " contract" 

means a contract entered into between a
public agency and a private entity to pur- 
chase services necessary to carry out the
lawful purposes of the agency, if the services
to be provided under the contract were pro- 

vided by public employees of the agency
within one year prior to entering into the
contract. 

3) The benefits provided under this sec- 
tion must include at least benefits substan- 

tially similar to those recommended by the
Health Services Commission and funded pur- 
suant to ORS 414.025, 414.036, 414.042, 
414.065 and 414.705 to 414.750, and services
available under ORS 653.765 ( 4). [ 1989 c1092 §21

653.770 Notice to empployers of effect
and operation of law. ( 1) The Governor

shall direct a state agency that regularly
distributes notices or report forms, including
tax return forms, to persons who are or may
be employers to give notice to such persons
of the current and anticipated effect and op- 
eration of this section and ORS 316.096, 
316.113, 653.717, 653.725, 653.748, 653.750, 
653.765 and 653.775. 

2) The content of the notice shall be
prepared by the Insurance Pool Governing
Board. The affected state agency shall use
the text supplied by the board. 

3) The notice shall be printed at the
board' s expense and distributed at the agen- 
cy' s expense. The agency shall make its dis- 
tribution not later than 120 days after June
19, 1989. [ 1989 c.381 § 5a] 

Note: 653.770 was enacted into law by the Legisla- 
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 653 or any series therein by legislative
action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for fur- 
ther explanation. 

653.775 Part I coverage. ( 1) Part I cov- 
erage applies to eligible covered employees

only. 

2) The plan shall have a stop loss to in- 
sure that no employee is required to pay. the
costs of a major accident or illness, beyond
the costs of the deductible and other reason- 
able cost - sharing requirements and that Part
I coverage can be obtained at a low enough

cost to insure accessibility. 
3) Subject to subsection ( 4) of this sec- 

tion, employers shall pay the premium of
Part I coverage up to a maximum of $40 for
each eligible covered employee per month. 

4) All covered eligible employees shall

participate in and be covered by at least Part
I coverage. An employer may require a mini- 
mum employee contribution of not to exceed
25 percent of the premium or $ 15, whichever

is the lesser, for only Part I coverage de- 
scribed in this section. 

5) Part I coverage shall include at least
those health care services described by ORS
653.717. 

6) The amounts specified in this section

apply only to those employers who qualify for
tax credits under ORS 316.096, 317. 113 or
318.170. [ 1987 c.591 § 10; 1989 c.381 § 53

653.785 Part 11 coverage. ( 1) Part H
coverage shall consist of a variety of addi- 
tional benefit packages which an employee

may purchase. All packages shall contain in- 
centives to encourage the employee to utilize

intelligently services in a cost effective way
and disincentives to discourage noncost ef- 
fective use of services. 

2) At least one Part II package shall re- 
duce the deductible of the Part I package, 

and provide for access to primary and pre- 
ventive care. Additional benefit packages

may include coverage for optical and dental
care. 

3) Packages shall be available to extend
coverage to the employee or the employee' s

family members. 
4) In general, Part II packages shall not

provide benefits provided by Part I coverage. 
Employers may contribute toward the cost
of Part II coverage, and may include the cost
of Part II contributions when calculating tax
credits available under ORS 316.096, 317.113, 
318.170 and 653.705 to 653.785. 

5) The board may establish by rule that
certain packages shall not be available to an

employee who is not covered by a certain
other package or packages. [ 1987 c.591 § 111

PENALTIES
653990 [ Subsections ( 1) and ( 2) enacted as 1967

c.596 § 14; repealed by 1971 c.626 § 71

653.991 Penalties. Violation of any pro- 
vision of this section or ORS 653.010 to

653.545 or of any rule or regulation adopted
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by the commission under ORS 653.307 shall GMM [1973 c.564 § 16; repealed by 1975 c.114 § 11

be punishable as a misdemeanor. [ 1971 c.626 §61
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