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PRIVILEGE TAXES 320.040

320. 005 Definitions. As used in this
chapter, unless the context requires other- 

wise: 

1) " Music device" means any and all
mechanical and electrical devices which ren- 
der, cause to sound or release music or pro- 
vide visual entertainment where the same

may be heard or seen by one or more public
patrons. Any separate loudspeaker, 
phonograph, juke box or television outlet
from which such music or visual picture

emits shall be construed to be a separate
music device" ; except where the music or

visual picture emits from more than one

speaker or outlet transmitting from the same
mechanism, the several outlets or speakers

in each place of business shall be collectively
considered one such music device. 

2) " Displayed or operated" means the

display of any music or amusement device for
use by the public or the operation by the
public of such device and shall include those
music and amusement devices which are dis- 

played or operated by or for the use of mem- 
bers of any private club, lodge, fraternal

society or other like organization whose
membership is limited to a portion of the
public. 

3) " Amusement device" means any me- 
chanical, electronic, mechanical - electronic or

nonmechanical mechanism which is designed
for the amusement of the player or operator

and is complete in itself having as its pur- 
pose the production or creation of a game of

skill, amusement, entertainment, or test of

strength, including, but not limited to, video
games of any type, shuffleboards, coin - 

operated devices utilizing tables, boards or
cases of any size whatever, balls, sticks, 

cues, pegs or marbles, and whether or not

any motivating force involved is furnished by
the player or the device. 11957 c.384 § 2; 1975 c.651
l; 1985 c. 476 § 11

320.010 Privilege tax imposed on music
and amusement devices. ( 1) There is im- 

posed on every music and amusement device
displayed or operated in this state, a privi- 

lege tax, as specified in this chapter. 

2) The amount of the privilege tax shall
be as follows: 

a) On each music device an annual tax
of $50. 

b) On each amusement device designed
and used solely to provide rides for
amusement an annual tax of $50. 

c) On every other type of amusement
device an annual tax of $100 for each device. 
Amended by 1955 c.574 § l; 1957 c384 § 3; 1959 c. 155 § l; 

1967 c.344 § 7; 1975 c.651 § 2; 1981 c.677 § 2; 1989 c.786 § 11

Note: The amendments to 320.010 by section 1, 
chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989, take effect July 1, 1990. 

See section 12, chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989. 320.010
1987 Replacement Part) is set forth for the user' s con- 

venience. 

320. 010. ( 1) There hereby is imposed on every music
and amusement device displayed or operated in this
state, a privilege tax, as specified in this chapter. 

2) The amount of the privilege tax shall be as
follows: 

a) On each music device an annual tax of $25. 

b) On each amusement ' device designed and used

solely to provide rides for amusement an annual tax of
25. 

c) On every other type of amusement device an
annual tax of $50 for each device. 

320. 015 11955 c.574 § 3; repealed by 1957 c 384 § 61

320.020 Tax as addition to other taxes

on same property. The tax imposed by ORS
320.010 is in addition to all other taxes or

fees imposed upon the same property by any
municipality of this state or by the United
States Government. 

320.030 Exemptions. This chapter does

not apply to: 

1) Amusement devices used exclusively
for the purpose of selling tangible personal
property, such as cold drinks, tobacco pro- 
ducts, candies, postage stamps, or other mer- 

chandise or services such as pay telephones, 
parking meters, gas and electric meters or
other distributions of public service. 

2) Amusement devices when such de- 
vices are operated solely by or for a
nonprofit corporation for the purpose of con- 

ducting a fair, festival or trade show or spe- 
cial fund- raising project. 

3) Amusement devices that are related

solely to the operation of pool games and
bowling alleys. 

4) Amusement devices operated on the
payment of or insertion of one or two pen- 
nies. 

5) Amusement devices that are operated

solely at five or fewer local festivals, carni- 
vals, bazaars or other fairs or exhibitions if
the gross receipts from the operation of the
amusement device do not exceed $ 500 for
each such event. ( Amended by 1975 c.651 § 3; 1981
c.677 § 3; 1985 c.476 § 21

320. 040 Designation of tag year-, com- 
putation on basis of quarter years. The
tax year, for the purposes of this chapter, 

begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. The
tax payable shall be computed on the basis
of quarter years, and shall be paid for tlie
quarter in which it becomes payable plus the

remaining quarters in the tax year. In lieu
9f the payment of the foregoing tax, the
owner of the property may obtain a tempo- 
rary permit to operate any amusement device
for a period of 90 consecutive calendar days

at the rate of $50 per each 90-day period. 
Amended by 1975 c. 651 § 4; 1989 c.786 § 21
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Note: The amendments to 320.040 by section 2, 
chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989, take effect July 1, 1990. 
See section 12, chapter 786, Orgeon Laws 1989. 320.040
1987 Replacement Part) is set forth for the user' s con- 

venience. 

320. 040. The tax year, for the purposes of this

chapter, begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. The tax
payable shall be computed on the basis of quarter years, 
and shall be paid for the quarter in which it becomes

payable plus the remaining quarters in the tax year In
lieu of the payment of the foregoing tax, the owner of
the property may obtain a temporary permit to operate
any amusement device for a period of 90 consecutive
calendar days at the rate of $25 per each 90 -day period. 

320.050 When tax payable; separate

tax on each device; substitution of de- 

vices. The tax imposed by this chapter shall
be paid to the Department of Revenue by the
owner of the property subject to the tax be- 
fore the property is displayed or operated in
this state. A separate and individual tax
shall be paid on each displayed or operated
device or game described in this chapter. The
taxpayer shall, at the time the tax is paid, 

designate and identify to the department
each game or device by trade name or man- 
ufacturer' s number if any. However, the

substitution of a game or device for a game
or device taxable at the same rate, upon

which the tax has been paid, shall not be a

violation of any section of this chapter, nor
shall it result in the imposition of any addi- 
tional tax upon such substituted game or de- 
vice. ( Amended by 1955 c.574 § 4; 1957 c.384 § 4; 1981
c.677 § 41

320.060 Issuance of tax receipt; receipt
to be displayed. ( 1) Upon payment of the tax

imposed by this chapter, the Department of
Revenue shall issue to each taxpayer a re- 
ceipt for each device with respect to which
the tax is paid. 

2) No person shall display in any public
or private place of amusement or business in

this state any property subject to the tax
imposed by this chapter unless there is
prominently: 

a) Displayed on the premises the receipt

of the Department of Revenue for the pay- 
ment of the tax; and

b) Displayed on the music or amusement
device the name and address of the owner

thereof. Absence of the duly issued tax re- 
ceipt is prima facie evidence that the tax has
not been paid. 

3) No person shall alter or change any
Department of Revenue receipt issued pursu- 
ant to this section in an attempt to avoid

payment of any tax imposed by this chapter. 
4) No person shall avoid or attempt to

avoid the payment of any tax due under this
chapter by displaying anything similar in de- 
sign, size or color to a Department of Re- 
venue receipt issued pursuant to this section

for any device described in this chapter. 

5) No person shall avoid or attempt to

avoid the payment of any tax due under this
chapter by using the receipt for tax paid on
any device for any other device, except

where a substitution is made pursuant to
ORS 320.050. 

6) A penalty of $200 is imposed on the
owner of the premises where the device is

located, for failing to display on the premises
a receipt of the Department of Revenue for
the tax remitted pursuant to the provisions

of this chapter. ( Amended by 1955 c. 574 § 5; 1957
c 384 § 5, 1959 c. 155 § 2; 1975 c. 651 § 5, 1981 c 677 § 5; 1989

c 786 § 41

Note: The amendments to 320 060 by section 4, 
chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989, take effect July I, 1990
See section 12, chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989. 320 060
Replacement Part) is set forth for the user' s conven- 

ience. 

320.060 ( 1) Upon payment of the tae imposed by
this chapter, the Department of Revenue shall issue to
each taxpayer a receipt for each device with respect to
which the tax is paid. 

2) No person shall display in any public or private
place of amusement or business in this state any prop- 
erty subject to the tax imposed by this chapter unless
there is prominently: 

a) Displayed on the premises the receipt of the
Department of Revenue for the payment of the tar; and

b) Displayed on the music or amusement device
the name and address of the owner thereof. Absence of

the duly issued tax receipt is prima facie evidence that
the tax has not been paid. 

3) No person shall alter or change any Department
of Revenue receipt issued pursuant to this section in an
attempt to avoid payment of any tae imposed by this
chapter. 

4) No person shall avoid or attempt to avoid the

payment of any tax due under this chapter by display - 
ing anything sinular in design, size or color to a De- 
partment of Revenue receipt issued pursuant to this

section for any device described in this chapter. 
5) No person shall avoid or attempt to avoid the

payment of any tae due under this chapter by using the
receipt for tax paid on any device for any other device, 
except where a substitution is made pursuant to ORS
320.050

6) A penalty of $ 100 is hereby imposed on the
owner of the premises where the device is located, for

failing to display on the premises a receipt of the De- 
partment of Revenue for the tax remitted pursuant to
the provisions of this chapter. 

320. 065 Registration of transferor of
music or amusement device. No person
shall sell, rent, lease, trade, lend or furnish
to another or transfer within this state, ex- 

cept for common carrier, more than two mu- 

sic or amusement devices annually unless
the person has first registered with the De- 
partment of Revenue. 11975 c.651 § 81

320.070 Display of device without pay- 
ment of tax; liability of person in pos- 
session of premises; sealing device. ( 1) If

any device subject to tax under this chapter
is displayed or permitted to be displayed

without the tax therefor first being paid and
the receipt displayed as provided in this
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PRIVILEGE TAXES 320. 100

chapter, the person in possession of the
premises where the device is so displayed is

liable jointly and severally for the tax and
penalty with the owner of the device. 

2) For every device found to have been
displayed without the tax imposed by this
chapter having first been paid, a penalty of

200 shall be imposed. 

3) Every agent of the Department of Re- 
venue may, upon discovery of a device being
operated or displayed for operation without
payment of the tax due, place on said device - 
a seal, provided pursuant to regulation, in
such a manner as to render such device in- 

operative. The seal shall remain on the de- 

vice until the tax and penalty due under this
chapter have all been paid. The seal may be
removed only by a duly authorized agent of
the Department of Revenue. Any other per- 
son tampering with, obliterating, defacing, 
cutting, breaking or in any manner removing
or attempting to remove said seal at any
time shall be subject to all the penalties
provided in ORS 320.990. JAmended by 1955 c.574
6; 1959 c. 155 0, 1975 c.651 § 6; 1981 c. 677 § 6; 1989 c 786

51

Note: The amendments to 320.070 by section 5, 
chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989, take effect July 1, 1990
See section 12, chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989. 320.070
1987 Replacement Part) is set forth for the user' s con - 

venience

320. 070. ( 1) If any device subject to tax under this
chapter is displayed or permitted to be displayed with- 

out the tax therefor first being paid and the receipt
displayed as provided in this chapter, the person in
possession of the premises where the device is so dis- 
played is liable jointly and severally for the tae and
penalty with the owner of the device. 

2) For every device found to have been displayed
without the tax imposed by this chapter having first
been paid, a penalty of $100 shall be imposed. 

3) Every agent of the Department of Revenue may, 
upon discovery of a device being operated or displayed
for operation without payment of the tax due, place on
said device a seal, provided pursuant to regulation, in
such a manner as to render such device inoperative The
seal shall remain on the device until the tax and pen- 

alty due under this chapter have all been paid. The seal
may be removed only by a duly authorized agent of the
Department of Revenue. Any other person tampering
with, obliterating, defacing, cutting, breaking or in any
manner removing or attempting to remove said seal at
any time shall be subject to all the penalties provided
in ORS 320 990. 

320.080 Procedure on failure to pay
tax or penalty. ( 1) If any tax or penalty im- 
posed by this chapter is not paid as required
by this chapter within 30 days after the date
that the written notice and demand for pay- 
ment required under ORS 305.895 is mailed, 
the Department of Revenue shall issue a
warrant directed to the sheriff of any county
of the state commanding the sheriff to levy
upon and sell the real and personal property
of the person or persons named in the war- 
rant and liable for the tax found within the

county, for the payment of the amount

thereof with the added penalty and the cost
of executing the warrant, and to return the
warrant to the department and pay to it the
money collected by virtue thereof by a time
to be therein specified not more than 30 days

from the date of the warrant. A copy of the
warrant shall be mailed or delivered to the

taxpayer by the department at the taxpayer' s
last -known address. 

2) The sheriff shall, within five days af- 
ter the receipt of the warrant, record with

the clerk of the county a copy thereof. 
Thereupon the clerk shall enter in the

County Clerk Lien Record the names of the
persons mentioned in the warrant, and the

amount of the tax and penalty for which the
warrant is issued and the date when such

copy is recorded. Thereupon the amount of
the warrant so recorded shall become a lien

upon the title to any interest in real property
or personal property of the persons against
whom it is issued in the same manner as a

Judgment duly docketed. The sheriff shall
thereupon proceed upon the same in all re- 
spects, with like effect and in the manner

prescribed by law in respect to execution is- 
sued against property upon judgment of a
court of record, and the sheriff is entitled to

the same fees for services in executing the
warrant to be collected in the same manner. 
If a warrant is returned not satisfied in full, 
the department shall have the same remedies
to enforce the claim for taxes as if the people
of the state had recovered judgment for the
amount of the tax. [ Amended by 1981 c.677 § 7; 1983
c.696 § 13; 1985 c.761 § 16; 1989 c.625 § 771

320.090 [ Repealed by 1981 c. 677 § 81

320. 100 Disposal of tax receipts. ( 1) All

money received under this chapter as taxes
or penalty shall be paid by the Department
of Revenue to the State Treasurer quarterly
and shall be by the State Treasurer allocated
for payment in the following manner: 

a) Thirty percent thereof shall be cred- 
ited to the General Fund to be available for
payment of general governmental expenses. 

b) Fifty percent is continuously appro- 
priated to pay the expenses of state and local
programs of the Oregon Youth Conservation
Corps established under ORS 418.650 to
418.663. 

c) Twenty percent thereof shall be

remitted to the county treasurers of the se- 
veral counties of the state. Each county shall
receive such share of the money as its popu- 
lation, determined by the State Board of
Higher Education, bears to the total popu- 
lation of the counties of the state, as deter- 

mined by the census last preceding such
apportionment. 

2) All revenues received under this sec- 

tion by the treasurers of the several counties
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320. 110 REVENUE AND TAXATION

shall be placed in the general fund of each

county to be expended by the county courts
or the board of county commissioners of the
several counties for general governmental
expenses. [ Amended by 1959 c. 143 § 1; 1963 c.644 § 3; 
1967 c.323 § 1; 1969 c230 § 1; 1989 c.786 § 31

Note: The amendments to 320. 100 by section 3, 
chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989, take effect July 1, 1990. 
See section 12, chapter 786, Oregon Laws 1989. 320. 100
1987 Replacement Part) is set forth for the user' s con- 

venience. 

320. 100. ( 1) All money received under this chapter
as taxes or penalty shall be paid by the Department of
Revenue to the State Treasurer quarterly and shall be
by the State Treasurer allocated for payment in the
following manner

a) Sixty percent thereof shall be credited to the
General Fund to be available for payment of general
governmental expenses. 

b) Forty percent thereof shall be remitted to the
county treasurers of the several counties of the state. 
Each county shall receive such share of the money as
its population, determined by the State Board of Higher
Education, bears to the total population of the counties
of the state, as determined by the census last preceding
such apportionment. 

2) All revenues received under this section by the
treasurers of the several counties shall be placed in the
general fund of each county to be expended by the
county courts or the board of county commissioners of
the several counties for general governmental expenses. 

320. 110 Rules and regulations. The De- 

partment of Revenue may promulgate the
rules and regulations necessary for the ad- 
ministration and enforcement of this chapter. 

320. 120 Employment of agents. The

Department of Revenue may employ the
agents necessary for the administration and
enforcement of this chapter. Agents of the
department charged with the enforcement of

this chapter have all the power and authority
of police officers in the performance of such
duties. 

320. 130 Law enforcement officers to
enforce chapter and assist department. 
The state police, sheriffs, constables, police
and other law enforcement officers within
the State of Oregon shall enforce all pro- 
visions of this chapter and shall assist the

Department of Revenue. 

320. 140 Tax does not legalize owner- 

ship, display or operation in violation of
law. Nothing in this chapter shall be con- 
strued as licensing, authorizing or legalizing
the ownership, possession, display or opera- 
tion, in violation of any law of this state, of
any of the property taxed under this chapter. 

320. 990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of any
provision of this chapter by any person is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
more than $ 500, or by imprisonment in the
county jail for not more than six months, or
by both. Justice courts and district courts
have concurrent jurisdiction with the circuit

courts of any prosecution provided for in this
subsection. 

2) Violation of ORS 320.060 ( 3) is forgery
in the first degree and is punishable as such. 

3) Violation of ORS 320.060 ( 4) and ( 5) 
and 320.070 ( 3) is punishable, upon con- 

viction, by a fine of not more than ,$1, 000 or

imprisonment in the county jail for not more
than one year, or both. [ Amended by 1955 c. 574

7; 1971 c.743 § 356) 
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