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HOURS; WAGES; RECORDS 652 060

HOURS OF LABOR

652.010 Declaration of public policy
concerning maximum working hours in
certain industries. ( 1) It is the public policy of
this state that no person shall be hired, nor

permitted to work for wages, under any condi- 
tions or terms, for longer hours or days of service
than is consistent with the person' s health and

physical well -being and ability to promote the
general welfare by the person' s increasing
usefulness as a healthy and intelligent citizen

2) It hereby is declared that the working of
any person more than 10 hours in one day in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establishment or
the working of any person more than eight hours, 
exclusive of one hour, more or less, in one day, or
more than 48 hours in one calendar week in

sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills and logging
camps is injurious to the physical health and well- 

being of such person, and tends to prevent the
person from acquiring that degree of intelligence
that is necessary to make the person a useful and
desirable citizen of the state

652. 020 Maximum working hours in
certain industries; overtime hours and pay. 

1) No person shall be employed in any mill, 
factory or manufacturing establishment in this
state more than 10 hours in any one day, or in
sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills and logging
camps more than eight hours, exclusive of one
hour, more or less, in one day or more than 48
hours in one calendar week, except logging train
crews, watchmen, firemen and persons engaged in
the transportation to and from work, and

employes when engaged in making necessary

repairs, or in the case of emergency where life and
property are in imminent danger However, 
employes may work overtime not to exceed three
hours in one day, conditioned that payment be
made for said overtime at the rate of time and
one -half the regular wage

2) No employer shall require or permit any
person to work in any place mentioned in this
section more than the hours provided for in this

section during any day of 24 hours No employer
shall permit or suffer an overseer, superintendent

or other agent of the employer to violate this

section

3) This section does not apply to persons
employed in the care of quarters or livestock, 

conducting messhalls, superintendence and

direction of work, or to the loading and removal
of the finished forest product

652.030 Enforcement of ORS 652.010
and 652.020 dependent upon like laws in

other states. ORS 652 010 and 652 020 shall

not be enforced insofar as they relate to working
hours in sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills and
logging camps until laws containing like provi- 
sions regarding working hours in such places of
employment in the States of California, Wash- 
ington and Idaho become effective in each of

those states respectively

652.040 Maximum working hours in
mines. ( 1) No person who operates any under- 
ground mine yielding gold or silver or copper or

lead or other metal shall permit or require any
person to work in such underground mine for

more than eight hours in any 24 hours The hours
for such employment or work day shall be con- 
secutive excluding, however, any intermission of
time for lunch or meals

2) In the case of emergency, where life or
property is in imminent danger, persons may
work in such underground mines for a longer time

during the continuance of the exigency or emer- 
gency This section does not apply to mines in
their first stages of development, such as tunnel
work to a length of 200 feet, or shaft work to a

depth of 150 feet, or to any surface excavation

652.050 Definitions for ORS 652. 050

to 652. 080. As used in ORS 652 050 to 652 080

1) " Firefighter" means a person whose prin- 

cipal duties consist of preventing or combating
fire or preventing loss of life or property from fire

2) " Regularly organized fire department" 
means any organization maintained for the pur- 
pose of preventing or combating fire and employ- 
ing one or more persons on a full -time basis as
firefighters

3) " Volunteer firefighter" means a person
who performs services as a firefighter for a regu- 

larly organized fire department and whose work
hours and work shifts are voluntary and whose
volunteer service is not a condition of employ- 

ment ( Amended by 1983 c 319 § 1) 

652.060 Maximum hours for firefight- 
ers. ( 1)( a) No person employed on a full -time

basis as a firefighter by any regularly organized
fire department maintained by any incorporated
city, municipality or fire district and that
employs not more than three persons on a full - 
time basis as firefighters shall be required to be on

regular duty with such fire department more than
72 hours a week However, any affected incorpo- 
rated city, municipality or fire district shall be
deemed to have complied with this paragraph and

ORS 652 070 if the hours of regular duty required
of firefighters employed by it average not more
than 72 hours a week over each quarter of the
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652. 070 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

fiscal year of the employing city, municipality or
fire district

b) No person employed on a full -time basis

as a firefighter by any regularly organized fire
department maintained by any incorporated city, 
municipality or fire district and that employs four
or more persons on a full -time basis as firefighters

shall be required to be on regular duty with such
fire department more than 56 hours a week

However, any affected incorporated city, munici- 
pality or fire district shall be deemed to have
complied with this paragraph and ORS 652 070 it

the hours of regular duty required of firefighters
employed by it average not more than 56 hours a
week over each quarter of the fiscal year of the

employ mg city, municipality or fire district
2) In the event this section shortens the

working hours of firefighters employed by any
such city, municipality or fire district, the total
wages of such firefighters shall not for that reason

be reduced [ Amended by 1959 c 402 § 1 1969 c 581 § 11

652. 070 Overtime pay for firefighters. 
1) Every affected incorporated city, munici- 

pality and fire district shall put into effect and
maintain a schedule of working hours required of
regularly employed firefighters which shall not be
in excess of the average hours established by ORS
652 060, and which shall provide for at least 48

consecutive hours off -duty time in each seven - 
day period Any affected incorporated city, 
municipality or fire district failing so to do shall
pay to every regularly employed firefighter as
additional pay for every hour of regular duty
required of and performed by the firefighter over
and above the average hours established by ORS
652 060 a sum equivalent to one and one -half

times the regular hourly rate of pay at the time of
such default However, in the case of replacement
for any authorized leave, vacation or temporary
vacancy, regularly employed firefighters in a
department employing four or more persons on a
full -time basis as firefighters may elect to work in
excess of 56 hours a week at not less than their

regular hourly rate of pay
2) Nothing in subsection ( 1) of this section

requires payment of one and one -half times the

hourly rate of pay to a volunteer firefighter for
hours of duty performed in excess of the average
hours established by ORS 652 060 ( Amended by
1959 c 402 § 2, 1969 c 581 § 2, 1983 c 319 §2] 

652. 080 Computing hours on duty for
purposes of ORS 652.060 and 652. 070. In

computing the average or total number of hours a
week for the purposes of ORS 652 060 and
652 070, authorized vacation or sick leave time

shall be considered as time on regular duty p959
c 402 § 41

PAYMENT AND COLLECTION OF

WAGESGENERALLY

652. 110 Medium of paying employes. 
No person engaged in any business or enterprise
of any kind in this state shall issue, in payment of
or as evidence of indebtedness for wages due an

employe, any order, check, memorandum or other
acknowledgment of indebtedness, unless the

same is negotiable, and is payable without dis- 
count in cash on demand at some bank or other

established place of business in the county where
the same is issued, and where a sufficient amount

of funds have been provided and are or will be

available for the payment of such order, check or

other acknowledgment of indebtedness when due
Such person shall, upon presentation and

demand, pay any such order, check, memoran- 
dum or other acknowledgment of indebtedness, in

lawful money of the United States This section
does not in any way limit or interfere with the
right of any employe to accept from any person, 
as an evidence or acknowledgment of indebted- 

ness for wages due the employe, a negotiable
instrument, payable at some future date with

interest An employer and an employe may agree
to authorize an employer to deposit without dis- 

count wages due the employe in the employe' s
account in a bank, national bank, mutual savings
bank, or credit union or savings and loan associa- 

tion in this state [ Amended by 1975 c 191 § 1] 

652. 120 Establishing regular payday; 
pay intervals; agreement to pay wages at
future date. ( 1) Every employer shall establish
and maintain a regular payday, at which date all
employes shall be paid the wages due and owing
to them

2) Payday shall not extend beyond a period
of 35 days from the time that such employes
entered upon their work, or from the date of the

last regular payday
3) This section does not prevent the

employer from establishing and maintaining pay- 
days at more frequent intervals

4) This section does not prevent any
employer from entering into a written agreement, 
prior to the rendering of any services, and mutu- 
ally satisfactory with the employer' s employes, as
to the payment of wages at a future date [ Amended

bi 1961 c 662 § 1] 

652. 130 Payment of wages due persons

employed on piece work scale or quantity

basis in forest product industries; furnish- 

ing statement of scale or quantity. Every
person engaged in the business of logging or
obtaining or securing sawlogs, poles, spars, piles, 
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HOURS; WAGES; RECORDS 652. 200

cordwood, posts or other timber or forest prod- 

ucts, or engaged in the business of manufacturing
sawlogs or other timber into lumber, and employ- 
ing one or more employes on a piece work scale or
quantity wage basis, shall furnish such employes
at least once monthly, a statement of scale or
quantity produced by them to their credit, and
shall pay all wages or amounts so earned and due
and payable under the law regulating paydays

652 140 Payment on termination of
employment; notice of intention to quit; 

forwarding wages by mail. ( 1) Whenever an

employer discharges an employe, or where such

employment is terminated by mutual agreement, 
all wages earned and unpaid at the time of such
discharge shall become due and payable immedi- 

ately, provided, that in establishments where
perishable or seasonal commodities are processed

or handled, when termination of employment

results from fluctuation in or cessation of the flow
of such perishable or seasonal commodities, such

termination shall not be regarded as a discharge

or termination by mutual agreement, within the
meaning of this section, but all wages earned at
the time of such termination shall become due
and payable not later than the regular payday on
which such wages normally would be paid

2) When any such employe, not having a
contract for a definite period, shall quit employ- 
ment, all wages earned and unpaid at the time of

such quitting shall become due and payable
immediately if such employe has given not less
than 48 hours' notice, excluding Saturdays, Sun- 
days and holidays, of an intention to quit employ- 
ment If such notice is not given, such wages shall

be due and payable 48 hours, excluding Satur- 
days, Sundays and holidays, after such employe

has so quit employment

3) The employer shall forward such wages by
mail to any address designated by the employe if
the employe requests the employer so to do An

employer may deposit such wages without dis- 
count in the employe' s account in a bank, 
national bank, mutual savings bank, credit union, 

or savings and loan association in this state, 

provided the employe and the employer have

agreed to such deposit [ Amended by 1957 c 242 § 1, 1975
c 192 § 11

652 150 Civil penalty for failure to pay
wages on termination of employment. If an

employer wilfully fails to pay any wages or com- 
pensation of any employe who is discharged or
who quits employment, as provided in ORS

652 140, then, as a penalty for such nonpayment, 
the wages or compensation of such employe shall

continue from the due date thereof at the same

rate until paid or until action therefor is com- 

menced, provided, that in no case shall such

wages or compensation continue for more than 30
days, and provided further, the employer may

avoid liability for the penalty by showing finan- 
cial inability to pay the wages or compensation at
the time they accrued [ Amended by 1957 c 244 § 11

652. 160 Payment in case of dispute
over wages. In case of dispute over wages, the

employer must pay, without condition, and

within the time set by ORS 652 140, all wages
conceded by the employer to be due, leaving the
employe all remedies the employe might other- 

wise have or be entitled to as to any balance the
employe might claim

652. 170 Payment of wages in case of

strikes. When any number of employes enter
upon a strike, the wages due such striking
employes at the time of entering upon such strike
shall not become due and payable until the next

regular payday after the commencement of such
strike, if the time between the commencement of
the strike and the next regular payday does not
exceed a period of 30 days If the intervening time
does exceed the period of 30 days, then the wages
shall be due and payable 30 days after the com- 

mencement of the strike

652 180 [ Repealed by 1953 c 515 § 21

652. 190 Payment of wages to surviv- 

ing spouse or dependent children. All wages
earned by an employe, not exceeding $ 3,000, 
shall, upon the employe' s death, become due and

payable to the employe' s surviving spouse, or if

there is no surviving spouse, the dependent chil- 
dren, or their guardians or the conservators of

their estates, in equal shares, to the same extent

as if the wages had been earned by such surviving
spouse or dependent children [ Amended by 1971 c 448

1, 1981 c594 § 11

652. 200 Attorney fee in action for
wages. ( 1) In any action for the collection of
any order, check, memorandum or other
acknowledgment of indebtedness referred to in

ORS 652 110, if it is shown that the order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness was not paid for a period of 48

hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holi- 
days, after presentation and demand for the pay- 
ment thereof, the court shall, upon entering

judgment for the plaintiff, include in such judg- 
ment, in addition to the costs and disbursements

otherwise prescribed by statute, a reasonable sum
for attorney fees at trial and on appeal for pros- 
ecuting said action, unless it appears that the
employe has wilfully violated the contract of
employment
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652. 210 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

2) In any action for the collection of wages, if
it is shown that the wages were not paid for a

period of 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays
and holidays, after the same became due and

payable, the court shall upon entering judgment
for the plaintiff, include in such judgment, in
addition to the costs and disbursements other- 

wise prescribed by statute, a reasonable sum for
attorney fees at trial and on appeal for prosecut- 
ing said action, unless it appears that the employe
has wilfully violated the contract of employment
Amended by 1957 c 242 § 2, 1981 c 897 § 861

652. 210 Definitions for ORS 652.210
to 652 230. As used in ORS 652 210 to 652 230, 
unless the context requires otherwise

1) " Employer" means any person employing
one or more employes, including the State of
Oregon or any political subdivision thereof or any
county, city, district, authority, public corpora- 
tion or entity and any of their instrumentalities
organized and existing under law or charter but
does not include the Federal Government

2) " Employe" means any individual who, 
otherwise than as a copartner of the employer or

as an independent contractor, renders personal

services wholly or partly in this state to an
employer who pays or agrees to pay such indi- 
vidual at a fixed rate However, where services are

rendered only partly in this state, an individual is

not an employe unless the contract of employ- 
ment of the employe has been entered into, or

payments thereunder are ordinarily made or to be
made, within this state

3) " Wages" means all compensation for per- 

formance of service by an employe for an
employer whether paid by the employer or
another person, including cash value of all com- 

pensation paid in any medium other than cash

4) " Rate" with reference to wages means the
basis of compensation for services by an employe
for an employer and includes compensation based
on the time spent in the performance of such

services, or on the number of operations accom- 

plished, or on the quantity produced or handled

5) " Unpaid wages" means the difference

between the wages actually paid to an employe
and the wages required under ORS 652 220, to be
paid to such employe [ 1955c 193 § 1, 1985c 100 § 1. 1987

c 158 § 124] 

652. 220 Prohibition against discrimi- 
natory wage rates based on sex; employer
not to discriminate against employe -com- 
plainant. ( 1) No employer shall

a) In any manner discriminate between the
sexes in the payment of wages for work of com- 

parable character, the performance of which

requires comparable skills

b) Pay wages to any employe at a rate less
than that at which the employer pays wages to

employes of the opposite sex for work of compara- 
ble character, the performance of which requires
comparable skills

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not

apply where - 

a) Payment is made pursuant to a seniority
or merit system which does not discriminate on
the basis of sex

b) A differential in wages between employes
is based in good faith on factors other than sex

3) No employer shall in any manner discrim- 
inate in the payment of wages against any
employe because the employe has filed a com- 

plaint in a proceeding under ORS 652 210 to
652 230, or has testified, or is about to testify, or
because the employer believes that the employe

may testify, in any investigation or proceedings
pursuant to ORS 652 210 to 652 230 or in a
criminal action pursuant to ORS 652 210 to

652 230 [ 1955 c 193 § 21

652.230 Employe has right of action
against employer for unpaid wages and

damages. ( 1) Any employe whose compensa- 
tion is at a rate that is in violation of ORS
652 220 shall have a right of action against the

employer for the recovery of
a) The amount of the unpaid wages to which

the employe is entitled for the one year period

preceding the commencement of the action, and

b) An additional amount as liquidated
damages equal to the amount referred to in para- 
graph ( a) of this subsection

2) In addition to any judgment awarded to
the plaintiff, the court shall allow reasonable

attorney fees at trial and on appeal to be taxed in
any judgment recovered

3) The action for the unpaid wages and

liquidated damages may be maintained by one or
more employes on behalf of themselves or other

employes similarly situated

4) No agreement for compensation at a rate

less than the rate to which such employe is
entitled under ORS 652 210 to 652 230 is a

defense to any action under ORS 652 210 to
652 230 [ 1955 c 193 § 3, 1981 c 894 § 871

652. 240 Paying wage lower than that
required by statute or contract prohibited. 
Where any statute or contract requires an
employer to maintain the designated wage scale, 

it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a lower wage
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HOURS: WAGES; RECORDS 652. 310

while purporting to pay the wage designated by
statute or by contract [ 1957 c 243 § 11

652.250 Public employe' s wages as

affected by absence to engage in search or
rescue operation. A public employe who takes

part without pay in a search or rescue operation

at the request of any law enforcement agency, the
Aeronautics Administrator, the United States

Forest Service or any local organization for civil
defense, shall not forfeit wages while engaged in

an operation for a period of not more than five

days for each operation If an operation continues

for more than five days, the employing agency
may allow the employe to continue to take part in
the operation and to receive wages for as long as
the employing agency considers proper [ 1959 c 46

11

ENFORCEMENT OF WAGE CLAIMS

Generally) 

Note Sections 4 and 7, chapter 409, Oregon Laws 1985

as amended by chapter 412, Oregon Laws 1987 provide

Sec 4 ( 1) The Wage Security Fund is established
separate and distinct from the General Fund After deduction

of the amounts provided in section 2, chapter 409, Oregon

Laws 1985, all moneys received by the Employment Div ision
of the Department of Human Resources pursuant to section 2, 

chapter 409, Oregon Laws 1985 shall be paid into the State

Treasury and credited to the Wage Security Fund All income
earned on moneys in the Wage Security Fund invested by the
State ' I reasurer shall accrue to the fund

2) All income earned on moneys in the Wage Security
Fund, and an amount of the fund not to exceed $ 700,000 are

appropriated continuously to the Commissioner of the Bureau
of Labor and Industries to carry out the provisions of section
7, chapter 409, Oregon Laws 1985 [ 1985 c 409 § 4, 1987 c 412

31

See 7 Notwithstanding an} other provision of law, 
during the period beginning Julv 1 1986, and ending July l
1989

1) When an employe files a wage claim pursuant to this

chapter for wages earned and unpaid after July 1, 1986, and
before July 1, 1989, and the commissioner determines that the
employer against whom the claim was filed has ceased doing
business and is without sufficient assets to pay the wage claim

and the wage claim cannot otherwise be fully and promptly
paid, the commissioner, after determining that the claim is
valid, shall pay the claimant the amount earned within 60
days before the date of the cessation of business, and unpaid, 

but only to the extent of $2.000 from such funds as may be
available pursuant to subsection ( 2) of section 4 chapter 409, 

Oregon Laws 1985

2) The commissioner may commence an appropriate
action, suit or proceeding to recover from the employer, or

other persons or property liable for the unpaid wages, amounts
paid from the Wage Security Fund pursuant to subsection ( 1) 
of this section In addition to costs and disbursements, the

commissioner is entitled to recover reasonable attorney fees at

trial and on appeal, together with a penalty of 25 percent of
the amount of wages paid from the Wage Secunt) Fund or

200, whichever amount is the greater All amounts recovered

by the commissioner pursuant to this subsection and subsec- 
tion ( 3) of this section are appropriated continuously to the

commissioner to carry out the provisions of this section

3) The Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and

Industries has a lien on the personal property of the employer
for the benefit of the fund when the claim is paid pursuant to
subsection ( 1) of this section for the amount so paid and the

penalty referred to in subsection ( 2) of this section The
commissioner may cause to be filed a v enfied written notice of
claim of hen with the recording officer of the county in which
the employer has its principal place of business no later than

30 days after the date the claim was paid pursuant to subsec- 

tion ( 1) of this section The notice of claim of lien shall

contain

a) A true statement of the sums paid to wage claimants

and the amount of the penalty provided for in subsection ( 2) 
of this section, 

b) The name of the owner of the personal property to be
charged with the hen, 

c) A description of the personal property to be charged
with the hen sufficient for identification If a hen is being

claimed against all personal property of the employer, the
description is sufficient if it states that all personal property of
the employer is covered, and

d) The date the wage claim was paid

4) Liens created by subsection ( 3) ofthis section shall be
recorded in the same manner as provided for in ORS 87 246

and may be foreclosed in the manner provided for in ORS
87 262

5) Liens created by subsection ( 3) of this section shall
have priority over any other liens or security interests per- 
fected after the date the nonce of claim is fled with the county

recording officer pursuant to subsections ( 3) and ( 4) of this
section

6) The commissioner shall promulgate rules to carryout

the provisions of this section which include, but are not

limited to prescribing procedures for a timely and cost effi- 
cient method for the payment of wage claims from the Wage

Security Fund and procedures for prorating wage claims if
insufficient funds are available for payment

7) Nothing in this section is intended to require the
commissioner to pay wage claims for which moneys are not
available therefor pursuant to subsection ( 2) of section 4, 

chapter 409, Oregon Laws 1985 [ 1985 c 409 § 7 1987 c 4l2 § 11

652. 310 Definitions of employer and

employe. As used in ORS 652 310 to 652 405, 
unless the context requires otherwise

1) " Employer" means any person who in this
state, directly or through an agent, engages per- 
sonal services of one or more employes and

includes any producer - promoter, and any suc- 

cessor to the business of any employer, or any
lessee or purchaser of any employer' s business
property for the continuance of the same busi- 
ness, so far as such employer has not paid
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employes in full " Employer" includes the State of

Oregon or any political subdivision thereof or any
county, city, district, authority, public corpora- 
tion or entity and any of their instrumentalities
organized and existing under law or charter but
does not include

a) The United States

b) Trustees and assignees in bankruptcy or
insolvency, and receivers, whether appointed by
federal or state courts, and persons otherwise
falling under the definition of employers so far as
the times or amounts of their payments to

employes are regulated by laws of the United
States, or regulations or orders made in pur- 
suance thereof

2) " Employe" means any individual who
otherwise than as copartner of the employer or as

an independent contractor renders personal serv- 

ices wholly or partly in this state to an employer
who pays or agrees to pay such individual at a
fixed rate, based on the time spent in the per- 
formance of such services or on the number of

operations accomplished, or quantity produced or
handled However

a) Where services are rendered by an inde- 
pendent contractor, an individual shall not be an

employe under this section unless the individual

is a musician or supporting technical person

b) Where services are rendered only partly in
this state, an individual shall not be an employe

under this section unless the contract of employ- 
ment of the employe has been entered into, or
payments thereunder are ordinarily made or to be
made, within this state ( Amended bi 1963 c 348 § 1. 

1975 e 488 41, 1985 c 100 § 21

652. 320 General definitions for ORS
652.310 to 652. 405. As used m ORS 652 310
to 652 405, unless the context requires otherwise

1) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries

2) " Court" means a court of competent juris- 
diction and proper venue to entertain a proceed- 

ing referred to in ORS 652 310 to 652 405

3) " Demand" means a written demand for

payment made during business hours on an
employer or any appropriate representative of an

employer by an employe or by some person hav- 
ing and exhibiting due authority to act in said
employe' s behalf

4) " Pay" means to deliver or tender compen- 
sation at a previously designated and reasonably
convenient place in this state, during working
hours, in legal tender or by order or negotiable
instrument payable and paid in legal tender with- 

out discount on demand in this state or by deposit
without discount in an employe's account in a
bank, national bank, mutual savings bank, credit
union or savings and loan association in this
state, provided the employe and the employer

have agreed to such deposit

5) " Payment" means the delivery, tender or
deposit of compensation in the medium of pay- 
ment described in subsection ( 4) of this section
Such delivery, tender or deposit shall be made to
or for the account of the employe concerned or to
or for the account of any person having due
authority to act in said employe' s behalf

6) " Production" means a live presentation

organized for the economic gain of any person or
organization utilizing the personal services of one
or more musicians and supporting technical per- 
sonnel

7) " Producer- promoter" means a person, 

firm, association or corporation which super- 

vises, finances or attempts to organize a produc- 
tion in this state other than

a) The proprietor of a commercial establish- 

ment with a Class " A" or Class " B" dispenser' s
license or tavern staging a production on the
proprietor's own premises, 

b) Any nonprofit organization staging a pro- 
duction for the sole benefit of the organization, 
its members or the general public, or

c) A producer of motion pictures, television
shows, or commercials

8) " Rate of payment" means the rate at
which payment is made or is to be made in the
manner described in this section

9) " Wage claim" means an employe's claim

against an employer for compensation for the
employe' s own personal services, and includes

any wages, compensation, damages or civil penal- 
ties provided by law to employes in connection
with a claim for unpaid wages ( Amended b} 1975

c 190 § 1, 1975 c 488 § 2, 1979 c 695 § 11

652. 325 Permit required for producer - 
promoter; application; bond; exemption. 

1) Except as provided in subsection ( 4) of this

section, any producer - promoter intending to do
business in this state shall first obtain a permit
from the commissioner An application for such

permit shall contain the following information

a) The applicant' s name and address, 

b) A description of the financing for the
production, 

c) The type of production, the number of
artists and technical personnel to be employed
and the time and place of the production, and
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d) Such other Information as the commis- 

sioner may deem necessary for the protection of
persons employed in the production

2) A permit shall not be Issued unless the
applicant has posted a bond with the commis- 

sioner as required by ORS 652 340 ( 2) 

3) The commissioner may fix permit fees not
to exceed $20 to provide for the cost of processing
the applications

4) A permit shall not be required of any
producer - promoter who

a) Has been a producer- promoter in this

state for the three -year period Immediately pre- 
ceding the time when a permit application would
otherwise be required and has had no successful
wage claims allowed against the producer -pro- 

moter during such period, or
b) Has sufficient assets in this state which, if

executed upon, would equal the amount of bond

required by ORS 652 340 ( 2) 11975 c 488 §41
652. 330 Powers and duties of commis- 

sioner in enforcing wage claims; parties to
wage claim action. ( 1) The commissioner

shall enforce ORS 652 310 to 652 405 and to that

end may

a) Investigate and attempt equitably to
adjust controversies between employers and

employes in respect of wage claims or alleged

wage claims

b) Take assignments, in trust, of wage claims
or judgments thereon, liens and other instru- 
ments of security for payment of wages from the
assigning employes, spouses, parents or legal
guardians, having a right to the wages of such
employes All such assignments shall run to the

commissioner and any successors in office The
commissioner may sue employers on wage claims

and other persons or property liable for any
payment thereof thus assigned with the benefits

and subject to existing laws applying to actions by
employes for collection of wages The commis- 
sioner is entitled to recover, in addition to costs, 

such sum as the court or judge may adjudge
reasonable as attorney fees at trial and on appeal
The commissioner may join in a single proceed- 
ing and in one cause of action any number ofwage
claims against the same employer If the commis- 

sioner does not prevail in such action, the com- 

missioner shall pay all costs and disbursements
from the Bureau of Labor and Industries

Account

c) Make complaint in a criminal court for

any violation of any law providing for payment of
wages and imposing a penalty for its violation as
for a crime

d) In any case where a civil action may be
brought under this chapter for the collection of a
wage claim, provide for an administrative pro- 

ceeding to determine the validity and enforce
collection of the claim The administrative pro- 

ceeding shall be conducted as provided in this
chapter, and is subject to the employer' s right to

elect a trial in a court of law

2) An assigning wage claimant shall not be
regarded as a party to any court action brought by
the commissioner under this section for any pur- 
pose lAmended by 1957 c 4615 § 6, 1963 c 258 § 2 1967 c 218

1, 1979 c 695 § 2, 1981 c 897 § 881

652. 332 Administrative proceeding for
wage claim collection; court enforcement

and review. ( 1) In any case when the commis- 
sioner has received a wage claim complaint which
the commissioner could seek to collect through

court action, the commissioner may instead elect
to seek collection of such claim through admin- 

istrative proceedings in the manner provided in

this section, subject to the employer' s right to

request a trial in a court of law The commis- 

sioner may join in a single administrative pro- 

ceeding any number of wage claims against the
same employer Upon making such election, the
commissioner shall serve upon the employer and

the wage claimant an order of determination

directing the employer to pay to the commis- 
sioner the amount of the wage claim and any

penalty amounts under ORS 279 356 ( 1), 652 150
and 653 055 ( 1) determined to be owed the wage
claimant Service shall be made in the same

manner as service of summons or by certified
mail, return receipt requested The order of deter- 

mination shall include

a) A reference to the particular sections of
the statutes or rules involved, 

b) A short and concise statement of the basis
for the amounts determined to be owed to each
wage claimant, 

c) A statement of the party' s right to request
a contested case hearing and to be represented by
counsel at such a hearing, and of the employer' s
right to a trial in a court of law, provided that any
request for a contested case hearing or trial in a
court of law must be received by the commis- 
sioner in writing within 20 days after receipt by
the party of the order of determination, 

d) A statement that the employer must, 
within 20 days after receipt of the order of deter- 

mination, either pay in full the wage claim and
any penalties assessed, or present to the commis- 
sioner a written request for a contested case

hearing or a trial in a court of law as provided in
this section, 
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e) A statement that failure to make a written

request to the commissioner for a contested case

hearing or a trial of the claim in a court of law
within the time specified shall constitute a waiver

of the right thereto and a waiver of the right to a

trial by jury, and

f) A statement that unless the written
requests provided for in paragraph ( c) of subsec- 

tion ( 1) of this section are received by the com- 
missioner within the time specified for making
such requests, the order of determination shall
become final

2) Upon failure of the employer to pay the
amount specified in the order of determination or
to request a trial in a court of law within the time

specified, and upon failure of any party to request
a contested case hearing within the time spec- 
ified, the order of determination shall become
final

3) If a party makes a timely request for a
contested case hearing, a hearing shall be held in
accordance with the applicable provisions of ORS

183 415 to 183 500 by the commissioner or the
commissioner' s designee The commissioner shall

adopt rules for such hearing In any hearing
before the commissioner' s designee, the designee
is authorized to issue the final order in the case If

the employer makes a timely request for a trial in
a court of law, the commissioner may proceed
against the employer as provided in ORS 652 330

1) ( b) 

4) Final administrative orders issued in a

wage claim proceeding are subject to review by
the Court of Appeals as provided in ORS 183 480
and 183 482

5) Unless the amount of the wage claim and

penalty specified in the final order is paid, the
order shall constitute a judgment and may be filed
in accordance with the provisions of ORS 18 320

to 18 370 Execution may be issued upon the
order in the same manner as execution upon a

judgment in a court of record

6) Where the wage claim arose out of work

performed by the claimant for the employer on
any public works project to which ORS 279 350
or 279 352 applies, and a state agency holds
sufficient funds as retainage on such project to

pay such claim or any portion thereof, the state
agency may, at the request of the commissioner, 
pay to the commissioner from the retainage all or
part of the amount due on the claim under the
final order 11979 c 695 § 4, 1981 c 594 § 3) 

652.335 Liability of liquor dispenser
licensee for wage claims of certain indi- 
viduals. ( 1) A person operating a commercial

establishment where food is cooked and served

who holds a dispenser' s license issued under ORS
472 110 is liable for all valid wage claims of
individuals employed in the kitchen facilities and

dining space of such establishment who are not
employed by such person, if the wage claims
cannot be enforced against the employer of such

individuals The commissioner may in such a
case proceed under ORS 652 310 to 652 405

against the person operating the establishment as
if that person had employed the individuals

assigning the wage claims

2) This section does not impose any liability
not otherwise imposed by law for compensation
for the performance of an individual' s personal
services in excess of a period of 60 days, nor does

it subject the person operating an establishment
described in this section to criminal penalties for

violation of any law providing for payment of
wages [ 1961 c 475 § 2] 

652. 340, Requiring bond of employer. 
1) If upon investigation by the commissioner, 

after taking assignments of any wage claims
under ORS 652 330, it appears to the commis- 

sioner that the employer is representing to
employes that the employer is able to pay wages
for their services and that the employes are not

being paid for their services, the commissioner
may require the employer to give a bond in such
sum as the commissioner deems reasonable and
adequate in the circumstances, with sufficient

surety, conditioned that the employer will for a
definite future period not exceeding six months
conduct business and pay employes in accordance
with the laws of Oregon

2) Upon receipt of a permit application filed

by a producer - promoter who is required to obtain
a permit under ORS 652 325, the commissioner

shall require the producer - promoter to give a

bond in an amount not less than the sum of the

wages to be paid to all musicians and supporting
technical personnel to be employed in the produc- 

tion Such bond shall be conditioned on the

payment of any wages due any musicians and
supporting technical personnel upon the cessa- 
tion of such production or upon the subrogation

of another for the liability of such producer - 
promoter, if such subrogation is satisfactory to
the commissioner

3) If within 10 days after demand for such
bond the employer fails to provide the same, the

commissioner may commence a suit against the
employer in the circuit court of appropriate juris- 

diction to compel the employer to furnish such

bond or cease doing business until the employer
has done so The employer shall have the burden

of proving the amount thereof to be excessive
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4) If the court finds that there is just cause

for requiring such bond and that the same is
reasonably necessary or appropriate to secure the
prompt payment of the wages of the employes of

such employer and the employer' s compliance

with ORS 652 310 to 652 405, the court shall

enjoin such employer from doing business in this
state until the requirement is met, or shall make

other, and may make further, orders appropriate
to compel compliance with the requirement

Amended b) 1975 c 488 § 51

652 350 [ Repealed by 1979 c 695 § 71

652.355 Prohibition against discrimi- 

nation because of wage claim; remedy. ( 1) 
No employer shall discharge or in any other
manner discriminate against any employe
because

a) The employe has made a wage claim or
discussed, inquired about or consulted an

attorney or agency about a wage claim

b) The employe has caused to be instituted

any proceedings under or related to ORS 652 310
to 652 405

c) The employe has testified or is about to

testify in any such proceedings

2) Any person who discharges or discrimi- 
nates against an employe in violation of subsec- 

tion ( 1) of this section shall be liable to the

employe discharged or discriminated against for
actual damages or $200, whichever is greater In

any action under this subsection, the court may
award to the prevailing party, in addition to costs
and disbursements, reasonable attorney fees [ 1975
c 397 § 2, 1980 s c1 §11

652.360 Contract exempting employer
from liability or penalty not valid; excep- 
tion. No employer may by special contract or
any other means exempt the employer from any
provision of or liability or penalty imposed by
ORS 652 310 to 652 405 or by any statute relating
to the payment of wages, except insofar as the

commissioner in writing approves a special con- 
tract or other arrangement between an employer
and one or more of such employer' s employes

The commissioner shall not give approval unless

the commissioner finds that such contract or

arrangement will not prejudicially affect the
interest of the public or of the employes involved, 

and the commissioner may at any time retract
such approval, first giving the employer not less
than 30 days' notice in writing

652. 370 Jurisdiction; proceedings in
name of the state. ( 1) Justice courts and
district courts shall have concurrent jurisdiction
with circuit courts over all cases mentioned in

ORS 652 330 or 652. 340

2) The commissioner shall prosecute all legal
proceedings on the commissioner's own official

relation, but in the name of the State of Oregon

652. 380 Remedies are cumulative; 

effect of payment or tender by employer
after proceeding commenced. ( 1) The reme- 
dies provided by ORS 652 310 to 652 405 shall be
additional to and not in substitution for and in no

manner impair other remedies and may be
enforced simultaneously or consecutively so far as
not inconsistent with each other

2) No payment or tender after the filing of a
criminal complaint or commencement of any

proceeding by the commissioner shall affect the
liability therein of an employer for expenses, or
prevent such employer from being subject to fine
or forfeitures, or to the giving of bond under ORS
652 340

652. 380 Deduction of costs from wage

claims by commissioner; assignment of
wage claims. ( 1) The commissioner may
deduct and retain any moneys collected on each
wage claim as costs, attorney fees or commis- 
sioner's penalties, and the amount deducted shall
be paid into the General Fund after deducting
actual costs and disbursements incurred in the
prosecution thereof

2) The commissioner may charge a claimant
on a wage claim for which the commissioner has
obtained a , judgment the actual collection fees
charged to the Bureau of Labor and Industries by
any other governmental agency assisting in the
collection of the ,judgment

3) The commissioner is authorized to assign
wage claim judgments for collection or to obtain
assistance in collection of such judgments and

may deduct and pay out from any moneys so
collected, a collection fee [ Amended by 1957 c 465 97, 
1967 c 218 § 2, 1983 c 427 § 1] 

652. 400 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account; payment to persons

entitled thereto Subject to ORS 652 390, all
moneys collected on judgments pursuant to ORS
652 330, or as a result of administrative proceed- 

ings pursuant to ORS 652 332, including fines, 
shall be paid to the commissioner and, together

with all other sums collected under ORS 652 310

to 652 405, be deposited in the State Treasury to
become part of a special trust account to be
known as the Wage Collection Account, which

account hereby is established in the State Treas- 
ury All moneys in the Wage Collection Account
hereby are appropriated continuously for the pur- 
pose of payment to the persons entitled thereto

Amended by 1957 c 465 § 8, 1979 c 695 § 5] 
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652. 405 Disposition of wages collected

by commissioner where payment cannot be
made to person entitled thereto. ( 1) The
Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Indus- 

tries shall attempt for a period of not less than
seven years to make payment of wages collected

under ORS 652 310 to 652 405 to the person
entitled thereto

2) Wages collected by the commissioner
under ORS 652 310 to 652 405 and remaining
unclaimed for a period of more than seven years

from the date of collection shall, within 30 days
after June 30 of each year, be forfeited to the state

and shall be paid by the commissioner to the
Division of State Lands for the benefit of the
Common School Fund of this state The division

shall issue a receipt for the money to the commis- 
sioner The person entitled to the wages or the

person' s heirs or personal representatives may
reclaim the wages paid into the Common School
Fund pursuant to this section within the time and

in the manner provided for estates which have
escheated to the state 11957c465§ 15] 

652 410 [ Repealed by 1977 c b18 § 2) 

Reciprocal) 

652. 420 Definitions for ORS 652. 420
to 652. 445. ( 1) As used in ORS 652420 to

652 445

a) " Labor bureau" includes any agency, 
bureau, commission, board or officer in another

state which performs functions substantially
corresponding to those of the Commissioner of
the Bureau of Labor and Industries

b) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries

2) The definitions of ORS 652 310 and

652 320 shall apply to ORS 652 420 to 652 445, 
but nothing contained in those sections shall be
construed to preclude reciprocal enforcement of

wage claims under ORS 652 420 to 652 445, 
where the services of the employe were rendered

in another state 11953 c 256 § 1, 1987 c 158 91251

652 425 Authority of commissioner to
enter into agreements with other states for
reciprocal enforcement of wage claims. 

The Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and

Industries may enter into agreements with the
corresponding labor bureau of another state for
the reciprocal enforcement and collection of wage

claims, if the other state has a reciprocal statute

similar to ORS 652 420 to 652 445 or otherwise

authorizes the reciprocal enforcement and collec- 

tion of wage claims in a manner substantially
similar to ORS 652 420 to 652 445 11953 c 256 § 2] 

652. 430 Assigning wage claim to labor
bureau of another state. Whenever a wage

claim is assigned to the Commissioner of the
Bureau of Labor and Industries in trust pursuant
to ORS 652 330 and the employer or former
employer upon whom demand for payment is

made by an employe in this state has removed to
another state, the commissioner may reassign the
wage claim, with the approval of the employe, to

the labor bureau of the other state, if there is in

effect at the time a valid reciprocal agreement

under ORS 652 425 between the commissioner

and the other state 11953 c 256 § 31

652. 435 Accepting assignments of
wage claims from labor bureau of another
state. Whenever a labor bureau in another
state, which has entered into a reciprocal' agree- 

ment under ORS 652 425 with the Commissioner
of the Bureau of Labor and Industries and the
agreement is in effect at the time, takes an

assignment of a wage claim from an employe

residing in the other state for services rendered in
the other state to an employer or former employer
who has removed to Oregon, the Commissioner of

the Bureau of Labor and Industries may take an
assignment of the wage claim from such labor

bureau and enforce the collection thereof as pro- 

vided in the applicable provisions of ORS 652 330

to 652 405 [ 1953 c 256 § 41

652.440 Retention by commissioner or
labor bureau of percentage of funds col- 

lected. Any agreement concluded by the Com- 
missioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries
shall make provision for the transfer of funds
collected pursuant to ORS 652 420 to 652 445 and

for retention by the commissioner or the labor
bureau in the other state of percentile amounts

from the sums collected to defray the admin- 
istrative costs of ORS 652 420 to 652 445
Amounts authorized pursuant to this section to

be used to defray the administrative costs of ORS
652 420 to 652 445 shall be credited to the Bureau
of Labor and Industries Account and shall be

used only for the administration of ORS 652 420
to 652 445 11953 c 256 § 5 1957 c 465 § 91

652.445 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account. Except as provided in
ORS 652 440, all moneys collected pursuant to

ORS 652 420 to 652 445, including fines and
costs, shall be paid to the Commissioner of the
Bureau of Labor and Industries and be deposited

in the State Treasury in the Wage Collection
Account established by ORS 652 400 11953 c 256 §6, 
1957 c 465 § 101

PRIORITY OF WAGE CLAIMS

652. 500 Receiver to pay accrued
wages, payment of employes; receiver' s

certificates. Whenever the business or prop- 
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erty of any person, company or corporation in

this state shall be placed by any court in this state
in the hands of a receiver, whether upon fore- 
closure or creditor' s bill, the receiver, whether
upon foreclosure or creditor' s bill, the receiver

shall report immediately to the court appointing
the receiver, the amount due by the person, 
company or corporation, at the date of the
receiver's appointment, to employes and laborers

of the person, company or corporation The court
shall order the receiver to pay out of the first
receipts and earnings of such person, company or

corporation, after paying current operating
expenses under the administration of the

receiver, the wages of all employes and laborers

which had accrued within six months prior to the

appointment of the receiver The court also shall

order such receiver to pay the wages of all
employes and laborers employed by the receiver, 
at least once every 30 days, out of the first
receipts and earnings of such person, company or
corporation while under the management of the

receiver, but should the receiver not take in

sufficient money from receipts and earnings to
pay the employes and laborers at least once every
30 days, then the receiver shall issue and deliver

to each of the employes and laborers, upon

demand, a receiver' s certificate, showing the
amount due the employe or laborer in money, 
which certificate will draw interest at the rate of
eight percent per annum from the date of issu- 

ance until paid The receiver shall thereafter pay
such certificates, in the order of their issuance, 

out of the first money coming into the receiver' s
hands from the receipts and earnings of the

properties under the charge of the receiver [ For- 

merly 31 050) 

Note 652 500 was enacted into law by the Legislatn e

Assembly but was not added to or made a part of ORS chapter
652 or any series therein by legislatne action See the preface
to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation

652. 510 Payment of wage claims by
receivers, assignees or court, filing state- 
ment of wages due. ( 1) When the property of
any company, cooperative association, corpora- 

tion, firm or person is seized upon by any process
of any court of this state, or where their business
or property is placed in the hands of a receiver, or
whenever any assignment for the benefit of cred- 
itors under the laws of this state is made, then in

all such cases the debts owing to laborers or
employes, which have accrued by reason of their
labor or employment to an amount not exceeding

2, 000 to each employe for work or labor per- 

formed within 90 days next preceding the seizure
or transfer or assignment of such property, or
appointment of said receiver shall be considered

and treated as preferred debts, and such laborers
or employes shall be preferred creditors, and shall
first be paid in full, and if there is not sufficient to

pay them in full, their claims shall be paid pro
rata, after paying costs

2) Any such laborer or employe desiring to
enforce the claim of the laborer or employe for
wages under ORS 652 510 to 652 570 shall pre- 

sent a statement under oath showing the amount
due after allowing all lust credits and setoffs, the
kind of work for which said wages are due and
when performed, to the officer or person charged

with the execution of said process, within 30 days

after the seizure thereof on any execution or writ
of attachment, or to such receiver or assignee

within 45 days after the same may have been
placed in the hands of any such assignee or
receiver [ Amended by 1977 c 288 § I, 1981 c 594 § 4, 1987
c 412 § 2] 

652. 520 Form of statement of wage
claim. The statement to be presented under

ORS 652 510 shall be substantially in the follow- 
ing form

State of Oregon

ss

County of - - - -, 

I, - - - -, being first duly sworn, say that
is indebted to me in the sum of -- 

dollars over and above all lust credits and setoffs, 
on account of work, services and labor performed

by me for the said - - - -, upon the following
terms and conditions, to wit That I was

employed by the said — — — — on or about the

day of - - - -, 19 —, to work ( here
describe character of work) at the rate of -- 

dollars per month (or for a reasonable considera- 

tion for such work), and that under said contract
I, began to work on the -- day of - - - -, 
19 —, and between that day and the -- day of

19 —, I performed work, services and

labor -- days, amounting to the sum of -- 
dollars ( or the reasonable value of -- dollars), 

that the said — — — — has paid me on account of

the said labor the sum of -- dollars, and no
more, and that there is now due me, the sum of

dollars, over and above all lust credits and

offsets, and that during the 90 days next preced- 
ing the -- day of - ---, 19 —, 1 had per- 

formed -- days' labor under said contract, 

amounting to the sum of -- dollars (or that said

services were reasonably worth the sum of -- 
dollars), and that, applying all the credits above
stated, there is due me from the said - - - -, on

account of labor for the said 90 days, the sum of
dollars, and no more, claim as due me
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Subscribed and sworn to before me this

day of - - -, 19— 

652.530 Serving copy of statement; 
report to court; order of payment. ( 1) The

person claiming the benefit of ORS 652 510 to
652 570 shall serve upon the debtor, or upon the
officer, assignee or receiver for the debtor where

personal service cannot be had, a copy of the
verified claim Thereafter the person receiving
such statement shall report the amount of such

claim to the court having jurisdiction of such
officer, receiver or assignee, together with a state- 

ment of all costs occasioned by the seizure of said
property or of such receivership or assignment

2) The court shall order such claims to be
paid after payment of the costs and expenses of

such seizure and sale, and the costs and disburse- 

ments which have accrued before the filing of the
notice under ORS 652 510 and of assignment or

receivership, out of the proceeds of the sale of the
property so seized, assigned, or placed in the
hands of an assignee or receiver

652. 540 Exception to claim; legal

action on claim ( 1) Any person interested may
contest all or any part of a claim mentioned in

ORS 652 530, by filing in said court exceptions
thereto, supported by affidavit, within 10 days
from the filing of the report provided in ORS
652 530 Thereupon the claimant shall be

required to establish the claim, by judgment in
such court, before any part thereof shall be paid

2) When any claim is excepted to as pro- 
vided in this section, the person desiring to estab- 
lish the same shall file in said court, within 30
days after the claim is excepted to, a verified

complaint as in an action at law and serve it upon

the person excepting, or the person' s attorney of
record, and upon the principal debtor for the

claim, or the principal debtor' s attorney of record
3) Thereafter the cause shall proceed to final

judgment between the parties as an action at law

652. 550 Payment of claims prerequi- 
site to discharge of attachment or execu- 
tion, assignee or receiver, or to

abandonment of seizure or sale. No attach- 

ment or execution shall be discharged nor shall

the seizure or sale of property seized be aban- 
doned, or assignee or receiver discharged, until

every claimant presenting a claim under ORS
652 510 to 652 570 has been paid in full, or pro

rata, as provided in ORS 652 510, or has con- 

sented to such discharge or abandonment

652. 560 Costs and attorney fees. 
Whenever any claim has been excepted to under

ORS 652 540 and the claim is established by
judgment and the court rendering the judgment is
satisfied that the exceptions were made without

probable cause or that the person so excepting
could have ascertained with reasonable diligence
that such claim was true and just, the claimant in

such action shall be entitled to have the costs of

such action, and such sum as the court may
adjudge reasonable as attorney fees at trial and on
appeal, enforced by execution against the person
objecting as a judgment debtor in the first
instance However, if the court does not so find, 
or if execution, when issued, is returned nulla

bona, then in either case such costs and attorney
fees shall be ordered paid out of the proceeds of

the property sold next after the payment of all
claims presented under ORS 652 510 to 652 570

Amended b) 1981 c 897 9891

652.570 Priority of wage claims over
transfers in payment of preexisting obliga- 
tions; payment and subrogation of trans- 

feree. ( 1) Every sale or transfer of any property
in payment of any preexisting debt, or obligation, 
and every mortgage or lien created or executed to
secure the payment of a preexisting debt, shall be
void as against laborers or employes of such

vendor, mortgagor, or other lien debtor, to the

extent of their claims for wages, not exceeding the
sum of $600 to each of said laborers which may be
owing for work or labor performed within 90 days
next preceding such sale and transfer or the
execution of such lien or mortgage, if the laborer

or employe claiming the benefit of this section

a) Within 10 days after the actual delivery of
the property or within 30 days after the recording
of any such deed, transfer, mortgage or lien, gives
such owner or holder of such lien or such vendee
notice of the claim of the laborer or employe

substantially in the form and verified as provided
in ORS 652 520, which notice shall be served by
delivering it or a copy thereof to such owner or
holder of such lien or such vendee in person or, in
case the owner, holder or vendee cannot be found

within the county in which such lien or deed may
be of record after diligent inquiry, by delivering
the notice or a copy thereof to the clerk of the
county court for such owner or holder of such lien
or such vendee, and

b) Within 30 days commences a suit to

establish the claim and prosecute it to judgment

2) The vendee or mortgage or lien holder, or

an assignee, may pay such claim and thereby be
subrogated to the rights and lien of such laborer
or employe, as against the vendor, principal

debtor or mortgagor, and as against subsequent

mortgagees or other subsequent lien creditors
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3) This section does not apply to any mort- 
gage or lien given in renewal of a preexisting
mortgage or lien [ Amended by 1977 c 288 § 21

652 580 [ Repealed by 1981 c 898 § 531

STATEMENTS RELATING TO
EMPLOYE' S SALARY AND

DEDUCTIONS THEREFROM

Generally) 

652. 610 Itemized statement of amounts
and purposes of deductions required. ( 1) All

persons, firms, partnerships, associations, coop- 
erative associations, corporations, municipal cor- 

porations, the state and its political subdivisions, 

except the Federal Government and its agencies, 

employing, in this state, during any calendar
month one or more persons, and withholding for
any purpose, any sum of money from the wages, 
salary or commission earned by an employe, shall
provide such employe on regular paydays with a

statement sufficiently itemized to show the
amount and purpose of such deductions made

during the respective period of service which said
payment covers

2) The itemized statement shall be furnished

to the employe at the time payment of wages, 

salary or commission is made, and may be
attached to or be a part of the check, draft, 

voucher or other instrument by which payment is
made, or may be delivered separately from such
instrument

3) No employer may withhold, deduct or
divert any portion of an employe' s wages unless

a) The employer is required to do so by law, 

b) The deductions are authorized in writing
by the employe, are for the employe' s benefit, and
are recorded in the employer' s books, 

c) The employe has voluntarily signed an
authorization for a deduction for any other item, 
provided that the ultimate recipient of the money
withheld is not the employer, and that such

deduction is recorded in the employer' s books, or

d) The deduction is authorized by a collec- 
tive bargaining agreement to which the employer
is a party

4) Nothing in this section shall be construed
as prohibiting the withholding of amounts
authorized in writing by the employe to be con- 
tributed by the employe to charitable organiza- 
tions, including contributions made pursuant to
ORS 243 666 and 663 110, nor shall this section

prohibit deductions by check -off dues to labor
organizations or service fees, where such is not
otherwise prohibited by law, nor shall this section

diminish or enlarge the right of any person to
assert and enforce a lawful setoff or counterclaim

or to attach, take, reach or apply an employe' s
compensation on due legal process [ Amended by
1977 c 618 § 1, 1980 a s c 1 § 2, 1981 c 594 § 51

652. 615 Remedy for violation of ORS
652. 610. There is hereby created a private
cause of action for a violation of ORS 652 610 ( 3) 

for actual damages or $200, whichever is greater

In any such action the court may award to the
prevailing party, in addition to costs and disbur- 
sements, reasonable attorney fees [ 1981 c 594 § 7] 

652. 620 Statement of yearly compen- 
sation on request of employe. All persons, 
firms, partnerships, associations, cooperative
associations, corporations, municipal corpora- 

tions, the state and its political subdivisions

thereof, except the Federal Government and its

agencies employing, in this state, five or more
persons, during any calendar month, upon the
request of any employe or former employe, and
upon five days' notice to said employer shall give
to such employe, not later than March 10 of each

year, a statement showing the total compensation
paid by such employer to such employe, or former
employe, during the previous calendar year

Agricultural Workers) 

652. 630 Definitions for ORS 652. 630
to 652. 640. As used in ORS 652 630 to 652 640, 
unless the context requires otherwise

1) " Bonus" means an increase in the agreed
rate of compensation based on the amount of

time worked during a perishable agricultural
product season or based on the amount of a
perishable agricultural product that is harvested

2) " Labor contractor" means a farm labor
contractor as defined in ORS 658 405

3) " Producer" means a person who raises

perishable agricultural products [ 1969c572§ 11

Note 652 630 to 652 640 were enacted into law by the

Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 652 by legislative action See the Preface to
Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation

652. 635 Growers to post certain terms

of employment. Every producer, or agent of
the producer, who employs a labor contractor to

provide a working crew for harvesting perishable
agricultural products or who offers a bonus to
those persons who harvest perishable agricultural

products shall cause to be conspicuously posted
and maintained on the premises where the agn- 

cultural products are to be harvested a notice that
states
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1) A description of the terms and conditions

of any bonus offered, including the manner of
determining when the bonus is earned

2) That portion of the labor contractor' s
compensation that is based on the amount of

work done by each employe of the labor contrac- 
tor 11969c572 §21

Note See note under 652 630

652. 640 Itemized statement of compen- 

sation and deductions required. Each time a
person who harvests perishable agricultural prod- 

ucts receives compensation payments at a regular

pay period or upon termination of employment, 
the producer, or agent of the producer, or, if the

person is an employe of a labor contractor, the
labor contractor shall furnish to such person a

written statement itemizing the total payment
and each deduction therefrom [ 1969 c 572 § 31

Note See note under 652 630

FEES OR DEDUCTIONS FOR MEDICAL
CARE

652. 710 Fees collected by employer for
medical care contracts are trust funds; pri- 

ority on liquidation. ( 1) All moneys collected
by an employer from employes or retained from
their wages for the purpose of providing for or
furnishing to such employes medical and surgical
attention, hospital care, X -rays, ambulance, 

nursing or any related service or care contingent

upon sickness or injury pursuant to a contract are
trust funds and shall be placed and kept in

separate accounts by the employer and shall
promptly be paid over to the contractor Such
funds shall in no event become a part of the assets
of the employer

2) If the employer fails to place and keep
such funds in separate accounts and pay them
over to the contractor or if the funds become
commingled with the funds of the employer and

the employer becomes bankrupt, insolvent or

goes through voluntary or involuntary liquida- 
tion, or if a receiver is appointed to operate or

liquidate the affairs of the employer, the funds
not paid to the contractor shall be entitled to the
same preference as given to claims of the State
Accident Insurance Fund Corporation, as pro- 

vided in ORS 656 562 [ Former]) 655 130) 

652. 720 Prohibited use by employer of
fees for medical care contracts withheld
from employe wages. ( 1) No employer shall

retain, directly or indirectly, from employes or
from their wages any part of the money collected
or retained under ORS 652. 710 for use or benefit

of the employer

2) No employer shall apply, directly or indi- 
rectly, any portion of the money so collected to
the employer' s cost of compensation or to the

cost of any medical, surgical or hospital care and
attention for employes on account of injuries

sustained by them in the course of their employ- 
ment [ Formerly 655 1101

PERSONNEL RECORDS

652. 750 Inspection of records by

employe; furnishing copy to employe; dis- 
position of record on termination of

employment; charge for copies. ( 1) As used

in this section

a) " Employer" has the meaning for that term
provided in ORS 656 005

b) " Personnel records" do not include

records of an individual relating to the convic- 
tion, arrest or investigation of conduct constitut- 

ing a violation of the criminal laws of this state or
another state or the United States, confidential
reports from previous employers or records main- 
tained in compliance with ORS 351 065

2) At the request of an employe, the

employer shall provide reasonable opportunity

for the employe to inspect, at the place of employ- 
ment or place of work assignment, those person- 

nel records of the employe which are used or have
been used to determine the employe' s qualifica- 
tion for employment, promotion, additional com- 

pensation or employment termination or other

disciplinary action At the request of the employe, 
the employer shall furnish a certified copy of such
records

3) Upon termination of employment, the

employer shall keep the terminated employe' s
personnel records for not less than 60 days At the
request of the employe, within the 60 -day period
or at any time if the employer has retained the
records at the time of the request, the employer

shall furnish a certified copy of such records

4) An employer may make only such charge
for the services referred to in subsections ( 2) and

3) of this section as is reasonably calculated to
recover the actual cost of providing the service
1977 c 861 § 2, 1985 c 404 §61

PENALTIES

652. 990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of ORS

652 020 ( 2) is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not less than $ 50 nor more than $ 500

Every day' s violation is deemed a separate
offense

2) Any person, body corporate, general man- 
ager or employer who violates ORS 652 040 or
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causes ORS 652 040 to be violated is punishable, 
upon conviction, by a fine of not less than $ 50, 
nor more than $ 300, or by imprisonment in the
county jail for not less than 30 days, nor more
than three months, or both

3) Violation of ORS 652 110 or 652 120 is

punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
more than $500

4) Violation of ORS 652 130 by any
employer is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not more than $500 or by imprisonment in
the county jail for not more than 60 days, or by
both Justice courts, district courts and circuit
courts shall have concurrent jurisdiction in all

cases arising under this subsection

5) In addition to the civil damages recovera- 
ble under ORS 652 230, violation of ORS 652 210
to 652 230 is a misdemeanor

1187

6) The violation of ORS 652 240 is a misde- 
meanor

7) Violation of ORS 652 355 is a Class C
misdemeanor

8) Violation of ORS 652 610 or 652 620 is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not less
than $10 nor more than $100 for each offense

9) Wilful violation of ORS 652 635 or

652 640 by a producer or agent of the producer is a
misdemeanor

10) Violation of any of the provisions of
ORS 652 710 or 652 720 by any employer is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not less
than $50 nor more than $500 ( Subsection (5) enacted

as 1955 c 193 § 4, subsection ( 6) enacted as 1957 c 243 § 2. 

subsection ( 9) formerly 655990, subsection ( 8) enacted as

1969 c 572 § 4, 1975 c 397 § 51
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