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CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT 653.020

653. 005 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 151

MINIMUM WAGES

653. 010 Definitions for ORS 653.010

to 653. 261. As used in ORS 653.010 to 653. 261, 
unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) " Employ" includes to suffer or permit to
work; however, " employ" does not include volun- 
tary or donated services performed for no com- 
pensation or without expectation or

contemplation of compensation as the adequate

consideration for the services performed for a

public employer referred to in subsection ( 2) of

this section, or a religious, charitable, educa- 

tional, public service or similar nonprofit corpo- 

ration, organization or institution for community
service, religious or humanitarian reasons. 

2) " Employer" means any person who

employs another person including the State of
Oregon or a political subdivision thereof or any
county, city, district, authority, public corpora- 
tion or entity and any of their instrumentalities
organized and existing under law or charter. 

3) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 

sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

4) " Minor" means any person under 18 years
of age. 

5) " Occupation" means any occupation, 

service, trade, business, industry, or branch or
group of industries or employment or class of
employment in which employes are gainfully
employed. 

6) " Organized camp" means a day or resident
camp, whether or not operated for profit, estab- 
lished to give campers recreational, creative or

educational experience in cooperative group liv- 
ing wherein the activities are conducted on a
closely supervised basis, whether or not the camp
is used primarily by an organized group or by
members of the public and whether or not the

activities or facilities are furnished free of charge

or for the payment of a fee. 

7) " Outside salesman" means any employe
who is employed for the purpose of and who is

customarily and regularly engaged away from the
employer' s place or places of business in making
sales, or obtaining orders, or obtaining contracts

for services and whose hours of work of any other
nature for the employer do not exceed 30 percent

of the hours worked in the workweek by the
nonexempt employes of the employer. 

8) " Wages" means compensation due to an

employe by reason of employment, payable in
legal tender of the United States or check on

banks convertible into cash on demand at full
face value, subject to such deductions, charges or

allowances as are permitted in ORS 653.035. 

9) " Work time" includes both time worked
and time of authorized attendance. [ 1967 c 596 § 2; 

1979 c. 153 § 2, 1983 c. 274 § 1; 1985 c. 99 § 1; 1985 c. 170 § 1] 

653. 015 Statement of policy. It is

declared to be the policy of the State of Oregon to
establish minimum wage standards for workers at

levels consistent with their health, efficiency and
general well- being. [1967 c 596 § 1] 

653. 020 Excluded employes. ORS

653.010 to 653.261 does not apply to any of the
following employes: 

1) An individual employed in agriculture if: 

a) Such individual is employed by an
employer who did not, during any calendar
quarter during the preceding year use more than
500 man -days of agricultural labor; 

b) Such individual is the parent, spouse, 
child or other member of the employer' s immedi- 

ate family; 
c) Such individual: 

A) Is employed as a hand harvest laborer and
is paid on a piece -rate basis in an operation which

has been, and is customarily and generally recog- 
nized as having been, paid on a piece -rate basis in
the region of employment; 

B) Commutes daily from a permanent resi- 
dence to the farm on which the individual is so
employed; and

C) Has been employed in agricultural labor

less than 13 weeks during the preceding calendar
year; 

d) Such individual, other than an individual
described in paragraph ( c) of this subsection: 

A) Is 16 years of age or under and is
employed as a hand harvest laborer, is paid on a
piece -rate basis in an operation which has been, 

and is customarily and generally recognized as
having been, paid on a piece -rate basis in the
region of employment; 

B) Is employed on the same farm as the

parent of the individual or person standing in the
place of the parent; and

C) Is paid at the same piece rate as employes
over 16 years of age on the same farm; or

e) Such employe is principally engaged in
the range production of livestock. 

2) An individual employed in domestic serv- 

ice in or about a family home. 
3) An individual engaged in administrative, 

executive or professional work who: 
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653. 022 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

a) Performs predominantly intellectual, 
managerial or creative tasks; 

b) Exercises discretion and independent
judgment; and

c) Earns more than $ 650 per month on a

salary basis. 

4) An individual employed by the United
States. 

5) An individual who is employed by an
institution whose function is primarily educa- 
tion, and in which the individual is an enrolled
student. 

6) An individual engaged in the capacity of
an outside salesman or taxicab operator. 

7) Any person regulated under the Federal
Fair Labor Standards Act, except as provided in
ORS 653.035 ( 3). 

8) An individual employed to work in home
of the individual. 

9) An individual domiciled at a place of

employment for purpose of being available for
emergency or occasional duties. 

10) An individual paid for specified hours of

employment, the only purpose of which is to be
available for recall to duty. 

11) An individual domiciled at multiunit
accommodations designed to provide other peo- 
ple with temporary or permanent lodging, for the
purpose of maintenance, management or assist- 

ing in the management of same. 

12) An individual employed on a seasonal

basis at an educational or organized camp that
generates gross annual income of less than
275,000. 

13) An individual employed at a nonprofit

conference ground or center operated for educa- 

tional, charitable or religious purposes. 

14) An individual who performs services as a
volunteer firefighter, as defined in ORS 652.050. 
1967 c 596 § 3; 1971 c. 758 § 3, 1973 c 383 § 1; 1977 c 238 § 1, 

1979 c. 153 § 1; 1981 c. 361 § 1; 1983 c. 319 § 3] 

653.022 " Man -day" defined for ORS
653. 020. As used in ORS 653.020 ( 1), " man - 

day" means any day during which an employe
performs any agricultural labor for not less than
one hour. For the purposes of this section, 

employe" does not include any individual: 
1) Employed by an employer in agriculture if

such individual is the parent, spouse, child or
other member of the employer' s immediate fam- 

ily; or

2) Who is employed by an employer engaged
in agriculture if such individual: 

a) Is employed as a hand harvest laborer and
is paid on a piece -rate basis in an operation which

has been, and is customarily and generally recog- 
nized as having been, paid on a piece -rate basis in
the region of employment; 

b) Commutes daily from a permanent resi- 
dence to the farm on which the individual is so
employed; and

c) Has been employed in agriculture less

than 13 weeks during the preceding calendar year. 
1971 c 758 § 2] 

653.025 Minimum wage rate. Except as

provided by ORS 652.020 and the rules of the
commissioner issued under ORS 653.030 and
653. 261, for each hour of work time that the

employe is gainfully employed, no employer shall
employ or agree to employ any employe at wages
computed at a rate lower than: 

1) For the period July 1, 1985, to December
31, 1985, $ 3. 10. 

2) For calendar years after December 31, 
1985, $ 3. 35. [ 1967 c 596 § 4; 1973 c. 403 § 3; 1975 c 504 § 1, 

1979 c 832 § 1; 1979 c.886 § 1, 1985 c.99 § 2; 1985 c 161 § 1] 

653.027 Wage rate for persons under
18 years of age. An employer who employs
individuals under 18 years of age in agricultural

labor and who pays such individuals by the
amount of work produced or services rendered

shall pay such individuals the same rate of pay- 
ment for the work produced or services required
as paid to individuals over 18 years of age. [ 1973
c 403 § 2] 

653. 029 Minimum wage rate for per- 
sons employed in agriculture. Individuals

employed in agriculture who are not exempted

under ORS 653. 020 shall receive not less than: 

1) For the period July 1, 1985, to December
31, 1985, $ 2. 90. 

2) For calendar year 1986, $ 3. 10. 

3) For calendar years after December 31, 
1986, $ 3. 35. [ 1975 c. 504 § 2, 1977 c. 238 § 2, 1979 c 832 § 2, 
1985 c 161 § 2] 

653.030 Commissioner may prescribe
lower rates in certain cases. The commis- 

sioner shall issue rules prescribing the employ- 
ment of other types of persons at fixed minimum

hourly wage rates lower than the minimum wage
rate required by ORS 653. 025, when the commis- 
sioner has determined that the application of

ORS 653.025 would substantially curtail oppor- 
tunities for employment for specific types of
persons. The types of persons for whom a mini- 

mum hourly wage rate may be set are limited to
persons who are mentally or physically handi- 
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CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT

capped or who are student - learners, as defined in

ORS 653. 070. [ 1967 c 596 § 5 ( 1); 1973 c 403 § 4; 1979 c 886

2; 1981 c 850 § 1; 1985 c 99 § 31

653.035 Deducting ' value of lodging, 
meals and other benefits furnished by
employer; treatment of commissions and

tips. ( 1) Employers may deduct from the mini- 
mum wage to be paid employes under ORS
653.025, 653. 030 or 653. 261, the fair market value

of lodging, meals or other facilities or services
furnished by the employer for the private benefit
of the employe. 

2) Employers may include commission pay- 
ments to employes as part of the applicable mini- 

mum wage for any pay period in which the
combined wage and commission earnings of the

employe will comply with ORS 653. 010 to
653. 261. In any pay period where the combined
wage and commission payments to the employe

do not add up to the applicable minimum wage
under ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261, the employer shall

pay the minimum rate as prescribed in ORS
653. 010 to 653.261. 

3) Employers, including employers regulated
under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, may
not include any amount received by employes as
tips in determining the amount of the minimum
wage required to be paid by ORS 653.010 to
653. 261. [ 1967 c. 596 § §6, 7; 1977 c. 238 § 3] 

653. 040 Powers of commissioner. The
commissioner, in addition to the commissioner' s

other powers, may: 

1) Investigate and ascertain the wages of

persons employed in any occupation or place of
employment in the state. 

2) Require from an employer statements, 

including sworn statements, with respect to
wages, hours, names and addresses and such

other information pertaining to the employer' s
employes or their employment as the commis- 

sioner considers necessary to carry out ORS
653.010 to 653.261. 

3) Make such rules as the commissioner

considers appropriate to carry out the purposes of
ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261, or necessary to prevent
the circumvention or evasion of ORS 653. 010 to
653. 261 and to safeguard the minimum wage

rates set under ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261. [ 1967 c 596
8; 1985 c. 99 § 4] 

653.045 Records to be kept by employ- 
ers; itemization of deductions from wages. 

1) Every employer required by ORS 653.025 or
by any rule, order or permit issued under ORS
653.030 to pay a minimum wage to any of the
employer' s employes shall make and keep avail- 

653.055

able to the commissioner for not less than two

years, a record or records containing: 

a) The name, address and occupation of each

of the employer' s employes. 

b) The actual hours worked each week and

each pay period by each employe. 
c) Such other information as the commis- 

sioner prescribes by the commissioner' s rules if
necessary or appropriate for the enforcement of
ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261 or of the rules and orders
issued thereunder. 

2) Each employer shall keep the records
required by subsection ( 1) of this section open for
inspection or transcription by the commissioner
or the commissioner' s designee at any reasonable
time. 

3) Every employer of one or more employes
covered by ORS 653.010 to 653.261 shall supply
each of the employer' s employes with itemized

statements of amounts and purposes of deduc- 
tions in the manner provided in ORS 652.610. 

1967 c. 596 § 9, 1985 c 99 § 51

653. 050 Employers to post summary of
law and rules; commissioner to furnish

summaries and copies. Every employer
required by ORS 653.025 or by any rules, orders
or permit issued under ORS 653.030 or 653. 261 to

pay a minimum wage to any of the employer' s
employes shall keep summaries of ORS 653. 010
to 653.261, summaries of all rules promulgated by
the commissioner pursuant to ORS 653.010 to
653.261 and summaries of all rules promulgated

by the Wage and Hour Commission posted in a
conspicuous and accessible place in or about the
premises where such employes are employed. 

Employers shall be furnished copies of these

summaries by the commissioner without charge. 
In addition, upon request, the commissioner shall
furnish the complete text of all rules promulgated

pursuant to ORS 653.010 to 653.261 and by the
Wage and Hour Commission to any employer
without charge. [ 1967 c. 596 § 10; 1977 c 238 § 4; 1985 c. 99

6] 

653. 055 Liability of noncomplying

employer; contrary agreements no defense; 
wage claims; suits to enjoin future vio- 
lations. ( 1) Any employer who pays an employe
less than the wages to which the employe is
entitled under ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261 is liable to
the employe affected: 

a) For the full amount of the wages, less any
amount actually paid to the employe by the
employer; 

b) For costs and such reasonable attorney
fees at trial and on appeal as are allowed by the
court; and
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653. 060 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

c) For civil penalties provided in ORS
652. 150. 

2) Any agreement between an employe and
an employer to work at less than the wage rate

required by ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261 is no defense
to an action under subsection ( 1) of this section. 

3) The commissioner has the same powers
and duties in connection with a wage claim based
on ORS 653.010 to 653. 261 as the commissioner
has under ORS 652. 310 to 652.445 and in addi- 

tion the commissioner may, without the necessity
of assignments of wage claims from employes, 
initiate suits against employers to enjoin future

failures to pay required minimum wages or over- 
time pay and to require the payment of minimum
wages and overtime pay due employes but not
paid as of the time of the filing of suit. The
commissioner is entitled to recover, in addition to

costs, such sum as the court or judge may adjudge
reasonable as attorney fees at trial and on appeal. 
The commissioner may join in a single proceed- 
ing and in one cause of suit any number of wage
claims against the same employer. If the commis- 
sioner does not prevail in such action, the com- 

missioner shall pay all costs and disbursements
from the Bureau of Labor and Industries
Account. [1967 c 596 § 11, 1977 c 513 § 1; 1981 c. 850 §2; 1981
c. 897 § 90, 1985 c 99 § 7] 

653. 060 Discharging or discriminating
against employe prohibited in certain
cases. No employer shall discharge or in any
other manner discriminate against any employe: 

1) Because the employe has made complaint
that the employe has not been paid wages in

accordance with ORS 653. 010 to 653. 261. 

2) Because the employe has caused to be

instituted or is about to cause to be instituted any
proceedings under or related to ORS 653.010 to
653.261. 

3) Because the employe has testified or is

about to testify in any such proceedings. [ 1967 c 596
12] 

653. 065 Application of Administrative
Procedures Act. ( 1) All proceedings under
ORS 653.010 to 653. 261 shall be conducted in
compliance with ORS 183. 310 to 183. 550. 

2) All rules of the commissioner under ORS
653.010 to 653. 261 shall be issued in compliance
with ORS 183. 310 to 183. 550. [ 1967 c. 596 § 13; 1985
c 99 § 8] 

653. 070 Student - learners special

wage; conditions; rulemaking; effect upon

employer of failure to comply. ( 1) As used in

this section: 

a) " Bona fide vocational training program" 
includes any vocational training program
approved by the State Board of Education which
provides for part -time employment training
which may be scheduled for a part of the workday
or workweek, for alternating weeks or for other
limited periods during the year, supplemented by
and integrated with a definitely organized plan of
instruction designed to teach technical knowl- 
edge and related information given as a regular

part of the student - learner' s course by an
accredited school, college or university. 

b) " Student- learner" means a student who is

receiving instruction in an accredited school, col- 
lege or university and who is employed on a part - 
time basis, pursuant to a bona fide vocational

training program. 

2) Notwithstanding ORS 653. 025, employ- 
ers shall pay student - learners at least 75 percent
of the minimum wage prescribed by ORS
653.025. 

3) The number of hours of employment

training for a student - learner at subminimum
wages, when added to the hours of school instruc- 

tion, shall not exceed eight hours on any day or 40
hours in any week. 

4) The Commissioner of the Bureau of

Labor and Industries may adopt rules prescribing
the procedures and requirements for application

and issuance of special certificates authorizing
the employment of student - learners at sub - 
minimum wages. The rules shall require that the

following conditions be satisfied before the issu- 
ance of such special certificates: 

a) The employment of the student - learner at

subminimum wages authorized by the special
certificate must be necessary to prevent curtail- 
ment of opportunities for employment. 

b) The occupation for which the student - 

learner is receiving preparatory training must
require a sufficient degree of skill to necessitate a

substantial learning period. 
c) The training must not be for the purpose

of acquiring manual dexterity and high produc- 
tion speed in repetitive operations. 

d) The employment of a student - learner

must not have the effect of displacing a worker
employed in the establishment. 

e) The employment of the student - learners
at subminimum wages must not tend to impair or

depress the wage rates or working standards
established for experienced workers for work of a
like or comparable character. 

f) The occupational needs of the community
or industry warrant the training of student- learn- 
ers. 
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CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT 653.280

g) There are no serious outstanding vio- 
lations of the provisions of a student - learner

certificate previously issued to the employer, or
serious violations of any other provisions of law
by the employer which provide reasonable
grounds to conclude that the terms of the certifi- 

cate would not be complied with, if issued. 

h) The issuance of such a certificate would

not tend to prevent the development of appren- 

ticeship under ORS chapter 660 or would not
impair established apprenticeship standards in
the occupation or industry involved. 

i)' The number of student - learners to be
employed in one establishment must not be more

than a small proportion of its working force. 

5) Failure to comply with subsection ( 2) or
3) of this section shall subject the employer to a

penalty of 75 percent of the minimum wage
prescribed by ORS 653.025 for each hour of work
time that the student - learner is gainfully
employed. The Commissioner of the Bureau of
Labor and Industries shall have a cause of action

against the employer for the recovery of the
penalty. [1979 c. 886 § 5; 1981 c.850 §31

Note: 653. 070 was enacted into law by the Legislative
Assembly and added to ORS chapter 653 by legislative action
but not made a part of any series therein. See Preface to
Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation. 

653. 105 [ Amended by 1953 c. 123 § 2; repealed by 1967
c. 596 § 15] 

653. 110 Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653. 115 Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 151

653. 120 Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 151

653. 125 Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 151

653. 205 [ Amended by 1961 c. 337 § 1; repealed by 1967
c. 596 § 15] 

653.210 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653.215 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653.220 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653. 225 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653. 230 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653. 235 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653.240 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653. 245 [ Repealed by 1967 c 596 § 151

653.250 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653.255 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653. 260 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

GENERAL EMPLOYMENT

CONDITIONS

653.261 Minimum employment condi- 

tions; exempt employments. ( 1) The

commissioner may issue rules prescribing such
minimum conditions of employment, excluding

minimum wages, in any occupation as may be
necessary for the preservation of the health of
employes. Such rules may include, but are not
limited to, minimum meal periods and rest peri- 

ods, and maximum hours of work, but not less

than eight hours per day or 40 hours per week; 
however, after 40 hours of work in one week

overtime may be paid, but in no case at a rate
higher than one and one -half times the regular

rate of pay of such employes when computed
without benefit of commissions, overrides, spiffs
and similar benefits. 

2) Nothing contained in ORS 653. 010 to
653.261 shall be construed to confer authority
upon the commissioner to regulate the hours of
employment of employes engaged in production, 

harvesting, packing, curing, canning, freezing or
drying any variety of agricultural crops, livestock, 
poultry or fish. 

3) Rules promulgated by the commissioner
pursuant to subsection ( 1) of this section do not

apply to individuals employed by this state or a
political subdivision or quasi - municipal corpora- 

tion thereof if other provisions of law or collective

bargaining agreements prescribe rules pertaining
to conditions of employment referred to in sub- 

section ( 1) of this section, including meal periods, 
rest periods, maximum hours of work and over- 
time. [ 1967 c. 596 § 5 ( 2), ( 3); 1971 c.492 § 1; 1981 c. 361

2; 1985 c. 99 § 9] 

653.265 Overtime for persons

employed in canneries, driers and packing
plants. When employed in canneries or driers

or packing plants, excluding canneries or driers or
packing plants located on farms and primarily
processing products produced on such farms, 
employes shall be paid time and a half for time

over 10 hours per day and piece workers shall be
paid one and a half the regular prices for all work

done during the time they are employed over 10
hours per day. [Amended by 1971 c. 492 § 21

653.270 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653.275 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 596 § 15] 

653.280 Employer to safeguard

employe' s trade equipment. ( 1) An employer

shall take all reasonable precautions to safeguard

all trade equipment which is owned by an
employe and is located on premises under the
employer' s control. 

2) As used in ORS 653.285 and this section, 

unless the context requires otherwise: 

a) " Employer" and " employe" have the

meaning provided for those terms in ORS
652.310. 
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653. 285 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

b) " Trade equipment" is limited to musical
instruments and sound equipment. 

c) " Premises" means the place where the
employer and the employe of the employer are

engaged in the furtherance of a common enter- 
prise or the accomplishment of the same or

related purposes in operation. [1975 c 488 § 7] 

653.285 Liability of employer. If an

employe' s trade equipment is damaged upon or
stolen from premises under the employer' s con- 
trol as a proximate cause of the employer' s failure

to comply with ORS 653.280 the employe has a
right to file an action against the employer, and
the employer is liable, for financial settlement as
is needed to repair or replace the equipment. If an

employe seeking to recover for damage to or theft
of trade equipment prevails on such action, the

employer shall be awarded reasonable attorney
fees at trial and on appeal. [ 1975 c. 488 § 8; 1981 c. 897
91] 

653. 295 When noncompetition and
bonus restriction agreements enforceable; 

applicability of restriction. ( 1) A noncom - 
petition agreement entered into between an
employer and employe is void and shall not be

enforced by any court in this state unless the
agreement is entered into upon the: 

a) Initial employment of the employe with
the employer; or

b) Subsequent bona fide advancement of the
employe with the employer. 

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section applies only
to noncompetition agreements made in the con- 

text of an employment relationship or contract
and not otherwise. 

3)( a) Paragraph ( a) of subsection ( 1) of this
section applies only to noncompetition agree- 
ments entered into after July 22, 1977. 

b) Paragraph ( b) of subsection ( 1), subsec- 

tions (4) and (5) and paragraph (a) of subsection

6) of this section apply to employment rela- 
tionships and bonus restriction agreements in
effect or entered into after October 15, 1983. 

4) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not
apply to bonus restriction agreements, which are
lawful agreements that may be enforced by the
courts in this state. 

5) Nothing in this section restricts the right
of any person to protect trade secrets or other
proprietary information by injunction or any
other lawful means under other applicable laws. 

6) As used in this section: 

a) " Bonus restriction agreement" means an
agreement, written or oral, express or implied, 

between an employer and employe under which: 

A) Competition by the employe with the
employer is limited or restrained after termina- 
tion of employment, but the restraint is limited to
a period of time, a geographic area and specified

activities, all of which are reasonable in relation

to the services described in subparagraph ( B) of
this paragraph; 

B) The services performed by the employe
pursuant to the agreement include substantial

involvement in management of the employer' s
business, personal contact with customers, 
knowledge of customer requirements related to
the employer' s business or knowledge of trade

secrets or other proprietary information of the
employer; and

C) The penalty imposed on the employe for
competition against the employer is limited to

forfeiture of profit sharing or other bonus com- 
pensation that has not yet been paid to the
employe. 

b) " Employe" and " employer" have the

meaning provided for those terms in ORS
652. 310; and

c) " Noncompetition agreement" means an
agreement, written or oral, express or implied, 

between an employer and employe under which
the employe agrees that the employe, either alone

or as an employe of another person, shall not

compete with the employer in providing prod- 
ucts, processes or services, that are similar to the

employer' s products, processes or services for a
period of time or within a specified geographic

area after termination of employment. [ 1977 c 646

2; 1983 c. 828 § 1; 1985 c.565 § 85] 

653.300 Health benefit plan options for
certain employes; limitation on cost to
employer or health benefit plan for exer- 
cise of option. ( 1) Each public or private
employer in this state which offers its employes a
health benefit plan and employs not fewer than
25 employes, and each employe benefit fund in
this state with not fewer than 25 members which

offers its members any form of health benefit, 
shall make available to and inform its employes

or members of the option to enroll in at least one
health maintenance organization which provides

health care services in the geographic areas in
which a substantial number of such employes or

members reside. Where there is a prevailing col- 
lective bargaining agreement, the selection of the
health maintenance organizations to be made
available to the employes shall be made under the

agreement. 

2) No employer or benefits fund in this state

shall be required to pay more for health benefits
as a result of the application of this section than
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would otherwise be required by any prevailing
collective bargaining agreement or other contract
for the provision of health benefits to its
employes. 

3) Notwithstanding subsection ( 1) of this
section, no employer or benefits fund need pro- 
vide such an option unless at least 25 employes or

members agree to participate in a health mainte- 

nance organization. [1985 c. 747 § 701

Note: 653. 300 was enacted into law by the Legislative
Assembly but was not added to or made a part of ORS chapter
653 or any series therein by legislative action. See Preface to
Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation. 

EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS

653. 305 Inquiry and order on employ- 
ment of minors. ( 1) The commission may at
any time inquire into wages or hours or condi- 
tions of labor of minors employed in any occupa- 
tion in this state and determine suitable hours
and-conditions of labor for such minors. 

2) When the commission has made such

determination, it may issue an obligatory order in
compliance with ORS 183. 310 to 183. 550. 

3) After such order is effective, no employer

in the occupation affected shall employ a minor
for more hours or under different conditions of

labor than are specified or required by the order; 
but no such order nor the commission shall

authorize or permit the employment of any minor
for more hours per day or per week than the
maximum fixed by law or at times or under
conditions prohibited by law. [Amended by 1967 c. 596

16; 1979 c. 886 § 3] 

653.307 Issuance of employment cer- 

tificates by commission; effect of failure by
employer to comply; school districts

required to cooperate in certificate issu- 
ance. ( 1) The Wage and Hour Commission shall

provide a method for issuing employment certifi- 
cates to minors and employment certificates to

employers for the employment of minors in
accordance with rules and regulations which it

may hereafter adopt pursuant to the provisions of
ORS 183. 310 to 183. 550, and shall by such rules
and regulations require reports from employers

employing minors. 

2) Failure by an employer .to comply with
ORS 653. 305 to 653. 340 or with the regulations
adopted by the Wage and Hour Commission
pursuant to this section shall subject the
employer to revocation of the right to hire minors
in the future at the discretion of the Wage and
Hour Commission, provided that an employer

shall be granted a hearing before the Wage and

653.315

Hour Commission prior to such action being
taken. 

3) All school districts shall cooperate with

the Wage and Hour Commission and make avail- 

able upon request of the commission, information

concerning the age and schooling of minors who
have applied for or been issued an employment
certificate. [1971 c. 626 §2] 

653. 310 Person under age 18 to work

only if employer has employment certifi- 
cate on file; list of minor employes. No child
under 18 years of age shall be employed or permit- 

ted to work in any employment listed in ORS
653.320 ( 2), unless the person employing the
child procures and keeps on file and accessible to
the school authorities of the district where such

child resides, and to the police and the commis- 

sion an employment certificate as prescribed by
the rules and regulations adopted by the Wage
and -Hour Commission pursuant to ORS 653.307, 
and keeps a complete list of all such children

employed therein. [Amended by 1971 c. 626 § 31

653. 315 Working hours for children
under 16 years of age; exceptions; meal

times; posting notice of hours. ( 1) No child

under 16 years of age shall be employed for longer

than 10 hours for any one day, nor more than six
days in any one week. 

2) No child under 16 years of age shall be

employed at any work before 7 a.m. or after 6
p.m., except for those: 

a) Employed in agriculture. 

b) Employed in youth camps. The term
youth camps" means those camps operated and

maintained primarily for the supervised recrea- 
tion and education of youth of either sex during
the public school vacation periods. 

c) Employed as newspaper carrier or vendor. 

d) Employed under a special permit which

may be issued by' the Wage and Hour Commis- 
sion, after investigation and good cause shown

therefor, in suitable work which is not detrimen- 

tal to 'the child' s physical and moral well- being. 
The Wage and Hour Commission or its represen- 

tatives shall investigate periodically the condi- 
tions of labor for which the special permit has

been issued, to determine whether or not the
permit should be continued. 

e) Employed in or about private residences
at domestic work, chores and child care. This
exception does not extend to employment in

places where child care or training is carried on as
an occupation. 

3) Every child under 16 years of age is
entitled to not less than 30 minutes for meal time
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at noon, but such meal time shall not be included issued, to determine whether or not the permit

as part of the work hours of the day. should be continued. [1967 c 347 § 21

4) Every employer of children under 16 years
of age shall post in a conspicuous place where

such children are employed, a printed notice

stating the maximum work hours required in one
week, and in every day of the week from such
children. [Amended by 1957 c.419 § 1; 1961 c. 205 § 1; 1981
c. 228 § 1] 

653.320 Employment of children under
14 years; exceptions; notice of access to

Wage and Hour Commission. ( 1) No child

under the age of 14 years shall be employed in any
work, or labor of any form for wages or other
compensation to whomsoever payable, during the
term when the public schools of the town, district

or city in which the child resides are in session. 

2) No child under 14 years of age shall be
employed or permitted to work in, or in connec- 

tion with, any factory, workshop, mercantile
establishment, store, business office, restaurant, 

bakery, hotel or apartment house. 

3) The Wage and Hour Commission may
allow children between the ages of 12 and 14 to be

employed in any suitable work during any school
vacation extending over a term of two weeks and
may issue permits therefor. The commission shall
exercise careful discretion as to the character of

such employment and its effect on the physical

and moral well -being of the child. 

4) Exceptions may be made by the Wage and
Hour Commission exempting a minor or class of
minors from the above provisions. The child so
employed under this provision shall be given
notice of confidential access to the Wage and

Hour Commission. [Amended by 1971 c. 625 § 11

653. 325 [ Repealed by 1967 c. 527 § 31

653.326 Employing vocationally

trained minors in employment otherwise
prohibited. ( 1) The Wage and Hour Commis- 

sion may by special permit authorize a child
under 18 years of age to engage in employment

otherwise prohibited by law if the child has
successfully completed vocational training for
such employment conducted by any school dis- 
trict, or training that the commission considers
equivalent thereto, and the child: 

a) Has graduated from high school; or

b) Is employed during such time as public
schools are not in session for a period exceeding
30 days. 

2) The commission or its representatives

shall investigate periodically the conditions of the
employment for which a special permit has been

653.330 Employment of minors in cer- 

tain logging operations prohibited. No per- 

son shall employ or allow: 

1) Any person under the age of 18 years to
act as engineer of or have charge of or operate any
logging engines used in logging operations. 

2) Any person under the age of 16 years to
act in the capacity of giving signals to the
engineer in logging operations or receiving and
forwarding such signals. 

653.335 Elevator operators to be over

18. No person shall employ or allow any person
under the age of 18 years to run, operate or have

charge of, any elevator used for the purpose of
carrying either persons or property. 

653.340 Employment of minors for

message and delivery service. ( 1) No person

under the age of 18 years shall be employed or
permitted to work as a messenger for a telegraph

or messenger company or anyone engaged in such
a business in the distribution, transmission or

delivery of goods or messages before 5 a.m. or
after 10 p.m. 

2) No person under the age of 16 years shall
be employed or permitted to work in the tele- 
graph, telephone or public messenger service. 

653. 345 Declaration of policy. The

Legislative Assembly finds that the crops of berry
and bean growers in Oregon are imperiled by the
federal law prohibiting the employment of
youthful agricultural workers. Since suitable
replacements for such workers are not available, 

the long established use of youthful berry and
bean pickers must be permitted to the extent that
it does not interfere with interstate commerce

and federal law. The Legislative Assembly further
finds that such agricultural employment is
healthful, a good introduction to the work ethic

and develops an understanding of the role of
agriculture in society. [ 1975 c. 422 § 11

653.350 Employment of children under
12 years for certain agricultural labor; 
conditions. ( 1) An individual who is less than

12 years of age but not less than nine years of age

may be employed to pick berries and beans in this
state outside of school hours if: 

a) The individual is employed with the con- 
sent of the child's parent or guardian; 

b) The berries and beans picked are sold

within the state only and not transported out of
this state in any form; 

c) The Assistant Director for Employment
or the designee of the assistant director certifies
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that there are not sufficient workers available in

the immediate area to harvest the berry or bean
crop without the employment of youthful pickers; 
and

d) The individual is paid at the same rate as
other employes of the employer who are 12 years

of age or older and are engaged in picking berries
or beans. 

2) Each basket or container holding berries, 
berry products, beans or bean products picked by
individuals who are less than 12 years of age must

be distinctively marked so as to prevent the
berries, berry products, beans or bean products
from entering interstate commerce. [ 1975 c. 422 § 2] 

653.355 Exemption of certain employ- 
ers. Nothing in ORS 653.345 to 653.355 shall
apply to employers which are exempt from the
child labor provisions of the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act. [1975 c. 422 §3] 

653.360 Employment of minors in cer- 

tain boating and commercial fishing situa- 
tions. Notwithstanding any other provision of
ORS 653.305 to 653.370: 

1) Minors 16 years of age and 17 years of age

may be employed as assistants on chartered fish- 
ing or pleasure boats. 

2) Minors 14 years of age and 15 years of age

may be employed at dock areas used by chartered
fishing or pleasure boats. 

3) Minors less than 18 years of age may be
employed on commercial fishing vessels without
an employment permit when employed and

supervised by the minor' s grandfather, grand- 
mother, father, mother, brother, sister, uncle or

aunt. [1979 c. 626 §21

653. 365 Employment of minors by par- 
ents. Notwithstanding the provisions of ORS
653. 370, a parent or person standing in place of a
parent may employ the child of the parent or a
child in the custody of the parent under the age of
18 years in any occupation. [1981 c. 820 § 3] 

653.370 Civil penalty for unlawful
employment of minors; order; hearing; 
judicial review; disposition of penalties. ( 1) 

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, 
the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and

Industries may impose upon any person not regu- 
lated under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act

who violates ORS 653. 305 to 653.370 or any rule
adopted by the Wage and Hour Commission
thereunder, a civil penalty not to exceed $ 1, 000
for each violation. 

2) If the commissioner imposes a penalty
upon a person found to have committed a vio- 

lation of ORS 653.305 to 653.370 or any rule
adopted by the Wage and Hour Commission
thereunder, the commissioner shall serve in

accordance with ORCP 7 D., an order directing
the person to pay a penalty to the commissioner. 
The order shall include: 

a) A reference to the particular statutes or

rules involved in the violation; 

b) A short and concise statement of the
matters which constitute the violation; 

c) A statement of the amount of the penalty
imposed; 

d) A statement of the party's right to request
a contested case hearing and to be represented by
counsel at such a hearing, provided that any
request for a contested case hearing must be
received by the commissioner in writing within
20 days after receipt by the party of the order; 

e) A statement that the person must, within

20 days after receipt of the order, either pay in full
the penalties assessed or present to the commis- 

sioner a written request for a contested case

hearing as provided in this section; 

f) A statement that failure to make a written

request to the commissioner for a contested case

hearing within the time specified shall constitute
a waiver of the right thereto; and

g) A statement that unless the written
requests provided for in paragraph ( d) of this

subsection are received by the commissioner
within the time specified for making such
requests, the order shall become final. 

3) Upon failure of the person to pay the
amount specified in the order within the time

specified, and upon failure to request a contested

case hearing within the time specified, the order
shall become final. 

4) If a party makes a timely request for a
contested case hearing, a hearing shall be held in
accordance with the applicable provisions of ORS

183. 415 to 183. 500 by the commissioner or the
commissioner' s designee. The commissioner shall

adopt rules for such hearing. In any hearing
before the commissioner' s designee, the designee
is authorized to issue the final order in the case. 

5) Final administrative orders issued pur- 

suant to this section are subject to review by the
Court of Appeals as provided in ORS 183. 480 and

183. 482, except that any petition for review must
be filed within 30 days following the date the
order upon which the petition is based is served. 

6) Unless the amount of the penalty spec- 
ified in the final order is paid within 30 days after
the final order is served, the order shall constitute
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a judgment and may be filed in accordance with
the provisions of ORS 18. 320 to 18.370. Execu- 

tion may be issued upon the order in the same
manner as execution upon a judgment in a court

of record. 

7) All sums collected as penalties pursuant to

this section shall be first applied toward reim- 

bursement of the costs incurred in determining
the violations, conducting hearings under this
section and assessing and collecting such penal- 

ties. The remainder, if any, of the sums collected
as penalties pursuant to this section shall be paid

over by the commissioner to the Division of State
Lands for the benefit of the common school fund
of this state. The division shall issue a receipt for

the money to the commissioner. [1981 c. 820 § 2; 1985
c. 120 § 1] 

653. 405 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 71

653.410 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 7] 

653. 415 [ Repealed by 1971 c 626 § 71

653.420 [ Repealed by 1971 c 626 § 7] 

653.425 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 71

653. 430 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 7] 

653. 435 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 7] 

653.440 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 7] 

653. 445 [ Amended by 1967 c. 67 §23, repealed by 1971
c. 626 § 7] 

WAGE AND HOUR COMMISSION

653. 505 Wage and Hour Commission; 

appointment; confirmation; term; vacan- 

cies. ( 1) The Wage and Hour Commission is
established and shall be composed of three com- 

missioners who shall be appointed by the Gover- 
nor for the term of four years and until their

successors are appointed and qualified. In selec- 

tion of the members of the commission, the

Governor shall give due consideration to the

interests of labor, industry and the public. Not
more than two of the members of said commis- 

sion shall belong to the same political party. 

2) Upon the expiration of the term of any
commissioner, the Governor shall appoint a suc- 
cessor. 

3) The Governor shall fill any vacancy on
the commission by appointment for the unex- 
pired portion of the term in which the vacancy
occurs. 

4) All appointments of members of the com- 

mission by the Governor are subject to confirma- 
tion by the Senate in the manner provided in
ORS 171. 562 and 171. 565. [ Amended by 1967 c.596

17; 1973 c. 792 § 27] 

653. 510 Organization of commission; 

chairman; quorum; compensation and

expenses. ( 1) On or before January 20 of each
year, the commissioners shall elect a chairman. 

Each chairman shall hold the position until a
successor is elected. 

2) A majority of the commissioners shall
constitute a quorum to transact business. The act

or decision of such majority is considered the act
or decision of the commission. No vacancy shall
impair the right of the remaining commissioners
to exercise all the powers of the commission. 

3) Each commissioner is entitled to compen- 
sation and expenses as provided in ORS 292.495. 

Amended by 1961 c. 337 § 2; 1969 c. 314 § 681

653. 515 Commissioner as secretary; 
personnel and expenses. ( 1) The Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries shall

be the secretary and executive officer of the Wage
and Hour Commission. 

2) The secretary of the commission may
employ such clerical assistance and incur such
expenses as may be necessary in performing the
duties of the secretary. 

653.520 Duties of commission gener- 

ally. The Wage and Hour Commission shall
administer, execute and carry out the provisions
of ORS 653.010 to 653.545 and 653.991. [ Amended

by 1975 c. 605 § 301

653. 525 Rules and regulations of com- 

mission. The commission may prepare, adopt
and promulgate rules and regulations for the

carrying into effect of ORS 653. 305, 653. 315 and
653.505 to 653.540, including rules and regula- 
tions for the selection of members and the mode

of procedure of conferences. [ Amended by 1961 c 205
2] 

653.530 Meetings and hearings; sub - 

pena; administering oaths; witness fees. ( 1) 

The commission may hold meetings for the trans- 
action of any of its business at such times and
places as it may prescribe. 

2) The commission may hold public hear- 
ings at such times and places as it deems fit and

proper for the purpose of investigating any of the
matters it is authorized to investigate under ORS
653.535. 

3) At any such public hearing any person
interested in the matter being investigated may
appear and testify. 

4) The commission may subpena and com- 
pel the attendance of any witness at any such
public hearing. Any commissioner may admin- 
ister an oath to any witness who testifies at any
such public hearing. 
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5) All witnesses subpenaed by the commis- 
sion shall be paid the same mileage and per diem

as are allowed by law to witnesses in civil cases
before the Circuit Court of Multnomah County. 
Amended by 1983 c 740 § 241] 

653. 535 Investigating compliance with
orders; prosecution for violation. The com- 
mission shall, from time to time, investigate and

ascertain whether or not employers are observing

and complying with its orders and take such steps
as may be necessary to prosecute such employers
as are not observing or complying with its orders. 

653. 540 Assistance to commission. 
The Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and

Industries shall, at all times, give to the commis- 

sion any information or statistics in the office of
the commissioner that would assist the commis- 

sion in carrying out ORS 653. 305, 653.505 to
653.535 and render such assistance to the com- 

mission as is consistent with the performance of

the official duties of the commissioner. 

653.545 Visitation rights of commis- 

sion; prosecution of offenses against child

labor laws. ( 1) The commission or anyone

authorized by the commission in writing may
visit the factories, workshops and mercantile

establishments in their several towns and cities

and ascertain whether any minors are employed

therein contrary to ORS 653. 310 to 653.320, 
653. 340 and the rules and regulations promul- 

gated by the Wage and Hour Commission pur- 
suant to ORS 653.307 and shall report any cases
of illegal employment to the proper school

authorities and to the district attorney of the
county. The commission may require that the
employment certificates and lists of minors

employed in such factories, workshops, or mer- 

cantile establishments, shall be produced for their
inspection. 

2) The commission shall bring complaints
for offenses under ORS 653.310 to 653.320 and
653. 340 to the attention of the proper district

attorney who shall prosecute such offenses. 

Amended by 1971 c. 626 § 41

653. 600 [ 1973 c. 564 § 2; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 605 [ 1973 c. 564 § 1, repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

653. 610 [ 1973 c. 564 § 6; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 615 [ 1973 c. 564 § 3; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 620 [ 1973 c. 564 § 5; repealed by 1975 c 114 § 11

653.625 [ 1973 c.564 § 7; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

653. 630 [ 1973 c. 564 § 8; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 635 [ 1973 c. 564 § 11, repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653.640 [ 1973 c 564 §9; repealed by 1975 c 114 § 1] 

653.645 [ 1973 c. 564 § 10, repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 650 [ 1973 c. 564 § 12; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 655 [ 1973 c 564 § 13, repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 675 [ 1973 c 564 § 14; repealed by 1975 c 114 § 1] 

653. 680 [ 1973 c. 564 § 15; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

653. 685 [ 1973 c. 564 § 17, repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 11

653. 690 [ 1973 c. 564 § 18; repealed by 1975 c 114 § 1] 

653. 695 [ 1973 c. 564 § 19; repealed by 1975 c 114 § 1] 

653. 700 [ 1973 c. 564 § 20; repealed by 1975 c. 114 § 1] 

PENALTIES

653.990 [ Subsections ( 1) and ( 2) enacted as 1967

c 596 § 14; repealed by 1971 c. 626 § 7] 

653.991 Penalties. Violation of any
provision of this section or ORS 653. 010 to

653.545 or of any rule or regulation adopted by
the commission under ORS 653.307 shall be

punishable as a misdemeanor. [1971 c. 626 §6] 
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