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HOURS OF LABOR

652. 010 Declaration of public policy
concerning maximum working hours in
certain industries. ( 1) It is the public policy
of this state that no person shall be hired, nor

permitted to work for wages, under any condi- 
tions or terms, for longer hours or days of service
than is consistent with his health and physical

well -being and ability to promote the general
welfare by his increasing usefulness as a healthy
and intelligent citizen. 

2) It hereby is declared that the working of
any person more than 10 hours in one day in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establishment or
the working of any person more than eight
hours, exclusive of one hour, more or less, in one
day, or more than 48 hours in one calendar week
in sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills- and
logging camps is injurious to the physical health
and well -being of such person, and tends to
prevent him from acquiring that degree of intel- 
ligence that is necessary to make him a useful
and desirable citizen of the state. 

652.020 Maximum working hours in
certain industries; overtime hours and

pay. ( 1) No person shall be employed in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establishment in
this state more than 10 hours in any one day, or
in sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills and
logging camps more than eight hours, exclusive
of one hour, more or less, in one day or more
than 48 hours in one calendar week, except

logging train crews, watchmen, firemen and

persons engaged in the transportation of men to

and from work, and employes when engaged in

making necessary repairs, or in the case of emer- 
gency where life and property are in imminent
danger. However, employes may work overtime
not to exceed three hours in one day, condi- 
tioned that payment be made for said overtime

at the rate of time and one -half the regular wage. 

2) No employer shall require or permit any
person to work in any place mentioned in this
section more than the hours provided for in this

section during any day of 24 hours. No employer
shall permit or suffer his overseer, superinten- 
dent or other agent to violate this section. 

3) This section does not apply to persons
employed in the care of quarters or livestock, 

conducting messhalls, superintendence and

direction of work, or to the loading and removal
of the finished forest product. 

652.030 Enforcement of ORS 652.010
and 652.020 dependent upon like laws in
other states. ORS 652.010 and 652.020 shall

not be enforced in so far as they relate to work- 
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ing hours in sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills
and logging camps until laws containing like
provisions regarding working hours in such
places of employment in the States of California, 
Washington and Idaho become effective in each

of those states respectively. 

652.040 Maximum working hours in
mines. ( 1) No person who operates any under- 
ground mine yielding gold or silver or copper or

lead or other metal shall permit or require any
person to work in such underground mine for

more than eight hours in any 24 hours. The
hours for such employment or work day shall be
consecutive excluding, however, any intermis- 
sion of time for lunch or meals. 

2) In the case of emergency, where life or
property is in imminent danger, persons may
work in such underground mines for a longer

time during the continuance of the exigency or
emergency. This section does not apply to mines
in their first stages of development, such as
tunnel work to a length of 200 feet, or shaft work

to a depth of 150 feet, or to any surface excava- 
tion. 

652.050 Definitions for ORS 652.050
to 652. 080. As used in ORS 652.050 to
652.080: 

1) " Firefighter" means a person whose

principal duties consist of preventing or combat- 
ing fire or preventing loss of life or property from
fire. 

2) " Regularly organized fire department" 
means any organization maintained for the
purpose of preventing or combating fire and
employing one or more persons on a full -time
basis as firefighters. 

3) " Volunteer firefighter" means a person
who performs services as a firefighter for a regu- 

larly organized fire department and whose work
hours and work shifts are voluntary and whose
volunteer service is not a condition of employ- 
ment. [ Amended by 1983 c.319 § 1] 

652.060 Maximum hours for fire- 
fighters. ( 1)( a) No person employed on a

full -time basis as a firefighter by any regularly
organized fire department maintained by any
incorporated city, municipality or fire district
and that employs not more than three persons

on a full -time basis as firefighters shall be re- 

quired to be on regular duty with such fire de- 
partment more than 72 hours a week. However, 

any affected incorporated city, municipality or
fire district shall be deemed to have complied
with this paragraph and ORS 652.070 if the

hours of regular duty required of firefighters
employed by it average not more than 72 hours a
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week over each quarter of the fiscal year of the

employing city, municipality or fire district. 

b) No person employed on a full -time basis
as a firefighter by any regularly organized fire
department maintained by any incorporated
city, municipality or fire district and that em- 
ploys four or more persons on a full -time basis as
firefighters shall be required to be on regular

duty with such fire department more than 56
hours a week. However, any affected incorporat- 
ed city, municipality or fire district shall- be
deemed to have complied with this paragraph

and ORS 652.070 if the hours of regular duty
required of firefighters employed by it average
not more than 56 hours a week over each quarter

of the fiscal year of the employing city, munici- 
pality or fire district. 

2) In the event this section shortens the

working hours of firefighters employed by any
such city, municipality or fire district, the total
wages of such firefighters shall not for that rea- 
son be reduced. [ Amended by 1959 c. 402 § 1; 1969 c 581

1] 

652.070 Overtime pay for firefight- 
ers. ( 1) Every affected incorporated city, mu- 
nicipality and fire district shall put into effect
and maintain a schedule of working hours re- 
quired of regularly employed firefighters which
shall not be in excess of the average hours estab- 
lished by ORS 652.060, and which shall provide
for at least 48 consecutive hours off -duty time in
each seven -day period. Any affected incorporat- 
ed city, municipality or fire district failing so to
do shall pay to every regularly employed fire- 
fighter as additional pay for every hour of regular
duty required of and performed by the firefighter
over and above the average hours established by
ORS 652.060 a sum equivalent to one and one - 

half times the regular hourly rate of pay at the
time of such default. However, in the case of

replacement for any authorized leave, vacation
or temporary vacancy, regularly employed fire- 
fighters in a department employing four or more
persons on a full -time basis as firefighters may
elect to work in excess of 56 hours a week at not
less than their regular hourly rate of pay. 

2) Nothing in subsection ( 1) of this section
requires payment of one and one -half times the

hourly rate of pay to a volunteer firefighter for
hours of duty performed in excess of the average
hours established by ORS 652.060. [ Amended by

1959 c 402 § 2; 1969 c. 581 § 2; 1983 c. 319 § 2] 

652. 080 Computing hours on duty for
purposes of ORS 652.060 and 652. 070. In
computing the average or total number of hours
a week for the purposes of ORS 652.060 and

652.070, authorized vacation or sick leave time
shall be considered as time on regular duty. [1959
c.402 § 4] 

PAYMENT AND COLLECTION

OF WAGES GENERALLY

652. 110 Medium of paying employes. 
No person engaged in any business or enterprise
of any kind in this state shall issue, in payment
of or as evidence of indebtedness for wages due
an employe, any order, check, memorandum or
other acknowledgment of indebtedness, unless
the same is negotiable, and is payable without
discount in cash on demand at some bank or
other established place of business in the county
where the same is issued, and where a sufficient
amount of funds have been provided and are or
will be available for the payment of such order, 
check or other acknowledgment of indebtedness

when due. Such person shall, upon presentation

and demand, pay any such order, check, memo- 
randum or other acknowledgment of indebted- 

ness, in lawful money of the United States. This
section does not in any way limit or interfere
with the right of any employe to accept from any
person, as an evidence or acknowledgment of

indebtedness for wages due him, a negotiable

instrument, payable at some future date with
interest. An employer and an employe may agree
to authorize an employer to deposit without
discount wages due the employe in the employe' s
account in a bank, national bank, mutual savings
bank, or credit union or savings and loan associ- 

ation in this state. [Amended by 1975 c. 191 § 1] 

652. 120 Establishing regular payday; 
pay intervals; agreement to pay wages at
future date. ( 1) Every employer shall establish
and maintain a regular payday, at which date all
employes shall be paid the wages due and owing
to them. 

2) Payday shall not extend beyond a period
of 35 days from the time that such employes
entered upon their work, or from the date of the
last regular payday. 

3) This section does not prevent the em- 

ployer from establishing and maintaining pay- 
days at more frequent intervals. 
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4) This section does not prevent any em- 
ployer from entering into a written agreement, 
prior to the rendering of any services, and mutu- 

ally satisfactory with his employes, as to the
payment of wages at a future date. [ Amended by

1961 c. 662 § 1) 
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652. 130 Payment of wages due per- 
sons employed on piece work scale or

quantity basis in forest product indus- 
tries; furnishing statement of scale or
quantity. Every person engaged in the busi- 
ness of logging or obtaining or securing sawlogs, 
poles, spars, piles, cordwood, posts or other

timber or forest products, or engaged in the

business of manufacturing sawlogs or other
timber into lumber, and employing one or more
employes on a piece work scale or quantity wage
basis, shall furnish such employes at least once

monthly, a statement of scale or quantity pro- 

duced by them to their credit, and shall pay all
wages or amounts so earned and due and payable

under the law regulating paydays. 

652. 140 Payment on termination of

employment; notice of intention, to quit; 

forwarding wages by mail. ( 1) Whenever an

employer discharges an employe, or where such

employment is terminated by mutual agreement, 
all wages earned and unpaid at the time of such

discharge shall become due and payable immedi- 

ately; provided, that in establishments where
perishable or seasonal commodities are pro- 

cessed or handled, when termination of employ- 
ment results from fluctuation in or cessation of

the flow of such perishable or seasonal commodi- 

ties, such termination shall not be regarded as a

discharge or termination by mutual agreement, 
within the meaning of this section, but all wages
earned at the time of such termination shall

become due and payable not later than the regu- 

lar payday on which such wages normally would
be paid. 

2) When any such employe, not having a
contract for a definite period, shall quit his
employment, all wages earned and unpaid at the

time -of such quitting shall become due and pay- 
able immediately if such employe has given not
less than 48 hours' notice, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays and holidays, of his intention to quit
his employment. If such notice is not given, such
wages shall be due and payable 48 hours, exclud- 

ing Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, after such
employe has so quit his employment. 

3) The employer shall forward such wages

by mail to any address designated by the em- 
ploye if the employe requests the employer so to

do. An employer may deposit such wages without
discount in the employe' s account in a bank, 
national bank, mutual savings bank, credit

union, or savings and loan association in this
state, provided the employe and the employer

have agreed to such deposit. [ Amended by 1957 c. 242
1; 1975 c. 192 § 11
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652. 150 Civil penalty for failure to
pay wages on termination of employment. 

If an employer wilfully fails to pay any wages or
compensation of any employe who is discharged
or who quits his employment, as provided in

ORS 652. 140, then, as a penalty for such non- 
payment, the wages or compensation of such

employe shall continue from the due date thereof
at the same rate until paid or until action there- 

for is commenced; provided, that in no case shall
such wages or compensation continue for more

than 30 days; and provided further, the employer

may avoid liability for the penalty by showing
his financial inability to pay the wages or com- 
pensation at the time they accrued. [ Amended by
1957 c.244 § 1] 

652. 160 Payment in case of dispute

over wages. In case of dispute over wages, the

employer must pay, without condition, and

within the time set by ORS 652. 140, all wages
conceded by him to be due, leaving the employe
all remedies he might otherwise have or be enti- 

tled to as to any balance he might claim. 

652. 170 Payment of wages in case of

strikes. When any number of employes enter
upon a strike, the wages due such striking em- 
ployes at the time of entering upon such strike
shall not become due and payable until the next

regular payday after the commencement of such
strike, if the time between the commencement of

the strike and the next regular payday does not
exceed a period of 30 days. If the intervening
time does exceed the period of 30 days, then the
wages shall be due and payable 30 days after the
commencement of the strike. 

652. 180 [ Repealed by 1953 c. 515 § 21 - 

652. 190 Payment of wages to surviv- 

ing spouse or dependent children. All

wages earned by an employe, not exceeding
3, 000, shall, upon the employe' s death, become

due and - payable to the • employe' s surviving
spouse, or if there is no surviving spouse, the
dependent children, or their guardians or the
conservators of their estates, in equal shares, to

the same extent as if the wages had been earned

by such surviving spouse or dependent children. 
Amended by 1971 c. 448 § 1; 1981 c. 594 § 1] 

652.200 Attorney fee in action for
wages. ( 1) In any action for the collection of
any order, check, memorandum or other ac- 

knowledgment of indebtedness referred to in
ORS 652. 110, if it is shown that the order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of in- 

debtedness was not paid for a period of 48 hours, 

excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, after
presentation and demand for the payment there- 
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of, the court shall, upon entering judgment for
the plaintiff, include in such judgment, in addi- 
tion to the costs and disbursements otherwise

prescribed by statute, a reasonable sum for attor- 
ney fees at trial and on appeal for prosecuting
said action, unless it appears that the employe

has wilfully violated the contract of employment. 

2) In any action for the collection of wages, 
if it is shown that the wages were not paid for a

period of 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sun- 
days and holidays, after the same became due
and payable, the court shall upon entering judg- 
ment for the plaintiff, include in such judgment, 
in addition to the costs and disbursements oth- 

erwise prescribed by statute, a reasonable sum
for attorney fees at trial and on appeal for prose- 
cuting said action, unless it appears that the
employe has wilfully violated the contract of
employment. [ Amended by 1957 c. 242 § 2; 1981 c. 897
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652.210 Definitions for ORS 652.210
to 652.230. ( 1) " Employer" means any person
employing one or more employes, but does not
include the state, or any municipal corporation
or political subdivision of the state having in
force a civil service system based on merit, or the
Federal Government. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who, 
otherwise than as a copartner of the employer or

as an independent contractor, renders personal

services wholly or partly in this state to an em- 
ployer who pays or agrees to pay such individual
at a fixed rate. However, where services are

rendered only partly in this state, an individual
is not an employe unless his contract of employ- 
ment has been entered into, or payments there- 

under are ordinarily made or to be made, within
this state. 

3) " Wages" means all compensation for

performance of service by an employe for an
employer whether paid by the employer or an- 
other person, including cash value of all compen- 
sation paid in any medium other than cash. 

4) " Rate" with reference to wages means the

basis of compensation for services by an employe
for an employer and includes compensation
based on the time spent in the performance of
such services, or on the number of operations

accomplished, or on the quantity produced or
handled. 

5) " Unpaid wages" means the difference

between the wages actually paid to an employe
and the wages required under ORS 652.220, to be
paid to such employe. [ 1955 c. 193 § 1] 

652.220 Prohibition against discrimi- 
natory wage rates based on sex; employer
not to discriminate against employe - 

complainant. (1) No employer shall: 

a) In any manner discriminate between the
sexes in the payment of wages for work of com- 
parable character, the performance of which

requires comparable skills. 

b) Pay wages to any employe at a rate less
than that at which he pays wages to his em- 
ployes of the opposite sex for work of comparable
character, the performance of which requires

comparable skills. 

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not

apply where: 

a) Payment is made pursuant to a seniority
or merit system which does not discriminate on
the basis of sex. 

b) A differential in wages between employes
is based in good faith on factors other than sex. 

3) No employer shall in any manner dis- 
criminate in the payment of wages against any
employe because the employe has filed a com- 

plaint in a proceeding under ORS 652.210 to
652.230, or has testified, or is about to testify, or
because the employer believes that the employe

may testify, in any investigation or proceedings
pursuant to ORS 652.210 to 652.230 or in a
criminal action pursuant to ORS 652.210 to
652.230. [ 1955 c. 193 § 21

652.230 Employe has right of action
against employer for unpaid wages and
damages. ( 1) Any employe whose compensa- 
tion is at a rate that is in violation of ORS
652. 220 shall have a right of action against the

employer for the recovery of: 

a) The amount of the unpaid wages to
which the employe is entitled for the one year

period preceding the commencement of the
action; and

b) An additional amount as liquidated
damages equal to the amount referred to in
paragraph (a) of this subsection. 

2) In addition to any judgment awarded to
the plaintiff, the court shall allow reasonable

attorney fees at trial and on appeal to be taxed in
any judgment recovered. 

3) The action for the unpaid wages and
liquidated damages may be maintained by one or
more employes on behalf of themselves or other

employes similarly situated. 

4) No agreement for compensation at a rate
less than the rate to which such employe is enti- 
tled under ORS 652. 210 to 652. 230 is a defense
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to any action under ORS 652.210 to 652.230. 
1955 c. 193 § 3; 1981 c. 894 § 871

652.240 Paying wage lower than that
required by statute or contract prohibit- 
ed. Where any statute or contract requires an
employer to maintain the designated wage scale, 

it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a lower wage
while purporting to pay the wage designated by
statute or by contract. [1957 c. 243 § 1] 

652. 250 Public employe' s wages as
affected by absence to engage in search or
rescue operation. A public employe who

takes part without pay in a search or rescue
operation at the request of any law enforcement
agency, the Aeronautics Administrator, the

United States Forest Service or any local organi- 
zation for civil defense, shall not forfeit his
wages while engaged in an operation for a period

of not more than five days for each operation. If
an operation continues for more than five days, 

the employing agency may allow the employe to
continue to take part in the operation and to

receive his wages for as long as the employing
agency considers proper. [1959 c.46 § 1] 

ENFORCEMENT OF WAGE
CLAIMS

Generally) 

652.310 Definitions of employer and
employe. As used in ORS 652.310 to 652.405, 
unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) " Employer" means any person who in
this state, directly or through an agent, engages
personal services of one or more employes and

includes any producer - promoter, and any succes- 
sor to the business of any employer, or any lessee
or purchaser of any employer' s business property
for the continuance of the same business, so far
as such employer has not paid employes in full. 

Employer" does not include: 

a) The United States or any state, county, 
municipal corporation, town or other govern- 

mental division. 

b) Trustees and assignees in bankruptcy or
insolvency, and receivers, whether appointed by
federal or state courts, and persons otherwise
falling under the definition of employers so far as
the times or amounts of their payments to em- 

ployes are regulated by laws of the United States, 
or regulations or orders made in pursuance
thereof. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who
otherwise than as copartner of the employer or

as an independent contractor renders personal

services wholly or partly in this state to an em- 
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ployer who pays or agrees to pay such individual
at a fixed rate, based on the time spent in the
performance of such services or on the number

of operations accomplished, or quantity pro- 
duced or handled. However: 

a) Where services are rendered by an inde- 
pendent contractor, an individual shall not be an
employe under this section unless the individual

is a musician or supporting technical person. 

b) Where services are rendered only partly
in this state, an individual shall not be an em- 
ploye under this section unless his contract of

employment has been entered into, or payments

thereunder are ordinarily made or to be made, 
within this state. [ Amended by 1963 c.348 § 1; 1975
c.488 § 1] 

652.320 General definitions for ORS
652.310 to 652.405. As used in ORS
652.310 to 652.405, unless the context requires
otherwise: 

1) " Commissioner" means the Commission- 
er of the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

2) " Court" means a court of competent

jurisdiction and proper venue to entertain a

proceeding referred to in ORS 652.310 to
652.405. 

3) " Demand" means a written demand for

payment made during business hours on an
employer or any appropriate representative of an

employer by an employe or by some person
having and exhibiting due authority to act in
said employe' s behalf. 

4) " Pay" means to deliver or tender com- 
pensation at a previously designated and reason- 
ably convenient place in this state, during work- 
ing hours, in legal tender or by order or negotia- 
ble instrument payable and paid in legal tender

without discount on demand in this state or by
deposit without discount in an employe' s ac- 
count in a bank, national bank, mutual savings
bank, credit union or savings and loan associa- 
tion in this state, provided the employe and the
employer have agreed to such deposit. 

5) " Payment" means the delivery, tender or
deposit of compensation in the medium of pay- 
ment described in subsection ( 4) of this section. 
Such delivery, tender or deposit shall be made to
or for the account of the employe concerned or to

or for the account of any person having due
authority to act in said employe' s behalf. 

6) " Production" means a live presentation

organized for the economic gain of any person or
organization utilizing the personal services of
one or more musicians and supporting technical
personnel. 
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7) " Producer- promoter" means a person, 

firm, association or corporation which supervis- 

es, finances or attempts to organize a production
in this state other than: 

a) The proprietor of a commercial estab- 

lishment with a Class " A" or Class `B" dispen- 

ser' s license or tavern staging a production on
the proprietor' s own premises; 

b) Any nonprofit organization staging a
production for the sole benefit of the organiza- 
tion, its members or the general public; or

c) A producer of motion pictures, television
shows, or commercials. 

8) " Rate of payment" means the rate at

which payment is made or is to be made in the
manner described in this section. 

9) " Wage claim" means an employe' s claim

against an employer for compensation for the
employe' s own personal services, and includes

any wages, compensation, damages or civil pen- 
alties provided by law to employes in connection
with a claim for unpaid wages. [ Amended by 1975

c. 190 § 1, 1975 c. 488 § 2; 1979 c. 695 § 11

652.325 Permit required for

producer - promoter; application; bond; 

exemption. ( 1) Except as provided in subsec- 

tion ( 4) of this section, any producer - promoter
intending to do business in this state shall first
obtain a permit from the commissioner. An
application for such permit shall contain the

following information: 
a) The applicant' s name and address; 

b) A description of the financing for the
production; 

c) The type of production, the number of

artists and technical personnel to be employed

and the time and place of the production; and

d) Such other information as the commis- 

sioner may deem necessary for the protection of
persons employed in the production. 

2) A permit shall not be issued unless the
applicant has posted a bond with the commis- 

sioner as required by ORS 652.340 ( 2). 

3) The commissioner may fix permit fees
not to exceed $ 20 to provide for the cost of pro- 

cessing the applications. 

4) A permit shall not be required of any
producer - promoter who: 

a) Has been a producer - promoter in this

state for the three -year period immediately
preceding the time when a permit application
would otherwise be required and has had no
successful wage claims allowed against him

during such period; or

b) Has sufficient assets in this state which, 
if executed upon, would equal the amount of

bond required by ORS 652.340 ( 2). [ 1975 c 488 § 4] 

652.330 Powers and duties of commis- 

sioner in enforcing wage claims; parties
to wage claim action. ( 1) The commissioner

shall enforce ORS 652.310 to 652. 405 and to that

end may: 

a) Investigate and attempt equitably to
adjust controversies between employers and
employes in respect of wage claims or alleged

wage claims. 

b) Take assignments, in trust, of wage
claims or judgments thereon, liens and other

instruments of security for payment of wages
from the assigning employes, spouses, parents or
legal guardians, having a right to the wages of
such employes. All such assignments shall run to

the commissioner and any successors in office. 
The commissioner may sue employers on wage
claims and other persons or property liable for
any payment thereof thus assigned with the
benefits and subject to existing laws applying to
actions by employes for collection of wages. The
commissioner is entitled to recover, in addition

to costs, such sum as the court or judge may
adjudge reasonable as attorney fees at trial and
on appeal. The commissioner may join in a
single proceeding and in one cause of action any
number of wage claims against the same employ- 
er. If the commissioner does not prevail in such

action, the commissioner shall pay all costs and
disbursements from the Bureau of Labor and
Industries Account. 

c) Make complaint in a criminal court for

any violation of any law providing for payment
of wages and imposing a penalty for its violation
as for a crime. 

d) In any case where a civil action may be
brought under this chapter for the collection of a
wage claim, provide for an administrative pro- 

ceeding to determine the validity and enforce
collection of the claim. The administrative pro- 

ceeding shall be conducted as provided in this
chapter, and is subject to the employer' s right to

elect a trial in a court of law. 

2) An assigning wage claimant shall not be
regarded as a party to any court action brought
by the commissioner under this section for any
purpose. [ Amended by 1957 c. 465 § 6; 1963 c. 258 § 2; 1967
c. 218 § 1; 1979 c. 695 § 2; 1981 c. 897 § 88] 
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652. 332 Administrative proceeding

for wage claim collection; court enforce- 
ment and review. ( 1) In any case when the
commissioner has received a wage claim com- 



HOURS; WAGES: RECORDS

plaint which the commissioner could seek to

collect through court action, the commissioner

may instead elect to seek collection of such claim
through administrative proceedings in the man- 
ner provided in this section, subject to the em- 
ployer' s right to request a trial in a court of law. 

The commissioner may join in a single adminis- 
trative proceeding any number of wage claims
against the same employer. Upon making such
election, the commissioner shall serve upon the

employer and the wage claimant an order of

determination directing the employer to pay to
the commissioner the amount of the wage claim

and any penalty amounts under ORS 279.356
1), 652. 150 and 653.055 ( 1) determined to be

owed the wage claimant. Service shall be made in

the same manner as service of summons or by
certified mail, return receipt requested. The
order of determination shall include: 

a) A reference to the particular sections of
the statutes or rules involved; 

b) A short and concise statement of the
basis for the amounts determined to be owed to
each wage claimant; 

c) A statement of the party' s right to re- 
quest a contested case hearing and to be repre- 
sented by counsel at such a hearing, and of the
employer' s right to a trial in a court of law, pro- 

vided that any request for a contested case hear- 
ing or trial in a court of law must be received by
the commissioner in writing within 20 days after
receipt by the party of the order of determina- 
tion; 

d) A statement that the employer must, 
within 20 days after receipt of the order of deter- 

mination, either pay in .full the wage claim and
any penalties assessed, or present to the commis- 
sioner a written request for a contested case

hearing or a trial in a court of law as provided in
this section; 

e) A statement that failure to make a writ- 
ten request to the commissioner for a contested

case hearing or a trial of the claim in a court of
law within the time specified shall constitute a
waiver of the right thereto and a waiver of the

right to a trial by jury; and
f) A statement that unless the written re- 

quests provided for in paragraph ( c) of subsec- 

tion ( 1) of this section are received by the com- 
missioner within the time specified for making
such requests, the order of determination shall
become final. 

2) Upon failure of the employer to pay the
amount specified in the order of determination
or to request a trial in a court of law within the

time specified, and upon failure of any party to
request a contested case hearing within the time
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specified, the order of determination shall be- 
come final. 

3) If a party makes a timely request for a
contested case hearing, a hearing shall be held in
accordance with the applicable provisions of

ORS 183. 415 to 183.500 by the commissioner or
the commissioner' s designee. The commissioner

shall adopt rules for such hearing. In any hearing
before the commissioner' s designee, the designee
is authorized to issue the final order in the case. 

If the employer makes a timely request for a trial
in a court of law, the commissioner may proceed
against the employer as provided in ORS
652.330 ( 1)( b). 

4) Final administrative orders issued in a

wage claim proceeding are subject to review by
the Court of Appeals as provided in ORS 183. 480
and 183. 482. 

5) Unless the amount of the wage claim and
penalty specified in the final order is paid, the
order shall constitute a judgment and may be
filed in accordance with the provisions of ORS

18.320 to 18. 370. Execution may be issued upon
the order in the same manner as execution upon

a-judgment in a court of record. 

6) Where the wage claim arose out of work

performed by the claimant for the employer on
any public works project to which ORS 279.350
or 279.352 applies, and a state agency holds
sufficient funds as retainage on such project to

pay such claim or any portion thereof, the state
agency may, at the request of the commissioner, 
pay to the commissioner from the retainage all
or part of the amount due on the claim under the
final order. [ 1979 c. 695 § 4; 1981 c. 594 § 31

652. 335 Liability of liquor dispenser
licensee for wage claims of certain indi- 
viduals. ( 1) A person operating a commercial
establishment where food is cooked and served
who holds a dispenser' s license issued under
ORS 472. 110 is liable for all valid wage claims of
individuals employed in the kitchen facilities

and dining space of such establishment who are
not employed by such person, if the wage claims
cannot be enforced against the employer of such

individuals. The commissioner may in such a
case proceed under ORS 652.310 to 652.405

against the person operating the establishment
as if that person had employed the individuals

assigning the wage claims. 

2) This section does not impose any liabili- 
ty not otherwise imposed by law for compensa- 
tion for the performance of an individual' s per- 
sonal services in excess of a period of 60 days, 

nor does it subject the person operating an estab- 
lishment described in this section to criminal

penalties for violation of any law providing for
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payment of wages. [ 1961 c. 475 § 21

652.340 Requiring bond of employer. 
1) If upon investigation by the commissioner, 

after taking assignments of any wage claims
under ORS 652.330, it appears to the commis- 

sioner that the employer is representing to his
employes that he is able to pay wages for their
services and that the employes are not being
paid for their services, the commissioner may
require the employer to give a bond in such sum
as the commissioner deems reasonable and
adequate in the circumstances, with sufficient

surety, conditioned that the employer will for a
definite future period not exceeding six months
conduct his business and pay his employes in
accordance with the laws of Oregon. 

2) Upon receipt of a permit application filed

by a producer - promoter who is required to ob- 
tain a permit under ORS 652.325, the commis- 
sioner shall require the producer - promoter to

give a bond in an amount not less than the sum
of the wages to be paid to all musicians and

supporting technical personnel to be employed in
the production. Such bond shall be conditioned

on the payment of any wages due any musicians
and supporting technical personnel upon the
cessation of such production or upon the subro- 

gation of another for the liability of such
producer - promoter, if such subrogation is satis- 

factory to the commissioner. 

3) If within 10 days after demand for such
bond the employer fails to provide the same, the

commissioner may commence a suit against the
employer in the circuit court of appropriate

jurisdiction to compel him to furnish such bond

or cease doing business until he has done so. The
employer shall have the burden of proving the
amount thereof to be excessive. 

4) If the court finds that there is just cause

for requiring such bond and that the same is
reasonably necessary or appropriate to secure
the prompt payment of the wages of the em- 

ployes of such employer and his compliance with
ORS 652.310 to 652.405, the court shall enjoin

such employer from doing business in this state
until the requirement is met, or shall make oth- 

er, and may make further, orders appropriate to
compel compliance with the requirement. 

Amended by 1975 c. 488 § 51

652. 350 [Repealed by 1979 c. 695 § 71

652. 355 Prohibition against discrimi- 
nation because of wage claim; remedy. ( 1) 

No employer shall discharge or in any other
manner discriminate against any employe be- 
cause: 

a) The employe has made a wage claim or

discussed, inquired about or consulted an attor- 

ney or agency about a wage claim. 

b) The employe has caused to be instituted

any proceedings under or related to ORS 652. 310
to 652.405. 

c) The employe has testified or is about to

testify in any such proceedings. 

2) Any person who discharges or discrimi- 
nates against an employe in violation of subsec- 
tion ( 1) of this section shall be liable to the
employe discharged or discriminated against for
actual damages or $200, whichever is greater. In

any action under this subsection, the court may
award to the prevailing party, in addition to
costs and disbursements, reasonable attorney
fees. [ 1975 c. 397 § 2; 1980 s. s. c. 1 § 11

652.360 Contract exempting employer
from liability or penalty not valid; excep- 
tion. No employer may by special contract or
any other means exempt himself from any provi- 
sion of or liability or penalty imposed by ORS
652.310 to 652.405 or by any statute relating to
the payment of wages, except in so far as the

commissioner in writing approves a special
contract or other arrangement between an em- 
ployer and one or more of such employer' s em- 

ployes. The commissioner shall not give his
approval unless he finds that such contract or

arrangement will not prejudicially affect the
interest of the public or of the employes in- 

volved, and he may at any time retract such
approval, first giving the employer not less than
30 days' notice in writing. 

652. 370 Jurisdiction; proceedings in

name of the state. ( 1) Justice courts and

district courts shall have concurrent jurisdiction
with circuit courts over all cases mentioned in
ORS 652.330 or 652.340. 

2) The commissioner shall prosecute all
legal proceedings on his own official relation, but
in the name of the State of Oregon. 
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652.380 Remedies are cumulative; 

effect of payment or tender by employer
after proceeding commenced. ( 1) The reme- 

dies provided by ORS 652.310 to 652.405 shall be
additional to and not in substitution for and in

no manner impair other remedies and may be
enforced simultaneously or consecutively so far
as not inconsistent with each other. 

2) No payment or tender after the filing of a
criminal complaint or commencement of any

proceeding by the commissioner shall affect the
liability therein of an employer for expenses, or
prevent such employer from being subject to fine
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or forfeitures, or to the giving of bond under
ORS 652.340. 

652. 390 Deduction of costs from wage

claims by commissioner; assignment. of

wage claims. ( 1) The commissioner may
deduct and retain any moneys collected on each
wage claim as costs, attorney' s fees or commis- 
sioner' s penalties; and the amount deducted shall

be paid into the General Fund after deducting
actual costs and disbursements incurred in the
prosecution thereof. 

2) The commissioner may charge a claim- 
ant on a wage claim for which the commissioner
has obtained a judgment the actual collection
fees charged to the Bureau of Labor and Indus- 

tries by any other governmental agency assisting
in the collection of the judgment. 

3) The commissioner is authorized to assign
wage claim judgments for collection or to obtain

assistance in collection of such judgments and

may deduct and pay out from any moneys so
collected, a collection fee. [ Amended by 1957 c.465

7, 1967 c. 218 § 2; 1983 c.427 § 11

652. 400 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account; payment to persons

entitled thereto. Subject to ORS 652. 390, all
moneys collected on judgments pursuant to ORS
652. 330, or as a result of administrative proceed- 

ings pursuant to ORS 652.332, including fines, 
shall be paid to the commissioner and, together
with all other sums collected under ORS 652.310

to 652.405, be deposited in the State Treasury to
become part of a special trust account to be
known as the Wage Collection Account, which

account hereby is established in the State Trea- 
sury. All moneys in the Wage Collection Account
hereby are appropriated continuously for the
purpose of payment to the persons entitled

thereto. [Amended by 1957 c.465 § 8; 1979 c. 695 § 5] 

652. 405 Disposition of wages collect- 

ed by commissioner where payment can- 
not be made to person entitled thereto. ( 1) 

The Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and
Industries shall attempt for a period of not less
than seven years to make payment of wages

collected under ORS 652.310 to 652.405 ' to the
person entitled thereto. 

2) Wages collected by the commissioner
under ORS 652.310 to 652.405 and remaining
unclaimed for a period of more than seven years
from the date of collection shall, within 30 days
after June 30 of each year, be forfeited to the

state and shall be paid by the commissioner to
the Division of State Lands for the benefit of the
Common School Fund of this state. The division

shall issue a receipt for the money to the com- 
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missioner. The person entitled to the wages or

his heirs or personal representatives may reclaim
the wages paid into the Common School Fund
pursuant to this section within the time and in

the manner provided for estates which have
escheated to the state. [ 1957 c. 465 § 151

652.410 [ Repealed by 1977 c.618 § 21

Reciprocal) 

652.420 Definitions for ORS 652.420
to 652.445. ( 1) As used in ORS 652.420 to
652.445: 

a) " Labor bureau" includes any agency, 
bureau, commission, board or officer in another

state which performs functions substantially
corresponding to those of the Commissioner of
the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

b) " Labor Commissioner" means the Com- 
missioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

2) The definitions of ORS 652.310 and

652.320 shall apply to ORS 652.420 to 652.445, 
but nothing contained in those sections shall be
construed to preclude reciprocal enforcement of

wage claims under ORS 652.420 to 652.445, 
where the services of the employe were rendered

in another state. [ 1953 c. 256 § 11

652.425 Authority of Commissioner of
the Bureau of Labor and Industries to
enter into agreements with other states
for reciprocal enforcement of wage

claims. The Commissioner of the Bureau of

Labor and Industries may enter into agreements
with the corresponding labor bureau of another
state for the reciprocal enforcement and collec- 

tion of wage claims, if the other state has a recip- 
rocal statute similar to ORS 652.420 to 652.445

or otherwise authorizes the reciprocal enforce- 

ment and collection of wage claims in a manner

substantially similar to ORS 652.420 to 652.445. 
1953 c. 256 § 2] 

652.430 Assigning wage claim to

labor bureau of another state. Whenever a
wage claim is assigned to the Commissioner of
the Bureau of Labor and Industries in trust
pursuant to ORS 652.330 and the employer or

former employer upon whom demand for pay- 
ment is made by an employe in this state has
removed himself to another state, the commis- 

sioner may reassign the wage claim, with the
approval of the employe, to the labor bureau of

the other state, if there is in effect at the time a
valid reciprocal agreement under ORS 652.425
between the commissioner and the other state. 
1953 c. 256 §3] 
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652. 435 Accepting assignments of

wage claims from labor bureau of another
state. Whenever a labor bureau in another
state, which has entered into a reciprocal agree- 
ment under ORS 652.425 with the Commission- 
er of the Bureau of Labor and Industries and the
agreement is in effect at the time, takes an as- 

signment of a wage claim from an employe resid- 

ing in the other state for services rendered in the
other state to an employer or former employer
who has removed himself to Oregon, the Com- 
missioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries

may take an assignment of the wage claim from
such labor bureau and enforce the collection
thereof as provided in the applicable provisions

of ORS 652.330 to 652.405. [ 1953 c. 256 § 41

652.440 Retention by commissioner

or labor bureau of percentage of funds
collected. Any agreement concluded by the
Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and In- 
dustries shall make provision for the transfer of
funds collected pursuant to ORS 652. 420 to

652.445 and for retention by the commissioner
or the labor bureau in the other state of percen- 
tile amounts from the sums' collected to defray
the administrative costs of ORS 652. 420 to
652.445. Amounts authorized pursuant to this

section to be used to defray the administrative
costs of ORS 652.420 to 652. 445 shall be credited
to the Bureau of Labor and Industries Account
and shall be used only for the administration of
ORS 652.420 to 652.445. [ 1953 c. 256 § 5; 1957 c. 465

91

652. 445 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account. Except as provided in
ORS 652. 440, all moneys collected pursuant to

ORS 652.420 to 652.445, including fines and
costs, shall be paid to the Commissioner of the
Bureau of Labor and Industries and be deposited

in the State Treasury in the Wage Collection
Account established by ORS 652.400. [ 1953 c. 256

6, 1957 c 465 § 101

PRIORITY OF WAGE CLAIMS

652.500 Receiver to pay accrued

wages; payment of employes; receiver' s

certificates. Whenever the business or proper- 

ty of any person, company or corporation in this
state shall be placed by any court in this state in
the hands of a receiver, whether upon foreclosure
or creditor' s bill, the receiver, whether upon

foreclosure or creditor' s bill, the receiver shall

report immediately to the court appointing him, 
the amount due by the person, company or cor- 
poration, at the date of the receiver' s appoint- 
ment, to employes and laborers of the person, 

company or corporation. The court shall order
the receiver to pay out of the first receipts and
earnings of such person, company or corpora- 

tion, after paying current operating expenses
under his administration, the wages of all em- 

ployes' and laborers which had accrued within six
months prior to the appointment of the receiver. 

The court also shall order such receiver to pay
the wages of all employes and laborers employed

by him, at least once every 30 days, out of the
first receipts and earnings of such person, com- 

pany or corporation while under his manage- 
ment; but should the receiver not take in suffi- 

cient money from receipts and earnings to pay
the employes and laborers at least once every 30
days, then the receiver shall issue and deliver to
each of the employes and laborers, upon demand, 
a receiver' s certificate, showing the amount due
the employe or laborer in money, which certifi- 
cate will draw interest at the rate of eight per- 
cent per annum from the date of issuance until
paid. The receiver shall thereafter pay such
certificates, in the order of thie issuance, out of

the first money coming into his hands from the
receipts and earnings of the properties under his
charge. [Formerly 31. 050] 

Note: 652. 500 was enacted into law by the Legislative
Assembly but was not added to or made a part of ORS
chapter 652 or any series therein by legislative action. See
the preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explana- 
tion. 

652.510 Payment of wage claims by
receivers, assignees or court; filing state- 
ment of wages due. ( 1) When the property of
any company, cooperative association, corpora- 
tion, firm or person is seized upon by any pro- 
cess of any court of this state, or where their
business or property is placed in the hands of a
receiver, or whenever any assignment for the
benefit of creditors under the laws of this state is
made, then in all such cases the debts owing to
laborers or employes, which have accrued by
reason of their labor or employment to an

amount not exceeding $ 2, 000 to each employe

for work or labor performed within 90 days next

preceding the seizure or transfer or assignment
of such property, or appointment of said receiver
shall be considered and treated as preferred
debts, and such laborers or employes shall be
preferred creditors, and shall first be paid in full, 

and if there is not sufficient to pay them in full, 
their claims shall be paid pro rata, after paying
costs. 

2) Any such laborer or employe desiring to
enforce the claim of the laborer or employe for
wages under ORS 652.510 to 652.570 shall
present a statement under oath showing the
amount due after allowing all just credits and
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setoffs, the kind of work for which said wages are
due and when performed, to the officer or person
charged with the execution of said process, with- 

in 10 days after the seizure thereof on any execu- 
tion or writ of attachment, or to such receiver or

assignee within 30 days after the same may have
been placed in the hands of any such assignee or
receiver. [ Amended by 1977 c. 288 § 1, 1981 c. 594 § 41

652. 520 Form of statement of wage

claim. The statement to be presented under

ORS 652.510 shall be substantially in the follow- 
ing form: 

State of Oregon ) 

ss. 

County of - - - -, ) 

I, - - - -, being first duly sworn, say that
is indebted to me in the sum of -- 

dollars over and above all just credits and setoffs, 
on account of work, services and labor performed

by me for the said - - - -, upon the following
terms and conditions, to wit: That I was em- 

ployed by the said — — — — on or about the

day of - - - -, 19 —, to work ( here de- 
scribe character of work) at the rate of -- 

dollars per month (or for a reasonable considera- 
tion for such work), and that under said contract
I began to work on the -- day of - - - -, 
19 —, and between that day and the -- day of

19 —, I performed work, services and
labor -- days, amounting to the sum of -- 
dollars ( or the reasonable value of -- dollars); 
that the said — — — — has paid me on account
of the said labor the sum of -- dollars, and no
more; and that there is now due me, the sum of

dollars, over and above all just credits and

offsets; and that during the 90 days next preced- 
ing the -- day of - - - -, 19 —, I had per- 
formed -- days' labor under said contract, 

amounting to the sum of -- dollars ( or that

said services were reasonably worth the sum of
dollars); and that, applying all the credits

above stated, there is due me from the said
on account of labor for the said 90

days, the sum of -- dollars, and no more; claim
as due me. 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this -- 

day of - - - -, 19 —. 

652.530 Serving copy of statement; 
report to court; order of payment. ( 1) The

person claiming the benefit of ORS 652.510 to
652.570 shall serve upon the debtor, or upon the
officer, assignee or receiver for the debtor where

personal service cannot be had, a copy of the
verified claim. Thereafter the person receiving
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652. 560

such statement shall report the amount of such

claim to the court having jurisdiction of such
officer, receiver or assignee, together with a

statement of all costs occasioned by the seizure
of said property or of such receivership or assign- 
ment. 

2) The court shall order such claims to be
paid after payment of the costs and expenses of

such seizure and sale, and the costs and disburse- 

ments which have accrued before the filing of the
notice under ORS 652.510 and of assignment or

receivership, out of the proceeds of the sale of
the property so seized, assigned, or placed in the
hands of an assignee or receiver. 

652. 540 Exception to claim; legal
action on claim. ( 1) Any person interested
may contest all or any part of a claim mentioned

in ORS 652. 530, by filing in said court excep- 
tions thereto, supported by affidavit, within 10
days from the filing of the report provided in
ORS 652. 530. Thereupon the claimant shall be

required to establish his claim, by judgment in
such court, before any part thereof shall be paid. 

2) When any claim is excepted to as provid- 
ed in this section, the person desiring to estab- 
lish the same shall file in said court, within 30
days after the claim is excepted to, his verified
complaint as in an action at law and serve it

upon the person excepting, or his attorney of
record, and upon the principal debtor for the

claim, or his attorney of record. 
3) Thereafter the cause shall proceed to

final judgment between the parties as an action
at law. 

652. 550 Payment of claims prerequi- 
site to discharge of attachment or execu- 

tion, assignee or receiver, or to abandon- 

ment of seizure or sale. No attachment or
execution shall be discharged nor shall the sei- 

zure or sale of property seized be abandoned, or
assignee or receiver discharged, until every

claimant presenting his claim under ORS
652.510 to 652.570 has been paid in full, or pro
rata, as provided in ORS 652.510, or has con- 
sented to such discharge or abandonment. 

652. 560 Costs and attorney fees. 

Whenever any claim has been excepted to under
ORS 652.540 and the claim is established by
judgment and the court rendering the judgment
is satisfied that the exceptions were made with- 
out probable cause or that the person so except- 

ing could have ascertained with reasonable dili- 
gence that such claim was true and just, the

claimant in such action shall be entitled to have
the costs of such action, and such sum as the

court may adjudge reasonable as attorney fees at
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trial and on appeal, enforced by execution
against the person objecting as a judgment debt- 
or in the first instance. However, if the court
does not so find, or if execution, when issued, is
returned nulls bona, then in either case such

costs and attorney fees shall be ordered paid out
of the proceeds of the property sold next after
the payment of all claims presented under ORS
652.510 to 652.570. [ Amended by 1981 c. 897 § 891

652. 570 Priority of wage claims over
transfers in payment of preexisting obli- 
gations; payment and subrogation of

transferee. ( 1) Every sale or transfer of any
property in payment of any preexisting debt, or
obligation, and every mortgage or lien created or
executed to secure the payment of a preexisting

debt, shall be void as against laborers or em- 
ployes of such vendor, mortgagor, or other lien
debtor, to the extent of their claims for wages, 

not exceeding the sum of $600 to each of said
laborers which may be owing for work or labor
performed within 90 days next preceding such
sale and transfer or the execution of such lien or
mortgage, if the laborer or employe claiming the
benefit of this section: 

a) Within 10 days after the actual delivery
of the property or within 30 days after the
recording of any such deed, transfer, mortgage or
lien, gives such owner or holder of such lien or
such vendee notice of his claim substantially in
the form and verified as provided in ORS
652. 520, which notice shall be served by deliver- 
ing it or a copy thereof to such owner or holder
of such lien or such vendee in person or, in case

he cannot be found within the county in which
such lien or deed may be of record after diligent
inquiry, by delivering the notice or a copy there- 
of to the clerk of the county court for such owner
or holder of such lien or such vendee; and

b) Within 30 days commences a suit to
establish the claim and prosecute it to judgment. 

2) The vendee or mortgage or lien holder, or

his assignee, may pay such claim and thereby be
subrogated to the rights and lien of such laborer
or employe, as against the vendor, principal

debtor or mortgagor, and as against subsequent

mortgagees or other subsequent lien creditors. 

3) This section does not apply to any mort- 
gage or lien given in renewal of a preexisting
mortgage or lien. [ Amended by 1977 c. 288 § 21

652. 580 [ Repealed by 1981 c. 898 § 531

STATEMENTS RELATING TO
EMPLOYE' S SALARY AND

DEDUCTIONS THEREFROM

Generally) 

652.610 Itemized statement of

amounts and purposes of deductions re- 

quired. ( 1) All persons, firms, partnerships, 
associations, cooperative associations, corpora- 

tions, municipal corporations, the state and its
political subdivisions, except the Federal Gov- 
ernment and its agencies, employing, in this
state, during any calendar month one or more
persons, and withholding for any purpose, any
sum of money from the wages, salary or commis- 
sion earned by an employe, shall provide such
employe on regular paydays with a statement

sufficiently itemized to show the amount and
purpose of such deductions made during the
respective period of service which said payment

covers. 

2) The itemized statement shall be fur- 
nished to the employe at the time payment of

wages, salary or commission is made, and may be
attached to or be a part of the check, draft, 
voucher or other instrument by which payment
is made, or may be delivered separately from
such instrument. 

3) No employer may withhold,; deduct or
divert any portion of an employe' s wages unless: 

a) The employer is required to do so by law; 

b) The deductions are authorized in writing
by the employe, are for the employe' s benefit, 
and are recorded in the employer' s books; 

c) The employe has voluntarily signed an
authorization for a deduction for any other item, 
provided that the ultimate recipient of the mon- 

ey withheld is not the employer, and that such
deduction is recorded in the employer' s books; or

d) The deduction is authorized by a collec- 
tive bargaining agreement to which the employer
is a party. 

4) Nothing in this section shall be con- 
strued as prohibiting the withholding of

amounts authorized in writing by the employe to
be contributed by the employe to charitable
organizations, including contributions made
pursuant to ORS 243.666 and 663. 110; nor shall

this section prohibit deductions by check -off
dues to labor organizations or service fees, where
such is not otherwise prohibited by law; nor shall
this section diminish or enlarge the right of any
person to assert and enforce a lawful setoff or
counterclaim or to attach, take, reach or apply
an employe' s compensation on due legal process. 
Amended by 1977 c.618 § 1; 1980 s. s. c. 1 § 2; 1981 c. 594 § 51

66

652,015 Remedy for violation of ORS
652.610. There is hereby created a private
cause of action for a violation of ORS 652. 610 ( 3) 
for actual damages or $200, whichever is greater. 
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In any such action the court may award to the
prevailing party, in addition to costs and dis- 
bursements, reasonable attorney fees. [ 1981 c.594

7] 

652.620 Statement of yearly compen- 
sation on request of employe. All persons, 
firms, partnerships, associations, cooperative

associations, corporations, municipal corpora- 

tions, the state and its political subdivisions

thereof, except the Federal Government and its

agencies employing, in this state, five or more
persons, during any calendar month, upon the
request of any employe or former employe, and
upon five days' notice to said employer shall give
to such employe, not later than March 10 of each

year, a statement showing the total compensa- 
tion paid by such employer to such employe, or
former employe, during the previous calendar
year. 

Agricultural Workers) 

652.630 Definitions for ORS 652.630
to 652. 640. As used in ORS 652.630 to
652.640, unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) ` Bonus" means an increase in the agreed
rate of compensation based on the amount of

time worked during a perishable agricultural
product season or based on the amount of a
perishable agricultural product that is harvested. 

2) " Labor contractor" means a farm labor

contractor as defined in ORS 658.405. 

3) " Producer" means a person who raises
perishable agricultural products. [ 1969 c.572 § 11

Note: 652. 630 to 652.640 were enacted into law by the
Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 652 by legislative action. See the Preface to
Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation. 

652.635 Growers to post certain

terms of employment. Every producer, or his
agent, who employs a labor contractor to provide

a working crew for harvesting perishable agricul- 
tural products or who offers a bonus to those
persons who harvest perishable agricultural

products shall cause to be conspicuously posted
and maintained on the premises where the agri- 

cultural products are to be harvested a notice
that states: 

1) A description of the terms and condi- 

tions of any bonus offered, including the manner
of determining when the bonus is earned. 

2) That portion of the labor contractor' s
compensation that is based on the amount of

work done by each employe of the labor contrac- 
tor. [ 1969 c. 572 § 2] 
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Note: See note under 652. 630. 

652.640 Itemized statement of com- 
pensation and deductions required. Each
time a person who harvests perishable agricul- 

tural products receives compensation payments

at a regular pay period or upon termination of
employment, the producer, or his agent, or, if the
person is an employe of a labor contractor, the
labor contractor shall furnish to such person a

written statement itemizing the total payment
and each deduction therefrom. [1969 c.572 § 3] 

Note: See note under 652.630. 

FEES OR DEDUCTIONS FOR
MEDICAL CARE

652.710 Fees collected by employer
for medical care contracts are trust funds; 

priority on liquidation. ( 1) All moneys col- 

lected by an employer from employes or retained
from their wages for the purpose of providing for
or furnishing to such employes medical and
surgical attention, hospital care, X -rays, ambu- 

lance, nursing or any related service or care
contingent upon sickness or injury pursuant to a
contract are trust funds and shall be placed and

kept in separate accounts by the employer and
shall promptly be paid over to the contractor. 
Such funds shall in no event become a part of
the assets of the employer. 

2) If the employer fails to place and keep
such funds in separate accounts and pay them
over to the contractor or if the funds become
commingled with' the funds of the employer and

the employer becomes bankrupt, insolvent or

goes through voluntary or involuntary liqui- 
dation, or if a receiver is appointed to operate or
liquidate the affairs of the employer, the funds
not paid to the contractor shall be entitled to the
same preference as given to claims of the State
Accident Insurance Fund Corporation, as pro- 
vided in ORS 656.562. [ Formerly 655. 1301

652. 720 Prohibited use by employer
of fees for medical care contracts with- 
held from employe wages. ( 1) No employer

shall retain, directly or indirectly, from employes
or from their wages any part of the money col- 
lected or retained under ORS 652. 710 for his
own use or benefit. 

2) No employer shall apply, directly or
indirectly, any portion of the money so collected
to his cost of compensation or to the cost of any
medical, surgical or hospital care and attention

for employes on account of injuries sustained by
them in the course of their employment. 

Formerly 655. 110] 



652. 750 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

PERSONNEL RECORDS

652.750 Inspection of records by em- 
ploye; furnishing copy to employe; dispo- 
sition of record on termination of employ- 
ment; charge for copies. ( 1) As used in this

section: 

a) " Employer" has the meaning for that
term provided in ORS 656.005. 

b) " Personnel records" do not include

records of an individual relating to the convic- 
tion, arrest or investigation of conduct constitut- 

ing a violation of the criminal laws of this state
or another state or the United States, confiden- 
tial reports from previous employers or records
maintained in compliance with ORS 351. 065. 

2) At the request of an employe, his employ- 
er shall provide reasonable opportunity for the
employe to inspect, at the place of his employ- 
ment or place of work assignment, those person- 
nel records of the employe which are used or

have been used to determine the employe' s quali- 
fication for employment, promotion; additional
compensation or employment termination or

other disciplinary action. At the request of the
employe, his employer shall furnish a certified

copy of such records. 

3) Upon termination of employment, the

employer shall keep the terminated employe' s
personnel records for not less than 60 days. At
the request of the employe, the employer shall

furnish a certified copy of such records within
the 60 -day period. 

4) An employer may make only such charge
for the services referred to in subsections ( 2) and

3) of this section as is reasonably calculated to
recover the actual cost of providing the service. 
1977 c. 861 § 21

PENALTIES

652.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of ORS

652. 020 ( 2) is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not less than $ 50 nor more than $ 500. 

Every day' s violation is deemed a separate of- 
fense. 

2) Any person, body corporate, general
manager or employer.who violates ORS 652. 040
or causes ORS 652.040 to be violated is punish- 

able, upon conviction, by a fine of not less than
50, nor more than $300, or by imprisonment in

the county jail for not less than 30 days, nor
more than three months, or both. 

3) Violation of ORS 652.110 or 652. 120 is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
more than $500. 

4) Violation of ORS 652. 130 by any employ- 
er is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not more than $ 500 or by imprisonment in the
county jail for not more than 60 days, or by both. 
Justice courts, district courts and circuit courts
shall ' have concurrent jurisdiction in all cases

arising under this subsection. 

5) In addition to the civil damages recovera- 
ble under ORS 652. 230, violation of ORS

652. 210 to 652.230 is a misdemeanor. 

6) The violation of ORS 652.240 is a misde- 
meanor. 

7) Violation of ORS 652.355 is a Class C
misdemeanor. 

8) Violation of ORS 652.610 or 652. 620 is

punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not less
than $10 nor more than $100 for each offense. 

9) Wilful violation of ORS 652.635 or

652.640 by a producer or his agent is a misde- 
meanor. 

10) Violation of any of the provisions of
ORS 652.710 ' or 652. 720 by any employer is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not less
than $ 50 nor more than $ 500. [ Subsection ( 5) 

enacted as 1955 c 193 § 4; subsection ( 6) enacted as 1957

c. 243 § 2; subsection ( 9) formerly 655. 990; subsection ( 8) 

enacted as 1969 c. 572 § 4; 1975 c. 397 § 5] 
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