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725.010 Definitions. As used in this
chapter, unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Licensee” means every person li-
censed under this chapter.

(2) “Licensing official” means the Superin-
tendent of Banks.

725.015 Construction of chapter.
Nothing in this chapter shall be construed or
held to limit the rights, powers or privileges
granted to any person by any law of this state
or of the United States whereby the loaning of
money or extending of credit is regulated,
provided that such person is operating in
compliance with the provisions of such law.
[Formerly 725 040]

725.020 Short title. This chapter shall
be known as the Oregon Consumer Finance
Act. [Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §1]

725.025 Declaration of legislative
intent. It is the intent of the legislature in
enacting chapter 71, Oregon Laws 1955, to
consolidate the Small Loan Act, ORS chapter
725 [1953 edition], and the Motor Vehicle
Finance Act, ORS chapter 727 [1953 edition],
to provide uniformity in the business of mak-
ing loans or advancements in the amount or
value of $1,500 or less to eliminate the
present duplication of licenses, records, re-
ports and supervision. [1955 ¢ 71 §14)]

725.026 Existing contracts not affect-
ed. Nothing contained in chapter 71, Oregon
Laws 1955, shall be construed to impair or
affect the obligation of any contract lawfully
made prior to August 3, 1955, including any
lawful contract made by a licensee under ORS
chapter 725 [1953 edition] or ORS chapter 727
[1953 edition]. [1955 ¢ 71 §16]

725.027 Licenses of persons licensed
under ORS chapter 725 or 727 on August
3, 1955, continued in force. (1) Any person
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter 725
on August 3, 1955, is deemed to be licensed
under and subject to ORS chapter 725 during
the period from August 3, 1955, to and 1nclud-
ing December 31, 1955. Any person not li-
censed under and subject to ORS chapter 725,
but who holds a license under ORS chapter
727 on August 3, 1955, and who held such
license on January 1, 1955, is deemed to be
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter 725
during the period from August 3, 1955, to and
including December 31, 1955. Only one license
shall be issued for each licensed office, irre-
spective of whether such office 1s licensed

under both ORS chapter 725 and ORS chapter
727 and irrespective of whether the two li-
censes are held by different persons. The
licensing official shall charge no further fees
for the continuance of a license as provided in
this subsection. The licensing official shall
investigate the facts and satisfy himself that
this section entitles a person to a continuance
of a license.

(2) Any license in effect on December 31,
1955, under subsection (1) of this section,
shall be continued in force as long as the
standards are maintained under ORS chapter
725, by payment of the required annual li-
cense fee, and such license shall be evidenced
by a new certificate which shall be a continu-
Ing license. [1955 ¢ 71 §15)

725.030 {[Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §2, 1971 ¢ 450 §1;
1973 ¢ 428 §1, 1975 ¢ 567 §1, repealed by 1981 c 412 §9
(725 031, 725 036 and 725 041 enacted 1n lieu of 725 030)]

725.031 License required before mak-
ing certain loans; penalty. (1) Except as
provided in ORS 725.041, no person, without
first obtaining a license under this chapter,
shall:

(a) Make a business or agricultural loan of
$50,000 or less at an annual rate of interest
exceeding the greater of 12 percent, or five
percent 1n excess of the discount rate, includ-
ing any surcharge on the discount rate, on
90-day commercial paper in effect at the Fed-
eral Reserve bank in the Federal Reserve
district where the person making the loan is
located, on the date the loan or the initial
advance of funds under the loan is made; or

(b) Make a loan of $50,000 or less, except
a loan made under paragraph (a) of this sub-
section, at an annual rate of interest exceed-
ing the greater of 12 percent, or five percent
in excess of the discount rate on 90-day com-
mercial paper in effect at the Federal Reserve
bank in the Federal Reserve district where the
person making the loan is located, on the date
the loan or the initial advance of funds under
the loan is made.

(2) In addition to any civil penalty which
may be imposed under ORS 725.910, any
person who violates subsection (1) of this
section shall forfeit the right to collect or
recelve any interest upon any loan for which a
greater rate of interest or consideration than
is permitted by subsection (1) of this section
has been charged, contracted for or received.
The borrower upon such loan shall be required
to repay only the principal amount borrowed.

[1981 ¢ 412 §10 (725 031, 725 036 and 725 041 enacted 1n
lieu of 725 030)]
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725.036 Computation of interest;
charges not included. (1) If, pursuant to any
arrangement, understanding or agreement,
with the knowledge of the lender, either as a
part of the contract of borrowing or collateral
thereto, regardless of when made and whether
it is made as a special arrangement or in
conformity to a regular rule, regulation or
practice, there is paid by or at the expense of
the borrower to the lender, or the lender’s
broker, officer, director or agent, with respect
to or in connection with any loan to which
ORS 725.031 applies, any commission, bonus,
fee, premium, penalty or other charge, com-
pensation or gratuity, whether in money,
credit or other thing of value, as a considera-
tion, compensation or inducement for obtain-
ing any such loan, or any renewal, extension
or forebearance thereof, the same shall be
deemed a part of the interest charged on such
loan.

(2) In computing interest for the purposes
of ORS 725.031, any bona fide commission
paid or sustained by the borrower shall be
computed for the contract term and not for
any accelerated period or prepayment.

(3) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this
section, the following charges shall not be
deemed a part of the interest charged on a
loan:

(a) Reasonable amounts actually applied
in payment of the expense of inspecting any
security offered in connection with the loan,
investigating the responsibility of the appli-
cant or procuring or extending any abstract of
title or certificate of title insurance covering
such security;

(b) The amount actually paid for the ex-
amination of any such abstract or title insur-
ance certificate; or

(c) The cost of the preparation, execution
and recording of any papers necessary in
consummating such loan. (1981 c412 §11
(725 031, 725 036 and 725 041 enacted 1n lLieu of 725 030)]

725.040 [Renumbered 725 015]

725.041 Exceptions to application of
ORS 725.031 and 725.036. ORS 725.031 and
725.036 do not apply to:

(1) Any bank, national bank, state or
federally chartered mutual savings bank,
state or federally chartered savings and loan
association, state or federally chartered credit

union or pawnbroker licensed under ORS
chapter 726.

(2) Any lender approved by the Secretary
of Housing and Urban Development of the
United States for participation in any mort-
gage insurance program under the National
Housing Act (12 U.S.C. 1701 et seq.).

(3) Any loan secured by a first lien on real
property or made to finance the acquisition of
real property and secured by any lien on that
property.

(4) Any loan which is secured by real
property, which is scheduled under the loan
agreement to be repaid in substantially equal
payments and which is made by a lender
described in this subsection. A lender under
this subsection is one who makes, invests in or
arranges real property loans, including loans
secured by first liens on residential manufac-
tured homes, aggregating more than $1 mil-
lion per year. Under this subsection, payments
shall be “substantially equal” if, under the
terms of the loan agreement, no single sched-
uled payment is more than twice the amount
of any other scheduled payment.

(5) Any loan wholly or partially secured or
covered by guarantees or insurance by the
Federal Housing Administration, the Veter-
ans Administration or the Farmers Home
Administration of the United States, any
department, bureau, board, commission or
agency of the United States, or any corpora-
tion wholly owned, directly or indirectly by
the United States.

(6) Any loan permitted under applicable
federal law and regulations from a tax quali-
fied retirement plan to a person then a partici-
pant under the plan.

(7) Any bona fide sale or resale of securi-
ties or commercial paper

(8) Any interest charge by broker-dealers
registered under the Securities Exchange Act
of 1934 for carrying a debit balance in an
account for a customer if the debit balance is
payable on demand and secured by stocks or
bonds. (1981 ¢412 §12 (725031, 725036 and 725 041
enacted 1n heu of 725 030)]

725.050 Prohibited transactions.
licensee shall take:

No

(1) Any power of attorney from any bor-
rower, except a power of attorney to effectuate
the transfer of the ownership of any motor
vehicle at the time of making a loan on a
motor vehicle.
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(2) Any note or promise to pay which does
not accurately disclose the actual amount of
the loan, the time for which it is made, the
rate of interest charged or the schedule of
payments agreed upon, or any instrument in
which blanks are left to be filled in after
execution. [Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §3; 1971 c 450 §2,
1979 c 88 §41, 1981 ¢ 412 §13]

725.060 False advertising prohibited.
No licensee or other person shall advertise,
print, display, publish, distribute or broadcast
or cause or permit to be advertised, printed,
displayed, published, distributed or broadcast
in any manner whatsoever any statement or
representation with regard to the rates, terms
or conditions for loans which is false, mislead-
ing or deceptive.

725.110 Residence qualifications of
licensees. No license shall be granted to any
person, partnership, association or corporation
unless that person and all members of any
such partnership or association are bona fide
residents of this state and unless such corpo-
ration is an Oregon corporation in good stand-
ing or a foreign corporation legally quahfled
to do business in this state

725.120 Application for license; no-
tice of filing; annual fee. (1) Application for
the license shall be in writing in the form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
contain the name and both the residence and
business addresses of the applicant, and if the
applicant is a partnership or association, of
every member thereof, and if a corporation, of
each officer and director thereof. The applica-
tion shall also contain the county and city or
town with street and number, if any, where
the business is to be conducted and any other
information which the licensing official may
require.

(2) Notice of the filing of the application
shall be posted in the office of the licensing
official for 30 days and no license shall be
issued before the expiration of such 30-day
period. However, the licensing official in his
discretion may waive the posting of notice and
issue a license without regard to such 30-day
period if the application is for a license at a
location where a license has been surrendered
because of:

(a) The transfer of the business of the
licensee, and the applicant is the transferee;
or

(b) The death of the licensee, and the
applicant is a representative or heir of the
licensee; or

(c) The change of the name under which
the licensee does business, and the applicant
is the same licensee.

(3) An applicant at the time of making
application shall pay to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund an annual license
fee set under ORS 725.180 for the period
terminating on the last day of the current
calendar year. However, if the application is
filed after June 30 in any year the amount
paid shall be one-half of the annual license
fee. In case the license is not issued for cause
or if the application is withdrawn after the
applicant has been 1nvestigated by the licens-
ing official, there shall be refunded to the
applicant all the license fee except $50 which
shall be retained by the licensing official;
otherwise no part of any license fee shall be
refunded. [Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §4, 1977 ¢ 135 §49]

725.125 [1971 ¢ 450 §5, repealed by 1973 ¢ 428 §11]
725.130 [Repealed by 1955 ¢ 71 §17]

725.140 Issuance of license; condi-
tions. (1) Conditioned upon the applicant’s
compliance with this chapter and the payment
of the license fee, the licensing official within
90 days after the date of filing the application
referred to in ORS 725.120, shall disapprove
the application or shall issue and deliver a
license to the applicant to make loans in ac-
cordance with this chapter at the location
specified in the application, which license
shall be a continuing license and need not be
issued annually, to remain in full force and
effect until it is surrendered by the licensee or
revoked or suspended as provided in ORS
725.230 and 725.250; provided the licensing
official finds upon investigation:

(a) That the financial responsibility, expe-
rience, character and general fitness of the
applicant, and of the members thereof if the
applicant is a partnership or association, and
of the officers and directors thereof if the
applicant is a corporation, are such as to com-
mand the confidence of the community and to
warrant the belief that the business will be
operated honestly, fairly and efficiently with-
in the purposes of this chapter; and

(b) That allowing the applicant to engage
in business will promote the convenience and
advantage of the community in which the
business of the applicant is to be conducted,
and in the absence of any other reason or
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condition which 1n his judgment would war-
rant the refusal to grant a license.

(2) The findings mentioned in subsection
(1) of this section are conditions precedent to
issuance of a license under this chapter.
[Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §5; 1963 ¢ 167 §1, 1977 ¢ 135 §50]

725.145 Disapproval of application
for license. (1) The licensing official may
disapprove an application for a license if any
person named in the application submitted
pursuant to ORS 725.120:

(a) Is insolvent, either in the sense that
his liabilities exceed his assets or that he
cannot meet his obligations as they mature, or
is in such financial condition that he cannot
continue in business with safety to his cus-
tomers;

(b) Has engaged in dishonest, fraudulent
or illegal practices or conduct in any business
or profession;

(¢) Has wilfully or repeatedly violated or
failed to comply with any provision of the
Oregon Bank Act, the Savings Association
Act, the Oregon Credit Union Act, the Oregon
Consumer Finance Act or the Pawnbrokers
Act, or any administrative rule or order adopt-
ed pursuant to any such Act;

(d) Has been convicted of a felony or of a
misdemeanor, an essential element of either
of which is fraud;

(e) Is permanently or temporarily enjoined
by a court of competent jurisdiction from
engaging in or continuing any conduct or
practice involving any aspect of the consumer
finance business;

(f) Is the subject of an order of the licens-
ing official or of any other regulatory authori-
ty of this state subjecting him to a fine or
other civil penalty, or removing him from an
office in a financial institution, credit union,
consumer finance company or savings associa-
tion; or

(g) Is the subject of an order entered with-
in the past five years, subjecting him to a fine
or other civil penalty, or removing him from
an office in a financial institution, 1ssued by
the regulatory authority of another state or of
the Federal Government with authority over
financial institutions.

(2) The licensing official may issue an
order removing any officer or director of a
licensee from his office for any of the reasons
stated by subsection (1) of this section. [1977
c 135 §48]

725.150 Appeal of disapproval of
application. If the application is denied, the
licensing official shall indorse thereon with
the date the word “Disapproved” and shall
immediately arvise the applicant by regis-
tered mail of the reason therefor. The apph-
cant shall have the right of appeal from the
decision to the circuit court for the county of
the city or town mentioned 1n the application.
The appeal must be taken within 30 days
after date of mailing of the notice of disap-
proval.

725.160 Form of license; posting;
transferability. The license shall be in a form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
state the address at which the business 1s to
be conducted and the full name of the licen-
see. The license shall be kept conspicuously
posted 1n the place of business of the licensee
and shall not be transferable or assignable.
[Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §6]

725.170 [Repealed by 1955 ¢ 71 §17]

725.180 Annual fee. Every licensee, on
or before December 15 of each year, shall pay
to the licensing official the annual license fee
of $250 for the next succeeding calendar year.
[{Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §7, 1977 ¢ 135 §53]

725.190 Annual report of licensee;
report of licensing official; penalty for
failure to report by licensee. (1) On or be-
fore February 15 of each year every licensee
shall file a report with the licensing official
giving such relevant information as the li-
censing official reasonably may require con-
cerning the business and operations during
the preceding calendar year of each licensed
place of business conducted by the licensee
within the state The report shall be made
under oath and shall be in the form prescribed
by the licensing official, who shall make and
publish annually a recapitulation of such
reports.

(2) Every licensee who fails to file any
report required under this chapter within the
time specified may be subject to a penalty of
$10 per day for each day’s delay. [Amended by
1955 ¢ 71 §8, 1973 ¢ 428 §2]

725.200 [Repealed by 1971 ¢ 743 §432]

725.210 Additional licenses to same
applicant. No licensee shall transact any
business within the scope of this chapter ex-
cept under the name and at the place of busi-
ness named in his license. The licensing offi-
cial may issue more than one license to the
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same licensee upon his compliance with all
the provisions of this chapter governing an
original issuance of a license for each such
additional license. However, each additional
license shall be for a separate and distinct
place of business for making and completing
loans as provided in this chapter.

725.220 Change of place of business.
(1) Whenever a licensee wishes to change his
place of business to another location within
the same city or town, he shall submit written
notice thereof, together with his license, to the
licensing official. If the licensing official,
upon investigation, finds that allowing the
licensee to engage in business at the proposed
new location will promote the convenience and
advantage of the community in which the
proposed new location of the business is situ-
ated, he shall amend the license of the licen-
see to reflect the new location, and shall re-
turn the amended license to the licensee. If
the licensing official disapproves the proposed
new location of the business, he shall indorse
on the notice of the licensee the word “Disap-
proved,” immediately advise the licensee by
registered mail of such disapproval and return
the license unchanged to the licensee. The
licensee may appeal from such disapproval in
the manner provided in ORS 725.150.

(2) No change 1n the place of business of a
licensee to a location outside the city or town
named in the original license shall be permit-
ted under the same license. [Amended by 1955
c 71 §9]

725.230 Revocation and suspension
of licenses. (1) The licensing official may
revoke any license under this chapter upon 10
days’ notice to the licensee stating the contem-
plated action and in general the grounds
therefor and upon reasonable opportunity for
a hearing in connection therewith, if he finds
that:

(a) The licensee has failed to pay the an-
nual license fee or to comply with any de-
mand, ruling or requirement of the licensing
official lawfully made pursuant to and within
the authority of this chapter or to comply with
the provisions of law to keep the corporation
in good standing if such licensee is a corpora-
tion;

(b) The licensee has violated any provi-
sions of this chapter or any rule or regulation
lawfully made by the licensing official under
and within the authority of this chapter; or

(c) Any fact or condition exists which, if it
had existed at the time of the original applica-
tion for such license, clearly would have war-
ranted the licensing official in refusing origi-
nally to issue such license.

(2) The licensing official may, without
notice or hearing, suspend any license for a
period not exceeding 30 days, pending investi-
gation.

(3) The licensing official may revoke or
suspend only the particular license with re-
spect to which grounds for revocation or sus-
pension may occur or exist, or, if he finds that
such grounds for revocation or suspension are
of general application to all offices or to more
than one office operated by a licensee, he may
revoke or suspend all the licenses or such
number of licenses issued to the licensee as
the grounds for revocation or suspension apply
to, as the case may be. [Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §10]

725.235 License denial procedure;
promulgation, review of rules and orders.
(1) Where the superintendent proposes to
refuse to issue a license, or proposes to revoke
or suspend a license, opportunity for hearing
shall be accorded as provided in ORS 183.310
to 183.550.

(2) Promulgation of rules, conduct of hear-
ings, issuance of orders and judicial review of
rules and orders shall be as provided in ORS
183.310 to 183.550. [1971 ¢ 734 §176]

725.240 [Repealed by 1971 ¢ 734 §21]

725.250 Surrender of license. Any
licensee may surrender any license issued to
him by delivering written notice to the licens-
ing official that he thereby surrenders such
license, but such surrender shall not affect the
licensee’s civil or criminal liability for acts
committed prior to the surrender.

725.260 Expiration of license; effect
of expiration, revocation or surrender.
The revocation, suspension or surrender of
any license shall not impair or affect the
rights or obligations of any preexisting lawful
contract between the licensee and any borrow-
er. [Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §11]

725.270 Reinstatement of revoked
license; fee. The licensing official may rein-
state any revoked license upon the licensee’s
compliance with the provisions of law or any
demand, ruling or requirement lawfully made
by the licensing official pursuant to and with-
in the authority of this chapter. For such
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reinstatement of license the licensee shall pay
a fee of $25.

725.310 Investigation and examina-
tion of licensees. (1) For the purpose of dis-
covering violations of this chapter or securing
information lawfully required by the licensing
official under this chapter the licensing offi-
cial may at any time, either personally or by a
duly appointed examiner or deputy, investi-
gate the loans and business and examine the
books, accounts, records and files used there-
n, of every licensee and of every person who
the licensing official has reason to believe is
making loans in violation of ORS 725.031,
whether such person acts or claims to act as
principal or agent or under or without the
authority of this chapter. For such purpose the
licensing official or a duly appointed examiner
or deputy shall have free access to the place of
business, books, accounts, safes and vaults of
all such persons. The licensing official or a
duly appointed examiner or deputy shall have
authority to examine under oath all persons
whose testimony the licensing official may
require relative to such loans or business.

(2) The licensing official may cause an
examination to be made by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy of the loans and business,
books, accounts, records and files of each
licensee under this chapter without previous
notice to the licensee and at such 1ntervals as
the licensing official may deem advisable or
expedient and not less often than once a year
The actual cost of each examination, or the
sum of $20, whichever 1s larger, shall be paid
to the licensing official for the State Banking
Fund by every licensee so examined. The
licensing official may maintain an action for
the recovery of such costs in any court of
competent jurisdiction. [Amended by 1955 c¢71
§12, 1973 ¢ 428 §3, 1981 ¢ 412 §14]

725.315 Removal or suspension of
officer of licensee. If the licensing official
finds that any officer or director of a licensee
is dishonest, reckless or incompetent, or refus-
es to comply with the law, rules of the hcens-
ing official or any written requirements or
instructions of the licensing official, the li-
censing official may 1ssue a written order to
the individual removing or suspending him
from his office or position [1977 c 135 §52)

725.320 Rules and regulations. (1) The
licensing official may make such general rules
and regulations and such specific rulings,
demands and findings as may be necessary for

the proper conduct of the business regulated
by this chapter and the enforcement of this
chapter in addition to and not inconsistent
with this chapter.

(2) All general rules and regulations shall
be filed by the licensing official with the
Banking Division in an indexed, permanent
book, with the effective date thereof suitably
indicated, and such book shall be a pubhc
record. A copy of every general rule and regu-
lation shall be mailed by the licensing official
to all licensees at their respective licensed
places of business at least 10 days before the
effective date thereof.

725.330 Books and records of licen-
see. Subject to the provisions of this chapter,
the licensing official may prescribe the form
of the books and records to be kept by the
licensee. All such books and records shall be
preserved and available for at least two years
after making the final entry on any loan
recorded therein.

725.340 Interest and other charges.
(1) A licensee may charge, contract for and
receive any interest or consideration for loans,
secured or unsecured, as agreed upon by the
licensee and the borrower.

(2) When a precomputed loan contract is
originally scheduled to be repaid 1n 62 months
or less and requires repayment in substantial-
ly equal or consecutive monthly instalments
of principal and nterest combined, the inter-
est or consideration may be precomputed,
contracted for and earned on scheduled unpaid
principal balances on the assumption that all
scheduled payments will be made when due
In such cases, every payment may be applied
to the combined total of principal and precom-
puted interest until the contract 1s fully paid,
and the acceptance or payment of interest or
consideration on any loan made under the
provisions of this subsection shall not be
deemed to constitute payment, deduction or
receipt thereof in advance. Such precomputed
interest or consideration shall be subject to
the following adjustments:

(a) When a default of more than 10 days
in the payment of any scheduled instalment
occurs, the licensee may charge and collect a
default charge not exceeding five percent of
the unpaid amount of the instalment or $5,
whichever is less. A default charge may be
collected only once on an instalment, but may
be collected at the time 1t accrues or at any
time thereafter. No default charge may be
assessed with respect to an instalment which
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is paid in full on or within 10 days after a
scheduled instalment due date when an earli-
er maturing instalment or a default or defer-
ral charge on an earlier maturing instalment
may not have been paid in full even though
all or part of such instalment payment is
applied to an earlier maturing instalment, or
a default or deferral charge.

(b) If the payment of all unpaid instal-
ments is deferred one or more full months,
and if the contract so provides, the licensee
may charge and collect a deferral charge not
exceeding the annual percentage rate previ-
ously disclosed to the borrower pursuant to
the Federal Consumer Credit Protection
(Truth-in-Lending) Act applied to the sum of
the instalments deferred for the length of the
deferral period. The deferral period is that
period in which no scheduled instalment is
required to be paid by reason of the deferral.
Such charge may be collected at the time of
deferral or at any time thereafter. A deferral
charge may not be made for the deferral of
any instalment with respect to which a de-
fault charge has been collected, unless the
default charge is deducted from the deferral
charge. If prepayment of the loan in full oc-
curs during the deferral period, in addition to
any other rebate which may be required, the
borrower shall receive a rebate of the portion
of the deferral applicable to the unexpired
months in the deferral period, for which pur-
pose a fraction of an unexpired month exceed-
ing 15 days shall be deemed to be a month.

(c) Upon prepayment in full of the unpaid
balance of a precomputed loan, a rebate of
unearned interest or consideration shall be
made as provided in this paragraph. The
amount of the rebate shall be not less than the
total interest contracted for to maturity, less
the greater of:

(A) Ten percent of the amount financed or
$75, whichever is less; or

(B) The interest or consideration earned to
the instalment due date nearest the date of
prepayment, computed by applying the simple
interest rate of the loan to the actual principal
balances outstanding, for the periods of time
the balances were actually outstanding. For
purposes of rebate computations under this
subparagraph, the instalment due date pre-
ceding the date of prepayment shall be consid-
ered to be nearest if prepayment occurs 15
days or less after that instalment date. If
prepayment occurs more than 15 days after
the preceding instalment due date, the next
succeeding instalment due date shall be con-

sidered to be nearest to the date of prepay-
ment. In determining the simple interest rate,
the licensee may apply to the scheduled pay-
ments the actuarial method, by which each
scheduled payment is applied first to accrued
and unpaid interest or consideration, and any
amount remaining is applied to reduction of
the principal balance.

(3) If the borrower agrees to perform cer-
tain duties to insure or preserve the collateral
and fails to perform those duties, the licensee
may pay for the performance of those duties
and add the amounts paid to the unpaid prin-
cipal balance. A charge may be made for sums
advanced, at the rate provided for in the loan
agreement

(4) The loan contract may provide that
after default and referral the borrower shall
pay the licensee for reasonable attorney fees
actually paid by the licensee to an attorney
not a salaried employe of the licensee.
[Amended by 1955 ¢ 71 §13, 1971 c 450 §3; 1973 ¢ 428 §4,
1975 ¢ 567 §2, 1977 ¢ 432 §1, 1979 ¢ 326 §3, 1979 ¢ 879 §7,
1981 c 412 §15, 1981 ¢ 910 §8a]

Note: The amendments to 725 340 by section 8a,
chapter 910, Oregon Laws 1981, take effect October 1,
1982 See section 9, chapter 910, Oregon Laws 1981
725 340, as amended by section 15, chapter 412, Oregon
Laws 1981, 1s set forth for the users’ convenience

Sec. 15. (1) A licensee may charge, contract for and
receive any interest or consideration for loans, secured or
unsecured, as agreed upon by the licensee and the borrow-
er

(2) When a precomputed loan contract 1s originally
scheduled to be repaid 1n 62 months or less and requires
repayment 1n substantially equal or consecutive monthly
instalments of principal and interest combined, the
interest or consideration may be precomputed, contracted
for and earned on scheduled unpaid principal balances on
the assumption that all scheduled payments will be made
when due In such cases, every payment may be applied to
the combined total of principal and precomputed interest
until the contract 1s fully paid, and the acceptance or
payment of interest or consideration on any loan made
under the provisions of this subsection shall. not be
deemed to constitute payment, deduction or receipt
thereof 1n advance Such precomputed interest or consid-
eration shall be subject to the following adjustments

(a) When a default of more than 10 days in the
payment of any scheduled instalment occurs, the licensee
may charge and collect a default charge not exceeding
five percent of the unpaid amount of the instalment or $5,
whichever 1s less A default charge may be collected only
once on an 1nstalment, but may be collected at the time 1t
accrues or at any time thereafter No default charge may
be assessed with respect to an instalment which 1s paid in
full on or within 10 days after a scheduled instalment due
date when an earher maturing instalment or a default or
deferral charge on an earlier maturing instalment may
not have been paid 1n full even though all or part of such
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instalment payment 1s applied to an earlier maturing
1nstalment, or a default or deferral charge

(b) If the payment of all unpaid instalments 1s
deferred one or more full months, and 1f the contract so
provides, the licensee may charge and collect a deferral
charge not exceeding the annual percentage rate previ-
ously disclosed to the borrower pursuant to the Federal
Consumer Credit Protection (Truth-in-Lending) Act
applied to the sum of the instalments deferred for the
length of the deferral period The deferral period 1s that
period 1n which no scheduled nstalment 1s required to be
paid by reason of the deferral Such charge may be
collected at the time of deferral or at any time thereafter
A deferral charge may not be made for the deferral of any
instalment with respect to which a default charge has
been collected, unless the default charge 1s deducted from
the deferral charge If prepayment of the loan n full
occurs during the deferral period, 1n addition to any other
rebate which may be required, the borrower shall receive
a rebate of the portion of the deferral applicable to the
unexpired months 1n the deferral period, for which
purpose a fraction of an unexpired month exceeding 15
days shall be deemed to be a month

(¢) Upon prepayment 1n full of the unpaid balance of
a precomputed loan, a rebate of unearned interest or
consideration shall be made, computed by the “rule of
seventy-eighths” or “sum of the digits” method as defined
by rule 1ssued under ORS 725 320, for that portion of the
precomputed 1nterest or consideration applicable to the
instalment periods scheduled to follow the instalment due
date nearest the date of prepayment 1n full The instal-
ment periods scheduled to follow such instalment due
date shall be as determined by the original contract, or, 1f
applhicable, as deferred For purposes of rebate computa-
tions, the instalment due date preceding the date of
prepayment in full shall be deemed to be the nearest 1f
prepayment n full occurs 15 days or less after that
mnstalment due date If prepayment in full occurs more
than 15 days after the preceding instalment due date,
then the next succeeding instalment due date shall be
deemed to be nearest for this purpose

(3) If the borrower agrees to perform certain duties
to msure or preserve the collateral and fails to perform
those duties, the licensee may pay for the performance of
those duties and add the amounts paid to the unpaid
principal balance A charge may be made for sums ad-
vanced, at the rate provided for 1n the loan agreement

(4) The loan contract may provide that after default
and referral the borrower shall pay the licensee for
reasonable attorney fees actually paid by the hicensee to
an attorney not a salaried employe of the licensee

725.342 [1979 ¢ 326 §2, repealed by 1981 c 412 §24]

725.345 Open-end loan plan; interest;
additional charges; security for plan; nec-
essary disclosures. (1) As used in this sec-
tion, “open-end loan plan” means a plan or
arrangement, the agreement for which ex-
pressly states that it is made pursuant to this
section under which loans are made, and
under which:

(a) The licensee may permit the borrower
to obtain advances of money from the licensee
from time to time or the licensee may advance

money on behalf of the borrower from time to
time as directed by the borrower;

(b) The unpaid principal balances and
interest or consideration are debited to an
account;

(¢) Interest or consideration is calculated
on the unpaid principal balance in the borrow-
er’s account from time to time, which balance
may include all advances made on behalf of
the borrower and all charges authorized under
ORS 725.340 (2) and (3); and

(d) The borrower has the privilege of pay-
ing the unpaid balance in full or in instal-
ments

(2) A licensee may make loans under an
open-end loan plan and may contract for and
receive interest or consideration as provided
in ORS 725.340.

(3) In addition to the interest or considera-
tion permitted under subsection (2) of this
section, a licensee may contract for and re-
ceive on an open-end loan plan the additional
charges set forth in ORS 725.340 (2) and (3),
subject to the following variations:

(a) An additional single premium charge
in connection with an open-end loan plan for
insurance covering tangible personal property
or real property offered as security for a term
not exceeding three years, and title insurance
on any real property security, if provided at
the time of any advance, in an amount not
exceeding the unpaid balance, including any
advance then made; and

(b) An additional charge may be made 1n
connection with an open-end loan plan for
insurance on the life of one or more borrowers
or for credit disability insurance to provide
indemnity for payments becoming due on the
indebtedness.

(4)_A security interest in real or personal
property may be taken to secure an open-end
loan plan. Any security interest in real or
personal property shall be promptly released
if there has been no outstanding balance for
12 months and the borrower either does not
have or surrenders the unilateral right to
create a new outstanding balance or if the
account is terminated at the borrower’s re-
quest and paid in full.

(5) ORS 1725.050 (2), 725.340 (2) and
725.360 (1), (2) and (4) do not apply to any
open-end loan plan.

(6) The open-end loan plan agreement

shall contain the name and address of the
borrower and of the licensee and shall disclose
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the date of the agreement, the method of
determining the minimum periodic payments
which will be required to pay the initial and
any subsequent advances, the conditions un-
der which interest or consideration may be
imposed, the method of determining the prin-
cipal balance upon which interest or consider-
ation may be imposed, the method of deter-
mining the amount of the interest or consider-
ation, each periodic rate and the range of
balances to which each rate is applicable and
the corresponding annual percentage rate in
accordance with Regulation Z promulgated by
the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
System under section 105 of the Consumer
Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1604), and
the nature of the security taken.

(7) Except for an account which the licen-
see deems to be uncollectible or with respect to
which delinquency collection procedures have
been instituted, the licensee shall deliver or
cause to be delivered to the borrower, for each
billing cycle at the end of which there is an
unpaid balance of more than $1 in the account
or with respect to which interest or considera-
tion is imposed, a statement setting forth the
outstanding balance in the account at the
beginning of the billing cycle, the nature, date
and amount of any subsequent advance dur-
ing the cycle, the amounts and dates of pay-
ments credited to the account during the bill-
ing cycle, the amount of any interest or con-
sideration debited to the account during the
billing cycle, each periodic rate and the range
of balances to which each rate is applicable
and the corresponding annual percentage rate
in accordance with Regulation Z promulgated
by the Board of Governors of the Federal
Reserve System under section 105 of the Con-
sumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1604),
the balance on which the interest or consider-
ation was calculated, a statement of how that
balance was determined, the closing date of
the billing cycle, the outstanding balance on
that closing date and the minimum monthly
payment required. [1977 ¢ 522 §2; 1981 ¢ 412 §16]

725.350 [Repealed by 1971 ¢ 232 §4]

725.355 Prohibition against assign-
ment of earnings for loan security. (1) As
used 1n this section, “earnings” means salary,
wages or other compensation for service.

(2) No licensee shall take an assignment
of earnings as payment of or as security for
payment of a loan. An assignment in violation
of this subsection is unenforceable by the
assignee and revocable by the assignor. Noth-

ing in this subsection is intended to prevent
an employe from authorizing deductions from
his earnings if the authorization is revocable.

(3) For the purpose of this section, a sale
of unpaid earnings made in consideration of
the payment of money to or for the account of
the seller of the earnings is considered a loan
to him, secured by an assignment of earnings.
[1971 ¢ 232 §3]

725.360 Licensee duty toward bor-
rowers. Every licensee shall:

(1) Deliver to the borrower at the time any
loan 1s made a statement in the English lan-
guage showing in clear and distinct terms:

(a) The name and address of the borrower
and of the licensee.

(b) The amount and the date of the loan
and of its maturity or terms of payment.

(c) The rate of interest agreed upon or
consideration to be charged therefor.

(d) The nature of the security for the loan,
if a lien on personal property has been taken
by chattel mortgage, bill of sale, collateral
agreement or otherwise.

(2) Make available to the borrower upon
request a plain and complete receipt for all
payments made on account of any such loan at
the time such payments are received by the
licensee, specifying the amount applied to
interest, if any, the date to which the interest
is paid, the amount applied to principal, if
any, and the unpaid principal balance of such
loan, if any remains.

(3) Permit payment to be made in advance
in any amount on any loan at any time.

(4) Upon repayment of the loan in full or
upon renewal thereof, mark indelibly such
obligation signed by the borrower with the
word “Paid” or “Renewed”; and in the case of
repayment in full shall release any mortgage,
security agreement or UCC filing which no
longer secures a loan, restore any security or
collateral, return any assignment given by the
borrower and return to him the canceled note
evidencing the loan. [Amended by 1971 c 450 §4,
1973 ¢ 428 §5; 1975 ¢ 567 §3]

725.370 Lawful loans in other juris-
dictions not affected by this chapter.
Loans made or payable in other jurisdictions
and lawful where made or payable, are not
affected by this chapter [Amended by 1979 c 88
§42]

725.380 [Repealed by 1975 c 544 §62]
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725.385 Duty to give notice of sus-
pected defalcation to law enforcement
officers; investigations; costs. (1) If a direc-
tor or officer of a licensee has reason to be-
lieve that a defalcation has occurred at any
office of the licensee, such official shall give
the information to the appropriate local, state
or federal law enforcement officer having
jurisdiction of the violation.

(2) If the matter is referred to the Attor-
ney General or a district attorney, such officer
promptly shall investigate the violation and
institute such action against the person as the
information and investigation requires or
justifies. The cost of the investigation and
action shall be paid by the county or state in
the manner in which other criminal actions
are paid. [1979 c 88 §38]

725.390 Notice to licensing official of
suspected defalcation; audit. A licensee
shall notify the licensing official of any defal-
cation that occurs at any office of the licensee
within five days after the discovery of the
defalcation. When directed by the licensing
official to do so, the licensee shall, in accord-
ance with the hicensing official’s instructions,
cause an audit to be made of the business of
the licensed office where the defalcation oc-
curred. [1979 c 88 §39]

725.395 Licensing official to give
notice of suspected defalcation to law
enforcement officer; exceptions. If the
licensing official has reason to believe that a
defalcation has occurred at an office of a licen-
see, he may give the information relative to
the violation to the appropriate federal, state
or local law enforcement agency having juris-
diction of the violation. This section does not

apply, however, if the licensee has reported
the information to the appropriate law en-
forcement officer under ORS 725.385. (1979 c 88
§40]

725.910 Civil penalties. (1) Any person
who violates:

(a) ORS 725.031 shall forfeit a civil penal-
ty in an amount determined by the licensing
official of not more than $5,000.

(b) ORS 725.050, 725.060, 725.210,
725.220, 725.340 or 725.355 shall forfeit a
awvil penalty in an amount determined by the
licensing official of not more than $1,000. In
addition, the licensing official may revoke the
license of any licensee who commits such
violation.

(c) Any rule adopted under ORS 725.320
shall forfeit a civil penalty in an amount
determined by the licensing official of not
more than $2,500.

(2) All money forfeited under subsection
(1) of this section shall be paid to the State
Treasurer to be deposited in the State Bank-
ing Fund.

(3) The civil penalty may be recovered in
an action brought thereon in the name of the
State of Oregon in any court of appropriate
jurisdiction.

(4) In any court action with respect to a
civil penalty, the court may review the penal-
ty as to both liability and reasonableness of
amount. [1975 c 544 §59, 1981 ¢ 412 §17]

725.990 [Amended by 1971 c 743 §424, repealed by
1975 ¢ 544 §62]
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