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HOURS OF LABOR

652.010 Declaration of public policy
concerning maximum working hours in
certain industries. (1) It is the public policy
of this state that no person shall be hired, nor

permitted to work for wages, under any condi- 
tions or terms, for longer hours or days of

service than is consistent with his health and

physical well -being and ability to promote the
general welfare by his increasing usefulness
as a healthy and intelligent citizen. 

2) It hereby is declared that the working
of any person more than 10 hours in one day
in any mill, factory or manufacturing estab- 
lishment or the working of any person more
than eight hours, exclusive of one hour, more

or less, in one day, or more than 48 hours in
one calendar week in sawmills, planing mills, 
shingle mills and logging camps is injurious to
the physical health and well -being of such
person, and tends to prevent him from acquir- 

ing that degree of intelligence that is neces- 
sary to make him a useful and desirable citi- 
zen of the state. 

652.020 Maximum working hours in
certain industries; overtime hours and

pay. ( 1) No person shall be employed in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establishment
in this state more than 10 hours in any one
day, or in sawmills, planing mills, shingle
mills and logging camps more than eight
hours, exclusive of one hour, more or less, in

one day or more than 48 hours in one calendar
week, except logging train crews, watchmen, 
firemen and persons engaged in the transpor- 
tation of men to and from work, and employes

when engaged in making necessary repairs, or
in the case of emergency where life and prop- 
erty are in imminent danger. However, em- 
ployes may work overtime not to exceed three
hours in one day, conditioned that payment be
made for said overtime at the rate of time and
one -half the regular wage. 

2) No employer shall require or permit

any person to work in any place mentioned in
this section more than the hours provided for

in this section during any day of 24 hours. No
employer shall permit or suffer his overseer, 
superintendent or other agent to violate this
section. 

3) This section does not apply to persons
employed in the care of quarters or livestock, 

conducting messhalls, superintendence and

direction of work, or to the loading and remov- 
al of the finished forest product. 
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652.060

652.030 Enforcement of ORS 652.010
and 652.020 dependent upon like laws in
other states. ORS 652.010 and 652.020 shall

not be enforced in so' far as they relate to
working hours in sawmills, planing mills, 
shingle mills and logging camps until laws
containing like provisions regarding working
hours in such places of employment in the
States of California, Washington and Idaho
become effective in each of those states re- 

spectively. 

652.040 Maximum working hours in
mines. (1) No person who operates any under- 
ground mine yielding gold or silver or copper
or lead or other metal shall permit or require
any person to work in such underground mine
for more than eight hours in any 24 hours. 
The hours for such employment or work day
shall be consecutive excluding, however, any
intermission of time for lunch or meals. 

2) In the case of emergency, where life or
property is in imminent danger, persons may
work in such underground mines for a longer

time during the continuance of the exigency
or emergency. This section does not apply to
mines in their first stages of development, 

such as tunnel work to a length of 200 feet, or

shaft work to a depth of 150 feet, or to any
surface excavation. 

652.050 Definitions for ORS 652.050 to

652.080. As used in ORS 652.050 to 652.080: 

1) " Firefighter" means a person whose

principal duties consist of preventing or com- 
bating fire or preventing loss of life or proper- 
ty from fire. 

2) " Regularly organized fire department" 
means any organization maintained for the
purpose of preventing or combating fire and
employing one or more persons on a full -time
basis as firefighters. 

652.060 Maximum hours for firefight- 
ers. ( 1) ( a) No person employed on a full -time

basis as a firefighter by any regularly organ- 
ized fire department maintained by any incor- 
porated city, municipality or fire district and
that employs not more than three persons on a

full -time basis as firefighters shall be re- 

quired to be on regular duty with such fire
department more than 72 hours a week. How- 

ever, any affected incorporated city, munici- 
pality or fire district shall be deemed to have
complied with this paragraph and ORS

652.070 if the hours of regular duty required
of firefighters employed by it average not
more than 72 hours a week over each quarter
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of the fiscal year of the employing city, munic- 
ipality or fire district. 

b) No person employed on a full -time

basis as a firefighter by any regularly organ- 
ized fire department maintained by any incor- 
porated city, municipality or fire district and
that employs four or more persons on a full - 
time basis as firefighters shall be required to

be on regular duty with such fire department
more than 56 hours a week. However, any
affected incorporated city, municipality or fire
district shall be deemed to have complied with
this paragraph and ORS 652.070 if the hours

of regular duty required of firefighters em- 
ployed by it average not more than 56 hours a
week over each quarter of the fiscal year of

the employing city, municipality or fire dis- 
trict. 

2) In the event this section shortens the

working hours of firefighters employed by any
such city, municipality or fire district, the
total wages of such firefighters shall not for
that reason be reduced. [ Amended by 1959 c.402

1, 1969 c 581 § 11

652.070 Overtime pay for firefighters. 
Every affected incorporated city, municipality
and fire district shall put into effect and

maintain a schedule of working hours re- 
quired of regularly employed firefighters
which shall not be in excess of the average

hours established by ORS 652.060, and which
shall provide for at least 48 consecutive hours

off -duty time in each seven -day period. Any
affected incorporated city, municipality or fire
district failing so to do shall pay to every
regularly employed firefighter as additional
pay for every hour of regular duty required of
and performed by him over and above the
average hours established by ORS 652.060 a
sum equivalent to one and one -half times his

regular hourly rate of pay at the time of such
default. However, in the case of replacement

for any authorized leave, vacation or tempo- 
rary vacancy, regularly employed firefighters
in a department employing four or more per- 
sons on a full -time basis as firefighters may
elect to work in excess of 56 hours a week at

not less than their regular hourly rate of pay. 
Amended by 1959 c 402 § 2, 1969 c 581 § 21

652.080 Computing hours on duty for
purposes of ORS 652.060 and 652.070. In

computing the average or total number of
hours a week for the purposes of ORS 652.060

and 652.070, authorized vacation or sick leave
time shall be considered as time on regular

duty. [1959 c 402 § 41

PAYMENT AND COLLECTION

OF WAGES GENERALLY

652.110 Medium of paying employes. 
No person engaged in any business or enter- 
prise of any kind in this state shall issue, in
payment of or as evidence of indebtedness for
wages due an employe, any order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness, unless the same is negotiable, 
and is payable without discount in cash on
demand at some bank or other established

place of business in the county where the
same is issued, and where a sufficient amount

of funds have been provided and are or will be
available for the payment of such order, check

or other acknowledgment of indebtedness

when due. Such person shall, upon presenta- 

tion and demand, pay any such order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness, in lawful money of the United
States. This section does not in any way limit
or interfere with the right of any employe to
accept from any person, as an evidence or
acknowledgment of indebtedness for wages

due him, a negotiable instrument, payable at

some future date with interest. An employer

and an employe may agree to authorize an
employer to deposit without discount wages

due the employe in the employe's account in a
bank, national bank, mutual savings bank, or
credit union or savings and loan association in

this state. [Amended by 1975 c. 191 § 11

652.120 Establishing regular payday; 
pay intervals; agreement to pay wages at
future date. ( 1) Every employer shall estab- 
lish and maintain a regular payday, at which
date all employes shall be paid the wages due

and owing to them. 

2) Payday shall not extend beyond a
period of 35 days from the time that such
employes entered upon their work, or from the

date of the last regular payday. 

3) This section does not prevent the em- 

ployer from establishing and maintaining
paydays at more frequent intervals. 

4) This section does not prevent any em- 
ployer from entering into a written agree- 
ment, prior to the rendering of any services, 
and mutually satisfactory with his employes, 
as to the payment of wages at a future date. 
Amended by 1961 c 662 §11
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652.130 Payment of wages due per- 
sons employed on piece work scale or

quantity basis in forest product indus- 
tries; furnishing statement of scale or
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quantity. Every person engaged in the busi- 
ness of logging or obtaining or securing saw - 
logs, poles, spars, piles, cordwood, posts or
other timber or forest products, or engaged in

the business of manufacturing sawlogs or
other timber into lumber, and employing one
or more employes on a piece work scale or

quantity wage basis, shall furnish such em- 
ployes at least once monthly, a statement of
scale or quantity produced by them to their
credit, and shall pay all wages or amounts so

earned and due and payable under the law

regulating paydays. 

652. 140 Payment on termination of

employment; notice of intention to quit; 

forwarding wages by mail. (1) Whenever an
employer discharges an employe, or where

such employment is terminated by mutual
agreement, all wages earned and unpaid at

the time of such discharge shall become due

and payable immediately; provided, that in
establishments where perishable or seasonal

commodities are processed or handled, when

termination of employment results from fluc- 

tuation in or cessation of the flow of such

perishable or seasonal commodities, such

termination shall not be regarded as a dis- 

charge or termination by mutual agreement, 
within the meaning of this section, but all
wages earned at the time of such termination

shall become due and payable not later than

the regular payday on which such wages nor- 
mally would be paid. 

2) When any such employe, not having a
contract for a definite period, shall quit his
employment, all wages earned and unpaid at

the time of such quitting shall become due
and payable immediately if such employe has
given not less than 48 hours' notice, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, of his inten- 
tion to quit his employment If such notice is

not given, such wages shall be due and pay- 
able 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays
and holidays, after such employe has so quit

his employment. 

3) The employer shall forward such

wages by mail to any address designated by
the employe if the employe requests the em- 

ployer so to do. An employer may deposit such
wages without discount in the employe' s ac- 

count in a bank, national bank, mutual sav- 
ings bank, credit union, or savings and loan
association in this state, provided the employe

and the employer have agreed to such deposit. 

Amended by 1957 c 242 § 1, 1975 c 192 § 11
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652.200

652.150 Civil penalty for failure to
pay wages on termination of employment. 
If an employer wilfully fails to pay any wages
or compensation of any employe who is dis- 
charged or who quits his employment, as

provided in ORS 652. 140, then, as a penalty
for such nonpayment, the wages or compensa- 

tion of such employe shall continue from the

due date thereof at the same rate until paid or

until action therefor is commenced; provided, 

that in no case shall such wages or compensa- 

tion continue for more than 30 days; and
provided further, the employer may avoid
liability for the penalty by showing his finan- 
cial inability to pay the wages or compensa- 
tion at the time they accrued. [ Amended by 1957
c 244 § 11

652.160 Payment in case of dispute

over wages. In case of dispute over wages, 

the employer must pay, without condition, and
within the time set by ORS 652. 140, all wages
conceded by him to be due, leaving the em- 
ploye all remedies he might otherwise have or

be entitled to as to any balance he might
claim. 

652.170 Payment of wages in case of

strikes. When any number of employes enter
upon a strike, the wages due such striking
employes at the time of entering upon such
strike shall not become due and payable until

the next regular payday after the commence- 
ment of such strike, if the time between the

commencement of the strike and the next

regular payday does not exceed a period of 30
days. If the intervening time does exceed the
period of 30 days, then the wages shall be due
and payable 30 days after the commencement

of the strike. 

652. 180 [ Repealed by 1953 c 515 § 21

652.190 Payment of wages to surviv- 

ing spouse or dependent children. All

wages earned by an employe, not exceeding
3, 000, shall, upon the employe's death, be- 

come due and payable to the employe's surviv- 

ing spouse, or if there is no surviving spouse, 
the dependent children, or their guardians or
the conservators of their estates, in equal

shares, to the same extent as if the wages had

been earned by such surviving spouse or de- 
pendent children. [Amended by 1971 c 448 § 1; 1981
c 594 § 11

652.200 Attorney fee in action for
wages. ( 1) In any action for the collection of
any order, check, memorandum or other ac- 

knowledgment of indebtedness referred to in
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ORS 652. 110, if it is shown that the order, 
check, memorandum or other acknowledg- 
ment of indebtedness was not paid for a period

of 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays
and holidays, after presentation and demand
for the payment thereof, the court shall, upon

entering judgment for the plaintiff, include in
such judgment, in addition to the costs and

disbursements otherwise prescribed by stat- 
ute, a reasonable sum for attorney fees at trial
and on appeal for prosecuting said action, 
unless it appears that the employe has wilful- 

ly violated the contract of employment. 

2) In any action for the collection of
wages, if it is shown that the wages were not

paid for a period of 48 hours, excluding Satur- 
days, Sundays and holidays, after the same
became due and payable, the court shall upon

entering judgment for the plaintiff, include in
such judgment, in addition to the costs and

disbursements otherwise prescribed by stat- 
ute, a reasonable sum for attorney fees at trial
and on appeal for prosecuting said action, 
unless it appears that the employe has wilful- 

ly violated the contract of employment. 
Amended by 1957 c 242 § 2, 1981 c 897 §861

652.210 Definitions for ORS 652.210 to
652.230. ( 1) " Employer" means any person

employing one or more employes, but does not
include the state, or any municipal corpora- 
tion or political subdivision of the state hav- 

ing in force a civil service system based on
merit, or the Federal Government. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who, 
otherwise than as a copartner of the employer

or as an independent contractor, renders per- 

sonal services wholly or partly in this state to
an employer who pays or agrees to pay such
individual at a fixed rate. However, where

services are rendered only partly in this state, 
an individual is not an employe unless his

contract of employment has been entered into, 

or payments thereunder are ordinarily made
or to be made, within this state. 

3) " Wages" means all compensation for

performance of service by an employe for an
employer whether paid by the employer or
another person, including cash value of all
compensation paid in any medium other than
cash. 

4) " Rate" with reference to wages means

the basis of compensation for services by an
employe for an employer and includes com- 

pensation based on the time spent in the per- 
formance of such services, or on the number of

operations accomplished, or on the quantity
produced or handled. 

5) " Unpaid wages" means the difference

between the wages actually paid to an em- 
ploye and the wages required under ORS

652.220, to be paid to such employe. [ 1955 c 193

1l

652.220 Prohibition against discrimi- 

natory wage rates based on sex; employer
not to discriminate against employe - 

complainant. (1) No employer shall: 

a) In any manner discriminate between
the sexes in the payment of wages for work of
comparable character, the performance of

which requires comparable skills. 

b) Pay wages to any employe at a rate
less than that at which he pays wages to his
employes of the opposite sex for work of com- 

parable character, the performance of which

requires comparable skills. 

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not

apply where: 

a) Payment is made pursuant to a seniori- 

ty or merit system which does not discrimi- 
nate on the basis of sex. 

b) A differential in wages between em- 
ployes is based in good faith on factors other

than sex. 

3) No employer shall in any manner
discriminate in the payment of wages against

any employe because the employe has filed a
complaint in a proceeding under ORS 652.210
to 652.230, or has testified, or is about to

testify, or because the employer believes that
the employe may testify, in any investigation
or proceedings pursuant to ORS 652.210 to

652.230 or in a criminal action pursuant to

ORS 652.210 to 652.230. [ 1955 c 193 § 21

652.230 Employe has right of action

against employer for unpaid wages and

damages. ( 1) Any employe whose compensa- 
tion is at a rate that is in violation of ORS

652.220 shall have a right of action against

the employer for the recovery of: 

a) The amount of the unpaid wages to

which the employe is entitled for the one year

period preceding the commencement of the
action; and

b) An additional amount as liquidated
damages equal to the amount referred to in

paragraph (a) of this subsection. 

2) In addition to any judgment, awarded
to the plaintiff, the court shall allow reason- 
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able attorney fees at trial and on appeal to be
taxed in any judgment recovered. 

3) The action for the unpaid wages and

liquidated damages may be maintained by one
or more employes on behalf of themselves or

other employes similarly situated. 

4) No agreement for compensation at a

rate less than the rate to which such employe

is entitled under ORS 652.210 to 652.230 is a

defense to any action under ORS 652.210 to
652.230. [ 1955 c. 193 § 3, 1981 c 894 §871

652.240 Paying wage lower than that
required by statute or contract prohibit- 
ed. Where any statute or contract requires an
employer to maintain the designated wage

scale, it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a
lower wage while purporting to pay the wage
designated by statute or by contract. [1957 c.243

11

652.250 Public employe' s wages as

affected by absence to engage in search or
rescue operation. A public employe who

takes part without pay in a search or rescue
operation at the request of any law enforce- 
ment agency, the Aeronautics Administrator, 
the United States Forest Service or any local
organization for civil defense, shall not forfeit
his wages while engaged in an operation for a
period of not more than five days for each

operation. If an operation continues for more

than five days, the employing agency may
allow the employe to continue to take part in

the operation and to receive his wages for as

long as the employing agency considers prop- 
er. [1959 c 46 § 11

ENFORCEMENT OF WAGE

CLAIMS

Generally) 

652.310 Definitions of employer and

employe. As used in ORS 652.310 to 652.405, 

unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) " Employer" means any person who in
this state, directly or through an agent, en- 
gages personal services of one or more em- 

ployes and includes any producer - promoter, 
and any successor to the business of any em- 
ployer, or any lessee or purchaser of any em- 
ployer's business property for the continuance
of the same business, so far as such employer

has not paid employes in full. "Employer" does
not include: 
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652.320

a) The United States or any state, county, 
municipal corporation, town or other govern- 

mental division. 

b) Trustees and assignees in bankruptcy
or insolvency, and receivers, whether appoint- 
ed by federal or state courts, and persons
otherwise falling under the definition of em- 
ployers so far as the times or amounts of their

payments to employes are regulated by laws
of the United States, or regulations or orders
made in pursuance thereof. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who
otherwise than as copartner of the employer

or as an independent contractor renders per- 

sonal services wholly or partly in this state to
an employer who pays or agrees to pay such
individual at a fixed rate, based on the time

spent in the performance of such services or

on the number of operations accomplished, or

quantity produced or handled. However: 

a) Where services are rendered by an
independent contractor, an individual shall

not be an employe under this section unless

the individual is a musician or supporting
technical person. 

b) Where services are rendered only part- 
ly in this state, an individual shall not be an
employe under this section unless his contract

of employment has been entered into, or pay- 
ments thereunder are ordinarily made or to be
made, within this state. [ Amended by 1963 c.348
l, 1975 c.488 § 11

652.320 General definitions for ORS

652.310 to 652.405. As used in ORS 652.310 to
652.405, unless the context requires other- 

wise: 

1) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 

sioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

2) " Court" means a court of competent

jurisdiction and proper venue to entertain a

proceeding referred to in ORS 652.310 to
652.405. 

3) " Demand" means a written demand for

payment made during business hours on an
employer or any appropriate representative of

an employer by an employe or by some person
having and exhibiting due authority to act in
said employe' s behalf. 

4) " Pay" means to deliver or tender com- 
pensation at a previously designated and
reasonably convenient place in this state, 
during working hours, in legal tender or by
order or negotiable instrument payable and

paid in legal tender without discount on de- 

mand in this state or by deposit without dis- 
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count in an employe' s account in a bank, na- 

tional bank, mutual savings bank, credit

union or savings and loan association in this

state, provided the employe and the employer

have agreed to such deposit. 

5) " Payment" means the delivery, tender
or deposit of compensation in the medium of

payment described in subsection ( 4) of this

section. Such delivery, tender or deposit shall
be made to or for the account of the employe

concerned or to or for the account of any per- 
son having due authority to act in said em- 
ploye's behalf. 

6) " Production" means a live presentation

organized for the economic gain of any person
or organization utilizing the personal services
of one or more musicians and supporting

technical personnel. 

7) " Producer- promoter" means a person, 

firm, association or corporation which super- 

vises, finances or attempts to organize a pro- 

duction in this state other than: 

a) The proprietor of a commercial estab- 
lishment with a Class " A" or Class " B" dispen- 

ser's license or tavern staging a production on
the proprietor's own premises; 

b) Any nonprofit organization staging a
production for the sole benefit of the organiza- 

tion, its members or the general public; or

c) A producer of motion pictures, televi- 

sion shows, or commercials. 

8) " Rate of payment" means the rate at

which payment is made or is to be made in the

manner described in this section. 

9) " Wage claim" means an employe' s

claim against an employer for compensation
for the employe's own personal services, and

includes any wages, compensation, damages
or civil penalties provided by law to employes
in connection with a claim for unpaid wages. 

Amended by 1975 c. 190 § l, 1975 c 488 §2, 1979 c. 695 § 11

652.325 Permit required for

producer - promoter; application; bond; 

exemption. (1) Except as provided in subsec- 

tion (4) of this section, any producer - promoter

intending to do business in this state shall
first obtain a permit from the commissioner. 

An application for such permit shall contain

the following information: 

a) The applicant' s name and address; 

b) A description of the financing for the
production; 

c) The type of production, the number of

artists and technical personnel to be employed
and the time and place of the production; and

d) Such other information as the commis- 

sioner may deem necessary for the protection
of persons employed in the production. 

2) A permit shall not be issued unless the

applicant has posted a bond with the commis- 

sioner as required by ORS 652.340 (2). 

3) The commissioner may fix permit fees
not to exceed $ 20 to provide for the cost of

processing the applications. 

4) A permit shall not be required of any
producer - promoter who: 

a) Has been a producer - promoter in this

state for the three -year period immediately
preceding the time when a permit application
would otherwise be required and has had no
successful wage claims allowed against him

during such period; or
b) Has sufficient assets in this state

which, if executed upon, would equal the

amount of bond required by ORS 652.340 ( 2). 
1975 c 488 §41

652.330 Powers and duties of com- 

missioner in enforcing wage claims; par- 
ties to wage claim action. ( 1) The commis- 

sioner shall enforce ORS 652.310 to 652.405

and to that end may: 

a) Investigate and attempt equitably to
adjust controversies between employers and

employes in respect of wage claims or alleged

wage claims. 

b) Take assignments, in trust, of wage

claims or judgments thereon, liens and other

instruments of security for payment of wages
from the assigning employes, spouses, parents
or legal guardians, having a right to the
wages of such employes. All such assignments

shall run to the commissioner and any succes- 
sors in office. The commissioner may sue
employers on wage claims and other persons

or property liable for any payment thereof
thus assigned with the benefits and subject to

existing laws applying to actions by employes
for collection of wages. The commissioner is
entitled to recover, in addition to costs, such

sum as the court or judge may adjudge reason- 
able as attorney fees at trial and on appeal. 
The commissioner may join in a single pro- 
ceeding and in one cause of action any number
of wage claims against the same employer. If
the commissioner does not prevail in such

action, the commissioner shall pay all costs
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and disbursements from the Bureau of Labor case hearing or trial in a court of law must be
and Industries Account. received by the commissioner in writing with- 

c) Make complaint in a criminal court for

any violation of any law providing for pay- 
ment of wages and imposing a penalty for its
violation as for a crime. 

d) In any case where a civil action may be
brought under this chapter for the collection
of a wage claim, provide for an administrative

proceeding to determine the validity and
enforce collection of the claim. The adminis- 

trative proceeding shall be conducted as pro- 
vided in this chapter, and is subject to the

employer' s right to elect a trial in a court of

law. 

2) An assigning wage claimant shall not
be regarded as a party to any court action
brought by the commissioner under this sec- 
tion for any purpose. [ Amended by 1957 c.465 § 6, 
1963 c.258 § 2; 1967 c 218 § 1; 1979 c 695 § 2, 1981 c 897

881

652.332 Administrative proceeding
for wage claim collection; court enforce- 
ment and review. ( 1) In any case when the
commissioner has received a wage claim com- 
plaint which the commissioner could seek to

collect through court action, the commissioner

may instead elect to seek collection of such
claim through administrative proceedings in

the manner provided in this section, subject to

the employer's right to request a trial in a

court of law. The commissioner may join in a
single administrative proceeding any number
of wage claims against the same employer. 

Upon making such election, the commissioner
shall serve upon the employer and the wage

claimant an order of determination directing
the employer to pay to the commissioner the
amount of the wage claim and any penalty
amounts under ORS 279.356 ( 1), 652. 150 and

653.055 ( 1) determined to be owed the wage

claimant. Service shall be made in the same

manner as service of summons or by certified
mail, return receipt requested. The order of
determination shall include: 

a) A reference to the particular sections

of the statutes or rules involved; 

b) A short and concise statement of the
basis for the amounts determined to be owed

to each wage claimant; 

c) A statement of the party's right to
request a contested case hearing and to be
represented by counsel at such a hearing, and
of the employer's right to a trial in a court of

law, provided that any request for a contested
t
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in 20 days after receipt by the party of the
order of determination; 

d) A statement that the employer must, 

within 20 days after receipt of the order of

determination, either pay in full the wage
claim and any penalties assessed, or present to
the commissioner a written request for a

contested case hearing or a trial in a court of
law as provided in this section; 

e) A statement that failure to make a

written request to the commissioner for a

contested case hearing or a trial of the claim
in a court of law within the time specified

shall constitute a waiver of the right thereto

and a waiver of the right to a trial by jury; 
and

f) A statement that unless the written

requests provided for in paragraph ( c) of sub- 

section ( 1) of this section are received by the
commissioner within the time specified for

making such requests, the order of determina- 
tion shall become final. 

2) Upon failure of the employer to pay
the amount specified in the order of determi- 

nation or to request a trial in a court of law

within the time specified, and upon failure of

any party to request a contested case hearing
within the time specified, the order of deter- 

mination shall become final. 

3) If a party makes a timely request for a
contested case hearing, a hearing shall be held
in accordance with the applicable provisions of

ORS 183.415 to 183.500 by the commissioner
or the commissioner's designee. The commis- 

sioner shall adopt rules for such hearing. In
any hearing before the commissioner's desig- 
nee, the designee is authorized to issue the

final order in the case. If the employer makes

a timely request for a trial in a court of law, 
the commissioner may proceed against the
employer as provided in ORS 652.330 ( 1)( b). 

4) Final administrative orders issued in a

wage claim proceeding are subject to review
by the Court of Appeals as provided in ORS
183. 480 and 183. 482. 

5) Unless the amount of the wage claim

and penalty specified in the final order is
paid, the order shall constitute a judgment

and may be filed in accordance with the provi- 
sions of ORS 18.320 to 18.370. Execution may
be issued upon the order in the same manner

as execution upon a judgment in a court of

record. 
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6) Where the wage claim arose out of

work performed by the claimant for the em- 
ployer on any public works project to which
ORS 279.350 or 279.352 applies, and a state

agency holds sufficient funds as retainage on
such project to pay such claim or any portion
thereof, the state agency may, at the request
of the commissioner, pay to the commissioner
from the retainage all or part of the amount

due on the claim under the final order. [ 1979

c 695 §4; 1981 c 594 §31

652.335 Liability of liquor dispenser
licensee for wage claims of certain indi- 
viduals. (1) A person operating a commercial
establishment where food is cooked and served

who holds a dispenser's license issued under

ORS 472. 110 is liable for all valid wage claims

of individuals employed in the kitchen facili- 

ties and dining space of such establishment
who are not employed by such person, if the
wage claims cannot be enforced against the

employer of such individuals. The commis- 

sioner may in such a case proceed under ORS
652.310 to 652.405 against the person operat- 

ing the establishment as if that person had
employed the individuals assigning the wage
claims

2) This section does not impose any liabil- 
ity not otherwise imposed by law for compen- 
sation for the performance of an individual's

personal services in excess of a period of 60

days, nor does it subject the person operating
an establishment described in this section to

criminal penalties for violation of any law
providing for payment of wages. [ 1961 c 475 § 21

652.340 Requiring bond of employer. 
1) If upon investigation by the commissioner, 

after taking assignments of any wage claims
under ORS 652.330, it appears to the commis- 

sioner that the employer is representing to his
employes that he is able to pay wages for their
services and that the employes are not being
paid for their services, the commissioner may
require the employer to give a bond in such
sum as the commissioner deems reasonable

and adequate in the circumstances, with suffi- 

cient surety, conditioned that the employer
will for a definite future period not exceeding
six months conduct his business and pay his
employes in accordance with the laws of
Oregon. 

2) Upon receipt of a permit application

filed by a producer - promoter who is required
to obtain a permit under ORS 652.325, the
commissioner shall require the producer - 

promoter to give a bond in an amount not less

than the sum of the wages to be paid to all

musicians and supporting technical personnel
to be employed in the production. Such bond

shall be conditioned on the payment of any
wages due any musicians and supporting
technical personnel upon the cessation of such

production or upon the subrogation of another

for the liability of such producer - promoter, if
such subrogation is satisfactory to the com- 
missioner. 

3) If within 10 days after demand for

such bond the employer fails to provide the

same, the commissioner may commence a suit
against the employer in the circuit court of

appropriate jurisdiction to compel him to

furnish such bond or cease doing business
until he has done so. The employer shall have

the burden of proving the amount thereof to
be excessive. 

4) If the court finds that there is just

cause for requiring such bond and that the
same is reasonably necessary or appropriate to
secure the prompt payment of the wages of

the employes of such employer and his compli- 

ance with ORS 652.310 to 652.405, the court

shall enjoin such employer from doing busi- 
ness in this state until the requirement is met, 

or shall make other, and may make further, 
orders appropriate to compel compliance with

the requirement. [ Amended by 1975 c.488 § 5] 

652.350 [Repealed by 1979 c 695 §71

652.355 Prohibition against discrimi- 

nation because of wage claim; remedy. (1) 

No employer shall discharge or in any other
manner discriminate against any employe
because: 

a) The employe has made a wage claim or
discussed, inquired about or consulted an

attorney or agency about a wage claim. 

b) The employe has caused to be institut- 

ed any proceedings under or related to ORS
652.310 to 652.405. 

b) The employe has testified or is about to

testify in any such proceedings. 

2) Any person who discharges or discrimi- 
nates against an employe in violation of sub- 
section ( 1) of this section shall be liable to the
employe discharged or discriminated against

for actual damages or $ 200, whichever is

greater. In any action under this subsection, 
the court may award to the prevailing party, 
in addition to costs and disbursements, rea- 

sonable attorney fees. [ 1975 c 397 § 2; 1980 s. s c 1

1] 
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652.360 Contract exempting employer
from liability or penalty not valid; excep- 
tion. No employer may by special contract or
any other means exempt himself from any
provision of or liability or penalty imposed by
ORS 652.310 to 652.405 or by any statute
relating to the payment of wages, except in so
far as the commissioner in writing approves a
special contract or other arrangement between

an employer and one or more of such employ- 
er's employes. The commissioner shall not

give his approval unless he finds that such

contract or arrangement will not prejudicially
affect the interest of the public or of the em- 

ployes involved, and he may at any time re- 
tract such approval, first giving the employer
not less than 30 days' notice in writing. 

652.370 Jurisdiction; proceedings in
name of the state. ( 1) Justice courts and

district courts shall have concurrent jurisdic- 
tion with circuit courts over all cases men- 
tioned in ORS 652.330 or 652.340. 

2) The commissioner shall prosecute all
legal proceedings on his own official relation, 
but in the name of the State of Oregon. 

652.380 Remedies are cumulative; 

effect of payment or tender by employer
after proceeding commenced. (1) The reme- 
dies provided by ORS 652.310 to 652.405 shall
be additional to and not in substitution for
and in no manner impair other remedies and

may be enforced simultaneously or consecu- 
tively so far as not inconsistent with each
other. 

2) No payment or tender after the filing
of a criminal complaint or commencement of

any proceeding by the commissioner shall
affect the liability therein of an employer for
expenses, or prevent such employer from

being subject to fine or forfeitures, or to the
giving of bond under ORS 652.340. 

652.390 Deduction of costs from wage

claims by commissioner. The commissioner
may deduct and retain any moneys collected
on each wage claim as costs, attorney' s fees or
penalties; and the amount deducted shall be

paid into the General Fund after deducting
actual costs and disbursements incurred in the
prosecution thereof. [ Amended by 1957 c 465 § 7, 
1967 c. 218 §21

652.400 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account; payment to persons
entitled thereto. Subject to ORS 652.390, all
moneys collected on judgments pursuant to
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652.420

ORS 652.330, or as a result of administrative
proceedings pursuant to ORS 652.332, includ- 

ing fines, shall be paid to the commissioner
and, together with all other sums collected

under ORS 652.310 to 652.405, be deposited in

the State Treasury to become part of a special
trust account to be known as the Wage Collec- 

tion Account, which account hereby is estab- 
lished in the State Treasury. All moneys in
the Wage Collection Account hereby are ap- 
propriated continuously for the purpose of
payment to the persons entitled thereto. 

Amended by 1957 c 465 §8, 1979 c 695 §5] 

652.405 Disposition of wages collect- 

ed by commissioner where payment can- 
not be made to person entitled thereto. (1) 

The Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and
Industries shall attempt for a period of not
less than seven years to make payment of
wages collected under ORS 652.310 to 652.405
to the person entitled thereto. 

2) Wages collected by the commissioner
under ORS 652.310 to 652.405 and remaining
unclaimed for a period of more than seven
years from the date of collection shall, within
30 days after June 30 of each year, be forfeit- 

ed to the state and shall be paid by the com- 
missioner to the Division of State Lands for
the benefit of the Common School Fund of this
state. The division shall issue a receipt for the
money to the commissioner. The person enti- 
tled to the wages or his heirs or personal rep- 
resentatives may reclaim the wages paid into
the Common School Fund pursuant to this
section within the time and in the manner

provided for estates which have escheated to
the state. [ 1957 c 465 § 151

652.410 [ Repealed by 1977 c 618 §2] 

Reciprocal) 

652.420 Definitions for ORS 652.420 to
652.445. ( 1) As used in ORS 652.420 to
652.445: 

a) " Labor bureau" includes any agency, 
bureau, commission, board or officer in anoth- 
er state which performs functions substantial- 

ly corresponding to those of the Commissioner
of the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 

b) " Labor Commissioner" means the

Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and
Industries. 

2) The definitions of ORS 652.310 and

652.320 shall apply to ORS 652.420 to
652.445, but nothing contained in , those sec- 
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tions shall be construed to preclude reciprocal

enforcement of wage claims under ORS

652.420 to 652.445, where the services of the

employe were rendered in another state. [ 1953

c. 256 §11

652.425 Authority of Commissioner of
the Bureau of Labor and Industries to

enter into agreements with other states

for reciprocal enforcement of wage

claims. The Commissioner . of the Bureau of

Labor and Industries may enter into agree- 
ments with the corresponding labor bureau of
another state for the reciprocal enforcement

and collection of wage claims, if the other

state has a reciprocal statute similar to ORS
652.420 to 652.445 or otherwise authorizes the

reciprocal enforcement and collection of wage

claims in a manner substantially similar to
ORS 652.420 to 652.445. [1953 c 256 § 21

652.430 Assigning wage claim to la- 
bor bureau of another state. Whenever a

wage claim is assigned to the Commissioner of

the Bureau of Labor and Industries in trust
pursuant to ORS 652.330 and the employer or
former employer upon whom demand for

payment is made by an employe in this state
has removed himself to another state, the

commissioner may reassign the wage claim, 
with the approval of the employe, to the labor
bureau of the other state, if there is in effect

at the time a valid reciprocal agreement under

ORS 652.425 between the commissioner and
the other state. [1953 c 256 § 31

652.435 Accepting assignments of

wage claims from labor bureau of another

state. Whenever a labor bureau in another
state, which has entered into a reciprocal

agreement under ORS 652.425 with the Com- 
missioner of the Bureau of Labor and Indus- 

tries and the agreement is in effect at the

time, takes an assignment of a wage claim

from an employe residing in the other state
for services rendered in the other state to an

employer or former employer who has re- 
moved himself to Oregon, the Commissioner

of the Bureau of Labor and Industries may
take an assignment of the wage claim from
such labor bureau and enforce the collection

thereof as provided in the applicable provi- 

sions of ORS 652.330 to 652.405. [ 1953 c.256 §41

652.440 Retention by commissioner
or labor bureau of percentage of funds

collected. Any agreement concluded by the
Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and

Industries shall make provision for the trans- 
fer of funds collected pursuant to ORS 652.420

to 652.445 and for retention by the commis- 
sioner or the labor bureau in the other state of

percentile amounts from the sums collected to

defray the administrative costs of ORS

652.420 to 652.445. Amounts authorized pur- 

suant to this section to be used to defray the
administrative costs of ORS 652.420 to

652.445 shall be credited to the Bureau of

Labor and Industries Account and shall be

used only for the administration of ORS
652.420 to 652.445. [ 1953 c.256 § 5; 1957 c. 465 § 91

652.445 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account. Except as provided in

ORS 652.440, all moneys collected pursuant to

ORS 652.420 to 652.445, including fines and
costs, shall be paid to the Commissioner of the
Bureau of Labor and Industries and be depos- 

ited in the State Treasury in the Wage Collec- 
tion Account established by ORS 652.400. 
1953 c.256 §6, 1957 c 465 §101

PRIORITY OF WAGE CLAIMS

652.500 Receiver to pay accrued

wages; payment of employes; receiver's

certificates. Whenever the business or prop- 
erty of any person, company or corporation in
this state shall be placed by any court in this
state in the hands of a receiver, whether upon

foreclosure or creditor's bill, the receiver, 

whether upon foreclosure or creditor's bill, the

receiver shall report immediately to the court

appointing him, the amount due by the per- 
son, company or corporation, at the date of the
receiver's appointment, to employes and labor- 

ers of the person, company or corporation. The
court shall order the receiver to pay out of the
first receipts and earnings of such person, 

company or corporation, after paying current

operating expenses under his administration, 
the wages of all employes and laborers which
had accrued within six months prior to the

appointment of the receiver. The court also

shall order such receiver to pay the wages of
all employes and laborers employed by him, at
least once every 30 days, out of the first re- 
ceipts and earnings of such person, company

or corporation while under his management; 
but should the receiver not take in sufficient

money from receipts and earnings to pay the
employes and laborers at least once every 30
days, then the receiver shall issue and deliver
to each of the employes and laborers, upon

demand, a receiver's certificate, showing the
amount due the employe or laborer in money, 
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which certificate will draw interest at the rate

of eight percent per annum from the date of
issuance until paid. The receiver shall there- 

after pay such certificates, in the order of thie
issuance, out of the first money coming into
his hands from the receipts and earnings of
the properties under his charge. [ Formerly
310501

Note: 652 500 was enacted into law by the Ugisla- 
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 652 or any series therein by legislative
action See the preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation. 

652.510 Payment of wage claims by
receivers, assignees or court; filing state- 
ment of wages due. (1) When the property of
any company, cooperative association, corpo- 

ration, firm or person is seized upon by any
process of any court of this state, or where
their business or property is placed in the
hands of a receiver, or whenever any assign- 
ment for the benefit of creditors under the
laws of this state is made, then in all such

cases the debts owing to laborers or employes, 
which have accrued by reason of their labor or
employment to an amount not exceeding

2, 000 to each employe for work or labor

performed within 90 days next preceding the
seizure or transfer or assignment of such

property, or appointment of said receiver shall

be considered and treated as preferred debts, 
and such laborers or employes shall be pre- 
ferred creditors, and shall first be paid in full, 

and if there is not sufficient to pay them in
full, their claims shall be paid pro rata, after

paying costs. 

2) Any such laborer or employe desiring
to enforce the claim of the laborer or employe
for wages under ORS 652.510 to 652.570 shall

present a statement under oath showing the
amount due after allowing all just credits and
setoffs, the kind of work for which said wages
are due and when performed, to the officer or

person charged with the execution of said
process, within 10 days after the seizure

thereof on any execution or writ of attach- 
ment, or to such receiver or assignee within 30

days after the same may have been placed in
the hands of any such assignee or receiver. 
Amended by 1977 c 288 § 1, 1981 c.594 §41

652.520 Form of statement of wage

claim. The statement to be presented under

ORS 652.510 shall be substantially in the
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following form: 

State of Oregon ) 

ss. 

County of ) 

652.530

I, , being first duly sworn, say
that is indebted to me in the sum of

dollars over and above all just credits and
setoffs, on account of work, services and labor

performed by me for the said , upon

the following terms and conditions, to wit: 
That I was employed by the said on

or about the day of , 19 —, to

work ( here describe character of work) at the
rate of dollars per month (or for a reason- 
able consideration for such work), and that

under said contract I began to work on the

day of , 19 —, and between that

day and the day of , 19 —, 1 per- 
formed work, services and labor days, 

amounting to the sum of dollars ( or the
reasonable value of dollars); that the said

has paid me on account of the said
labor the sum of dollars, and no more; 
and that there is now due me, the sum of
dollars, over and above all just credits and

offsets; and that during the 90 days next
preceding the day of , 19 —, I had
performed days' labor under said con- 

tract, amounting to the sum of dollars (or

that said services were reasonably worth the
sum of dollars); and that, applying all the
credits above stated, there is due me from the
said , on account of labor for the said
90 days, the sum of dollars, and no more; 
claim as due me. 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this
day of , 19 —. 

652.530 Serving copy of statement; 
report to court; order of payment. (1) The

person claiming the benefit of ORS 652.510 to
652.570 shall serve upon the debtor, or upon

the officer, assignee or receiver for the debtor

where personal service cannot be had, a copy
of the verified claim. Thereafter the person
receiving such statement shall report the

amount of such claim to the court having
jurisdiction of such officer, receiver or assign- 
ee, together with a statement of all costs occa- 

sioned by the seizure of said property or of
such receivership or assignment. 

2) The court shall order such claims to be
paid after payment of the costs and expenses

of such seizure and sale, and the costs and

disbursements which have accrued before the



652.540 LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

filing of the notice under ORS 652.510 and of
assignment or receivership, out of the pro- 
ceeds of the sale of the property so seized, 
assigned, or placed in the hands of an assignee

or receiver. 

652.540 Exception to claim; legal

action on claim. ( 1) Any person interested
may contest all or any part of a claim men- 

tioned in ORS 652.530, by filing in said court
exceptions thereto, supported by affidavit, 
within 10 days from the filing of the report
provided in ORS 652.530. Thereupon the

claimant shall be required to establish his

claim, by judgment in such court, before any
part thereof shall be paid. 

2) When any claim is excepted to as pro- 
vided in this section, the person desiring to
establish the same shall file in said court, 
within 30 days after the claim is excepted to, 

his verified complaint as in an action at law

and serve it upon the person excepting, or his
attorney of record, and upon the principal
debtor for the claim, or his attorney of record. 

3) Thereafter the cause shall proceed to

final judgment between the parties as an

action at law. 

652.550 Payment of claims prerequi- 

site to discharge of attachment or execu- 

tion, assignee or receiver, or to abandon- 

ment of seizure or sale. No attachment or

execution shall be discharged nor shall the

seizure or sale of property seized be aban- 
doned, or assignee or receiver discharged, 

until every claimant presenting his claim
under ORS 652.510 to 652.570 has been paid
in full, or pro rata, as provided in ORS

652.510, or has consented to such discharge or

abandonment. 

652.560 Costs and attorney fees. 

Whenever any claim has been excepted to
under ORS 652.540 and the claim is estab- 

lished by judgment and the court rendering
the judgment is satisfied that the exceptions

were made without probable cause or that the

person so excepting could have ascertained
with reasonable diligence that such claim was

true and just, the claimant in such action

shall be entitled to have the costs of such

action, and such sum as the court may ad- 
judge reasonable as attorney fees at trial and
on appeal, enforced by execution against the
person objecting as a judgment debtor in the
first instance. However, if the court does not
so find, or if execution, when issued, is re- 
turned nulla bona, then in either case such

costs and attorney fees shall be ordered paid
out of the proceeds of the property sold next
after the payment of all claims presented

under ORS 652.510 to 652.570. [Amended by 1981
c 897 §891

652.570 Priority of wage claims over
transfers in payment of preexisting obli- 
gations; payment and subrogation of

transferee. ( 1) Every sale or transfer of any
property in payment of any preexisting debt, 
or obligation, and every mortgage or lien
created or executed to secure the payment of a

preexisting debt, shall be void as against
laborers or employes of such vendor, mortga- 

gor, or other lien debtor, to the extent of their

claims for wages, not exceeding the sum of
600 to each of said laborers which may be

owing for work or labor performed within 90
days next preceding such sale and transfer or
the execution of such lien or mortgage, if the

laborer or employe claiming the benefit of this
section: 

a) Within 10 days after the actual deliv- 

ery of the property or within 30 days after the
recording of any such deed, transfer, mortgage
or lien, gives such owner or holder of such lien

or such vendee notice of his claim substantial- 

ly in the form and verified as provided in ORS
652.520, which notice shall be served by deliv- 
ering it or a copy thereof to such owner or
holder of such lien or such vendee in person

or, in case he cannot be found within the

county in which such lien or deed may be of
record after diligent inquiry, by delivering the
notice or a copy thereof to the clerk of the
county court for such owner or holder of such
lien or such vendee; and

b) Within 30 days commences a suit to

establish the claim and prosecute it to judg- 
ment. 

2) The vendee or mortgage or lien holder, 

or his assignee, may pay such claim and there- 
by be subrogated to the rights and lien of such
laborer or employe, as against the vendor, 

principal debtor or mortgagor, and as against

subsequent mortgagees or other subsequent

lien creditors
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3) This section does not apply to any
mortgage or lien given in renewal of a preex- 

isting mortgage or lien. [ Amended by 1977 c 288

21

652.580 [ Repealed by 1981 c.898 § 531
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STATEMENTS RELATING TO
EMPLOYE' S SALARY AND

DEDUCTIONS THEREFROM

Generally) 

652.610 Itemized statement of

amounts and purposes of deductions re- 
quired. ( 1) All persons, firms, partnerships, 
associations, cooperative associations, corpora- 

tions, municipal corporations, the state and its
political subdivisions, except the Federal

Government and its agencies, employing, in
this state, during any calendar month one or
more persons, and withholding for any pur- 
pose, any sum of money from the wages, sala- 
ry or commission earned by an employe, shall
provide such employe on regular paydays with

a statement sufficiently itemized to show the
amount and purpose of such deductions made

during the respective period of service which
said payment covers. 

2) The itemized statement shall be fur- 
nished to the employe at the time payment of

wages, salary or commission is made, and may
be attached to or be a part of the check, draft, 

voucher or other instrument by which pay- 
ment is made, or may be delivered separately
from such instrument. 

3) No employer may withhold, deduct or
divert any portion of an employe's wages
unless: 

a) The employer is required to do so by
law; 

b) The deductions are authorized in writ- 

ing by the employe, are for the employe' s
benefit, and are recorded in the employer's
books; 

c) The employe has voluntarily signed an
authorization for a deduction for any other
item, provided that the ultimate recipient of
the money withheld is not the employer, and

that such deduction is recorded in the employ- 
er's books; or

d) The deduction is authorized by a collec- 
tive bargaining agreement to which the em- 
ployer is a party. 

4) Nothing in this section shall be con- 
strued as prohibiting the withholding of
amounts authorized in writing by the employe
to be contributed by the employe to charitable
organizations, including contributions made
pursuant to ORS 243.666 and 663. 110; nor

shall this section prohibit deductions by
check -off dues to labor organizations or ser- 
vice fees, where such is not otherwise prohib- 
ited by law; nor shall this section diminish or
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enlarge the right of any person to assert and
enforce a lawful setoff or counterclaim or to

attach, take, reach or apply an employe's
compensation on due legal process. [ Amended by
1977 c 618 0, 1980 s s c 1 § 2, 1981 c 594 §51

652.615 Remedy for violation of ORS
652.610. There is hereby created a private
cause of action for a violation of ORS 652.610
3) for actual damages or $ 200, whichever is

greater. In any such action the court may
award to the prevailing party, in addition to
costs and disbursements, reasonable attorney
fees. [ 1981 c 594 § 71

652.620 Statement of yearly compen- 
sation on request of employe. All persons, 
firms, partnerships, associations, cooperative
associations, corporations, municipal corpora- 

tions, the state and its political subdivisions
thereof, except the Federal Government and

its agencies employing, in this state, five or
more persons, during any calendar month, 
upon the request of any employe or former
employe, and upon five days' notice to said
employer shall give to such employe, not later

than March 10 of each year, a statement

showing the total compensation paid by such
employer to such employe, or former employe, 

during the previous calendar year. 

Agricultural Workers) 

652.630 Definitions for ORS 652.630 to
652.640. As used in ORS 652.630 to 652.640, 
unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) " Bonus" means an increase in the

agreed rate of compensation based on the

amount of time worked during a perishable
agricultural product season or based on the

amount of a perishable agricultural product

that is harvested. 

2) " Labor contractor" means a farm labor
contractor as defined in ORS 658.405. 

3) " Producer" means a person who raises
perishable agricultural products. [ 1969 c. 572 § 11

Note: 652.630 to 652 640 were enacted into law by
the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made a
part of ORS chapter 652 by legislative action. See the
Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explana- 
tion

652.635 Growers to post certain terms

of employment. Every producer, or his agent, 
who employs a labor contractor to provide a

working crew for harvesting perishable agri- 
cultural products or who offers a bonus to
those persons who harvest perishable agricul- 
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tural products shall cause to be conspicuously
posted and maintained on the premises where

the agricultural products are to be harvested a
notice that states: 

1) A description of the terms and condi- 

tions of any bonus offered, including the man- 
ner of determining when the bonus is earned. 

2) That portion of the labor contractor's
compensation that is based on the amount of

work done by each employe of the labor con- 
tractor. [ 1969 c 572 § 21

Note: See note under 652.630

652.640 Itemized statement of com- 

pensation and deductions required. Each

time a person who harvests perishable agri- 

cultural products receives compensation pay- 

ments at a regular pay period or upon termi- 
nation of employment, the producer, or his
agent, or, if the person is an employe of a
labor contractor, the labor contractor shall
furnish to such person a written statement

itemizing the total payment and each deduc- 
tion therefrom. [1969 c 572 § 31

Note: See note under 652 630

FEES OR DEDUCTIONS FOR

MEDICAL CARE

652.710 Fees collected by employer
for medical care contracts are trust funds; 

priority on liquidation. ( 1) All moneys col- 

lected by an employer from employes or re- 
tained from their wages for the purpose of

providing for or furnishing to such employes
medical and surgical attention, hospital care, 

X -rays, ambulance, nursing or any related
service or care contingent upon sickness or

injury pursuant to a contract are trust funds
and shall be placed and kept in separate ac- 

counts by the employer and shall promptly be
paid over to the contractor. Such funds shall
in no event become a part of the assets of the

employer. 

2) If the employer fails to place and keep
such funds in separate accounts and pay them
over to the contractor or if the funds become
commingled with the funds of the employer

and the employer becomes bankrupt, insolvent

or goes through voluntary or involuntary
liquidation, or if a receiver is appointed to

operate or liquidate the affairs of the employ- 
er, the funds not paid to the contractor shall
be entitled to the same preference as given to
claims of the State Accident Insurance Fund

Corporation, as provided in ORS 656.562. 

Formerly 655. 130] 

652.720 Prohibited use by employer
of fees for medical care contracts with- 

held from employe wages. ( 1) No employer

shall retain, directly or indirectly, from em- 
ployes or from their wages any part of the
money collected or retained under ORS

652.710 for his own use or benefit. 

2) No employer shall apply, directly or
indirectly, any portion of the money so collect- 
ed to his cost of compensation or to the cost of

any medical, surgical or hospital care and
attention for employes on account of injuries

sustained by them in the course of their em- 
ployment. [ Formerly 655 110] 

PERSONNEL RECORDS

652.750 Inspection of records by em- 
ploye; furnishing copy to employe; dispo- 
sition of record on termination of employ- 
ment; charge for copies. (1) As used in this

section: 

a) " Employer" has the meaning for that
term provided in ORS 656.005. 

b) " Personnel records" do not include

records of an individual relating to the convic- 
tion, arrest or investigation of conduct consti- 

tuting a violation of the criminal laws of this
state or another state or the United States, 

confidential reports from previous employers
or records maintained in compliance with ORS
351. 065. 

2) At the request of an employe, his em- 

ployer shall provide reasonable opportunity

for the employe to inspect, at the place of his
employment or place of work assignment, 

those personnel records of the employe which

are used or have been used to determine the

employe' s qualification for employment, pro- 

motion, additional compensation or employ- 

ment termination or other disciplinary action. 
At the request of the employe, his employer

shall furnish a certified copy of such records. 

3) Upon termination of employment, the

employer shall keep the terminated employe' s
personnel records for not less than 60 days. At
the request of the employe, the employer shall

furnish a certified copy of such records within
the 60 -day period

4) An employer may make only such
charge for the services referred to in subsec- 

tions ( 2) and ( 3) of this section as is reason- 
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ably calculated to recover the actual cost of
providing the service. [ 1977 c 861 § 21

PENALTIES

652.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of ORS

652.020 ( 2) is punishable, upon conviction, by
a fine of not less than $ 50 nor more than

500. Every day's violation is deemed a sepa- 
rate offense. 

2) Any person, body corporate, general
manager or employer who violates ORS

652.040 or causes ORS 652.040 to be violated

is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $50, nor more than $300, or by im- 
prisonment in the county jail for not less than
30 days, nor more than three months, or both. 

3) Violation of ORS 652. 110 or 652. 120 is

punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
more than $500. 

4) Violation of ORS 652. 130 by any em- 
ployer is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not more than $ 500 or by imprison- 
ment in the county jail for not more than 60
days, or by both. Justice courts, district courts
and circuit courts shall have concurrent juris- 

diction in all cases arising under this subsec- 
tion. 

69

652.990

5) In addition to the civil damages recov- 
erable under ORS 652.230, violation of ORS
652.210 to 652.230 is a misdemeanor. 

6) The violation of ORS 652.240 is a mis- 
demeanor. 

7) Violation of ORS 652.355 is a Class C
misdemeanor. 

8) Violation of ORS 652.610 or 652.620 is

punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $ 10 nor more than $ 100 for each

offense

9) Wilful violation of ORS 652.635 or

652.640 by a producer or his agent is a misde- 
meanor. 

10) Violation of any of the provisions of
ORS 652.710 or 652.720 by any employer is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $50 nor more than $500. [ Subsection

5) enacted as 1955 c 193 § 4, subsection ( 6) enacted as

1957 c 243 §2, subsection (9) formerly 655 990, subsection

8) enacted as 1969 c 572 §4, 1975 c 397 §51
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