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316.027

GENERAL PROVISIONS

316.002 Short title. This chapter may be
cited as the Personal Income Tax Act of 1969.
As used 1n this chapter, the term “this chap-
ter” refers only to the Personal Income Tax
Act of 1969. |1969 c 493 31|

316.005 | 1953 ¢ 304 %1, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 $99]

316.007 Policy. It 1s the intent of the
Legislative Assembly, by the adoption of this
chapter, in so far as possible, to make the
Oregon personal income tax law identical 1n
effect to the provisions of the federal Internal
Revenue Code of 1954 relating to the mea-
surement of taxable income of individuals,
estates and trusts, modified as necessary by
the state’s jurisdiction to tax and the revenue
needs of the state; to achieve this result by the
application of the various provisions of the
federal Internal Revenue Code relating to the
definition of 1ncome, exceptions and exclu-
sions therefrom, deductions (business and
personal), accounting methods, taxation of
trusts, estates and partnerships, basis, depre-
ciation and other pertinent provisions relating
to gross income as defined therein, modified
as provided in this chapter, resulting in a
final amount called “taxable income”, and to
impose a tax on residents of this state mea-
sured by taxable income wherever derived and
to impose a tax on the income of nonresidents
that is ascribable to sources within this state.
11969 ¢ 493 %2,1971ss c4 1]

316.010 1953 ¢ 304 %2, 1953 ¢ 552 81, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 399]

316.012 Terms have same meaning as
in federal laws. Any term used 1n this chap-
ter has the same meaning as when used in a
comparable context in the laws of the Umted
States relating to federal income taxes, uniess
a different meaning 1s clearly required or the
term 1s specifically defined 1n this chapter
Any reference 1n this chapter to the laws of
the United States or to the Internal Revenue
Code means the laws of the United States
relating to income taxes or the Internal Reve-
nue Code as they may be in effect for the
taxable year of the taxpayer except where the
Legislative Assembly has specifically provided
otherwise {1969 c493 §3, 1971 ss c4 2, 1975 ¢ 672
33]

Note: Section 2, chapter 613, Oregon Laws 1981,
provides

Sec. 2. Notwithstanding ORS 316 012, for taxable
years that begin on or after January 1, 1981, and prior to
January 1, 1983, any reference 1n this chapter to the laws

of the United States or to the Internal Revenue Code
means the laws of the United States relating to income
taxes or the Internal Revenue Code as they may be 1n
effect and operative on December 31, 1980, or that were
enacted by the United States before December 31, 1980.
but that become effective or operative after December 31,
1980 Any change 1n the laws of the United States or 1n
the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 relating to federal
income taxes that 1s enacted after December 31, 1980,
and that takes effect or becomes operative after Decem-
ber 31, 1980, shall not apply to this chapter for taxable
years that begin on or after January 1, 1981, and before
January 1, 1983, except where the Legislative Assembly
has specifically provided otherwise

316.015 [1953 ¢ 304 &3, 1953 ¢ 552 §2, 1959 ¢ 211 33,
1959 ¢593 31 (referred and rejected), 1963 c 627 32
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1969 c¢493 %99,
amended by 1969 ¢ 520 §41]

316.016 [1973 ¢ 119 ¥2, repealed by 1975 ¢ 672 8]
316.017 {1969 c 493 §3a, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §3b}
316.020 [1953 ¢ 304 &4, repealed by 1969 c 493 ¥99}

316.022 General definitions. (1) “De-
partment” means the Department of Revenue

(2) “Director” means the Director of the
Department of Revenue

(3) “Individual” means a natural person,
including aliens and minors.

(4) A “nonresident” means an individual
who 1s not a resident of this state

(5) “Taxable income” means the taxable
income defined in subsections (a) and (b),
section 63, Internal Revenue Code of 1954,
with such additions, subtractions and adjust-
ments as are prescribed by this chapter.

(6) “Taxpayer” means any natural person,
estate, trust, or beneficiary whose income 1s in
whole or in part subject to the taxes imposed
by this chapter, or any employer required by
this chapter to withhold personal income taxes
from the compensation of employes for remut-
tance to the state (1969 c493 s¥4, 5, 6, 7, 9 and
1969 ¢ 520 ¥42b]

316.025 [1953 c 304 45, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 31

(314 075 and 314 080 enacted 1n hieu of 316 025, 316 030,
317 015 and 317 020))

316.027 *“Resident” defined. (1) “Resi-
dent” or “resident of this state” means:

(a) An individual who is domiciled in this
state unless he (A) maintains no permanent
place of abode in this state, and (B) does main-
tain a permanent place of abode elsewhere,
and (C) spends 1n the aggregate not more than
30 days in the taxable year in this state; or

{b) An 1ndividual who 1s not domiciled in
this state but maintains a permanent place of
abode 1n this state and spends in the aggre-
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gate more than 200 days of the taxable year 1in
this state is presumed to be a resident unless
he proves that he is in the state only for a
temporary or transitory purpose.

(2) For purposes of paragraph (b) of sub-
section (1) of this section, a fraction of a calen-
dar day shall be counted as a whole day. [1969
c 493 §8]

316.030 [1953 ¢ 304 §6, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 075 and 314 080 enacted 1n heu of 316 025, 316 030,
317 015 and 317 020)]

316.032 Department to administer
law; policy as to federal conflicts. (1) The
Department of Revenue shall administer and
enforce this chapter.

(2) In so far as is practicable in the admin-
istration of this chapter, the department shall
apply and follow the administrative and judi-
cial interpretations of the federal income tax
law. When a provision of the federal income
tax law is the subject of conflicting opinions
by two or more federal courts, the department
shall follow the rule observed by the United
States Commissioner of Internal Revenue
until the conflict is resolved. Nothing con-
tained 1n this section limits the right or duty
of the department to audit the return of any
taxpayer or to determine any fact relating to
the tax liability of any taxpayer [1969 c493
§10]

316.035 [1953 ¢ 304 §117, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99
and 1969 ¢ 520 $49]

316.037 Imposition and rate of tax;
tax on tax preference items. (1) A tax 1s
imposed for each taxable year on the entire
taxable income of every resident of this state
and on the taxable income of every nonresi-
dent that is derived from sources within this
state. The amount of the tax shall be deter-
mined in accordance with the following table:

If the taxable income is: The tax 1s:
Not over $500 ...................... 4% of tax-
able 1ncome

Over $500 but not
over $1,000 ...................... $20 plus 5%
of the excess
over $500
Over $1,000 but not
over $2,000 ..............e....... $45 plus 6%
of the excess
over $1,000
Over $2,000 but not
over $3,000 ...........cc......... $105 plus 7%
of the excess
over $2,000

Over $3,000 but not
over $4,000 ..., $175 plus 8%
of the excess
over $3,000
Over $4,000 but not
over $5,000 ...................... $255 plus 9%
of the excess
over $4,000
Over $5,000....... .cccooeeeeeee. . $345 plus 10%
of the excess
over $5,000

(2) In addition to the tax imposed by sub-
section (1) of this section, a tax 1s 1imposed for
each taxable year on the sum of the items of
tax preference of every resident, and on the
sum of the items of tax preference that are
derived from sources within this state of every
nonresident if:

(a) The sum of the taxpayer’s adjusted
gross income derived from sources subject to
the taxing jurisdiction of this state plus his
items of tax preference described in para-
graphs (2) and (3) of subsection (a) of section
57 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 de-
rived from sources subject to the taxing juris-
diction of this state is $20,000 or more, and
the sum of the items of tax preference is in
excess of $3,000; or

(b) The sum of the taxpayer’s adjusted
gross income derived from sources subject to
the taxing jurisdiction of this state plus his
items of tax preference described in para-
graphs (2) and (3) of subsection (a) of section
57 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 de-
rived from sources subject to the taxing juris-
diction of this state is less than $20,000, and
the sum of the items of tax preference are 1n
excess of $10,000.

(3) (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b)
of this subsection, the amount of the tax im-
posed by subsection (2) of this section shall be
determined in accordance with the following
table:

If the sum of items of

tax preference is: The tax is:

Not over $5,000 ................... 1% of
the excess
over $3,000

Over $5,000 but not

over $7,000 ..................... $20 plus 1-1/2%

of the excess
over $5,000
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Over $7,000 but not
over $9,000 ...................... $50 plus 2%
of the excess
over $7,000
Over $9,000 but not
over $12,000 .................... $90 plus 2-1/2%
of the excess
over $9,000
Over $12,000..........cccouuvveeeen. $165 plus 3%
of the excess
over $12,000

(b) In the case of a husband or wife who
files a separate return for the taxable year,
the amount of the tax imposed by subsection
(2) of this section shall be determined in ac-
cordance with the following table:

If the sum of 1items of

tax preference 1s: The tax is:

Not over $2,500 ................... 1% of the
excess over
$1,500

Over $2,500 but not

over $3,500 .......ccccceeeeeeen $10 plus 1-1/2%
of the excess
over $2,500

Over $3,500 but not

over $4,500 ..........ccceee. $25 plus 2%
of the excess
over $3,500

Over $4,500 but not

over $6,000 ...........cccceee... $45 plus 2-1/2%
of the excess
over $4,500

Over $6,000......cccceeeeveemrennnn. $82.50 plus 3%
of the excess
over $6,000

(4) As used in subsections (2) to (5) of this
section:

(a) “Adjusted gross income” means adjust-
ed gross income as defined in section 62 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954.

(b) “Items of tax preference” include those
items of tax preference listed in section 57 of
the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 and shall
be determined, if applicable, in a manner
consistent with sections 57 and 58 of the In-
ternal Revenue Code of 1954 and this chapter
in accordance with rules adopted by the De-
partment of Revenue. However, gain attribut-
able to the sale of a farm if that farm has
been owned and dwelt upon by the taxpayer
for a period of five years immediately preced-
ing the date of sale shall not be considered an
itemn of tax preference.

(5) In the case of a husband or wife who
files a separate return for the taxable year,
the $20,000 amount specified in paragraph (a)
of subsection (2) of this section shall be
$10,000 and the $3,000 amount shall be
$1,500 and the $10,000 amount specified in
paragraph (b) of subsection (2) of this section
shall be $5,000. [1969 c 493 §11, 1975 ¢ 674 &1, 1977
c 87281, 1979 ¢ 649 §1])

316.040 [ 1953 ¢ 304 {7, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.042 Amount of tax where joint
return used. In the case of a joint return of
husband and wife, pursuant to ORS 316.122
(2) or pursuant to ORS 316 367, the tax 1m-
posed by ORS 316.037 (1) shall be twice the
tax which would be imposed if the taxable
income were cut in half. For purposes of this
section, a return of a head of household or a
surviving spouse, as defined in subsection (b)
of section 1 and subsection (b) of section 2 of
the Internal Revenue Code, shall be treated as
a joint return of husband and wife. 11969 c 493
§12, 1975 ¢ 674 §2]

316.047 Transitional provision to
prevent doubling income or deductions. If
any provision of the Internal Revenue Code or
of this chapter requires that any amount be
added to or deducted from federal gross in-
come or the net income taxable under this
chapter that previously had been added to or
deducted from net income taxable under the
Oregon law in effect prior to the taxpayer’s
taxable year as to which this chapter is first
effective, then, in such event, appropriate
adjustment shall be made to the net income
for the year or years subject to this chapter so
as to prohibit the double taxation or the dou-
ble deduction of any such amount that previ-
ously had entered into the computation of
taxable income. Differences such as the differ-
ence in basis of property used by the taxpayer
for federal and Oregon income tax returns and
on account of the treatment of operating loss-
es shall be resolved by application of this
principle However, the department, 1n 1ts
audit of a return, shall not apply any adjust-
ment under this section which, in its opinion,
if applied would result 1n an increase or de-
crease of tax hability of less than $25. Where
applicable, the provisions of ORS 314.275
shall be utilized. [1969 c 493 §13]

COMPUTATION OF TAXABLE
INCOME

(Generally)
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316.048 Taxable income of resident.
The entire taxable 1ncome of a resident of this
state 1s his federal taxable income as defined
in the laws of the United States, with the
modifications, additions and subtractions
provided 1n this chapter. [Formerly 316 062]

316.049 Exemption for income de-
rived from sources within federally recog-
nized American Indian reservation; quali-
fications; payment of refund. (1) Any in-
come derived, on or after January 1, 1953,
from sources within the boundaries of a then
active Indian reservation in Oregon by an
enrolled member of a federally recognized
American Indian tribe residing on the reser-
vation of his tribe at the time the income was
earned, is exempt from tax under this chapter.

(2) If income exempt from tax under this
section has been included on a personal in-
come tax return or a withholding report or
return resulting in a tax paid to the State of
Oregon, the taxpayer or a personal represen-
tative or interested person defined in ORS
118.005, may apply for a refund of any tax
paid on such income. Notwithstanding ORS
314.415 and 316.192, a claim for refund may
be made any time prior to June 30, 1982.

(3) A copy of the return, evidence of with-
holding or payment of the tax, and an extract
from the tribal rolls or other documentary
proof of the taxpayer’s enrolled status for each
year for which a refund is claimed, and such
additional proofs as may be required by the
Department of Revenue, shall be attached to
any application for refund made under this
section.

(4) Payment of any refunds under this
section shall be made by the Department of
Revenue from the working balance of unre-
ceipted revenue retained for the payment of
income tax refunds pursuant to ORS 316.502.
[1977 ¢ 755 §2]

316.050 Exemption for amounts re-
ceived for condemnation of Indian tribal
lands. Amounts received as condemnation
awards as a result of condemnation by the
Federal Government of Indian tribal lands are
exempt from the tax imposed by this chapter.
[1977 ¢.553 §2]

316.051 Modification of taxable in-
come for adoption expenses. For purposes
of computing the adoption expense deduction
provided in ORS 316.052, “adoption expenses”
means expenses paid by the taxpayer during
the taxable year that are not otherwise de-

ductible for federal or state income tax pur-
poses, that are incurred during the course of
the adoption of one or more children, and that
are expenses of the following description:

(1) Attorney fees
(2) Court costs.
(3) Adoption filing fees.

(4) Social or adoption agency or doctor’s
adoption fees.

(5) Medical expenses described as follows
that are incurred for the care of the natural
mother or the child or children:

(a) Hospital expenses.
(b) Prenatal expenses.
(c) Doctor’s fees.

(d) Laboratory fees and medical test ex-
penses.

(e) Pediatric expenses. [1977 ¢ 390 §2)

316.052 Computation of adoption
expense deduction. If the taxpayer elects to
itemize his deductions on his Oregon return,
there shall be subtracted from federal taxable
income the difference between the amount
computed as a medical expense deduction for
federal income tax purposes and the amount
computed for the medical expense deduction
for federal income tax purposes as if adoption
expenses were included in the calculation of
the deduction allowed by section 213 of the
Internal Revenue Code. [1977 ¢ 390 §3, 1979 ¢ 691
§2]

316.053 Proof required. The deduction
allowed by ORS 316.052 shall be substantiat-
ed, by submission with the tax return, of the
receipts of the taxpayer evidencing payment
of all adoption expenses or by submission of
other information required by the Department
of Revenue by rule. [1977 ¢ 390 §4]

316.055 [1953 ¢ 304 §8; 1953 ¢ 552 §3, 1957 s.s c 15
§1, 1963 c 627 §3 (referred and rejected), repealed by 1969
¢ 493 §99]

316.057 Definitions for ORS 316.057 to
316.059. As used in ORS 316.057 to 316.059:

(1) “Construction job site” means the
specific location of a construction project.

(2) “Construction project” means the con-
struction, alteration, repair, 1mprovement,
moving or demolition of a structure and ap-
purtenances thereto.

(3) “Construction worker” means a person
who is a member of a recogmzed construction
trade, craft, union or industrial occupation
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and who is lawfully engaged in the perfor-
mance of labor, pursuant to contract or sub-
contract, at a construction project.

(4) “Traveling expenses”
transportation expenses that:

means daily

(a) Are not otherwise deductible under the
federal Internal Revenue Code.

(b) Are incurred by a construction worker
in job-related travel between a construction
job site located more than 50 miles from the
principal residence of the construction worker.

(5) “Traveling expenses” includes gas, oil
and automobile repairs and maintenance, but
does not include meals unless the construction
worker is required by the employer to stay
overnight at the construction job site. [1977
c 872 §8]

316.058 Modification of taxable in-
come for certain traveling expenses. In
addition to the modifications to federal taxa-
ble income contained in this chapter, there
shall be subtracted from federal taxable in-
come traveling expenses, as defined in ORS
316.057, incurred by a construction worker
during the first year of continuous employ-
ment on the same construction job site. How-
ever, 1f employment on the same construction
job site is temporarily interrupted for any
reason whatsoever, the period of interruption
shall not be taken into account in determining
the one-year period (1977 c 872 §9]

316.059 Proof of expenses. The modifi-
cation to federal taxable income by ORS
316.058 shall be substantiated by any proof
required by the Department of Revenue by
rule. [1977 ¢ 872 §10]

316.060 (1953 c 304 §9, 1955 ¢ 596 §1, part derived
from 1955 ¢ 596 §4, 1957 ¢ 586 §1, 1957 s s ¢ 15 §2, 1959
c 593 §2 (referred and rejected), 1963 ¢ 627 §4 (referred
and rejected), 1963 c 627 §4 (referred and rejected),
repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99, amended by 1969 ¢ 520 §42]

316.061 Definitions for ORS 316.061
and 316.063. As used in ORS 316.061 and
316.063:

(1) “Forest products” means any mer-
chantable form including but not limited to
logs, poles and piling, into which a fallen tree
may be cut before it undergoes manufactur-
ing.

(2) “Logger” means a person commonly
known as a faller or bucker who furnishes and
maintains his own equipment in the commer-
cial harvesting of forest products and who is
paid on a per-unit cut basis.

(38) “Logging operation site” means the
specific location of the commercial harvesting
of forest products.

(4) “Traveling expenses”
transportation expenses that:

means daily

(a) Are not otherwise deductible under the
federal Internal Revenue Code.

(b) Are 1ncurred by a logger 1n job-related
travel between a logging operation site located
more than 50 miles from the principal resi-
dence of the logger.

(5) “Traveling expenses” includes gas, oil
and automobile repairs and maintenance but
does not include meals or lodging. [1979 c 887
§2]

316.062 [1969 ¢ 493 §14, renumbered 316 048]

316.063 Deduction of travel expenses
for loggers. (1) In addition to the modifica-
tions to federal taxable income contained in
this chapter, there shall be subtracted from
federal taxable income traveling expenses, as
defined in ORS 316.061, incurred by a logger
in job-related travel.

(2) The modification to federal taxable
income by subsection (1) of this section shall
be substantiated by any proof required by the
Department of Revenue by rule. [1979 ¢ 887 §§3,
4]

316.064 Deduction for art object do-
nation. (1) If an art object has not been previ-
ously sold or otherwise transferred by its
creator and the creator makes a charitable
contribution of the art object that qualifies for
the deduction allowed by section 170 of the
Internal Revenue Code for the taxable year to
a donee that uses the art object for a purpose
or function that constitutes the basis for its
exemption under section 501 of the Internal
Revenue Code, or to a governmental unit,
there shall be subtracted from federal taxable
income any positive amount obtained by sub-
tracting:

(a) The amount otherwise deductible on
the Oregon tax return of the taxpayer-creator
for the taxable year as charitable contribu-
tions from

(b) The amount that would have been
deductible by the taxpayer-creator if the de-
duction for charitable contributions had been
computed without reduction in amount under
section 170 (e) of the Internal Revenue Code
for the art object charitably contributed by its
creator.
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(2) As used in this section, “art object”
means a painting, sculpture, photograph,
graphic or craft art, industrial design, cos-
tume or fashion design, tape or sound record-
ing or film.

(3) No additional subtraction shall be
allowed to the taxpayer-creator under this
section unless the tax return is accompanied
by a copy of an appraisal report showing the
fair market value of the art object at the time
the contribution was made. [1979 ¢ 707 §2]

316.065 [1953 c 304 810, repealed by 1959 ¢ 593 §14

(referred and rejected), repealed by 1963 ¢ 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.066 [1973 ¢ 753 §2, repealed by 1979 ¢ 414 §7]

316.067 Modification of taxable in-
come. (1) There shall be subtracted from
federal taxable income:

(a) The interest or dividends on obli-
gations of the United States and its territories
and possessions or of any authority, commis-
sion or instrumentality of the United States to
the extent includable in gross income for
federal income tax purposes but exempt from
state income taxes under the laws of the Unit-
ed States. However, the amount subtracted
under this section shall be reduced by any
interest on indebtedness incurred to carry the
obligations or securities described 1n this
section, and by any expenses incurred in the
production of interest or dividend income
described in this section to the extent that
such expenses, including amortizable bond
premiums, are deductible in determining
federal taxable income.

(b) The amount of any federal income
taxes accrued by the taxpayer during the
taxable year as described in ORS 316.072, less
the amount of any refunds of federal taxes
previously accrued for which a tax benefit was
received.

(c) Amounts received in the taxable year
in compensation for personal services ren-
dered in prior years, from a pension, annuity,
retirement or similar fund under a public
retirement system established by the United
States, including the retirement system for
the performance of service in the Armed
Forces of the United States, or by this state or
any municipal corporation or political subdivi-
sion of this state (but excluding the Public
Employes’ Retirement System established by
ORS chapter 237). In the case of a public
retirement system established by the United
States, including the retirement system for
the performance of service in the Armed

Forces of the United States, the maximum
amount excludable from taxable income from
such pensions or annuities shall be in the
amount of $3,400. However, if the retiree is
under 62, the $3,400 subtraction is reduced
dollar for dollar to the extent of any earned
income, as defined in subsection (3) of this
section, received during the taxable year. If
the retiree receives $25,000 or more of house-
hold income, as defined in ORS 310.630, the
subtraction is zero.

(d) The amount of any payments received
from the Public Employes’ Retirement Fund
under ORS 237.001 to 237.315 which are
exempt from state taxation under ORS
237.201

(e) Compensation (other than pension or
retirement pay) received for active service
performed by a member of the Armed Forces
of the United States in an amount not to ex-
ceed $3,000 per annum.

(f) For taxable years open to audit on
October 5, 1973, the amount of any deferred
income which was added to federal taxable
income for state tax purposes under para-
graph (e) of subsection (2) of this section in a
prior taxable year and which is now added to
federal taxable income. For purposes of this
paragraph, the amount subtracted shall not
exceed the amount of gain now reported on
the federal return. If the gain is a capital gain
or subject to capital gain treatment, the ad-
justments under this paragraph shall be simi-
lar to the adjustments made under paragraph
(e) of subsection (2) of this section in the prior
year.

(g) For taxable years beginning on and
after January 1, 1972, any expenses under
ORS 118.070 (6) that have not been deducted
1n computing federal taxable income and have
not been and will not be claimed as deductions
for Oregon inheritance tax purposes under
ORS 118.070.

(2) There shall be added to federal taxable
income:

(a) Interest or dividends on obligations or
securities of any foreign state or of a political
subdivision or authority of any foreign state.

(b) Interest or dividends on obligations of
any authority, commission, instrumentality
and territorial possession of the United States
which by the laws of the United States are
exempt from federal income tax but not from
state income taxes.
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(¢) The amount of any federal estate taxes
allocable to income in respect of a decedent
not taxable by Oregon.

(d) The amount of any allowance for de-
pletion 1n excess of the taxpayer’s adjusted
basis in the property depleted, deducted on the
taxpayer’s federal income tax return for the
taxable year, pursuant to sections 613, 614
and 615, Internal Revenue Code of 1954.

(e) For taxable years beginning on and
after January 1, 1969, the amount of any gain
which is deferred for tax recognition purposes
upon the voluntary or involuntary conversion
or exchange of tangible real or personal prop-
erty where the property newly acquired by the
taxpayer has a situs outside the jurisdiction of
the State of Oregon. However, for taxable
years beginning on and after January 1, 1979,
this paragraph shall not apply to the principal
residence newly acquired by the taxpayer
even if its situs is outside the jurisdiction of
the State of Oregon.

(f) For taxable years beginning on and
after January 1, 1972, any expenses under
ORS 118.070 (6) that have been or will be
claimed as deductions for Oregon inheritance
tax purposes in an amount not to exceed the
deductions actually claimed by the taxpayer
on the federal income tax return for the same
taxable year.

(3) In the case of amounts received from
the retirement system for performance of
service in the Armed Forces of the United
States as described in paragraph (c) of subsec-
tion (1) of this section the $3,400 exclusion
shall be granted only to retirees age 65 or
older and such exclusion is further reduced
dollar for dollar to the extent of any earned
income received during the taxable year.
“Earned income” means salaries, wages, or
professional fees and other amounts received
as compensation for personal services ren-
dered, past or present, but does not include
amounts received from such retirement sys-
tem. In the case of a taxpayer engaged in a
trade or business in which both personal ser-
vices and capital are material income produc-
ing factors only 50 percent of the income from
such trade or business shall be considered to
be from personal services. [1969 c 493 §15, 1971
c 686 §12, 1971 ¢ 736 §1, 1973 c¢ 1 §1, 1973 ¢ 88 §1, 1973
c 402 §18, 1973 ¢ 753 §3; 1977 c 784 §1, 1979 c 414 §5,
1979 ¢ 436 §1; 1979 ¢ 579 §7]

316.068 Additional modification of
taxable income. (1) In addition to the modifi-
cations to federal taxable income contained in

this chapter, there shall be added to or sub-
tracted from federal taxable income:

(a) If, in computing federal income tax for
a taxable year, the taxpayer deducted excess
itemized deductions, as defined in section
63(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, the tax-
payer shall add the excess itemized deductions
to federal taxable income.

(b) If, 1n computing federal income tax for
a taxable year, the taxpayer is required to add
an unused zero bracket amount, as defined 1n
section 63(e) of the Internal Revenue Code,
the taxpayer shall subtract the unused zero
bracket amount from federal taxable income.

(¢) From federal taxable income there
shall be subtracted the larger of.

(A) The taxpayer’s itemized deductions as
defined in section 63(f) of the Internal Reve-
nue Code exclusive of his or her Oregon in-
come tax; or

(B) A standard deduction that 1s the larger
of $1,050 or 13 percent of federal adjusted
gross income, not to exceed $1,500. However,
if the taxpayer is a married individual filing a
separate return, the standard deduction under
this subparagraph is the larger of $525 or 13
percent of federal adjusted gross income, not
to exceed $750. This subparagraph shall not
apply to a husband or wife filing a separate
return where the other spouse has claimed
itemized deductions under subparagraph (A)
of this paragraph; a nonresident alien individ-
ual; an Oregon resident entitled to the bene-
fits of section 931 of the Internal Revenue
Code (relating to income from sources within
possessions of the United States); an individu-
al making a return for a period of less than 12
months on account of a change in his or her
annual accounting period; an estate or trust; a
common trust fund; or a partnership. For
purposes of this subparagraph, “federal ad-
justed gross income” means the taxpayer’s
adjusted gross income shown on his or her
federal return without the modifications pro-
vided in this chapter.

(2) In addition to the modifications to
federal taxable income contained in this chap-
ter:

(a) If the dollar amount allowed under
section 151 of the Internal Revenue Code for a
personal exemption for the taxable year is
greater than the dollar amount of the deduc-
tion for personal exemption allowed for state
personal income tax purposes as recomputed
by the Department of Revenue under section
3, chapter 240, Oregon Laws 1979, there shall
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be added to federal taxable income an amount
equal to the difference between the dollar
amount allowed and the dollar amount of the
deduction for personal exemption allowed for
state personal income tax purposes as recom-
puted by the Department of Revenue under
section 3, chapter 240, Oregon Laws 1979,
multiplied by the number of personal exemp-
tions claimed on the Oregon return.

(b) If the dollar amount allowed under
section 151 of the Internal Revenue Code for a
personal exemption for the tax year is less
than the dollar amount of the deduction for
personal exemption allowed for state personal
income tax purposes as recomputed by the
Department of Revenue under section 3, chap-
ter 240, Oregon Laws 1979, there shall be
subtracted from federal taxable income an
amount equal to the difference between the
dollar amount allowed and the dollar amount
of the deduction for personal exemption al-
lowed for state personal income tax purposes
as recomputed by the Department of Revenue
under section 3, chapter 240, Oregon Laws
1979, multiplied by the number of personal
exemptions claimed on the Oregon return.

(3) There shall be subtracted from federal
taxable income any portion of the distribution
of a pension, profit-sharing, stock bonus or
other retirement plan, representing that por-
tion of contributions which were taxed by the
State of Oregon but not taxed by the Federal
Government under laws in effect for tax years
beginning prior to January 1, 1969.

(4) (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b)
of this subsection, in addition to the adjust-
ments to federal taxable income required by
ORS 316.067, there shall be added to federal
taxable income the amount of any federal
income taxes in excess of $7,000, accrued by
the taxpayer during the taxable year as de-
scribed in ORS 316.072, less the amount of
any refund of federal taxes previously accrued
for which a tax benefit was received.

(b) In the case of a husband and wife fil-
ing separate tax returns, the amount added
shall be in the amount of any federal income
taxes in excess of $3,500, less the amount of
any refund of federal taxes previously accrued
for which a tax benefit was received.

(6)(a) In addition to the adjustments re-
quired by ORS 316.117, a nonresident individ-
ual shall add to his or her taxable income a
proportion of any accrued federal income
taxes as computed under ORS 316.072 in

excess of $7,000 in the proportion provided in
ORS 316.117 (5).

(b) In the case of a husband and wife fil-
ing separate tax returns, the amount added
under this subsection shall be computed in a
manner consistent with the computation of
the amount to be added 1n the case of a hus-
band and wife filing separate returns under
subsection (4) of this section. The method of
computation shall be determined by the De-
partment of Revenue by rule.

(6) Paragraph (b) of subsection (4) and
paragraph (b) of subsection (5) of this section
shall not apply to married individuals living
apart as defined in section 143(b) of the Inter-
nal Revenue Code.

(7)(a) If the dollar amount of interest and
dividend i1ncome that is excludable from feder-
al taxable income under section 116 of the
Internal Revenue Code is less than $200 for
an individual ($400 in the case of a joint re-
turn), there shall be subtracted from federal
taxable income an amount of interest and
dividend income, received by the taxpayer for
the taxable year, in excess of the amount
excludable under section 116 of the Internal
Revenue Code.

(b) The subtraction allowed under this
subsection shall not exceed the difference
between the exclusion provided under section
116 of the Internal Revenue Code and $200
for an individual ($400 in the case of a joint
return).

(c) The subtraction allowed under this
subsection shall not include any interest and
dividend income otherwise excluded from
Oregon taxable income. (1975 c 672 §§2, 2a, 10b,
13, subsection (7) enacted as 1975 ¢ 650 §2, 1977 ¢ 795
§10, 1977 ¢ 872 §12, 1978 ¢ 9 §1, 1979 ¢ 240 §1, 1979 c 436
§6, 1981 ¢ 679 §1, 1981 ¢ 896 §1]

Note: ORS 316 068 (4) to (6) were enacted 1nto law
by the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or
made a part of ORS chapter 316 or any series therein by
legislative action See the preface to Oregon Revised
Statutes for further explanation

Note: Section 2, chapter 679 and section 4, chapter
896, Oregon Laws 1981, each provide

Sec. 2. The amendments to ORS 316 068 by section 1
of this Act apply to tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1983

Sec. 4. The amendments to ORS 316 068 by section 1
of this Act first apply to tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1983

NOTE: Section 3, chapter 240, Oregon Laws 1979, as
amended by section 2, chapter 896, Oregon Laws 1981,
provides
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Sec. 3. (1) For each taxable year beginning on or

after January 1, 1983, the Department of Revenue shall
recompute the dollar amount of the deduction for person-
al exemption allowed for state personal income tax
purposes The computation shall be made as follows

(a) Divide the Portland Consumer Price Index for
July of the current calendar year by the Portland Con-
sumer Price Index for July of 1982

(b) Recompute the dollar amount of deduction for
personal exemption by multiplying $1,000 by the appro-
priate indexing factor determined as provided in para-
graph (a) of this subsection Round off the dollar amount
obtained under this paragraph to the nearest $10

(2) As used 1n this section, “Portland Consumer Price
Index” means the Consumer Price Index for All Urban
Consumers (Portland- all items) as published by the
Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Depart-
ment of Labor for the Portland, Oregon Standard Metro-
politan Statistical Area

316.069 Exemption of cash payments
for energy conservation. Any amount re-
ceived as a cash payment for energy conserva-
tion measures under ORS 316.069, 317.071,
317.083, 318.090 and 469.631 to 469.687 is
exempt from the tax imposed under this chap-
ter. [1981 c 778 §34]

316.070 [1953 ¢ 304 §13, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.071 Deduction of foreign income
taxes. (1) Subject to subsection (2) of this
section, in addition to other modifications
provided in this chapter, and if a taxpayer
elects to take foreign income taxes imposed
for the taxable year by a foreign country as a
credit on the federal income tax return or does
not itemize personal deductions on the federal
income tax return, there shall be subtracted
from federal taxable income in the computa-
tion of state taxable income the amount of
foreign income taxes imposed for the taxable
year by a foreign country.

(2) The deduction for foreign country
income taxes provided by this section shall be
limited as follows:

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of
this subsection, the sum of foreign country
income taxes deducted in computing state
taxable income and the modification for feder-
al income taxes authorized by ORS 316.067
(1)(b) as limited by ORS 316.068 (4) shall not
exceed $7,000.

(b) In the case of a husband and wife fil-
ing separate tax returns, the sum described in
paragraph (a) of this subsection shall be limit-
ed to $3,500. [1981 c 801 §2]

316.072 Federal income tax deduc-
tions; accrual method of accounting re-
quired. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 314.275
and any provision of the Personal Income Tax
Act of 1969, for tax years beginning on and
after January 1, 1969, the federal income tax
deduction provided by ORS 316.067 shall be as
reported on the taxpayer’s original return and
shall be computed on the accrual method of
accounting. Any adjustments to the federal
income tax deduction now or hereafter re-
quired by Oregon law, including but not limit-
ed to the elimination of the self-employment
tax, also shall be computed and eliminated
according to the accrual method of accounting.

(2) Cash basis taxpayers who have made
payments of taxes for years beginning prior to
January 1, 1969, in tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 1969, shall be entitled to a
deduction for such taxes paid for those years
in accordance with their usual method of
accounting.

(3) Cash basis taxpayers receiving a re-
fund of federal income taxes paid for years
beginning prior to January 1, 1969, in tax
years beginning on and after January 1, 1969,
shall include such refunds in income in ac-
cordance with the method of accounting in
effect for tax years beginning prior to January
1, 1969.

(4) If refunds or additional assessments
result from an adjustment whether initiated
by the federal or state government or the
taxpayer after the filing of the original return
by the taxpayer, any additional federal taxes
shall be deductible by the Oregon taxpayer
under this section in the year in which the
adjustment is finally determined or paid
whichever is later. In the case of a refund the
tax reduction will be added to the taxpayer’s
income in the year in which the refund is
received.

(5) For purposes of this chapter, federal
income tax does not include the following:

(a) Taxes, contributions or other payments
paid by employes in pursuance of federal laws
relating to social security, railroad retirement,
unemployment compensation or old age bene-
fits.

(b) Taxes paid pursuant to the Self-
Employment Contribution Act, subtitle A,
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chapter 2, Internal Revenue Code of 1954.
[1969 c 467 §6, 1979 ¢ 376 §1, 1981 ¢ 705 §1]

316.073 Tax rebates. The amount of
any tax rebate, grant or other payment paid
directly by the Federal Government to a tax-
payer under section 6428 of the Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1954 as amended by Public Law
94-12, March 29, 1975, shall be exempt from
the tax imposed by this chapter. [1975 ¢ 672 §12]

316.074 Exemption for service in
Vietnam on missing status. (1) Any compen-
sation or gratuity received from any source by
any individual by reason of civilian or mili-
tary service on and after February 28, 1961,
during the Vietnam conflict, for any month
during any part of which such individual is in
a missing status as a result of that conflict, is
exempt from tax under this chapter. Any such
compensation or gratuity is exempt from tax
without regard to:

(a) The identity of the recipient of the
compensation or gratuity;

(b) The death of the individual whose
service in a missing status results in payment
of the compensation or the gratuity; or

(¢} A date of death established for the
individual whose service in a missing status
results in payment of the compensation or the
gratuity.

(2) As used in this section:

(a) “Compensation” does not include any
pension or retirement allowance.

(b) “Missing status” means the status of
an individual who is carried or determined to
be in a status of missing; missing in action;
interned in a foreign country; captured, be-
leaguered or besieged by a hostile force; or
detained in a foreign country against his will.
“Missing status” does not include the status of
an 1ndividual for a period during which he is
officially determined to be absent from his
post of duty without authority.

(3) If income exempt from tax under this
section has been included on a return result-
ing in a tax paid to the State of Oregon, the
person who filed the return, a surviving
spouse or the executor as defined in ORS
118.005, may apply for a refund of any tax
paid on such income. Notwithstanding ORS
314.415, a claim for refund may be made any
time prior to June 30, 1981.

(4) In addition to the income tax relief
provided by subsections (1), (2) and (3) of this
section, any provision in the laws of the Unit-

ed States or in the Internal Revenue Code of
1954 providing income tax relief for returning
prisoners of war, persons in a missing status,
their spouses, heirs, devisees or executors
shall apply to the measurement of the taxable
income of individuals, estates and trusts un-
der this chapter 1n the same taxable year as
that provided in such federal laws. [1973 c 475
§82, 3, 1975 ¢ 672 §4)

316.075 [1953 ¢ 304 §11, 1953 c 522 §4, 1959 c 593 §3
(referred and rejected), 1963 c 627 §5 (referred and
rejected), repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.076 Deduction for physician in
medically disadvantaged area. (1) Any
person who becomes licensed under ORS chap-
ter 677 on or after January 1, 1974, and prior
to January 1, 1982, and enters the practice of
medicine in any medically disadvantaged area
of this state may deduct as an expense from
income earned from his practice of medicine
an amount equal to his annual expense in-
curred for each year in attending medical
school, including tuition, fees, living expenses
and other actual and necessary expenses, but
not to exceed $10,000 for any year.

(2) In order to qualify for the exemption
granted by subsection (1) of this section, the
person must apply to the department on or
before April 15, following the first tax year
for which the deduction is claimed on a form
prescribed by the department and accompa-
nied by evidence from the Board of Medical
Examiners for the State of Oregon that the
area in which the person is practicing was
medically disadvantaged when the physician
entered practice there.

(3) The deduction authorized by subsection
(1) of this section shall be applicable for four
tax years. [1973 c 644 §6, 1979 ¢ 699 §1]

316.077 Fiduciary adjustment. There
shall be added to or subtracted from federal
taxable income, as the case may be, the tax-
payer’s share of the fiduciary adjustment
determined under ORS 316.287. (1969 c 493 §16]

316.078 Tax credit for household and
dependent care. (1) A resident individual
shall be allowed a credit against the tax other-
wise due under this chapter in an amount
equal to 40 percent of the credit the taxpayer
is entitled to and claims as a credit on his
federal income tax return, pursuant to section
44a of the Internal Revenue Code as of Octo-
ber 3, 1979, relating to expenses for household
and dependent care services necessary for
gainful employment.
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(2) A nonresident individual shall be al-
lowed the credit computed in the same man-
ner and subject to the same limitations as the
credit allowed a resident by subsection (1) of
this section However, the credit shall be
prorated using the proportion provided in ORS
316.117 (5)

(3) If a change in the taxable year of a
taxpayer occurs as described in ORS 316.215,
or if the department terminates the taxpayer’s
taxable years under ORS 314.440, the credit
allowed by this section shall be prorated or
computed 1n a manner consistent with ORS
316.215.

(4) If a change in the status of a taxpayer
from resident to nonresident or from nonresi-
dent to resident occurs, the credit allowed by
this section shall be determined in a manner
consistent with ORS 316.397. [1975 ¢ 672 §15a;
1977 ¢ 872 §3, 1979 c 691 §4]

316.079 Credit for certain disabilities.
A $50 credit, against income taxes owed, shall
be allowed a taxpayer who as of the close of
his taxable year has suffered a permanent and
complete loss of function of both legs or both
arms or one leg and one arm as certified to by
a public health officer. The certificate shall be
in a form prescribed by the department and
shall be filed with the first return in which
the credit is claimed. {1973 ¢ 120 §2]

316.080 [1953 ¢ 304 $12, renumbered 316 475]

316.081 Special computation of gain
or loss where farm use value used.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this
chapter, when gain or loss is included in feder-
al taxable income:

(1) From property, the gain or loss from
the disposition of which is taxable under this
chapter, and which was valued for inheritance
tax purposes under ORS 118.155, or

(2) From property, the basis of which is
computed in whole or in part with respect to
property that was valued for inheritance tax
purposes under ORS 118.155,

there shall be added to federal taxable income
the difference between the taxable gain or loss
that would otherwise be determined under
this chapter and the gain or loss that would be
taxable had the basis for federal tax purposes
been computed using the forest or farm use
value provided for under ORS 118.155 instead
of the basis computed pursuant to section
1014 of the Internal Revenue Code. [1973 ¢ 503
§15, 1975 ¢ 705 §11, 1981 ¢ 502 §1]

Note: Section 35, chapter 666, Oregon Laws 1977, as
amended by section 2, chapter 502, Oregon Laws 1981,
provides

Sec. 35. ORS 316 081 shall not apply in any case in
which a carryover basis was elected for certain property
acquired from a decedent dying after December 31, 1976,
and before November 7, 1978, 1s provided by section 1023
of the Internal Revenue Code (Tax Reform Act of 1976)

(Residents)

316.082 Credit for taxes paid another
state. (1) A resident individual shall be al-
lowed a credit against the tax otherwise due
under this chapter for the amount of any
income tax imposed on the individual for the
taxable year by another state of the United
States or the District of Columbia on income
derived from sources therein and that 1s also
subject to tax under this chapter.

(2) The credit provided under this section
shall not exceed the proportion of the tax
otherwise due under this chapter that the
amount of the adjusted gross income of the
taxpayer derived from sources in the other
taxing jurisdiction bears to the entire adjusted
gross income of the taxpayer as modified by
this chapter.

(3) The department shall provide by rule
the procedure for obtaining credit provided by
this section and the proof required.

(4) No credit allowed under this section or
ORS 316.292 shall be applied in calculating
tax due under this chapter if the tax upon
which the credit is based has been claimed as
a deduction, unless the tax is restored to in-
come on the Oregon return. [1969 c 493 §17, 1981
¢ 801 §3]

316.083 Exception to ORS 316.081.
ORS 316.081 shall not apply in any case in
which a carryover basis for certain property
acquired from a decedent dying after Decem-
ber 31, 1976, is provided by section 1023 of the
Internal Revenue Code (Tax Reform Act of
1976). [1977 c 666 §35]

316.084 Credit for fish habitat im-
provement. (1) A resident individual shall be
allowed a credit against the taxes otherwise
due under this chapter, based upon the cost of
a fish habitat improvement project certified
under ORS 496.260. The amount of the credit
shall be 25 percent of the amount certified.

(2) To qualify for the credit under this
section:
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(a) The fish habitat improvement project
must have been given final certification by
the State Department of Fish and Wildlife as
provided in ORS 496.260.

(b) The credit must be claimed for the year
in which final certification for the project is
granted.

(¢) The taxpayer who 1s allowed the credit
must be the person who actually expended
funds for construction or installation of the
project.

(d) The fish habitat improvement project
must not be required by existing federal or
state statute.

(3) The credit allowed in any one year
shall not exceed the tax liability of the tax-
payer.

(4) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer 1n a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in such next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year and any
credit not used in that third succeeding tax
year may be carried forward and used in the
fourth succeeding tax year, and any credit not
used in that fourth succeeding tax year may
be carried forward and used in the fifth suc-
ceeding tax year, but may not be carried for-
ward for any tax year thereafter.

(5) A nonresident shall be allowed the
credit under this section in the proportion
provided in ORS 316.117 (5).

(6) If a change in the status of a taxpayer
from resident to nonresident or from nonresi-
dent to resident occurs, the credit allowed by
this section shall be determined in a manner
consistent with ORS 316.397.

(7) A husband and wife who file separate
returns for a taxable year may each claim a
share of the tax credit that would have been
allowed on a joint return in proportion to the
contribution of each.

(8) If a change in the taxable year of a
taxpayer occurs as described in ORS 316.215,
or if the department terminates the taxpayer’s
taxable year under ORS 314.440, the credit
allowed under this section shall be prorated or
computed in a manner consistent with ORS
316.215.

(9) If the taxpayer is a shareholder of a
Subchapter S corporation that has elected to
take the credit on behalf of its shareholders as
provided in ORS 317.087, the credit shall be
computed and afterwards apportioned to each
shareholder on the basis of the shareholder’s
pro rata share of the corporation’s cost of the
fish habitat improvement project. In all other
respects, the allowance and effect of the tax
credit shall apply to the corporation as other-
wise provided by law.

(10) The tax claim for tax credit shall be
substantiated by submission, with the tax
return, of the State Department of Fish and
Wildlife notice of final project certification.
[1981 ¢ 720 §16]

Note: Section 24, chapter 720, Oregon Laws 1981,
provides . !

Sec. 24. Sections 16, 18 and 20 of this Act apply to
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1983

316.086 Credit for connection to geo-
thermal heating system. (1) As used in this
section:

(a) “Cost of connecting to a geothermal
heating system” includes, but is not limited to,
the cost of acquisition and installation of
connecting pipe and other fixtures or equip-
ment within a dwelling or between a dwelling
and a trunk line necessary to allow a dwelling
to utilize the services provided by a geother-
mal heating district.

(b) “Dwelling” means real or personal
property within the state inhabited as the
principal residence of an owner or renter and
which is occupied at the time the dwelling is
connected to a geothermal heating system
provided by a geothermal heating district.

(2) A resident individual shall be allowed
a credit against taxes otherwise due under
this chapter, based upon the cost of connecting
to a geothermal heating system provided by a
geothermal heating district.

(3) To qualify for the credit under this
section:

(a) The dwelling must be connected to a
geothermal heating system provided by a
geothermal heating district on or after Octo-
ber 3, 1979;

(b) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
must be the owner or contract purchaser of
the dwelling served by the geothermal heating
system; and

(¢) The taxpayer must claim the credit in
the tax year during which the cost of connect-
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ing to the geothermal heating system provided
by a geothermal heating district was incurred.

(4) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
shall not be entitled to more than one credit
under this section in any one taxable year.

(5) The credit allowed under this section
for any dwelling shall not exceed the lesser of:

(a) Twenty-five percent of the actual cost
of connecting to a geothermal heating system;
or

(b) $1,000.

(6) A credit under this section may be
claimed by a taxpayer for connecting to a
geothermal heating system in those tax years
which begin on or after January 1, 1980, but
prior to January 1, 1990.

(7) The credit allowed in any one year
shall not exceed the tax liability of the tax-
payer.

(8 Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in such next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, and any
credit not used in that third succeeding tax
year may be carried forward and used in the
fourth succeeding tax year, and any credit not
used in that fourth succeeding tax year may
be carried forward and used in the fifth suc-
ceeding tax year, but may not be carried for-
ward for any tax year thereafter.

(9) A nonresident shall be allowed the
credit under this section in the proportion
provided in ORS 316.117 (5).

(10) If a change in the taxable year of a
taxpayer occurs as described in ORS 316.215,
or if the department terminates the taxpayer’s
taxable year under ORS 314.440, the credit
allowed by this section shall be prorated or
computed in a manner consistent with ORS
316.215.

(11) If a change in the status of a taxpayer
from resident to nonresident or from nonresi-
dent to resident occurs, the credit allowed by
this section shall be determined in a manner
consistent with ORS 316.397.

(12) A husband and wife who file separate
returns for a taxable year may each claim a
share of the tax credit that would have been

allowed on a joint return in proportion to the
contribution of each. However, a husband or
wife living in his or her separate principal
residence may claim the tax credit in the same
amount as permitted a single person.

(13) Any amount used as the basis for a
tax credit under ORS 316.116 shall not be
used as a basis for a tax benefit under this
section. [1979 c 733 §2]

316.087 Federal income tax credit for
the elderly. (1) A resident individual shall be
allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due
under this chapter in an amount equal to 15
percent of the credit for the elderly the tax-
payer is entitled to and claims as a credit on
his federal income tax return, pursuant to
section 37 of the Internal Revenue Code as of
October 3, 1979.

(2) A nonresident individual shall be al-
lowed the credit computed in the same man-
ner and subject to the same limitations as the
credit allowed a resident by subsection (1) of
this section. However, the credit shall be
prorated using the proportion provided in ORS
316.117 (5).

(3) If a change in the taxable year of a
taxpayer occurs as described in ORS 316.215,
or if the department terminates the taxpayer’s
taxable years under ORS 314.440, the credit
allowed by this section shall be prorated or
computed in a manner consistent with ORS
316.215.

(4) If a change in the status of a taxpayer
from resident to nonresident or from nonresi-
dent to resident occurs, the credit allowed by
this section shall be determined in a manner
consistent with ORS 316.397. (1969 c 493 §18,
1971 ¢ 736 §2; 1977 ¢.872 §4; 1979 ¢ 691 §5]

316.088 Credit for weatherization. (1)
As used in this section:

(a) “Dwelling” means real or personal
property within the state inhabited as the
principal residence of an owner or renter and
which is occupied at the time weatherization
materials are installed. “Dwelling” includes a
mobile home as defined in ORS 446.003, a
floating home as defined in ORS 488.705 and
an individual unit within multiple unit resi-
dential housing. It does not include a recrea-
tional vehicle as defined in ORS 446.003.

(b) “Weatherization materials” means
items primarily designed to improve the effi-
ciency of space heating and energy utilization
of a dwelling. Such items include, but are not
limited to, caulking, weatherstripping and
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other infiltration preventative materials,
ceiling and wall insulation, crawl space insu-
lation, vapor barrier materials, timed ther-
mostats, insulation of heating ducts and hot
water pipes and water heaters in unheated
spaces, storm doors and windows, double
glazed windows and dehumidifiers. “Weather-
ization materials” includes mobile home
weatherization materials.

(¢c) “Mobile home weatherization materi-
als” means items primarily designed to im-
prove the efficiency of space heating and
energy utilization of a dwelling. Such items
include, but are not limited to, caulking,
weatherstripping and other infiltration pre-
ventative materials, floor insulation, ground
cover, timed thermostats, insulation of heat-
ing ducts, hot water pipes and water heaters
in unheated spaces, storm doors and windows,
double glazed windows and dehumidifiers.

(2)(a) A resident individual shall be al-
lowed a credit against the taxes otherwise due
under this chapter, based upon the cost of
purchasing and installing weatherization
materials in the dwelling.

(b) The Department of Energy shall fur-
nish to the department a specific list of items
which qualify as “weatherization materials”
under this section. Wherever necessary, the
list shall include any qualifications as to
quality, quantity or other relevant standards
which are necessary requirements as to the
item before it meets the test of improving the
efficiency of space heating and energy utiliza-
tion of a dwelling. In addition, the Depart-
ment of Energy shall identify from time to
time additional weatherization materials that
qualify under this section. A list shall be
provided to the department prior to January 1,
1980, and prior to January 1 of each year
thereafter for purposes of determining what
items qualify for the tax credit in the next
calendar year. For purposes of the 1977, 1978
and 1979 tax years, the items previously listed
in the rules of the Department of Revenue in
effect for such years shall qualify as “weath-
erization materials.”

(3) To qualify for the credit under this
section:

(a) The weatherization materials must be
installed in a mobile home or floating home on
or after January 1, 1979, and in other dwell-
ings on or after October 4, 1977. The weather-
ization materials also must:

(A) In all cases other than that listed in
subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, be 1n-
stalled before January 1, 1981; or

(B) If the taxpayer owns a dwelling heated
by fuel oil, be installed in that dwelling before
September 1, 1981.

(b) A statement -certifying compliance
with the requirements of this section, 1n a
form prescribed by the department, must
accompany the tax return in which the credit
is claimed.

(¢) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
under this section must be the owner of the
dwelling in which the weatherization materi-
als are installed or the purchaser of the dwell-
ing under a recorded instrument of sale at the
time such materials are installed.

(4) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
shall be entitled to a credit under this section
for only one dwelling in any one taxable year.

(5) The credit allowed under this section
for any dwelling shall not exceed the lesser of:

(a) Twenty-five percent of the actual cost
of the acquisition and installation of the
weatherization materials; or

(b) $125.

(6)@) A credit under this section may be
claimed by a taxpayer for weatherization
materials in those tax years which begin on or
after January 1, 1977, but before:

(A) January 1, 1981, if the credit is
claimed for the purchase of weatherization
materials and the installation of those materi-
als in a dwelling not heated by fuel oil; or

(B) January 1, 1982, if the credit is
claimed for the purchase of weatherization
materials and the installation of those materi-
als in a dwelling heated by fuel oil.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this
subsection, a credit under this section may be
carried forward as provided in subsection (9)
of this section.

(7) The credit allowed in any one taxable
year shall not exceed the tax liability of the
taxpayer.

(8) The total amount of credits allowed

under this section for any particular dwelling
shall not exceed $125.

(9) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused on such next succeed-
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Ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise, any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, and any
credit not used 1n that third succeeding year
may be carried forward and used in the fourth
succeeding tax year, and any credit not used
in that fourth succeeding year may be carried
forward and used in the fifth succeeding tax
year, but may not be carried forward for any
tax year thereafter.

(10) A nonresident shall be allowed the
credit computed in the same manner and
subject to the same limitations as the credit
allowed a resident by this section. However,
the credit shall be prorated using the propor-
tion provided in ORS 316.117 (5).

(11) If a change in the taxable year of a
taxpayer occurs as described in ORS 316.215,
or if the department terminates the taxpayer’s
taxable year under ORS 314.440, the credit
allowed by this section shall be prorated or
computed in a manner consistent with ORS
316.215.

(12) If a change in the status of a taxpayer
from resident to nonresident or from nonresi-
dent to resident occurs, the credit allowed by
this section shall be determined in a manner
consistent with ORS 316.397.

(13) A husband and wife who file separate
returns for a taxable year may each claim a
share of the tax credit that would have been
allowed on a joint return in proportion to the
contribution of each. However, a husband or
wife living in his or her separate principal
residence may claim the tax credit in the same
amount as permitted a single person.

(14) The dollar amount of costs allowed as
a credit under this section shall not be allowed
as a deduction for purposes of computation of
state taxable income, nor shall the dollar
amount of the costs allowed as a credit be
added to the basis of the property for purposes
of depreciation or computation of gain or loss
on sale or other disposition of the property.

(15) Any amount of assistance, aid, grant,
refund or subsidized loan for weatherization
materials received under the laws or regula-
tions of this state and any amount used as the
basis for a tax benefit for weatherization
materials for state income tax purposes under
state law or regulation other than ORS
308.690 and this section shall not be used as a
basis for a tax benefit under this section. [1977
c.811 §2, 1979 ¢ 534 §1, 1981 c 894 §1]

316.089 Definitions for ORS 316.091.
As used in ORS 316.091.

(1) “Gleaning” means the harvesting of an
agricultural crop or a portion of a crop that is
donated by the grower of the crop to a glean-
ing cooperative at such a time that-

(a) The grower of the crop has supplied his
crop contract quota with the wholesale or
retail buyer; or

(b) If the grower of the crop is a party to a
contingent supply contract, the wholesale or
retail buyer reduces the crop quota that was
reasonably anticipated to be supplied by the
grower; or

(¢) Harvesting the crop for sale in the
normal course of business is no longer eco-
nomically feasible; and

(d) The crop would otherwise go to waste.

(2) “Gleaning cooperative” means a non-
profit federally tax exempt organization that
is organized to provide and distribute produce
to individuals who meet the low-income eligi-
bility guidelines of the federal State Commu-
nity Services Program established pursuant to
the federal Community Services Act of 1974
(Public Law 93-744).

(3) “Wholesale market price” means the

lowest monthly wholesale market price for the
produce in the nearest regional market:

(a) Without consideration of grade or
quality of the produce;
(b) During the month of the donation; and

(c) As determined by the State Depart-
ment of Agriculture. [1977 ¢ 852 §2]

Note: Sections 2 and 4, chapter 622, Oregon Laws
1979, provide

Sec. 2. ORS 316 089 1s amended to read
316.089. As used 1n ORS 316.091

(1) “Gleaning” means the harvesting of an agricul-
tural crop or a portion of a crop grown primarily to be sold
for cash that 1s donated by the grower of the crop to a
gleaning cooperative at such a time that the crop 1s still
usable as food for human beings and

(a) The grower of the crop has supplied his crop
contract quota with the wholesale or retail buyer; or

(b) If the grower of the crop 1s a party to a contingent
supply contract, the wholesale or retail buyer reduces the
crop quota that was reasonably anticipated to be supplied
by the grower, or

(c) Harvesting the crop for sale 1n the normal course
of business 1s no longer economically feasible, and

(d) The crop would otherwise go to waste
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(2) “Gleaning cooperative” means a nonprofit feder-
ally tax exempt organization that 1s organized to provide
and distribute produce to individuals who meet the
low-income ehgibility gumdelines of the federal State
Community Services Program established pursuant to the
federal Commumty Services Act of 1974 (Public Law
93-744)

(3) “Wholesale market price” means the market price
for the produce determined either by

(a) The amount paid to the grower by the last previ-
ous cash buyer of the particular crop, or

(b) In the event there 1s no previous cash buyer, a
market price determined by the gleaning cooperative
based upon the market price of the nearest regional
wholesale buyer or the regional u-pick market price

Sec. 4. The amendments to ORS 316 089 and
316 091 by sections 2 and 3 of this Act apply to taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1979, but prior to
January 1, 1983

316.091 Credit for crop gleaning. (1)
An individual who is a grower of a crop and
who permits the gleaning of his crop shall be
allowed a credit against the taxes otherwise
due under this chapter.

(a) In the case of a donation made under
circumstances described in ORS 316.089 (1)(a)
and (b), the amount of the credit shall be 10
percent of the value of the quantity of the crop
donated computed at the wholesale market
price.

(b) In the case of a donation made under
circumstances described in ORS 316.089 (1)(c)
and (d), the amount of the credit shall be 10
percent of the value of the quantity of the crop
donated computed at the wholesale market
price that the grower would have received had
the quantity of the crop donated been salable.

(2) At the time of donation, the director,
supervisor or other appropriate official of the
gleaning cooperative to which a donation is
made shall supply to the grower of the crop
donated two copies of a form prescribed by the
Department of Revenue. The forms shall
contain:

(a) The name and address of the grower;

(b) The description and quantity of the
donated crop;

(c) The signature of the director, supervi-
sor or other appropriate official of the glean-
ing cooperative verifying that the produce was
or will be distributed to low-income individu-
als meeting the guidelines described in ORS
316.089 (2); and

(d) Other information required by the
Department of Revenue and the State Depart-
ment of Agriculture by rule.

(8) The grower of the crop donated shall
promptly send to the State Department of
Agriculture one copy of the form supplied by
the gleaning cooperative

(4) Prior to the 15th day of the month
following the month in which a donation was
made, the director or other appropriate official
of the State Department of Agriculture shall:

(a) Compute and add to the form the appli-
cable wholesale market price of the donated
crop;

(b) Sign the form, verifying the wholesale
market price; and

(¢) Send the verified form to the individu-
al who donated the crop.

(5) In the event that the State Department
of Agriculture fails to transmit the form to
the individual who donated the crop within
the time required, the form supplied to the
individual by the gleaning cooperative shall
be conclusive proof that the donation was
made.

(6) Tax claim for tax credit shall be sub-
stantiated by submission with the tax return,
of the form verified by the State Department
of Agriculture and a statement verified by the
taxpayer that the donation was made under
circumstances described in ORS 316.089 (1).
In the event that the State Department of
Agriculture failed to transmit the form to the
individual, tax claim for tax credit shall be
substantiated by submission, with the tax
return, of the form supplied to the individual
by the gleaning cooperative upon which the
wholesale market price for the month in
which a donation was made is subsequently
verified by the State Department of Agricul-
ture. [1977 ¢ 852 §3]

Note: Sections 3 and 4, chapter 622, Oregon Laws
1979, provide

Sec. 3. ORS 316 091 1s amended to read

316.091. (1) An individual who 1s a grower of a crop
and who permits the gleaning of his crop shall be allowed
a credit against the taxes otherwise due under this
chapter

(a) In the case of a donation made under circum-
stances described 1n paragraphs (a) and (b) of subsection
(1) of ORS 316 089, the amount of the credit shall be 10
percent of the value of the quantity of the crop donated
computed at the wholesale market price

(b) In the case of a donation made under circum-
stances described 1 paragraphs (¢) and (d) of subsection
(1) of ORS 316 089, the amount of the credit shall be 10
percent of the value of the quantity of the crop donated
computed at the wholesale market price that the grower
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would have received had the quantity of the crop donated
been salable

(2) At the time of donation, the director, supervisor
or other appropriate official of the gleaning cooperative to
which a donation 1s made shall supply to the grower of
the crop donated two copies of a form prescribed by the
Department of Revenue The forms shall contain

(a) The name and address of the grower,
(b) The description and quantity of the donated crop;

(c) The signature of the director, supervisor or other
appropriate official of the gleaning cooperative verifying
that the produce was or will be distributed to low-income
individuals meeting the guidelines described 1n subsec-
tion (2) of ORS 316 089,

(d) The wholesale market price determined by the
gleaning cooperative, 1n the event there 1s no previous
cash buyer of the crop, and

(e) Other information required by the Department of
Revenue by rule

(3) Tax claim for tax credit shall be substantiated by
submussion with the tax return, of the form described 1n
subsection (2) of this section, a statement venfied by the
taxpayer that the donation was made under circumstanc-
es described 1n subsection (1) of ORS 316 089 and a copy
of an 1nvoice or other statement identifying the price
received by the grower for the crops of comparable grade
or quality 1if there 1s a previous cash buyer

Sec. 4. The amendments to ORS 316089 and
316 091 by sections 2 and 3 of this Act apply to taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 1979, but prior to
January 1, 1983

316.092 [1969 c 493 §19; repealed by 1973 ¢ 402 §30]

316.093 Qualified economic develop-
ment investment credit. (1) A credit against
the taxes otherwise due under this chapter,
based upon the amount of the qualified invest-
ment which has been certified under ORS
280.610 to 280.670, shall be allowed.

(2) To qualify for the credit under this
section:

(a) The qualified investment must be
made in accordance with the provisions of
ORS 280.610 to 280.670 and the rules adopted
thereunder and a certificate issued thereun-
der;

(b) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
must be the owner or contract purchaser of
the trade or business that makes the qualified
investment, or a person who, as a lessee or
pursuant to an agreement, conducts the trade
or business that makes the qualified invest-
ment;

(c) The taxpayer must claim the credit in
the tax year during which the qualified in-
vestment is placed in service;

(d) The actual cost of the qualified invest-
ment must be $25,000 or more; and

(e) The property acquired, constructed,
reconstructed or improved must have an esti-
mated useful life of three years or more.

(3) A credit under this section may be
claimed by a taxpayer for a qualified invest-
ment in those tax years which begin on or
after January 1, 1978.

(4) (a) Subject to paragraphs (b) to (d) of
this subsection, the amount of the credit al-
lowed under this section for the taxable year
shall be equal to 10 percent of the cost of the
qualified investment.

(b) For purposes of paragraph (a) of this
subsection, if the useful life of the qualified
investment is three years or more, but less
than five years, the cost of the qualified in-
vestment shall be an amount determined by
multiplying the actual cost of the qualified
investment by 33-1/3 percent.

(¢) For purposes of paragraph (a) of this
subsection, if the useful life of the qualified
investment is five years or more, but less than
seven years, the cost of the qualified invest-
ment shall be an amount determined by mul-
tiplying the actual cost of the qualified invest-
ment by 66-2/3 percent.

(d) For purposes of paragraph (a) of this
subsection, if the useful life of the qualified
investment is seven years or more, the cost of
the qualified investment shall be its actual
cost.

(5) The credit provided by this section
shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any
depreciation or amortization deduction for the
qualified investment to which the taxpayer
otherwise may be entitled under this chapter
and the credit shall not affect the computation
of basis for the qualified investment under
this chapter.

(6) The credit allowed in any one taxable
year shall not exceed the tax liability of the
taxpayer.

(7) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in such next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise, any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, but may
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not be carried forward for any tax year there-
after.

(8) The Department of Revenue may re-
quire independent proof of the actual cost of
the acquisition, construction, reconstruction or
improvement for which a credit is claimed
under this section.

(9) If property for which a credit has been
allowed under this section is sold, exchanged,
transported or otherwise disposed of for use
outside an eligible area before the end of the
useful life of such property:

(a) The taxpayer who was allowed the
credit shall give notice thereof to the Director
of the Economic Development Department,
who shall revoke the certificate for the quali-
fied investment relating to such property and
shall so notify the Department of Revenue;
and

(b) For the taxable year of disposition, the
Department of Revenue shall add to the taxes
of such taxpayer otherwise due under this
chapter, an amount equal to the difference
between:

(A) The amount of the credit which has
been allowed under this section; and

(B) The amount of the credit which would
have been allowed under this section if the
useful life of the property for which a credit
was allowed had been estimated for a period
commensurate with a period ending next
preceding the date of disposition of such prop-
erty.

(10) If the taxpayer is a shareholder of a
Subchapter S corporation that has elected to
take tax credit relief pursuant to ORS 280.650
(9), the credit shall be computed using the
shareholder’s pro rata share of the corpora-
tion’s certified cost of the qualified invest-
ment. In all other respects, the allowance and
effect of the tax credit shall apply to the cor-
poration as otherwise provided by law. [1977
c 839 §8, 1979 c 412 §5a]

316.094 Credit for reforestation of
underproductive forest lands. (1) Except as
provided in subsection (2) of this section, a
credit against taxes imposed by this chapter
shall be allowed in an amount equal to 10
percent of reforestation project costs on under-
productive Oregon forest lands. Such costs
include, but are not limited to, site prepara-
tion and tree planting and exclude that por-
tion of expenses paid through a federal or
state cost share program.

(2) (a) Subject to subsection (6) of this
section, one-half of the credit, provided under
this section may be taken in the taxable year
the project is completed. Subject to subsection
(6) of this section, the balance of such credit
may be taken in the taxable year in which the
taxpayer presents to the Department of Reve-
nue a certification from the State Forester
that the new forest is established, as defined
by the Oregon Forest Practices Act. In any one
tax year, the credit allowed under this section
shall not exceed the tax liability of the tax-
payer.

(b) In the event the State Forester inspects
the land in order to provide a certification and
finds that the forest is not established as
defined by the Oregon Forest Practices Act,
the State Forester shall forthwith file a report
of his findings with the Department of Reve-
nue. The report filed under this paragraph
shall be the basis for the Department of Reve-
nue to recover any credit granted under para-
graph (a) of this subsection.

(3) To qualify for the credit the project
must be completed to specifications approved
by the State Forester. In addition, the taxpay-
er’s portion of the project cost must be $500 or
more.

(4) The taxpayer must be a private indi-
vidual, group, Indian tribe or other native
group, association or other nonpublic legal
entity owning or leasing 10 to 500 acres of
Oregon commercial forest land.

(5) (a) No credit is allowed under this
section for any costs incurred in order to com-
ply with the Oregon Forest Practices Act
reforestation requirements or any other legal
responsibility.

(b) A tax credit will be allowed only for
those projects completed in tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 1980.

(6) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in such next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise, any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, but may
not be carried forward for any tax year there-
after. In all cases the taxpayer must be the
person who made the investment into the
project.
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(7) The credit provided by this section
shall be 1n addition to and not in lieu of any
depreciation or amortization deduction to
which the taxpayer otherwise may be entitled
with respect to the reforestation project and
the credit shall not affect the computation of
basis for the property.

(8) In compliance with ORS 183.310 to
183.550, the Department of Revenue may
promulgate rules consistent with law for
carrying out the provisions of this section.

(9) As used in this section, “underproduc-
tive Oregon forest lands” means Oregon com-
mercial forest lands not meeting the mini-
mum stocking standards of the Oregon Forest
Practices Act. [1979 ¢ 578 §7]

316.097 Credit for pollution control
facility. (1) A credit against taxes imposed by
this chapter for a pollution control facility or
facilities certified under ORS 468.170 shall be
allowed if the taxpayer qualifies under sub-
section (5) of this section and has not claimed
an exemption therefor under ORS 307.405.

(2)(a) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(a) or (b), and having a useful life
of 10 years or longer, the maximum credit
allowed in any one tax year shall be the lesser
of the tax lability of the taxpayer or the fol-
lowing portion of the cost of the facility:

(A) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 80 percent or more, five percent of
the cost of the facility.

(B) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 60 percent or more and less than
80 percent, four percent of the cost of the
facility.

(C) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 40 percent or more and less than
60 percent, three percent of the cost of the
facility.

(D) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 20 percent or more and less than
40 percent, two percent of the cost of the facil-
ity.

(E) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise

pollution is less than 20 percent, one percent
of the cost of the facility.

(b) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(a) or (b), and having a useful life
of less than 10 years, the maximum credit
allowed in any one taxable year shall be the
lesser of the tax liability of the taxpayer or
the following:

(A) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 80 percent or more, 50 percent of
the cost of the facility, divided by the number
of years of useful life of the facility.

(B) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 60 percent or more and less than
80 percent, 40 percent of the cost of the facili-
ty, divided by the number of years of useful
life of the facility.

(C) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 40 percent or more and less than
60 percent, 30 percent of the cost of the facili-
ty, divided by the number of years of useful
life of the facility.

(D) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 20 percent or more and less than
40 percent, 20 percent of the cost of the facili-
ty, divided by the number of years of useful
life of the facility.

(E) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is less than 20 percent, 10 percent of
the cost of the facility, divided by the number
of years of useful life of the facility.

(c) For facilities having a useful life of
less than 10 years and for which some portion
of the maximum total credit is allowed or
allowable in tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1977, such remaining credit shall
be prorated over the remaining useful life of
the property under administrative rules to be
prepared by the department.

(3)(a) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(c), and having a useful life of 10
years or longer, the maximum credit allowed
in any one tax year shall be five percent of the
cost of the facility or facilities, but shall not
exceed the tax liability of the taxpayer.

291



316.097

REVENUE AND TAXATION

(b) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(c), and having a useful life of less
than 10 years, the maximum credit allowed in
any one tax year shall be 50 percent of the
cost of the facility divided by the number of
years of useful life of the facility, but shall
not exceed the tax liability of the taxpayer.

(4) To qualify for the credit the pollution
control facility must be erected, constructed or

installed in accordance with the provisions of
ORS 468.165 (1).

(5)(a) The taxpayer who is allowed the
credit must be:

(A) The owner of the trade or business
that utilizes Oregon property requiring a
pollution control facility to prevent or minim-
ize pollution;

(B) A person who, as a lessee or pursuant
to an agreement, conducts the trade or busi-
ness that operates or utilizes such property; or

(C) A person who, as an owner, lessee or
pursuant to an agreement, owns, leases or has
a beneficial interest in a pollution control
facility used for resource recovery as defined
in ORS 459.005. Such person may, but need
not, operate such facility or conduct a trade or
business that utilizes property requiring such
a facility. If more than one person has an
interest under this subparagraph in a resource
recovery facility, and without regard to ORS
468.170 (10), one or more persons receive a
certificate and make an election of tax credit
relief with respect to such facility pursuant to
ORS 468.170 (5), such person or persons may
allocate all or any part of the certified.cost of
such facility among any persons and their
successors or assigns having an interest under
this subparagraph. Such allocation shall be
evidenced by a written statement signed by
the person or persons receiving the certificate
and designating the persons to whom the
certified costs have been allocated and the
amount of certified cost allocated to each; this
statement shall be filed with the Department
of Revenue not later than the final day of the
first tax year for which a tax credit is claimed
pursuant to such agreement. In no event shall
the aggregate certified costs allocated between
or among more than one person exceed the
amount of the total certified cost of the facili-
ty. As used in this paragraph, “owner” in-
cludes a contract purchaser; and

(b) The facility must be owned or leased
during the tax year by the taxpayer claiming
the credit, except as otherwise provided in
subparagraph (C) of paragraph (a) of this

subsection, and must have been in use and
operation during the tax year for which the
credit is claimed.

(6) Regardless of when the facility is
erected, constructed or installed, a credit
under this section may be claimed by a tax-
payer:

(a) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(a) or (b), only in those tax years
which begin on or after January 1, 1967.

(b) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(c), in those tax years which begin
on or after January 1, 1973.

(7) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(a) or (b), the maximum total credit
allowable shall not exceed:

(a) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 80 percent or more, 50 percent of
the cost of such facility or facilities.

(b) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 60 percent or more and less than
80 percent, 40 percent of the cost of such facil-
ity or facilities.

(c) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 40 percent or more and less than
60 percent, 30 percent of the cost of such facil-
ity or facilities.

(d) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is 20 percent or more and less than
40 percent, 20 percent of the cost of such facil-
ity or facilities.

(e) If the portion of the actual cost of the
facility properly allocable to the prevention,
control or reduction of air, water or noise
pollution is less than 20 percent, 10 percent of
the cost of such facility or facilities.

(8) For a facility qualifying under ORS
468.165 (1)(¢), the maximum total credit al-
lowable shall not exceed 50 percent of the cost
of such facility.

(9) The credit provided by this section is
not in lieu of any depreciation or amortization
deduction for the facility to which the taxpay-
er otherwise may be entitled under this chap-
ter for such year.
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(10) Upon any sale, exchange, or other
disposition of a facility, notice thereof shall be
given to the Environmental Quality Commis-
sion who shall revoke the certification cover-
ing such facility as of the date of such disposi-
tion. The transferee may apply for a new
certificate under ORS 468.170, but the tax
credit available to such transferee shall be
limited to the amount of credit not claimed by
the transferor. The sale, exchange or other
disposition of shares in an electing small
business corporation as defined in section
1371 of the Internal Revenue Code or of a
partner’s interest in a partnership shall not be
deemed a sale, exchange or other disposition
of a facility for purposes of this subsection.

(11) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in such next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise, any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, but may
not be carried forward for any tax year there-
after. Credits may be carried forward to and
used in a tax year beyond the years specified
in ORS 468.170.

(12) The taxpayer’s adjusted basis for
determining gain or loss shall not be further
decreased by any tax credits allowed under
this section.

(13) If the taxpayer is a shareholder of a
Subchapter S corporation that has elected to
take tax credit relief pursuant to ORS 468.170
(6), the credit shall be computed using the
shareholder’s pro rata share of the corpora-
tion’s certified cost of the facility. In all other
respects, the allowance and effect of the tax
credit shall apply to the corporation as other-
wise provided by law. [See 316.480, 1973 ¢ 831 §8;
1977 ¢ 795 §11, 1977 ¢ 866 §10; 1979 ¢.691 §6, 1981 ¢ 408
§1]

316.102 Credit for political contribu-
tions. (1) Unless a taxpayer has claimed a
deduction for a political contribution on the
taxpayer’s federal tax return for the taxable
year, a credit against taxes shall be allowed
for voluntary contributions in money made in
the taxable year:

(a) To a national political party as defined
in section 41 of the Internal Revenue Code or

to a committee thereof or to a minor political
party as defined in ORS 248.008;

(b) To or for the use of a candidate for
federal, state or local elective office whose
name is listed on a primary, general or special
election ballot in this state, or who has filed,
or on behalf of whom has been filed in this
state a declaration of candidacy or a certifi-
cate of nomination as provided by law or a
copy of the candidate’s nominating petition
filed pursuant to ORS chapter 249; or

(c) To any trust, committee, association or
organization (whether or not incorporated)
organized and operated exclusively for any
part or all of the following purposes:

(A) Influencing, or attempting to influ-
ence, the nomination or election of one or
more individuals who are candidates for nomi-
nation or election to any federal, state or local
elective public office to be voted upon within
this state if used by the trust, committee,
association or organization to further the
candidacy of an individual or individuals for
nomination or election to such office; or

(B) Supporting or opposing ballot mea-
sures or questions to be voted upon within this
state if the trust, committee, association or
organization has certified the name of its
political treasurer to the filing officer in the
manner provided by law.

(2) The credit allowed by subsection (1) of
this section shall be the lesser of:

(a) One-half of the total contribution, not
to exceed $25 on a separate return; one-half of
the total contribution, not to exceed $50 on a
joint return; or

(b) The tax liability of the taxpayer.

(3) Tax claim for tax credit shall be sub-
stantiated by submission, with the tax return,
of official receipts of the candidate, agent,
trust, committee, association or organization
to whom contribution was made. [1969 c 432 §2,
1973 ¢ 119 §3, 1975 ¢ 177 §1; 1977 c.268 §1, 1979 ¢ 190
§413]

316.105 [1953 ¢ 304 §14, 1953 c 552 §5, repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

316.106 [1967 c.274 §7; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.107 Federal tax credits allowable
only as specified. No credits applied directly
to the income tax calculated for federal pur-
poses pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code
shall be applied in calculating the tax due
under this chapter except those applicable
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under ORS 316.082, 316.087 and 316.292.
{1969 c 493 §20, 1973 c 402 §19]

316.108 [1967 ¢ 118 §2; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.109 Credit for tax by another
jurisdiction on sale of residential proper-
ty. (1) For taxable years beginning on and
after January 1, 1979, if gain on the sale of
residential property is taxed under this chap-
ter the adjusted basis of the property for pur-
poses of this chapter shall be the same as its
adjusted basis for federal income tax pur-
poses.

(2) A credit against the tax otherwise due
under this chapter shall be allowed to the
taxpayer for the amount of any taxes imposed
on the taxpayer by another state of the United
States, a foreign country or the District of
Columbia which tax is attributable to gain
which is subject to tax as described in subsec-
tion (1) of this section.

(3) The amount of the credit allowed un-
der subsection (2) of this section shall not
exceed the amount of the gain taxed by the
other taxing jurisdiction multiplied by eight
percent.

(4) The Department of Revenue shall
provide by rule the procedure for obtaining
credit provided by subsection (2) of this sec-
tion and the proof required.

(5) No credit allowed under subsection (2)
of this section shall be applied in calculating
tax due under this chapter if the tax upon
which the credit is based has been claimed as
a deduction for Oregon personal income tax
purposes, unless the tax is restored to income
on the Oregon return. [1979 c.579 §2; 1981 ¢.705
§2]

316.110 [1953 ¢ 304 §15; 1953 ¢ 552 §6, 1957 c 582

§1, 1961 ¢ 506 §1; 1963 c 253 §1, repealed by 1969 c.493
§991

316.111 [1965 ¢.360 §2; repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.112 [1959 c.211 §2, 1963 c.627 §5 (referred and
rejected), repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.113 {1967 ¢ 61 §2; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]
316.114 {1967 ¢ 449 §2, repealed by 1969 ¢.493 §99)

316.115 [1953 ¢.304 §16, 1959 ¢ 555 §1; subsection (4)
denived from 1959 ¢ 555 §2, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.116 Credit for alternative energy
device. (1) A resident individual shall be
allowed a credit against the taxes otherwise
due under this chapter, based upon the cost of
the alternative energy device which has been
certified under ORS 469.160 to 469.180.

(2)(a) To qualify for the credit under this
section:

(A) The alternative energy device must be
constructed, installed and operated in accord-
ance with the provisions of ORS 469.160 to
469.180 and a certificate issued thereunder;

(B) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
must be the owner or contract purchaser of
the dwelling or dwellings served by the alter-
native energy device or the tenant of the
owner or of the contract purchaser;

(C) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of
this subsection, the taxpayer who is allowed
the credit must use the dwelling or dwellings
served by the alternative energy device as a
principal or secondary residence; and

(D) The credit must be claimed for the tax
year during which the alternative energy
device which has been certified under ORS
469.160 to 469.180 first is placed in service.
However, for tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1982, the credit may be claimed for
the tax year in which the application for pre-
liminary certification is filed with the Depart-
ment of Energy if the system is operational by
April 1 of the next following tax year.

(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of
subparagraph (C) of paragraph (a) of this
subsection, a taxpayer who otherwise qualifies
for the credit allowed under this section but
who does not use the dwelling or dwellings
served by the alternative energy device as a
principal or secondary residence, shall be
allowed the credit if the taxpayer rents or
leases the dwelling or dwellings to a tenant
who uses the dwelling or dwellings as a princi-
pal or secondary residence.

(3) The taxpayer who is allowed the credit
shall not be entitled to more than one credit
under this section for any one taxable year.

(4) For collective or noncollective invest-
ment, the credit allowed under this section for
each dwelling shall not exceed the lesser of:

(a) The portion of the actual cost of the
acquisition, construction and installation of
the alternative energy device paid by the
taxpayer, multiplied by 25 percent; or

(b) $1,000 per dwelling utilizing the alter-
native energy device.

(5) A credit under this section may be
claimed by a taxpayer for an alternative ener-
gy device for those tax years which begin on
or after January 1, 1978, but before January
1, 1985.
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(6) The credit provided by this section
shall not affect the computation of basis for
the dwelling or dwellings under this chapter.

(7) The credit allowed in any one year
shall not exceed the tax liability of the tax-
payer.

(8) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in such next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, and any
credit not used in that third succeeding tax
year may be carried forward and used in the
fourth succeeding tax year, and any credit not
used in that fourth succeeding tax year may
be carried forward and used in the fifth suc-
ceeding tax year, but may not be carried for-
ward for any tax year thereafter.

(9) A nonresident shall be allowed the
credit under this section in the proportion
provided in ORS 316.117 (5).

(10) If a change 1n the taxable year of a
taxpayer occurs as described in ORS 316.215,
or if the department terminates the taxpayer’s
taxable year under ORS 314.440, the credit
allowed by this section shall be prorated or
computed in a manner consistent with ORS
316.215.

(11) If a change in the status of a taxpayer
from resident to nonresident or from nonresi-
dent to resident occurs, the credit allowed by
this section shall be determined in a manner
consistent with ORS 316.397.

(12) A husband and wife who file separate
returns for a taxable year may each claim a
share of the tax credit that would have been
allowed on a joint return in proportion to the
contribution of each. However, a husband or
wife living in his or her separate principal
residence may claim the tax credit in the same
amount as permitted a single person.

(13) As used in this section, unless the
context requires otherwise:

(a) “Collective investment” means an
investment by two or more taxpayers for the
acquisition, construction and installation of
an alternative energy device for one or more
dwellings.

(b) “Dwelling” has the meaning given in
ORS 469.160.

(¢) “Noncollective investment” means an
investment by an individual taxpayer for the
acquisition, construction and installation of
an alternative energy device for one or more
dwellings.

(14) As used in this section, “taxpayer”
includes a transferee of a preliminary certifi-
cate under ORS 469.175 (6) who subsequently
obtains a final certificate. [1977 ¢ 196 §8, 1979
¢ 670 §2, 1981 ¢.894 §3]

Note: Chapter 367, Oregon Laws 1977, provides

Sec. 1. It 1s the policy of the State of Oregon to assist
1n the development of jobs for the unemployed by provid-
1ng tax relief for Oregon employers

Sec. 2. As used 1n this Act, unless the context re-
quires otherwise-

(1) “Qualified employer” means business and manu-
facturing employers which have been held to be subject to
taxation under ORS chapters 316 and 317

(2) “Qualified employe” means employes who work
not less than 30 hours per week and who immediately
prior to employment were

(a) Receiving unemployment insurance benefits
under ORS chapter 657 and who furnish the employer a
certificate verifying receipt of unemployment insurance
benefits 1mmediately prior to employment as required
under this Act;

(b) Receiving public assistance under ORS chapter
411;

(¢) Receiving tramming 1in a publicly or privately
funded training or rehabilitation program designed to
upgrade )job skills, wages and employment or promotional
possibilities, including high school;

(d) Receiving training under a program operated by
the Corrections Division of the Department of Human
Resources, or

(e) Receving workers’ compensation under ORS
chapter 656

(83) “Increase in the number of full-time employes”
means

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this
subsection, the excess of

(A) The number of full-time employes employed 1n
Oregon by the qualified employer in Oregon as of the last
day of 1ts taxable year during which the credit 1s applied
for, over

(B) The nearest whole number determined by multi-
plying the number of full-time employes employed by the
qualified employer 1n Oregon as of the last day of its
previous taxable year by a coefficient of 1 03.

(b) For employers not having a taxable year on or
before December 31, 1976, or for employers not having
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any employes 1n the taxable year ending on or before
December 31, 1976, the increase in the number of full-
time employes equals the excess of

(A) The number of full-time employes emplcyed by
the qualified employer 1n Oregon as of the last day of its
taxable year during which the credit 1s appled for, over

(B) For the first taxable year for which a credit 1s
allowed under this Act, the nearest whole number deter-
mined by multiplying the number of full-time employes
employed 1 Oregon as of the last day of the employer’s
first taxable year mn which 1t had any employes by a
coefficient of 1.00, or, for all subsequent taxable years for
which a credit 1s allowed under this Act, the nearest
whole number determined by multiplying the number of
full-time employes employed 1n Oregon as of the last day
of the employer’s previous taxable year by a coefficient of
102

Sec. 3. There shall be allowed to qualified employers
a credit against taxes otherwise due under ORS chapters
316 and 317 for the increase in the number of qualified
full-time employes not to exceed the amount of the
increase 1n the number of full-time employes calculated
as provided 1n subsection (3) of section 2 of this Act The
amount of the credit for each qualified employe 1s deter-
mined by multiplying $50 times the number of full
months the qualified full-time employe has been em-
ployed by a qualified employer The credit in any year for
any qualified employe shall not exceed $500. A credit
under this section shall not be allowed to a qualified
employer for the amount of the increase 1in the number of
full-time employes which 1s due to the hiring of an em-
ploye who was employed by such qualified employer
immediately prior to receiving unemployment insurance
benefits under ORS chapter 657 or workers’ compensation
under ORS chapter 656 This credit apples to taxable
years beginming on or after July 1, 1977, and before
January 1, 1982

(Nonresidents)

316.117 Taxable income; deductions
allowed. (1) The taxable income of a nonresi-
dent individual is adjusted gross income attri-
butable to sources within this state deter-
mined by ORS 316.127 less the deductions
allowed by this section.

(2) A nonresident shall be allowed the
deduction for a standard deduction or itemized
deductions allowable to a resident under ORS
316.068 (1), in the proportion provided in
subsection (5) of this section.

(3) A nonresident taxpayer shall be enti-
tled to claim the personal exemptions as de-
fined in section 151 of the Internal Revenue
Code, as modified under ORS 316.068 (2), in
the proportion provided in subsection (5) of
this section.

(4) A nonresident taxpayer shall be al-
lowed to deduct the amount of any accrued
federal income taxes and foreign country
income taxes as provided in ORS 316.071 in

the proportion provided in subsection (5) of
this section.

(5) The proportion for making the prora-
tion required under this section is the federal
adjusted gross income of the taxpayer from
Oregon sources divided by the taxpayer’s
federal adjusted gross income from all
sources. If the numerator of the fraction de-
scribed in this subsection is greater than the
denominator, the proportion of 100 percent
shall be used in the prorations required by
this section. ({1969 c493 §21, 1971 ¢ 672 &1, 1973
€.269 §1, 1975 ¢ 672 §5; 1977 ¢ 872 §5; 1981 ¢ 801 §4]

316.122 Separate or joint federal
returns for husband and wife. (1) If the
federal taxable income of husband and wife
(both nonresidents of this state) is determined
on separate federal returns, their taxable
incomes in this state shall be separately deter-
mined.

(2) If the federal taxable income of hus-
band and wife (both nonresidents) 1s deter-
mined on a joint federal return, their tax shall
be determined in this state on their joint
taxable income.

(3) If either husband or wife is a nonresi-
dent and the other a resident, separate taxes
shall be determined on their separate taxable
incomes in this state on such forms as the
department shall prescribe, unless both elect
to determine their joint taxable income in this
state as if both were residents. If a husband
and wife (one being a resident, the other a
nonresident) file a joint federal income tax
return but determine their taxable income in
this state separately, they shall compute their
taxable incomes in this state as if their feder-
al adjusted gross incomes had been deter-
mined separately. (1969 c 493 §22]

316.125 [1953 ¢ 304 §17, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.127 Income of nonresident from
Oregon sources. (1) The adjusted gross in-
come of a nonresident derived from sources
within this state is the sum of the following:

(a) The net amount of items of income,
gain, loss and deduction entering into his
federal adjusted gross income that are derived
from or connected with sources in this state
including (A) his distributive share of partner-
ship income and deductions and (B) his share
of estate or trust income and deductions; and

(b) The portion of the modifications, addi-
tions or subtractions to federal taxable income
provided in this chapter that relate to adjust-
ed gross income derived from sources in this
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state, including any modifications attributa-
ble to him as a partner.

(2) Items of income, gain, loss and deduc-
tion derived from or connected with sources
within this state are those items attributable
to:

(a) The ownership or disposition of any
interest in real or tangible personal property
in this state; and

(b) A business, trade, profession or occupa-
tion carried on in this state.

(3) Income from intangible personal prop-
erty, including annuities, dividends, interest
and gains from the disposition of intangible
personal property, constitutes income derived
from sources within this state only to the
extent that such income is from property
employed in a business, trade, profession or
occupation carried on in this state.

(4) Deductions with respect to capital
losses, net long-term capital gains, and net
operating losses shall be based solely on in-
come, gains, losses and deductions derived
from or connected with sources in this state,
under regulations to be prescribed by the
department, but otherwise shall be deter-
mined in the same manner as the correspond-
ing federal deductions.

(5) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this
section, the distributed and undistributed
taxable income of an electing small business
corporation for federal income tax purposes
derived from or connected with sources in this
state does constitute income derived from
sources within this state for a nonresident
individual who is a shareholder of such a
corporation, and a net operating loss of such
corporation derived from or connected with
sources in this state does constitute a loss or
deduction connected with sources in this state
for such a nonresident individual.

(6) If a business, trade, profession or occu-
pation is carried on partly within and partly
without this state, the determination of net
income derived from or connected with sources
within this state shall be made by apportion-
ment and allocation under ORS 314.605 to
314.670.

(7) Compensation paid by the United
States for service in the Armed Forces of the
United States performed by a nonresident
does not constitute income derived from
sources within this state.

(8) The “adjusted gross income,” as used in
this section, means the adjusted gross income

as defined in section 62 of the Internal Reve-
nue Code with the necessary adjustments to
items of Oregon income required by this chap-
ter except for any adjustment required for
federal income taxes by ORS 316.067 (1) or for
Oregon income taxes by ORS 316.067 (2) or
both. [1969 c 493 §23, 1971 ¢ 672 §2, 1973 c 269 §2;
1975 ¢ 705 §4]

(Severely Disabled Persons)

316.135 Definitions of ORS 316.135 to
316.138. For purposes of ORS 316.135 to
316.138:

(1) A person is “severely disabled” if the
person:

(a) Has lost the use of one or more lower
extremities;

(b) Has lost the use of both hands; or

(¢c) Suffers an affliction that limits the
abilities of the person to earn a living, main-
tain a household or transport himself without
employing special orthopedic or medical
equipment or outside help.

(2) “Orthopedic or medical equipment”
includes, but is not limited to, wheelchairs,
braces, prostheses or special crutches.

(3) “Outside help” includes, but is not
limited to, unrelated individuals whom the
severely disabled taxpayer employs to keep
house, maintain the house or yard, or to trans-
port the taxpayer. [1979 c 554 §2]

316.136 Additional personal exemp-
tion for severely disabled persons. In addi-
tion to the personal exemption allowed by this
chapter for state personal income tax pur-
poses, there shall be subtracted from federal
taxable income an additional personal exemp-
tion for the taxpayer if the taxpayer is severe-
ly disabled at the close of the taxable year.
The amount subtracted shall be an amount
equal to the amount allowed as the personal
exemption for the taxpayer for the state per-
sonal income tax purposes for the taxable
year. [1979 c 554 §3]

316.137 Additional personal exemp-
tion for spouse of severely disabled per-
son; conditions. (1) An additional exemption
in the same amount as allowed under ORS
316.136 for a severely disabled taxpayer shall
be allowed for the spouse of the taxpayer if a
separate return is made by the taxpayer, and
if the spouse:

(a) Is severely disabled;
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(b) Has no gross income for the calendar
year in which the taxable year of the taxpayer
begins; and

(c) Is not the dependent of another taxpay-
er.

(2) In the case of a joint return, each
spouse who is severely disabled shall be al-
lowed the additional exemption in the amount
provided under ORS 316.136 if the spouse
otherwise qualifies under this section.

(3) For purposes of this section, the deter-
mination of whether the spouse is severely
disabled shall be made as of the close of the
taxable year of the taxpayer except that if the
spouse dies during such taxable year such
determination shall be made as of the time of
the death of the spouse. [1979 c 554 §4]

316.138 Proof of status for exemption.
Each person qualifying for the additional
exemption allowed in ORS 316.136 and
316.137 may claim the subtraction on the
personal income tax return. However, the
claim shall be substantiated by a letter from a
licensed physician or osteopath describing the
nature and extent of the physical disability.
[1979 c 554 §5]

(Energy Conservation Facilities)

316.140 Credit for energy conserva-
tion facility. (1) A credit is allowed against
the taxes otherwise due under this chapter,
based upon the certified cost of the facility
during the period for which that facility is
certified under ORS 469.185 to 469.225. The
credit allowed in each of the first two tax
years in which the credit is claimed shall be
10 percent of thé certified cost of the facility,
but shall not exceed the tax liability of the
taxpayer. The credit allowed in each of the
succeeding three years shall be five percent of
the certified cost, but shall not exceed the tax
liability of the taxpayer.

(2) The facility must be in Oregon and
owned during the tax year by the taxpayer
claiming the credit.

(3) A credit under this section may be
claimed by a taxpayer for a facility only in
those tax years which begin on and after
January 1, 1980.

(4) The maximum total credit or credits
allowed for a facility under this section to
eligible taxpayers shall not exceed 35 percent
of the certified cost of such facility.

(56) Upon any sale, termination of the
lease, exchange or other disposition of the
facility, notice thereof shall be given to the
Director of the Department of Energy who
shall revoke the certificate covering the facili-
ty as of the date of such disposition. The
transferee, or upon re-leasing of the facility,
the lessor, may apply for a new certificate
under ORS 469.215, but the tax credit avail-
able to that transferee shall be limited to the
amount of credit not claimed by the transferor
or, for a lessor, the amount of credit not
claimed by the lessor under all previous leas-
es.

(6) Any tax credit otherwise allowable
under this section which is not used by the
taxpayer in a particular year may be carried
forward and offset against the taxpayer’s tax
liability for the next succeeding tax year. Any
credit remaining unused in that next succeed-
ing tax year may be carried forward and used
in the second succeeding tax year, and like-
wise, any credit not used in that second suc-
ceeding tax year may be carried forward and
used in the third succeeding tax year, but may
not be carried forward for any tax year there-
after. Credits may be carried forward to and
used in a tax year beyond the years specified
in subsection (1) of this section only as provid-
ed in this subsection.

(7) The credit provided by this section is
not in lieu of any depreciation or amortization
deduction for the facility to which the taxpay-
er otherwise may be entitled under this chap-
ter for such year.

(8) The taxpayer’s adjusted basis for deter-
mining gain or loss shall not be decreased by
any tax credits allowed under this section.

(9) If the taxpayer is a shareholder of a
Subchapter S corporation, the credit shall be
computed using the shareholder’s pro rata
share of the corporation’s certified cost of the
facility. In all other respects, the allowance
and effect of the tax credit shall apply to the
corporation as otherwise provided by law.

(10) A credit under the provisions of this
section shall not be allowed to:

(a) A public utility, as defined in ORS
757.005, that retails electricity or natural gas
to more than 100 customers;

(b) A people’s utility district, as defined in
ORS 261.010, a municipal utility or a coopera-
tive utility that retails electricity or natural
gas to more than 100 customers; or
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(¢) A subsidiary or an affiliated interest,
as defined 1n ORS 757.015, of a public utility
described 1n paragraph (a) of this subsection.
[1979 ¢ 512 §12, 1981 ¢ 894 §10]

316.141 Other grants or credits as
offset to cost of facility. If a taxpayer ob-
tains a grant or tax credit from the Federal
Government other than an investment credit
granted under section 46 of the Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1954 as 1t reads on August 22,
1981, 1n connection with a facility which has
been certified by the Director of the Depart-
ment of Energy, the certified cost of the facili-
ty shall be reduced on a dollar for dollar basis.
Any 1ncome tax credits which such taxpayer
would be entitled to under ORS 316 140 to
316 142 and 469.185 to 469.225 after any such
reduction shall not be reduced by such federal
grants or tax credits. Taxpayers applying for
federal grants or credits shall notify the De-
partment of Revenue by certified mail within
30 days of each such application, and of the
receipt of any such grant. (1979 ¢ 512 §15, 1981
c 894 311}

316.142 Credit limited if facility fi-
nanced in part by governmental body;
ineligibility of recipients of other credits
or tax relief. (1) If a facility eligible for a
credit under ORS 316.140 is financed in part
by any governmental or quasi-governmental
body or municipal corporation, as defined in
ORS 297.405, a tax credit may be claimed only
on the portion of the cost that is privately
financed.

(2) A taxpayer is eligible to participate in
both this tax credit program and low interest,
government-sponsored loans.

(3) A taxpayer who receives a tax credit or
ad valorem tax relief on a pollution control
facility or an alternate energy device under
ORS 307 405, 316.097 or 316.116 is not eligi-
ble for a tax credit on the same facility or
device under ORS 316.140 to 316.142 and
469.185 to 469.225. (1979 ¢ 512 §16, 17, 1981 ¢ 894
§12}

(Substitute Fuel Plants)

316.145 Deduction of portion of in-
come attributable to production of substi-
tute fuel. If a commercial plant produces
methanol, ethanol or other substitute fuel and
75 percent of the production is used in making
gasohol in any tax year, that portion of the
taxable net income attributable to the produc-
tion of methanol, ethanol or other substitute

fuel for such tax year 1s exempt from any tax
mmposed under this chapter. To qualify for the
exemption authorized by this section, there
shall be filed with the tax return of the tax-
payer claiming the exemption a certificate
furnished by the Department of Energy that
the plant produced a commercially marketable
grade of methanol, ethanol or other substitute
fuel and that 75 percent of the production
during the tax year was used or committed for
use 1n making gasohol. {1979 ¢ 561 s4]

Note: Section 10, chapter 561, Oregon Laws 1979,
provides

Sec. 10. The exemption from ad valorem taxation
authorized by section 2 of this Act shall apply to the
assessment and tax rolls prepared for assessment years
beginning on or after January 1, 1980, but prior to Janu-
ary 1, 1986 The exemption from taxes on or measured by
net 1income provided 1n sections 4 and 6 of this Act and by
the amendments to ORS 318 030 by section 7 of this Act
shall apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1,
1980, but prior to January 1, 1985

(Costs in Lieu of Nursing Home
Care)

316.147 Definitions for ORS 316.147 to
316.149. As used 1n ORS 316.147 to 316.149,
unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Eligible taxpayer” includes any indi-
vidual who must pay taxes otherwise imposed
by this chapter and:

(a) Who pays or incurs expenses for the
care of a “qualified individual,” as defined 1n
subsection (2) of this section, through a pay-
ment method determined by rule of the De-
partment of Revenue; and

(b) Who has a “household income,” as
defined by ORS 310.630, for the taxable year,
not to exceed the maximum amount of house-
hold income allowed in ORS 310.640 for a
homeowner or renter refund.

(2) “Qualified individual” includes an
individual at least 60 years of age on the date
that the expenses described in paragraph (a)
of subsection (1) of this section are paid or
incurred by the eligible taxpayer:

(a) Whose household income, as defined by
ORS 310.630 (7) and (8), does not exceed
$7,500 for the calendar year in which the
taxable year of the taxpayer begins;

(b) Who is ehigible for home care services
under Oregon Project Independence provided
by the Department of Human Resources;

(¢) Who is certified by the Department of
Human Resources; and
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(d) Whose care or any portion thereof is
not paid for under ORS chapter 414. [1979 ¢ 494
§2]

316.148 Credit for expenses in lieu of
nursing home care; limitation. (1) A credit
against the taxes otherwise due under this
chapter shall be allowed to an eligible taxpay-
er with respect to food, clothing, medical care
and transportation expenses paid or incurred
by the taxpayer during the taxable year on
behalf of a qualified individual in order that
the qualified individual is not placed or main-
tained in a nursing home unnecessarily. The
amount of the credit shall be $250 or eight
percent of the expenses paid or incurred dur-
ing the taxable year, whichever is less.

(2) No credit shall be allowed under this
section for expenses paid or incurred for any
period of time 1n which the qualified individu-
al is a resident in a nursing home or is receiv-
ing aid from Oregon Project Independence.
[1979 ¢ 494 §3]

316.149 Evidence of eligibility for
credit. Evidence of payments made or expen-
ses incurred that form the basis of the credit
allowed under ORS 316.147 to 316.149 shall
be submitted to the Department of Revenue in
accordance with any rules adopted by the
department relative to the submission of
evidence of such payments. [1979 ¢ 494 §4]

(Building Renovation for
Handicapped Access)

316.150 Deduction for building reno-
vation projects improving access for
handicapped persons. (1) As used in this
section, unless the context otherwise requires:

(a) “Building, facility or transportation
vehicle” means a building, facility or trans-
portation vehicle, or part thereof, which is
intended to be used, and is actually used by
the taxpayer, the family of the taxpayer or the
general public, either in the trade or business
of the taxpayer or at the residence of the
taxpayer. If the use of the building, facility or
transportation vehicle is at the residence of
the taxpayer, the residence must be located in
Oregon.

(b) “Elderly individual” means an individ-
ual who is 65 years of age or older before the
close of the calendar year for which the deduc-
tion is claimed.

(c) “Handicapped individual” means any
individual who has a physical or mental disa-

bility which for the individual constitutes or
results in a functional limitation to employ-
ment, or who has any physical or mental
impairment which substantially limits one or
more major life activities of such individual.

(d) “Renovation project” means the repair
or remodeling of an existing building, facility
or transportation vehicle owned or leased by
the taxpayer at the time of the repair or re-
modeling if the purpose of the repair or re-
modeling is:

(A) To permit handicapped or elderly
individuals to enter or leave such building,
facility or transportation vehicle;

(B) To increase the access that handi-
capped or elderly individuals would have to
such building, facility or transportation vehi-
cle; or

(C) To allow handicapped or elderly indi-
viduals more effective use of such building,
facility or transportation vehicle.

(2) In addition to and not in lieu of the
other modifications to federal taxable income
contained in this chapter, there shall be sub-
tracted from federal taxable income the cost of
a renovation project. The subtraction may be
taken only for the taxable year in which the
renovation project is completed and is in addi-
tion to any depreciation or amortization of the
cost of the renovation project. The subtraction
for any taxable year shall not exceed $25,000.

(3) If any building, facility or transporta-
tion vehicle is owned by more than one person,
a taxpayer may deduct a portion of the costs of
the renovation project apportionate to the
interest in such building, facility or transpor-
tation vehicle which is owned by the taxpayer.

(4) In order to qualify for the subtraction
allowed by this section, a building or facility
must, after renovation, meet any applicable
state standards and specifications developed
under ORS 447.210 to 447.280 or other state
law. In absence of state standards applicable
to the project, applicable federal standards
shall be used.

(5) If, on or after January 1, 1980, the
Federal Government allows a similar deduc-
tion to that authorized by this section, the
subtraction provided by this section shall be
reduced by the amount of the deduction per-
mitted by federal law. [1979 ¢ 414 §2]

COLLECTION OF TAX AT
SOURCE OF WAGES
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316.160 [1953 ¢ 304 §18, 1965 c 26 §3, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.162 Definitions for ORS 316.162 to
316.212. As used 1n ORS 316.162 to 316.212:

(1) “Number of withholding exemptions
claimed” means the number of withholding
exemptions claimed in a withholding exemp-
tion certificate in effect under ORS 316.182,
except that if no such certificate is in effect,
the number of withholding exemptions
claimed is considered to be zero.

(2) “Wages” means remuneration for ser-
vices performed by an employe for an employ-
er, including the cash value of all remunera-
tion paid in any medium other than cash,
except that “wages” does not include remuner-
ation paid:

(a) For active service in the Armed Forces
of the United States as to which no withhold-
ing is required by the Internal Revenue Code.

(b) To an employe of a common carrier to
the extent that sections 1512 and 11504, title
49, United States Code prohibits the remuner-
ation from withholding for state income taxes.

(c) For domestic service 1n a private home,
a local college club or a local chapter of a
college fraternity or sorority.

(d) For casual labor not in the course of
the employer’s trade or business.

(e) To an employe whose services to the
employer consist solely of labor in connection
with the planting, cultivating or harvesting of
seasonal agricultural crops if the total amount
paid to such employe is less than $300 annual-
ly.

(f) To seamen who are exempt from gar-

nishment, attachment or execution under title
46 of the United States Code.

(g) To persons temporarily employed as
emergency forest fire fighters.

(h) To employes’ trusts exempt from tax
under provisions of the federal Internal Reve-
nue Code.

(3) “Employer” means:

(a) A person who is in such relation to
another person that the person may control
the work of that other person and direct the
manner in which it is to be done; or

(b) An officer or employe of a corporation,
or a member or employe of a partnership, who
as such officer, employe or member is under a
duty to perform the acts required of employers
by ORS 316.167, 316.182, 316.197, 316.202

and 316.207. [1969 c 493 §24, 1971 ¢ 690 §1, 1973
¢ 229 §1, 1977 ¢ 604 §1, 1981 ¢ 705 §3]

316.165 [1953 ¢ 304 §19, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.167 Withholding of tax required;
elective provisions for certain employes.
(1) Every employer at the time of the payment
of wages to any employe shall deduct and
retain from such wages an amount deter-
mined, at the employer’s election, either (a) by
a “percentage method” withholding table or
(b) by “wage bracket” withholding tables,
prepared and furnished under the rules and
regulations of the department. However, in
the case of wages paid to an employe whose
services to the employer consist solely of labor
in connection with the planting, cultivating or
harvesting of seasonal agricultural crops, the
employer may elect to withhold two percent of
the total wages paid without regard to any
withholding exemptions.

(2) Except in the case of an agricultural
employe, the amount withheld shall be com-
puted on the basis of the total amount of the
wages and the number of withholding exemp-
tions claimed by the employe, without deduc-
tion for any amount withheld.

(3) If a lender, surety or other person who
supplies funds to or for the account of an
employer for the purpose of paying wages of
the employes of such employer has actual
notice or knowledge that such employer does
not intend to or will not be able to make time-
ly payment or deposit of the tax required to be
deducted and withheld, such lender, surety or
other person shall be liable to the State of
Oregon in a sum equal to the taxes together
with interest which are not timely paid over to
the department. Such liability shall be limited
to the principal amount supplied by such
lender, surety or other person, and any
amounts so paid to the department shall be
credited against the liability of the employer.
[1969 c 493 §25, 1975 ¢ 394 §1, 1977 ¢ 604 §2]

316.170 [1953 ¢ 304 §20, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.172 Tax withholding tables to be
prepared by department. (1) The depart-
ment shall prepare a table for use with the
percentage method that provides for the de-
duction and withholding of a tax equal to a
specific percent (to be determined by the de-
partment) of the amount by which the wages
for a given payroll period (daily, weekly, bi-
weekly, semimonthly, monthly, quarterly,
semiannually or annually, as the case may be)
exceed the number of withholding exemptions
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claimed, multiplied by the amount of one such
exemption for each payroll period (such
amount being determined by the department
for each such period). The determinations of
the department shall result, so far as is practi-
cable, in withholding from the employe a sum
substantially equivalent to the amount of the
tax that the employe will be required to pay
under this chapter upon such wages. To ac-
complish this purpose, the department may
make special provision for employes who are
in the state for limited periods of time.

(2) The department shall prepare tables
for use in computing withholding of tax by
wage brackets. The wage brackets shall be
graduated so that the amount withheld is, as
far as practicable, substantially equivalent to
the amount of the tax that the employe will be
required to pay under this chapter upon such
wages. [1969 ¢ 493 §26, 1973 ¢ 402 §20]

316.175 [1953 c 304 §21; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.177 Withholding exemptions. An
employe shall be entitled to the same number
of withholding exemptions as the number of
withholding exemptions to which he is enti-
tled for federal income tax withholding pur-
poses. An employer may rely upon the number
of federal withholding exemptions claimed by
the employe, except where the employe claims
a different number of withholding exemptions
in this state. [1969 ¢ 493 §27]

316.180 {1953 ¢ 304 §22, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.182 Exemption certificate. An
employer shall use the exemption certificate
filed by the employe with the employer under
the income tax withholding provisions of the
Internal Revenue Code for determining the
number of withholding exemptions to be used
in computing the tax to be withheld under
ORS 316.167 and 316.172. However, the de-
partment may require such exemption certifi-
cate to be filed on a form prescribed by the
department in any circumstance where the
department finds that the exemption certifi-
cate filed under the Internal Revenue Code
does not properly reflect the number of with-
holding exemptions allowable under this
chapter, except no exemption certificate need
be procured from an employe whose wages
consist of wages as defined in ORS 316.162
(2)(e). 11969 c 493 §28]

316.185 [1953 ¢ 304 §23; 1955 ¢ 129 §1; subsection (5)
derived from 1955 ¢ 129 §2; 1965 c.26 §4; repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

316.187 Amount withheld is in pay-
ment of employe’s tax. The amounts deduct-
ed from the wages of an employe during any
calendar year in accordance with ORS 316.167
and 316.172 shall be considered to be in part
payment of the tax on such employe’s income
for his taxable year which begins within such
calendar year, and the return made by the
employer pursuant to ORS 316.202 shall be
accepted by the department as evidence in
favor of the employe of the amounts so deduct-
ed from his wages. [1969 ¢ 493 §29]

316.190 [Amended by 1953 c 304 §24, 1955 c 92 §1,
subsection (3) derived from 1955 ¢ 92 §2, repealed by 1969
c 493 §99]

316.192 Refunds to employes. (1) If
the total amount deducted under ORS 316.167
and 316.172 exceeds the amount of the tax on
the employe’s entire income as computed
under this chapter, or when his income is not
taxable under this chapter, the department,
after examining or auditing the annual return
filed by the employe in accordance with ORS
314.385, shall refund the amount of the excess
deducted, with interest thereon as provided by
law. No refund shall be made to an employe
who fails to file such return within two years
after the due date of the return in respect of
which the tax withheld might have been cred-
ited. If the excess tax deducted is less than $1,
no refund shall be made and in no event shall
the excess be allowed as a credit against any
tax accruing on a return filed for a year subse-
quent to the year during which such excess
was withheld.

(2) The department may make separate
refunds of withheld taxes upon request by a
husband or wife who has filed a joint return,
the refund payable to each spouse being pro-
portioned to the gross earnings of each shown
by the information returns filed by the em-
ployer or otherwise shown to the satisfaction
of the department. If a taxpayer entitled to a
refund under this section dies, the department
may issue a draft for payment of such refund
under the terms and conditions set out in ORS
293.490 to 293.500, exercising the same pow-
ers and subject to the same restrictions pur-
suant to which the State Treasurer is author-
ized to pay the amounts of warrants, checks or
orders under those statutes. [1969 c 493 §30, 1971
c 333 §2]

316.195 (1953 ¢.304 §25; repealed by 1969 c.493 §99]
316.197 Payment to department by

employer. (1) Except as provided in subsec-
tion (2) of this section, each employer quarter-
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ly, on or before the last day of April, July,
October and January, shall pay over to the
department the amount required by ORS
316.167 and 316.172 to be deducted and re-
tained from the wages paid to any employe
during the preceding three months. The de-
partment may permit an employer who has
withheld taxes that do not exceed $50 per
month to pay over such withheld amounts and
furnish reports less frequently than quarterly.

(2) If the amount of taxes required to be
deducted and retained from wages by any
employer, pursuant to ORS 316.167 and
316.172, exceeds $500 in any quarter, the
department may require by written notice to
the employer that amounts deducted and
withheld on and after the date indicated on
such notice shall be paid on a monthly basis.
Amounts so due for the first and second
months of any calendar quarter shall be paid
by the employer to the department on or be-
fore the 15th day of the following month and
for the third month on or before the last day
of the month following the end of such quar-
ter.

(3) Every amount so paid over shall be
accounted for as part of the collections under
this chapter. No employe has any right of
action against his employer in respect of any
moneys deducted from his wages and paid
over in compliance or intended compliance
with this section. [1969 ¢ 493 §31, 1975 c 594 §1]

316.200 [1953 ¢.304 §26, 1965 ¢ 26 §5, repealed by
1969 ¢.493 §99]

316.202 Reports by employer; effect
of failure to report. (1) With each payment
made by him to the department, every em-
ployer shall deliver to the department, on a
return in the form prescribed by the depart-
ment showing the total amount of wages,
salaries, bonuses or other emoluments paid to
his employes, the amount deducted therefrom
in accordance with ORS 316.167 and 316.172,
and supply such other information as the
department may require. The employer is
charged with the duty of advising the employe
of the amount of moneys withheld, in accord-
ance with such regulations as the department
may prescribe, using printed forms furnished
or approved by the department for such pur-
pose.

(2) The employer shall make an annual
return to the department on forms provided or
approved by it, summarizing the total compen-
sation paid and the tax withheld for each
employe during the calendar year and shall

file the same with the department before
February 16 of the year following that for
which report is made. Failure to file the annu-
al report without reasonable excuse on or
before the 30th day after notice has been
given to the employer of his failure subjects
the employer to a penalty of $100. [1969 c 493
§32; 1973 ¢.83 §1]

316.205 [1953 c 304 §27; repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 280 enacted 1n lieu of 316 205 and 317 180)]

316.207 Liability for tax; warrant for
collection. (1) Every employer who deducts
and retains any amount under ORS 316.167
and 316.172 shall hold the same in trust for
the State of Oregon and for the payment
thereof to the department in the manner and
at the time provided in ORS 316.167 and
316.172.

(2) At any time the employer fails to remit
any amount withheld, the department may
enforce collection by the issuance of a dis-
traint warrant for the collection of the delin-
quent amount and all penalties, interest and
collection charges accrued thereon. Such war-
rant shall be issued, docketed and proceeded
upon in the same manner and shall have the
same force and effect as is prescribed with
respect to warrants for the collection of delin-
quent income taxes. {1969 c 493 §33]

316.210 (1953 c 304 §28, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 285 enacted 1n heu of 316 210 and 317 185)]

316.212 Application of penalties,
interest and jeopardy assessment; em-
ployer as taxpayer. The provisions of the
income tax laws in ORS chapter 314 and this
chapter, relating to penalties, interest, misde-
meanors and jeopardy assessments, apply to
employers subject to the provisions of ORS
316.162 to 316.212, and for these purposes any
amount deducted or required to be deducted
and remitted to the department under ORS
316.162 to 316.212 is considered the tax of the
employer and with respect to such amount he
is considered as a taxpayer. (1969 c 493 §34]

ACCOUNTING PERIODS AND
METHODS OF ACCOUNTING

316.215 Period for computation of
taxable income. (1) For purposes of the tax
imposed by this chapter, a taxpayer’s taxable
year shall be the same as his taxable year for
federal income tax purposes.

(2) If a taxpayer’s taxable year is changed
for federal income tax purposes, his taxable
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year for purposes of the tax imposed by this
chapter shall be similarly changed. If a
change in taxable year results in a taxable
period of less than 12 months, the personal
deductions and the deduction for personal
exemption allowed by the Internal Revenue
Code, modified as provided in this chapter,
shall be prorated under regulations prescribed
by the department.

(3) Notwithstanding subsections (1) and
(2) of this section, if the department termi-
nates the taxpayer’s taxable year under ORS
314.440 (relating to tax in jeopardy), the tax
shall be computed for the period determined
by such action. [1969 c 493 §35; 1975 c.672 §6, 1978
c9§2]

Note: See note after 316.068

316.217 Accounting method. (1) For
purposes of the tax imposed by this chapter, a
taxpayer’s method of accounting shall be the
same as his method of accounting for federal
income tax purposes. If no method of account-
ing has been regularly used by the taxpayer,
taxable income for purposes of this chapter
shall be computed under such method that in
the opinion of the department fairly reflects
income.

(2) If a taxpayer’s method of accounting is
changed for federal income tax purposes, his
method of accounting for purposes of this
chapter shall similarly be changed and used in
the first return filed after such change is
effective. ORS 314.275 applies to the degree
applicable. [1969 c 493 §36]

316.222 Adjustments to prevent du-
plications or omissions. In computing a
taxpayer’s taxable income for any taxable
year under a method of accounting different
from the method under which the taxpayer’s
taxable income for the previous year was
computed, there shall be taken into account
those adjustments which are determined,
under regulations prescribed by the depart-
ment, to be necessary solely by reason of the
change in order to prevent amounts from
being duplicated or omitted. [1969 ¢.493 §37]

316.227 Effect of accounting change.
(1) If a taxpayer’s method of accounting is
changed, other than from an accrual to an
instalment method, any additional tax that
results from adjustments determined to be
necessary solely by reason of the change shall
not be greater than if such adjustments were
ratably allocated and included for the taxable
year of the change and the preceding taxable

years, not in excess of two, during which the
taxpayer used the method of accounting from
which the change is made, under ORS
314.275.

(2) If a taxpayer’s method of accounting is
changed from an accrual to an instalment
method, any additional tax for the year of
such change of method and for any subse-
quent year that is attributable to the receipt
of instalment payments properly accrued in a
prior year, shall be reduced by the portion of
tax for any prior taxable year attributable to
the accrual of such instalment payments,
under regulations prescribed by the depart-
ment. [1969 c.493 §38]

ESTATES AND TRUSTS
(Generally)

316.255 [1953 c 304 §29; repealed by 1959 c 581 §1
(316.256 enacted 1n lieu of 316.255)]

316.256 [1959 c 581 §2 (enacted 1in Lieu of 316.255),
subsection (4) derived from 1959 c 581 §11, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.257 [1963 c 435 §4; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]
316.258 [1961 ¢.225 §2; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]
316.260 [1953 ¢ 304 §30, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.265 [1953 c 304 §31; 1953 c 552 §7; repealed by
1959 c.581 §3 (316.266 enacted 1n lieu of 316 265)]

316.266 [1959 c 581 §4 (enacted 1in Lieu of 316 265),
last sentence derived from 1959 c 581 §11, last sentence
of subsection (6) enacted as 1961 c.225 §3; 1969 ¢.103 §1,
repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.267 Application of chapter to
estates and certain trusts. The tax imposed
by this chapter on individuals applies to the
taxable income of estates and trusts, except
for trusts taxed as corporations under ORS
chapter 317 or 318. (1969 c 493 §39, 1973 c 115 §3]

316.270 [1953 c 304 §32; repealed by 1969 c.493 §99]

316.272 Computation and payment on
estate or trust. The taxable income of an
estate or trust shall be computed in the same
manner as in the case of an individual except
as otherwise provided by this chapter. The tax
shall be computed on such taxable income and
shall be paid by the fiduciary. [1969 ¢.493 §40]

316.275 [1953 ¢.304 §33; 1959 ¢ 591 §19, subsection
(2) derived from 1959 c¢.591 §21; repealed by 1969 c.493
§99]

316.277 Associations taxable as cor-
porations exempt from chapter. (1) An
association, trust or other unincorporated
organization that is taxable as a corporation
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for federal income tax purposes is not subject
to tax under this chapter, but is taxable as a
corporation under ORS chapter 317 or 318, or
both, as provided therein.

(2) An association, trust or other unincor-
porated organization that is not taxable as a
corporation for federal income tax purposes
but by reason of its purposes or activities is
exempt from federal income tax except with
respect to its unrelated business taxable in-
come, is taxable under this chapter on such
federally taxable income. [1969 c 493 §41, 1973
c 402 §211 '

316.279 Treatment of business trusts
and business trusts income. A domestic or
foreign business trust of the type defined in
ORS 128.560 is subject to tax under ORS
chapter 317 or 318 and amounts distributed
by it to its shareholders shall be treated as
distributions by a corporation for the purposes
of ORS chapters 316, 317 and 318. [1973 c 115
§2]

316.280 [1953 c 304 §34, 1953 c 552 §8, 1955 c 256
§1, paragraph (d) of subsection (6) of 1957 Replacement

Part derived from 1955 ¢.256 §2, repealed by 1959 ¢ 581
§5 (316 281 enacted 1n leu of 316 280)]

316.281 [1959 ¢ 581 §6 (enacted 1n lieu of 316 280),
subsection (8) dertved from 1959 ¢.581 §11; 1965 ¢ 99 §1;
repealed by 1969 ¢.493 §99]

(Resident Estates and Trusts)

316.282 Definitions for ORS 316.282 to
316.298. (1) A “resident trust” means a trust
of which the fiduciary is a resident of Oregon,
or a trust the administration of which is car-
ried on in Oregon.

(2) “Resident estate” means an estate of
which the fiduciary was appointed by an
Oregon court or the administration of which is
carried on in Oregon.

(3) The “taxable income” of a resident
estate or trust means its federal taxable in-
come modified by the addition or subtraction,
as the case may be, of its share of the fiduci-
ary adjustment determined under ORS
316.287. [1969 c 493 §§42, 43]

316.285 [1953 c.304 §35, repealed by 1959 ¢.581 §7
(316 286 enacted 1n heu of 316.285)]

316.286 [1959 c 581 §8 (enacted 1n heu of 316.285);
subsection (6) derived from 1959 ¢ 581 §11, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §991]

316.287 “Fiduciary adjustment”
defined; shares proportioned. (1) The “fidu-
ciary adjustment” is the net amount of the

modifications to federal taxable income de-
scribed in this chapter (ORS 316.077 being
applicable if the estate or trust is a benefi-
ciary of another estate or trust) that relates to
its items of income or deduction of an estate or
trust.

(2) The respective shares of an estate or
trust and its beneficiaries (including solely for
the purpose of this allocation, nonresident
beneficiaries) in the fiduciary adjustment
shall be in proportion to their respective
shares of federal distributable net income of
the estate or trust. If the estate or trust has no
federal distributable net income for the taxa-
ble year, the share of each beneficiary in the
fiduciary adjustment shall be in proportion to
his share of the estate or trust income for such
year, under state law or the terms of the in-
strument, that is required to be distributed
currently and any other amounts of such
income distributed in such year. Any balance
of the fiduciary adjustment shall be allocated
to the estate or trust.

(3) The department may by regulation
authorize the use of such other methods of
determining to whom the items comprising
the fiduciary adjustment shall be attributed,
as may be appropriate and equitable, on such
terms and conditions as the department may
require. [1969 c 493 §44, 1975 c 705 §6]

316.290 [1953 c 304 §36, repealed by 1959 c 581 §9
(316 291 enacted 1n lieu of 316 290)]

316.291 [1959 ¢ 581 §10 (enacted 1n heu of 316 290),
subsection (4) derived from 1959 c 581 §11, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.292 Credit for taxes paid another
state or country. A resident estate or trust
shall be allowed the credit provided in ORS
316.082 (relating to an income tax imposed by
another state or foreign country) except that
the limitation shall be computed by reference
to the taxable income of the estate or trust.
[1969 c.493 §45]

316.295 [1953 c 304 §37; 1965 ¢.202 §1; repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.296 [1965 c.154 §2, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99!
316.297 [1963 c 343 §2; repealed by 1969 c.493 §99]

316.298 Accumulation distribution
credit. (1) A resident beneficiary of a trust
whose adjusted gross income includes all or
part of an accumulation distribution by such
trust, as defined in section 665 of the Internal
Revenue Code, shall be allowed a credit
against the tax otherwise due under this chap-
ter for all or a proportionate part of any tax,
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paid by the trust under this chapter for any
preceding taxable year, that would not have
been payable if the trust had in fact made
distribution to its beneficiaries at the times
and in the amounts specified in section 666 of
the Internal Revenue Code.

(2) The credit under this section shall not
reduce the tax otherwise due from the benefi-
ciary under this chapter to an amount less
than would have been due if the accumulation
distribution or his part thereof were excluded
from his adjusted gross income. [1969 c 493 §46]

316.299 [1965 ¢ 178 §2, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99)

(Nonresident Estates and Trusts)

316.302 Definitions for ORS 316.302 to
316.317. A “nonresident estate or trust”
means an estate or trust that is not a resident.
[1969 c 493 §47]

316.305 [1953 ¢ 304 §38, 1963 ¢ 283 §2; 1963 ¢ 627 §7
(referred and rejected); repealed by 1969 ¢.493 §99]

316.306 [1955 c 608 §2, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.307 Taxable income of nonresi-
dent estate or trust. For purposes of ORS
316.302 to 316.317:

(1) Items of income, gain, loss and deduc-
tion mean those derived from or connected
with sources in this state.

(2) Items of income, gain, loss and deduc-
tion entering into the definition of federal
distributable net income include such items
from another estate or trust of which the first
estate or trust is a beneficiary.

(3) The source of items of income, gain,
loss or deduction shall be determined under
regulations prescribed by the department in
accordance with the general rules in ORS
316.127 as if the estate or trust were a nonres-
ident individual.

(4) The taxable income of a nonresident
estate or trust consists of:

(a) Its share of items of income, gain, loss
and deduction that enter into the federal
definition of distributable net income;

(b) Increased or reduced by the amount of
any items of income, gain, loss or deduction
that are recognized for federal income tax
purposes but excluded from the federal defini-
tion of distributable net income of the estate
or trust;

(c) Less the amount of the deduction for

; ,its federal exemption. [1969 c.493 §48]

3 >

e

[

e

316.310 [1953 ¢.304 §39, 1957 c 18 §1, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.312 Determination of Oregon
share of income. (1) The share of a nonresi-
dent estate or trust of items of income, gain,
loss and deduction entering into the definition
of distributable net income and the share for
purpose of ORS 316.127 of a nonresident
beneficiary of any estate or trust in estate or
trust income, gain, loss and deduction shall be
determined as follows:

(a) To the amount of items of income,
gain, loss and deduction that enter into the
definition of distributable net income there
shall be added or subtracted, as the case may
be, the modifications to federal taxable in-
come described in this chapter to the extent
they relate to items of income, gain, loss and
deduction that also enter into the definition of
distributable net income. No modification
shall be made under this section that has the
effect of duplicating an item already reflected
in the definition of distributable net income.

(b) The amount determined under para-
graph (a) of this subsection shall be allocated
among the estate or trust and its beneficiaries
(including, solely for the purpose of this allo-
cation, resident beneficiaries) in proportion to
their respective shares of federal distributable
net income. The amounts so allocated have the
same character as for federal income tax
purposes. If an item entering into the compu-
tation of such amounts is not characterized for
federal income tax purposes, it has the same
character as if realized directly from the
source from which realized by the estate or
trust, or incurred in the same manner as
incurred by the estate or trust.

(c) If the estate or trust has no federal
distributable net income for the taxable year,
the share of each beneficiary in the net
amount determined under paragraph (a) of
this subsection shall be in proportion to his
share of the estate or trust income for such
year, under state law or the terms of the in-
strument, that is required to be distributed
currently and any other amounts of such
income distributed in such year. Any balance
of such net amount shall be allocated to the
estate or trust.

(2) The department may by regulation
establish such other method or methods of
determining the respective shares of the bene-
ficiaries and of the estate or trust in its in-
come derived from sources in this state, and in
the modifications related thereto, as may be
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appropriate and equitable. [1969 c 493 §49, 1975
c 705 §7]

316.315 [1953 ¢ 304 §10, 1955 c 285 §1; subsection (4)
of 1955 Replacement Part derived from 1955 c¢ 285 §2,
1957 ¢ 540 §1, 1959 ¢ 593 §4 (referred and rejected), 1963
¢ 627 §8 (referred and rejected), 1967 ¢ 127 §1, repealed
by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.317 Credit to beneficiary for ac-
cumulation distribution. A nonresident
beneficiary of a trust whose adjusted gross
income derived from sources in this state
includes all or part of an accumulation distri-
bution by such trust, as defined in section 665
of the Internal Revenue Code, shall be allowed
a credit against the tax otherwise due under
this chapter, computed in the same manner
and subject to the same limitation as provided
by ORS 316.298 with respect to a resident
beneficiary. (1969 c 493 §50]

316.320 [1953 ¢ 304 §41, 1957 ¢ 73 §1, 1965 ¢ 410 §5,
repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.325 [1953 c 304 §42, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.330 [1953 c 304 §43, 1955 ¢ 580 §1, repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

316.335 [1953 ¢ 304 §44, 1957 ss c 15 §3, repealed
by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.336 [1961 ¢.608 §2, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]
316.337 [1957 ¢ 16 §2, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.340 [1953 c 304 §45, 1953 ¢ 552 §9, 1955 ¢.589
§1, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

PARTNERS AND
PARTNERSHIPS

316.342 Partnership not taxable. A
partnership as such is not subject to the tax
imposed by this chapter. Persons carrying on
business as partners are liable for the tax
imposed by this chapter only in their separate
or individual capacities. [1969 ¢ 493 §51)

316.345 [1953 ¢ 304 §46; 1953 ¢.552 §10; 1959 c 593

§5 (referred and rejected), 1963 ¢ 627 §9 (referred and
rejected), 1965 ¢ 337 §1; repealed by 1969 ¢.493 §99]

316.347 Partnership income has same
character as under federal law. (1) Each
item of partnership income, gain, loss or de-
duction has the same character for a partner
under this chapter as it has for federal income
tax purposes. If an item is not characterized
for federal income tax purposes, it has the
same character for a partner as if realized
directly from the source from which realized
by the partnership or incurred in the same
manner as incurred by the partnership.

(2) If a partner’s distributive share of an
item of partnership income, gain, loss or de-
duction is determined for federal income tax
purposes by a special provision in the partner-
ship agreement with respect to such item, and
the principal purpose of such provision is the
avoidance or evasion of tax under this chap-
ter, the partner’s distributive share of such
item and any modification required with
respect thereto shall be determined in accord-
ance with his distributive share of the taxable
income or loss of the partnership generally
(that is, exclusive of those items requiring
separate computation under section 702 of the
Internal Revenue Code). [1969 c 493 §52]

316.350 [1953 ¢ 304 §47, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.352 Income of nonresident part-
ner. (1) In determining the adjusted gross
income of a nonresident partner of any part-
nership, there shall be included only that part
derived from or connected with sources in this
state of the partner’s distributive share of
items of partnership income, gain, loss and
deduction entering into his federal adjusted
gross income, as such part is determined un-
der regulations prescribed by the department
in accordance with the general rules in ORS
316.127.

(2) In determining the sources of a nonres-
ident partner’s income, no effect shall be
given to a provision in the partnership agree-
ment which:

(a) Characterizes payments to the partner
as being for services or for the use of capital,
or allocated to the partner, as income or gain
from sources outside this state, a greater
proportion of his distributive share of partner-
ship income or gain than the ratio of partner-
ship income or gain from sources outside this
state to partnership income or gain from all
sources, except as authorized in subsection (4)
of this section; or

(b) Allocates to the partner a greater pro-
portion of a partnership item of loss or deduc-
tion connected with sources in this state than
his proportionate share, for federal income tax
purposes, of partnership loss or deduction
generally, except as authorized in subsection
(4) of this section.

(3) Any modification to federal taxable
income described in this chapter that relates
to an item of partnership income, gain, loss or
deduction, shall be made in accordance with
the partner’s distributive share, for federal
income tax purposes of the item to which the
modification relates, but limited to the portion
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of such item derived from or connected with
sources in this state.

(4) The department may, on application,
authorize the use of such other methods of
determining a nonresident partner’s portion of
partnership items derived from or connected
with sources in this state, and the modifica-
tions related thereto, as may be appropriate
and equitable, on such terms and conditions as
it may require.

(56) A nonresident partner’s distributive
share of items of income, gain, loss or deduc-
tion shall be determined under ORS 316.347
(1). The character of partnership items for a
nonresident partner shall also be determined
under ORS 316.347 (1). The effect of a special
provision in a partnership agreement, other
than a provision referred to in subsection (2)
of this section, having as a principal purpose
the avoidance or evasion of tax under this
chapter, shall be determined under ORS
316.347 (2). [1969 c 493 §53, 1975 ¢ 705 §8]

316.353[1957 s s ¢ 15 §6; subsection (6) derived from

1957 ss ¢ 15 §8; 1959 ¢ 92 §1, 1963 ¢ 627 §12 (referred
and rejected), 1965 ¢ 410 §6, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.355 [1953 ¢ 304 §48, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]
316.360 {1953 c.304 §49, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

RETURNS; PAYMENTS

316.362 Persons required to make
returns. An income tax return with respect to
the tax imposed by this chapter shall be made
by the following:

(1) Every resident individual (a) who is
required to file a federal income tax return for
the taxable year, or (b) who has federal net
income of more than $600 if single or more
than $1,200 if married, or (¢) who, having
attained the age of 65 before the close of his
taxable year, has federal net income of more
than $1,200 if single, more than $1,800 if
married and his spouse has not attained the
age of 65, or more than $2,400, if both have
attained the age of 65, before the close of the
taxable year.

(2) Every nonresident individual (a) who
has federal gross income from sources in this
state of more than $600 if single and $1,200 if
married, or (b) who, having attained the age
of 65 before the close of his taxable year, has
federal gross income from sources within this
state of more than $1,200 if single, more than
$1,800 if married and his spouse has not yet
attained the age of 65, or more than $2,400 if
both have attained the age of 65, before the

close of the taxable year, or (c) who have any
taxable income.

(3) Every resident estate or trust that is
required to file a federal income tax return.

(4) Every nonresident estate that has
federal gross income of $600 or more for the
taxable year from sources within this state.

(5) Every nonresident trust that for the
taxable year has from sources within this
state (a) any taxable income, or (b) gross in-
come of $600 or more regardless of the
amount of taxable income.

(6) Nothing contained in this section shall
preclude the department from requiring any
individual, estate or trust to file a return
when, in the judgment of the department, a
return should be filed. [1969 c 493 §54]

316.363 Returns; instructions. The
instructions to the individual state income tax
return form required to be filed by this chap-
ter shall:

(1) Be written in simple words used in
their commonly understood senses that convey
meanings clearly and directly;

(2) Be written in primarily simple, rather
than compound or complex, sentences that are
as short as possible;

(3) Limit the use of definitions to defini-
tions of words that cannot be properly ex-
plained or qualified in the text;

(4) Include an index at the beginning of
the instructions to provide a useful guide to
the use of the form. The index shall give a
comprehensive listing of return form parts in
a logical sequence, and the index listings shall
clearly state the contents of each section;

(5) Have the text of the instructions print-
ed in roman type at least as large as 10-point
modern type, two points leaded;

(6) Have margins that are adequate for
purposes of readability, and have a line length
of the text not exceeding four inches for a
column;

(7) Have section headings printed in a
contrasting color, typeface or size; and

(8) Be printed so that the contrast and
legibility of the ink and paper used is substan-
tially the equivalent of black ink on white
paper. [1977 c 736 §2]

316.364 Flesch reading ease score for
instructions. (1) The instructions to an indi-
vidual state income tax return form shall
have a total Flesch Reading Ease Score of 60
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or higher.
(2) As used in this section:

(a) “Flesch Reading Ease Score” means
206.835 - (x + y) where x equals average
sentence length multiplied by 1.015 and y
equals average word length multiplied by
84.6.

(b) “Average sentence length” means the
total number of words in the instructions to
the state income tax return form divided by
the total number of sentences in the instruc-
tions.

(c) “Average word length” means the total
number of syllables in the instructions to the
state income tax return form divided by the
total number of words in the instructions.
[1977 ¢ 736 §3]

316.365 [1953 c 304 §50, 1953 ¢ 552 §11; 1957 c 586
§15, 1959 ¢ 593 §6 (referred and rejected), 1961 c 411 §1,

1963 ¢ 627 §13 (referred and rejected), repealed by 1969
¢ 493 §99)

316.367 dJoint return by husband and
wife. (1) A husband and wife may make a
joint return with respect to the tax imposed by
this chapter even though one of the spouses
has neither gross income nor deductions,
except that:

(a) No joint return shall be made under
this chapter if the spouses are not permitted
to file a joint federal income tax return;

(b) If the federal income tax liability of
either spouse is determined on a separate
federal return, their income tax liabilities
under this chapter shall be determined on
separate returns;

(c) If the federal income tax liabilities of
husband and wife, other than a husband and
wife described in subsection (2) of this section,
are determined on a joint federal return, they
shall file a joint return under this chapter and
their tax liabilities shall be joint and several;
and

(d) If neither spouse is required to file a
federal income tax return and either or both
are required to file an income tax return un-
der this chapter, they may elect to file sepa-
rate or joint returns and pursuant to such
election their liabilities shall be separate or
joint and several.

(2) If either husband or wife is a resident
and the other is a nonresident, they shall file
separate income tax returns in this state on
such forms as may be required by the depart-
ment, in which event their tax liabilities shall
be separate; but they may elect to determine

their joint taxable income as if both were
residents and, in such case, their habilities
shall be joint and several. [1969 c 493 §55]

316.370 [1953 ¢ 304 §51, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.372 Minor to file return; unpaid
tax assessable against parent. A minor
shall file his own return and include therein
all items of income, including income attribut-
able to his personal services, and such income
shall not be included on the return of his
parent. All expenditures by the parent or the
minor attributable to such income are consid-
ered to have been paid or incurred by the
minor. However, any tax assessed against the
minor, to the extent, attributable to income
from personal services, if not paid by the
minor, for all purposes shall be considered as
having also been properly assessed against the
parent. For the purposes of this section the
term “parent” includes an individual who is
entitled to the services of a minor by reason of
having parental rights and duties in respect of
such minor. [1969 c 493 §56]

316.375 [1953 ¢ 304 §52, 1957 c 16 §3, repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

316.377 Individual under disability.
An income tax return for an individual who is
unable to make a return by reason of minority
or other disability shall be made and filed by
his duly authorized agent, his committee,
guardian, conservator, fiduciary or other
person charged with the care of his person or
property other than a receiver in possession of
only a part of the individual’s property. (1969
¢ 493 §57]

316.380 [1953 ¢ 304 §53, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.382 Returns by fiduciaries. (1) An
income tax return, in the name of the dece-
dent, for any deceased individual shall be
made and filed by his personal representative
or other person charged with the care of his
property, and this duty extends to any unfiled
return prior to decedent’s death. The tax shall
be levied upon and collected from his estate. A
final return of a decedent shall be due when it
would have been due if the decedent had not
died.

(2) The income tax return of an estate or
trust shall be made and filed by the fiduciary
thereof, whether the income is taxable to the
estate or trust or to the beneficiaries thereof.
If two or more fiduciaries are acting jointly,
the return may be made by any one of them.
[1969 ¢.493 §58, 1975 ¢ 705 §9]
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316.385 [ 1963 ¢ 435 §2, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.387 Final account of a fiduciary;
tax settlement. (1) No final account of a
fiduciary shall be allowed by any court unless
the account shows, and the judge of the court
finds, that all taxes imposed by this chapter
upon the fiduciary that have been payable
have been paid, and that all taxes that may
become due are secured by bond, deposit or
other security acceptable to the department.
No order closing an estate shall be entered
unless the fiduciary files with the clerk of the
court the department’s certificate of release,
or shows that 60 days have elapsed since the
mailing to the department of a request for
such release and that the department has not
filed any objection to the final account.

(2) For the purpose of facilitating the
settlement and distribution of estates held by
fiduciaries, the department, on behalf of the
state, may agree upon the amount of taxes at
any time due or to become due from such
fiduciaries under this chapter with respect to
a tax return or returns of or for a decedent
individual or an estate or trust, and payment
in accordance with such agreement shall be in
full satisfaction of the taxes to which the
agreement relates. (1969 c 493 §59, 1971 c 333 §3]

316.390 [1963 ¢ 435 §3, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.392 Notice of qualification of
receiver and others. Every receiver, trustee
in bankruptcy, assignee for benefit of credi-
tors or other like fiduciary, shall give notice of
his qualification as such to the department, as
may be required by regulation. (1969 ¢.493 §60]

316.397 Change of status from resi-
dent to nonresident. The taxable income of
an individual who changes his status during
his taxable year from resident to nonresident
or from nonresident to resident shall be deter-
mined as provided 1n this chapter for residents
and for nonresidents as if the individual’s
taxable year for federal income tax purposes
were limited to the period of his resident and
nonresident status respectively. For purposes
of making the computation required by this
section, the personal exemptions, the itemized
deductions or zero bracket amount allowable
on his federal tax return, all modified as pro-
vided in this chapter, and the federal and
foreign country income tax deduction shall be
allowed in each period in the proportion that
the federal adjusted gross income of the tax-
payer from Oregon sources bears to the total
federal adjusted gross income from all

sources. If the numerator of the fraction is
greater than the denominator, the proportion
of 100 percent shall be used in the prorations
required by this section. [1969 c493 861, 1971
c3324§1,1975¢ 672 §7, 1978 ¢ 9 §3, 1981 ¢ 801 §5]

316.402 [1969 ¢ 493 §62, repealed by 1971 ¢ 332 §2]

316.405 (1975 ¢ 410 §2, 1967 c 110 §1, repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

316.406 (1959 ¢ 591 §21, repealed by 1965 c 410 §7]

316.407 Time and place for filing
returns and paying tax. (1) The income tax
return required by this chapter shall be filed
with the department on or before the 15th day
of the fourth month following the close of the
taxpayer’s taxable year. A person required to
make and file a return under this chapter,
without assessment, notice or demand, shall
pay any tax due thereon to the Department of
Revenue on or before the date fixed for filing
such return (determined without regard to
any extension of time for filing the return).

(2) The tax may be paid with uncertified
check during such time and under such regu-
lations as the department shall prescribe, but
if a check so received is not paid by the bank
on which it is drawn the taxpayer by whom
such check is tendered remains liable for the
payment of the tax and for all legal penalties
the same as if the check had not been ten-
dered. (1969 c 493 §63, 1971 c 354 §6, 1975 ¢ 593 §18,
1979 ¢.470 §1, 1980 s s ¢ 7 §23]

316.408 [1959 ¢ 591 §2, 1963 c 388 §3, 1963 ¢ 627 §14
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.410 [1959 c 591 §3, repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.411 [1963 c 388 §§2, 4, repealed by 1965 ¢ 410
§7]

316.412 [1959 c 591 §4, repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected); repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §71

316.414 {1959 ¢ 591 §5, repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.415 [1965 c 410 §3, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §991

316.417 Date return considered made
or advance payment made. (1) A return
filed before the last day prescribed by law ‘for
the filing thereof is considered as filed on the
last day. An advance payment of any portion
of the tax made at the time the return was
filed is considered as made on the last day
prescribed by law for the payment of the tax
or, if the taxpayer elected to pay the tax in
instalments, on the last day prescribed for the
payment of the first instalment. The last day
prescribed by law for filing the return or
paying the tax shall be determined without
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regard to any extension of time granted the
taxpayer by the department.

(2) ORS 305.820 applies to returns filed by
mail and to due dates that fall on a Saturday,
Sunday or legal holiday. [1969 c 493 §64]

316.420 [1959 c 591 §6, repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.422 [1969 c 493 §65; repealed by 1971 c 354 §7]
316.425 [1965 ¢ 410 §4, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.426 [1959 c 591 §7; repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.430 (1959 c 591 §8, repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.432 [1959 c 591 §9, repealed b); 1963 ¢ 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.434 [1959 ¢ 591 §10; repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.436 [1959 ¢ 591 §11, repealed by 1963 c 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.438 [1959 ¢ 591 §12, repealed by 1963 ¢ 627 §23
(referred and rejected), repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]

316.440 [1959 c 591 §13, repealed by 1965 c 410 §71
316.442 [1959 ¢ 591 §14, repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]
316.444 [1959 ¢ 591 §15, repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]
316.446 {1959 c 591 §16, repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §71]
316.448 {1959 ¢ 591 §17, repealed by 1965 c 410 §7]
316.450 [1959 c 591 §18, repealed by 1965 ¢ 410 §7]
316.454 [1965 ¢ 248 §3, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.455 [1953 c 304 §54, 1953 ¢ 552 §12, 1955 c 596
§2, 1957 ¢ 586 §2, 1957 ss c 15 §4; 1963 c 486 §1, 1963
¢ 627 §15 (referred and rejected), 1965 ¢ 248 §1, repealed
by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.457 Department may require
copy of federal return. If directed to do so by
the department, through regulations or in-
structions upon the state income tax return
form, every taxpayer required by this chapter
to file an income tax return with the depart-
ment shall also file with such return a true
copy of the federal tax return filed by the
taxpayer pursuant to the requirements of the
Internal Revenue Code for the same taxable
year. The department may, in its discretion,
promulgate regulations or instructions that
permit taxpayers to submit specified excerpts
from federal returns in lieu of submitting
copies of the entire federal return. The federal
return or any part thereof required to be filed
with the state income tax return is incorporat-
ed in and shall be a part of the state income
tax return. [1969 c 493 §66; 1977 c 872 §6]

316.462 Change of election. Any elec-
tion expressly authorized by this chapter may
be changed on such terms and conditions as
the department may prescribe by regulation.
[1969 ¢ 493 §67]

316.467 Partnership information
return. Every partnership having a resident
partner or having any income derived from
sources in this state, determined in accordance
with the applicable rules as in the case of a
nonresident individual, shall make a return
for the taxable year setting forth all items of
income, gain, loss and deduction, and the
names and addresses of the individuals
(whether residents or nonresidents) who
would be entitled to share in the net income, if
distributed, and the amount of the distribu-
tive share of each individual, and such other
pertinent information as the department may
prescribe by regulations and instructions.
Such return shall be filed on or before the
15th day of the fourth month following the
close of each taxable year. For purposes of this
section, “taxable year” means a year or period
which would be a taxable year of the partner-
ship if it were subject to tax under this chap-
ter. [1969 c 493 §68]

316.472 Tax treatment of common
trust fund; information return required.
(1) The tax treatment of common trust funds
and participants therein, under this chapter,
is governed by the provisions of the Internal
Revenue Code.

(2) Every bank or trust company main-
taining a common trust fund shall make a
return to the department for each tax year,
stating specifically, with respect to such fund,
the items of gross income and deductions, and
shall include in the return information suffi-
cient to identify the trusts and estates entitled
to share in the net income of the common
trust fund and the amount of the proportion-
ate share of each such participant. The return
shall be made at such time as is designated by
the department. [1969 c 493 §69]

316.475 [Formerly 316 080, amended by 1961 c 218
§1, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.480 [1967 c 592 §7; 1969 c 340 §2, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99, see 316 097]

316.485 Arts Development Fund con-
tribution from refund. (1) Resident individu-
al taxpayers who file an Oregon income tax
return and who will receive a tax refund from
the Department of Revenue may designate
that a contribution be made to the Arts Devel-
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opment Fund by marking the appropriate box
printed on the return pursuant to subsection
(2) of this section.

(2) The Department of Revenue shall print
on the face of the Oregon income tax form for
residents a space for taxpayers to designate
that a contribution be made to the Arts Devel-
opment Fund from their income tax refund.
The space for designating the contribution
shall provide for checkoff boxes in the amount
of $1, $5, $10 or other dollar amount. [1981
c411 §1]

Note: 316 485 was enacted 1nto law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 316 or any series therein by legislative
action See the preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation

DISTRIBUTION OF REVENUE

316.502 Distribution of revenue to
General Fund; working balance. (1) The
net revenue from the tax imposed by this
chapter, after deducting refunds, shall be paid
over to the State Treasurer and held by him in
the General Fund as miscellaneous receipts
available generally to meet any expense or
obligation of the State of Oregon lawfully
incurred.

(2) A working balance of unreceipted
revenue from the tax imposed by this chapter
may be retained for the payment of refunds,
but such working balance shall not at the
close of any fiscal year exceed the sum of $1
million.

(3) Moneys are continuously appropriated
to the Department of Revenue to make the
refunds authorized under subsection (2) of this
section. [1969 c 493 §70, 1977 ¢ 761 §2]

316.505 [1953 ¢.304 §55; 1953 ¢ 552 §13; 1955 c 596
§3, subsection (3) derived from 1955 ¢ 596 §4, 1957 ¢ 586
§3, 1963 c 627 §16 (referred and rejected), repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.510 [1953 ¢ 304 §56; 1957 c.586 §4, repealed by
1969 ¢.493 §99]

316.512 [1965 ¢.592 §2; repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]
316.513 [1965 ¢ 592 §3, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]
316.515 [1953 ¢.304 §57, repealed by 1969 c.493 §99]

316.520 [1953 ¢ 304 §58; repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 355 enacted 1n lieu of 316 520)]

316.525 [1953 ¢ 304 §59, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]
316.530 [1953 ¢ 304 §60, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.535 [1953 c 304 §61; repealed by 1957 ¢.632 §1
(314.360 enacted 1n lieu of 316 535)]

316.540 [1953 c 304 $62, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 $99]

316.545 [1953 ¢ 304 §63, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 385 enacted 1n lieu of 316 545 and 317 355)]

316.550 [1953 ¢ 304 §64, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 41
(314 365 enacted 1n hieu of 316.550 and 317 365))

316.555 [1953 ¢ 304 §65, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 370 enacted 1n heu of 316 555)]

PAYMENT OF ESTIMATED
TAXES

316.557 “Estimated tax” defined. As
used in ORS 314.395, 314.400, 316.407 and
316.557 to 316.589, “estimated tax” means the
amount of income tax imposed under this
chapter for the taxable year, as estimated by
the individual, minus the sum of any credits
as estimated by the individual against tax
provided by this chapter. (1980 ss ¢ 7 §4]

316.559 Application of ORS 316.557 to
316.589 to estates and trusts. ORS 316.557
to 316.589 do not apply to an estate or trust.
[1980 ss ¢ 7 §9]

316.560 [1953 ¢ 304 $66, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 295 enacted 1n lieu of 316 560 and 317 375)]

316.563 When declaration of estimat-
ed tax required; exception; effect of short
tax year; content; amendment. (1) Except as
provided in subsection (2) of this section,
every individual shall declare an estimated
tax for the taxable year if:

(a) The gross income for the taxable year
can be reasonably expected to include more
than $1,000 from sources other than wages as
defined in ORS 316.162 (2); or

(b) The gross income for the taxable year
can be reasonably expected to exceed: -

(A) $20,000 in the case of:

(i) A single individual, including a head of
household as defined in section 2 (b) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, or a surviving
spouse as defined in section 2 (a) of the Inter-
nal Revenue Code of 1954; or

(i1) A married individual entitled under
ORS 316.567 to file a joint declaration with a
spouse, but only if the spouse has not received
wages, as defined in ORS 316.162 (2) for the
taxable year; or

(B) $10,000 in the case of a married indi-
vidual entitled under ORS 316.567 to file a
joint declaration with a spouse, but only if
each spouse has received wages as defined in
ORS 316.162 (2) for the taxable year; or
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(C) $5,000 in the case of a married indi-
vidual not entitled under ORS 316.567 to file
a joint declaration with a spouse.

(2) No declaration is required if the esti-
mated tax as defined in ORS 316.557 is less
than $100.

(3) An individual with a taxable year of
less than 12 months shall make a declaration
in accordance with rules adopted by the de-
partment.

(4) An individual may amend the declara-
tion filed during the taxable year under rules
prescribed by the department.

(5) The declaration shall contain informa-
tion required by the department by rule. [1980
ss ¢7 8§82, 2a, 5, 8, 1981 ¢ 678 §1a]

Note: Sections 10a and 15a, chapter 7, Oregon Laws
1980, provide’

Sec. 10a. Except as provided 1n section 12 of this
1980 Act, declarations of estimated tax required by
section 2 of this 1980 Act for tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 1981, and prior to January 1, 1982, from
individuals who are neither farmers nor fishermen for
the purpose of that section shall be filed on or before
April 15 of the taxable year, except that 1f the require-
ments of section 2 of this 1980 Act are first met

(1) After April 1 and before June 2 of the taxable
year, the declaration shall be filed on or before June 15 of
the taxable year; or

(2) After June 1, no declaration shall be filed

Sec. 15a. (1) For taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1981, and prior to January 1, 1982, an individ-
ual shall pay estimated tax, with respect to which a
declaration 1s required under section 2 of this 1980 Act,
as provided 1n subsections (2) to (4) of this section.

(2) If the declaration 1s filed on or before April 15 of
the taxable year, one-half of the estimated tax shall be
paid 1n two equal instalments The first instalment shall
be paid at the time of the filing of the declaration, and
the second on or before June 15

(3) If the declaration 1s filed after April 15 and not
after June 15 of the taxable year, and 1s not required by
section 10a of this 1980 Act to be filed on or before April
15 of the taxable year, one-half of the estimated tax shall
be paid on or before June 15

(4) If no declaration 1s required by section 10a of this
Act, then no estimated tax need be paid

(5) If the declaration 1s filed after the time pre-
scribed 1n section 10a of this 1980 Act, subsections (2) and
(3) of this section shall not apply. Instead, there shall be
paid at the time of filing all instalments of estimated tax
which would have been payable on or before such time 1f
the declaration had been filed within the time prescribed
1n section 10a of this 1980 Act, and the remaining nstal-
ments shall be paid at the time at which, and in the
amounts 1n which, they would have been payable 1f the
declaration had been so filed.
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316.565 [1953 c 304 §67; repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 380 enacted 1n lieu of 316 565 and 317 380)]

316.567 Joint declaration of husband
and wife; liability; effect on nonjoint re-
turns. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2)
of this section, a husband and wife may make
a single declaration jointly under ORS
314.395, 314.400, 316.407 and 316.557 to
316.589. The liability of the husband and wife
making such a declaration shall be joint and
several.

(2) A husband and wife may not make a
joint declaration:

(a) If either the husband or the wife is a
nonresident alien;

(b) If they are separated under a decree of
divorce or of separate maintenance; or

(c) If they have different taxable years.

(3) If a husband and wife make a joint
declaration but not a joint return for the taxa-
ble year, the husband and wife may:

(a) Treat the estimated tax for the year as
the estimated tax of either the husband or of
the wife; or

(b) Divide the estimated tax between
them. [1980 s.s ¢ 7 §3]

316.569 When declaration required of
nonresident. No declaration shall be required
of a nonresident individual under ORS
314.395, 314.400, 316.407 and 316.557 to
316.589 unless:

(1) Withholding under this chapter is
made applicable to the wages, as defined in
ORS 316.162, of the nonresident individual; or

(2) The nonresident individual has in-
come, other than compensation for personal
services subject to deduction and withholding
under ORS 316.162, which is effectively con-
nected with the conduct of a trade or business
within this state. [1980 s.s ¢ 7 §10]

316.570 [1953 c 304 §68; 1957 ¢.586 §16; 1959 c 632

§1; 1961 ¢ 504 §2; 1969 c.166 §6, repealed by 1969 c 493
§99]

316.573 When individual not required
to file declaration. (1) An individual need
not file a declaration of estimated tax re-
quired by ORS 316.563 (1) of this 1980 Act, if:

(a) The estimated gross income of the
individual from farming or fishing, including
oyster farming, for the taxable year is at least
two-thirds of the total estimated gross income
from all sources for the taxable year; or
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(b) The gross income of the individual
from farming or fishing, including oyster
farming, shown on the return of the individu-
al in the preceding taxable year is at least
two-thirds of the total gross income from all
sources shown on such return.

(2) For purposes of computing gross in-
come under this section, an individual who is
a stockholder of one or more electing small
business corporations for federal income tax
purposes shall consider his or her share of the
gross income of the electing small business
corporation as his or her individual income.
The electing small business corporation gross
income shall be classed as farming, fishing,
nonfarming or nonfishing as the case may be
in carrying out the provisions of this section.
[1980ss ¢ 7§12]

316.575 [1953 c 304 §69, 1955 ¢ 595 §1, repealed by
1957 ¢ 586 §19]

316.577 Date of filing declaration.
Except as provided in ORS 316.573, declara-
tions of estimated tax required by ORS
316.563 (1) from individuals who are neither
farmers nor fishermen for the purpose of that
section shall be filed for tax years beginning
on or after January 1, 1982, on or before April
15 of the taxable year, except that if the re-
quirements of ORS 316.563 (1) are first met:

(1) After April 1 and before June 2 of the
taxable year, the declaration shall be filed on
or after June 15 of the taxable year;

(2) After June 1 and before September 2 of
the taxable year, the declaration shall be filed
on or before September 15 of the taxable year;
or

(3) After September 1 of the taxable year,
the declaration shall be filed on or before
January 15 of the succeeding year. (1980 ss ¢ 7
§11, 1981 c 678 §2]

316.579 Amount of estimated tax to
be paid with declaration; instalment
schedule; prepayment of instalment. (1)
For taxable years beginning on or after Janu-
ary 1, 1982, an individual shall pay the esti-
mated tax, with respect to which a declaration
is required under ORS 316.563 (1), as provided
in subsections (2) to (6) of this section.

(2) If the declaration is filed on or before
April 15 of the taxable year, the estimated tax
shall be paid in four equal instalments. The
first instalment shall be paid at the time of
the filing of the declaration, the second and
third on June 15 and September 15 of the

taxable year, and the fourth on January 15 of
the succeeding year.

(3) If the declaration is filed after April 15
and not after June 15 of the taxable year, and
is not required by ORS 316.577 to be filed on
or before April 15 of the taxable year, the
estimated tax shall be paid in three equal
instalments. The first instalment shall be paid
at the time of the filing of the declaration, the
second on September 15 of the calendar year,
and the third on January 15 of the succeeding
taxable year.

(4) If the declaration is filed after June 15
and not after September 15 of the taxable
year, and is not required by ORS 316.577 to be
filed on or before June 15 of the taxable year,
the estimated tax shall be paid in two equal
instalments. The first instalment shall be paid
at the time of filing of the declaration, and the
second on January 15 of the succeeding taxa-
ble year.

(5) If the declaration is filed after Septem-
ber 15 of the taxable year and is not required
by ORS 316.577 to be filed on or before Sep-
tember 15 of the taxable year, the estimated
tax shall be paid in full at the time of filing of
the declaration.

(6) If the declaration is filed after the time
prescribed in ORS 316.577, subsections (3) to
(5) of this section shall not apply. Instead,
there shall be paid at the time of filing all
instalments of estimated tax which would
have been payable on or before such time if
the declaration had been filed within the time
prescribed in ORS 316.577, and the remaining
instalments shall be paid at the times at
which, and in the amounts in which, they
would have been payable if the declaration
had been so filed.

(7) If a taxpayer does not file a declaration
but files a return on or before January 31 of
the succeeding year and pays in full the
amount stated as due on the return:

(a) If the declaration is not required to be
filed during the taxable year, but is required
to be filed on or before January 15, the return
shall be considered as the declaration; and

(b) If the tax shown on the return, as
reduced by the sum of the credits against the
tax provided by this chapter, is greater than
the estimated tax shown in an earlier declara-
tion, or in the last amendment thereof, the
return shall be considered as the amendment
of the declaration permitted by ORS 316.563
(4) to be filed on or before January 15.
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(8) In the application of this section to a
taxable year beginning on any date other than
January 1, there shall be substituted for the
15th or last day of the month specified in this
section, the 15th or last day of the correspond-
ing month.

(9) An individual may pay an instalment
of the estimated tax before the date prescribed
for its payment. [1980 ss c7 §§16, 20, 1981 c 678
§3]

316.580 [1953 ¢ 304 §70, 1955 ¢ 595 §2, 1957 ¢ 586
§17, renumbered 316 751]

316.583 Effect of payment of estimat-
ed tax or instalment; credit for overpay-
ment of prior year taxes. (1) Payment of the
estimated income tax or any instalment shall
be considered payment on account of the in-
come taxes imposed by this chapter for the
taxable year.

(2) The department may adopt rules which
enable the taxpayer or department to credit
against the estimated income tax the amount
the taxpayer or the department determines to
be an overpayment of the income tax for a
preceding taxable year. [1980 ss c 7 §§19, 21]

316.585 [1953 ¢ 304 §71, 1955 ¢ 595 §3, 1957 c 586
§18, renumbered 316 770]

316.587 Effect of underpayment of
estimated tax; computation of underpay-
ment. (1) Except as provided in subsection (4)
of this section, if an individual makes an
underpayment of estimated tax, interest shall
accrue at the rate of one and one-half percent
per month, or fraction thereof, on the amount
underpaid for the period the estimated tax or
any instalment remains unpaid. The penalty
provisions contained in ORS chapter 314 for
underpayment of tax shall not apply to under-
payments of estimated tax under ORS
314.395, 314.400, 316.407 and 316.557 to
316.589.

(2) For purposes of subsection (1) of this
section, the amount of underpayment shall be:

(a) When an individual files a return, the
excess of the amount of the instalment which
would be due if the estimated tax were equal
to 80 percent of the tax shown on the return
for the taxable year over any amount of the
instalment paid on or before the last date
prescribed for the payment; or

(b) When no return is filed, the excess of
the amount of the instalment which would be
due if the estimated tax were equal to 80
percent of the tax for the taxable year over

any amount of the instalment paid on or be-
fore the last date prescribed for the payment

(3) The period of underpayment shall run
from the date the instalment was due to the
earlier of the following dates:

(a) The 15th day of the fourth month
following the close of the taxable year; or

(b) With respect to any portion of the
underpayment, the date on which the portion
is paid.

(4) Interest accruing under subsection (1)
of this section shall not be imposed if the total
of all payments of estimated tax made on or
before the last date prescribed for the pay-
ment of such instalment equals or exceeds the
amount which would have been required to be
paid on or before such date if the estimated
tax were the lesser of:

(a) The tax shown on the return of the
individual for the preceding taxable year, 1f
the return showing a liability for tax was filed
by the individual for the preceding taxable
year and the preceding taxable year was a
taxable year of 12 months;

(b) An amount equal to 80 percent of the
tax for the taxable year computed by placing
on an annualized basis the taxable income for
the months in the taxable year ending before
the month in which the instalment 1s required
to be paid;

(¢) An amount equal to 90 percent of the
tax computed at the rates applicable to the
taxable year on the basis of the actual taxable
income for the months in the taxable year
ending before the month in which the instal-
ment is required to be paid as if such months
constituted the taxable year; or

(d) An amount equal to the tax computed
at the rates applicable to the taxable year on
the basis of the taxpayer’s status with respect
to personal exemptions under section 151 of
the 1954 Internal Revenue Code, as modified
by this chapter, for the taxable year, but oth-
erwise on the basis of the facts shown on the
return for, and the law applicable to, the
preceding taxable year.

(5) For purposes of this section, the esti-
mated tax shall be computed without any
reduction for the amount of credit estimated
to be allowed to the individual for the taxable
year under ORS 316.187. The amount of the
credit allowed under ORS 316.187 for the
taxable year shall be considered a payment of
estimated tax. An equal part of the credit
shall be considered paid on each instalment
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date for the taxable year, unless the taxpayer
establishes the date on which all amounts
were actually withheld, in which case the
amount so withheld shall be considered pay-
ment of estimated tax on the dates on which
the amounts were actually withheld.

(6) For purposes of subsections (2) and (4)
of this section, the term “tax” means the tax
imposed by this chapter minus any credits
against tax allowed by this chapter, other
than the credit against tax provided by ORS
316.187. [1980 55 c 7 §22]

316.589 Application to short tax years
and tax years beginning on other than
January 1. (1) The application of ORS
314.395, 314.400, 316.407 and 316.557 to
316.589 to taxable years of less than 12
months shall be in accordance with rules
adopted by the Department of Revenue.

(2) In the application of ORS 314.395,
314.400, 316.407 and 316.557 to 316.589 to a
taxable year beginning on any date other than
January 1 there shall be substituted, for the
months specified in ORS 314.395, 314.400,
316.407 and 316.557 to 316.589, the months
which correspond thereto. [1980 ss c 7 §§14, 15]

316.590 [1953 ¢ 304 §72, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.605 [1953 ¢ 304 §73, 1955 c 590 §1; repealed by
1957 ¢ 632 §1 (314 405 enacted in lieu of 316 605 and
317 405)]

316.610 [1953 ¢ 304 §74, 1953 ¢ 552 §14, 1957 ¢ 17
§1; repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1 (314 410 enacted in lieu of
316 610 and 317 410))

316.615 [1953 ¢ 304 §75, 1953 c.552 §15, 1955 ¢ 583
§1, 1957 ¢ 23 §1, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1 (314415
enacted in heu of 316 615 and 317 415)]

316.620 [1953 c 304 §76, 1955 ¢ 355 §1, repealed by
1957 ¢ 632 81 (314 420 enacted 1n leu of 316 620, 317 370
and 317 420)]

316.625 [1953 ¢ 304 §77, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 425 enacted 1n heu of 316 625 and 317 425)]

316.630 [1953 c 304 §78, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 430 enacted 1n lieu of 316 630 and 317 430)]

316.635 [1953 ¢ 304 §79; repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 435 enacted 1n lieu of 316 635 and 317 435)]

316.640 [1953 c 304 §80; repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 440 enacted 1n lieu of 316 640, 317 440 and 317 445)]

316.645 [1953 ¢ 304 §81, 1961 ¢ 504 §3; repealed by
1969 c 166 §8 and 1969 ¢.493 §99]

316.650 [1953 ¢ 304 §82, 1953 ¢ 552 §16, repealed by
1957 ¢ 632 §1 (314 445 enacted 1n lieu of 316 650 and
317 455)]

316.655 [1953 ¢ 304 §83, 1953 ¢ 552 §17, repealed by
1957 ¢ 632 §1 (subsections (1) and (2) of 314 450 enacted
1n lieu of 316 655 and 317 460)]

316.660 [1953 ¢ 304 §84; repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 455 enacted 1n lieu of 316 660 and 317 465)}

316.665 [1953 ¢ 304 §85, 1953 ¢ 552 §18, 1955 ¢ 588
§1, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1 (314 460 enacted 1n lieu of
316 665 and 317 470)]

316.670 [1953 c 304 §86, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 465 enacted 1n heu of 316 670 and 317 475)]

316.675 [1953 ¢ 304 §87, 1953 ¢ 552 §19, repealed by
1957 ¢ 632 §1 (314 470 enacted 1n leu of 316 675 and
317 480)]

316.705 [1953 c 304 §88; repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 805 enacted 1n lieu of 316 705 and 317 505)]

316.706 [1957 c 586 §6, 1959 ¢ 76 §1, 1961 c 506 §2,
1961 ¢ 623 §1, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.710 [1953 c 304 §89, repealed by 1957 c¢ 632 §1
(subsections (2), (3) and (4) of 306 040 enacted in lheu of
316 710)]

316.711 [1957 ¢ 586 §7, 1959 c 593 §7 (referred and
rejected), 1961 c 623 §2, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.714 [1957 ¢ 586 §7, 1959 ¢ 593 §8 (referred and
rejected), 1963 ¢.627 §17 (referred and rejected), repealed
by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.715 [1953 c 304 §90, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 810 enacted 1n lieu of 316 715)]

316.720 [1953 c 304 §91, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 815 enacted 1n lieu of 316 720 and 317 505)]

316.721 [1957 ¢ 586 §12, repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.725 [1953 c 304 §92, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 820 enacted 1n lieu of 316 725 and 317 520)]

316.730 [1953 c 304 §93, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 825 enacted 1n heu of 316 730 and 317 525)]

316.731 [1957 ¢.586 §13, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.735 [1953 ¢.304 §94, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 830 enacted 1n hieu of 316 735 and 317 530)]

316.740 [1953 ¢ 304 §95, 1957 c¢.75 §1, repealed by
1957 ¢.632 §1 (314.835 enacted 1n lieu of 316 740 and
317 535)]

316.741 [1957 c 586 §8, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.745 [1953 ¢ 304 §96, repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 840 enacted 1n lieu of 316 745 and 317 540)]

316.750 [1953 ¢ 304 §97, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 845 enacted 1n lieu of 316 750 and 317 545)]

316.751 [Formerly 316 580; repealed by 1969 ¢ 493
§99]

316.755 [1953 ¢.304 §98; repealed by 1957 c 632 §1
(314 850 enacted 1n lieu of 316 755)]

316.760 [1953 c 304 §99, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 855 enacted 1n lieu of 316 760 and 317 550)]

316.761 [1957 ¢ 586 §9, 1963 c 627 §18 (referred and
rejected), 1963 s s ¢ 3 §1; repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.770 [Formerly 316 585, 1963 ¢ 83 §1, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.775 (1957 ¢.586 §10, 1959 c 234 §3, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]
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316.780 [1957 ¢ 586 §11, repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.790 [1953 ¢ 304 §116, 1957 c 528 §3, repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

MISCELLANEOUS

316.802 Effect of chapter 493, Oregon
Laws 1969. This chapter 1s intended to super-
sede any conflicting provisions of law in effect
on August 22, 1969, to the extent of such
conflict. [1969 c 493 §71]

316.805 [1953 ¢ 304 §100, repealed by 1969 c 493
§99]

316.810 [1953 c 304 §101, repealed by 1969 c 493
$99]

316.815 [1953 c 304 §102, 1955 ¢ 582 §1; repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.820 [1953 ¢ 304 §103, 1963 c 627 §19 (referred
and rejected), repealed by 1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.825 [1953 ¢ 304 §104, repealed by 1969 c 493
§99]

316.827 [1957 s s c 15 §7, last sentence derived from
1957 ss ¢ 15 §8, 1963 ¢ 627 §20 (referred and rejected),
repealed by 1969 c 493 §99]

316.830 [1953 c 304 §105, repealed by 1969 c 493
§991

316.835 [1953 ¢ 304 §106, repealed by 1969 c 493
§99]

316.840 [1953 ¢ 304 §107, 1961 c 506 §3, repealed by
1969 c 493 §99]

316.855 [1953 ¢ 304 §108, 1963 c 305 §1, repealed by
1969 ¢ 493 §99]

316.860 (1953 ¢ 304 §109, repealed by 1969 c 493
§99]

316.865 [1953
§99]

316.870 [1953
§99]

316.875 [1953
§99]

316.880 [1953
§99]

316.885 [1953 c 304
§99]

316.990 [1953 c 304 §115, repealed by 1957 ¢ 632 §1
(314 991 enacted 1n lieu of 316 990 and 317 990)]

c 304 §110, repealed by 1969 c 493

¢ 304 §111, repealed by 1969 c 493

¢ 304 §112, repealed by 1969 c 493

c 304 §113, repealed by 1969 c 493

§114, repealed by 1969 c 493
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