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725.010 Definitions. As used in this
chapter, unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Licensee” means every person li-
censed under this chapter.

(2) “Licensing official” means the Superin-
tendent of Banks.

725.020 Short title. This chapter shall
be known as the Oregon Consumer Finance
Act. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §1]

725.025 Declaration of legislative
intent. It is the intent of the legislature in
enacting chapter 71, Oregon Laws 1955, to
consolidate the Small Loan Act, ORS chapter
725 [1953 edition], and the Motor Vehicle
Finance Act, ORS chapter 727 [1953 edition],
to provide uniformity in the business of mak-
ing loans or advancements in the amount or
value of $1,500 or less to eliminate the
present duplication of licenses, records, re-
ports and supervision. [1955 ¢.71 §14]

725.026 Existing contracts not affect-
ed. Nothing contained in chapter 71, Oregon
Laws 1955, shall be construed to impair or
affect the obligation of any contract lawfully
made prior to August 3, 1955, including any
lawful contract made by a licensee under ORS
chapter 725 [1953 edition] or ORS chapter 727
[1953 edition]. [1955 c.71 §16]

725.027 Licenses of persons licensed
under ORS chapter 725 or 727 on August
3, 1955, continued in force. (1) Any person
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter 725
on August 3, 1955, is deemed to be licensed
under and subject to ORS chapter 725 during
the period from August 3, 1955, to and includ-
ing December 31, 1955. Any person not li-
censed under and subject to ORS chapter 725,
but who holds a license under ORS chapter
727 on August 3, 1955, and who held such
license on January 1, 1955, is deemed to be
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter 725
during the period from August 3, 1955, to and
including December 31, 1955. Only one license
shall be issued for each licensed office, irres-
pective of whether such office is licensed
under both ORS chapter 725 and ORS chapter
727 and irrespective of whether the two li-
censes are held by different persons. The
licensing official shall charge no further fees
for the continuance of a license as provided in
this subsection. The licensing official shall
investigate the facts and satisfy himself that
this section entitles a person to a continuance
of a license.

(2) Any license in effect on December 31,
1955, under subsection (1) of this section,
shall be continued in force as long as the
standards are maintained under ORS chapter
725, by payment of the required annual li-
cense fee, and such license shall be evidenced
by a new certificate which shall be a continu-
ing license. [1955 c.71 §15]

725.030 License required before mak-
ing certain loans. (1) A person shall not
engage or continue in the business of making
or offering to make any loan in amounts of
$50,000 or less, secured or unsecured, for
which there is charged, contracted for or di-
rectly or indirectly received any sum or value
at a rate in excess of 10 percent per annum,
except as authorized by this chapter and with-
out first procuring a license in accordance
with this chapter.

(2) This section does not apply to a loan
for which a rate in excess of 10 percent per
annum is expressly permitted by any law of
this state or a loan that does not exceed the 10
percent general interest rate under ORS
82.010. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §2; 1971 c.450 §1; 1973
c.428 §1; 1975 ¢.567 §1]

725.040 Construction of chapter.
Nothing in this chapter shall be construed or
held to limit the rights, powers or privileges
granted to any person by any law of this state
or of the United States whereby the loaning of
money or extending of credit is regulated,
provided that such person is operating in
compliance with the provisions of such law.

725.050 Prohibited transactions. No
licensee shall take:

(1) On loans of less than $2,000, any lien
upon real estate as security for any loan for
which a greater rate of interest or considera-
tion than 10 percent per annum is charged,
contracted for or received, except such lien as
is created by law upon the recording of a judg-
ment.

(2) Any power of attorney from any bor-
rower, except a power of attorney to effectuate
the transfer of the ownership of any motor
vehicle at the time of making a loan on a
motor vehicle.

(3) Any note or promise to pay which does
not accurately disclose the actual amount of
the loan, the time for which it is made, the
rate of interest charged or the schedule of
payments agreed upon, or any instrument in
which blanks are left to be filled in after

execution. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §3; 1971 c.450 §2;
1979 .88 §41]
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725.060 False advertising prohibited.
No licensee or other person shall advertise,
print, display, publish, distribute or broadcast
or cause or permit to be advertised, printed,
displayed, published, distributed or broadcast
in any manner whatsoever any statement or
representation with regard to the rates, terms
or conditions for loans which is false, mislead-
ing or deceptive.

725.110 Residence qualifications of
licensees. No license shall be granted to any
person, partnership, association or corporation
unless that person and all members of any
such partnership or association are bona fide
residents of this state and unless such corpo-
ration is an Oregon corporation in good stand-
ing or a foreign corporation legally qualified
to do business in this state.

725.120 Application for license; no-
tice of filing; annual fee. (1) Application for
the license shall be in writing in the form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
contain the name and both the residence and
business addresses of the applicant, and if the
applicant is a partnership or association, of
every member thereof, and if a corporation, of
each officer and director thereof. The applica-
tion shall also contain the county and city or
town with street and number, if any, where
the business is to be conducted and any other
information which the licensing official may
require.

(2) Notice of the filing of the application
shall be posted in the office of the licensing
official for 30 days and no license shall be
issued before the expiration of such 30-day
period. However, the licensing official in his
discretion may waive the posting of notice and
issue a license without regard to such 30-day
period if the application is for a license at a
location where a license has been surrendered
because of:

(a) The transfer of the business of the
licensee, and the applicant is the transferee;
or

() The death of the licensee, and the
applicant is a representative or heir of the
licensee; or

(¢) The change of the name under which
the licensee does business, and the applicant
is the same licensee.

(3) An applicant at the time of making
application shall pay to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund an annual license

fee set under ORS 725.180 for the period
terminating on the last day of the current
calendar year. However, if the application is
filed after June 30 in any year the amount
paid shall be one-half of the annual license
fee. In case the license is not issued for cause
or if the application is withdrawn after the
applicant has been investigated by the licens-
ing official, there shall be refunded to the
applicant all the license fee except $50 which
shall be retained by the licensing official;
otherwise no part of any license fee shall be
refunded. [Amended by 1955 c.71 §4; 1977 ¢.135 §49]

725.125 [1971 c.450 §5; repealed by 1973 c.428 §11]
725.130 [Repealed by 1955 c.71 §17]

725.140 Issuance of license; condi-
tions. (1) Conditioned upon the applicant’s
compliance with this chapter and the payment
of the license fee, the licensing official within
90 days after the date of filing the application
referred to in ORS 725.120, shall disapprove
the application or shall issue and deliver a
license to the applicant to make loans in ac-
cordance with this chapter at the location
specified in the application, which license
shall be a continuing license and need not be
issued annually, to remain in full force and
effect until it is surrendered by the licensee or
revoked or suspended as provided in ORS
725.230 and 725.250; provided the licensing
official finds upon investigation:

(a) That the financial responsibility, expe-
rience, character and general fitness of the
applicant, and of the members thereof if the
applicant is a partnership or association, and
of the officers and directors thereof if the
applicant is a corporation, are such as to com-
mand the confidence of the community and to
warrant the belief that the business will be
operated honestly, fairly and efficiently with-
in the purposes of this chapter; and

(b) That allowing the applicant to engage
in business will promote the convenience and
advantage of the community in which the
business of the applicant is to be conducted,
and in the absence of any other reason or
condition which in his judgment would war-
rant the refusal to grant a license.

(2) The findings mentioned in subsection
(1) of this section are conditions precedent to
issuance of a license under this chapter.
{Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §5; 1963 ¢.167 §1; 1977 ¢.135 §501

725.145 Disapproval of application
for license. (1) The licensing official may
disapprove an application for a license if any
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person named in the application submitted
pursuant to ORS 725.120:

(a) Is insolvent, either in the sense that
his liabilities exceed his assets or that he
cannot meet his obligations as they mature, or
is in such financial condition that he cannot
continue in business with safety to his cus-
tomers;

(b) Has engaged in dishonest, fraudulent
or illegal practices or conduct in any business
or profession;

(c) Has wilfully or repeatedly violated or
failed to comply with any provision of the
Oregon Bank Act, the Savings Association
Act, the Oregon Credit Union Act, the Oregon
Consumer Finance Act or the Pawnbrokers
Act, or any administrative rule or order adopt-
ed pursuant to any such Act;

(d) Has been convicted of a felony or of a
misdemeanor, an essential element of either
of which is fraud;

(e) Is permanently or temporarily enjoined
by a court of competent jurisdiction from
engaging in or continuing any conduct or
practice involving any aspect of the consumer
finance business;

(f) Is the subject of an order of the licens-
ing official or of any other regulatory authori-
ty of this state subjecting him to a fine or
other civil penalty, or removing him from an
office in a financial institution, credit union,
consumer finance company or savings associa-
tion; or

(g) Is the subject of an order entered with-
in the past five years, subjecting him to a fine
or other civil penalty, or removing him from
an office in a financial institution, issued by
the regulatory authority of another state or of
the Federal Government with authority over
financial institutions.

(2) The licensing official may issue an
order removing any officer or director of a
licensee from his office for any of the reasons
stated by subsection (1) of this section. [1977
¢.135 §48]

725.150 Appeal of disapproval of
application. If the application is denied, the
licensing official shall indorse thereon with
the date the word “Disapproved” and shall
immediately advise the applicant by regis-
tered mail of the reason therefor. The appli-
cant shall have the right of appeal from the
decision to the circuit court for the county of
the city or town mentioned in the application.
The appeal must be taken within 30 days

after date of mailing of the notice of disap-
proval.

725.160 Form of license; posting;
transferability. The license shall be in a form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
state the address at which the business is to
be conducted and the full name of the licen-
see. The license shall be kept conspicuously
posted in the place of business of the licensee
and shall not be transferable or assignable.
[Amended by 1955 c.71 §6]

725.170 [Repealed by 1955 c.71 §17)

725.180 Annual fee. Every licensee, on
or before December 15 of each year, shall pay
to the licensing official the annual license fee
of $250 for the next succeeding calendar year.
[Amended by 1955 c.71 §7; 1977 ¢.135 §53]

725.190 Annual report of licensee;
report of licensing official; penalty for
failure to report by licensee. (1) On or be-
fore February 15 of each year every licensee
shall file a report with the licensing official
giving such relevant information as the li-
censing official reasonably may require con-
cerning the business and operations during
the preceding calendar year of each licensed
place of business conducted by the licensee
within the state. The report shall be made
under oath and shall be in the form prescribed
by the licensing official, who shall make and
publish annually a recapitulation of such
reports.

(2) Every licensee who fails to file any
report required under this chapter within the
time specified may be subject to a penalty of
$10 per day for each day’s delay. [Amended by
1955 ¢.71 §8; 1973 c.428 §2]

725.200 [Repealed by 1971 ¢.743 §432]

725.210 Additional licenses to same
applicant. No licensee shall transact any
business within the scope of this chapter ex-
cept under the name and at the place of busi-
ness named in his license. The licensing offi-
cial may issue more than one license to the
same licensee upon his compliance with all
the provisions of this chapter governing an
original issuance of a license for each such
additional license. However, each additional
license shall be for a separate and distinct
place of business for making and completing
loans as provided in this chapter.
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725.220 Change of place of business.
(1) Whenever a licensee wishes to change his
place of business to another location within
the same city or town, he shall submit written
notice thereof, together with his license, to the
licensing official. If the licensing official,
upon investigation, finds that allowing the
licensee to engage in business at the proposed
new location will promote the convenience and
advantage of the community in which the
proposed new location of the business is situ-
ated, he shall amend the license of the licen-
see to reflect the new location, and shall re-
turn the amended license to the licensee. If
the licensing official disapproves the proposed
new location of the business, he shall indorse
on the notice of the licensee the word “Disap-
proved,” immediately advise the licensee by
registered mail of such disapproval and return
the license unchanged to the licensee. The
licensee may appeal from such disapproval in
the manner provided in ORS 725.150.

(2) No change in the place of business of a
licensee to a location outside the city or town
named in the original license shall be permit-
ted under the same license. [Amended by 1955
c.71 §9]

725.230 Revocation and suspension
of licenses. (1) The licensing official may
revoke any license under this chapter upon 10
days’ notice to the licensee stating the con-
templated action and in general the grounds
therefor and upon reasonable opportunity for
a hearing in connection therewith, if he finds
that:

(a) The licensee has failed to pay the an-
nual license fee or to comply with any de-
mand, ruling or requirement of the licensing
official lawfully made pursuant to and within
the authority of this chapter or to comply with
the provisions of law to keep the corporation
in good standing if such licensee is a corpora-
tion;

(b) The licensee has violated any provi-
sions of this chapter or any rule or regulation
lawfully made by the licensing official under
and within the authority of this chapter; or

(¢) Any fact or condition exists which, if it
had existed at the time of the original applica-
tion for such license, clearly would have war-
ranted the licensing official in refusing origi-
nally to issue such license.

(2) The licensing official may, without
notice or hearing, suspend any license for a
period not exceeding 30 days, pending investi-
gation.

(3) The licensing official may revoke or
suspend only the particular license with re-
spect to which grounds for revocation or sus-
pension may occur or exist, or, if he finds that
such grounds for revocation or suspension are
of general application to all offices or to more
than one office operated by a licensee, he may
revoke or suspend all the licenses or such
number of licenses issued to the licensee as
the grounds for revocation or suspension apply
to, as the case may be. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §10]

725.235 License denial procedure;
promulgation, review of rules and orders.
(1) Where the superintendent proposes to
refuse to issue a license, or proposes to revoke
or suspend a license, opportunity for hearing
shall be accorded as provided in ORS 183.310
to 183.500.

(2) Promulgation of rules, conduct of hear-
ings, issuance of orders and judicial review of
rules and orders shall be as provided in ORS
183.310 to 183.500. [1971 c.734 §176]

725.240 [Repealed by 1971 ¢.734 §21]

725.250 Surrender of license. Any
licensee may surrender any license issued to
him by delivering written notice to the licens-
ing official that he thereby surrenders such
license, but such surrender shall not affect the
licensee’s civil or criminal liability for acts
committed prior to the surrender.

725.260 Expiration of license; effect
of expiration, revocation or surrender.
The revocation, suspension or surrender of
any license shall not impair or affect the
rights or obligations of any preexisting lawful
contract between the licensee and any borrow-
er. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §11]

725.270 Reinstatement of revoked
license; fee. The licensing official may rein-
state any revoked license upon the licensee’s
compliance with the provisions of law or any
demand, ruling or requirement lawfully made
by the licensing official pursuant to and with-
in the authority of this chapter. For such
reinstatement of license the licensee shall pay
a fee of $25.

725.310 Investigation and examina-
tion of licensees. (1) For the purpose of dis-
covering violations of this chapter or securing
information lawfully required by him under
this chapter the licensing official may at any
time, either personally or by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy, investigate the loans and
business and examine the books, accounts,

894



CONSUMER FINANCE

725.340

records and files used therein, of every licen-
see and of every person who he has reason to
believe is making loans at a rate of interest in
excess of 10 percent per annum, whether such
person acts or claims to act as principal or
agent or under or without the authority of this
chapter. For such purpose the licensing offi-
cial or his duly appointed examiner or deputy
shall have free access to the place of business,
books, accounts, safes and vaults of all such
persons. The licensing official or his duly
appointed examiner or deputy shall have
authority to examine under oath all persons
whose testimony he may require relative to
such loans or business.

(2) The licensing official may cause an
examination to be made by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy of the loans and business,
books, accounts, records and files of each
licensee under this chapter without previous
notice to the licensee and at such intervals as
the licensing official may deem advisable or
expedient and not less often than once a year.
The actual cost of each examination, or the
sum of $20, whichever is larger, shall be paid
to the licensing official for the State Banking
Fund by every licensee so examined. The
licensing official may maintain an action for
the recovery of such costs in any court of
competent jurisdiction. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71
§12; 1973 c.428 §3]

725.315 Removal or suspension of
officer of licensee. If the licensing official
finds that any officer or director of a licensee
is dishonest, reckless or incompetent, or refus-
es to comply with the law, rules of the licens-
ing official or any written requirements or
instructions of the licensing official, the li-
censing official may issue a written order to
the individual removing or suspending him
from his office or position. [1977 ¢.135 §52]

725.320 Rules and regulations. (1) The
licensing official may make such general rules
and regulations and such specific rulings,
demands and findings as may be necessary for
the proper conduct of the business regulated
by this chapter and the enforcement of this
chapter in addition to and not inconsistent
with this chapter.

(2) All general rules and regulations shall
be filed by the licensing official with the
Banking Division in an indexed, permanent
book, with the effective date thereof suitably
indicated, and such book shall be a public
record. A copy of every general rule and regu-
lation shall be mailed by the licensing official

to all licensees at their respective licensed
places of business at least 10 days before the
effective date thereof.

725.330 Books and records of licen-
see. Subject to the provisions of this chapter,
the licensing official may prescribe the form
of the books and records to be kept by the
licensee. All such books and records shall be
preserved and available for at least two years
after making the final entry on any loan
recorded therein.

725.340 Limitations on interest and
other charges. (1) No licensee shall charge,
contract for or receive any interest or consid-
eration for loans, secured or unsecured, made
to any one person:

(a) For loans having an original unpaid
balance of $5,000 or less, at a greater rate
than three percent per month on that part of
the unpaid principal balance not in excess of
$500, one and three-quarters percent per
month on that part of the unpaid principal
balance in excess of $500 but not in excess of
$2,000, one and one-quarter percent per
month on that part of the unpaid principal
balance in excess of $2,000 but not in excess of
$5,000.

(b) For loans having an original unpaid
balance in excess of $5,000, at a greater rate
than nineteen and one-half percent per year
on the entire unpaid principal balance.

A licensee may compute interest or considera-
tion for a loan on an interest-bearing or actu-
arial basis either at the rates stated in this
subsection or at the single annual percentage
rate that will earn the same finance charge as
the rates stated in this subsection when the
debt is paid according to the agreed terms and
the calculations are made according to the
actuarial method, or may precompute interest
or consideration for loans originally scheduled
to be repaid in 62 months or less as provided
in subsection (5) of this section.

(2) This section does not limit the manner
of contracting for interest or consideration for
loans whether by means of add-on, discount or
otherwise if the rate of interest or considera-
tion for loans does not exceed the rate author-
ized in this section. However, the effect of
prepayment, default or deferral is governed by
subsection (5) of this section. In addition to
the interest or consideration for loans author-
ized in this section no further or other charge
or amount whatsoever shall be directly or
indirectly charged, contracted for or received
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for any examination, appraisal, investigation,
service, brokerage, commission, expense, fee
or bonus or other thing or otherwise, except:

(a) Fees actually and necessarily paid out
by the licensee to any public officer or trustee
under ORS 86.705 to 86.795 for filing or
recording or releasing in any public office any
instrument securing the loan, which fees may
be collected when the loan is made or at any
time thereafter. However, if such fees are not
so paid out within 60 days after being charged
or received, the licensee shall lose all right
thereto and shall return them to the borrower
or apply them toward the payment of the
borrower’s debt to the licensee.

(b) Insurance premiums actually paid out
by the licensee to any insurance company or
agent duly licensed and authorized to do busi-
ness in this state for insurance for the protec-
tion and benefit of the borrower written in
connection with any loan and the reasonable
fee or premiums for real estate title examina-
tions or title insurance.

(¢) Taxable costs and disbursements to
which the licensee may become entitled as
provided by law in connection with any action,
suit or proceeding to collect a loan or to realize
on a security after default.

(d) For loans in excess of $5,000 that are
secured by an interest in real estate, reason-
able fees for appraisals and surveys, if the
costs are incurred and paid to a person not a
salaried employe of the licensee.

(8) On any loan made under this chapter
by any licensee for which a greater rate of
interest or consideration than is permitted by
this section has been charged, contracted for
or received, except as the result of accidental
or bona fide error, the licensee shall forfeit
the right to collect or receive any interest on
such loan.

(4) No licensee shall induce or permit any
person, nor any husband and wife jointly or
severally, to become obligated, directly or
contingently or both, under more than one
contract of loan made under this chapter at
the same time, for the purpose of obtaining a
higher rate of interest or other charge than
would otherwise be permitted by this section.

(5) When a precomputed loan contract is
originally scheduled to be repaid in 62 months
or less and requires repayment in substantial-
ly equal or consecutive monthly instalments
of principal and interest combined, the inter-
est or consideration may be precomputed,
contracted for and earned on scheduled unpaid

principal balances at the monthly rates or
annual percentage rate provided in subsection
(1) of this section on the assumption that all
scheduled payments will be made when due.
In such cases, every payment may be applied
to the combined total of principal and precom-
puted interest until the contract is fully paid,
and the acceptance or payment of interest or
consideration on any loan made under the
provisions of this subsection shall not be
deemed to constitute payment, deduction or
receipt thereof in advance. Such precomputed
interest or consideration shall be subject to
the following adjustments:

(a) When a default of more than 10 days
in the payment of any scheduled instalment
occurs, the licensee may charge and collect a
default charge not exceeding five percent of
the unpaid amount of the instalment or $5,
whichever is less. A default charge may be
collected only once on an instalment, but may
be collected at the time it accrues or at any
time thereafter. No default charge may be
assessed with respect to an instalment which
is paid in full on or within 10 days after a
scheduled instalment due date when an earli-
er maturing instalment or a default or defer-
ral charge on an earlier maturing instalment
may not have been paid in full even though
all or part of such instalment payment is
applied to an earlier maturing instalment, or
a default or deferral charge.

(b) If the payment of all unpaid instal-
ments is deferred one or more full months,
and if the contract so provides, the licensee
may charge and collect a deferral charge not
exceeding the annual percentage rate previ-
ously disclosed to the borrower pursuant to
the Federal Consumer Credit Protection
(Truth-in-Lending) Act applied to the sum of
the instalments deferred for the length of the
deferral period. The deferral period is that
period in which no scheduled instalment is
required to be paid by reason of the deferral.
Such charge may be collected at the time of
deferral or at any time thereafter. A deferral
charge may not be made for the deferral of
any instalment with respect to which a de-
fault charge has been collected, unless the
default charge is deducted from the deferral
charge. If prepayment of the loan in full oc-
curs during the deferral period, in addition to
any other rebate which may be required, the
borrower shall receive a rebate of the portion
of the deferral applicable to the unexpired
months in the deferral period, for which pur-
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pose a fraction of an unexpired month exceed-
ing 15 days shall be deemed to be a month.

(c) Upon prepayment in full of the unpaid
balance of a precomputed loan, a rebate of
unearned interest or consideration shall be
made, computed by the “rule of seventy-
eighths” or “sum of the digits” method as
defined by rule issued under ORS 725.320, for
that portion of the precomputed interest or
consideration applicable to the instalment
periods scheduled to follow the instalment due
date nearest the date of prepayment in full.
The instalment periods scheduled to follow
such instalment due date shall be as deter-
mined by the original contract, or, if applica-
ble, as deferred. For purposes of rebate compu-
tations, the instalment due date preceding the
date of prepayment in full shall be deemed to
be the nearest if prepayment in full occurs 15
days or less after that instalment due date. If
prepayment in full occurs more than 15 days
after the preceding instalment due date, then
the next succeeding instalment due date shall
be deemed to be nearest for this purpose.

(6) If the borrower agrees to perform cer-
tain duties to insure or preserve the collateral
and fails to perform those duties, the licensee
may pay for the performance of those duties
and add the amounts he paid to the unpaid
principal balance. A charge may be made for
sums advanced, at a rate not exceeding that
permitted under this section, computed on the
entire remaining unpaid principal balance for
the period of the loan actually outstanding.

(7) The loan contract may provide that
after default and referral the borrower shall
pay the licensee for reasonable attorney fees
actually paid by the licensee to an attorney
not a salaried employe of the licensee.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §13; 1971 ¢.450 §3; 1973 c.428 §4;
1975 ¢.567 §2; 1977 ¢.432 §1; 1979 ¢.326 §3; 1979 ¢.879 §7]

725.342 Indexing limit on interest and
other charges. (1) As used in this section:

(a) “Index” means the Consumer Price
Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical
Workers: U.S. City Average, All Items, 1967
= 100, compiled by the Bureau of Labor Sta-
tistics, United States Department of Labor.

(b) “Reference Base Index” means the
Index for December, 1979.

(2) The dollar amounts in paragraph (a) of
subsection (1) of ORS 725.340 shall change, as
provided in this section, according to and to
the extent of changes in the Index, provided
that no amount shall be more than $5,000.

Those dollar amounts shall change on July 1
of each even-numbered year when the per-
centage of change, calculated to the nearest
whole percentage point, between the Index at
the end of the preceding year and the Refer-
ence Base Index is 10 percent or more, except
that:

(a) The portion of the percentage change
in the Index in excess of a multiple of 10 per-
cent shall be disregarded and the dollar
amounts shall change only in multiples of 10
percent of the amounts appearing in subsec-
tion (1) of ORS 725.340 on October 3, 1979;

(b) The dollar amounts shall not change if
the amounts calculated under this section are
the same as those currently in effect as a
result of earlier application of this section;
and

(c) In no event shall the dollar amounts be
reduced below the amounts appearing in sub-
section (1) of ORS 725.340 on October 3, 1979.

(3) If the Index is revised after December,
1979, the percentage of change under this
section shall be calculated on the basis of the
revised Index. If the revision of the Index
changes the Reference Base Index, a revised
Reference Base Index shall be determined by
multiplying the Reference Base Index then
applicable by the ratio of the revised Index to
the current Index, as each was for the first
month in which the revised Index is available.
If the Index is superseded, the Index referred
to in this section is the one represented by the
Bureau of Labor Statistics as reflecting most
accurately changes in the purchasing power of
the dollar for consumers.

(4) The licensing official shall adopt a rule
announcing:

(a) On or before April 30 of each year in
which dollar amounts are to change, the
changes in dollar amounts required by subsec-
tion (2) of this section; and

(b) Promptly after the changes occur,
changes in the Index required by subsection
(3) of this section including, when applicable,
the numerical equivalent of the Reference
Base Index under a revised Reference Base
Index and the designation or title of any index
superseding the Index.

(5) A person does not violate ORS 725.340
if with respect to a transaction otherwise
complying with this chapter he relies on dollar
amounts either determined according to sub-
section (2) of this section or appearing in the
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last rule of the licensing official announcing
the then current dollar amounts. [1979 c.326 §21

725.345 Open-end loan plan; interest
rate; additional charges; security for plan;
necessary disclosures. (1) As used in this
section, “open-end loan plan” means a plan or
arrangement, the agreement for which ex-
pressly states that it is made pursuant to this
section under which loans are made, and
under which:

(a) The licensee may permit the borrower
to obtain advances of money from the licensee
from time to time or the licensee may advance
money on behalf of the borrower from time to
time as directed by the borrower;

(b) The unpaid principal balances and
interest or consideration are debited to an
account;

(c) Interest or consideration is calculated
on the unpaid principal balance in the borrow-
er’'s account from time to time, which balance
may include all advances made on behalf of
the borrower and all charges authorized under
subsections (2) and (6) of ORS 725.340; and

(d) The borrower has the privilege of pay-
ing the unpaid balance in full or in instal-
ments.

(2) A licensee may make loans under an
open-end loan plan and may contract for and
receive interest or consideration not exceeding
the rates set forth in subsection (1) of ORS
725.340. The applicable maximum rates of
interest or consideration for a loan account
established under an open-end loan plan shall
be determined by the amount of the unpaid
principal balance following an advance of
money directed by the borrower under the
plan, and thereafter interest or consideration
for the account shall be calculated at the same
rates until such time as a further advance of
money is made on the account or the account
is paid in full, whichever occurs first.

(3) The interest or consideration for a loan
account established under an open-end loan
plan shall be calculated by either of the fol-
lowing methods:

(a) When the billing cycle is monthly, by
multiplying the appropriate monthly periodic
rate stated in subsection (1) of ORS 725.340
by the appropriate average daily principal
balance of the account in the monthly billing
cycle for which the charge is made. The aver-
age daily principal balance is the sum of the
unpaid principal balance for each day during

a billing cycle divided by the number of days
in that billing cycle.

(b) When the billing cycle is monthly or
other than monthly, by multiplying the appro-
priate daily periodic rates by the appropriate
unpaid principal balances occurring during
each day of the billing cycle and totalling the
results. A daily periodic rate is determined by
multiplying the appropriate rate stated in
subsection (1) of ORS 725.340 by 12 and divid-
ing the result by 365 or, in a leap year, by 366.

(4) In addition to the interest or considera-
tion permitted under subsection (2) of this
section, a licensee may contract for and re-
ceive on an open-end loan plan the additional
charges set forth in subsections (2) and (6) of
ORS 725.340, subject to the following varia-
tions:

(a) An additional single premium charge
in connection with an open-end loan plan for
insurance covering tangible personal property
or real property offered as security for a term
not exceeding three years, and title insurance
on any real property security, if provided at
the time of any advance, in an amount not
exceeding the unpaid balance, including any
advance then made; and

(b) An additional charge may be made in
connection with an open-end loan plan for
insurance on the life of one or more borrowers
or for credit disability insurance to provide
indemnity for payments becoming due on the
indebtedness. The charge or premium therefor
may be calculated in each billing cycle by
applying the current premium rate to the
unpaid balance in the account in a manner
consistent with the method selected by the
licensee for determining the applicable inter-
est or consideration under subsection (3) of
this section.

(5) A security interest in personal proper-
ty may be taken to secure an open-end loan
plan. A security interest in real property may
be taken to secure an open-end loan plan if
the unpaid balance of the loan account estab-
lished under the open-end loan plan, including
any advance then made, is $2,000 or more.
The licensee shall promptly release any real
estate security interest at the borrower’s re-
quest if the unpaid balance at the time of any
advance would be less than $2,000, including
the advance. Any security interest in real or
personal property shall be promptly released
if there has been no outstanding balance for
12 months and the borrower either does not
have or surrenders the unilateral right to
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create a new outstanding balance or if the
account is terminated at the borrower’s re-
quest and paid in full.

(6) Subsections (1) and (3) of ORS 725.050,
subsection (5) of ORS 725.340 and subsections
(1), (2) and (4) of ORS 725.360 do not apply to
any open-end loan plan.

(7) The open-end loan plan agreement
shall contain the name and address of the
borrower and of the licensee and shall disclose
the date of the agreement, the method of
determining the minimum periodic payments
which will be required to pay the initial and
any subsequent advances, the conditions un-
der which interest or consideration may be
imposed, the method of determining the prin-
cipal balance upon which interest or consider-
ation may be imposed, the method of deter-
mining the amount of the interest or consider-
ation, each periodic rate and the range of
balances to which each rate is applicable and
the corresponding annual percentage rate in
accordance with Regulation Z promulgated by
the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
System under section 105 of the Consumer
Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1604), and
the nature of the security taken.

(8) Except for an account which the licen-
see deems to be uncollectible or with respect to
which delinquency collection procedures have
been instituted, the licensee shall deliver or
cause to be delivered to the borrower, for each
billing cycle at the end of which there is an
unpaid balance of more than $1 in the account
or with respect to which interest or considera-
tion is imposed, a statement setting forth the
outstanding balance in the account at the
beginning of the billing cycle, the nature, date
and amount of any subsequent advance dur-
ing the cycle, the amounts and dates of pay-
ments credited to the account during the bill-
ing cycle, the amount of any interest or con-
sideration debited to the account during the
billing cycle, each periodic rate and the range
of balances to which each rate is applicable
and the corresponding annual percentage rate
in accordance with Regulation Z promulgated
by the Board of Governors of the Federal
Reserve System under section 105 of the Con-
sumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1604),
the balance on which the interest or consider-
ation was calculated, a statement of how that
balance was determined, the closing date of
the billing cycle, the outstanding balance on
that closing date and the minimum monthly
payment required. [1977 ¢.522 §2]

725.350 [Repealed by 1971 ¢.232 §4]

725.355 Prohibition against assign-
ment of earnings for loan security. (1) As
used in this section, “earnings” means salary,
wages or other compensation for service.

(2) No licensee shall take an assignment
of earnings as payment of or as security for
payment of a loan. An assignment in violation
of this subsection is unenforceable by the
assignee and revocable by the assignor. Noth-
ing in this subsection is intended to prevent
an employe from authorizing deductions from
his earnings if the authorization is revocable.

(3) For the purpose of this section, a sale
of unpaid earnings made in consideration of
the payment of money to or for the account of
the seller of the earnings is considered a loan
to him, secured by an assignment of earnings.
[1971 ¢.232 §3]

725.360 Licensee duty toward bor-
rowers. Every licensee shall:

(1) Deliver to the borrower at the time any
loan is made a statement in the English lan-
guage showing in clear and distinct terms:

(a) The name and address of the borrower
and of the licensee.

(b) The amount and the date of the loan
and of its maturity or terms of payment.

() The rate of interest agreed upon or
consideration to be charged therefor.

(d) The nature of the security for the loan,
if a lien on personal property has been taken
by chattel mortgage, bill of sale, collateral
agreement or otherwise.

(2) Make available to the borrower upon
request a plain and complete receipt for all
payments made on account of any such loan at
the time such payments are received by the
licensee, specifying the amount applied to
interest, if any, the date to which the interest
is paid, the amount applied to principal, if
any, and the unpaid principal balance of such
loan, if any remains.

(3) Permit payment to be made in advance
in any amount on any loan at any time.

(4) Upon repayment of the loan in full or
upon renewal thereof, mark indelibly such
obligation signed by the borrower with the
word “Paid” or “Renewed”; and in the case of
repayment in full shall release any mortgage,
security agreement or UCC filing which no
longer secures a loan, restore any security or
collateral, return any assignment given by the
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borrower and return to him the canceled note
evidencing the loan. [Amended by 1971 c.450 §4;
1973 ¢.428 §5; 1975 ¢.567 §3]

725.370 Lawful loans in other juris-
dictions not affected by this chapter.
Loans made or payable in other jurisdictions
and lawful where made or payable, are not
affected by this chapter. [Amended by 1979 c 88
§42]

725.380 [Repealed by 1975 c.544 §62]

725.385 Duty to give notice of sus-
pected defalcation to law enforcement
officers; investigations; costs. (1) If a direc-
tor or officer of a licensee has reason to be-
lieve that a defalcation has occurred at any
office of the licensee, such official shall give
the information to the appropriate local, state
or federal law enforcement officer having
jurisdiction of the violation.

“(2) If the matter is referred to the Attor-
ney General or a district attorney, such officer
promptly shall investigate the violation and
institute such action against the person as the
information and investigation requires or
justifies. The cost of the investigation and
action shall be paid by the county or state in
the manner in which other criminal actions
are paid. [1979 c.88 §38]

725.390 Notice to licensing official of
suspected defalcation; audit. A licensee
shall notify the licensing official of any defal-
cation that occurs at any office of the licensee
within five days after the discovery of the
defalcation. When directed by the licensing
official to do so, the licensee shall, in accord-
ance with the licensing official’s instructions,
cause an audit to be made of the business of
the licensed office where the defalcation oc-
curred. [1979 c.88 §39]

725.395 Licensing official to give

notice of suspected defalcation to law -

enforcement officer; exceptions. If the

licensing official has reason to believe that a
defalcation has occurred at an office of a licen-
see, he may give the information relative to
the violation to the appropriate federal, state
or local law enforcement agency having juris-
diction of the violation. This section does not
apply, however, if the licensee has reported
the information to the appropriate law en-
forcement officer under ORS 725.385. [1979 c.88
§40]

725.910 Civil penalties. (1) Any person
who violates:

(a) ORS 725.030 shall forfeit a civil penal-
ty in an amount determined by the licensing
official of not more than $5,000.

() ORS 725.050, 725.060, 725.210,
725.220, 725.340 or 725.355 shall forfeit a
civil penalty in an amount determined by the
licensing official of not more than $1,000. In
addition, the licensing official may revoke the
license of any licensee who commits such
violation.

(¢) Any rule adopted under ORS 725.320
shall forfeit a civil penalty in an amount
determined by the licensing official of not
more than $2,500.

(2) All money forfeited under subsection
(1) of this section shall be paid to the State
Treasurer to be deposited in the State Bank-
ing Fund.

(3) The civil penalty may be recovered in
an action brought thereon in the name of the
State of Oregon in any court of appropriate
jurisdiction.

(4) In any court action with respect to a
civil penalty, the court may review the penal-
ty as to both liability and reasonableness of
amount. [1975 c.544 §59]

725.990 [Amended by 1971 c¢.743 §424; repealed by
1975 ¢.544 §62]
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