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473.010 Definitions. For the purposes of
this chapter, unless the context clearly indi- 
cates a different meaning: 

1) " Alcoholic beverages" means and in- 
cludes any fortified wine or similar fermented
vinous liquor and fruit juice, or other ferment- 
ed beverage fit for beverage purposes, contain- 
ing more than one -half of one percent of alco- 
hol by volume and not more than 21 percent of
alcohol by volume. 

2) " Commission" means the Oregon Li- 
quor Control Commission. 

3) " Malt beverages" means and includes
beer, ale, porter, stout and similar beverages
obtained by the alcoholic fermentation of an
infusion or decoction of barley malt and hops
in drinking water and containing more than
one -half of one percent of alcohol by volume
and not more than 14 percent of alcohol by
volume. 

4) " Manufacturer" means every person
who produces, brews, ferments, manufactures
or blends an alcoholic beverage or a malt
beverage, or both, within this state, or who
imports or causes to be imported into this
state an alcoholic beverage or a malt beverage
for use, sale or distribution within the state. 
Amended by 1953 c. 120 §6; 1974 s.s. c.4 §81

473.020 Administration of chapter by
commission. The commission shall adminis- 
ter this chapter, and shall prescribe forms and
make such rules and regulations as it deems
necessary to enforce its provisions. 

473.030 Tax on malt and alcoholic
beverages. ( 1) A tax hereby is imposed upon
the privilege of engaging in business as a
manufacturer or as an importing distributor
of malt beverages at the rate of $ 2.60 per

barrel of 31 gallons on all such beverages. 

2) A tax hereby is imposed upon the privi- 
lege of engaging in business as a manufactur- 
er or as an importing distributor of alcoholic
beverages at the rate of 65 cents per gallon on
all such beverages. 

3) In addition to the tax imposed by sub- 
section ( 2) of this section, alcoholic beverages
containing more than 14 percent of alcohol by
volume and not more than 21 percent of alco- 
hol by volume shall be taxed at 10 cents per
gallon. 

4) The rates of tax imposed by this sec- 
tion upon malt beverages apply proportionate- 
ly to quantities in containers of less capacity
than those quantities specified in this section. 

5) The taxes imposed by this section shall
be measured by the volume of beverages pro- 
duced, purchased or received by any manufac- 
turer. If the beverage remains unsold and in
the possession of the producer at the plant
where it was produced, no tax imposed or
levied by this section is required to be paid
until such beverage has become sufficiently
aged for marketing at retail, but this subsec- 
tion shall not be construed so as to alter or

affect any provision of this chapter relating to
tax liens or the filing of statements. 

6) A tax credit or credits up to the
amount of $ 200,000 in any year shall be al- 
lowed against the taxes imposed by subsection

1) of this section where a taxpayer has in the
applicable tax year purchased or contracted to

purchase items of plant, machinery or equip- 
ment for the use by the taxpayer within the
State of Oregon in the manufacture of malt
beverages. [ Amended by 1974 s.s. c.4 § 9; 1975 c.424
3; 1977 c.856 § 191

473.040 Additional tax on beverages
manufactured out of state. (1) If the laws of

another state, territory or nation, or the rules
and regulations of any administrative body
therein: 

a) Authorize or impose any tax, fee or
charge upon the right to transport or import

into such state any beer, malt liquor or wine
manufactured in this state; 

b) Authorize or impose any different
warehousing requirements or higher ware- 
housing fees or inspection fees upon any beer, 
malt liquor or wine manufactured in this state
and imported into or sold in such state, than
are imposed upon beer, malt liquor and wine
manufactured in such state; or

c) Impose any higher fee for the privilege
of selling or handling beer, malt liquor or
wine manufactured in this state than is im- 

posed for the privilege of handling or selling
the same kind of beverages manufactured

within such state or any other state, 

the commission shall levy and collect similar
taxes, fees and charges from licensees or per- 
sons selling in Oregon, beer, malt liquor and
wine manufactured in such other state, terri- 

tory or nation. 

2) The taxes, fees and charges authorized
in this section are in addition to the taxes, 
fees and charges authorized to be assessed and
collected by the commission under this chap- 
ter. 
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473.045 Tax on grapes or grape prod- 

ucts used by wineries. ( 1) A tax is hereby
imposed upon grapes of the vinifera varieties, 

whether true or hybrid, harvested in or im- 
ported into this state and used or sold for use
in a winery licensed under ORS chapter 471
for making table wine. 

2) The amount of the tax shall be $ 10 per
ton of grapes. 

3) An equivalent tax is imposed upon
grape products imported and used or sold for
use in a winery licensed under ORS chapter
471 for making table wine. Such tax shall be

10 per ton of grapes used to produce the
imported grape product. The tax shall be
determined on the basis of one ton of grapes

for each 150 gallons of wine made from such
grape products. 

4) In the case of grapes harvested in this
state such tax shall be levied and assessed
against the person selling or providing such

grapes to the licensed winery and deducted
from the price paid to such person. 

5) In the case of grapes or grape products
imported into this state, such tax shall be
levied and assessed to the licensed winery at
the time of purchase by the winery or impor- 
tation, whichever is later. 

6) The tax imposed by this section shall
be paid by the licensed winery and collected
by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission in
the same manner and subject to the same
powers as taxes imposed and collected under

ORS chapter 473. [ 1977 c.690 § 51

Note: 473 045 was enacted into law by the Legisla- 
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 473 or any series therein by legislative
action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation. 

473.050 When beverage tax not im- 
posed. In computing any privilege tax im- 
posed by ORS 473.030 or 473.040: 

1) No malt beverage or alcoholic beverage
is subject to tax more than once. 

2) No tax shall be levied, collected or

imposed upon any malt beverage or alcoholic
beverage sold to the commission or exported

from the state. 

3) No tax shall be levied, collected or

imposed upon any malt beverage given away
and consumed on the licensed premises of a

brewery licensee, or sold to or by a voluntary
nonincorporated organization of army, air

corps or navy personnel operating a place for
the sale of goods pursuant to regulations

promulgated by the proper authority of each
such service. 

4) No tax shall be levied, collected or
imposed upon any malt beverage or alcoholic
beverage determined by the commission to be
unfit for human consumption and unsaleable. 

5) Until July 1, 1990, no tax shall be
levied, collected or imposed upon the first
25,000 gallons of alcoholic beverage sold an- 

nually in Oregon by a manufacturer of alco- 
holic beverages producing less than 100,000
gallons annually. 

6) Until July 1, 1990, no tax shall be
levied, collected or imposed upon the first
25,000 gallons of alcoholic beverage sold an- 

nually in Oregon from a United States manu- 
facturer of alcoholic beverages producing less
than 100,000 gallons annually. [ Amended by

1971 c. 158 § 1; 1977 c.856 §201

473.060 Payment of taxes; refunds. 

The privilege taxes imposed by ORS 473.030
and 473.040 shall be paid to the commission. 

The taxes covering the periods for which
statements are required to be rendered by
ORS 473.070 shall be paid before the time for
filing such statements expires or, as concerns
alcoholic beverages, on the 20th day of the
month after such beverages have been with- 
drawn from federal bond. If not so paid, a

penalty of 10 percent and interest at the rate
of one percent a month or fraction of a month
shall be added and collected. The commission

may refund any tax payment imposed upon or
paid in error by any licensee, and may waive
the collection or refund the payment of any
tax imposed and collected on alcoholic liquor
subsequently exported from this state, sold to
a federal instrumentality or to the commis- 
sion, or determined by the commission to be
unfit for human consumption and unsaleable. 

Amended by 1955 c.241 § 1; 1971 c. 158 § 21

473.070 Statements by manufacturers
as to quantities produced. On the 20th day
of each month, every manufacturer shall
render to the commission a statement of the

quantity of alcoholic beverages and malt
beverages produced, purchased or received by
him during the preceding calendar month. 
Amended by 1967 c 52 §11

473.080 Estimate by commission

when statement not filed or false state- 
ment filed. If any manufacturer fails, ne- 
glects or refuses to file a statement required

by ORS 473.070 or files a false statement, the
commission shall estimate the amount of
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alcoholic beverages and malt beverages pro- 
duced, purchased or received by the manufac- 
turer and assess the privilege tax thereon. 
Such manufacturer shall be estopped from
complaining of the amount so estimated. 
Amended by 1967 e. 52 §21

473.090 Lien created by the tax. The
privilege tax required to be paid by ORS
473.030 and 473.040 constitutes a lien upon, 
and has the effect of an execution duly levied
against, any and all property of the manufac- 
turer, attaching at the time the beverages
subject to the tax were produced, purchased or

received, as the case may be, and remaining
until the tax is paid or the property sold in
payment thereof. The lien created by this
section is paramount to all private liens or
encumbrances. 

473.100 Seizure of property; notice of
sale. ( 1) Whenever any manufacturer is delin- 
quent in the payment of the privilege tax
provided for in ORS 473.030 and 473.040, the
commission or its duly authorized representa- 
tive shall seize any property subject to the tax
and sell, at public auction, property so seized, 
or a sufficient portion thereof to pay the privi- 
lege tax due, together with any penalties
imposed under ORS 473.060 for such delin- 
quency and all costs incurred on account of
the seizure and sale. 

2) Written notice of the intended sale and
the time and place thereof, shall be given to
such delinquent manufacturer and to all per- 
sons appearing of record to have an interest in
the property, at least 10 days before the date
set for the sale. The notice shall be inclosed in
an envelope addressed to the manufacturer at
his last -known residence or place of business
in this state, if any; and in the case of any
person appearing of record to have an interest
in such property, addressed to such person at
his last -known place of residence, if any. The
envelope shall be deposited in the United
States mail, postage prepaid. In addition, 
notice shall be published for at least 10 days
before the date set for such sale, in a newspa- 
per of general circulation published in the

county in which the property seized is to be
sold. If there is no newspaper of general circu- 
lation in such county, the notice shall be post- 
ed in three public places in such county for the
10-day period. The notice shall contain a de- 
scription of the property to be sold, a state- 
ment of the amount of the privilege taxes, 
penalties and costs, the name of the manufac- 
turer and the further statement that, unless
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the privilege taxes, penalties and costs are
paid on or before the time fixed in the notice
for the sale, the property, or so much thereof
as may be necessary, will be sold in accord- 
ance with law and the notice. 

473.110 Sale of property; disposal of
proceeds. At the sale, the property shall be
sold by the commission or by its duly author- 
ized agent in accordance with law and the
notice. The commission shall deliver to the
purchaser a bill of sale for the personal prop- 
erty, and a deed for any real property so sold. 
The bill of sale or deed vests title in the pur- 
chaser. The unsold portion of any property
seized under ORS 473. 100 may be left at the
place of sale at the risk of the manufacturer. 

If upon any such sale, the money received
exceeds the amount of all privilege taxes, 
penalties and costs due the state from the
manufacturer, the excess shall be returned to
the manufacturer, and his receipt therefor

obtained. However, if any person having an
interest in or lien upon the property has filed
with the commission, prior to the sale, notice
of his interest or lien, the commission shall
withhold any such excess pending a determi- 
nation of the rights of the respective parties
thereto by a court of competent jurisdiction. If
the receipt of the manufacturer is not avail- 
able, the commission shall deposit such excess
money with the State Treasurer, as trustee for
the owner, subject to the order of the manu- 
facturer, his heirs, successors or assigns. 

473.120 Commission and Attorney
General may both bring action. ( 1) The

commission shall immediately transmit notice
of the delinquency mentioned in ORS 473. 100
to the Attorney General. He shall at once
proceed to collect all sums due to the state
from the manufacturer under this chapter by
bringing suit against the necessary parties to
effect forfeiture of the bonds of the manufac- 
turer, reducing any deficiency to judgment
against the manufacturer. 

2) The remedies of the state provided in
ORS 473.090 to 473. 120 are cumulative and
no action taken by the commission or Attor- 
ney General constitutes an election on the
part of the state or any of its officers to pursue
one remedy to the exclusion of any other rem- 
edy provided in this chapter. 

473.130 Estimate by commission as
prima facie evidence. In any suit brought to
enforce the rights of the state, the assessment
made by the commission under ORS 473.080, 
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or a copy of so much thereof as is applicable in
such suit, duly certified by the commission
and showing unpaid privilege taxes assessed
against any manufacturer, is prima facie

evidence: 

1) Of the assessment of the privilege tax

and the delinquency thereof. 

2) Of the amount of the privilege tax, 
interest, penalties and costs due and unpaid to
the state. 

3) That the manufacturer is indebted to
this state in the amount of such privilege tax, 
interest and penalties therein appearing un- 
paid. 

4) That the law relating to assessment
and levy of such privilege tax has been fully
complied with by all persons required to per- 
form administrative duties under this chapter. 

473.140 Records to be kept by manu- 
facturers and purchasers. Every manufac- 
turer shall keep a complete and accurate
record of all sales of alcoholic beverages and
malt beverages, a complete and accurate

record of the number of gallons imported, 
produced, purchased, manufactured, brewed
or fermented, and the date of importation, 
production, purchase, manufacturing, brewing
or fermentation. The records shall be in such
form and contain such other information as
the commission may prescribe. The commis- 
sion, by rule or regulation, may require the
delivery of statements by distributors to pur- 
chasers, with alcoholic beverages and malt
beverages, and prescribe the matters to be
contained therein. Such records and state- 

ments shall be preserved by the distributor
and the purchaser respectively, for a period of
two years, and shall be offered for inspection

at any time upon oral or written demand by
the commission or its duly authorized agents. 

473.150 Inspection of manufacturer' s
records; records to be kept for prescribed
period. (1) The commission may, at any time, 
examine the books and records of any manu- 

facturer and may appoint such auditors, in- 
vestigators and other employes as it deems

necessary to enforce its powers and perform
its duties under this section. 

2) Every manufacturer shall maintain
and keep, within this state for two years, all
records, books and accounts required by this
chapter. 

473.160 Records to be kept by per- 
sons transporting liquor. Every person
transporting alcoholic beverages or malt bev- 
erages within this state, whether such trans- 
portation originates within or without this
state, shall keep a true and accurate record of
all such beverages transported. The record
shall include ingredients which may be used
in the manufacture, production, brewing or
fermentation of the beverages, showing such
facts with relation to such beverages, their
ingredients and their transportation, as the
commission may require. Such records shall
be open to inspection by the representative of
the commission at any time. The commission
may require from any such person sworn
returns of all or any part of the information
shown by such records. 

473.170 Failure to pay tax or to main- 
tain records. (1) No manufacturer shall: 

a) Fail to pay the privilege tax prescribed
in ORS 473.030 and 473.040 when it is due; or

b) Falsify the statement required by ORS
473.070. 

2) No person shall: 

a) Refuse to permit the commission or

any of its representatives to make an inspec- 
tion of the books and records authorized by
ORS 473.140 to 473.160; 

b) Fail to keep books of account pre- 
scribed by the commission or required by this
chapter; 

c) Fail to preserve such books for two
years for inspection of the commission; or

d) Alter, cancel or obliterate entries in
such books of account for the purpose of falsif- 

ying any record required by this chapter to be
made, maintained or preserved. [ Amended by

1967 c.52 §31

473.180 Applicability to interstate

and foreign commerce. None of the provi- 
sions of this chapter apply to commerce with
foreign nations or commerce with the several
states, except in so far as the same may be
permitted under the Constitution and laws of
the United States. 

473.190 State has exclusive right to
tax liquor. No county or city of this state
shall impose any fee or tax, including occupa- 
tion taxes, privilege taxes and inspection fees, 
in connection with the production, sale, mix- 

ing, serving, transporting, delivering or han- 
dling of malt or other alcoholic liquors. 
Amended by 1961 e. 259 §4; 1967 c.577 §81
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473.200 [ Repealed by 1967 c.577 §101

473.210 [ Amended by 1957 c.445 § 2; 1965 c. 141 § l; 
repealed by 1967 c.577 § 10] 

473.220 [Repealed by 1967 c.577 §10] 

473.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of sub- 
section ( 1) of ORS 473.170 is punishable upon

conviction by a fine not exceeding $ 500 or by

imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding
six months, or both. 

2) Violation of subsection ( 2) of ORS

473. 170 is punishable upon conviction by a
fine not exceeding $ 1, 000 or by imprisonment
in the county jail not exceeding one year, or
both. 
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