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PRMLEGE TAXES 320.040

Note: Section 58, chapter 870, Oregon Laws 1977, 

provides: 

Sec. 58. The provisions of this Act do not apply to
the provisions of ORS chapter 320. It is not the intention

of this Act to repeal any right of appeal to the Depart- 
ment of Revenue, Oregon Tax Court or to the Supreme

Court or to reduce the authority of the department as
such authority relates to the audit and examination of
reports and returns, determination of deficiencies, assess- 

ments, conferences, claims for refund, determination of
appeals to the director or to the department or the collec- 

tion of taxes at any stage, and the procedures relating
thereto, which existed prior to the enactment of this Act, 
and the Act shall be construed so as to preserve all such

rights of appeal and authority existing the day before it
becomes effective [October 4, 19771. 

320.005 Definitions. As used in this

chapter, unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) A `music device" means any and all
mechanical and electrical devices which ren- 

der, cause to sound or release music or provide

visual entertainment where the same may be
heard or seen by one or more public patrons. 
Any separate loudspeaker, phonograph, juke
box or television outlet from which such music

or visual picture emits shall be construed to be
a separate ` music device" as herein defined; 
except where the music or visual picture emits

from more than one speaker or outlet trans- 

mitting from the same mechanism, the sever- 
al outlets or speakers in each place of business

shall be collectively considered one such music
device. 

2) " Displayed or operated" means the

display of any music or amusement device for
use by the public or the operation by the pub- 
lic of such device and shall include those mu- 
sic and amusement devices which are dis- 

played or operated by or for the use of mem- 
bers of any private club, lodge, fraternal socie- 
ty or other like organization whose member- 
ship is limited to a portion of the public. An
amusement device" means any mechanical, 

electronic, mechanical - electronic or nonme- 

chanical mechanism which is designed for the
amusement of the player or operator and is

complete in itself having as its purpose the
production or creation of a game of skill, 

amusement, entertainment, or test of

strength, including, but not limited to, shuf- 
fleboards, coin- operated devices utilizing

tables, boards or cases of any size whatever, 
balls, sticks, cues, pegs or marbles, and wheth- 

er or , not any motivating force involved is
furnished by the player or the device. [ 1957

c 384 §2, 1975 c.651 § 11

320.010 Privilege tax imposed on

music and amusement devices. ( 1) There

hereby is imposed on every music and amuse- 
ment device displayed or operated in this
state, a privilege tax, as specified in this
chapter. 

2) The amount of the privilege tax shall

be as follows: 

a) On each music device an annual tax of
25. 

b) On each amusement device designed

and used solely to provide rides for amuse- 
ment an annual tax of $25. 

c) On each amusement device operated
upon the payment of or insertion of one or two

pennies, an annual tax of $10. 

d) On every other type of amusement
device an annual tax of $50 for each device. 

Amended by 1955 c.574 § l; 1957 c.384 §3, 1959 c. 155 § l; 
1967 c.344 §7; 1975 c.651 § 21

320.015 [ 1955 c.574 §3; repealed by 1957 c.384 §61

320.020 Tax as addition to other taxes

on same property. The tax imposed by ORS
320.010 is in addition to all other taxes or fees

imposed upon the same property by any mu- 
nicipality of this state or by the United States
Government. 

320.030 Exemptions. This chapter does

not apply to: 

1) Amusement devices used exclusively
for the purpose of selling tangible personal
property, such as cold drinks, tobacco prod- 
ucts, candies, postage stamps, or other mer- 

chandise or services such as pay telephones, 
parking meters, gas and electric meters or
other distributions of public service. 

2) Amusement devices when such devices

are operated solely by or for a nonprofit corpo- 
ration for the purpose of conducting a fair, 
festival or trade show or special fund - raising
project. 

3) Amusement devices that are related

solely to the operation of pool games and
bowling alleys. [ Amended by 1975 c. 651 § 31

320.040 Designation of tax year; com- 

putation on basis of quarter years. The tax
year, for the purposes of this chapter, begins

on July 1 and ends on June 30. The tax pay- 
able shall be computed on the basis of quarter
years, and shall be paid for the quarter in
which it becomes payable plus the remaining
quarters in the tax year. In lieu of the pay- 
ment of the foregoing tax, the owner of the
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320.050 REVENUE AND TAXATION

property may obtain a temporary permit to
operate any amusement device for a period of
90 consecutive calendar days at the rate of

25 per each 90 -day period. [ Amended by 1975
c.651 §4] 

320.050 When tax payable; separate
tax on each device; substitution of devic- 

es. The tax imposed by this chapter shall be
paid to the Department of Revenue by the
owner of the property subject to the tax before
the property is displayed or operated in this
state. A separate and individual tax shall be
paid on each displayed or operated device or
game described in this chapter. The taxpayer
shall, at the time the tax is paid, designate

and identify to the department each game or
device by trade name or manufacturer's num- 
ber if any. However, the substitution of a
game or device for a game or device taxable at
the same rate, upon which the tax has been

paid, shall not be a violation of any section of
this chapter, nor shall it result in the imposi- 

tion of any additional tax upon such substitut- 
ed game or device. Substitutions shall be

reported immediately by the owner or his
agent to the department on forms prescribed

by it. [Amended by 1955 c 574 §4, 1957 c.384 §41

320.060 Issuance of tax receipt; re- 
ceipt to be displayed. (1) Upon payment of

the tax imposed by this chapter, the Depart- 
ment of Revenue shall issue to each taxpayer
a receipt for each device with respect to which
the tax is paid. 

2) No person shall display in any public
or private place of amusement or business in

this state any property subject to the tax
imposed by this chapter unless there is promi- 
nently displayed on the premises the receipt of
the Department of Revenue for the payment

of the tax. Absence of the duly issued tax
receipt is prima facie evidence that the tax

has not been paid. 

3) No person shall alter or change any
Department of Revenue receipt issued pur- 
suant to this section in an attempt to avoid

payment of any tax imposed by this chapter. 

4) No person shall avoid or attempt to

avoid the payment of any tax due under this
chapter by displaying anything similar in
design, size or color to a Department of Reve- 
nue receipt issued pursuant to this section for

any device described in this chapter. 

5) No person shall avoid or attempt to

avoid the payment of any tax due under this
chapter by using the receipt for tax paid on

any device for any other device, except where
a substitution is made and reported pursuant

to ORS 320.050. 

6) A penalty of $10 is hereby imposed on
the owner of the premises where the device is

located, for failing to display on the premises
a receipt of the Department of Revenue for

the tax remitted pursuant to the provisions of
this chapter. [ Amended by 1955 c.574 § 5; 1957 c.384

5; 1959 c. 155 §2; 1975 c 651 §51

320.065 Registration of transferor of
music or amusement device. No person

shall sell, rent, lease, trade, lend or furnish to

another or transfer within this state, except

for common carrier, more than two music or

amusement devices annually unless he has
first registered with the Department of Reve- 
nue. [1975 c.651 § 81

320.070 Display of device without

payment of tax; liability of person in pos- 
session of premises; sealing device. ( 1) If

any device subject to tax under this chapter is
displayed or permitted to be displayed without

the tax therefor first being paid and the re- 
ceipt displayed as provided in this chapter, the
person in possession of the premises where the

device is so displayed is liable jointly and
severally for the tax and penalty with the
owner of the device. 

2) For every device found to have been
displayed without the tax imposed by this
chapter having first been paid, a penalty of

10 shall be imposed. 

3) Every agent of the Department of
Revenue may, upon discovery of a device
being operated or displayed for operation
without payment of the tax due, place on said

device a seal, provided pursuant to regulation, 

in such a manner as to render such device
inoperative. The seal shall remain on the

device until the tax and penalty due under
this chapter have all been paid. The seal may
be removed only by a duly authorized agent of
the Department of Revenue. Any other person
tampering with, obliterating, defacing, cut- 
ting, breaking or in any manner removing or
attempting to remove said seal at any time
shall be subject to all the penalties provided in

ORS 320.990. [ Amended by 1955 x574 §6; 1959 c 155
3, 1975 c. 651 §61

320.080 Procedure on failure to pay
tax. If any tax imposed by this chapter is not
paid as required by this chapter, the Depart- 
ment of Revenue shall issue a warrant under
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its hand and official seal directed to the sher- 

iff of any county of the state commanding him
to levy upon and sell the real and personal
property of the person or persons named in the
warrant and liable for the tax found within

his county, for the payment of the amount
thereof with the added penalty and the cost of
executing the warrant, and to return the

warrant to the department and pay to it the
money collected by virtue thereof by a time to
be therein specified not more than 30 days
from the date of the warrant. The sheriff
shall, within five days after the receipt of the

warrant, file with the clerk of the county a
copy thereof. Thereupon the clerk shall enter
in the judgment docket in the column for
judgment debtors, the names of the persons
mentioned in the warrant, and in appropriate

columns the amount of the tax and penalty for
which the warrant is issued and the date

when such copy is filed. Thereupon the

amount of the warrant so docketed shall be- 

come a lien upon the title to any interest in
real property or personal property of the per- 
sons against whom it is issued in the same
manner as a judgment duly docketed in the
office of the clerk. The sheriff shall thereupon

proceed upon the same in all respects, with

like effect and in the manner prescribed by
law in respect to execution issued against

property upon judgment of a court of record, 
and he is entitled to the same fees for his

services in executing the warrant to be collect- 
ed in the same manner. If a warrant is re- 
turned not satisfied in full, the department
shall have the same remedies to enforce the

claim for taxes as if the people of the state
had recovered judgment for the amount of the
tax. 

320.090 Civil action to recover unpaid

tax. The Department of Revenue may recover
any tax payable under this chapter by civil
action. 

320.100 Disposal of tax receipts. ( 1) 

All money received under this chapter as
taxes or penalty shall be paid by the Depart- 
ment of Revenue to the State Treasurer quar- 

terly and shall be by the State Treasurer
allocated for payment in the following man- 
ner: 

a) Sixty percent thereof shall be credited
to the General Fund to be available for pay- 
ment of general governmental expenses. 

b) Forty percent thereof shall be remitted
to the county treasurers of the several coun- 
ties of the state. Each county shall receive

320.990

such share of the money as its population, 
determined by the State Board of Higher
Education, bears to the total population of the

counties of the state, as determined by the
census last preceding such apportionment. 

2) All revenues received under this sec- 

tion by the treasurers of the several counties
shall be placed in the general fund of each

county to be expended by the county courts or
the board of county commissioners of the
several counties for general governmental
expenses. [ Amended by 1959 c. 143 § 1; 1963 c.644 § 3; 
1967 e. 323 § 1; 1969 c.230 § 11

320.110 Rules and regulations. The

Department of Revenue may promulgate the
rules and regulations necessary for the admin- 
istration and enforcement of this chapter. 

320.120 Employment of agents. The

Department of Revenue may employ the
agents necessary for the administration and
enforcement of this chapter. Agents of the
department charged with the enforcement of

this chapter have all the power and authority
of police officers in the performance of such

duties. 

320.130 Law enforcement officers to
enforce chapter and assist department. 
The state police, sheriffs, constables, police

and other law enforcement officers within the
State of Oregon shall enforce all provisions of

this chapter and shall assist the Department
of Revenue. 

320.140 Tax does not legalize owner- 

ship, display or operation in violation of
law. Nothing in this chapter shall be con- 
strued as licensing, authorizing or legalizing
the ownership, possession, display or opera- 
tion, in violation of any law of this state, of
any of the property taxed under this chapter. 

320.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of any
provision of this chapter by any person is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
more than $ 500, or by imprisonment in the
county jail for not more than six months, or by
both. Justice courts and district courts have
concurrent jurisdiction with the circuit courts

of any prosecution provided for in this subsec- 
tion. 

2) Violation of subsection ( 3) of ORS

320.060 is forgery in the first degree and is
punishable as such. 

3) Violation of subsections ( 4) and ( 5) of
ORS 320.060 and of subsection ( 3) of ORS
320.070 is punishable, upon conviction, by a
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fine of not more than $1, 000 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, 
Or both. [ Amended by 1955 c. 574 § 7; 1971 c. 743 § 3561

CERTIFICATE OF LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL
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