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725.010 Definitions. As used in this this section entitles a person to a continuance

chapter, unless the context requires otherwise: of a license. 

1) " Licensee" means every person li- 
censed under this chapter. 

2) " Licensing official' means the Superin- 
tendent of Banks. 

725.020 Short title. This chapter shall

be known as the Oregon Consumer Finance
Act. 

Amended by 1955 c 71 § 11

725.025 Declaration of legislative

intent. It is the intent of the legislature in

enacting chapter 71, Oregon Laws 1955, to
consolidate the Small Loan Act, ORS chapter
725 [ 1953 edition], and the Motor Vehicle

Finance Act, ORS chapter 727 [ 1953 edition], 

to provide uniformity in the business of mak- 
ing loans or advancements in the amount or
value of $ 1, 500 or less to eliminate the
present duplication of licenses, records, re- 
ports and supervision. 

1955 c. 71 § 141

725.026 Existing contracts not affect- 
ed. Nothing contained in chapter 71, Oregon
Laws 1955, shall be construed to impair or
affect the obligation of any contract lawfully
made prior to August 3, 1955, including any
lawful contract made by a licensee under ORS
chapter 725 [ 1953 edition] or ORS chapter 727
1953 edition]. 

1955 c.71 § 161

725.027 Licenses of persons licensed
under ORS chapter 725 or 727 on August
3, 1955, continued in force. ( 1) Any person
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter 725
on August 3, 1955, is deemed to be licensed
under and subject to ORS chapter 725 during
the period from August 3, 1955, to and includ- 

ing December 31, 1955. Any person not li- 
censed under and subject to ORS chapter 725, 
but who holds a license under ORS chapter
727 on August 3, 1955, and who held such
license on January 1, 1955, is deemed to be
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter 725

during the period from August 3, 1955, to and
including December 31, 1955. Only one license
shall be issued for each licensed office, irres- 
pective of whether such office is licensed
under both ORS chapter 725 and ORS chapter
727 and irrespective of whether the two
licenses are held by different persons. The
licensing official shall charge no further fees
for the continuance of a license as provided in
this subsection. The licensing official shall
investigate the facts and satisfy himself that

2) Any license in effect on December 31, 
1955, under subsection ( 1) of this section, 

shall be continued in force as long as the
standards are maintained under ORS chapter
725, by payment of the required annual
license fee, and such license shall be evi- 
denced by a new certificate which shall be a
continuing license. 
1955 c 71 § 151

725.030 License required before mak- 

ing certain loans. ( 1) A person shall not

engage or continue in the business of making
or offering to make any loan in amounts of

50,000 or less, secured or unsecured, for

which there is charged, contracted for or
directly or indirectly received any sum or
value at a rate in excess of 10 percent per
annum, except as authorized by this chapter
and without first procuring a license in ac- 
cordance with this chapter. 

2) This section does not apply to a loan
for which a rate in excess of 10 percent per

annum is expressly permitted by any law of
this state or a loan that does not exceed the 10
percent general interest rate under ORS
82.010. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 § 2; 1971 c.450 § l, 1973 c.428 § l; 
1975 c.567 § 11

725.040 Construction of chapter. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed or
held to limit the rights, powers or privileges

granted to any person by any law of this state
or of the United States whereby the loaning of
money or extending of credit is regulated, 
provided that such person is operating in
compliance with the provisions of such law. 

725.050 Prohibited transactions. No

licensee shall take: 

1) On loans of less than $2,000, any lien
upon real estate as security for any loan for
which a greater rate of interest or considera- 
tion than 10 percent per annum is charged, 
contracted for or received, except such lien as
is created by law upon the recording of a
judgment. 

2) Any power of attorney from any bor- 
rower, except a power of attorney to effectuate
the transfer of the ownership of any motor
vehicle at the time of making a loan on a
motor vehicle. 

3) Any note, promise to pay or pledge of
collateral which does not accurately disclose
the actual amount of the loan, the time for
which it is made, the rate of interest charged
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or the schedule of payments agreed upon, or
any instrument in which blanks are left to be
filled in after execution. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 3; 1971 c.450 §21

725.060 False advertising prohibited. 
No licensee or other person shall advertise, 
print, display, publish, distribute or broadcast
or cause or permit to be advertised, printed, 
displayed, published, distributed or broadcast
in any manner whatsoever any statement or
representation with regard to the rates, terms
or conditions for loans which is false, mislead- 
ing or deceptive. 

725.110 Residence qualifications of
licensees. No license shall be granted to any
person, partnership, association or corporation

unless that person and all members of any
such partnership or association are bona fide
residents of this state and unless such corpo- 
ration is an Oregon corporation in good stand- 
ing or a foreign corporation legally qualified
to do business in this state. 

725.120 Application for license; no- 

tice of filing; annual fee. ( 1) Application for

the license shall be in writing in the form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
contain the name and both the residence and
business addresses of the applicant, and if the
applicant is a partnership or association, of
every member thereof, and if a corporation, of
each officer and director thereof. The applica- 
tion shall also contain the county and city or
town with street and number, if any, where
the business is to be conducted and any other
information which the licensing official may
require. 

2) Notice of the filing of the application
shall be posted in the office of the licensing
official for 30 days and no license shall be
issued before the expiration of such 30-day
period. However, the licensing official in his
discretion may waive the posting of notice and
issue a license without regard to such 30-day
period if the application is for a license at a
location where a license has been surrendered
because of: 

a) The transfer of the business of the
licensee, and the applicant is the transferee; 
or

b) The death of the licensee, and the
applicant is a representative or heir of the
licensee; or

c) The change of the name under which
the licensee does business, and the applicant
is the same licensee. 

3) An applicant at the time of making
application shall pay to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund an annual license
fee set under ORS 725.180 for the period
terminating on the last day of the current
calendar year. However, if the application is
filed after June 30 in any year the amount
Paid shall be one -half of the annual license
fee. In case the license is not issued for cause
or if the application is withdrawn after the
applicant has been investigated by the licens- 
ing official, there shall be refunded to the
applicant all the license fee except $ 50 which
shall be retained by the licensing official; 
Otherwise no part of any license fee shall be
refunded. 

Amended by 1955 c. 71 § 4; 1977 c 135 §49] 

725.125 [ 1971 c.450 §5; repealed by 1973 c.428 §111

725.130 [ Repealed by 1955 c 71 § 171

725.140 Issuance of license; condi- 

tions. ( 1) Conditioned upon the applicant's
compliance with this chapter and the payment

of the license fee, the licensing official within
90 days after the date of filing the application
referred to in ORS 725.120, shall disapprove
the application or shall issue and deliver a
license to the applicant to make loans in
accordance with this chapter at the location
specified in the application, which license
shall be a continuing license and need not be
issued annually, to remain in full force and
effect until it is surrendered by the licensee or
revoked or suspended as provided in ORS

725.230 and 725.250; provided the licensing
official finds upon investigation: 

a) That the financial responsibility, 
experience, character and general fitness of
the applicant, and of the members thereof if
the applicant is a partnership or association, 
and of the officers and directors thereof if the
applicant is a corporation, are such as to
command the confidence of the community
and to warrant the belief that the business
will be operated honestly, fairly and efficient- 
ly within the purposes of this chapter; and

b) That allowing the applicant to engage
in business will promote the convenience and
advantage of the community in which the
business of the applicant is to be conducted, 
and in the absence of any other reason or
condition which in his judgment would war- 
rant the refusal to grant a license. 

2) The findings mentioned in subsection
1) of this section are conditions precedent to

issuance of a license under this chapter. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 5; 1963 c 167 § 1; 1977 c. 135 § 501



CONSUMER FINANCE

725.145 Disapproval of application

for license. ( 1) The licensing official may
disapprove an application for a license if any
person named in the application submitted
pursuant to ORS 725.120: 

a) Is insolvent, either in the sense that
his liabilities exceed his assets or that he
cannot meet his obligations as they mature, or
is in such financial condition that he cannot
continue in business with safety to his cus- 
tomers; 

b) Has engaged in dishonest, fraudulent
or illegal practices or conduct in any business
or profession; 

c) Has wilfully or repeatedly violated or
failed to comply with any provision of the
Oregon Bank Act, the Savings Association
Act, the Oregon Credit Union Act, the Oregon
Consumer Finance Act or the Pawnbrokers
Act, or any administrative rule or order
adopted pursuant to any such Act; 

d) Has been convicted of a felony or of a
misdemeanor, an essential element of either

of which is fraud; 

e) Is permanently or temporarily enjoined
by a court of competent jurisdiction from
engaging in or continuing any conduct or
practice involving any aspect of the consumer
finance business; 

f) Is the subject of an order of the licens- 
ing official or of any other regulatory author- 
ity of this state subjecting him to a fine or
other civil penalty, or removing him from an
office in a financial institution, credit union, 
consumer finance company or savings associa- 
tion; or

g) Is the subject of an order entered
within the past five years, subjecting him to a
fine or other civil penalty, or removing him
from an office in a financial institution, 
issued by the regulatory authority of another
state or of the Federal Government with
authority over financial institutions. 

2) The licensing official may issue an
order removing any officer or director of a
licensee from his office for any of the reasons
stated by subsection (1) of this section. 
1977 c. 135 §481

725.150 Appeal of disapproval of ap- 
plication. If the application is denied, the

licensing official shall indorse thereon with
the date the word ` disapproved" and shall

immediately advise the applicant by regis- 
tered mail of the reason therefor. The appli- 
cant shall have the right of appeal from the
decision to the circuit court for the county of
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the city or town mentioned in the application. 
The appeal must be taken within 30 days
after date of mailing of the notice of disap- 
proval. 

725.160 Form of license; posting; 

transferability. The license shall be in a

form prescribed by the licensing official and
shall state the address at which the business
is to be conducted and the full name of the
licensee. The license shall be kept conspicu- 
ously posted in the place of business of the
licensee and shall not be transferable or
assignable. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 §61

725.170 [Repealed by 1955 01 §171

725.180 Annual fee. Every licensee, on
or before December 15 of each year, shall pay

to the licensing official the annual license fee
of $250 for the next succeeding calendar year. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 7; 1977 c. 135 §531

725.190 Annual report of licensee; 
report of licensing official; penalty for
failure to report by licensee. ( 1) On or

before February 15 of each year every licensee
shall file a report with the licensing official
giving such relevant information as the
licensing official reasonably may require
concerning the business and operations during
the preceding calendar year of each licensed
place of business conducted by the licensee
within the state. The report shall be made
under oath and shall be in the form prescribed

by the licensing official, who shall make and
publish annually a recapitulation of such
reports. 

2) Every licensee who fails to file any
report required under this chapter within the
time specified may be subject to a penalty of

10 per day for each day's delay. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 §8; 1973 c.428 §21

725.200 [Repealed by 1971 c.743 §4321

725.210 Additional licenses to same
applicant. No licensee shall transact any
business within the scope of this chapter
except under the name and at the place of
business named in his license. The licensing
official may issue more than one license to the
same licensee upon his compliance with all
the provisions of this chapter governing an
original issuance of a license for each such
additional license. However, each additional
license shall be for a separate and distinct
place of business for making and completing
loans as provided in this chapter. 
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725220 Change of place of business. 
1) Whenever a licensee wishes to change his

place of business to another location within
the same city or town, he shall submit written
notice thereof, together with his license, to the
licensing official. If the licensing official, 
upon investigation, finds that allowing the
licensee to engage in business at the proposed
new location will promote the convenience and
advantage of the community in which the
proposed new location of the business is
situated, he shall amend the license of the
licensee to reflect the new location, and shall
return the amended license to the licensee. If
the licensing official disapproves the proposed
new location of the business, he shall indorse
on the notice of the licensee the word " Disap- 
proved," immediately advise the licensee by
registered mail of such disapproval and return
the license unchanged to the licensee. The
licensee may appeal from such disapproval in
the manner provided in ORS 725. 150. 

2) No change in the place of business of a
licensee to a location outside the city or town
named in the original license shall be permit- 
ted under the same license. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 91

725.230 Revocation and suspension
of licenses. ( 1) The licensing official may
revoke any license under this chapter upon 10
days' notice to the licensee stating the contem- 
plated action and in general the grounds
therefor and upon reasonable opportunity for
a hearing in connection therewith, if he finds
that: 

a) The licensee has failed to pay the
annual license fee or to comply with any
demand, ruling or requirement of the licens- 
ing official lawfully made pursuant to and
within the authority of this chapter or to
comply with the provisions of law to keep the
corporation in good standing if such licensee is
a corporation; 

b) The licensee has violated any provi- 
sions of this chapter or any rule or regulation
lawfully made by the licensing official under
and within the authority of this chapter; or

c) Any fact or condition exists which, if it
had existed at the time of the original applica- 
tion for such license, clearly would have
warranted the licensing official in refusing
originally to issue such license. 

2) The licensing official may, without
notice or hearing, suspend any license for a
period not exceeding 30 days, pending investi- 
gation. 

3) The licensing official may revoke or
suspend only the particular license with
respect to which grounds for revocation or
suspension may occur or exist, or, if he finds
that such grounds for revocation or suspension
are of general application to all offices or to

more than one office operated by a licensee, he
may revoke or suspend all the licenses or such
number of licenses issued to the licensee as
the grounds for revocation or suspension apply
to, as the case may be. 
Amended by 1955 c. 71 § 10] 

725235 License denial procedure; 

promulgation, review of rules and orders. 
1) Where the superintendent proposes to

refuse to issue a license, or proposes to revoke
or suspend a license, opportunity for hearing
shall be accorded as provided in ORS 183.310
to 183.500. 

2) Promulgation of rules, conduct of

hearings, issuance of orders and judicial
review of rules and orders shall be as provided
in ORS 183.310 to 183.500. 
1971 c. 734 § 1761

725240 [Repealed by 1971 c.734 §211

725.250 Surrender of license. Any
licensee may surrender any license issued to
him by delivering written notice to the licens- 
ing official that he thereby surrenders such
license, but such surrender shall not affect the
licensee' s civil or criminal liability for acts
committed prior to the surrender. 

725.260 Expiration of license; effect
of expiration, revocation or surrender. 

The revocation, suspension or surrender of
any license shall not impair or affect the
rights or obligations of any preexisting lawful
contract between the licensee and any borrow- 
er. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 § 111

725270 Reinstatement of revoked

license; fee. The licensing official may reins- 
tate any revoked license upon the licensee's
compliance with the provisions of law or any
demand, ruling or requirement lawfully made
by the licensing official pursuant to and
within the authority of this chapter. For such
reinstatement of license the licensee shall pay
a fee of $25. 

725.310 Investigation and examina- 
tion of licensees. ( 1) For the purpose of
discovering violations of this chapter or secur- 
ing information lawfully required by him
under this chapter the licensing official may
at any time, either personally or by a duly
appointed examiner or deputy, investigate the
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loans and business and examine the books, 
accounts, records and files used therein, of

every licensee and of every person who he has
reason to believe is making loans at a rate of
interest in excess of 10 percent per annum, 
whether such person acts or claims to act as
principal or agent or under or without the
authority of this chapter. For such purpose the
licensing official or his duly appointed exam- 
iner or deputy shall have free access to the
place of business, books, accounts, safes and
vaults of all such persons. The licensing
official or his duly appointed examiner or
deputy shall have authority to examine under
oath all persons whose testimony he may
require relative to such loans or business. 

2) The licensing official may cause an
examination to be made by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy of the loans and business, 
books, accounts, records and files of each
licensee under this chapter without previous

notice to the licensee and at such intervals as
the licensing official may deem advisable or
expedient and not less often than once a year. 
The actual cost of each examination, or the
sum of $20, whichever is larger, shall be paid
to the licensing official for the State Banking
Fund by every licensee so examined. The
licensing official may maintain an action for
the recovery of such costs in any court of
competent jurisdiction. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 12; 1973 c.428 §31

725.315 Removal or suspension of
officer of licensee. If the licensing official
finds that any officer or director of a licensee
is dishonest, reckless or incompetent, or

refuses to comply with the law, rules of the
licensing official or any written requirements
or instructions of the licensing official, the
licensing official may issue a written order to
the individual removing or suspending him
from his office or position. 
1977 c.135 §521

725.320 Rules and regulations. ( 1) 

The licensing official may make such general
rules and regulations and such specific rul- 

ings, demands and findings as may be neces- 
sary for the proper conduct of the business
regulated by this chapter and the enforcement
of this chapter in addition to and not inconsis- 
tent with this chapter. 

2) All general rules and regulations shall

be filed by the licensing official with the
Banking Division in an indexed, permanent
book, with the effective date thereof suitably
indicated, and such book shall be a public
record. A copy of every general rule and
regulation shall be mailed by the licensing
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official to all licensees at their respective
licensed places of business at least 10 days
before the effective date thereof. 

725.330 Licensee's books and

records. Subject to the provisions of this
chapter, the licensing official may prescribe
the form of the books and records to be kept
by the licensee. All such books and records
shall be preserved and available for at least
two years after making the final entry on any
loan recorded therein. 

725.340 Limitations on interest and
other charges. ( 1) No licensee shall charge, 

contract for or receive any interest or consid- 
eration for loans, secured or unsecured, made

to any one person: 

a) For loans having an original unpaid
balance of $ 5,000 or less, at a greater rate
than three percent per month on that part of
the unpaid principal balance not in excess of

300, one and three -quarters percent per
month on that part of the unpaid principal
balance in excess of $300 but not in excess of

1,000, one and one - quarter percent per

month on that part of the unpaid principal
balance in excess of $1, 000 but not in excess of

5,000. 

b) For loans having an original unpaid
balance in excess of $5,000, at a greater rate
than one and one -half percent per month on
the entire unpaid principal balance. 

A licensee may compute interest or considera- 
tion for a loan on an interest - bearing or
actuarial basis either at the rates stated in
this subsection or at the single annual per- 
centage rate that will earn the same finance
charge as the rates stated in this subsection
when the debt is paid according to the agreed
terms and the calculations are made according
to the actuarial method, or may precompute
interest or consideration for loans originally
scheduled to be repaid in 62 months or less as
provided in subsection (5) of this section. 

2) This section does not limit the manner
of contracting for interest or consideration for
loans whether by means of add -on, discount or
otherwise if the rate of interest or considera- 
tion for loans does not exceed the rate author- 
ized in this section. However, the effect of
prepayment, default or deferral is governed by
subsection ( 5) of this section. In addition to
the interest or consideration for loans author- 
ized in this section no further or other charge
or amount whatsoever shall be directly or
indirectly charged, contracted for or received
for any examination, appraisal, investigation, 
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service, brokerage, commission, expense, fee
or bonus or other thing or otherwise, except: 

a) Fees actually and necessarily paid out
by the licensee to any public officer for filing
or recording or releasing in any public office
any instrument securing the loan, which fees
may be collected when the loan is made or at
any time thereafter. However, if such fees are
not so paid out within 60 days after being
charged or received, the licensee shall lose all
right thereto and shall return them to the
borrower or apply them toward the payment
of the borrower's debt to the licensee. 

b) Insurance premiums actually paid out
by the licensee to any insurance company or
agent duly licensed and authorized to do
business in this state for insurance for the
protection and benefit of the borrower written
in connection with any loan and the reason- 
able fee or premiums for real estate title
examinations or title insurance. 

c) Taxable costs and disbursements to
which the licensee may become entitled as
provided by law in connection with any action, 
suit or proceeding to collect a loan or to realize
on a security after default. 

d) For loans in excess of $5,000 that are
secured by an interest in real estate, reason- 
able fees for appraisals and surveys, if the
costs are incurred and paid to a person not a
salaried employe of the licensee. 

3) Any loan made under this chapter by
any licensee for which a greater rate of inter- 
est or consideration than is permitted by this
section has been charged, contracted for or
received, except as the result of accidental or
bona fide error, shall be void and the licensee
shall forfeit the right to collect or receive any
principal, interest or charges whatsoever on
such loan and shall return to the borrower
free from the licensee's lien any collateral
security which the borrower may have depos- 
ited with the licensee and release any lien
taken to secure such loan and such lien shall
be void. 

4) No licensee shall induce or permit any
person, nor any husband and wife jointly or
severally, to become obligated, directly or
contingently or both, under more than one
contract of loan made under this chapter at
the same time, for the purpose of obtaining a
higher rate of interest or other charge than
would otherwise be permitted by this section. 

5) When a precomputed loan contract is
originally scheduled to be repaid in 62 months
or less and requires repayment in substantial- 
ly equal or consecutive monthly instalments

of principal and interest combined, the inter- 
est or consideration may be precomputed, 
contracted for and earned on scheduled unpaid
principal balances at the monthly rates or
annual percentage rate provided in subsection
1) of this section on the assumption that all

scheduled payments will be made when due. 
In such cases, every payment may be applied
to the combined total of principal and precom- 
puted interest until the contract is fully paid, 
and the acceptance or payment of interest or
consideration on any loan made under the
provisions of this subsection shall not be
deemed to constitute payment, deduction or
receipt thereof in advance. Such precomputed
interest or consideration shall be subject to
the following adjustments: 

a) When a default of more than 10 days
in the payment of any scheduled instalment
occurs, the licensee may charge and collect a
default charge not exceeding five percent of
the unpaid amount of the instalment or $ 5, 

whichever is less. A default charge may be
collected only once on an instahnent, but may
be collected at the time it accrues or at any
time thereafter. No default charge may be
assessed with respect to an instalment which
is paid in full on or within 10 days after a
scheduled instalment due date when an earli- 
er maturing instalment or a default or defer- 
ral charge on an earlier maturing instalment
may not have been paid in full even though
all or part of such instalment payment is
applied to an earlier maturing instalment, or
a default or deferral charge. 

b) If the payment of all unpaid instal- 
ments is deferred one or more full months, 
and if the contract so provides, the licensee
may charge and collect a deferral charge not
exceeding the annual percentage rate previ- 
ously disclosed to the borrower pursuant to
the Federal Consumer Credit Protection
Truth -in- Lending) Act applied to the sum of

the instalments deferred for the length of the
deferral period. The deferral period is that
period in which no scheduled instalment is
required to be paid by reason of the deferral. 
Such charge may be collected at the time of
deferral or at any time thereafter. A deferral
charge may not be made for the deferral of
any instalment with respect to which a de- 
fault charge has been collected, unless the
default charge is deducted from the deferral
charge. If prepayment of the loan in full
occurs during the deferral period, in addition
to any other rebate which may be required, 
the borrower shall receive a rebate of the
portion of the deferral applicable to the unex- 
pired months in the deferral period, for which
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purpose a fraction of an unexpired month

exceeding 15 days shall be deemed to be a
month. 

c) Upon prepayment in full of the unpaid
balance of a precomputed loan, a rebate of
unearned interest or consideration shall be
made, computed by the " rule of seventy - 

eighths" or " sum of the digits" method as

defined by rule issued under ORS 725.320, for
that portion of the precomputed interest or
consideration applicable to the instalment
periods scheduled to follow the instalment due
date nearest the date of prepayment in full. 
The instalment periods scheduled to follow
such instalment due date shall be as deter- 
mined by the original contract, or, if appli- 
cable, as deferred. For purposes of rebate
computations, the instalment due date preced- 

ing the date of prepayment in full shall be
deemed to be the nearest if prepayment in full
occurs 15 days or less after that instalment
due date. If prepayment in full occurs more
than 15 days after the preceding instalment
due date, then the next succeeding instalment
due date shall be deemed to be nearest for this
per• 

6) If the borrower agrees to perform
certain duties to insure or preserve the collat- 
eral and fails to perform those duties, the

licensee may pay for the performance of those
duties and add the amounts he paid to the
unpaid principal balance. A charge may be
made for sums advanced, at a rate not exceed- 

ing that permitted under this section, comput- 
ed on the entire remaining unpaid principal
balance for the period of the loan actually
outstanding. 

7) The loan contract may provide that
after default and referral the borrower shall
pay the licensee for reasonable attorney fees
actually paid by the licensee to an attorney
not a salaried employe of the licensee. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 13; 1971 c.450 §3; 1973 c 428 §4; 

1975 c.567 §2; 1977 c.432 § 11

725.345 Open -end loan plan, interest
rate; additional charges, security for plan, 
necessary disclosures. ( 1) As used in this

section, " open -end loan plan" means a plan or
arrangement, the agreement for which ex- 

pressly states that it is made pursuant to this
section under which loans are made, and

under which: 

a) The licensee may permit the borrower
to obtain advances of money from the licensee
from time to time or the licensee may advance
money on behalf of the borrower from time to
time as directed by the borrower; 
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b) The unpaid principal balances and
interest or consideration are debited to an
account; 

c) Interest or consideration is calculated
on the unpaid principal balance in the borrow- 
er's account from time to time, which balance
may include all advances made on behalf of
the borrower and all charges authorized under

subsections (2) and (6) of ORS 725.340; and

d) The borrower has the privilege of

paying the unpaid balance in full or in instal- 
ments. 

2) A licensee may make loans under an
open -end loan plan and may contract for and
receive interest or consideration not exceeding
the rates set forth in subsection ( 1) of ORS
725.340. The applicable maximum rates of
interest or consideration for a loan account
established under an open -end loan plan shall
be determined by the amount of the unpaid
principal balance following an advance of
money directed by the borrower under the
plan, and thereafter interest or consideration
for the account shall be calculated at the same
rates until such time as a further advance of
money is made on the account or the account
is paid in full, whichever occurs first. 

3) The interest or consideration for a loan
account established under an open -end loan
plan shall be calculated by either of the fol- 
lowing methods: 

a) When the billing cycle is monthly, by
multiplying the appropriate monthly periodic
rate stated in subsection ( 1) of ORS 725.340
by the appropriate average daily principal
balance of the account in the monthly billing
cycle for which the charge is made. The aver- 
age daily principal balance is the sum of the
unpaid principal balance for each day during
a billing cycle divided by the number of days
in that billing cycle. 

b) When the billing cycle is monthly or
other than monthly, by multiplying the appro- 
priate daily periodic rates by the appropriate
unpaid principal balances occurring during
each day of the billing cycle and totalling the
results. A daily periodic rate is determined by
multiplying the appropriate rate stated in
subsection ( 1) of ORS 725.340 by 12 and
dividing the result by 365 or, in a leap year, 
by 366. 

4) In addition to the interest or considera- 
tion permitted under subsection ( 2) of this
section, a licensee may contract for and re- 
ceive on an open -end loan plan the additional
charges set forth in subsections ( 2) and (6) of
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ORS 725.340, subject to the following varia- 
tions: 

a) An additional single premium charge
in connection with an open -end loan plan for
insurance covering tangible personal property
or real property offered as security for a term
not exceeding three years, and title insurance
on any real property security, if provided at
the time of any advance, in an amount not
exceeding the unpaid balance, including any
advance then made; and

b) An additional charge may be made in
connection with an open -end loan plan for
insurance on the life of one or more borrowers
or for credit disability insurance to provide
indemnity for payments becoming due on the
indebtedness. The charge or premium there- 
for may be calculated in each billing cycle by
applying the current premium rate to the
unpaid balance in the account in a manner
consistent with the method selected by the
licensee for determining the applicable inter- 
est or consideration under subsection ( 3) of
this section. 

5) A security interest in personal prop- 
erty may be taken to secure an open -end loan
plan. A security interest in real property may
be taken to secure an open -end loan plan if
the unpaid balance of the loan account estab- 
lished under the open -end loan plan, including
any advance then made, is $ 2,000 or more. 

The licensee shall promptly release any real
estate security interest at the borrower's
request if the unpaid balance at the time of
any advance would be less than $ 2,000, in- 

cluding the advance. Any security interest in
real or personal property shall be promptly
released if there has been no outstanding
balance for 12 months and the borrower either
does not have or surrenders the unilateral
right to create a new outstanding balance or if
the account is terminated at the borrower's
request and paid in full. 

6) Subsections ( 1) and (3) of ORS 725.050, 
subsection (5) of ORS 725.340 and subsections
1), ( 2) and ( 4) of ORS 725.360 do not apply to

any open -end loan plan. 
7) The open -end loan plan agreement

shall contain the name and address of the
borrower and of the licensee and shall disclose
the date of the agreement, the method of
determining the minimum periodic payments
which will be required to pay the initial and
any subsequent advances, the conditions

under which interest or consideration may be
imposed, the method of determining the
principal balance upon which interest or
consideration may be imposed, the method of

determining the amount of the interest or
consideration, each periodic rate and the

range of balances to which each rate is appli- 
cable and the corresponding annual percent- 
age rate in accordance with Regulation Z
promulgated by the Board of Governors of the
Federal Reserve System under section 105 of
the Consumer Credit Protection Act ( 15
U.S.C. 1604), and the nature of the security
taken. 

8) Except for an account which the licen- 
see deems to be uncollectible or with respect to
which delinquency collection procedures have
been instituted, the licensee shall deliver or
cause to be delivered to the borrower, for each
billing cycle at the end of which there is an
unpaid balance of more than $1 in the account
or with respect to which interest or considera- 

tion is imposed, a statement setting forth the
outstanding balance in the account at the
beginning of the billing cycle, the nature, date
and amount of any subsequent advance dur- 
ing the cycle, the amounts and dates of pay- 
ments credited to the account during the
billing cycle, the amount of any interest or
consideration debited to the account during
the billing cycle, each periodic rate and the
range of balances to which each rate is appli- 
cable and the corresponding annual percent- 
age rate in accordance with Regulation Z
promulgated by the Board of Governors of the
Federal Reserve System under section 105 of
the Consumer Credit Protection Act ( 15
U.S.C. 1604), the balance on which the inter- 
est or consideration was calculated, a state- 

ment of how that balance was determined, the
closing date of the billing cycle, the outstand- 
ing balance on that closing date and the
minimum monthly payment required. 
1977 c.522 §21

725.350 [Repealed by 1971 c 232 §41

725.355 Prohibition against assign- 
ment of earnings for loan security. ( 1) As
used in this section, " earnings" means salary, 
wages or other compensation for service. 

2) No licensee shall take an assignment
of earnings as payment of or as security for
payment of a loan. An assignment in violation
of this subsection is unenforceable by the
assignee and revocable by the assignor. Noth- 
ing in this subsection is intended to prevent
an employe from authorizing deductions from
his earnings if the authorization is revocable. 

3) For the purpose of this section, a sale
of unpaid earnings made in consideration of

the payment of money to or for the account of
the seller of the earnings is considered a loan
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to him, secured by an assignment of earnings. 
1971 c.232 §31

725.360 Licensee's duty toward bor- 
rowers. Every licensee shall: 

1) Deliver to the borrower at the time any
loan is made a statement in the English
language showing in clear and distinct terms: 

a) The name and address of the borrower
and of the licensee. 

b) The amount and the date of the loan
and of its maturity or terms of payment. 

c) The rate of interest agreed upon or
consideration to be charged therefor. 

d) The nature of the security for the loan, 
if a lien on personal property has been taken
by chattel mortgage, bill of sale, collateral
agreement or otherwise. 

2) Make available to the borrower upon
request a plain and complete receipt for all
payments made on account of any such loan at
the time such payments are received by the
licensee, specifying the amount applied to
interest, if any, the date to which the interest
is paid, the amount applied to principal, if
any, and the unpaid principal balance of such
loan, if any remains. 

3) Permit payment to be mado, in advance
in any amount on any loan at any time. 

4) Upon repayment of the loan in full or
upon renewal thereof, mark indelibly such
obligation signed by the borrower with the
word " Paid" or " Renewed "; and in the case of

repayment in full shall release any mortgage, 

security agreement or UCC filing which no
longer secures a loan, restore any security or
collateral, return any assignment given by the
borrower and return to him the canceled note

evidencing the loan. 
Amended by 1971 c.450 §4; 1973 c.428 §5; 1975 c.567 § 31

725.370 Effect of conviction of charg- 

ing excessive interest. If any licensee or
agent, member, officer or employe thereof or
any other person is convicted by a court of
competent jurisdiction of having charged, 
contracted for or received any interest, fees or
other charges in excess of those permitted by
this chapter, then any such loan shall be void. 
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The licensee shall forfeit the right to collect or
receive any principal, interest or charges

whatsoever on such loan. He shall upon order
of the court return to the borrower free from
the  licensee's lien any collateral security
which the borrower may have deposited with
the licensee, release any lien taken to secure
such loan and shall pay into the county school
fund of the county wherein the loan was made
all payments of principal and interest and all
fees or other charges previously collected
under such loan. However, loans made or
payable in other jurisdictions and lawful
where made or payable, shall not be affected
by this chapter. 

725,380 [Repealed by 1975 c 544 §621

725.910 Civil penalties. ( 1) Any person
who violates: 

a) ORS 725.030 shall forfeit a civil pen- 
alty in an amount determined by the licensing
official of not more than $5,000. 

b) ORS 725.050, 725.060, 725.210, 

725.220, 725.340 or 725.355 shall forfeit a
civil penalty in an amount determined by the
licensing official of not more than $ 1, 000. In

addition, the licensing official may revoke the
license of any licensee who commits such
violation. 

c) Any rule adopted under ORS 725.320
shall forfeit a civil penalty in an amount
determined by the licensing official of not
more than $2,500. 

2) All money forfeited under subsection
1) of this section shall be paid to the State

Treasurer to be deposited in the State Bank- 
ing Fund. 

3) The civil penalty may be recovered in
an action brought thereon in the name of the
State of Oregon in any court of appropriate
jurisdiction. 

4) In any court action with respect to a
civil penalty, the court may review the pen- 
alty as to both liability and reasonableness of
amount. 

1975 c.544 §591

725.990 [ Amended by 1971 c. 743 § 424; repealed by
1975 c.544 §621
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