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HOURS OF LABOR

652.010 Declaration of public policy
concerning maximum working hours in
certain industries. ( 1) It is the public policy
of this state that no person shall be hired, nor
permitted to work for wages, under any condi- 
tions or terms, for longer hours or days of
service than is consistent with his health and

physical well -being and ability to promote the
general welfare by his increasing usefulness
as a healthy and intelligent citizen. 

2) It hereby is declared that the working
of any person more than 10 hours in one day
in any mill, factory or manufacturing estab- 
lishment or the working of any person more
than eight hours,- exclusive of one hour, more

or less, in one day, or more than 48 hours in
one calendar week in sawmills; planing mills, 
shingle mills and logging camps is injurious to
the physical health and well -being of such
person, and tends to prevent him from acquir- 

ing that degree of intelligence that is neces- 
sary to make him a useful and desirable
citizen of the state. 

652.020 Maximum working hours in
certain industries; overtime hours and

pay. ( 1) No person shall be employed in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establishment
in this state more than 10 hours in any one
day, or in sawmills, planing mills, shingle
mills and logging camps more than eight
hours, exclusive of one hour, more or less, in

one day or more than 48 hours in one calendar
week, except logging train crews, watchmen, 
firemen and persons engaged in the transpor- 
tation of men to and from work, and employes

when engaged in making necessary repairs, or
in the case of emergency where life and prop- 
erty are in imminent danger. However, em- 
ployes may work overtime not to exceed three
hours in one day, conditioned that payment be
made for said overtime at the rate of time and
one -half the regular wage. 

2) No employer shall require or permit

any person to work in any place mentioned in
this section more than the hours provided for

in this section during any day of 24 hours. No
employer shall-permit or suffer his overseer, 
superintendent or other agent to violate this

section. 

3) This section does not apply to persons
employed in the care of quarters or livestock, 

conducting messhalls, superintendence and

direction of work, or to the loading and remov- 
al of the finished forest product. 
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652.030 Enforcement of ORS 652.010
and 652.020 dependent upon like laws in
other states. ORS 652.010 and 652.020 shall

not be enforced in so far as they relate to
working hours in sawmills, planing mills, 
shingle mills and logging camps until laws
containing like provisions regarding working
hours in such places of employment in the
States of California, Washington and Idaho
become effective in each of those states re- 

spectively. 

652.040 Maximum working hours in
mines. ( 1) No person who operates any un- 
derground mine yielding gold or silver or
copper or lead or other metal shall permit or

require any person to work in such under- 
ground mine for more than eight hours in any
24 hours. The hours for such employment or

work day shall be consecutive excluding, 
however, any intermission of time for lunch or
meals. 

2) In the case of emergency, where life or
property is in imminent danger, persons may
work in such underground mines for a longer
time during the continuance of the exigency
or emergency. This section does not apply to
mines in their first stages of development, 
such as tunnel work to a length of 200 feet, or
shaft work to a depth of 150 feet, or to any
surface excavation. 

652.050 Definitions for ORS 652.050 to
652.080. As used in ORS 652.050 to 652.080: 

1) " Firefighter" means a person whose

principal duties consist of preventing or
combating fire or preventing loss of life or
property from fire. 

2) " Regularly organized fire department" 
means any organization maintained for the
purpose of preventing or combating fire and
employing one or more persons on a full -time
basis as firefighters. 

652.060 Maximum hours for firefight- 
ers. ( 1) ( a) No person employed on a full -time
basis as a firefighter by any regularly organ- 
ized fire department maintained by any
incorporated city, municipality or fire district
and that employs not more than three persons

on a full -time basis as firefighters shall be
required to be on regular duty with such fire
department more than 72 hours a week. 
However-, any affected incorporated city, 
municipality or fire district shall be deemed to
have complied with this paragraph and ORS
652.070 if the hours of regular duty required
of firefighters employed by it average not
more than 72 hours a week over each quarter
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of the fiscal year of the employing city, munic- 
ipality or fire district. 

b) No person employed on a full -time
basis as a firefighter by any regularly organ- 
ized fire department maintained by any
incorporated city, municipality or fire district
and that employs four or more persons on a
full -time basis as firefighters shall be re- 
quired to be on regular duty with such fire
department more than - 56 - hours a week. 
However, any affected incorporated city, 
municipality or fire district shall be deemed to
have complied with this paragraph and ORS
652.070 if the hours of regular duty required
of firefighters employed by it average not
more than 56 hours a week over each quarter

of the fiscal year of the employing city, munic- 
ipality or fire district. 

2) In the event this section shortens the
working hours of firefighters employed by any
such city, municipality or fire district, the
total wages of such firefighters shall not for
that reason be reduced. 
Amended by 1959 c.402 § 1; 1969 x581 §11

652.070 Overtime pay for firefighters. 
Every affected incorporated city, municipality
and fire district shall put into effect and
maintain a schedule of working hours re- 
quired of regularly employed firefighters
which shall not be in excess of the average
hours established by ORS 652.060, and which
shall provide for at least 48 consecutive hours

off -duty time in each seven -day period. Any
affected incorporated city, municipality or fire
district failing so to do shall pay to every
regularly employed firefighter as additional
pay for every hour of regular duty required of
and performed by him over and above the
average hours established by ORS 652.060 a
sum equivalent to one and one -half times his

regular hourly rate of pay at the time of such
default. However, in the case of replacement
for any authorized leave, vacation or tempo- 
rary vacancy, regularly employed firefighters
in a department employing four or more
persons on a full -time basis as firefighters
may elect to work-in excess of 56-hours a week
at not less than their regular hourly rate of
lay. 
Amended by 1959 c 402 §2, 1969 c 581 § 21

652.080 Computing hours on duty for
purposes of ORS 652.060 and 652.070. In

computing the average or total number of
hours a week for the purposes of ORS 652.060
and 652.070, authorized vacation or sick leave
time shall be considered as time on regular
duty. 
1959 c 402 §41

PAYMENT AND COLLECTION
OF WAGES GENERALLY

652.110 Medium of paying employes. 
No person engaged in any business or enter- 
prise of any kind in this state shall issue, in
payment of or as evidence of indebtedness for
wages due an employe, any order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness, unless the same is negotiable, 
and is payable without discount in cash on
demand at some bank or other established
place of business in the county where the
same is issued, and where a sufficient amount
of funds have been provided and are or will be
available for the payment of such order, check
or other acknowledgment of indebtedness
when due. Such person shall, upon presenta- 
tion and demand, pay any such order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness, in lawful money of the United
States. This section does not in any way limit
or interfere with the right of any employe to
accept from any person, as an evidence or
acknowledgment of indebtedness for wages
due him, a negotiable instrument, payable at
some future date with interest. An employer
and an employe may agree to authorize an
employer to deposit without discount wages
due the employe in the employe's account in a
bank, national bank, mutual savings bank, or
credit union or savings and loan association in
this state. 

Amended by 1975 c. 191 § 11

652.120 Establishing regular payday; 
pay intervals; agreement to pay wages at
future date. ( 1) Every employer shall estab- 
lish and maintain a regular payday, at which
date all employes shall be paid the wages due
and owing to them. 

2) Payday shall not extend beyond a
period of 35 days from the time that such
employes entered upon their work, or from the

date of the last regular payday. 
3) This section does not prevent the

employer from establishing and maintaining
paydays at more frequent intervals. 

4) This section does not prevent any
employer from entering into a written agree- 
ment, prior to the rendering of any services, 
and mutually satisfactory with his employes, 
as to the payment of wages at a future date. 
Amended by 1961 c.662 §11

652.130 Payment of wages due per- 
sons employed on piece work scale or

quantity basis in forest product indus- 
tries; furnishing statement of scale or
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quantity. Every person engaged in the busi- 
ness of logging or obtaining or securing saw - 
logs, poles, spars, piles, cordwood, posts or
other timber or forest products, or engaged in

the business of manufacturing sawlogs or
other timber into lumber, and employing one
or more employes on a piece work scale or

quantity wage basis, shall furnish such em- 
ployes at least once monthly, a statement of
scale or quantity produced by them to their
credit, and shall pay all wages or amounts so
earned and due and payable under the law

regulating paydays. 

652.140 Payment on termination of
employment; notice of intention to quit; 

forwarding wages by mail. ( 1) Whenever

an employer discharges an employe, or where

such employment is terminated by mutual
agreement, all wages earned and unpaid at

the time of such discharge shall become due

and payable immediately; provided, that in
establishments where perishable or seasonal

commodities are processed or handled, when
termination of employment results from

fluctuation in or cessation of the flow of such
perishable or seasonal commodities, such

termination shall not be regarded as a dis- 

charge or termination by mutual agreement, 
within the meaning of this section, but all
wages earned at the time of such termination

shall become due and payable not later than

the regular payday on which such wages
normally would be paid. 

2) When any such employe, not having a
contract for a definite period, shall quit his
employment, all wages earned and unpaid at

the time of such quitting shall become due
and payable immediately if such employe has
given not less than 48 hours' notice, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, of his

intention to quit his employment. If such
notice is not given, such wages shall be due

and payable 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays and holidays, after such employe has
so quit his employment. 

3) The employer shall forward such

wages by mail to any address designated by
the employe if the employe requests the

employer so to do. An employer may deposit
such wages without discount in the employe's
account in a bank, national bank, mutual
savings bank, credit union, or savings and
loan association in this state, provided the
employe and the employer have agreed to such
deposit. 

Amended by 1957 c 242 § l; 1975 c. 192 § 11

652.150 Civil penalty for failure to
pay wages on termination of employment. 
If an employer wilfully fails to pay any wages
or compensation of any employe who is dis- 
charged or who quits his employment, as

provided in ORS 652.140, then, as a penalty
for such nonpayment, the wages or compensa- 
tion of such employe shall continue from the
due date thereof at the same rate until paid or
until action therefor is commenced; provided, 
that in no case shall such wages or compensa- 
tion continue for more than 30 days; and
provided further, the employer may avoid
liability for the penalty by showing his finan- 
cial inability to pay the wages or compensa- 
tion at the time they accrued. 
Amended by 1957 c 244 § 11

652.160 Payment in case of dispute
over wages. In case of dispute over wages, 

the employer must pay, without condition, and
within the time set by ORS 652.140, all wages
conceded by him to be due, leaving the em- 
ploye all remedies he might otherwise have or
be entitled to as to any balance he might
claim. 

652.170 Payment of wages in case of

strikes. When any number of employes enter
upon a strike, the wages due such striking
employes at the time of entering upon such
strike shall not become due and payable until

the next regular payday after the commence- 
ment of such strike, if the time between the
commencement of the strike and the next

regular payday does not exceed a period of 30
days. If the intervening time does exceed the
period of 30 days, then the wages shall be due
and payable 30 days after the commencement
of the strike. 

652.180 (Repealed by 1953 x515 §21

652.190 Payment of wages to surviv- 

ing spouse. All wages earned, not exceeding
1, 000, which have been earned by an em- 

ploye within a period of three months prior to
the date of his death, shall upon his death, 
become due and payable to his or her surviv- 

ing spouse, to the same extent as if the wages
had been earned by such surviving spouse. 
Amended by 1971 c.448 § 11

652.200 Attorney fee in action for
wages. ( 1) In any action for the collection of
any order, check, memorandum or other

acknowledgment of indebtedness referred to

in ORS 652.110, if it is shown that the order, 
check, memorandum or other acknowledg- 
ment of indebtedness was not paid for a period

of 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays
and holidays, after presentation and demand
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for the payment thereof, the court shall, upon
entering judgment for the plaintiff, include in
such judgment, in addition to the costs and

disbursements otherwise prescribed by stat- 
ute, a reasonable sum for attorney's fees for
prosecuting said action, unless it appears that
the employe has wilfully violated his contract
of employment. 

2) In any action for the collection of
wages, if it is shown that the wages were not

paid for a period of 48 hours, excluding Satur- 
days, Sundays and holidays, after the same
became due and payable, the court shall upon
entering judgment for the plaintiff, include in
such judgment, in addition to the costs and

disbursements otherwise prescribed by stat- 
ute, a reasonable sum for attorney's fees for
prosecuting said action, unless it appears that
the employe has wilfully violated his contract
of employment. 

Amended by 1957 c.242 §21

652210 Definitions for ORS 652.210 to
652.230. ( 1) " Employer" means any person
employing one or more employes, but does not
include the state, or any municipal corpora- 
tion or political subdivision of the state hav- 

ing in force a civil service system based on
merit, or the Federal Government. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who, 
otherwise than as a copartner of the employer
or as an independent contractor, renders

personal services wholly or partly in this state
to an employer who pays or agrees to pay such
individual at a fixed rate. However, where
services are rendered only partly in this state, 
an individual is not an employe unless his
contract of employment has been entered into, 

or payments thereunder are ordinarily made
or to be made, within this state. 

3) " Wages" means all compensation for

performance of service by an employe for an
employer whether paid by the employer or
another person, including cash value of all
compensation paid in any medium other than
cash. 

4) " Rate" with reference to wages means

the basis of compensation for services by an
employe for an employer and includes com- 
pensation based on the time spent in the
performance of such services, or on the num- 

ber of operations accomplished, or on the
quantity produced or handled. 

5) " Unpaid wages" means the difference
between the wages actually paid to an em- 
ploye and the wages required under ORS
652.220, to be paid to such employe. 
1955 c. 193 § 11

652.220 Prohibition against discrimi- 
natory wage rates based on sex; employer
not to discriminate against employe - 

complainant. ( 1) No employer shall: 

a) In any manner discriminate between
the sexes in the payment of wages for work of
comparable character, the performance of

which requires comparable skills. 

b) Pay wages to any employe at a rate
less than that at which he pays wages to his
employes of the opposite sex for work of
comparable character, the performance of
which requires comparable skills. 

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not
apply where: 

a) Payment is made pursuant to a seniori- 
ty or merit system which does not discrimi- 
nate on the basis of sex. 

b) A differential in wages between em- 
ployes is based in good faith on factors other
than sex. 

3) No employer shall in any manner
discriminate in the payment of wages against
any employe because the employe has filed a
complaint in a proceeding under ORS 652.210
to 652.230, or has testified, or is about to
testify, or because the employer believes that
the employe may testify, in any investigation
or proceedings pursuant to ORS 652.210 to
652.230 or in a criminal action pursuant to
ORS 652.210 to 652.230. 
1955 c 193 §21

652230 Employe has right of action
against employer for unpaid wages and
damages. ( 1) Any employe whose compensa- 
tion is at a rate that is in violation of ORS
652.220 shall have a right of action against
his employer for the recovery of: 

a) The amount of the unpaid wages to
which the employe is entitled for the one year

period preceding the commencement of the
action; and

b) An additional amount as liquidated
damages equal to the amount referred to in
paragraph (a) of this subsection. 

2) In addition to any judgment awarded
to the plaintiff, the court shall allow reason- 

able attorney's fees to be taxed as costs in any
judgment recovered. 

3) The action for the unpaid wages and

liquidated damages may be maintained by one
or more employes on behalf of themselves or

other employes similarly situated. 

4) No agreement for compensation at a
rate less than the rate to which such employe



HOURS; WAGES; RECORDS

is entitled under ORS 652.210 to 652.230 is a

defense to any action under ORS 652.210 to
652.230. 
1955 c 193 §31

652.240 Paying wage lower than that
required by statute or contract prohibi- 
ted. Where any statute or contract requires
an employer to maintain the designated wage

scale, it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a
lower wage while purporting to pay the wage
designated by statute or by contract. 
1957 c243 §11

652.250 Public employe's wages as

affected by absence to engage in search or
rescue operation. A public employe who

takes part without pay in a search or rescue
operation at the request of any law enforce- 
ment agency, the Aeronautics Administrator, 
the United States Forest Service or any local
organization for civil defense, shall not forfeit
his wages while engaged in an operation for a
period of not more than five days for each
operation. If an operation continues for more

than five days, the employing agency may
allow the employe to continue to take part in
the operation and to receive his wages for as

long as the employing agency considers prop- 
er. 

1959 c 46 §11

ENFORCEMENT OF WAGE
CLAIMS

Generally) 

652.310 Definitions of employer and
employe. As used in ORS 652.310 to 652.405, 
unless the context requires otherwise: 

1) " Employer" means any person who in
this state, directly or through an agent, en- 
gages personal services of one or more em- 

ployes and includes any producer - promoter, 
and any successor to the business of any
employer, or any lessee or purchaser of any
employer's business property for the continu- 
ance of the same business, so far as such
employer has not paid employes in full. "Em- 

ployer" does not include: 

a) The United States or any state, county, 
municipal corporation, town or other govern- 

mental division. 

b) Trustees and assignees in bankruptcy
or insolvency, and receivers, whether appoint- 
ed by federal or state courts, and persons
otherwise falling under the definition of
employers so far as the times or amounts of

their payments to employes are regulated by
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laws of the United States, or regulations or
orders made in pursuance thereof. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who
otherwise than as copartner of the employer

or as an independent contractor renders

personal services wholly or partly in this state
to an employer who pays or agrees to pay such
individual at a fixed rate, based on the time
spent in the performance of such services or

on the number of operations accomplished, or

quantity produced or handled. However: 

a) Where services are rendered by an
independent contractor, an individual shall

not be an employe under this section unless

the individual is a musician or supporting
technical person. 

b) Where services are rendered only
partly in this state, an- individual shall not be
an employe under this section unless his
contract of employment has been entered into, 

or payments thereunder are ordinarily made
or to be made, within this state. 

Amended by 1963 c 348 § 1; 1975 c 488 § 11

652.320 General definitions for ORS
652.310 to 652.405. As used in ORS 652.310
to 652.405, unless the context requires other- 
wise: 

1) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor. 

2) " Court" means a court of competent

jurisdiction and proper venue to entertain the

proceeding referred to in ORS 652.310 to
652.405. 

3) " Demand" means a written demand for

payment made during business hours on an
employer or any appropriate representative of

an employer by an employe or by some person
having and exhibiting due authority to act in
said employe's behalf. 

4) " Pay" means to deliver or tender

compensation at a previously designated and
reasonably convenient place in this state, 
during working hours, in legal tender or by
order or negotiable instrument payable and

paid in legal tender without discount on

demand in this state or by deposit without
discount in an employe's account in a bank, 
national bank, mutual savings bank, credit
union or savings and loan association in this

state, provided the employe and the employer

have agreed to such deposit. 

5) " Payment" means the delivery, tender
or deposit of compensation in the medium of
payment described in subsection ( 4) of this

section. Such delivery, tender or deposit shall
be made to or for the account of the employe
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concerned or to or for the account of any
person having due authority to act in said
employe's behalf. 

6) " Production" means a live presentation

organized for the economic gain of any person
or organization utilizing the personal services
of one or more musicians and supporting
technical personnel. 

7) " Producer- promoter" means a person, 
firm, association or corporation which super- 
vises, finances or attempts to organize a
production in this state other than: 

a) The proprietor of a commercial estab- 
lishment with a Class "A" or Class `B" dispen- 

ser's license or tavern staging a production on
his own premises; 

b) Any nonprofit organization staging a
production for the sole benefit of the organiza- 
tion, its members or the general public; or

c) A producer of motion pictures, televi- 
sion shows, or commercials. 

8) " Rate of payment" means the rate at
which payment is made or is to be made in the
manner described in this section. 

9) " Wage claim" means an employe's

claim against his employer for compensation
for his own personal services. 
Amended by 1975 c. 190 § 1, 1975 c 488 §21

652.325 Permit required for
producer - promoter; application; bond; 
exemption. ( 1) Except as provided in subsec- 

tion (4) of this section, any producer - promoter
intending to do business in this state shall
first obtain a permit from the commissioner. 
An application for such permit shall contain

the following information: 
a) The applicant's name and address; 

b) A description of the financing for the
production; 

c) The type of production, the number of
artists and technical personnel to be employed
and the time and place of the production; and

d) Such other information as the commis- 

sioner may deem necessary for the protection
of persons employed in the production. 

2) A permit shall not be issued unless the
applicant has posted a bond with the commis- 

sioner as required by subsection ( 2) of ORS
652.340. 

3) The commissioner may fix permit fees
not to exceed $ 20 to provide for the cost of

processing the applications. 

4) A permit shall not be required of any
producer - promoter who: 

a) Has been a producer - promoter in this

state for the three -year period immediately
preceding the time when a permit application
would otherwise be required and has had no
successful wage claims allowed against him

during such period; or
b) Has sufficient assets in this state

which, if executed upon, would equal the

amount of bond required by subsection ( 2) of
ORS 652.340. 
1975 c 488 §41

652.330 Powers and duties of com- 

missioner in enforcing wage claims; par- 
ties to wage claim action. ( 1) The commis- 
sioner shall enforce ORS 652.310 to 652.405

and to that end he may: 

a) Investigate and attempt equitably to
adjust controversies between employers and
employes in respect of wage claims or alleged
wage claims. 

b) Take assignments, in trust, of wage
claims or judgments thereon, liens and other

instruments of security for payment of wages
for the assigning employes, spouse, parent or
legal guardian, having a right to the wages of
such employe. All such assignments shall run
to the commissioner and his successors in

office. The commissioner may sue employers
on wage claims and other persons or property
liable for any payment thereof thus assigned
with the benefits and subject to existing laws
applying to actions by employes for collection
of wages. He is entitled to recover, in addition

to other costs, such sum as the court or judge

may adjudge reasonable as attorney's fees. He
may join in a single proceeding and in one
cause of action any number of wage claims
against the same employer. If the commis- 
sioner does not prevail in such action, he shall

pay all costs and disbursements from the
Bureau of Labor Account. 

c) Make complaint in a criminal court for

any violation of any law providing for pay- 
ment of wages and imposing a penalty for its
violation as for a crime. 

2) The assigning wage claimant shall not
be regarded as a party to any action brought
by the commissioner under this section for
any purpose. 

Amended by 1957 c 465 §6; 1963 c.258 §2; 1967 c.218 § 11

652.335 Liability of liquor dispenser
licensee for wage claims of individuals, 

not his employes but working in his kitch- 
en or dining facilities. ( 1) A person operat- 

ing a commercial establishment where food is
cooked and served who holds a dispenser's
license issued under ORS 472. 110 is liable for
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all valid wage claims of individuals employed

in the kitchen facilities and dining space of
such establishment who are not employed by
such person, if the wage claims cannot be
enforced against the employer of such individ- 

uals. The commissioner may in such a case
proceed under ORS 652.310 to 652.405 against

the person operating the establishment as if
that person had employed the individuals

assigning the wage claims. 
2) This section does not impose any

liability not otherwise imposed by law for
compensation for the performance of an
individual's personal services in excess of a
period of 60 days, nor does it subject the

person operating an establishment described
in this section to criminal penalties for viola- 

tion of any law providing for payment of
wages. 

1961 c 475 §21

652.340 Requiring bond of employer. 
1) If upon investigation by the commissioner, 

after taking assignments of any wage claims
under ORS 652.330, it appears to the commis- 

sioner that the employer is representing to his
employes that he is able to pay wages for their
services and that the employes are not being
paid for their services, the commissioner may
require the employer to give a bond in such
sum as the commissioner deems reasonable
and adequate in the circumstances, with

sufficient surety, conditioned that the employ- 
er will for a definite future period not exceed- 

ing six months conduct his business and pay
his employes in accordance with the laws of
Oregon. 

2) Upon receipt of a permit application

filed by a producer - promoter who is required
to obtain a permit under ORS 652.325, the
commissioner shall require the producer - 

promoter to give a bond in an amount not less
than the sum of the wages to be paid to all

musicians and supporting technical personnel
to be employed in the production. Such bond

shall be conditioned on the payment of any
wages due any musicians and supporting
technical personnel upon the cessation of such

production or upon the subrogation of another

for the liability of such producer - promoter, if
such subrogation is satisfactory to the com- 
missioner. 

3) If within 10 days after demand for
such bond the employer fails to provide the

same, the commissioner may commence a suit
against the employer in the circuit court of
appropriate jurisdiction to compel him to

furnish such bond or cease doing business
until he has done so. The employer shall have

M

the burden of proving the amount thereof to
be excessive. 

4) If the court finds that there is just

cause for requiring such bond and that the
same is reasonably necessary or appropriate to
secure the prompt payment of the wages of

the employes of such employer and his compli- 
ance with ORS 652.310 to 652.405, the court

shall enjoin such employer from doing busi- 
ness in this state until the requirement is met, 

or shall make other, and may make further, 
orders appropriate to compel compliance with

the requirement. 

Amended by 1975 c 488 §51

652.350 Notice to employer of wage

claim; penalty for failure to respond; com- 
missioner's cause of action. Upon being
informed of a wage claim against an employer

or former employer, the commissioner shall, if

such claim appears to be just, immediately
notify the employer or former employer, of
such claim by mail. If the employer or former
employer, fails to pay the claim or to make
satisfactory explanation to the commissioner
of his failure to do so, within 30 days there- 
after, the employer or former employer shall

be liable to a penalty of 10 percent of that
portion of the claim found to be justly due. 
The commissioner shall have a cause of action
against the employer or former employer for

the recovery of such penalty, and the same
may be included in any subsequent action by
the commissioner on said wage claim, or may
be exercised separately after adjustment of
such wage claim without court action. 

652.355 Prohibition against discrimi- 

nation because of wage claim. No employ- 
er shall discharge or in any other manner
discriminate against any employe because: 

1) The employe has made a wage claim. 

2) The employe has caused to be institut- 

ed any proceedings under or related to ORS
652.310 to 652.405. 

3) The employe has testified or is about to

testify in any such proceedings. 
1975 c 397 §21

652360 Contract exempting employer
from liability or penalty not valid; excep- 
tion. No employer may by special contract or
any other means exempt himself from any
provision of or liability or penalty imposed by
ORS 652.310 to 652.405 or by any statute
relating to the payment of wages, except in so
far as the commissioner in writing approves a
special contract or other arrangement between

an employer and one or more of such employ- 
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er's employes. The commissioner shall not
give his approval unless he finds that such

contract or arrangement will not prejudicially
affect the interest of the public or of the

employes involved, and he may at any time
retract such approval, first giving the employ- 
er not less than 30 days' notice in writing. 

652.370 Jurisdiction; proceedings in
name of the state. ( 1) Justice courts and
district courts shall have concurrent jurisdic- 
tion with circuit courts over all cases men- 
tioned in ORS 652.330 or 652.340. 

2) The commissioner shall prosecute all
legal proceedings on his own official relation, 
but in the name of the State of Oregon. 

652.380 Remedies are cumulative; 

effect of payment or tender by employer
after proceeding commenced. ( 1) The

remedies provided by ORS 652.310 to 652.405
shall be additional to and not in substitution
for and in no manner impair other remedies

and may be enforced simultaneously or con- 
secutively so far as not inconsistent with each
other. 

2) No payment or tender after the filing
of a criminal complaint or commencement of

any proceeding by the commissioner shall
affect the liability therein of an employer for
expenses, or prevent such employer from

being subject to fine or forfeitures, or to the
giving of bond under ORS 652.340. 

652.390 Deduction of costs from wage

claims by commissioner. The commissioner
may deduct and retain any moneys collected
on each wage claim as costs, attorney's fees or
penalties; and the amount deducted shall be

paid into the General Fund after deducting
actual costs and disbursements incurred in the
prosecution thereof. 

Amended by 1957 c 465 §7; 1967 c 218 §21

652.400 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account; payment to persons
entitled thereto. Subject to ORS 652.390, all
moneys collected on judgments pursuant to

ORS 652.330, including fines, shall be paid to
the commissioner and, together with all other
sums collected under ORS 652.310 to 652.405, 

be deposited in the State Treasury to become
part of a special trust account to be known as
the Wage Collection Account, which account

hereby is established in the State Treasury. 
All moneys in the Wage Collection Account

hereby are appropriated continuously for the
purpose of payment to the persons entitled
thereto. 

Amended by 1957 c 465 §81

652.405 Disposition of wages collect- 

ed by commissioner where payment can- 
not be made to person entitled thereto. ( 1) 

The Labor Commissioner shall attempt for a
period of not less than seven years to make
payment of wages collected under ORS
652.310 to 652.405 to the person entitled
thereto. 

2) Wages collected by the commissioner
under ORS 652.310 to 652.405 and remaining
unclaimed for a period of more than seven
years from the date of collection shall, within
30 days after June 30 of each year, be forfeit- 
ed to the state and shall be paid by the Labor
Commissioner to the Division of State Lands
for the benefit of the Common School Fund of
this state. The division shall issue a receipt

for the money to the Labor Commissioner. The
person entitled to the wages or his heirs or

personal representatives may reclaim the
wages paid into the Common School Fund
pursuant to this section within the time and
in the manner provided for estates which have
escheated to the state. 

1957 c 465 § 151

652.410 [ Repealed by 1977 c 618 §21

Reciprocal) 

652.420 Definitions for ORS 652.420 to
652.445. ( 1) As used in ORS 652.420 to
652.445: 

a) " Labor bureau" includes any agency, 
bureau, commission, board or officer in anoth- 
er state which performs functions substantial- 

ly corresponding to those of the Labor Com- 
missioner. 

b) " Labor Commissioner" means the

Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor. 

2) The definitions of ORS 652.310 and

652.320 shall apply to ORS 652.420 to
652.445, but nothing contained in those sec- 
tions shall be construed to preclude reciprocal
enforcement of wage claims under ORS
652.420 to 652.445, where the services of the
employe were rendered in another state. 
1953 c 256 § 11

652.425 Authority of Labor Commis- 
sioner to enter into agreements with other
states for reciprocal enforcement of wage
claims. The Labor Commissioner may enter
into agreements with the corresponding labor
bureau of another state for the reciprocal
enforcement and collection of wage claims, if

the other state has a reciprocal statute similar
to ORS 652.420 to 652.445 or otherwise au- 
thorizes the reciprocal enforcement and collec- 
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tion of wage claims in a manner substantially
similar to ORS 652.420 to 652.445. 
1953 c 256 §21

652.430 Assigning wage claim to la- 
bor bureau of another state. Whenever a

wage claim is assigned to the Labor Commis- 
sioner in trust pursuant to ORS 652.330 and
the employer or former employer upon whom

demand for payment is made by an employe in
this state has removed himself to another

state, the Labor Commissioner may reassign
the wage claim, with the approval of the

employe, to the labor bureau of the other
state, if there is in effect at the time a valid
reciprocal agreement under ORS 652.425
between the Labor Commissioner and the

other state. 

1953 c 256 §31

652.435 Accepting assignments of

wage claims from labor bureau of another
state. Whenever a labor bureau in another
state, which has entered into a reciprocal
agreement under ORS 652.425 with the Labor
Commissioner and the agreement is in effect

at the time, takes an assignment of a wage

claim from an employe residing in the other
state for services rendered in the other state
to an employer or former employer who has
removed himself to Oregon, the Labor Com- 

missioner may take an assignment of the
wage claim from such labor bureau and en- 
force the collection thereof as provided in the
applicable provisions of ORS 652.330 to
652.405. 
1953 c 256 §41

652.440 Retention by commissioner
or labor bureau of percentage of funds
collected. Any agreement concluded by the
Labor Commissioner shall make provision for
the transfer of funds collected pursuant to

ORS 652.420 to 652.445 and for retention by
the Labor Commissioner or the labor bureau
in the other state of percentile amounts from

the sums collected to defray the administra- 
tive costs of ORS 652.420 to 652.445. Amounts
authorized pursuant to this section to be used

to defray the administrative costs of ORS
652.420 to 652.445 shall be credited to the
Bureau of Labor Account and shall be used

only for the administration of ORS 652.420 to
652.445. 
1953 c 256 §5, 1957 c 465 §91

652.445 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account. Except as provided in
ORS 652.440, all moneys collected pursuant to

ORS 652.420 to 652.445, including fines and
costs, shall be paid to the Labor Commissioner
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and be deposited in the State Treasury in the
Wage Collection Account established by ORS
652.400. 
1953 c256 §6, 1957 c 465 § 101

PRIORITY OF WAGE CLAIMS

652.510 Payment of wage claims by
receivers, assignees or court; filing state- 
ment of wages due. ( 1) When the property of
any company, cooperative association, corpo- 

ration, firm or person is seized upon by any
process of any court of this state, or where
their business or property is placed in the
hands of a receiver, or whenever any assign- 
ment for the benefit of creditors under the
laws of this state is made, then in all such

cases the debts owing to laborers or employes, 
which have accrued by reason of their labor or
employment to an amount not exceeding $ 600
to each employe for work or labor performed

within 90 days next preceding the seizure or
transfer or assignment of such property, or
appointment of said receiver shall be consid- 
ered and treated as preferred debts, and such
laborers or employes shall be preferred credi- 
tors, and shall first be paid in full, and if

there is not sufficient to pay them in full, 
their claims shall be paid pro rata, after

paying costs. 

2) Any such laborer or employe desiring
to enforce his claim for wages under ORS
652.510 to 652.570 shall present a statement

under oath showing the amount due after
allowing all just credits and setoffs, the kind
of work for which said wages are due and
when performed, to the officer or person

charged with the execution of said process, 

within 10 days after the seizure thereof on

any execution or writ of attachment, or to
such receiver or assignee within 30 days after

the same may have been placed in the hands
of any such assignee or receiver. 
Amended by 1977 c 288 § 11

652.520 Form of statement of wage

claim. The statement to be presented under

ORS 652.510 shall be substantially in the
following form: 

State of Oregon ) 
ss. 

County of ) 
I, , being first duly sworn, say

that is indebted to me in the sum of
dollars over and above all just credits and

setoffs, on account of work, services and labor

performed by me for the said , upon
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the following terms and conditions, to wit: 
That I was employed by the said on

or about the day of , 19—, to
work (here describe character of work) at the
rate of dollars per month (or for a reason- 
able consideration for such work), and that

under said contract I began to work on the
day of , 19—, and between that

day and the day of , 19—, I
performed work, services and labor days, 

amounting to the sum of dollars ( or the
reasonable value of dollars); that the said

has paid me on account of the said
labor the sum of dollars, and no more; 
and that there is now due me, the sum of
dollars, over and above all just credits and
offsets; and that during the 90 days next
preceding the day of , 19 —, I had
performed days' labor under said con- 

tract, amounting to the sum of dollars (or

that said services were reasonably worth the
sum of dollars); and that, applying all the
credits above stated, there is due me from the
said , on account of labor for the said
90 days, the sum of dollars, and no more; 
claim as due me. 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this
day of , 19 —. 

652.530 Serving copy of statement; 
report to court; order of payment. ( 1) The

person claiming the benefit of ORS 652.510 to
652.570 shall serve upon the debtor, or upon
the officer, assignee or receiver for the debtor

where personal service cannot be had, a copy
of the verified claim. Thereafter the person
receiving such statement shall report the

amount of such claim to the court having
jurisdiction of such officer, receiver or assign- 
ee, together with a statement of all costs

occasioned by the seizure of said property or of
such receivership or assignment. 

2) The court shall order such claims to be
paid after payment of the costs and expenses

of such seizure and sale, and the costs and

disbursements which have accrued before the

filing of the notice under ORS 652.510 and of
assignment or receivership, out of the pro- 
ceeds of the sale of the property so seized, 
assigned, or placed in the hands of an assignee
or receiver. 

652.540 Exception to claim; legal ac- 

tion on claim ( 1) Any person interested may
contest all or any part of a claim mentioned in
ORS 652.530, by filing in said court excep- 
tions thereto, supported by affidavit, within
10 days from the filing of the report provided
in ORS 652.530. Thereupon the claimant

shall be required to establish his claim, by
judgment in such court, before any part
thereof shall be paid. 

2) When any claim is excepted to as
provided in this section, the person desiring to
establish the same shall file in said court, 
within 30 days after the claim is excepted to, 
his verified complaint as in an action at law

and serve it upon the person excepting, or his
attorney of record, and upon the principal
debtor for the claim, or his attorney of record. 

3) Thereafter the cause shall proceed to
final judgment between the parties as an
action at law. 

652.550 Payment of claims prerequi- 
site to discharge of attachment or execu- 
tion, assignee or receiver, or to abandon- 
ment of seizure or sale. No attachment or
execution shall be discharged nor shall the

seizure or sale of property seized be aban- 
doned, or assignee or receiver discharged, 

until every claimant presenting his claim
under ORS 652.510 to 652.570 has been paid
in full, or pro rata, as provided in ORS
652.510, or has consented to such discharge or
abandonment. 

652.560 Costs and attorney fees. 
Whenever any claim has been excepted to
under ORS 652.540 and the claim is estab- 

lished by judgment and the court rendering
the judgment is satisfied that the exceptions
were made without probable cause or that the

person so excepting could have ascertained
with reasonable diligence that such claim was
true and just, the claimant in such action
shall be entitled to have the costs of such

action, including such sum as the court may
adjudge reasonable as attorney's fees, en- 
forced by execution against the person object- 
ing as a judgment debtor in the first instance. 
However, if the court does not so find, or if
execution, when issued, is returned nulla
bona, then in either case such costs and attor- 
ney's fees shall be ordered paid out of the
proceeds of the property sold next after the
payment of all claims presented under ORS
652.510 to 652.570. 

652.570 Priority of wage claims over
transfers in payment of preexisting obli- 
gations; payment and subrogation of

transferee. ( 1) Every sale or transfer of any
property in payment of any preexisting debt, 
or obligation, and every mortgage or lien
created or executed to secure the payment of a

preexisting debt, shall be void as against
laborers or employes of such vendor, mortga- 
gor, or other lien debtor, to the extent of their
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claims for wages, not exceeding the sum of
600 to each of said laborers which may be

owing for work or labor performed within 90
days next preceding such sale and transfer or
the execution of such lien or mortgage, if the

laborer or employe claiming the benefit of this
section: 

a) Within 10 days after the actual deliv- 

ery of the property or within 30 days after the
recording of any such deed, transfer, mortgage
or lien, gives such owner or holder of such lien
or such vendee notice of his claim substantial- 

ly in the form and verified as provided in ORS
652.520, which notice shall be served by
delivering it or a copy thereof to such owner or
holder of such lien or such vendee in person
or, in case he cannot be found within the

county in which such lien or deed may be of
record after diligent inquiry, by delivering the
notice or a copy thereof to the clerk of the
county court for such owner or holder of such
lien or such vendee; and

b) Within 30 days commences a suit to

establish the claim and prosecute it to judg- 
ment. 

2) The vendee or mortgage or lien holder, 

or his assignee, may pay such claim and
thereby be subrogated to the rights and lien of
such laborer or employe, as against the ven- 
dor, principal debtor or mortgagor, and as

against subsequent mortgagees or other

subsequent lien creditors. 

3) This section does not apply to any
mortgage or lien given in renewal of a preex- 

isting mortgage or lien. 
Amended by 1977 c.288 §21

652.580 Cost of preparation of lien

notice as part of claim. Whenever any
person files a notice or claim of lien under

ORS 652.510 to 652.570, he may add to the
amount of his claim, as contained in the

notice, the sum specified in ORS 87.910 as
costs for the preparation of the lien notice. 
Such amount thereupon shall become part of, 

the lien against the property described in the
notice. However, this section does not apply to
any lien claim paid in full prior to the expira- 
tion of the time allowed by law for the filing
of the notice thereof, notwithstanding the
notice was filed before such expiration date. 

STATEMENTS RELATING TO

EMPLOYE'S SALARY AND
DEDUCTIONS THEREFROM

Generally) 
652.610 Itemized statement of

amounts and purposes of deductions re- 
quired. ( 1) All persons, firms, partnerships, 
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associations, cooperative associations, corpora- 

tions, municipal corporations, the state and its
political subdivisions, except the Federal

Government and its agencies, employing, in
this state, during any calendar month one or
more persons, and withholding for any pur- 
pose, any sum of money from the wages, 
salary or commission earned by an employe, 
shall provide such employe on regular pay- 
days with a statement sufficently itemized to
show the amount and purpose of such deduc- 

tions made during the respective period of
service which said payment covers. 

2) The itemized statement shall be fur- 
nished to the employe at the time payment of

wages, salary or commission is made, and may
be attached to or be a part of the check, draft, 
voucher or other instrument by which pay- 
ment is made, or may be delivered separately
from such instrument. 

3) No employer may withhold, deduct or
divert any portion of an employe's wages
unless: 

a) The employer is required to do so by
law; 

b) The deductions are for medical, surgi- 

cal or hospital care or service, for the em- 
ploye' s benefit, and are recorded in the em- 
ployer's books; 

c) The employe has voluntarily signed an
authorization for a deduction; 

d) The deduction is pursuant to an indi- 

vidual employment contract with the employ- 
er; or

e) The deduction is authorized by a collec- 
tive bargaining agreement to which the
employer is a party. 

4) Nothing in this section shall be con- 
strued as prohibiting the withholding of
amounts authorized in writing by the employe
to be contributed by him to charitable organi- 
zations; nor shall this section prohibit deduc- 

tions by check -off dues to labor organizations
or service fees, where such is not otherwise

prohibited by law; nor shall this section di- 
minish or enlarge the right of any person to
assert and enforce a lawful setoff or counter- 

claim or to attach, take, reach or apply an
employe's compensation on due legal process. 
IAmended by 1977 c 618 § I I

652.620 Statement of yearly compen- 
sation on request of employe. All persons, 
firms, partnerships, associations, cooperative
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associations, corporations, municipal corpora- 

tions, the state and its political subdivisions
thereof, except the Federal Government and

its agencies employing, in this state, five or
more persons, during any calendar month, 
upon the request of any employe or former
employe, and upon five days' notice to said
employer shall give to such employe, not later
than March 10 of each year, a statement

showing the total compensation paid by such
employer to such employe, or former employe, 

during the previous calendar year. 

Agricultural Workers) 

652.630 Definitions for ORS 652.635
and 652.640. As used in ORS 652.630 to
652.640, unless the context requires other- 
wise: 

1) ` Bonus" means an increase in the
agreed rate of compensation based on the

amount of time worked during a perishable
agricultural product season or based on the
amount of a perishable agricultural product

that is harvested. 

2) " Labor contractor" means a farm labor
contractor as defined in ORS 658.405. 

3) " Producer" means a person who raises
perishable agricultural products. 

1969 c 572 § 11

Note: 652 630 to 652 640 were enacted into law by
the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made a
part of ORS chapter 652 by legislative action See the
Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explana- 
tion

652.635 Growers to post certain terms
of employment. Every producer, or his
agent, who employs a labor contractor to

provide a working crew for harvesting perish- 
able agricultural products or who offers a

bonus to those persons who harvest perishable
agricultural products shall cause to be con- 

spicuously posted and maintained on the
premises where the agricultural products are
to be harvested a notice that states: 

1) A description of the terms and condi- 

tions of any bonus offered, including the
manner of determining when the bonus is
earned. 

2) That portion of the labor contractor's
compensation that is based on the amount of
work done by each employe of the labor con- 
tractor. 

1969 c 572 § 21

Note: See note under 652 630

652.640 Itemized statement of com- 
pensation and deductions required. Each

time a person who harvests perishable agri- 
cultural products receives compensation

payments at a regular pay period or upon
termination of employment, the producer, or
his agent, or, if the person is an employe of a
labor contractor, the labor contractor shall
furnish to such person a written statement
itemizing the total payment and each deduc- 
tion therefrom. 
1969 c 572 § 31

Note: See note under 652 630

FEES OR DEDUCTIONS FOR
MEDICAL CARE

652.710 Fees collected by employer
for medical care contracts are trust funds; 
priority on liquidation. ( 1) All moneys
collected by an employer from employes or
retained from their wages for the purpose of

providing for or furnishing to such employes
medical and surgical attention, hospital care, 

X -rays, ambulance, nursing or any related
service or care contingent upon sickness or

injury pursuant to a contract are trust funds
and shall be placed and kept in separate
accounts by the employer and shall promptly
be paid over to the contractor. Such funds
shall in no event become a part of the assets of
the employer. 

2) If the employer fails to place and keep
such funds in separate accounts and pay them
over to the contractor or if the funds become
commingled with the funds of the employer
and the employer becomes bankrupt, insolvent

or goes through voluntary or involuntary
liquidation, or if a receiver is appointed to

operate or liquidate the affairs of the employ- 
er, the funds not paid to the contractor shall
be entitled to the same preference as given to
claims of the State Accident Insurance Fund, 
as provided in ORS 656.562. 
Formerly 655 1301

652.720 Prohibited use by employer
of fees for medical care contracts with- 
held from employes' wages. ( 1) No employ- 
er shall retain, directly or indirectly, from
employes or from their wages any part of the
money collected or retained under ORS
652.710 for his own use or benefit. 

2) No employer shall apply, directly or
indirectly, any portion of the money so collect- 
ed to his cost of compensation or to the cost of
any medical, surgical or hospital care and
attention for employes on account of injuries
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sustained by them in the course of their
employment. 

Formerly 655 110] 

PERSONNEL RECORDS

652.750 Inspection of records by em- 
ploye; furnishing copy to employe; dispo- 
sition of record on termination of employ- 
ment; charge for copies. ( 1) As used in this

section: 

a) " Employer" has the meaning for that
term provided in ORS 656.005. 

b) " Personnel records" do not include

records of an individual relating to the convic- 
tion, arrest or investigation of conduct consti- 

tuting a violation of the criminal laws of this
state or another state or the United States, 
confidential reports from previous employers

or records maintained in compliance with ORS
351.065. 

2) At the request of an employe, his

employer shall provide reasonable opportunity
for the employe to inspect, at the place of his
employment or place of work assignment, 

those personnel records of the employe which

are used or have been used to determine the
employe's qualification for employment, 

promotion, additional compensation or em- 

ployment termination or other disciplinary
action. At the request of the employe, his
employer shall furnish a certified copy of such
records. 

3) Upon termination of employment, the

employer shall keep the terminated employe's
personnel records for not less than 60 days. At
the request of the employe, the employer shall

furnish a certified copy of such records within
the 60 -day period. 

4) An employer may make only such
charge for the services referred to in subsec- 
tions ( 2) and ( 3) of this section as is reason- 

ably calculated to recover the actual cost of
providing the service. 
1977 c 861 § 21
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PENALTIES

652.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of

subsection ( 2) of ORS 652.020 is punishable, 

upon conviction, by a fine of not less than $50
nor more than $500. Every day's violation is
deemed a separate offense. 

2) Any person, body corporate, general
manager or employer who violates ORS
652.040 or causes ORS 652.040 to be violated

is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $ 50, nor more than $ 300, or by
imprisonment in the county jail for not less
than 30 days, nor more than three months, or
both. 

3) Violation of ORS 652.110 or 652. 120 is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
more than $500. 

4) Violation of ORS 652.130 by any
employer is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not more than $ 500 or by imprison- 
ment in the county jail for not more than 60
days, or by both. Justice courts, district courts
and circuit courts shall have concurrent
jurisdiction in all cases arising under this
subsection. 

5) In addition to the civil damages re- 
coverable under ORS 652.230, violation of
ORS 652.210 to 652.230 is a misdemeanor. 

6) The violation of ORS 652.240 is a
misdemeanor. 

7) Violation of ORS 652.355 is a Class C
misdemeanor. 

8) Violation of ORS 652.610 or 652.620 is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $ 10 nor more than $ 100 for each

offense. 

9) Wilful violation of ORS 652.635 or

652.640 by a producer or his agent is a misde- 
meanor. 

10) Violation of any of the provisions of
ORS 652.710 or 652.720 by any employer is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $50 nor more than $500. 
Subsection ( 5) enacted as 1955 c 193 § 4, subsection ( 6) 

enacted as 1957 c.243 §2, subsection (9) formerly 655.990, 
subsection (8) enacted as 1969 c 572 §4; 1975 c 397 §51
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