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473.010 Definitions. For the purposes
of this chapter, unless the context clearly
indicates a different meaning:

(1) *“Alcoholic beverages” means and
includes any fortified wine or similar ferment-
ed vinous liquor and fruit juice, or other
fermented beverage fit for beverage purposes,
containing more than one-half of one percent
of alcohol by volume and not more than 21
percent of alcohol by volume.

(2) “Commission” means the
Liquor Control Commission.

(3) “Malt beverages” means and includes
beer, ale, porter, stout and similar beverages
obtained by the alcoholic fermentation of an
infusion or decoction of barley malt and hops
in drinking water and containing more than
one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume
and not more than 14 percent of alcohol by
volume.

Oregon

(4 “Manufacturer” means every person
who produces, brews, ferments, manufactures
or blends an alcoholic beverage or a malt
beverage, or both, within this state, or who
imports or causes to be imported into this
state an alcoholic beverage or a malt beverage
for use, sale or distribution within the state.
[Amended by 1953 ¢.120 §6; 1974 s.s. c.4 §8]

473.020 Administration of chapter by
commission. The commission shall adminis-
ter this chapter, and shall prescribe forms and
make such rules and regulations as it deems
necessary to enforce its provisions.

473,030 Tax on malt and alcoholic
beverages. (1) A tax hereby is imposed upon
the privilege of engaging in business as a
manufacturer or as an importing distributor
of malt beverages at the rate of $2.60 per
barrel of 31 gallons on all such beverages.

(2) A tax hereby is imposed upon the
privilege of engaging in business as a manu-
facturer or as an importing distributor of
alcoholic beverages at the rate of 65 cents per
gallon on all such beverages.

(3) In addition to the tax imposed by
subsection (2) of this section, alcoholic bever-
ages containing more than 14 percent of
alcohol by volume and not more than 21
percent of alcohol by volume shall be taxed at
10 cents per gallon.

(4) The rates of tax imposed by this sec-
tion upon malt beverages apply proportionate-
ly to quantities in containers of less capacity
than those quantities specified in this section.

(5) The taxes imposed by this section shall
be measured by the volume of beverages
produced, purchased or received by any manu-
facturer. If the beverage remains unsold and
in the possession of the producer at the plant
where it was produced, no tax imposed or
levied by this section is required to be paid
until such beverage has become sufficiently
aged for marketing at retail, but this subsec-
tion shall not be construed so as to alter or
affect any provision of this chapter relating to
tax liens or the filing of statements.

(6) A tax credit or credits up to the
amount of $200,000 in any year shall be
allowed against the taxes imposed by subsec-
tion (1) of this section where a taxpayer has in
the applicable tax year purchased or contract-
ed to purchase items of plant, machinery or
equipment for the use by the taxpayer within
the State of Oregon in the manufacture of

malt beverages.
[Amended by 1974 s.s. c.4 §9; 1975 c.424 §3; 1977 c 856
§19]

473.040 Additional tax on beverages
manufactured out of state. (1) If the laws of
another state, territory or nation, or the rules
and regulations of any administrative body
therein:

(a) Authorize or impose any tax, fee or
charge upon the right to transport or import
into such state any beer, malt liquor or wine
manufactured in this state;

(b) Authorize or impose any different
warehousing requirements or higher ware-
housing fees or inspection fees upon any beer,
malt liquor or wine manufactured in this state
and imported into or sold in such state, than
are imposed upon beer, malt liquor and wine
manufactured in such state; or

(c) Impose any higher fee for the privilege
of selling or handling beer, malt liquor or
wine manufactured in this state than is
imposed for the privilege of handling or
selling the same kind of beverages manufac-
tured within such state or any other state,

the commission shall levy and collect similar
taxes, fees and charges from licensees or
persons selling in Oregon, beer, malt liquor
and wine manufactured in such other state,
territory or nation.

(2) The taxes, fees and charges authorized
in this section are in addition to the taxes,
fees and charges authorized to be assessed and
collected by the commission under this chap-
ter.
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473.045 Tax on grapes or grape prod-
ucts used by wineries. (1) A tax is hereby
imposed upon grapes of the vinifera varieties,
whether true or hybrid, harvested in or im-
ported into this state and used or sold for use
in a winery licensed under ORS chapter 471
for making table wine.

(2) The amount of the tax shall be $10 per
ton of grapes.

(3 An equivalent tax is imposed upon
grape products imported and used or sold for
use in a winery licensed under ORS chapter
471 for making table wine. Such tax shall be
$10 per ton of grapes used to produce the
imported grape product. The tax shall be
determined on the basis of one ton of grapes
for each 150 gallons of wine made from such
grape products.

(4) In the case of grapes harvested in this
state such tax shall be levied and assessed
against the person selling or providing such
grapes to the licensed winery and deducted
from the price paid to such person.

(5) In the case of grapes or grape products
imported into this state, such tax shall be
levied and assessed to the licensed winery at
the time of purchase by the winery or impor-
tation, whichever is later.

(6) The tax imposed by this section shall
be paid by the licensed winery and collected
by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission in
the same manner and subject to the same
powers as taxes imposed and collected under
ORS chapter 473.

[1977 ¢.690 §5]

Note: 473.045 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 473 or any series therein by legislative
action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.

473.050 When beverage tax not im-
posed. In computing any privilege tax im-
posed by ORS 473.030 or 473.040:

(1) No malt beverage or alcoholic beverage
is subject to tax more than once.

(2) No tax shall be levied, collected or
imposed upon any malt beverage or alcoholic
beverage sold to the commission or exported
from the state.

(3) No tax shall be levied, collected or
imposed upon any malt beverage given away
and consumed on the licensed premises of a
brewery licensee, or sold to or by a voluntary
nonincorporated organization of army, air
corps or navy personnel operating a place for
the sale of goods pursuant to regulations

promulgated by the proper authority of each
such service.

(4) No tax shall be levied, collected or
imposed upon any malt beverage or alcoholic
beverage determined by the commission to be
unfit for human consumption and unsaleable.

(5) Until July 1, 1990, no tax shall be
levied, collected or imposed upon the first
25,000 gallons of alcoholic beverage sold
annually in Oregon by a manufacturer of
alcoholic beverages producing less than
100,000 gallons annually.

(6) Until July 1, 1990, no tax shall be
levied, collected or imposed upon the first
25,000 gallons of alcoholic beverage sold
annually in Oregon from a United States
manufacturer of alcoholic beverages produc-
ing less than 100,000 gallons annually.
[Amended by 1971 ¢.158 §1; 1977 c. 856 §20]

473.060 Payment of taxes; refunds.
The privilege taxes imposed by ORS 473.030
and 473.040 shall be paid to the commission.
The taxes covering the periods for which
statements are required to be rendered by
ORS 473.070 shall be paid before the time for
filing such statements expires or, as concerns
alcoholic beverages, on the 20th day of the
month after such beverages have been with-
drawn from federal bond. If not so paid, a
penalty of 10 percent and interest at the rate
of one percent a month or fraction of a month
shall be added and collected. The commission
may refund any tax payment imposed upon or
paid in error by any licensee, and may waive
the collection or refund the payment of any
tax imposed and collected on alcoholic liquor
subsequently exported from this state, sold to
a federal instrumentality or to the commis-
sion, or determined by the commission to be
unfit for human consumption and unsaleable.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.241 §1; 1971 c.158 §2]

473.070 Statements by manufacturers
as to quantities produced. On the 20th day
of each month, every manufacturer shall
render to the commission a statement of the
quantity of alcoholic beverages and malt
beverages produced, purchased or received by
him during the preceding calendar month.
[Amended by 1967 c.52 §1]

473.080 Estimate by commission
when statement not filed or false state-
ment filed. If any manufacturer fails, neg-
lects or refuses to file a statement required by
ORS 473.070 or files a false statement, the
commission shall estimate the amount of
alcoholic beverages and malt beverages pro-
duced, purchased or received by the manufac-
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turer and assess the privilege tax thereon.
Such manufacturer shall be estopped from
complaining of the amount so estimated.
[Amended by 1967 c.52 §2]

473.090 Lien created by the tax. The
privilege tax required to be paid by ORS
473.030 and 473.040 constitutes a lien upon,
and has the effect of an execution duly levied
against, any and all property of the manufac-
turer, attaching at the time the beverages
subject to the tax were produced, purchased or
received, as the case may be, and remaining
until the tax is paid or the property sold in
payment thereof. The lien created by this
section is paramount to all private liens or
encumbrances.

473.100 Seizure of property; notice of
sale. (1) Whenever any manufacturer is
delinquent in the payment of the privilege tax
provided for in ORS 473.030 and 473.040, the
commission or its duly authorized representa-
tive shall seize any property subject to the tax
and sell, at public auction, property so seized,
or a sufficient portion thereof to pay the
privilege tax due, together with any penalties
imposed under ORS 473.060 for such delin-
quency and all costs incurred on account of
the seizure and sale.

(2) Written notice of the intended sale and
the time and place thereof, shall be given to
such delinquent manufacturer and to all
persons appearing of record to have an inter-
est in the property, at least 10 days before the
date set for the sale. The notice shall be
inclosed in an envelope addressed to the
manufacturer at his last-known residence or
place of business in this state, if any; and in
the case of any person appearing of record to
have an interest in such property, addressed
to such person at his last-known place of
residence, if any. The envelope shall be depos-
ited in the United States mail, postage pre-
paid. In addition, notice shall be published for
at least 10 days before the date set for such
sale, in a newspaper of general circulation
published in the county in which the property
seized is to be sold. If there is no newspaper of
general circulation in such county, the notice
shall be posted in three public places in such
county for the 10-day period. The notice shall
contain a description of the property to be
sold, a statement of the amount of the privi-
lege taxes, penalties and costs, the name of
the manufacturer and the further statement
that, unless the privilege taxes, penalties and
costs are paid on or before the time fixed in
the notice for the sale, the property, or so

much thereof as may be necessary, will be sold
in accordance with law and the notice.

473.110 Sale of property; disposal of
proceeds. At the sale, the property shall be
sold by the commission or by its duly author-
ized agent in accordance with law and the
notice. The commission shall deliver to the
purchaser a bill of sale for the personal prop-
erty, and a deed for any real property so sold.
The bill of sale or deed vests title in the pur-
chaser. The unsold portion of any property
seized under ORS 473.100 may be left at the
place of sale at the risk of the manufacturer.
If upon any such sale, the money received
exceeds the amount of all privilege taxes,
penalties and costs due the state from the
manufacturer, the excess shall be returned to
the manufacturer, and his receipt therefor
obtained. However, if any person having an
interest in or lien upon the property has filed
with the commission, prior to the sale, notice
of his interest or lien, the commission shall
withhold any such excess pending a determi-
nation of the rights of the respective parties
thereto by a court of competent jurisdiction. If
the receipt of the manufacturer is not avail-
able, the commission shall deposit such excess
money with the State Treasurer, as trustee for
the owner, subject to the order of the manu-
facturer, his heirs, successors or assigns.

473.120 Commission and Attorney
General may both bring action. (1) The
commission shall immediately transmit notice
of the delinquency mentioned in ORS 473.100
to the Attorney General. He shall at once
proceed to collect all sums due to the state
from the manufacturer under this chapter by
bringing suit against the necessary parties to
effect forfeiture of the bonds of the manufac-
turer, reducing any deficiency to judgment
against the manufacturer.

(2) The remedies of the state provided in
ORS 473.090 to 473.120 are cumulative and
no action taken by the commission or Attor-
ney General constitutes an election on the
part of the state or any of its officers to pursue
one remedy to the exclusion of any other
remedy provided in this chapter.

473.130 Estimate by commission as
prima facie evidence. In any suit brought to
enforce the rights of the state, the assessment
made by the commission under ORS 473.080,
or a copy of so much thereof as is applicable in
such suit, duly certified by the commission
and showing unpaid privilege taxes assessed
against any manufacturer, is prima facie
evidence:
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(1) Of the assessment of the privilege tax
and the delinquency thereof.

(2) Of the amount of the privilege tax,
interest, penalties and costs due and unpaid to
the state.

(3) That the manufacturer is indebted to
this state in the amount of such privilege tax,
interest and penalties therein appearing
unpaid.

(4) That the law relating to assessment
and levy of such privilege tax has been fully
complied with by all persons required to
perform administrative duties under this
chapter.

473.140 Records to be kept by manu-
facturers and purchasers. Every manufac-
turer shall keep a complete and accurate
record of all sales of aleoholic beverages and
malt beverages, a complete and accurate
record of the number of gallons imported,
produced, purchased, manufactured, brewed
or fermented, and the date of importation,
production, purchase, manufacturing, brewing
or fermentation. The records shall be in such
form and contain such other information as
the commission may prescribe. The commis-
sion, by rule or regulation, may require the
delivery of statements by distributors to
purchasers, with alcoholic beverages and malt
beverages, and prescribe the matters to be
contained therein. Such records and state-
ments shall be preserved by the distributor
and the purchaser respectively, for a period of
two years, and shall be offered for inspection
at any time upon oral or written demand by
the commission or its duly authorized agents.

473.150 Inspection of manufacturer’s
records; records to be kept for prescribed
period. (1) The commission may, at any time,
examine the books and records of any manu-
facturer and may appoint such auditors,
investigators and other employes as it deems
necessary to enforce its powers and perform
its duties under this section.

(2) Every manufacturer shall maintain
and keep, within this state for two years, all
records, books and accounts required by this
chapter.

473.160 Records to be kept by per-
sons transporting liquor. Every person
transporting alcoholic beverages or malt
beverages within this state, whether such
transportation originates within or without
this state, shall keep a true and accurate
record of all such beverages transported. The
record shall include ingredients which may be

used in the manufacture, production, brewing
or fermentation of the beverages, showing
such facts with relation to such beverages,
their ingredients and their transportation, as
the commission may require. Such records
shall be open to inspection by the representa-
tive of the commission at any time. The com-
mission may require from any such person
sworn returns of all or any part of the infor-
mation shown by such records.

473.170 Failure to pay tax or to main-
tain records. (1) No manufacturer shall:

(a) Fail to pay the privilege tax prescribed
in ORS 473.030 and 473.040 when it is due; or

(b) Falsify the statement required by ORS
473.070.

(2) No person shall:

(a) Refuse to permit the commission or
any of its representatives to make an inspec-
tion of the books and records authorized by
ORS 473.140 to 473.160;

(b) Fail to keep books of account pre-
scribed by the commission or required by this
chapter;

(c) Fail to preserve such books for two
years for inspection of the commission; or

(d) Alter, cancel or obliterate entries in
such books of account for the purpose of
falsifying any record required by this chapter
to be made, maintained or preserved.

[Amended by 1967 c.52 §3]

473.180 Applicability to interstate
and foreign commerce. None of the provi-
sions of this chapter apply to commerce with
foreign nations or commerce with the several
states, except in so far as the same may be
permitted under the Constitution and laws of
the United States.

473.190 State has exclusive right to
tax liquor. No county or city of this state
shall impose any fee or tax, including occupa-
tion taxes, privilege taxes and inspection fees,
in connection with the production, sale, mix-
ing, serving, transporting, delivering or
handling of malt or other aleoholic liquors.
[Amended by 1961 c 259 §4; 1967 ¢.577 §8]

473.200 [Repealed by 1967 ¢.577 §10]

473.210 [Amended by 1957 c.445 §2; 1965 c.141 §1,
repealed by 1967 ¢.577 §10]

473.220 [Repealed by 1967 ¢ 577 §10]
473.990 Penalties. (1) Violation of

subsection (1) of ORS 473.170 is punishable
upon conviction by a fine not exceeding $500
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or by imprisonment in the county jail not fine not exceeding $1,000 or by imprisonment

exceeding six months, or both. in the county jail not exceeding one year, or
(2) Violation of subsection (2) of ORS both.

473.170 is punishable upon conviction by a
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