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DEFINITIONS; GENERAL
PROVISIONS

471.005 “Alcoholic liquor” and *“com-
mission” defined. (1) “Alcoholic liquor”
means any alcoholic beverage containing more
than one-half of one percent alcohol by vol-
ume, and every liquid or solid, patented or
not, containing alcohol, and capable of being
consumed by a human being.

(2) “Commission,” as used in this chapter,
means the Oregon Liquor Control Commis-
sion.

[Amended by 1965 ¢.280 §1]

471.010 “Hotel” defined. “Hotel”
means every building or other structure kept,
used, maintained, advertised or held out to the
public to be a place where food is served and
sleeping accommodations are offered for pay
to transient guests, in which 20 or more rooms
are used for sleeping accommodations of such
guests and having one or more dining rooms
where meals are served to such guests; such
sleeping accommodations and dining rooms
being conducted in the same building, or
buildings in connection therewith, and such
structures being provided, in the judgment of
the commission, with adequate and sanitary
kitchen and dining room equipment and
capacity, and having employed therein such
number and kinds of servants and employes
as the commission may, by regulation, pre-
scribe for preparing, cooking and serving
suitable food for its guests.

471.015 *“Restaurant” and “premises”
defined. (1) “Restaurant” means an area
occupied and set apart from adjoining prop-
erty by boundaries sufficiently apparent to
indicate the approximate limits of occupation,
with adequate and sanitary kitchen and

dining room equipment, and catering to and
serving bona fide meals to the general public.

(2) “Premises” or “licensed premises” used
in connection with a licensed location means
the area where refreshments or food are
served at the address for which the license is
issued.

[Amended by 1975 ¢.207 §1]

471.017 Inclosure of restaurant or
licensed premises. Nothing in this chapter
requires any restaurant or licensed premises
to be inclosed by wall, fence or any other
means.

[1975 ¢.207 §4]

Note: 471.017 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 471 or any series therein by legislative

action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.

471.020 “Table wine” and “dessert
wine” defined. For the purpose of this chap-
ter, unless required otherwise by context:

(1) “Table wine” (including light wine,
light grape wine, light red wine, light white
wine and natural wine) means any wine
produced as a natural fermentation of sound,
ripe grapes, fruits or berries, containing not to
exceed 14 percent of alecohol by volume and
produced in all respects in conformity with the
laws of the United States and the regulations
of the Aleohol Tax Unit of the Bureau of
Internal Revenue.

(2) “Dessert wine” (including appetizer
wine) means any wine containing in excess of
14 percent of alcohol by volume and produced
in all respects in conformity with the laws of
the United States and the regulations of the
Aleohol Tax Unit of the Bureau of Internal
Revenue.

471.025 “To sell” and “sale” defined.
(1) Whenever the words “sell” or “to sell” refer
to anything forbidden under the Liquor Con-
trol Act and relate to aleoholic liquor, they
include:

(a) To solicit or receive an order.
(b) To keep or expose for sale.

() To deliver for value or in any way
other than purely gratuitously.

(d) To peddle.
(e) To keep with intent to sell.
(f) To traffic in.

(@ For any consideration, promised or
obtained, directly or indirectly, or under any
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pretext or by any means, to procure or allow to
be procured for any other person.

(2) The word “sale” includes every act of
selling as defined in subsection (1) of this
section.

471.027 Short title. This chapter shall
be known and may be cited as the “Liquor
Control Act”.

[Amended by 1965 ¢ 165 §1]

471.030 Purpose of Liquor Control
Act. (1) The Liquor Control Act shall be
liberally construed so as:

(a) To prevent the recurrence of abuses
associated with saloons or resorts for the
consumption of alcoholic beverages.

(b) To eliminate the evils of unlicensed
and unlawful manufacture, selling and dispos-
ing of such beverages and to promote temper-
ance in the use and consumption of alcoholic
beverages.

(c) To protect the safety, welfare, health,
peace and morals of the people of the state.

(2) Consistent with subsection (1) of this
section, it is the policy of this state to encour-
age the development of all Oregon industry.

471.035 Certain products excepted
from liquor laws. No provision of the Liquor
Control Act shall, by reason only that such
product contains aleoholic liquor, prevent the
sale of any perfume, lotion, tincture, varnish,
dressing fluid, extracts, acid vinegar, or of any
official medicinal or pharmaceutical prepara-
tions, or of any patent or proprietary medicine
intended solely for medicinal purposes.

471.040 General powers of the com-
mission. The commission has the powers and
duties specified in this chapter, and also the
powers necessary or proper to enable it to
carry out fully and effectually all the purposes
of this chapter. It shall make such rules and
regulations pertaining to natural and fortified
wines as will prevent the importation and sale
in Oregon of blended, rectified, adulterated or
low-quality wines. The jurisdiction, supervi-
sion, powers and duties of the commission
extend to any person who buys, sells, manu-
factures, imports or transports any alcoholic
liquor within this state. The commission may
sue and be sued.

471.045 Liquor laws supersede and
repeal inconsistent charters and ordi-
nances. The Liquor Control Act, designed to
operate uniformly throughout the state, shall

be paramount and superior to and shall fully
replace and supersede any and all municipal
charter enactments or local ordinances incon-
sistent with it. Such charters and ordinances
hereby are repealed.

PURCHASER’S
QUALIFICATIONS AND
IDENTIFICATION CARDS

471.105 Purchaser’s qualifications.
Before being qualified to purchase alcoholic
liquor from the commission, a person must be
over 21 years of age.

[Amended by 1961 ¢.687 §5; 1967 ¢.577 §1; 1971 ¢ 159 §1]

471.110 [Amended by 1961 ¢.259 §3; repealed by
1967 ¢ 577 §10)

471.115 Limitations on purchasing
may be imposed. The commission may limit
the quantity of aleoholic liquor purchased at
any one time by any person. It may limit the
amount of purchases within any length of
time so as effectually to prevent the resale of
such liquors.

471.120 [Repealed by 1967 ¢ 577 §10]

471.125 [Amended by 1967 ¢.577 §2, repealed by
1971 ¢ 159 §91

471.130 Requiring statement of age or
identification card from certain purchas-
ers. (1) All licensees and permittees of the
commission, before selling or serving alcoholic
liquor to any person about whom there is any
reasonable doubt of his having reached 21
years of age, shall require such person to
produce his identification card issued under
ORS 471.140. However, if the person has no
identification card, the permittee or licensee
shall require such person to make a written
statement of age and furnish evidence of his
true age and identity.

(2) The written statement of age shall be
on a form furnished or approved by the com-
mission, including but not limited to the
following information:

Date ———

I am 21 years of age or over.

Signature

Evidence in support of age and identity:
Driver’s License No. (—)
State
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Military Record No.

Other

(Fill in license or card number of any two or
more of above).

[Amended by 1955 ¢ 525 §1; 1961 c.687 §4, 1967 c.171 §1,
1967 ¢ 577 §7]

471.135 Faise statement of age; state-
ment of age as defense. (1) No person shall
make a written statement of age under ORS
471.130 that is false in whole or in part, or
produce any evidence that would falsely
indicate his or her age.

(2) A written statement of age, and the
cards and other documents which were exhib-
ited to the licensee at the time the statement
was made, the numbers of identification of
which are entered in writing on the state-
ment, may be offered as evidence in defense of
any administrative or criminal prosecution for
sale or service of alcoholic liquor to a person
not having reached 21 years of age.

[Amended by 1955 ¢ 525 §2, 1967 ¢.53 §1]

471.140 Identification cards; form;
issuance. (1) A person 21 years of age or
older may make application to the commission
for an identification card to establish his age
in purchasing alcoholic liquor. Written appli-
cation shall be made upon a form prescribed
by the commission, including information as
to the name, residence and age of the appli-
cant and such other pertinent information as
the commission may require. The application
shall be accompanied by two identical photo-
graphs of the applicant taken within one year
prior to the date of application and a fee of $2.
An application for a duplicate card shall be
accompanied by a fee of $5. If the commission
is satisfied that the applicant is a qualified
person to obtain an identification card and the
photographs meet the requirements of the
commission, it shall issue the identification
card. All such identification cards shall carry
an individual serial number and an expiration
date identical with the 26th birthday of the
applicant.

(2) The identification card shall be in such
form as the commission shall prescribe and
shall include the name, residence and age of
the applicant and shall bear his picture. The
card shall be countersigned with the signature
of the applicant and may contain such other
information as the commission may require
properly to identify the holder. The back of
the identification card shall bear the state-
ment that it is unlawful for a person under 21
years of age to possess alcoholic liquor or to

falsely represent his age to obtain alcoholic
liquor and that it is unlawful for any person
not entitled thereto to have a card issued to
him or for any person to have loaned to him or
for any person to loan or to permit another
person to use his card to procure alcoholic
liquor and penalties are provided therefor.

(3) The identification card shall be made
of such material that the information appear-
ing thereon cannot be altered and shall be
encased in laminated plastic or other similar
material.

[1961 ¢.687 §2, 1963 .93 §3; 1971 ¢ 433 §1]

471.143 False information; loan, mis-
use of card or improper possession pro-
hibited. (1) No person shall give any false or
fictitious information or make any false
statements in any application under ORS
471.140 for an identification card.

(2) No person shall:

(a) Loan to any other person or permit use
by any other person of the identification card
issued to him under ORS 471.1490; or

(b) Use the identification card issued to
another person under ORS 471.140.

(3) No person under 21 years of age shall
have in his possession with the intention of
using the card for the purpose for which it is
issued the identification card issued to anoth-
er person under ORS 471.140.

[1963 ¢ 93 §2, 1967 ¢ 569 §1, 1971 ¢ 159 §2]

471145 Use of card. Except as pro-
vided in ORS 471.130, any person 21 years of
age and under 26 years of age shall submit
the identification card issued to him under
ORS 471.140 whenever he purchases alcoholic
liquor.

[1961 ¢.687 §§3, 6; 1963 c 93 §4]

471.150 Revocation of card. (1) The
commission shall have the power to revoke the
identification card of any person (a) if such
card is used by himself or by some other
person in the furtherance of an act in viola-
tion of the laws of the State of Oregon or any
ordinance of a city of the State of Oregon or
(b) if the identification card is found in the
possession of a person who has the intention
of using the card for the purpose for which it
was issued but the person is under 21 years of
age and is not the person to whom the card
was issued by the commission.

(2) Any agent or employe of the commis-
sion or any peace officer of the state, as an
incident of arrest or of taking into custody of a
juvenile, where either results from misuse of
the identification card, may seize the identifi-
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cation card, pending official action by the
commission.
[1961 ¢.687 §7; 1963 ¢.93 §5; 1967 ¢.569 §2; 1971 c.159 §31

LIQUOR LICENSES

471.205 Necessity of license to brew
or distill liquor. No person shall brew,
ferment, distill, blend or rectify any alcoholic
liquor unless licensed so to do by the commis-
sion. However, the Liquor Control Act does
not apply to the making or keeping of natural-
ly fermented wines and fruit juices or beer in
the home, for home consumption and not for
sale.

471.210 Commission’s licensing
duties; bonds and recommendations re-
quired. (1) The commission shall provide for
the licensing of persons and incorporated
cities within the state to manufacture, distrib-
ute, take orders for and sell spirits, wines,
beer and other alcoholic liquors. Every appli-
cant for a brewery, winery, farmer’s winery,
distillery or wholesale license shall give, and
at all times maintain on file with the commis-
sion, a bond with corporate surety authorized
to transact business in this state. The bond
shall be in form and amount acceptable to the
commission, shall be payable to the commis-
sion and conditioned that such applicant will
pay any fine imposed for any violation of any
provision of the Liquor Control Act and that
he will pay all license fees, privilege taxes,
taxes on alcoholic liquors, together with
penalties and interest thereon, levied or
assessed against him under statutes relating
to the importation, manufacture, distribution,
sale or taxation of alcoholic liquors in the
State of Oregon.

(2) The commission may require of every
applicant for a license the recommendation in
writing of the county court in the event the
place of business of the applicant is outside an
incorporated city, and of the city council if the
place of business of the applicant is within an
incorporated city. The commission may take
such recommendation into consideration
before granting or refusing the license. The
applicant shall pay to such recommending
authority a fee determined by the governing
body of the recommending authority, not to
exceed $25, for each application for a license.
[Amended by 1967 ¢.359 §693; 1977 ¢ 518 §3]

471.215 Licenses issuable. The licen-
ses described in ORS 471.220 to 471.289 may
be issued by the commission, subject to its

regulations and restrictions and the provisions
of the Liquor Control Act.
[Amended by 1957 ¢ 223 §11]

471.217 Winery licensee authorized to
sell to consumers. (1) Notwithstanding
subsection (2) of ORS 471.220 and ORS
471452, a winery licensee manufacturing
wine from grapes or other fruit produced in
this state may sell naturally fermented wine
containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol
by volume directly to consumers.

(2) Sales of wine pursuant to subsection
(1) of this section shall be at a price not less
than the prevailing retail price in the market
area as prescribed by the commission.
[1967 ¢.173 §2; 1974 s.s. c.4 §1; 1977 ¢.332 §3]

471.220 Brewery and winery licenses.
(1) A brewery license shall allow the manufac-
ture, importation, storage, transportation,
wholesale sale and distribution to licensees of
the commission, and the export of malt bever-
ages containing not more than eight percent
of alcohol by weight. No brewery licensee
shall sell any malt beverages to be consumed
on the licensed premises. However, a brewery
licensee may sell malt beverages containing
not more than four percent of alcohol by
weight, in quantities of not less than five
gallons, to any unlicensed organization, lodge,
picnic party or private gathering. Such malt
beverages shall not be sold by any such unli-
censed group. No brewery licensee shall sell
within the State of Oregon any beer contain-
ing more than four percent of alcohol by
weight.

(2) A winery license shall allow the licen-
see to import, bottle, manufacture, store and
wholesale wines containing not more than 21
percent of alcohol by volume, and to sell the
same to the commission or to any person
licensed by the commission to resell the same
at wholesale or retail, and to transport the
same out of this state. A winery license also
shall allow a licensee to purchase from or
through the commission brandy or other
spirituous liquor for use by =such winery
licensee in fortifying wines and which shall be
used only for such purpose.

[Amended by 1955 ¢.657 §1; 1977 ¢.332 §4]

471.225 Farmer’s winery license. A
farmer’s winery license shall permit any
farmer in the state who grows grapes or other
fruit upon his own or leased land to manufac-
ture wine out of such grapes or other fruit and
to sell the wine at wholesale or retail. A
farmer’s winery licensee shall not be permit-
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ted to fortify wine which he manufactures or

produces.
{Amended by 1977 ¢ 332 §5]

471.230 Distillery license. A distillery
license shall allow the holder thereof to im-
port, manufacture, distill, rectify, blend,
denature and store spirits of an alcoholic
content greater than 17 percent of alcohol by
weight, to sell the same to the commission,
and to transport the same out of this state for
sale outside this state. Distillery licensees
shall be permitted to purchase from and
through the commission alcoholic liquor and
spirits for blending and manufacturing pur-
poses upon such terms and conditions as the
commission may provide. No such licensee
shall sell any alcoholic liquor within this state
except to the commission. However, any
agricultural producer or association of agricul-
tural producers or legal agents thereof who
manufacture and convert agricultural sur-
pluses, by-products and wastes into denatured
ethyl and industrial alcohol for use in the arts
and industry shall not be required to obtain a
license from the commission.

471.235 Wholesale malt beverage and
wine license. (1) A wholesale malt beverage
and wine license shall allow the importation,
storage, transportation, wholesale sale and
distribution to licensees of the commission,
and the export of wine of alcoholic content not
in excess of 21 percent of alcohol by volume,
and malt beverages containing not more than
eight percent of alcohol by weight, and the
importation and sale to the commission and
the export of wine of alcoholic content in
excess of 21 percent of alcohol by volume. No
such licensee shall sell any alcoholic liquor for
consumption upon the licensed premises.
However, a wholesale malt beverage and wine
licensee may sell naturally fermented wine
containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol
by volume in quantities of not less than five
gallons nor more than 55 gallons at any one
time to consumers for consumption not on the
licensed premises. Wholesale malt beverage
and wine licensees may sell malt beverages
containing not more than four percent of
alcohol by weight in quantities not less than
five gallons to any unlicensed organization,
lodge, picnic party or private gathering. Such
malt beverages shall not be sold by such
unlicensed group. A wholesale malt beverage
and wine license shall permit the licensee also
to sell malt beverages containing more than
four percent of alcohol by weight, but not in
excess of eight percent of alcohol by weight, at
wholesale only, to persons holding licenses

authorizing them to resell such beverages at
retail. No wholesale malt beverage and wine
licensee shall sell within this state any beer
containing in excess of four percent of alcohol
by weight.

(2) Nothing in subsection (1) of this sec-
tion shall be considered to prohibit the trans-
portation or wholesale sale or distribution of
malt beverage or wine by a wholesale malt
beverage and wine licensee to any alcoholic
treatment center licensed by the Health
Division of the Department of Human Re-

sources.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.657 §2; 1973 ¢.395 §1; 1974 s.s. c4
§2; 1975 ¢.123 §1]

471.240 [Amended by 1955 ¢.657 §3; 1957 c.223 §2;
repealed by 1973 ¢ 395 §10]

471.245 Bottler license. A bottler
license shall allow the licensee to bottle wine
containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol
by volume or malt beverages containing not
more than eight percent of alcohol by weight.
Such license shall not be issued to any person
unless the commission is satisfied that he has
adequate machinery, equipment and facilities
for properly bottling such alcoholic liquors
with full and complete sanitary safeguards. In
no event shall such license be issued to any
person who does not hold a wholesale wine or
wholesale malt beverage license.

471.250 Restaurant license. (1) A
restaurant license shall allow the licensee to
sell malt beverages containing not more than
eight percent of alcohol by weight, and wine
containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol
by volume, to customers for consumption on
the licensed premises.

(2) In the absence of any municipal ordi-
nance or local regulation to the contrary,
restaurant licensees shall be permitted to
have any proper form of entertainment for
customers upon the licensed premises.

(3) Unless otherwise restricted, the privi-
leges granted by any such restaurant license
to a hotel shall apply to all portions of the
hotel controlled or operated by the person to
whom the license is issued.

[Amended by 1965 ¢.280 §2; 1973 ¢.395 §2; 1977 ¢.332 §6]

471.255 [Repealed by 1965 ¢.280 §5)

471.257 Health care facility license. A
health care facility license may be issued to
licensed hospitals, sanitariums, convalescent
or rest homes, retirement homes and facilities
for the care of the elderly and shall allow the
sale and service by facility employes of malt
beverages containing not more than eight
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percent of alcohol by weight, and wine con-
taining not more than 14 percent of alcohol by
volume to patients, inmates, residents or bona
fide visitors or guests for consumption on the
licensed premises only. Such license shall not
permit the sale or service to, or consumption
by, the general public or staff or employes of
the facility. Nothing in this section shall
prohibit the administration of distilled spirits
upon prescription by a physician to patients,
inmates or residents of the facility.

[1975 c.494 §2]

Note: 471.257 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly and was added to and made a part of ORS
chapter 471 but not to any series therein by legislative
action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.

471.260 Package store license. (1) A
package store license shall allow the retail
sale of certain specified types of alcoholic
liquor in sealed packages. Package store
licensees shall not permit the consumption of
alcoholic liquor upon their licensed premises
unless such licensee holds another license that
permits such consumption.

(2) A package store license shall allow the
sale of pasteurized malt beverages containing
not more than eight percent of alcohol by
weight and wine containing not more than 21
percent of alcohol by volume.

[Amended by 1973 ¢.395 §3; 1974 s.s. c.4 §3]

471.265 Retail malt beverage license.
(1) A retail malt beverage license shall allow
anyone operating a place of business where
refreshments are served, to sell malt beverag-
es containing not more than eight percent of
alcohol by weight, and wine containing not
more than 14 percent by volume.

(2) A retail malt beverage license shall
permit the licensee to sell (a) draft or pasteur-
ized malt beverages for consumption on the
licensed premises, (b) pasteurized malt bever-
ages in brewery-sealed packages for consump-
tion off the licensed premises, (c¢) unpasteu-
rized malt beverages in brewery-sealed pack-
ages containing not less than one gallon each
for consumption off the licensed premises and
(d) wine for consumption on the licensed
premises and wine in winery-sealed packages
for consumption off the licensed premises.

(3) Such licensees shall not sell any malt
beverages containing more than eight percent
of alcohol by weight, nor wine containing
more than 14 percent by volume. In the ab-
sence of municipal ordinance or local regula-
tion to the contrary, such licensees shall be
permitted to allow dancing and to have and

permit singing and other proper forms of
entertainment upon the licensed premises.
[Amended by 1967 ¢.580 §1; 1967 c.614 §§1, 2; 1971 ¢.324
§1; 1973 ¢ 103 §1; 1973 ¢.395 §41]

471.270 Druggist’s license and sales
on prescription. (1) A druggist’s license may
be issued to any person operating a pharmacy,
and who is, or has in his employ, a qualified
pharmacist registered under the laws of this
state. A druggist’s license shall allow the sale
of all aleoholic liquors listed in the U. S. P.
and N. F., in containers of not more than one
quart capacity, upon prescriptions only, and
with the limit of one quart on each prescrip-
tion. No such licensee shall permit the drink-
ing of such alcoholic liquors on the premises of
any drug store, except that such drug store
may hold a retail malt beverage license. Such
licensee may purchase alcoholic liquor in
excess of 14 percent of alecohol by volume from
or through the commission only.

(2) Registered pharmacists may fill a
prescription containing alcoholic liquors of
any kind for any physician duly licensed by
this state, without regard to any local option
laws or ordinances forbidding the sale of such
liquors. Such prescription shall include the
name and address of the person for whom it is
prescribed, and shall be signed by the full
name of the physician issuing it. It shall be
filled only once, and the person making the
sale of such prescription shall write on its face
the number of the prescription, and the date
of the sale or delivery of the liquor. He shall
keep such prescription on file and available at
all reasonable times to the inspection of the
commission.

471.275 Railroad or boat license. A
license may be granted to any public passen-
ger carrier or any corporation which operates
an electric or steam railroad in this state, or
which operates club, parlor or dining cars
upon the lines of any railroad in this state, or
to any corporation or person operating a boat
or boats engaged in the transportation of
passengers to or from any port of this state.
Such license shall allow the sale and public
consumption of malt beverages containing not
more than eight percent of alecohol by weight
and wine containing not more than 14 percent
of aleohol by volume, upon such terms as the
commission shall prescribe. Railroad or boat
licensees may be appointed by the commission
to act as agents of the commission for the sale,
in sealed packages, of alcoholic liquors con-
taining more than 14 percent of alcohol by
volume on railroad trains or boats of such
licensees.
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471.280 Industrial alcohol license. An
industrial alcohol license shall be issued to
any person upon compliance with such regula-
tions and conditions as may be determined by
the commission. Such licensees shall be au-
thorized to manufacture and sell such proprie-
tary and patent medicines, perfumes, lotions,
flavoring extracts and other preparations
unfit for beverage purposes, as may be ap-
proved by the commission.

471.285 Agent’s license. An agent’s
license shall allow the holder to sell, solicit or
take orders for alcoholic liquors to and from
the commission only. No holder of an agent’s
license shall have any right, title, lien, claim
or interest, financial or otherwise, in, upon or
to the premises, equipment, business or mer-
chandise of any licensee authorized to sell
alcoholic liquor at retail.

[Amended by 1955 c.657 §4; 1957 ¢.221 §1]

471287 Salesman’s license. A sales-
man’s license shall allow the holder to offer
for sale or solicit orders for the sale of alcohol-
ic liquors containing not more than 21 percent
of alcohol by volume to licensees of the com-
mission authorized to resell the same. The
provisions of this section shall not apply to
drivers or driver-salesmen who deliver malt
beverages or wine. No holder of a salesman’s
license shall have any right, title, lien, claim
or interest, financial or otherwise, in, upon or
to the premises, equipment, business or mer-
chandise of any licensee authorized to sell
alcoholic liquor at retail.

[1955 ¢.657 §8; 1957 ¢.221 §2; 1975 ¢.470 §1]

471.289 Manufacturer’s certificate of
approval. (1) No licensee of the commission
shall manufacture, import into, or purchase in
the State of Oregon for resale therein any
malt beverages or wine unless the manufac-
turer of such malt beverages or wine has first
obtained from the commission a certificate of
approval, except that with respect to malt
beverages or wine manufactured outside the
United States, the certificate of approval may
be obtained by the person importing same into
the United States. Such certificate of approval
shall be granted only to manufacturers or
importers who shall have entered into an
agreement with the commission to furnish a
report to the commission, on or before the
20th day of each month, showing the quantity
of malt beverages or wine delivered to each
licensee of the commission during the preced-
ing calendar month, and to faithfully comply
with all laws of the State of Oregon pertain-
ing to traffic in malt beverages or wine. If any
holder of such certificate, or any officer, agent

or employe of such holder, shall violate any
term or provision of such agreement, or sub-
mit any false or fictitious report, the commis-
sion may, in its discretion, suspend or revoke
such certificate.

(2) Certificates of approval shall be of two
classes:

(a) Class “A” certificate of approval shall
apply to manufacturers or importers of malt
beverages or wine manufactured outside the
United States.

(b) Class “B” certificate of approval shall
apply to manufacturers of malt beverages or
wine manufactured within the United States.

(3) “Wine” as used in this section shall not
include wine manufactured and sold by a
farmer’s winery licensee.

[1955 ¢.657 §6; 1957 ¢.111 §1; 1973 ¢.131 §1]

471.290 Application for license; fees.
(1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of
a license shall make application to the com-
mission upon forms to be furnished by the
commission showing the name and address of
the applicant, his citizenship, location of the
place of business which is to be operated
under the license, and such other pertinent
information as the commission may require.
No license shall be granted or renewed until
the provisions of the Liquor Control Act and
the regulations of the commission have been
complied with.

(2) The annual license fee which shall be
paid by each applicant upon the granting of a
license, and the minimum bond required of
each class of license, are as follows:

Minimum

License Fee Bond
Brewery, including Certificate

of Approval .............cccc....... $500 $1,000
WINETY ...c.cvvveereeeenernrrerenreenenes 250 1,000
Farmer’s Winery..........ccccauu..... 25 500
Distillery .....cccovevevcevreireeceeeenee 100 1,000
Wholesale Wine and Malt

Beverage.........cocoeecviieennns 275 1,000
Bottler......oooveeeeiierireieeeeeininas 150 None
Restaurant............ccccceeeveeiinnvnnnnne 250 None
Agent ..., 25 None
Salesman.........cceeeeeeveveveeneeennnen.. 5 None
Certificate of Approval,

Class A....oeeeecieeeceeeeeees 15 None
Certificate of Approval,

Class B.....cooovevrrievervrrecennnnn, 50 None
Package Store...........cccuveeueennneen. 50 None
Druggist.......ccoocvveereririrerervveccnne, 5 None
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Railroad System or Public

Passenger Carrier or
None
None
None
None

Industrial Aleohol......................
Retail Malt Beverage.................
Health Care Facility.................. 5

Special retail beer license
may be issued for any
picnic, convention, fair,
civic or community
enterprise at .........c..ccou........
Special retail wine license
may be issued for any
picnic, convention, fair,
civic or community
enterprise at .........cccceeeneenne. $10 per day
[Amended by 1955 ¢.657 §9; 1957 c.111 §2; 1965 ¢.280 §3;
1967 ¢.28 §1; 1967 c.448 §1; 1971 c.470 §1; 1973 ¢.313 §1;
1973 ¢.395 §5; 1975 c.494 §3]

471.285 Grounds for refusing to issue
license. The commission may refuse to li-
cense any applicant if it has reasonable
ground to believe any of the following to be
true:

(1) That there are sufficient licensed
premises in the locality set out in the applica-
tion, or that the granting of a license in the
locality set out in the application is not de-
manded by public interest or convenience.

(2) That the applicant has not furnished
an acceptable bond.

(3) That any applicant to sell at retail for
consumption on the premises has been fi-
nanced or furnished with money or property
by, or has any connection with, or is a manu-
facturer of, or wholesale dealer in, alcoholic
liquor.

(4) That the applicant:

(a) Is in the habit of using aleoholic bever-
ages or habit-forming drugs to excess.

(b) Has made false statements to the
commission.

(¢) Is not a citizen of the United States, or
is incompetent or physically unable to carry
on the management of the establishment
proposed to be licensed.

(d) Has been convicted of violating any of
the alcoholic liquor laws of this state, general
or local, or has been convicted at any time of a
felony.

(e) Has maintained a noisy, lewd, disor-
derly or insanitary establishment.

(f) Is not of good repute and moral charac-
ter.

(g) Did not have a good record of compli-
ance with the alcoholic liquor laws of this
state and the regulations of the commission
when previously licensed.

(h) Is not the legitimate owner of the
business proposed to be licensed, or other
persons have ownership interests in the
business which have not been disclosed.

(1) Is not possessed of or has not demon-
strated financial responsibility sufficient to
adequately meet the requirements of the
business proposed to be licensed.

(§) Is unable to read or write the English
language or to understand the Liquor Control

Act or regulations of the commission.
[Amended by 1953 c.14 §2]

471.300 (Amended by 1953 ¢.130 §2; repealed by
1957 ¢.220 §1 (471.301 enacted in lieu of 471.300)]

471.301 Characteristics of a license.
(1) A license granted under the Liquor Control
Act shall:

(a) Be a purely personal privilege.

(b) Be valid for the period stated in the
license.

(c) Be renewable in the manner provided
in ORS 471.290, except for a cause which
would be grounds for refusal to issue such
license under ORS 471.295.

(d) Be revocable or suspendible as pro-
vided in ORS 471.315.

(e) Be transferable from the place for
which the license was originally issued to
another location subject to the provisions of
the Liquor Control Act, any rules of the
commission and any municipal ordinance or
local regulation.

(f) Cease upon the death of the licensee,
except as provided in subsection (2) of this
section.

(g) Not constitute property.

(h) Not be alienable.

(i) Not be subject to attachment or execu-
tion.

(j) Not descend by the laws of testate or
intestate devolution.

(2) The commission may, by order, provide
for the manner and conditions under which:

(a) Alcoholic liquors left by any deceased,
insolvent or bankrupt person or licensee, or
subject to a security interest, may be fore-
closed, sold under execution or otherwise
disposed of.

(b) The business of any deceased, insol-
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vent or bankrupt licensee may be operated for
a reasonable period following the death,
insolvency or bankruptcy.

(¢) A business licensed pursuant to ORS
471.217 to 471.280 subject to a security inter-
est may be continued in business by a secured
party as defined in ORS 79.1050 for a reason-
able period after default on the indebtedness
by the debtor.

(d) A license granted under this chapter
may be transferred from the place for which
the license was originally issued to another
location.

[1957 ¢.220 §2 (enacted in lieu of 471.300); 1971 c.470 §2;
1973 ¢.311 §1; 1977 ¢.332 §1; 1977 ¢.360 §2]

471.305 Restrictions on brewery and
wholesale malt licensees and licensees
authorized to retail liquor; purity stand-
ards for malt beverages. (1) A brewery or a
wholesale malt beverage licensee shall deliver
malt beverages only to or on a licensed prem-
ises. The sale of alcoholic liquors under any
license issued by the commission authorizing
retail sales by a licensee shall be restricted to
the premises described in the license, but
deliveries may be made by the licensee to
customers pursuant to bona fide orders re-
ceived on the licensed premises prior to deliv-
ery.

(2) All beer and other malt beverages sold
in this state must be made of pure hops or
pure extract of hops, and pure barley malt, or
other wholesome grain or cereals, wholesome
yeast and pure water, and must have been
brewed and handled in accordance with the
control regulations adopted by the Alcohol
Tax Unit of the Internal Revenue Department
of the United States.

471.310 Incorporated cities as licen-
sees. Any incorporated city may, without
further charter authority, become a licensee
for the sale of intoxicating liquor containing
not over 14 percent of alcohol by volume.

471.315 Grounds for cancellation or
suspension of license. The commission may
cancel or suspend any license if it finds or has
reasonable ground to believe any of the fol-
lowing to be true:

(1) That the licensee:

(@ Or any of its principal officers, has
violated any provision of this chapter or any
regulation of the commission adopted pur-
suant thereto.

(b) Has made any false representation or
statement to the commission in order to
induce or prevent action by the commission.

(0) Is not maintaining an acceptable bond.

(d) Maintains a noisy, lewd, disorderly or
insanitary establishment, or has been supply-
ing impure or otherwise deleterious beverages
or food.

(e) Is insolvent or incompetent or physical-
ly unable to carry on the management of his
establishment.

(f) Is in the habit of using alcoholic liquor
or habit-forming drugs to excess.

() Knowingly has sold alcoholic liquor to
persons under 21 years of age, to persons
known to be drunkards or to persons visibly
intoxicated at the time of sale.

(h) Has misrepresented to a customer or
the public any alcoholic liquor sold by him.

(i) Or any of its principal officers, since
the granting of his license has been convicted
of a felony, of violating any of the liquor laws
of this state, general or local, or of any misde-
meanor or violation of any municipal ordi-
nance committed on the licensed premises.

(2) That any person licensed to sell at
retail for consumption on the premises is
acting as an agent of, or is a manufacturer or
wholesaler of alcoholic liquors, or has bor-
rowed money or property, or has accepted
gratuities or rebates, or has obtained the use
of equipment from any manufacturer or
wholesaler of alcoholic liquor or any agent
thereof.

(3) That there is any other reason which,
in the opinion of the commission, based on
public convenience or necessity, warrants
canceling or suspending such license.

[Amended by 1953 ¢.107 §2; 1971 ¢.159 §4]

471.317 Cancellation or suspension of
license; conditions precedent thereto. (1)
Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3)
of this section, the commission may cancel or
suspend a license under ORS 471.315,
471.425, 472.180 or 472.310 for maintaining
an insanitary establishment only when an
authorized agent or inspector of the commis-
sion, after personal inspection of the licensed
establishment, finds that the licensee is in
violation of any rule of the commission or
provision of ORS chapter 472 or this chapter
relating to the sanitary conditions of licensed
premises.

(2) The commission may cancel or suspend
a license under ORS 471.315, 471.425,
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472.180 or 472.310 for maintaining an insani-
tary establishment in violation of a city
ordinance relating to sanitation only if the
licensee is convicted of violating the ordi-
nance.

(3) The commission may cancel or suspend
a license under ORS 471.315, 471.425,
472.180 or 472.310 for ma.mtalmng an insani-
tary establishment in violation of ORS
447.010 to 447.140 and the rules of the Direc-
tor of Commerce promulgated thereunder or
the laws, orders or rules of the Health Divi-
sion or the State Department of Agriculture
only when the agency charged with enforcing
those laws, orders or rules finds that the
licensee is in violation of them and renders a
final order adverse to the licensee.
[1975 ¢.373 §2]

Note: 471 371 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly and was added to and made a part of ORS
chapter 471 but not to any series therein by legislative
action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.

471.320 [Amended by 1957 ¢.220 §3; repealed by
1971 ¢.734 §21]

471.322 Fine in lieu of short-term
suspension of certain licenses; limits on
amount. (1) If a license issued under ORS
471.217, 471.225, 471.250, 471.260, 471.265,
471.275, 471.285 or 471.287 is suspended for a
period of 30 days or less, upon petition of the
affected licensee filed with the commission
prior to the effective date of the suspension,
the commission may accept from the affected
licensee payment of a penalty fixed by the
commission in accordance with subsection (2)
of this section if the commission is satisfied
that acceptance of such a penalty in lieu of
suspension is consistent with the purposes of
the Liquor Control Act. Upon acceptance of
payment of the penalty, the commission shall
cancel the suspension.

(2) The penalty which the commission
may fix pursuant to subsection (1) of this
section shall not be less than $100 nor more
than $2,000.

[1969 c.67 §82, 3; 1973 c.144 §1; 1975 ¢.735 §1]

471325 [Amended by 1953 c.19 §2; 1957 c.220 §4;
1969 ¢.205 §1; repealed by 1971 ¢.734 §21]

471.326 Return of fine if action of
commission not sustained on judicial re-
view. If the action of the commission in
suspending a license issued under ORS
471.217, 471.225, 471.250, 471.260, 471.265,
471.275, 471.285 or 471.287 is not sustained
upon judicial review under ORS chapter 183,
the commission shall promptly refund the
amount paid pursuant to subsection (1) of

ORS 471.322 by check or order drawn on the
State Treasurer from the Oregon Liquor
Control Commission Account.

{1969 ¢.67 §4; 1973 c.144 §2; 1975 ¢.735 §2]

471.327 Fine in addition to or in lieu
of suspending certain other licenses or
certificates. The commission, in suspending
any brewery license, wholesale wine license,
wholesale malt beverage license, or certificate
of approval, may further impose against the
licensee or the holder of the certificate of
approval a monetary penalty not to exceed
$5,000, or, in its discretion, may impose such
monetary penalty without suspending the
license or the certificate of approval.

[1955 ¢.657 §7; 1973 ¢.311 §3]

471.330 Examination of books and
premises of licensees. (1) The commission
has the right after 72 hours’ notice to the
owner or his agent to make an examination of
the books and may at any time make an
examination of the premises of any licensee,
or to check the alcoholic content of liquors
carried by the licensee, for the purpose of
determining compliance with this chapter and
the rules of the commission.

(2) The commission shall not require the
books of any licensee to be maintained on the
premises of the licensee.

[Amended by 1977 c. 215 §1]

471.335 Importer’s permits. (1) No
wine shall be imported into this state unless
the importer thereof first secures from the
commission an importer’s permit and satisfies
the commission by sample or analysis that the
wine to be imported conforms to the minimum
standards of type, age, soundness and general
quality fixed and determined by the laws of
this state.

(2) The commission may require importers
of wines containing 21 percent of alcohol or
less by volume or importers of any other
alcoholic liquors containing eight percent of
alcohol or less by volume to secure a permit
for each importation and may charge a rea-
sonable fee for issuance of the permit.

(3) No aleoholic liquor shall be imported
into this state by any person not holding a
brewery, winery, distillery or wholesaler’s
license, except liquor in bailment to the com-
mission, wines for sacramental purposes and
liquors transported by common carriers for
others pursuant to permit.

[Amended by 1953 ¢.120 §6; 1974 s.s. c.4 §4]
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471.340 Release by commission need-
ed to sell wine. No wine shall be sold or
offered for sale within this state unless the
importer or manufacturer thereof first secures
a release from the commission authorizing its
sale within the state. No release shall be
issued by the commission until it is satisfied
from a sample or analysis that the wine
conforms in all respects to the minimum
standards fixed and determined by the laws of
this state. If the commission is satisfied that
the minimum standards are being complied
with, it may waive the necessity of release as
to a particular lot or lots of wine. No wine
which has been released for sale within this
state shall thereafter be blended, rectified,
adulterated or otherwise changed in any form
from the type, standard and quality as re-
leased for sale by this state.

471.345 Seals on wine containers;
improper labeling; injurious or adulterat-
ed ingredients. (1) No retail licensee shall
purchase any wine for resale except in sealed
containers, the seals of which shall remain
unbroken when it is sold for consumption off
the premises.

(2) The commission may refuse to sell, or
may prohibit any licensee from selling, any
brand of alcoholic liquor which in its judg-
ment is deceptively labeled or branded as to
content, or contains injurious or adulterated
ingredients.

471.350 [Repealed by 1967 ¢.577 §10]

471.355 License terms; licenses issued
for less than year; determination of fees.
(1) Except for special beer licenses provided
for by ORS 471.290, all licenses and renewals
thereof shall be issued for a period of one year
which shall expire at 12 midnight on March
31, June 30, September 30 or December 31 of
each year.

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this
section, a license issued for the first time to an
applicant may be issued for less than a year.
The license fee for the first license issued to
an applicant, if the license is issued for a
fraction of a year, shall be proportionate to
the annual license computed on a quarterly
basis, counting a major fraction of a quarter
as a whole quarter.

[1971 c.470 §4]

PROHIBITIONS RELATING TO
LIQUOR

471.405 Prohibited sales, purchases,
possession, transportation, importation or
solicitation in general; forfeiture upon
conviction. (1) No person shall peddle or
deliver alcoholic liquor to or at any place,
where, without a license, alcoholic liquor is
sold or offered for sale. No licensee shall sell
or offer for sale any alcoholic liquor in a
manner, or to a person, other than his license
permits him to sell.

(2) No person shall purchase, possess,
transport or import, except for sacramental
purposes, alcoholic liquor unless it is procured
from or through the commission, except as
provided otherwise in the Liquor Control Act.

(3) No person not licensed under the
Liquor Control Act shall sell, solicit, take
orders for or peddle alcoholic liquor.

(40 Notwithstanding the provisions of
subsection (2) of this section, an individual
entering the state may have in his possession
not to exceed one quart of alcoholic liquors.

(3 Upon conviction for unlawfully pur-
chasing or importing into this state wine
containing over 21 percent of alcohol by
volume or any other alcoholic liquor contain-
ing over eight percent of alcohol by volume
from any source except from or through the
commission, or for unlawfully purchasing or
importing into this state any wine containing
21 percent or less of alcohol by volume or any
other alcoholic liquor containing eight percent
or less of alcohol by volume from any source
except from or through the commission or its
duly authorized licensees, the person convict-
ed shall forfeit to the commission the alcoholic
liquor so purchased or imported. The commis-
sion shall thereupon seize the forfeited liquor
and it shall then become the commission’s
property.

[Amended by 1953 ¢.120 §6; 1974 s.s. c.4 §5]

471410 Sale or gift of liquor to per-
son under 21 years of age or to intoxicated
person; mandatory penalties. (1) No person
shall sell, give or otherwise make available
any alcoholic liquor to any person who is
visibly intoxicated.

(2) No person other than his parent or
guardian shall sell, give or otherwise make
available any alcoholic liquor to any person
under the age of 21 years. A person violates
this subsection if he sells, gives or otherwise
makes available alcoholic liquor to a person



16 LIQUOR; CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

with the knowledge that the person will
violate this subsection.

(3) Upon violation of subsection (2) of this
section, the court shall impose a mandatory
minimum sentence as follows:

(a) Upon a first conviction for the offense,
a fine of $200.

(b) Upon a second conviction for the of-
fense, a fine of $1,000.

(c) Upon a third or subsequent conviction
for the offense, a fine of $1,000 and not less
than 30 days of imprisonment.

(4) The court shall not waive or suspend
imposition of the minimum mandatory sen-
tence required by subsection (3) of this sec-
tion. In addition to the mandatory sentence
the court may require the violator to make
restitution for any damages to property where
the alcoholic liquor was illegally consumed or
may require participation in volunteer service
to a community service agency.

(5) The penalty provisions of subsection
(3) of this section shall not apply to persons
licensed or appointed under the provisions of
ORS chapters 471 and 472.

(6). Nothing in this section prohibits any
licensee under this chapter from allowing a
person who is visibly intoxicated from remain-
ing on the licensed premises so long as the
person is not sold or served any alcoholic
liquor.

[Amended by 1963 c.243 §1; 1971 c.159 §5; 1977 c. 458 §1;
1977 ¢.814 §11

471.415 Receipt of financial or mate-
rial assistance by retailer from manufac-
turer or wholesaler. Except as permitted
under ORS 471.465, no person holding a
license to retail alcoholic liquor shall receive
assistance financially, or in any other materi-
al manner, from a manufacturer or wholesaler
of alcoholic liquor, or officer, agent, or em-
ploye thereof.

[Amended by 1955 c.657 §10; 1957 ¢.297 §1]

471.420 Political contributions and
activity of licensee, dealer, manufacturer
or distiller. (1) No licensee under the Liquor
Control Act, the Oregon Distilled Liquor
Control Act or any dealer in, manufacturer or
distiller of intoxicating liquor shall make any
monetary contribution to any candidate for
political office or to any political party or
engage in any political activity on the licensed
premises.

(2) Subsection (1) of this section shall not
be construed to prevent any such licensee or
his agent or officer of a corporation from

being a candidate for or holding any public
office or contributing to his own campaign for
such public office.

(3) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this
section, persons licensed under ORS 471.250,
471.265 or subsection (2) or (3) of 472.110 may
make monetary contributions to any candi-
dates for political office or to any political

[Amended by 1959 ¢.399 §1; 1971 c.680 §2]

471.425 Misrepresentations by licen-
see and others; maintenance of disorderly
establishment. (1) No person shall make
false representations or statements to the
commission in order to induce or prevent
action by the commission.

(2) No licensee of the commission shall
maintain a noisy, lewd, disorderly or insani-
tary establishment or supply impure or other-
wise deleterious alcoholic beverages.

(3) No licensee of the commission shall
misrepresent to a customer or to the public
any alcoholic liquor sold by such licensee.

471.430 Purchase or possession of
liguor by person under 21 years of age. (1)
No person under the age of 21 years shall
attempt to purchase, purchase or acqulre
alcoholic liquor. Except when such minor is in
a private residence accompanied by his parent
or guardian and with such parent’s or guard-
ian’s consent, no person under the age of 21
years shall have in his possession alcoholic
liquor.

(2) For the purposes of this section, posses-
sion of alcoholic liquor includes the acceptance
or consumption of a bottle of such liquor, or
any portion thereof or a drink of such liquor.
However, this section does not prohibit the
acceptance or consumption by any person of
sacramental wine as part of a religious rite or
service.

(3) A person under the age of 21 years who
attempts to purchase, purchases or acquires
aleoholic liquor, or who illegally has in his
possession alcoholic liquor, commits a viola-
tion punishable by a fine of not more than
$100.

[Amended by 1963 c.243 §2; 1965 c.166 §1; 1971 c.159 §6;
1975 ¢.493 §1]

471.435 [Repealed by 1953 ¢.120 §6)

471.440 Manufacture, fermentation or
possession of mash, wort or wash; estab-
lishment or operation of distillery without
license; prima facie evidence. (1) No mash,
wort or wash fit for distillation or for the
manufacture of spirituous alcoholic liquors,
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shall be made, fermented or possessed within
this state by any person who does not at the
time own a distillery license under the Liquor
Control Act. This section does not prevent the
possession of mash for the purpose of manu-
facturing wine or beer for home consumption
as provided for in ORS 471.205.

(2) No distillery shall be set up or operated
in this state for the purpose of manufacturing
alcoholic liquor for beverage purposes except
by a person duly licensed under the Liquor
Control Act to operate a distillery. Any device
or process which separates alcoholic spirits
from any fermented substance shall be re-
garded as a distillery. A distillery is set up
when the still is in position over a furnace, or
is connected with a boiler, so that heat may be
applied, although the worm or worm tank is
not in position.

(3) The finding of any mash, wort, wash or
distillery in any house, on any premises or
within any inclosure, is prima facie evidence
that it was made and fermented by, or set up
by, and the property of, the person who is in
possession of such house, premises or inclo-
sure.

471445 Use of misleading mark or
label on container; mixing liquors. (1) No
licensee shall use or allow the use of any mark
or label on the container of alcoholic liquor
which is kept for sale, if the container does
not precisely and clearly indicate the nature
of its contents or in any way might deceive
any customer as to the nature, composition,
quantity, age or quality of such liquor.

(2) No licensee other than a winery licen-
see may mix or permit the mixing of any
alcoholic liquor which he is authorized to sell
with any other alcoholic liquor which he is not
authorized by his license to sell.

471.450 [Repealed by 1971 c.116 §11

471.452 Sale of liquor at both whole-
sale and retail. Excepting persons holding a
farmer’s winery license, no licensee of the
commission shall sell or engage in the busi-
ness of selling alcoholic liquors both at whole-
sale and retail.

471.455 Manufacturer or wholesaler
having interest in retailer’s business.
Except as permitted under ORS 471.465:

(1) No manufacturer or wholesaler of any
alcoholic liquor, and no officer, director or
substantial stockholder of any corporate
manufacturer or wholesaler of alcoholic
liquor, shall have any right, title, lien, claim

or interest, financial or otherwise, in, upon, or
to the premises, equipment, business or mer-
chandise of any licensee authorized to sell
alcoholic liquors at retail.

(2) No licensee authorized to sell alcoholic
liquor at wholesale shall have any right, title,
lien, claim or interest, financial or otherwise,
in, upon or to the premises, equipment, busi-
ness or merchandise of any licensee author-
ized to sell alcoholic liquor at retail.

[Amended by 1957 ¢.297 §2]

471.457 Spouse of wholesale licensee
as retail licensee; restrictions on whole-
sale licensee. Notwithstanding the provi-
sions of ORS 471.455, no spouse or family
member of a licensee authorized to sell alco-
holic liquor at wholesale before January 1,
1965, shall be denied a license for the sale at
retail of alcoholic liquor for off-premises
consumption, by reason of the family relation-
ship, provided that such seller of alcoholic
liquor at wholesale shall not directly or indi-
rectly sell alcoholic liquor at wholesale to his
spouse or family member who is licensed to
sell alcoholic liquor at retail.

{1965 ¢.277 §1]

Note: 471.457 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 471 or any series therein by legislative
action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.

471.460 Retailer having interest in
wholesale or manufacturing business. No
licensed retailer of alcoholic liquor, and no
officer or substantial stockholder of any
corporate licensee, shall have any right, title,
lien, claim or interest, financial or otherwise,
in, upon or to the premises, equipment, busi-
ness or merchandise of any manufacturer or
wholesaler of alcoholic liquor.

471.463 Spouse of retail licensee as
wholesale licensee; restrictions on whole-
sale licensee. Notwithstanding the provi-
sions of ORS 471.460, it shall not be unlawful
for the spouse or family member of any licen-
see authorized to sell alcoholic liquor at retail
to engage in the sale of alcoholic liquor at
wholesale provided that such licensee selling
alcoholic liquor at wholesale may not, directly
or indirectly, sell alcoholic liquor at wholesale
to his spouse or family member who is l-
censed to sell alcoholic liquor at retail.

{1965 ¢.277 §2]

Note: 471.463 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 471 or any series therein by legislative
action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.



18 LIQUOR; CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

471.465 Gifts to retailer by wholesaler
or manufacturer. No manufacturer or
wholesaler of aleoholic liquor, and no officer,
director, substantial stockholder, agent or
employe of any such manufacturer or whole-
saler, shall, directly or indirectly, give, loan,
furnish or supply, other than merchandise
sold in the usual course of trade, to any licen-
see authorized to sell aleoholic liquors at
retail:

(1) Any gratuities or rebates;
(2) Any finances, money or credit;
(3) Any fixtures, furniture or furnishings;

(4) Any equipment other than advertising
and point of sale material and other items of
nominal value supplied to all retail licensees
without discrimination; or

(5) Any services other than the inspection
of equipment, the inspection and rotation of
stock, the building of displays and other
services of nominal value incidental to mer-
chandising in the usual course of business
furnished to all retail licensees without dis-
crimination.

[Amended by 1955 ¢.657 §11; 1957 ¢.297 §3]

471.470 Acceptance by retailer of gift
from wholesaler. Except as permitted under
ORS 471.465, no licensee authorized to sell
alcoholic liquors at retail shall accept any
equipment, gratuities, rebates, money or
property of any kind other than merchandise
purchased in the usual course of trade from a
licensee authorized to manufacture or sell
alcoholic liquors at wholesale.

[Amended by 1957 ¢.297 §41]

471.475 Mixing, storing or serving of
liquor without license. No person who
owns, operates or conducts a private or public
club or place and who is not in possession of a
license issued by the commission permitting
the mixing, storing and serving of alcoholic
liquor at said premises, and no agent, servant
or employe of such person, for a financial
consideration by way of a charge for service,
membership fee, admission fee, initiation fee,
club dues, contributions, or other fee or
charge, shall serve or permit to be served, or
use or permit to be used, any room, place, bar,
glasses, mixers, locker, storage place, chairs,
tables, cash registers, music devices, furni-
ture, furnishings, equipment or facilities, for
the mixing, storing, serving or drinking of
alcoholic liquor.

471.478 Sale of kegs of malt beverag-
es; penalty. On and after January 1, 1978:

(1) The commission by rule shall require
the identification of kegs of malt beverages
sold directly to consumers who are not licen-
sees of the commission and the signing of a
receipt therefor by the purchaser in order to
allow the kegs to be traced if the contents are
consumed in violation of the Oregon Liquor
Control Act. The keg identification shall be in
the form of a numbered label prescribed and
supplied by the commission which identifies
the seller and which is removable or obliterat-
ed when the keg is processed for refilling. The
receipt shall be on a form prescribed and
supplied by the commission and shall include
the name and address of the purchaser; motor
vehicle operator’s license number, if any; the
automobile registration of the motor vehicle
in which the keg was removed from the sell-
er'’s premises, if any; and such other identifi-
cation as the commission by rule may require.
The receipt shall contain a statement that
must be signed by the purchaser that, under
penalty of false swearing, the purchaser will
not allow consumption of any malt beverage
in the keg in violation of ORS 471.410. A copy
of the receipt shall be given to the purchaser
and the seller shall retain the original receipt
for such period as the commission by rule may
require.

(2) Possession of a keg containing malt
beverages which is not identified as required
by subsection (1) of this section is a Class A
misdemeanor.

(3) A person who signs a receipt described
in subsection (1) of this section in order to
obtain a keg, knowing the receipt to be false,
or who falsifies any information required on
the receipt, is guilty of false swearing as
prescribed by ORS 162.075.

(4) As used in this section, “keg” means
any brewery-sealed, individual container of
malt beverage having a liquid capacity of
more than seven gallons.

[1977 c. 551 §2]

471.480 Sale of liquor by licensee’s
employes 18 years of age or older. Any
employe 18 years of age or older of a person
who holds any package store license from the
Oregon Liquor Control Commission may sell
any alcoholic liquor authorized by such license
on the licensed premises.

(1971 ¢.490 §1]

Note: 471 480 was enacted into law by the Legisla-
tive Assembly but was not added to or made a part of
ORS chapter 471 or any series therein by legislative
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action. See the Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for
further explanation.

471.485 Cash payment upon delivery
of liquor; exception. No wholesale licensee
or agent or employe thereof shall sell or
deliver, nor shall any retail licensee purchase
or receive any malt beverages or wine for
currency on delivery, but such malt beverages
or wine shall be paid for prior to delivery
thereof, or by valid check, order, negotiable
instrument or voucher payable on the date of
delivery. The wholesale licensee may accept
cash at the time of delivery if such acceptance
does not create or increase the licensee’s, his
agents’ or employes’, exposure to or risk of
being victimized by criminal activity.

[1971 c.694 §2]

471.490 Delivery or acceptance of
instrument drawn upon insufficient funds
or not payable according to terms; use of
credit. No retail licensee shall deliver any
check, order, negotiable instrument or vouch-
er in payment for malt beverages or wine,
knowing at the time of such delivery that the
maker or drawer has not sufficient funds in
the bank or depository to pay the instrument
on presentation, nor shall any wholesale
licensee accept any such instrument knowing
that said instrument is not payable according
to its terms, or that there are not sufficient
funds to pay such instrument on presentation.
Any extension or acceptance of credit under
this section shall constitute a violation of ORS
471.465 and 471.470.

[1971 c.694 §3]

471495 Report by wholesaler of in-
struments not paid on presentment re-
quired. Any wholesale licensee who receives a
check, order, negotiable instrument or vouch-
er in payment for malt beverages or wine, who
receives an instrument from a retail licensee
which, upon presentation, is not paid by the
party on whom it is drawn, shall report such
fact forthwith to the commission.

(1971 c.694 §4]

471.500 Application of ORS 471.485 to
471.495. The provisions of ORS 471.485 to
471.495 shall not apply to any common carrier
licensed by the commission.

(1971 c.694 §5)

LOCAL OPTION LAW

471505 Filing petition for local op-
tion. Whenever a petition therefor, signed by
not less than 10 percent of the registered
voters of any county in the state, or of any
incorporated city in any county in the state, is
filed with the county clerk of such county, or
the clerk or auditor of such city, as prescribed
in ORS 471.515, the officer with whom the
petition is filed shall order an election to be
held at the time prescribed in ORS 471.515,
and in the county or city mentioned in the
petition, to determine whether or not the sale
of alcoholic liquors of any of the various
classes defined in ORS 471.530 shall be pro-
hibited in such county or city. In determining
whether the petition contains the requisite
percentage of legal voters, the percentage
shall be based on the number of registered
voters in such counties or cities at the last
preceding general election.

471.510 Sales not affected by local
option laws. ORS 471.505 shall not prohibit
the sale of pure alcohol for scientific or manu-
facturing purposes, or of wines to church
officials for sacramental purposes, or of alco-
holic stimulants where they have been pre-
scribed by a regular practicing physician,
dated and signed by him as provided by sub-
section (2) of ORS 471.270; nor shall it pre-
vent any person residing in the county or city
from ordering and having delivered to his
home, for the personal use of himself and his
family, alcoholic liquors purchased from the
commission or from persons duly licensed to
sell them under the Liquor Control Act.

471515 Date of election; effective
date of law; notice to electors; holding
election. (1) Elections ordered under ORS
471.505 shall be held only upon regular No-
vember biennial election days.

(2) The petition therefor shall be filed
with the county clerk or city clerk or auditor,
not less than 60 days before the day of elec-
tion. Where the petition is filed with a city
clerk or auditor, he shall, within three days
thereafter, mail to the county clerk of the
county in which the petition is filed, a notice
of the filing, giving the date thereof. The
county clerk shall keep such notice in a con-
venient and separate file open for pubhc
inspection and shall post a copy of it in a
public place.

(3) In each county or city that returns a
majority vote for or against prohibition, as to
any classes of alcoholic liquor, the law shall
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take effect on January 1 following the day of
election.

(4) Elections provided for by this section
shall be held at the regular voting places
within the proposed limits, and by the judges
and clerks of election appointed and qualified
under the general election laws of the state.

471.520 Application of general elec-
tion laws. The general election laws, so far as
they are applicable, apply to all elections held
under ORS 471.505 and 471.515. No person is
qualified to vote at such election who is not
qualified to vote at that election for the
county or city officers in the district in which
he proposes to vote.

471.525 Certification and recording
of vote. The county clerk, or city clerk or
auditor, upon canvass of the election returns,
shall certify to the county court the vote for
and against prohibition, whereupon the same
shall be entered in the journal of the county
court.

471.530 Form of petition. (1) The form
of petition, if to prohibit only the sale of
alcoholic liquors containing over 14 percent of
alcohol by volume, shall be substantially as
follows:

Petition for local option liquor election.
We, the undersigned, legal voters of (here
insert name of county or city), respectfully
petition that on the —— day of ———— 19—,
an election be held to determine whether the
sale of alcoholic liquors containing over 14
percent of alcohol by volume shall be prohibi-
ted in (name of county or city), and each for
himself says: I have personally signed this
petition and my residence, post office, voting
precinct and date of signing are clearly writ-
ten after my name. My residence (if in city,
street and number, if any), post office, pre-
cinct and date of signing:

(Here follow 20 numbered lines for signa-
tures.)

(2) The form of petition, if to prohibit only
the sale of alcoholic liquors containing over
four percent of alcohol by weight, shall be
substantially the same as prescribed in sub-
section (1) of this section, except that the
petition shall refer to alcoholic liquors con-
taining over four percent of alcohol by weight.

(3) The form of petition, if to prohibit the
sale of all alcoholic liquors, shall be substan-
tially the same as prescribed in subsection (1)

of this section, except that the petition shall
refer to all alcoholic liquors.
[Amended by 1957 ¢.231 §1]

471.535 Number of signatures per
sheet; circulator’s affidavit. If any sheet
filed with the petition contains more than 20
names, none of the names on such sheet shall
be counted. Each sheet shall be signed at the
bottom thereof with the name, address and
street and house number, if any, of the circu-
lator thereof, who shall append to each sheet
his affidavit in the following form:

State of Oregon, )
)ss.
County of ———— )
I , being

first duly sworn, say that every person who
signed this sheet of the foregoing petition,
signed his or her name thereto in my pres-
ence; I believe that each has stated his or her
name, post-office address and residence cor-
rectly, and that each signer is a legal voter of
the State of Oregon and County of ———.

Signature of circulator of this sheet of
petition ————.

Post-office address of circulator of this
sheet of petition, with street and number, if
in a city or town ——————,

Subscribed and sworn to before me this
——day of ——— AD. 19—,

Notary Public for Oregon ————.

Post-office address of notary, including
street and
number if in a city or town

My commission expires:

471.540 Miscellaneous provisions
relating to petition. (1) No signature is valid
unless signed within 180 days prior to the
filing of the petition, which must affirmative-
ly appear upon the petition. When the petition
has been filed it shall not be withdrawn, or
any name thereof, nor any names added
thereto. It shall be a public document subject
to inspection by the public.

(2) The sheets upon which the signatures
appear shall be fastened together into one
petition and filed as a whole. Upon receipt of
the petition, the county clerk, or city clerk or
auditor, shall immediately file it and there-
upon compare the signatures of electors
signing it with their signatures on the regis-
tration books of the election then pending; or
if none is pending, then with the signatures
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on the registration books and blanks on file in
his office for the preceding general election. If
the requisite number of qualified electors has
signed the petition, and it has been filed as
provided for in ORS 471.505 to 471.540, it
shall go upon the ballot as provided in ORS
471.555.

471545 Form of election notice. At
least 20 days prior to any election ordered
under ORS 471.505, the county clerk, or city
clerk or auditor, shall deliver to the sheriff of
the county at least three notices of the elec-
tion at every election board in each county or
city voting on the election. The notices shall
be substantially in the following form:

LIQUOR ELECTION NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that on the —
day of
———, 19—, in precinct ——, in the
County of ————, an election will be held
from (here insert the hours in which the
general election is held) to determine whether
the sale of (a) all alecoholic liquors; or (b)
alcoholic liquors containing over 14 percent of
alcohol by volume; or (c) alccholic liquors
containing over four percent of alcohol by
weight, for beverage purposes, shall be prohib-
ited in (here insert the name of the county or
city, to comply with the petitions duly filed).

Dated this — day of —————, 19—.

County clerk of

County,
Oregon, or city clerk or auditor of .

471.550 Posting of notices; recording
compliance with statutes. The sheriff, at
least 12 days before any election ordered
under ORS 471.505, shall post the notices
provided for in ORS 471.545 in such places in
the vicinity of the polling places. Thereupon
the county clerk, or city clerk or auditor, and
the sheriff, shall each enter of record their
compliance with the provisions of ORS
471.545 and this section, and such record shall
be prima facie evidence that all such provi-
sions have been complied with.

471.555 [Repealed by 1957 ¢.231 §2 (471.556 enacted
in lieu of 471.555)]

471556 Form of ballot. Before the
election ordered under ORS 471.505 is held,
the county clerk shall arrange the ballots and
shall have them printed in one of the follow-

ing forms, with the proper number as pre-
scribed by ORS 254.090 to 254.104 in the
space on the left margin:

(1) If the election is upon the prohibition
of the sale of alcoholic liquor containing more
than 14 percent of alcohol by volume, the
ballot shall be in the following form:

PROHIBITING THE SALE OF
ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR CON-
TAINING MORE THAN 14
PERCENT OF ALCOHOL BY
VOLUME — : To pro-
hibit within the limits of (name
the city or county) the sale of
alcoholic liquor containing more
than 14 percent of alcohol by
volume for beverage purposes.

(2) I the election is upon the prohibition
of the sale of alcoholic liquor containing more
than four percent of alcohol by weight, the
ballot shall be in the following form:

PROHIBITING THE SALE OF
ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR CON-
TAINING MORE THAN FOUR
PERCENT OF AILCOHOL BY
WEIGHT — Purpose: To prohib-
it within the limits of (name the
city or county) the sale of alco-
holic liquor containing more
than four percent of alcohol by
weight for beverage purposes.

(3) If the election is upon the prohibition
of the sale of all alcoholic liquor, the ballot
shall be in the following form:

PROHIBITING THE SALE OF
ALL ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR —
Purpose: To prohibit within the
limits of (name the city or
county) the sale of any alcoholic
liquor containing more than
one-half of one percent of alco-
hol by volume for beverage pur-

poses.

[1957 ¢.231 §3 (enacted in lieu of 471.555)]

471.560 Furnishing ballots to pre-
cincts. The county clerk, or city clerk or
auditor, shall furnish each precinct voting on
the question as set out pursuant to ORS
471.556, official and sample ballots equal in
number to that required at general elections
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by the general election laws of the state and
in the manner therein required.

ENFORCEMENT OF LIQUOR
LAWS

471.605 Duty of officers to enforce
and to inform district attorney. The state
police, sheriffs, constables and all police
officers within the State of Oregon shall
enforce all provisions of the Liquor Control
Act and assist the commission in detecting
violations of that statute and apprehending
offenders. Each such enforcing officer having
notice, knowledge or reasonable ground of
suspicion of any violation of that statute shall
immediately notify the district attorney, and
furnish him with names and addresses of any
witnesses, or other information within the
officer’s knowledge, of such violation.

471.610 Confiscation of liquor and
property by commission. Whenever any
officer arrests any person for violation of the
Liquor Control Act, he shall take into his
possession all alcoholic liquor and other
property which the person so arrested has in
his possession, or on his premises, which is
apparently being used in violation of that
statute. If the person so arrested is convicted,
and it is found that the liquor and other
property has been used in violation of the law,
the same shall be forfeited to the commission,
and shall be delivered by the court or officer
to the commission. The commission is author-
ized to destroy or make such other disposition
thereof as it considers to be in the public
interest. In any such case, all alcoholic liquor
purchased or acquired from any source, and
all property, including bars, glasses, mixers,
lockers, chairs, tables, cash registers, music
devices, gambling devices, furniture, furnish-
ings, equipment and facilities for the mixing,
storing, serving or drinking of alcoholic liquor
shall be confiscated and forfeited to the com-
mission in the manner provided in this sec-
tion.

471.615 Duty to notify commission of
conviction of licensee. The county courts,
district attorneys and municipal authorities,
immediately upon the conviction of any licen-
see of the commission of a violation of any
provision of the Liquor Control Act or the
violation of any other law of this state or
ordinance of any municipality therein, in
which violation alcoholic liquor had any part,
shall notify the commission thereof. Such
officials shall notify the commission of any

acts, practices or other conduct of any such
licensee which may be subversive of the
general welfare or contrary to the spirit of the
Liquor Control Act and shall recommend such
action on the part of the commission as will
remove the evil.

471.620 Property and places as com-
mon nuisances. Any room, house, building,
boat, structure or place of any kind where
alcoholic liquor is sold, manufactured, bar-
tered or given away in violation of the law, or
where persons are permitted to resort for the
purpose of drinking alcoholic beverages in
violation of the law, or any place where such
beverages are kept for sale, barter or gift in
violation of the law, and all liquor or property
subject to confiscation under ORS 471.610
kept and used in such place is a common
nuisance. Any person who maintains or as-
sists in maintaining such common nuisance or
knowingly suffers or permits such nuisance to
exist in any place of which he is the owner,
manager or lessor, shall be guilty of a viola-
tion of the Liquor Control Act.

471.625 Lien on place used to unlaw-
fully handle liquor. If it is proved that the
owner of any building or premises knowingly
has suffered the same to be used or occupied
for the manufacture, sale or possession of
alcoholic beverages, contrary to the provisions
of the Liquor Control Act, such building or
premises are subject to a lien for, and may be
sold to pay all fines and costs assessed against
their occupants for any violation of that
statute. The lien shall be enforced immediate-
ly by civil action in any court having jurisdic-
tion, by the district attorney of the county
wherein the building or premises are located.

471.630 Authority to abate nuisance.
The Attorney General, the commission or its
administrators, or the district attorney of the
county wherein a nuisance as defined in ORS
471.620 exists, or where it has existed but has
temporarily ceased and there is good and
sufficient cause to believe that it will be
maintained in the future, may institute a suit
in equity in the circuit court for such county
in the name of the state to abate, and to
temporarily and permanently enjoin, such
nuisance. The court has the right to make
temporary and final orders as in other injunc-
tion proceedings. The plaintiff shall not be
required to give bond in such suit.

471.635 Issuance of restraining order.
(1) After a suit is commenced under ORS
471.630, application for a temporary injunc-
tion may be made to the court, which shall
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grant a hearing thereon within 10 days.
Where such application has been made, the
court, on application of the plaintiff, may
issue an ex parte order restraining the defend-
ants and all other persons from removing or in
any manner interfering with the personal
property and the contents of the room, house,
building, boat, structure or place of any kind
where the nuisance is alleged to exist, until
the decision of the court granting or refusing
such temporary injunction and until the
further order of the court.

(2) This section and ORS 471.640 to
471.655 shall not interfere with the duties of
officers as provided in ORS 471.605 and
471.610.

471.640 Service of restraining order.
The restraining order may be served by de-
livering a copy to any person in charge of such
place or residing therein, or by posting a copy
thereof in a conspicuous place at or upon one
or more of the principal doors or entrances to
such place. The officer serving the order may
enter such place and forthwith shall make and
return to the court an inventory of the person-
al property and contents situated in and used
in conducting or maintaining such nuisance.
Any violation, of the order or mutilation or
removal of the order so posted shall be a
contempt of court, if the posted order contains
a notice to that effect.

471.645 Temporary injunction. If a
temporary injunction is granted, the court
may issue further restraining orders as de-
scribed in ORS 471.635; and forthwith may
issue an order closing such place against its
use for any purpose until the final decision, or
the court may allow such place to be occupied
or used during the pendency of the injunction
proceedings by requiring the defendants to
furnish bond with sufficient surety, to be
approved by the court, in the penal sum of not
less than $2,500, payable to the state. The
bond shall be conditioned that alcoholic liquor
will not be manufactured, possessed, sold,
served, bartered, or given away, or furnished,
or otherwise disposed of thereon or therein, or
kept thereon or therein with the intent to sell,
barter, serve, or give away, or otherwise
dispose of alcoholic liquor contrary to law, and
that the defendants will pay all fines, costs
and damages assessed against them for any
violation of such conditions. The State of
Oregon in an action brought by the Attorney
General, the commission or its administrators,
or the district attorney, may take whatever
steps necessary to recover the whole amount

as a penalty for the use of the county wherein
the premises are situated.

471.650 Nature of permanent injunc-
tion. If a final decree against the defendants
is granted, the court shall order that the place
constituting the nuisance be closed for a
period not exceeding two years, or closed for a
part of said time, and until the owner, lessee,
tenant or occupant thereof gives a bond identi-
cal to the bond required under ORS 471.645. If
any condition of the bond is violated, the
whole amount may be recovered as a penalty
for the use of the county wherein the premises
are situated. In any such suit process to
nonresident defendants may be served by
publication in a newspaper of general circula-
tion in the county having jurisdiction of the
injunction proceedings. Notice shall be pub-
lished once each week for two consecutive
weeks or for such time as the court, by order,
may prescribe.

471.655 Owner may defend; evidence
concerning nuisance. (1) The owner of any
property closed or restrained, or to be closed or
restrained, may appear at any time between
the filing of the complaint and the trial and
show cause why the court should cancel or
refrain from issuing any decree orders as
against him. In order to obtain such relief, he
must prove to the satisfaction of the court that
he is the lawful owner of the property and,
further, that with reasonable care and dili-
gence he could not have known of the illegal
use of his property.

(2) Evidence of the general reputation of
the premises upon which a nuisance is alleged
to exist is admissible in evidence for the
purpose of proving the existence of the nui-
sance, and of knowledge of, and of acquies-
cence and participation therein, on the part of
persons charged with maintaining or assisting
in the maintenance of a nuisance.

471.657 Confiscation and forfeiture
for violation of ORS 471.475. Upon convic-
tion for violation of ORS 471.475, the prem-
ises upon which the violation has occurred
shall be declared to be a common nuisance and
subject to abatement proceedings as provided
by ORS 471.605 to 471.655. Any person who
knowingly suffers or permits such nuisance to
exist or be kept or maintained in a private or
public club or place of which he is the owner,
manager or lessor, may be a party defendant
to such abatement proceedings. In any such
case, upon conviction, all alcoholic liquor,
whether purchased or acquired from any other
source, and all property, including bars,
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glasses, mixers, lockers, chairs, tables, cash
registers, music devices, gambling devices,
and all facilities for the mixing, storing,
serving or drinking of alcoholic liquor shall be
declared to be a common nuisance and shall be
subject to confiscation and forfeiture as pro-
vided for by ORS 471.610. No claim of owner-
ship or of any right, title, or interest in or to
any of the personal property enumerated in
this section or ORS 471.475 shall be held valid
unless claimant shows to the satisfaction of
the court that he is in good faith the owner of
the claim and had no knowledge that the
personal property was used in violation of
ORS 471.475.

471.660 Seizure of conveyance trans-
porting liquor and liquor therein; notice
to owner; return of conveyance; costs. (1)
When any peace officer discovers any person
in the act of transporting alcoholic liquors in
violation of law, in or upon any vehicle, boat
or aircraft, or conveyance of any kind, he shall
seize any alcoholic liquor found therein, take
possession of the vehicle or conveyance and
arrest any person in charge thereof.

(2) The officer shall at once proceed
against the person arrested, under the Liquor
Control Act, in any court having competent
jurisdiction, and shall deliver the vehicle or
conveyance to the sheriff of the county in
which such seizure was made.

(3) If the person arrested is the owner of
the vehicle or conveyance seized, it shall be
returned to him upon execution by him of a
good and valid bond, with sufficient sureties
in a sum double the value of the property,
approved by the court and conditioned to
return the property to the custody of the
sheriff at a time to be specified by the court.

(4) If the person arrested is not the owner
of the vehicle or conveyance seized, the sheriff
shall make reasonable effort to determine the
name and address of the owner. If the sheriff
is able to determine the name and address of
the owner, he shall immediately notify the
owner by registered or certified mail of the
seizure and of the owner’s rights and duties
under this section and ORS 471.665.

(5) A person notified under subsection (4)
of this section, or any other person asserting a
claim to rightful possession of the vehicle or
conveyance seized, except the defendant, may
move the court having ultimate trial jurisdic-
tion over any crime charged in connection
with the seizure to return the vehicle or
conveyance to the movant.

(6) The movant shall serve a copy of the
motion upon the district attorney of the
county in which the vehicle or conveyance is
in custody. The court shall order the vehicle or
conveyance returned to the movant, unless the
court is satisfied by clear and convincing
evidence that the movant knowingly consent-
ed to the unlawful use that resulted in the
seizure. If the court does not order the return
of the vehicle or conveyance, the movant shall
obtain the return only as provided in subsec-
tion (3) of this section.

(7) If the court orders the return of the
vehicle or conveyance to the movant, the
movant shall not be liable for any towing or
storage costs incurred as a result of the sei-
zure.

(8) If the court does not order the return of
the vehicle or conveyance under subsection (6)
of this section, and the arrested person is
convicted for any offense in connection with
the seizure, the vehicle or conveyance shall be
subject to forfeiture as provided in ORS
471.665.
[Amended by 1973 ¢.836 §351]

471.665 Disposal of conveyance
transporting liquor and liquor therein. (1)
The court, upon conviction of the person
arrested under ORS 471.660, shall order the
alcoholic liquor delivered to the commission,
and shall, subject to the provisions of subsec-
tion (3) of this section, and the ownership
rights of innocent third parties, order a sale at
public auction by the sheriff of the county of
the property seized. The sheriff, after deduct-
ing the expense of keeping the property and
the cost of sale, shall pay all the liens, accord-
ing to their priorities, which are established
by intervention or otherwise at such hearing
or in other proceedings brought for that
purpose, and shall pay the balance of the
proceeds into the general fund of the county.
No claim of ownership or of any right, title or
interest in or to such vehicle that is otherwise
valid shall be held invalid unless the state
shows to the satisfaction of the court, by clear
and convincing evidence, that the claimant
had knowledge that the vehicle was used or to
be used in violation of law. All liens against
property sold under this section shall be
transferred from the property to the proceeds
of the sale.

(2) If no person claims the vehicle or
conveyance, the taking of the same and the
description thereof shall be advertised in some
daily newspaper published in the city or
county where taken, or if no daily newspaper
is published in such city or county, in a news-
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paper having weekly circulation in the city or
county, once a week for two weeks and by
handbills posted in three public places near
the place of seizure, and shall likewise notify
by mail the legal owner, in the case of an
automobile, if licensed by the State of Oregon,
as shown by his name and address in the
records of the Motor Vehicles Division of the
Department of Transportation. If no claimant
appears within 10 days after the last publica-
tion of the advertisement, the property shall
be sold and the proceeds, after deducting the
expenses and costs, shall be paid into the
general fund of the county.

(3) In the case of any boat, vehicle or other
conveyance seized pursuant to ORS 167.247
the boat, vehicle or other conveyance may, in
the discretion of the seizing law enforcement
agency, following conviction of the person
arrested but prior to public auction, be
claimed by the seizing law enforcement agen-
cy by giving timely notice to the sheriff of the
county in which the seizure was made, that
the seizing law enforcement agency intends to
retain the boat, vehicle or other conveyance
for official use. On receipt of notice of such
claim, the sheriff shall determine the expense
of keeping the boat, vehicle or other convey-
ance, and all the liens. The seizing agency
may then pay the total of the expenses and
liens to the sheriff of the county in which the
seizure was made. The sheriff shall pay all the
liens, according to their priorities, and all
other expenses incurred in the seizing and
keeping of the boat, vehicle or other convey-
ance. Upon payment of the liens and expenses,
the boat, vehicle or other conveyance shall be
delivered to the possession of, and title to the
conveyance shall rest in, the seizing agency.
The seizing agency then shall put the boat,
vehicle or other conveyance to official law

enforcement use.
[Amended by 1971 c¢.743 §374a; 1973 c.836 §352; 1977
c.745 §40]

Note: The amendments to 471.665 by section 40,
chapter 745, Oregon Laws 1977, take effect July 1, 1978.
See section 56, chapter 745, Oregon Laws 1977.

471.670 Disposal of funds collected in
enforcement of liquor laws; payment of
enforcement (1) Except as pro-
vided in subsection (2) of this section, all fines
imposed by any judge, magistrate or court in
the enforcement of the Liquor Control Act
shall be forwarded immediately to the county
treasurer of the county in which such convic-
tion is had. The county treasurer shall keep
the same in a separate fund designated as an
enforcement fund. All warrants for any ex-
penditures in the enforcement of that statute,

which have been approved by the district
attorney of said county, shall be drawn on this
fund. All claims shall be verified by the
claimants or persons having knowledge or
supervision of the expenditures and shall be
audited by the county court in the usual
manner before presentation for payment
thereof. When the enforcement fund exceeds
the amount paid to satisfy the total of all
claims made against it during the preceding
calendar year, the excess amount shall be paid
to the general fund of such county by the
county treasurer on June 30 and December 31
of each year.

(2) Any fine imposed or collected by a
police or municipal judge or recorder of any
city may be retained by the municipality and
shall be paid over and become a part of the
city’s general fund.

471.675 Resisting arrest or hindering
enforcement. No person shall forcibly resist
lawful arrest or interfere with or hinder any
officer or inspector authorized by the commis-
sion, or other competent authority, in the
investigation of any infringement of the
Liquor Control Act, or in the making of any
lawful search, examination, or seizure in the
performance of his duties to that end.

471.680 Allegation and proof in pros-
ecutions. In any prosecution for the sale of
alcoholic liquor it is not necessary to prove the
exact variety, or to mention the quantity of
alcoholic liquor sold, except in the case where
the variety or quantity is essential to estab-
lish the offense. As regards quantity it is
sufficient to allege the sale of a quantity, the
sale of which quantity is unlawful. The de-
scription of any offense, alleged to be a viola-
tion of the Liquor Control Act, in the words of
that statute or in any words of like effect, is
sufficient in law. Any exceptions, exemptions,
provisions, excuse or qualification may be
proved by the defendant, but need not be
specified or negatived in the complaint, infor-
mation or indictment. If it is so specified or
negatived, no proof in relation to the matter
so specified or negatived is required on the
part of the plaintiff, informant or complain-
ant.

471.685 Governor authorized to sus-
pend license. In case of invasion, disaster,
insurrection, riot, or imminent danger thereof,
the Governor may, for the duration of such
invasion, disaster, insurrection, riot, or immi-
nent danger thereof, immediately suspend
without notice any license in the area in-
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volved granted under the provisions of this
chapter and ORS chapter 472.
[1963 c.91 §2]

ORGANIZATION, POWERS
AND DUTIES OF LIQUOR
COMMISSION

471.705 Composition of commission;
qualifications and term of commissioners;
compensation and expenses; confirmation
by Senate. (1) There is created the Oregon
Liquor Control Commission, consisting of
three persons appointed by the Governor. Not
more than two commissioners shall be of the
same political party and one shall be designat-
ed by the Governor to be chairman of the
commission. The commissioners are entitled to
compensation and expenses as provided in
ORS 292.495. Not more than one commission-
er shall be appointed from and have residence
in any congressional district in this state.
Each commissioner at the time of his appoint-
ment and qualification shall be a resident of
this state and shall have resided in this state
for at least five years next preceding his
appointment and qualification. He shall be a
qualified voter therein and not less than 30
years of age.

(2) The term of office of a commissioner
shall be four years from the time of his ap-
pointment and qualification and until his
successor qualifies. In case any commissioner
is allowed to hold over after the expiration of
his term, his successor shall be appointed for
the balance of the unexpired term. Vacancies
in the commission shall be filled by the Gover-
nor for the unexpired term. Each commission-
er is eligible for reappointment.

(3) All appointments of commissioners by
the Governor are subject to confirmation by
the Senate in the manner provided in ORS
171.560 and 171.570.

[Amended by 1967 ¢.577 §11; 1969 c.314 §50; 1973 ¢.792
§17]

471.710 Removal of commissioner;
ineligibility as commissioner or as ap-
pointee or employe of commission. (1) The
Governor may remove any commissioner for
inefficiency, neglect of duty, or misconduct in
office, giving to him a copy of the charges
against him and an opportunity of being
publicly heard in person or by counsel, in his
own defense, upon not less than 10 days’
notice. If such commissioner is removed, the
Governor shall file in the office of the Secre-
tary of State a complete statement of all
charges made against such commissioner, his

findings thereon, and a complete record of the
proceedings.

(2) A person is not eligible to hold the
office of commissioner, or to be appointed by
the commission or hold any office or position
under the commission if he has any connec-
tion with any person engaged in or conducting
any alcoholic liquor business of any kind,
holds stock or bonds therein, has any pecuni-
ary interest therein, or receives any commis-
sion or profit from or has any interest in the
purchases or sales made by the commission or
by persons authorized by virtue of the Liquor
Control Act to manufacture, purchase or sell
any alcoholic liquors.

471.715 Meetings of commission;
bonds required. (1) The principal office of
the commission shall be in the City of Salem.

(2) Each member of the commission shall
give a good and sufficient bond to the state for
$5,000, conditioned upon the faithful perform-
ance of the duties of his office. The bond shall
be approved by the Governor and Attorney
General, and the premium paid from the fund
described in ORS 471.805.

(3) The commission shall meet at such
times and places within this state as it deter-
mines and the members thereof are entitled to
their reasonable expenses for each meeting
attended. A majority of the commissioners
constitutes a quorum for the transaction of
any business, for the performance of any duty
or for the exercise of any power of the commis-
s1on.

471.720 Administrator and other em-
ployes. (1) The commission shall appoint an
administrator, who shall serve at its pleasure;
and all other officers, attorneys, clerks, ste-
nographers, inspectors, auditors, chemists,
experts and employes as may be necessary.
The administrator shall act as manager,
secretary and custodian of the records of the
commission, unless it otherwise orders, and
perform such other duties as the commission
may prescribe.

(2) The administrator shall devote his
entire time to said office, and shall give bond
for the faithful performance of his duties in
such form as the commission may approve and
in an amount not less than $25,000.

(3) The commission may fix the duties,
salaries and wages of its employes, require
such bonds from them as it deems advisable
and pay the premiums thereon.

[Amended by 1967 ¢.630 §4; 1975 ¢ 605 §24]
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471.725 Buying, leasing, contracting
and borrowing powers of commission.
The function, duties and powers of the com-
mission include the following:

(1) To buy, have in its possession, bottle,
blend, rectify, transport and sell, for present
or future delivery, in its own name, alcoholic
liquor in the manner set forth in this chapter.

(2) To purchase, acquire, rent, lease or
occupy any building, rooms, stores or land and
acquire, own, lease and sell equipment and
fixtures required for its operations.

(3) To lease or sublet to others property
which it acquires or owns and which is not
immediately required for its operations.
However, no real property shall be purchased
without the consent and approval of the
Governor.

(4) To borrow money, guarantee the pay-
ment thereof and of the interest thereon, by
the transfer or pledge of goods or in any other
manner required or permitted by law.

(5) To issue, sign, indorse and accept
checks, promissory notes, bills of exchange
and other negotiable instruments.

(6) In the event the United States Govern-
ment provides any plan or method whereby
the taxes upon alcoholic liquors are collected
at the source, to enter into any and all con-
tracts and comply with all regulations, even to
the extent of partially or wholly abrogating
any statutory provisions which might be in
conflict with federal law or regulations, to the
end that the commission receives the portion
thereof allocated to this state, to be distribut-
ed as provided by statute.

(7) To secure and pay for such policies of
insurance as may be necessary to adequately
protect it from loss by fire, theft or other
casualty.

471730 Regulatory powers of com-
mission. The function, duties and powers of
the commission include the following:

(1) To control the manufacture, posses-
sion, sale, purchase, transportation, importa-
tion and delivery of alcoholic liquor in accord-
ance with the provisions of this chapter.

(2) To grant, refuse, suspend or cancel
licenses and permits for the sale or manufac-
ture of alcoholic liquor, or other licenses and
permits in regard thereto, and to permit, in its
discretion, the transfer of a license of any
person.

(8) To collect the taxes and duties imposed
by statutes relating to alcoholic liquors, and to

issue, and provide for cancellation, stamps
and other devices as evidence of payment of
such taxes or duties.

(4) To investigate and aid in the prosecu-
tion of every violation of statutes relating to
alcoholic liquors, to seize alcoholic liquor
manufactured, sold, kept, imported or trans-
ported in contravention of this chapter, and
apply for the confiscation thereof, whenever
required by statute, and cooperate in the
prosecution of offenders before any court of
competent jurisdiction.

(5) To adopt such regulations as are neces-
sary and feasible for carrying out the provi-
sions of this chapter and to amend or repeal
such regulations. When such regulations are
adopted they shall have the full force and
effect of law.

(6) To exercise all powers incidental,
convenient or necessary to enable it to admin-
ister or carry out any of the provisions of this
chapter.

(7) To control, regulate and prohibit any
advertising by manufacturers, wholesalers or
retailers of alcoholic liquor by the medium of
newspapers, letters, billboards, radio or other-
wise.

(8) To sell, license, regulate and control
the use of alcohol for scientific, pharmaceuti-
cal, manufacturing, mechanical, industrial
and other purposes, and to provide by regula-
tion for the sale thereof for such uses.

471.735 Testing and seizure of wines.
The commission shall have the power to
investigate by sample or chemical analysis,
the quality of all wines manufactured, import-
ed, sold or offered for sale within this state,
and to seize, confiscate and destroy all wines
sold or offered for sale within this state which
do not conform in all respects to the minimum
standards provided for by the laws of this
state.

471.740 Commission’s exclusive right
to handle certain liquors; exceptions.
Except as authority may be conferred by
license issued by the commission, the exclu-
sive right to purchase, sell, have in possession
for sale, import or transport, except for sacra-
mental purposes and not for sale, any wine
containing over 21 percent of aleohol by
volume or any other alcoholic liquor contain-
ing over eight percent of alcohol by volume is
vested in the commission. Such wine or liquor
shall be sold only by the commission or its
duly authorized and regularly employed agent
or representative. It shall be delivered to the



28

LIQUOR; CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

purchaser personally. All other wines contain-
ing not over 21 percent of alcohol by volume
or any other alcoholic liquors containing not
over eight percent of alcohol by volume, may
be manufactured, sold, possessed, distributed,
imported or transported, as provided by this
chapter and not otherwise.

(Amended by 1953 ¢.120 §6; 1974 s.s. c.4 §6]

471.745 Commission’s power to fix
prices and sell liquor. The commission shall
fix the prices at which alcoholic liquors con-
taining over four percent alcohol by weight
may be purchased from it, and has power to
bottle, blend, rectify, manufacture or sell
alcoholic liquors for itself, or for or to any
person or commission within or without this
state.

471.750 Liquor stores and warehous-
es; operation; sales; advertising. The
commission shall establish such stores and
warehouses in such places in the state as in its
judgment are required by public convenience
or necessity, for the sale of spirituous liquors,
wines and other alcoholic liquors containing
over four percent of alcohol by weight, in
sealed containers for consumption off the
premises. It shall keep on hand in such stores
or warehouses such quantities and kinds of
alcoholic liquors as are reasonably required to
supply the public demand. Any person quali-
fied to purchase such liquors from the com-
mission has the right to present to the com-
mission, or at any of its stores, an application
for any kind or brand of alcoholic liquor which
he may desire and which may be manufac-
tured or obtainable in any place in the United
States, and the commission shall obtain such
liquor and sell it to the applicant. No such
store shall be established in any county or
incorporated city of this state where a local
prohibitory law is in effect. The stores shall be
closed on Sundays and any legal holidays or
any state or national election days designated
by the commission. The advertising of the sale
of liquors by the commission or window dis-
play in its stores are prohibited, except that
the commission may provide for appropriate
signs on windows or front denoting the fact
that it is a store of the commission, and may
post within the store appropriate price lists.
The commission may appoint agents in the
sale of said liquor under such agreement as
the commission may negotiate with said
agents or their representative,

[Amended by 1977 ¢.321 §3; 1977 ¢.608 §2]

471.7556 [Amended by 1971 ¢.734 §67; repealed by
1973 c.311 §6]

471.757 Statement of financial inter-
est in business of licensee. (1) At such
times as the Oregon Liquor Control Commis-
sion may prescribe and upon forms furnished
by the commission, any licensee of the com-
mission under this chapter and ORS chapter
472 may be required to submit a sworn state-
ment to the commission showing the name,
address and the nature and extent of the
financial interest of each person, individual
and corporate, having a financial interest in
the business operated under the license.

(2) The commission shall review the
statement and may suspend, cancel or refuse
to renew the license of any licensee when
conditions exist in relation to any person
having a financial interest in the place of
business which would constitute grounds for
refusing to issue a license or for cancellation
or suspension of a license if such person were
the licensee. However, in cases where the
financial interest is held by a corporation,
only the officers and directors of the corpora-
tion, any individual or combination of individ-
uals who own a controlling financial interest
in the business and any manager of the busi-
ness shall be considered persons having a
financial interest within the meaning of this
subsection.

(1963 ¢.369 §1]

471.760 Commission’s power to sub-
pena, administer oaths and take deposi-
tions. Each member of the commission, or
any of its authorized agents, shall, for the
purposes contemplated by this chapter, have
power to issue subpenas, compel the attend-
ance of witnesses, administer oaths, certify to
official acts, take depositions within or with-
out this state, as provided by law, and compel
the production of pertinent books, payrolls,
accounts, papers, records, documents and
testimony.

[Amended by 1953 ¢.101 §2]

471.765 Procedure when person ref-
uses to testify or produce books. If a
person in attendance before the commission or
a commissioner refuses, without reasonable
cause, to be examined or to answer a legal and
pertinent question, or to produce a book or
paper when ordered so to do by the commis-
sion, the commission may apply to the judge
of the circuit court of any county where such
person is in attendance, upon proof by affida-
vit of the fact, for a rule or order returnable in
not less than two nor more than five days,
directing such person to show cause before the
judge who made the order, or any other judge
of such county, why he should not be punished
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for contempt. Upon the return of such order,
the judge shall examine such person under
oath and he shall be given an opportunity to
be heard. If the judge determines that such
person has refused, without reasonable cause
or legal excuse, to be examined or to answer a
legal or pertinent question, or to produce a
book or paper which he was ordered to bring
or produce, he may forthwith punish the
offender for contempt of court.

471770 Self-incrimination as a basis
for refusing to testify or produce books.
No person shall be excused from testifying or
from producing any books, papers or docu-
ments in any investigation or inquiry by or
upon any hearing before the commission or
any commissioner when ordered so to do by
the commission or any of its authorized
agents, upon the ground that the testimony,
evidence, books, papers or documents required
of him may tend to incriminate him or subject
him to penalty or forfeiture. No person shall
be prosecuted, punished or subjected to any
penalty or forfeiture for or on account of any
act, transaction, matter or thing concerning
which he shall, under oath, have, by order of
the commission, or a commissioner, or any of
its authorized agents, testified to or produced
documentary evidence of; but no person so
testifying shall be exempt from prosecution or
punishment for any perjury committed by him
in his testimony.

{Amended by 1953 c.101 §2]

471.775 Service of subpenas; author-
ity of inspectors. (1) The provisions of ORS
183.440 shall apply to subpenas issued by
each member of the commission or any of its
authorized agents.

(2) Inspectors and investigators employed
by the commission shall have all the authority
given by statute to peace officers of this state,
including authority to serve and execute
warrants of arrest and warrants of search and
seizure.

[Amended by 1953 ¢.101 §2; 1971 c.734 §68]

471.780 Issuance of purchase orders;
preservation of records. Every order given
by the commission for alcoholic liquor must
have written approval of two of its members.
A duplicate of every order for alcoholic liquor
shall be kept at the head office of the commis-
sion. All purchase orders, sales records and
other records of the commission shall be
preserved until audited by the state auditors.
Thereafter they may be destroyed by order of

the commission with the consent and approval
of the State Auditor.
(Amended by 1953 c.13 §2; 1969 c.145 §1]

471.785 [Amended by 1961 c.160 §23; 1967 c.577 §3;
repealed by 1973 ¢.794 §34]

471,790 Commissioners not liable for
official acts; commission funds entitled to
priority. No member of the commission may
be sued for doing or omitting to do any act in
the performance of his duties as prescribed in
the Liquor Control Act. No member of the
commission personally shall be liable for any
loss caused by the default or failure of the
depository of funds of the commission. All
funds of the commission deposited in any
bank or trust company are entitled to priority
of payment as public funds of the state, if the
commission funds are only kept in depositor-
ies designated by the State Treasurer and
under security of the same character required
by law for depositories of state funds.

471.795 Purchase and use of liquor
by member or employe of commission. No
provision of the Liquor Control Act prevents
any member or employe of the commission
from purchasing and keeping in his posses-
sion, for the personal use of himself or mem-
bers of his family, any alcoholic liquor in the
same manner as it may be purchased or kept
by any other person under that statute.

471.800 Restrictions on out-of-state
wine; imposition. If by the laws of another
state or by the rules and regulations of any
administrative body or authorized agency
thereof or therein, market restrictions are
imposed that prevent or tend to prevent the
sale of wine manufactured in Oregon in free
and unrestricted competition with like kinds
of wine manufactured in such other state, the
commission is authorized and directed to
impose similar restrictions in Oregon upon
such wine manufactured in such other state
and offered for sale in Oregon.

471.805 Disposition of moneys; re-
volving fund. (1) Except as otherwise pro-
vided in subsection (2) of ORS 471.810, all
money collected by the commission, under this
chapter and ORS chapters 472 and 473 and
privilege taxes shall be remitted to the State
Treasurer who shall credit it to a suspense
account of the commission. Whenever the
commission determines that moneys have
been received by it in excess of the amount
legally due and payable to the commission or
that it has received money to which it has no
legal interest, or that any license fee or depos-
it is properly refundable, the commission is
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authorized and directed to refund such money
by check drawn upon the State Treasurer and
charged to the suspense account of the com-
mission. After withholding refundable license
fees and such sum, not to exceed $125,000, as
it considers necessary as a revolving fund for
a working cash balance for the purpose of
paying travel expenses, advances, other
miscellaneous bills and extraordinary items
which are payable in cash immediately upon
presentation, the commission shall direct the
State Treasurer to transfer the money remain-
ing in the suspense account to the Oregon
Liquor Control Commission Account in the
General Fund. '

(2) All necessary expenditures of the
commission incurred in carrying out the
purposes and provisions required of the com-
mission by law, including the salaries of its
employes, purchases made by the commission
and such sums nece to reimburse the
$125,000 revolving fund, shall be audited and
paid from the Oregon Liquor Control Commis-
sion Account in the General Fund, upon
warrants drawn by the Executive- Depart-
ment, pursuant to claims theretofore duly
approved by the commission.

(3) Money produced by the operation of
this chapter and ORS chapters 472 and 473
necessary to pay such expenditures hereby is
appropriated from the Oregon Liquor Control
Commission Account in the General Fund for

such purposes.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.26 §1; 1967 ¢.577 §4; 1975 c.424 §2]

471.810 Distribution of available
moneys in Oregon Liquor Control Com-
mission Account. (1) At the end of each
month, the commission shall certify the
amount of money available for distribution in
the Oregon Liquor Control Commission Ac-
count, and after withholding such money as it
may deem necessary to pay its outstanding
obligations shall within 35 days of the month
for which a distribution is made direct the
State Treasurer to pay the amounts due, upon
warrants drawn by the Executive Depart-
ment, as follows:

(a) Fifty-six percent, or the amount re-
maining after the distribution under subsec-
tion (3) of this section, credited to the General
Fund available for general governmental
purposes wherein it shall be considered as
revenue during the quarter immediately
preceding receipt;

(b) Twenty percent to the cities of the
state in such shares as the population of each
city bears to the population of the cities of the

state, as determined by the State Board of
Higher Education last preceding such appor-
tionment, under ORS 190.510 to 190.610;

(¢) Ten percent to counties in such shares
as their respective populations bear to the
total population of the state, as estimated
from time to time by the State Board of High-
er Education; and

(d) Fourteen percent to the cities of the
state to be distributed as provided in ORS
221.770, 221.780 and this section.

" (2) The commission shall direct the Execu-
tive Department to transfer 50 percent of the
revenues from the taxes imposed by ORS
473.030 and 473.040 to the Mental Health
Alcoholism and Drug Services Account in the
General Fund to be paid monthly as provided
in ORS 430.380.

(3) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this
section, no city or county shall receive for any
fiscal year an amount less than the amount
distributed to the city or county in accordance
with ORS 471.350, 471.810, 473.190 and
473.210 during the 1966-1967 fiscal year
unless the city or county had a decline in
population as shown by its census. If the
population declined, the per capita distribu-
tion to the city or county shall be not less than
the total per capita distribution during the
1966-1967 fiscal year. Any additional funds
required to maintain the level of distribution
under this subsection shall be paid from funds
credited under paragraph (a) of subsection (1)
of this section.

[Amended by 1955 ¢.475 §11; 1957 ¢.222 §1; 1957 c.445
§1; 1961 ¢.78 §1; 1961 ¢.635 §1; 1967 ¢.577 §5; 1969 ¢.499

§1; 1975 c.424 §4; 1975 ¢.527 §4a; 1977 c.831 §3a; 1977
¢.856 §18]

471.815 [Repealed by 1961 ¢ 706 §45]
471.820 [Repealed by 1961 ¢.706 §45]
471.825 [Repealed by 1961 ¢.706 §45]
471.830 [Repealed by 1961 ¢.706 §45)

PENALTIES

471.990 Penalties. (1) Except where
other punishment is specifically provided for,
violation of any provision of this chapter is a
misdemeanor.

(2) Except as otherwise specifically pro-
vided, municipal, justices’, district and circuit
courts have concurrent jurisdiction of all
violations of this chapter committed within
their respective jurisdictions.

(3) A second or subsequent violation of
ORS 471.440 is punishable upon conviction by
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imprisonment in the penitentiary for not more punishable upon conviction by a fine of not
than three years and by a fine of not more more than $200.
than $3,000. [Amended by 1953 ¢.120 §6; 1963 c.93 §6]

(4) Violation of any regulation promulgat-
ed under subsection (5) of ORS 471.730 is
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