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CONSUMER FINANCE 725.040

725.010 Definitions. As used in this and satisfy himself that this section entitles
chapter, unless the context requires other- a person to a continuance of a license. 
wise: 

1) " Licensee" means every person

licensed under this chapter. 

2) " Licensing official" means the Super- 
intendent of Banks. 

725.020 Short title. This chapter shall
be known as the Oregon Consumer Finance
Act. 
Amended by 1955 c. 71 s. 11

725.025 Declaration of legislative

intent. It is 'the intent of the legislature in

enacting chapter 71, Oregon Laws 1955, to
consolidate the Small Loan Act, ORS chapter
725 [ 1953 edition], and the Motor Vehicle

Finance Act, ORS chapter 727 [ 1953 edition], 
to provide uniformity in the business of
making loans or advancements in the

amount or value of $ 1, 500 or less to elimi- 

nate the present duplication of licenses, re- 
cords, reports and supervision. 

1955 c 71 s 14] 

725.026 Existing contracts not affect- 
ed. Nothing contained in chapter 71, Oregon
Laws 1955, shall be construed to impair or
affect the obligation of any contract lawfully
made prior to August 3, 1955, including any
lawful contract made by a licensee under
ORS chapter 725 [ 1953 edition] or ORS chap- 
ter 727 [ 1953 edition]. 
1955 c 71 s 161

725.027 Licenses of persons licensed
under ORS chapter 725 or 727 on August
3, 1955, continued in force. ( 1) Any person
licensed under and subject to ORS chapter
725 on August 3, 1955, is deemed to be li- 
censed under and subject to ORS chapter 725

during the period from August 3, 1955, to
and including December 31, 1955. Any per- 
son not licensed under and subject to ORS
chapter 725, but who holds a license under
ORS chapter 727 on August 3, 1955, and

who held such license on January 1, 1955, is
deemed to be licensed under and subject to

ORS chapter 725 during the period from
August 3, 1955, to and including December
31, 1955. Only one license shall be issued for
each licensed office, irrespective of whether

such office is licensed under both ORS chap- 
ter 725 and ORS chapter 727 and irrespec- 
tive of whether the two licenses are held by
different persons. The licensing official shall
charge no further fees for the continuance of
a license as provided in this subsection. The
licensing official shall investigate the facts

2) Any license in effect on December 31, 
1955, under subsection ( 1) of this section, 

shall be continued in force as long as the
standards are maintained under ORS chapter
725, by payment of the required annual
license fee, and such license shall be evi- 
denced by a new certificate which shall be a
continuing license. 
1955 c 71 s. 151

Note: Section 6, chapter 428, Oregon Laws 1973, 
provides - 

Sec. 6. ( 1) Any person incorporated under and
subject to ORS chapter 724 on the effective date of this
Act [ October 5, 19731 is considered to be licensed under
and subject to ORS chapter 725 The licensing official
shall not charge any additional fees for the continuance
of a license under this subsection

2) The licensing official shall investigate the facts
and satisfy himself that this section entitles a person to
a continuance of a license. 

725.030 License required before

making certain loans. ( 1) A person shall

not engage or continue in the business of

making or offering to make any loan in
amounts of $ 50,000 or less, secured or unse- 
cured, for which there is charged, contracted

for or directly or indirectly received any sum
or value at a rate in excess of 10 percent per
annum, except as authorized by this chapter
and without first procuring a license in ac- 
cordance with this chapter. 

2) This section does not apply to a loan
for which a rate in excess of 10 percent per
annum is expressly permitted by any law of
this state or a loan that does not exceed the
10 percent general interest rate under ORS
82.010. 

Amended by 1955 c 71 s 2, 1971 c 450 s 1, 1973 c 428
s. 1, 1975 c 567 s 11

Note: Section 7, chapter 428, Oregon Laws 1973, 
provides

Sec. 7. Nothing contained in this Act shall be
construed to impair or affect the obligation of any

contract lawfully made prior to the effective date of this
Act, [ October 5, 19731 including any lawful contract
made by a corporation incorporated under ORS chapter
724 on the effective date of this Act
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725.040 Construction of chapter. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed or
held to limit the rights, powers or privileges

granted to any person by any law of this
state or of the United States whereby the

loaning of money or extending of credit is
regulated, provided that such person is oper- 

ating in compliance with the provisions of
such law. 
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725.050 Prohibited transactions. No
licensee shall take: 

1) On loans of less than $2, 000, any lien
upon real estate as security for any loan for
which a greater rate of interest or considera- 
tion than 10 percent per annum is charged, 
contracted for or received, except such lien

as is created by law upon the recording of a
judgment. 

2) Any power of attorney from any
borrower, except a power of attorney to
effectuate the transfer of the ownership of
any motor vehicle at the time of making a
loan on a motor vehicle. 

3) Any note, promise to pay or pledge of
collateral which does not accurately disclose
the actual amount of the loan, the time for
which it is made, the rate of interest

charged or the schedule of payments agreed
upon, or any instrument in which blanks are
left to be filled in after execution. 
Amended by 1955 c 71 s. 3; 1971 c.450 s 21

725.060 False advertising prohibited. 
No licensee or other person shall advertise, 
print, display, publish, distribute or broad- 
cast or cause or permit to be advertised, 
printed, displayed, published, distributed or
broadcast in any manner whatsoever any
statement or representation with regard to
the rates, terms or conditions for loans

which is false, misleading or deceptive. 

725.110 Residence qualifications of

licensees. No license shall be granted to
any person, partnership, association or corpo- 

ration unless that person and all members of

any such partnership or association are bona
fide residents of this state and unless such
corporation is an Oregon corporation in good

standing or a foreign corporation legally
qualified to do business in this state. 

725.120 Application for license; no- 

tice of filing; annual fee. ( 1) Application

for the license shall be in writing in the
form prescribed by the licensing official and
shall contain the name and both the resi- 
dence and business addresses of the appli- 
cant, and if the applicant is a partnership or
association, of every member thereof, and if
a corporation, of each officer and director
thereof. The application shall also contain
the county and city or town with street and
number, if any, where the business is to be
conducted and any other information which
the licensing official may require. 

2) Notice of the filing of the application
shall be posted in the office of the licensing
official for 30 days and no license shall be

issued before the expiration of such 30 -day
period. However, the licensing official in his
discretion may waive the posting of notice
and issue a license without regard to such
30-day period if the application is for a
license at a location where a license has
been surrendered because of: 

a) The transfer of the business of the
licensee, and the applicant is the transferee; 
or

b) The death of the licensee, and the
applicant is a representative or heir of the
licensee; or

c) The change of the name under which
the licensee does business, and the applicant
is the same licensee. 

3) Applicants at the time of making
application shall pay to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund $ 150 as an

annual license fee for a period terminating
on the last day of the current calendar year. 
However, if the application is filed after
June 30 in any year the license fee shall be

75. In case the license is not issued for
cause or if the application is withdrawn

after the applicant has been investigated by
the licensing official, there shall be refunded
to the applicant all the license fee except

50 which shall be retained by the licensing
official; otherwise no part of any license fee
shall be refunded. 
Amended by 1955 c 71 s. 4] 

725.125[ 1971 c.450 s 5, repealed by 1973 c.428 s 111

725.130[Repealed by 1955 c 71 s 171

725.140 Issuance of license; condi- 

tions. ( 1) Conditioned upon the applicant's
compliance with this chapter and the pay- 
ment of the license fee, the licensing official
within 90 days after the date of filing the
application referred to in ORS 725. 120, shall
disapprove the application or shall issue and
deliver a license to the applicant to make
loans in accordance with this chapter at the
location specified in the application, which
license shall be a continuing license and
need not be issued annually, to remain in
full force and effect until it is surrendered
by the licensee or revoked or suspended as
provided in ORS 725.230 and 725.250; pro- 
vided the licensing official finds upon inves- 
tigation: 

a) That the financial responsibility, 
experience, character and general fitness of

the applicant, and of the members thereof if

the applicant is a partnership or association, 
and of the officers and directors thereof if
the applicant is a corporation, are such as to

command the confidence of the community
and to warrant the belief that the business
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will be operated honestly, fairly and effi- 
ciently within the purposes of this chapter. 

b) That allowing the applicant to engage
in business will promote the convenience and

advantage of the community in which the
business of the applicant is to be conducted, 

and in the absence of any other reason or
condition which in his judgment would

warrant the refusal to grant a license. 
2) The findings mentioned in para- 

graphs ( a) and ( b) of subsection ( 1) of this

section are conditions precedent to issuance
of a license under this chapter. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 s 5, 1963 c. 167 s. l] 

72:5.150 Disapproval of applications; 
appeal. If the application is denied, the

licensing official shall indorse thereon with
the date the word " Disapproved" and shall

immediately advise the applicant by regis- 
tered mail of the reason therefor. The appli- 
cant shall have the right of appeal from the
decision to the circuit court for the county of
the city or town mentioned in the applica- 
tion. The appeal must be taken within 30
days after date of mailing of the notice of
disapproval. 

725.160 Form of license; posting; 

transferability. The license shall be in a

form prescribed by the licensing official and
shall state the address at which the business
is to be conducted and the full name of the
licensee. The license shall be kept conspicu- 

ously posted in the place of business of the
licensee and shall not be transferable or
assignable. 

Amended by 1955 c 71 s 61

725.170[Repealed by 1955 c. 71 s 171

725.180 Annual fee. Every licensee, on
or before December 15 of each year, shall

pay to the licensing official the annual li- 
cense fee of $ 150 for the next succeeding
calendar year. 

Amended by 1955 c 71 s. 71

725.190 - Annual report of licensee; 

report of licensing official; penalty for
failure to report by licensee. ( 1) On or

before February 15 of each year every licen- 
see shall file a report with the licensing
official giving such relevant information as
the licensing official reasonably may require
concerning the business and operations dur- 
ing the preceding calendar year of each h- 
censed place of business conducted by the
licensee within the state. The report shall be
made under oath and shall be in the form
prescribed by the licensing official, who shall

725.230

make and publish annually a recapitulation
of such reports. 

2) Every licensee who fails to file any
report required under this chapter within the

time specified may be subject to a penalty of
10 per day for each day's delay. 

Amended by 1955 c. 71 s 8; 1973 c 428 s. 21

Note: See note under 725 030

725.200[Repealed by 1971 c 743 s 4321

725.210 Additional licenses to same
applicant. No licensee shall transact any
business within the scope of this chapter

except under the name and at the place of

business named in his license. The licensing
official may issue more than one license to
the same licensee upon his compliance with
all the provisions of this chapter governing
an original issuance of a license for each
such additional license. However, each addi- 
tional license shall be for a separate and
distinct place of business for making and
completing loans as provided in this chapter. 

725.220 Change of place of business. 
1) Whenever a licensee wishes to change his

place of business to another location within

the same city or town, he shall submit writ- 
ten notice thereof, together with his license, 
to the licensing official. If the licensing offi- 
cial, upon investigation, finds that allowing
the licensee to engage in business at the
proposed new location will promote the con- 

venience and advantage of the community in
which the proposed new location of the busi- 
ness is situated, he shall amend the license
of the licensee to reflect the new location, 
and shall return the amended license to the
licensee. If the licensing official disapproves
the proposed new location of the business, he
shall indorse on the notice of the licensee
the word " Disapproved," immediately advise
the licensee by registered mail of such disap- 
proval and return the license unchanged to

the licensee. The licensee may appeal from
such disapproval in the manner provided in
ORS 725. 150. 

2) No change in the place of business of
a licensee to a location outside the city or
town named in the original license shall be
permitted under the same license. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 s 9] 
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725.230 Revocation and suspension
of licenses. ( 1) The licensing official may
revoke any license under this chapter upon
10 days' notice to the licensee stating the
contemplated action and in general the
grounds therefor and upon reasonable oppor- 
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tunity for a hearing in connection therewith, 
if he finds that: 

a) The licensee has failed to pay the
annual license fee or to comply with any
demand, ruling or requirement of the licens- 
ing official lawfully made pursuant to and
within the authority of this chapter or to
comply with the provisions of law to keep
the corporation in good standing if such
licensee is a corporation; 

b) The licensee has violated any provi- 
sions of this chapter or any rule or regula- 
tion lawfully made by the licensing official
under and within the authority of this
chapter; or

c) Any fact or condition exists which, if
it had existed at the time of the original
application for such license, clearly would
have warranted the licensing official in
refusing originally to issue such license. 

2) The licensing official may, without
notice or hearing, suspend any license for a
period not exceeding 30 days, pending
investigation. 

3) The licensing official may revoke or
suspend only the particular license with
respect to which grounds for revocation or
suspension may occur or exist, or, if he finds
that such grounds for revocation or suspen- 
sion are of general application to all offices

or to more than one office operated by a
licensee, he may revoke or suspend all the
licenses or such number of licenses issued to
the licensee as the grounds for revocation or
suspension apply to, as the case may be. 
Amended by 1955 c 71 s 101

725.235 License denial procedure; 

promulgation, review of rules and or- 

ders. ( 1) Where the superintendent proposes
to refuse to issue a license, or proposes to

revoke or suspend a license, opportunity for
hearing shall be accorded as provided in
ORS 183. 310 to 183.500. 

2) Promulgation of rules, conduct of

hearings, issuance of orders and judicial
review of rules and orders shall be as provid- 
ed in ORS 183.310 to 183. 500. 
1971 c 734 s 1761

725.240[ Repealed by 1971 c 734 s 21] 

725.250 Surrender of license. Any
licensee may surrender any license issued to
him by delivering written notice to the li- 
censing official that he thereby surrenders
such license, but such surrender shall not

affect the licensee' s civil or criminal liability
for acts committed prior to the surrender. 
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725.260 Expiration of license; effect
of expiration, revocation or surrender. 

The revocation, suspension or surrender of
any license shall not impair or affect the

rights or obligations of any preexisting law- 
ful contract between the licensee and any
borrower. 
Amended by 1955 c 71 s. 111' 

725.270 Reinstatement of revoked

license; fee. The licensing official may
reinstate any revoked license upon the

licensee' s compliance with the provisions of
law or any demand, ruling or requirement
lawfully made by the licensing official pur- 
suant to and within the authority of this
chapter. For such reinstatement of license
the licensee shall pay a fee of $25. 

725.310 Investigation and examina- 
tion of licensees. ( 1) For the purpose of
discovering violations of this chapter or se- 
curing information lawfully required by him
under this chapter the licensing official may
at any time, either personally or by a duly
appointed examiner or deputy, investigate
the loans and business and examine the
books, accounts, records and files used there- 
in, of every licensee and of every person who
he has reason to believe is making loans at a
rate of interest in excess of 10 percent per
annum, whether such person acts or claims

to act as principal or agent or under or with- 

out the authority of this chapter. For such
purpose the licensing official or his duly
appointed examiner or deputy shall have
free access to the place of business, books, 
accounts, safes and vaults of all such per- 

sons. The licensing official or his duly ap- 
pointed examiner or deputy shall have au- 
thority to examine under oath all persons
whose testimony he may require relative to
such loans or business. 

2) The licensing official may cause an
examination to be made by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy of the loans and busi- 
ness, books, accounts, records and files of

each licensee under this chapter without
previous notice to the licensee and at such

intervals as the licensing official may deem
advisable or expedient and not less often
than once a year. The actual cost of each
examination, or the sum of $20, whichever is

larger, shall be paid to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund by every licen- 
see so examined. The licensing official may
maintain an action for the recovery of such
costs in any court of competent jurisdiction. 
Amended by 1955 c 71 s 12, 1973 c 428 s 3] 

Note: See note under 725 030
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725.320 Rules and regulations. ( 1) 

The licensing official may make such gener- 
al rules and regulations and such specific

rulings, demands and findings as may be
necessary for the proper conduct of the busi- 
ness regulated by this chapter and the en- 
forcement of this chapter in addition to and
not inconsistent with this chapter. 

2) All general rules and regulations

shall be filed by the licensing official with
the Banking Division in an indexed, perma- 
nent book, with the effective date thereof

suitably indicated, and such book shall be a
public record. A copy of every general rule
and regulation shall be mailed by the licens- 
ing official to all licensees at their respective
licensed places of business at least 10 days
before the effective date thereof. 

725.330 Licensee's books and re- 

cords. Subject to the provisions of this chap- 
ter, the licensing official may prescribe the
form of the books and records to be kept by
the licensee. All such books and records shall

be preserved and available for at least two

years after making the final entry on any
loan recorded therein. 

725.340 Limitations on interest and
other charges. ( 1) No licensee shall charge, 

contract for or receive any interest or consid- 
eration for loans, secured or unsecured, made

to any one person: 
a) For loans having an original unpaid

balance of $ 5, 000 or less, at a greater rate
than three percent per month on that part of

the unpaid principal balance not in excess of
300, one and three - quarters percent per

month on that part of the unpaid principal

balance in excess of $ 300 but not in excess

of $ 1, 000, one and one - quarter percent per

month on that part of the unpaid principal

balance in excess of $ 1, 000 but not in excess

of $5, 000. 

b) For loans having an original unpaid
balance in excess of $5,000, at a greater rate
than one and one -half percent per month on

the entire unpaid principal balance. 

A licensee may precompute interest or

consideration for loans as provided in subsec- 
tion (5) of this section. 

2) This section does not limit the man- 

ner of contracting for interest or considera- 
tion for loans whether by means of add -on, 
discount or otherwise if the rate of interest
or consideration for loans does not exceed

the rate authorized in this section. In addi- 
tion to the interest or consideration for loans
authorized in this section no further or other

725.340

charge or amount whatsoever shall be

directly or indirectly charged, contracted for
or received for any examination, appraisal, 
investigation, service, brokerage, commis- 

sion, expense, fee or bonus or other thing or
otherwise, except: 

a) Fees actually and necessarily paid out
by the licensee to any public officer for
filing or recording or releasing in any public
office any instrument securing the loan, 
which fees may be collected when the loan is
made or at any time thereafter. However, if
such fees are not so paid out within 60 days

after being charged or received, the licensee
shall lose all right thereto and shall return

them to the borrower or apply them toward
the payment of the borrower's debt to the
licensee. 

b) Insurance premiums actually paid out
by the licensee to any insurance company or
agent duly licensed and authorized to do
business in this state for insurance for the
protection and benefit of the borrower

written in connection with any loan and the
reasonable fee or premiums for real estate
title examinations or title insurance. 

c) Taxable costs and disbursements to

which the licensee may become entitled as
provided by law in connection with any
action, suit or proceeding to collect a loan or
to realize on a security after default. 

d) For loans in excess of $ 5,000 that are

secured by an interest in real estate, reason- 
able fees for appraisals and surveys, if the
costs are incurred and paid to a person not a
salaried employe of the licensee. 

3) Any loan made under this chapter by
any licensee for which a greater rate of
interest or consideration than is permitted

by this section has been charged, contracted
for or received, except as the result of

accidental or bona fide error, shall be void
and the licensee shall forfeit the right to

collect or receive any principal, interest or
charges whatsoever on such loan and shall
return to the borrower free from the

licensee' s lien any collateral security which
the borrower may have deposited with the
licensee and release any lien taken to secure
such loan and such lien shall be void. 

4) No licensee shall induce or permit

any person, nor any husband and wife
jointly or severally, to become obligated, 

directly or contingently or both, under more
than one contract of loan made under this
chapter at the same time, for the purpose of

obtaining a higher rate of interest or other
charge than would otherwise be permitted by
this section. 
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5) Charges may be precomputed on the
assumption that all scheduled payments will

be made when due. For a precomputed loan, 
an amount not exceeding five percent of the
instalment or $ 5, whichever is less, may be
charged for an instalment not paid within 10
days after its scheduled due date. Upon
prepayment in full of the unpaid balance of
a precomputed loan, a rebate shall be made, 
computed by the " rule of seventy - eighths" or
sum of the digits" method as defined by

rule issued under ORS 725. 320, for that
portion of the precomputed charge scheduled
to follow the instalment due date nearest the
date of prepayment in full. 

6) If the borrower agrees to perform
certain duties to insure or preserve the
collateral and fails to perform those duties, 
the licensee may pay for the performance of
those duties and add the amounts he paid to
the unpaid principal balance. A charge may
be made for sums advanced, at a rate not
exceeding that permitted under this section, 
computed on the entire remaining unpaid
principal balance for the period of the loan
actually outstanding. 

7) The loan contract may provide that
after default and referral the borrower shall

pay the licensee for reasonable attorney fees
actually paid by the licensee to an attorney
not a salaried employe of the licensee. 
Amended by 1955 c 71 s 13, 1971 c 450 s 3, 1973 c 428

s 4, 1975 c 567 s 21

Note: See note under 725 030

725.350[Repealed by 1971 c 232 s 41

725.355 Prohibition against assign- 

ment of earnings for loan security. ( 1) As
used in this section, " earnings" means sala- 

ry, wages or other compensation for service. 

2) No licensee shall take an assignment

of earnings as payment of or as security for
payment of a loan. An assignment in viola- 

tion of this subsection is unenforceable by
the assignee and revocable by the assignor. 
Nothing in this subsection is intended to
prevent an employe from authorizing deduc- 
tions from his earnings if the authorization
is revocable. 

3) For the purpose of this section, a sale
of unpaid earnings made in consideration of

the payment of money to or for the account
of the seller of the earnings is considered a

loan to him, secured by an assignment of
earnings. 

1971 c 232 s 3] 

725.360 Licensee' s duty toward bor- 
rowers. Every licensee shall: 

798

1) Deliver to the borrower at the time
any loan is made a statement in the English
language showing in clear and distinct
terms: 

a) The name and address of the borrow- 
er and of the licensee. 

b) The amount and the date of the loan
and of its maturity or terms of payment. 

c) The rate of interest agreed upon or
consideration to be charged therefor. 

d) The nature of the security for the
loan, if a lien on personal property has been
taken by chattel mortgage, bill of sale, 
collateral agreement or otherwise. 

2) Make available to the borrower upon
request a plain and complete receipt for all

payments made on account of any such loan
at the time such payments are received by
the licensee, specifying the amount applied
to interest, if any, the date to which the
interest is paid, the amount applied to

principal, if any, and the unpaid principal
balance of such loan, if any remains. 

3) Permit payment to be made in

advance in any amount on any loan at any
time. 

4) Upon repayment of the loan in full or

upon renewal thereof, mark indelibly such
obligation signed by the borrower with the
word " Paid" or " Renewed "; and in the case

of repayment in full shall release any

mortgage, security agreement or UCC filing
which no longer secures a loan, restore any
security or collateral, return any assignment
given by the borrower and return to him the
canceled note evidencing the loan. 
Amended by 1971 c 450 s 4, 1973 c.428 s 5, 1975 c 567

s3l

Note: See note under 725 030

725.370 Effect of conviction of charg- 
ing excessive interest. If any licensee or
agent, member, officer or employe thereof or

any other person is convicted by a court of
competent jurisdiction of having charged, 
contracted for or received any interest, fees
or other charges in excess of those permitted

by this chapter, then any such loan shall be
void. The licensee shall forfeit the right to

collect or receive any principal, interest or
charges whatsoever on such loan. He shall
upon order of the court return to the borrow- 

er free from the licensee' s lien any collateral
security which the borrower may have depos- 
ited with the licensee, release any lien taken
to secure such loan and shall pay into the
county school fund of the county wherein the
loan was made all payments of principal and
interest and all fees or other charges previ- 
ously collected under such loan. However, 
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loans made or payable in other jurisdictions
and lawful where made or payable, shall not

be affected by this chapter. 

725.380[ Repealed by 1975 c.544 s. 621

725.910 Civil penalties. ( 1) Any person
who violates: 

a) ORS 725.030 shall forfeit a civil

penalty in an amount determined by the
licensing official of not more than $5,000. 

b) ORS 725.050, 725.060, 725.210, 

725.220, 725.340 or 725.355 shall forfeit a

civil penalty in an amount determined by
the licensing official of not more than

1, 000. In addition, the licensing official
may revoke the license of any licensee who
commits such violation. 

c) Any rule adopted under ORS 725. 320
shall forfeit a civil penalty in an amount

725.910

determined by the licensing official of not
more than $2,500. 

2) All money forfeited under subsection
1) of this section shall be paid to the State

Treasurer to be deposited in the State

Banking Fund. 

3) The civil penalty may be recovered in
an action brought thereon in the name of
the State of Oregon in any court of appropri- 
ate jurisdiction. 

4) In any court action with respect to a
civil penalty, the court may review the

penalty as to both liability and reasonable- 
ness of amount. 
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725.990[ Amended by 1971 c 743 s 424, repealed by
1975 c 544 s. 621
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