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HOURS OF LABOR

652.010 Declaration of public policy
concerning maximum working hours in
certain industries. (1) It is the public policy
of this state that no person shall be hired, 

nor permitted to work for wages, under any
conditions or terms, for longer hours or days
of service than is consistent with his health

and physical well -being and ability to pro- 
mote the general welfare by his hicreasing
usefulness as a healthy and intelligent citi- 
zen. 

2) It hereby is declared that the working
of any person more than 10 hours in one day
in any mill, factory or manufacturing

establishment or the working of any person
more than eight hours, exclusive of one

hour, more or less, in one day, or more than
48 hours in one calendar week in sawmills, 

planing mills, shingle mills and logging
camps is injurious to the physical health and

well -being of such person, and tends to

prevent him from acquiring that degree of
intelligence that is necessary to make him a
useful and desirable citizen of the state. 

652.020 Maximum working hours in
certain industries; overtime hours and

pay. ( 1) No person shall be employed in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establishment
in this state more than 10 hours in any one
day, or in sawmills, planing mills, shingle
mills and logging camps more than eight
hours, exclusive of one hour, more or less, in

one day or more than 48 hours in one calen- 
dar week, except logging train crews, watch- 
men, firemen and persons engaged in the
transportation of men to and from work, and

employes when engaged in making necessary
repairs, or in the case of emergency where
life and property are in imminent danger. 
However, employes may work overtime not
to exceed three hours in one day, conditioned
that payment be made for said overtime at
the rate of time and one -half the regular
wage. 

2) No employer shall require or permit

any person to work in any place mentioned
in this section more than the hours provided

for in this section during any day of 24
hours. No employer shall permit or suffer
his overseer, superintendent or other agent
to violate this section. 

3) This section does not apply to persons
employed in the care of quarters or livestock, 

conducting messhalls, superintendence and

direction of work, or to the loading and
removal of the finished forest product. 
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652.030 Enforcement of ORS 652.010
and 652.020 dependent upon like laws in
other states. ORS 652.010 and 652.020 shall

not be enforced in so far as they relate to
working hours in sawmills, planing mills, 
shingle mills and logging camps until laws
containing like provisions regarding working
hours in such places of employment in the
States of California, Washington and Idaho
become effective in each of those states re- 

spectively. 

652.040 Maximum working hours in
mines. ( 1) No person who operates any un- 
derground mine yielding gold or silver or
copper or lead or other metal shall permit or

require any person to work in such under- 
ground mine for more than eight hours in

any 24 hours. The hours for such employ- 
ment or work day shall be consecutive ex- 
cluding, however, any intermission of time
for lunch or meals. 

2) In the case of emergency, where life
or property is in imminent danger, persons
may work in such underground mines for a
longer time during the continuance of the
exigency or emergency. This section does not
apply to mines in their first stages of devel- 
opment, such as tunnel work to a length of
200 feet, or shaft work to a depth of 150

feet, or to any surface excavation. 

652.050 Definitions for ORS 652.050
to 652.080. As used in ORS 652.050 to
652.080: 

1) " Firefighter" means a person whose

principal duties consist of preventing or
combating fire or preventing loss of life or
property from fire. 

2) " Regularly organized fire

department" means any organization main- 

tained for the purpose of preventing or
combating fire and employing one or more
persons on a full -time basis as firefighters. 

652.060 Maximum hours for firefight- 
ers. ( 1) ( a) No person employed on a full - 

time basis as a firefighter by any regularly
organized fire department maintained by any
incorporated city, municipality or fire district
and that employs not more than three per- 

sons on a full -time basis as firefighters shall

be required to be on regular duty with such
fire department more than 72 hours a week. 
However, any affected incorporated city, 
municipality or fire district shall be deemed
to have complied with this paragraph and

ORS 652.070 if the hours of regular duty
required of firefighters employed by it aver- 
age not more than 72 hours a week over
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each quarter of the fiscal year of the em- 

ploying city, municipality or fire district. 
b) No person employed on a full -time

basis as a firefighter by any regularly
organized fire department maintained by any
incorporated city, municipality or fire district
and that employs four or more persons on a
full -time basis as firefighters shall be

required to be on regular duty with such fire
department more than 56 hours a week. 
However, any affected incorporated city, 
municipality or fire district shall be deemed
to have complied with this paragraph and

ORS 652.070 if the hours of regular duty
required of firefighters employed by it

average not more than 56 hours a week over
each quarter of the fiscal year of the em- 

ploying city, municipality or fire district. 
2) In the event this section shortens the

working hours of firefighters employed by
any such city, municipality or fire district, 
the total wages of such firefighters shall not
for that reason be reduced. 
Amended by 1959 c.402 s. 1; 1969 c.581 s. 11

652.070 Overtime pay for firefight- 
ers. Every affected incorporated city, munici- 
pality and fire district shall put into effect
and maintain a schedule of working hours
required of regularly employed firefighters
which shall not be in excess of the average

hours established by ORS 652.060, and

which shall provide for at least 48 consecu- 

tive hours off -duty time in each seven -day
period. Any affected incorporated city, mu- 
nicipality or fire district failing so to do
shall pay to every regularly employed fire- 
fighter as additional pay for every hour of
regular duty required of and performed by
him over and above the average hours estab- 

lished by ORS 652.060 a sum equivalent to
one and one -half times his regular hourly
rate of pay at the time of such default. How- 
ever, in the case of replacement for any au- 
thorized leave, vacation or temporary vacan- 
cy, regularly employed firefighters in a de- 
partment employing four or more persons on
a full -time basis as firefighters may elect to
work in excess of 56 hours a week at not

less than their regular hourly rate of pay. 
Amended by 1959 c.402 s. 2; 1969 c.581 s. 21

652.080 Computing hours on duty
for purposes of ORS 652.060 and 652.070. 

In computing the average or total number of
hours a week for the purposes of ORS
652.060 and 652.070, authorized vacation or
sick leave time shall be considered as time

on regular duty. 
1959 c 402 s. 41
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PAYMENT AND COLLECTION
OF WAGES GENERALLY

652. 110 Medium of paying employes. 
No person engaged in any business or enter- 
prise of any kind in this state shall issue, in
payment of or as evidence of indebtedness

for wages due an employe, any order, check, 
memorandum or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness, unless the same is negotiable, 
and is payable without discount in cash on
demand at some bank or other established
place of business in the county where the
same is issued, and where a sufficient

amount of funds have been provided and are
or will be available for the payment of such
order, check or other acknowledgment of

indebtedness when due. Such person shall, 

upon presentation and demand, pay any such
order, check, memorandum or other acknowl- 

edgment of indebtedness, in lawful money of
the United States. This section does not in

any way limit or interfere with the right of
any employe to accept from any person, as
an evidence or acknowledgment of indebted- 
ness for wages due him, a negotiable instru- 
ment, payable at some future date with in- 
terest. An employer and an employe may
agree to authorize an employer to deposit
without discount wages due the employe in
the employe' s account in a bank, national
bank, mutual savings bank, or credit union
or savings and loan association in this state. 
Amended by 1975 c. 191 s. l] 

652.120 Establishing regular payday; 
pay intervals; agreement to pay wages at
future date. ( 1) Every employer shall estab- 
lish and maintain a regular payday, at

which date all employes shall be paid the

wages due and owing to them. 
2) Payday shall not extend beyond a

period of 35 days from the time that such
employes entered upon their work, or from

the date of the last regular payday. 
3) This section does not prevent the

employer from establishing and maintaining
paydays at more frequent intervals. 

4) This section does not prevent any
employer from entering into a written

agreement, prior to the rendering of any
services, and mutually satisfactory with his
employes, as to the payment of wages at a
future date. 
Amended by 1961 c.662 s. 11

652.130 Payment of wages due per- 
sons employed on piece work scale or

quantity basis in forest product indus- 
tries; furnishing statement of scale or
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quantity. Every person engaged in the busi- 
ness of logging or obtaining or securing saw - 
logs, poles, spars, piles, cordwood, posts or
other timber or forest products, or engaged

in the business of manufacturing sawlogs or
other timber into lumber, and employing one
or more employes on a piece work scale or

quantity wage basis, shall furnish such em- 
ployes at least once monthly, a statement of
scale or quantity produced by them to their
credit, and shall pay all wages or amounts so
earned and due and payable under the law

regulating paydays. 

652.140 Payment on termination of
employment; notice of intention to quit; 

forwarding wages by mail. ( 1) Whenever
an employer discharges an employe, or

where such employment is terminated by
mutual agreement, all wages earned and

unpaid at the time of such discharge shall

become due and payable immediately; pro- 
vided, that in establishments where perish- 
able or seasonal commodities are processed

or handled, when termination of employment
results from fluctuation in or cessation of
the flow of such perishable or seasonal com- 
modities, such termination shall not be re- 

garded as a discharge or termination by
mutual agreement, within the meaning of
this section, but all wages earned at the
time of such termination shall become due

and payable not later than the regular pay- 
day on which such wages normally would be
paid. 

2) When any such employe, not having a
contract for a definite period, shall quit his
employment, all wages earned and unpaid at

the time of such quitting shall become due
and payable immediately if such employe
has given not less than 48 hours' notice, 

excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, 
of his intention to quit his employment. If

such notice is not given, such wages shall be

due and payable 48 hours, excluding Satur- 
days, Sundays and holidays, after such

employe has so quit his employment. 

3) The employer shall forward such

wages by mail to any address designated by
the employe if the employe requests the

employer so to do. An employer may deposit
such wages without discount in the
employe's ' account in a bank, national bank, 
mutual savings bank, credit union, or

savings and loan association in this state, 
provided the employe and the employer have
agreed to such deposit. 
Amended by 1957 c 242 s. 1; 1975 c. 192 s. l] 
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652.150 Civil penalty for failure to
pay wages on termination of employ- 
ment. If an employer wilfully fails to pay
any wages or compensation of any employe
who is discharged or who quits his employ- 
ment, as provided in ORS 652. 140, then, as a

penalty for such nonpayment, the wages or
compensation of such employe shall continue

from the due date thereof at the same rate
until paid or until action therefor is com- 
menced; provided, that in no case shall such
wages or compensation continue for more
than 30 days; and provided further, the em- 

ployer may avoid liability for the penalty by
showing his financial inability to pay the
wages or compensation at the time they
accrued. 

Amended by 1957 c.244 s. l] 

652. 160 Payment in case of dispute
over wages. In case of dispute over wages, 

the employer must pay, without condition, 
and within the time set by ORS 652. 140, all
wages conceded by him to be due, leaving
the employe all remedies he might otherwise

have or be entitled to as to any balance he
might claim. 

652.170 Payment of wages in case of
strikes. When any number of employes
enter upon a strike, the wages due such

striking employes at the time of entering
upon such strike shall not become due and

payable until the next regular payday after
the commencement of such strike, if the
time between the commencement of the

strike and the next regular payday does not
exceed a period of 30 days. If the interven- 

ing time does exceed the period of 30 days, 
then the wages shall be due and payable 30
days after the commencement of the strike. 

652.180[Repealed by 1953 c.515 s.2] 

652.190 Payment of wages to surviv- 
ing spouse. All wages earned, not exceed- 

ing $ 1, 000, which have been earned by an
employe within a period of three months

prior to the date of his death, shall upon his
death, become due and payable to his or her

surviving spouse, to the same extent as if
the wages had been earned by such surviv- 
ing spouse. 
Amended by 1971 c.448 s. l] 

652.200 Attorney fee in action for
wages. ( 1) In any action for the collection of
any order, check, memorandum or other

acknowledgment of indebtedness referred to
in ORS 652. 110, if it is shown that the or- 
der, check, memorandum or other acknowl- 
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edgment of indebtedness was not paid for a
period of 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays and holidays, after presentation and
demand for the payment thereof, the court

shall, upon entering judgment for the plain- 
tiff, include in such judgment, in addition to
the costs and disbursements otherwise pre- 

scribed by statute, a reasonable sum for

attorney's fees for prosecuting said action, 
unless it appears that the employe has wil- 

fully violated his contract of employment. 
2) In any action for the collection of

wages, if it is shown that the wages were

not paid for a period of 48 hours, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, after the
same became due and payable, the court

shall upon entering judgment for the plain- 
tiff, include in such judgment, in addition to
the costs and disbursements otherwise

prescribed by statute, a reasonable sum for
attorney's fees for prosecuting said action, 
unless it appears that the employe has

wilfully violated his contract of employment. 
Amended by 1957 c.242 s. 21

652.210 Definitions for ORS 652.210
to 652.230. ( 1) " Employer" means any per- 
son employing one or more employes, but
does not include the state, or any municipal
corporation or political subdivision of the

state having in force a civil service system
based on merit, or the Federal Government. 

2) " Employe" means any individual
who, otherwise than as a copartner of the

employer or as an independent contractor, 

renders personal services wholly or partly in
this state to an employer who pays or agrees

to pay such individual at a fixed rate. 
However, where services are rendered only
partly in this state, an individual is not an
employe unless his contract of employment
has been entered into, or payments thereun- 

der are ordinarily made or to be made, 
within this state. 

3) " Wages" means all compensation for

performance of service by an employe for an
employer whether. paid by the employer or
another person, including cash value of all
compensation paid in any medium other
than cash. 

4) " Rate" with reference to wages

means the basis of compensation for services

by an employe for an employer and includes
compensation based on the time spent in the
performance of such services, or on the

number of operations accomplished, or on the

quantity produced or handled. 
5) " Unpaid wages" means the difference

between the wages actually paid to an
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employe and the wages required under ORS
652.220, to be paid to such employe. 
1955 c. 193 s. 11

652.220 Prohibition against discrimi- 

natory wage rates based on sex; employ- 
er not to discriminate against employe - 
complainant. (1) No employer shall: 

a) In any manner discriminate between
the sexes in the payment of wages for work
of comparable character, the performance of

which requires comparable skills. 

b) Pay wages to any employe at a rate
less than that at which he pays wages to his
employes of the opposite sex for work of
comparable character, the performance of

which requires comparable skills. 

2) Subsection ( 1) of this section does not

apply where: 
a) Payment is made pursuant to a

seniority or merit system which does not
discriminate on the basis of sex. 

b) A differential in wages between
employes is based in good faith on factors
other than sex. 

3) No employer shall in any manner
discriminate in the payment of wages

against any employe because the employe
has filed a complaint in a proceeding under
ORS 652.210 to 652.230, or has testified, or

is about to testify, or because the employer
believes that the employe may testify, in any
investigation or proceedings pursuant to ORS
652.210 to 652.230 or in a criminal action
pursuant to ORS 652.210 to 652.230. 
1955 c. 193 s.21

652.230 Employe has right of action
against employer for unpaid wages and
damages. ( 1) Any employe whose compensa- 
tion is at a rate that is in violation of ORS
652.220 shall have a right of action against

his employer for the recovery of: 
a) The amount of the unpaid wages to

which the employe is entitled for the bne

year period preceding the commencement of
the action; and

b) An additional amount as liquidated
damages equal to the amount referred to in
paragraph (a) of this subsection. 

2) In addition to any judgment awarded
to the plaintiff, the court shall allow reason- 

able attorney's fees to be taxed as costs in
any judgment recovered. 

3) The action for the unpaid wages and

liquidated damages may be maintained by
one or more employes on behalf of them- 

selves or other employes similarly situated. 
4) No agreement for compensation at a

rate less than the rate to which such em- 
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ploye is entitled under ORS 652.210 to

652.230 is a defense to any action under
ORS 652.210 to 652.230. 
1955 c. 193 s. 31

652.240 Paying wage lower than that
required by statute or contract prohibit- 
ed. Where any statute or contract requires
an employer to maintain the designated

wage scale, it shall be unlawful to secretly
pay a lower wage while purporting to pay
the wage designated by statute or by con- 
tract. 
1957 c.243 s. 11

652.250 Public employe's wages as

affected by absence to engage in search
or rescue operation. A public employe who

takes part without pay in a search or rescue
operation at the request of any law enforce- 
ment agency, the Aeronautics Administrator, 
the United States Forest Service or any local
organization for civil defense, shall not for- 
feit his wages while engaged in an operation
for a period of not more than five days for
each operation. If an operation continues for

more than five days, the employing agency
may allow the employe to continue to take
part in the operation and to receive his

wages for as long as the employing agency
considers proper. 

1959 c.46 s. 11

ENFORCEMENT OF WAGE
CLAIMS

Generally) 

652.310 Definitions of employer and
employe. As used in ORS 652.310 to
652.410, unless the context requires other- 

wise: 

1) " Employer" means any person who in
this state, directly or through an agent, 
engages personal services of one or more

employes and includes any producer - 

promoter, and any successor to the business
of any employer, or any lessee or purchaser
of any employer's business property for the
continuance of the same business, so far as
such employer has not paid employes in full. 
Employer" does not include: 

a) The United States or any state, 
county, municipal corporation, town or other
governmental division. 

b) Trustees and assignees in bankruptcy
or insolvency, and receivers, whether ap- 
pointed by federal or state courts, and

persons otherwise falling under the defini- 
tion of employers so far as the times or
amounts of their payments to employes are
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regulated by laws of the United States, or
regulations or orders made in pursuance
thereof. 

2) " Employe" means any individual who
otherwise than as copartner of the employer

or as an independent contractor renders

personal services wholly or partly in this
state to an employer who pays or agrees to

pay such individual at a fixed rate, based on
the time spent in the performance of such
services or on the number of operations

accomplished, or quantity produced or

handled. However: 

a) Where services are rendered by an
independent contractor, an individual shall
not be an employe under this section unless

the individual is a musician or supporting
technical person. 

b) Where services are rendered only
partly in this state, an individual shall not
be an employe under this section unless his
contract of employment has been entered

into, or payments thereunder are ordinarily
made or to be made, within this state. 
Amended by 1963 c.348 s. 1; 1975 c.488 s. 11

652.320 General definitions for ORS
652.310 to 652.410. As used in ORS 652.310
to 652.410, unless the context requires other- 

wise: 

1) " Commissioner" means the Commis- 
sioner of the Bureau of Labor. 

2) " Court" means a court of competent

jurisdiction and proper venue to entertain

the proceeding referred to in ORS 652.310 to
652.410. 

3) " Demand" means a written demand

for payment made during business hours on
an employer or any appropriate representa- 
tive of an employer by an employe or by
some person having and exhibiting due
authority to act in said employe's behalf. 

4) " Pay" means to deliver or tender

compensation at a previously designated and
reasonably convenient place in this state, 
during working hours, in legal tender or by
order or negotiable instrument payable and
paid in legal tender without discount on

demand in this state or by deposit without
discount in an employe's account in a bank, 
national bank, mutual savings bank, credit
union or savings and loan association in this

state, provided the employe and the employ- 
er have agreed to such deposit. 

5) " Payment" means the delivery, 
tender or deposit of compensation in the
medium of payment described in subsection
4) of this section. Such delivery, tender or

deposit shall be made to or for the account of
the employe concerned or to or for the
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account of any person having due authority
to act in said employe' s behalf. 

6) " Production" means a live presenta- 

tion organized for the economic gain of any
person or organization utilizing the personal
services of one or more musicians and

supporting technical personnel. 
7) " Producer- promoter" means a person, 

firm, association or corporation which

supervises, finances or attempts to organize
a production in this state other than: 

a) The proprietor of a commercial

establishment with a Class " A" or Class `B" 
dispenser's license or tavern staging a

production on his own premises; 

b) Any nonprofit organization staging a
production for the sole benefit of the organi- 
zation, its members or the general public; or

c) A producer of motion pictures, televi- 
sion shows, or commercials. 

8) " Rate of payment" means the rate at
which payment is made or is to be made in
the manner described in this section. 

9) " Wage claim" means an employe's

claim against his employer for compensation
for his own personal services. 
Amended by 1975 c. 190 s. 1; 1975 c.488 s.21

652.325 Permit required for

producer- promoter; application; bond; 

exemption. (1) Except as provided in subsec- 
tion ( 4) of this section, any producer - 

promoter intending to do business in this
state shall first obtain a permit from the
commissioner. An application for such permit

shall contain the following information: 
a) The applicant's name and address; 

b) A description of the financing for the
production; 

c) The type of production, the number of
artists and technical personnel to be em- 
ployed and the time and place of the produc- 
tion; and

d) Such other information as the com- 
missioner may deem necessary for the

protection of persons employed in the produc- 
tion. 

2) A permit shall not be issued unless
the applicant has posted a bond with the
commissioner as required by subsection ( 2) of
ORS 652.340. 

3) The commissioner may fix permit
fees not to exceed $ 20 to provide for the cost

of processing the applications. 
4) A permit shall not be required of any

producer - promoter who: 

a) Has been a producer - promoter in this
state for the three -year period immediately
preceding the time when a permit applica- 
tion would otherwise be required and has
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had no successful wage claims allowed

against him during such period; or
b) Has sufficient assets in this state

which, if executed upon, would equal the

amount of bond required by subsection ( 2) of
ORS 652.340. 
11975 c.488 s. 41

652.330 Powers and duties of com- 

missioner in enforcing wage claims; par- 
ties to wage claim action. ( 1) The commis- 
sioner shall enforce ORS 652.310 to 652.410

and to that end he may: 
a) Investigate and attempt equitably to

adjust controversies between employers and
employes in respect of wage claims or

alleged wage claims. 

b) Take assignments, in trust, of wage
claims or judgments thereon, liens and other

instruments of security for payment of

wages for the assigning employes, spouse, 
parent or legal guardian, having a right to
the wages of such employe. All such assign- 
ments shall run to the commissioner and his

successors in office. The commissioner may
sue employers on wage claims and other

persons or property liable for any payment
thereof thus assigned with the benefits and

subject to existing laws applying to actions
by employes for collection of wages. He is
entitled to recover, in addition to other costs, 

such sum as the court or judge may adjudge
reasonable as attorney's fees. He may join
in a single proceeding and in one cause of
action any number of wage claims against
the same employer. If the commissioner does

not prevail in such action, he shall pay all
costs and disbursements from the Bureau of
Labor Account. 

c) Make complaint in a criminal court

for any violation of any law providing for
payment of wages and imposing a penalty
for its violation as for a crime. 

2) The assigning wage claimant shall
not be regarded as a party to any action
brought by the commissioner under this

section for any purpose. 
Amended by 1957 c.465 s.6; 1963 c. 258 s.2; 1967 c.218

8. 11

652.335 Liability of liquor dispenser
licensee for wage claims of individuals, 

not his employes but working in his
kitchen or dining facilities. ( 1) A person

operating a commercial establishment where
food is cooked and, served who holds a
dispenser's license issued under ORS 472. 110
is liable for all valid wage claims of individ- 
uals employed in the kitchen facilities and

dining space of such establishment who are
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not employed by such person, if the wage
claims cannot be enforced against the em- 
ployer of such individuals. The commissioner

may in such a case proceed under ORS
652.310 to 652.410 against the person oper- 

ating the establishment as if that person had
employed the individuals assigning the wage
claims. 

2) This section does not impose any
liability not otherwise imposed by law for
compensation for the performance of an
individual's personal services in excess of a
period of 60 days, nor does it subject the

person operating an establishment described
in this section to criminal penalties for

violation of any law providing for payment
of wages. 

1961 c.475 s. 21

652.340 Requiring bond of employer. 
1) If upon investigation by the commission- 

er, after taking assignments of any wage
claims under ORS 652.330, it appears to the
commissioner that the employer is represent- 

ing to his employes that he is able to pay
wages for their services and that the em- 

ployes are not being paid for their services, 
the commissioner may require the employer
to give a bond in such sum as the commis- 
sioner deems reasonable and adequate in the

circumstances, with sufficient surety, condi- 
tioned that the employer will for a definite

future period not exceeding six months con- 
duct his business and pay his employes in
accordance with the laws of Oregon. 

2) Upon receipt of a permit application

filed by a producer - promoter who is required
to obtain a permit under ORS 652.325, the
commissioner shall require the producer - 

promoter to give a bond in an amount not
less than the sum of the wages to be paid to
all musicians and supporting technical

personnel to be employed in the production. 
Such bond shall be conditioned on the

payment of any wages due any musicians
and supporting technical personnel upon the
cessation of such production or upon the

subrogation of another for the liability of
such producer - promoter, if such subrogation

is satisfactory to the commissioner. 
3) If within 10 days after demand for

such bond the employer fails to provide the
same, the commissioner may commence a
suit against the employer in the circuit court
of appropriate jurisdiction to compel him to

furnish such bond or cease doing business
until he has done so. The employer shall

have the burden of proving the amount
thereof to be excessive. 
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4) If the court finds that there is just

cause for requiring such bond and that the
same is reasonably necessary or appropriate
to secure the prompt payment of the wages
of the employes of such employer and his
compliance with ORS 652.310 to 652.410, the

court shall enjoin such employer from doing
business in this state until the requirement

is met, or shall make other, and may make
further, orders appropriate to compel compli- 
ance with the requirement. 
Amended by 1975 c.488 s. 5] 

652.350 Notice to employer of wage
claim; penalty for failure to respond; 
commissioner's cause of action. Upon

being informed of a wage claim against an
employer or former employer, the commis- 
sioner shall, if such claim appears to be just, 

immediately notify the employer or former
employer, of such claim by mail. If the em- 
ployer or former employer, fails to pay the
claim or to make satisfactory explanation to
the commissioner of his failure to do so, 
within 30 days thereafter, the employer or

former employer shall be liable to a penalty
of 10 percent of that portion of the claim

found to be justly due. The commissioner
shall have a cause of action against the em- 

ployer or former employer for the recovery of
such penalty, and the same may be included
in any subsequent action by the commission- 
er on said wage claim, or may be exercised
separately after adjustment of such wage
claim without court action. 

652.355 Prohibition against discrimi- 

nation because of wage claim. No employ- 
er shall discharge or in any other manner
discriminate against any employe because: 

1) The employe has made a wage claim. 

2) The employe has caused to be insti- 

tuted any proceedings under or related to
ORS 652.310 to 652.410. 

3) The employe has testified or is about

to testify in any such proceedings. 
1975 c.397 s. 21

652.360 Contract exempting employ- 
er from liability or penalty not valid; 
exception. No employer may by special con- 
tract or any other means exempt himself
from any provision of or liability or penalty
imposed by ORS 652.310 to 652.410 or by
any statute relating to the payment of
wages, except in so far as the commissioner
in writing approves a special contract or
other arrangement between an employer and
one or more of such employer's employes. 

The commissioner shall not give his approval
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unless he finds that such contract or ar- 

rangement will not prejudicially affect the
interest of the public or of the employes

involved, and he may at any time retract
such approval, first giving the employer not
less than 30 days' notice in writing. 

652.370 Jurisdiction; proceedings in
name of the state. ( 1) Justice courts and
district courts shall have concurrent jurisdic- 
tion with circuit courts over all cases men- 

tioned in ORS 652.330 or 652.340. 

2) The commissioner shall prosecute all
legal proceedings on his own official relation, 
but in the name of the State of Oregon. 

652.380 Remedies are cumulative; 

effect of payment or tender by employer
after proceeding commenced. ( 1) The
remedies provided by ORS 652.310 to

652.410 shall be additional to and not in
substitution for and in no manner impair

other remedies and may be enforced simulta- 
neously or consecutively so far as not incon- 
sistent with each other. 

2) No payment or tender after the filing
of a criminal complaint or commencement of

any proceeding by the commissioner shall
affect the liability therein of an employer for
expenses, or prevent such employer from

being subject to fine or forfeitures, or to the
giving of bond under ORS 652.340. 

652.390 Deduction of costs from

wage claims by commissioner. The com- 
missioner may deduct and retain any moneys
collected on each wage claim as costs, 

attorney's fees or penalties; and the amount
deducted shall be paid into the General Fund

after deducting actual costs and disburse- 
ments incurred in the prosecution thereof. 
Amended by 1957 c.465 s. 7; 1967 c.218 s. 21

652.400 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account; payment to persons
entitled thereto. Subject to ORS 652.390, 
all moneys collected on judgments pursuant

to ORS 652.330, including fines, shall be

paid to the commissioner and, together with

all other sums collected under ORS 652.310
to 652.410, be deposited in the State Treas- 

ury to become part of a special trust account
to be known as the Wage Collection Account, 

which account hereby is established in the
State Treasury. All moneys in the Wage

Collection Account hereby are appropriated
continuously for the purpose of payment to
the persons entitled thereto. 

Amended by 1957 c.465 s.81
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652.405 Disposition of wages collect- 

ed by commissioner where payment can- 
not be made to person entitled thereto. 

1) The Labor Commissioner shall attempt
for a period of not less than seven years to
make payment of wages collected under ORS
652.310 to 652.410 to the person entitled
thereto. 

2) Wages collected by the commissioner
under ORS 652.310 to 652.410 and remain- 

ing unclaimed for a period of more than
seven years from the date of collection shall, 
within 30 days after June 30 of each year, 

be forfeited to the state and shall be paid by
the Labor Commissioner to the Division of
State Lands for the benefit of the Common
School Fund of this state. The division shall

issue a receipt for the money to the Labor
Commissioner. The person entitled to the
wages or his heirs or personal representa- 

tives may reclaim the wages paid into the
Common School Fund pursuant to this

section within the time and in the manner
provided for estates which have escheated to
the state. 
1957 c.465 x. 151

652.410 Employer' s retention of part
of employe's compensation for certain
purposes not affected. ORS 652.310 to

652.400 do not affect the right of any em- 
ployer under lawful contract to retain part of

the compensation of any employe for the
purpose of affording such employe insurance, 
or hospital, sick or other similar relief. Nor
shall those statutes diminish or enlarge the

right of any person to assert and enforce a
lawful set -off or counterclaim or to attach, 

take, reach or apply an employe's compensa- 
tion on due legal process. 

Reciprocal) 

652.420 Definitions for ORS 652.420
to 652.445. ( 1) As used in ORS 652.420 to
652.445: 

a) " Labor bureau" includes any agency, 
bureau, commission, board or officer in

another state which performs functions

substantially corresponding to those of the
Labor Commissioner. 

b) " Labor Commissioner" means the

Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor. 

2) The definitions of ORS 652.310 and

652.320 shall apply to ORS 652.420 to
652.445, but nothing contained in those
sections shall be construed to preclude

reciprocal enforcement of wage claims under
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ORS 652.420 to 652.445, where the services
of the employe were rendered in another
state. 

1953 c.256 s. 1] 

652.425 Authority of Labor Commis- 
sioner to enter into agreements with oth- 
er states for reciprocal enforcement of

wage claims. The Labor Commissioner may
enter into agreements with the correspond- 

ing labor bureau of another state for the
reciprocal enforcement and collection of wage

claims, if the other state has a reciprocal
statute similar to ORS 652.420 to 652.445 or
otherwise authorizes the reciprocal enforce- 
ment and collection of wage claims in a
manner substantially similar to ORS
652.420 to 652.445. 
1953 c.256 s. 21

652.430 Assigning wage claim to
labor bureau of another state. Whenever
a wage claim is assigned to the Labor Com- 
missioner in trust pursuant to ORS 652.330
and the employer or former employer upon

whom demand for payment is made by an
employe in this state has removed himself to

another state, the Labor Commissioner may
reassign the wage claim, with the approval
of the employe, to the labor bureau of the
other state, if there is in effect at the time a
valid reciprocal agreement under ORS
652.425 between the Labor Commissioner
and the other state. 
1953 c.256 s.31

652.435 Accepting assignments of

wage claims from labor bureau of anoth- 
er state. Whenever a labor bureau in anoth- 
er state, which has entered into a reciprocal

agreement under ORS 652.425 with the La- 
bor Commissioner and the agreement is in
effect at the time, takes an assignment of a

wage claim from an employe residing in the
other state for services rendered in the other
state to an employer or former employer who
has removed himself to Oregon, the Labor
Commissioner may take an assignment of
the wage claim from such labor bureau and
enforce the collection thereof as provided in
the applicable provisions of ORS 652.330 to
652.410. 
1953 c.256 s.41

652.440 Retention by commissioner
or labor bureau of percentage of funds

collected. Any agreement concluded by the
Labor Commissioner shall make provision
for the transfer of funds collected pursuant
to ORS 652.420 to 652.445 and for retention
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by the Labor Commissioner or the labor
bureau in the other state of percentile

amounts from the sums collected to defray
the administrative costs of ORS 652.420 to
652.445. Amounts authorized pursuant to
this section to be used to defray the adminis- 
trative costs of ORS 652.420 to 652.445 shall
be credited to the Bureau of Labor Account

and shall be used only for the administra- 
tion of ORS 652.420 to 652.445. 
1953 c.256 s.5; 1957 c.465 s. 91

652.445 Deposit of moneys in Wage
Collection Account. Except as provided in
ORS 652.440, all moneys collected pursuant

to ORS 652.420 to 652.445, including fines
and costs, shall be paid to the Labor Com- 
missioner and be deposited in the State

Treasury in the Wage Collection Account
established by ORS 652.400. 
1953 c.256 s.6; 1957 c.465 x. 101

PRIORITY OF WAGE CLAIMS
ON PROPERTY IN CUSTODY
OF LAW OR ASSIGNED FOR

BENEFIT OF CREDITORS

652.510 Payment of wage claims by
receivers, assignees or court; filing state- 
ment of wages due. ( 1) When the property
of any company, cooperative association, 

corporation, firm or person is seized upon by
any process of any court of this state, or
where their business or property is placed in
the hands of a receiver, or whenever any
assignment for the benefit of creditors under
the laws of this state is made, then in all

such cases the debts owing to laborers or
employes, which have accrued by reason of
their labor or employment to an amount not

exceeding $ 300 to each employe for work or
labor performed within 90 days next preced- 
ing the seizure or transfer or assignment of
such property, or appointment of said receiv- 
er shall be considered and treated as prefer- 
red debts, and such laborers or employes
shall be preferred creditors, and shall first
be paid in full, and if there is not sufficient

to pay them in full, their claims shall be
paid pro rata, after paying costs. 

2) Any such laborer or employe desiring
to enforce his claim for wages under ORS
652.510 to 652.570 shall present a statement

under oath showing the amount due after
allowing all just credits and setoffs, the kind
of work for which said wages are due and
when performed, to the officer or person
charged with the execution of said process, 
within 10 days after the seizure thereof on
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any execution or writ of attachment, or to
such receiver or assignee within 30 days
after the same may have been placed in the
hands of any such assignee or receiver. 

652.520 Form of statement of wage
claim. The statement to be presented under

ORS 652.510 shall be substantially in the
following form: 

State of Oregon ) 
ss. 

County of , ) 
I, , being first duly sworn, say

that is indebted to me in the sum
of dollars over and above all just credits
and setoffs, on account of work, services and

labor performed by me for the said , 
upon the following terms and conditions, to
wit: That I was employed by the said

on or about the day of

19 —, to work ( here describe

character of work) at the rate of dollars

per month ( or for a reasonable consideration
for such work), and that under said contract! 

I began to work on the day of ;` 
19 —, and between that day and the day
of , 19 —, I performed work, services
and labor days, amounting to the sum
of dollars ( or the reasonable value of

dollars); that the said has paid

me on account of the said labor the sum of
dollars, and no more; and that there is

now due me, the sum of dollars, over

and above all just credits and offsets; and

that during the 90 days next preceding the
day of , 19 - 2 I had performed

days' labor under said contract, amount- 

ing to the sum of dollars ( or that said

services were reasonably worth the sum of
dollars); and that, applying all the

credits above stated, there is due me from
the said , on account of labor for the
said 90 days, the sum of dollars, and no

more; claim as due me. 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this

day of , 19 —. 

652.530 Serving copy of statement; 
report to court; order of payment. (1) The

person claiming the benefit of ORS 652.510
to 652.570 shall serve upon the debtor, or
upon the officer, assignee or receiver for the
debtor where personal service cannot be had, 
a copy of the verified claim. Thereafter the
person receiving such statement shall report
the amount of such claim to the court hav- 
ing jurisdiction of such officer, receiver or
assignee, together with a statement of all
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costs occasioned by the seizure of said prop- 
erty or of such receivership or assignment. 

2) The court shall order such claims to

be paid after payment of the costs and
expenses of such seizure and sale, and the
costs and disbursements which have accrued

before the filing of the notice under ORS
652.510 and of assignment or receivership, 
out of the proceeds of the sale of the proper- 

ty so seized, assigned, or placed in the hands
of an assignee or receiver. 

652.540 Exception to claim; legal
action on claim. ( 1) Any person interested
may contest all or any part of a claim men- 
tioned in ORS 652.530, by filing in said
court exceptions thereto, supported by affida- 
vit, within 10 days from the filing of the
report provided in ORS 652.530. Thereupon

the' claimant shall be required to establish

his claim, by judgment in such court, before
any part thereof shall be paid. 

2) When any claim is excepted to as
provided in this section, the person desiring
to establish the same shall file in said court, 
within 30 days after the claim is excepted
to, his verified complaint as in an action at

law and serve it upon the person excepting, 
or his attorney of record, and upon the

principal debtor for the claim, or his attor- 

ney of record. 
3) Thereafter the cause shall proceed to

final judgment between the parties as an
action at law. 

652.550 Payment of claims prerequi- 
site to discharge of attachment or execu- 
tion, assignee or receiver, or to abandon- 
ment of seizure or sale. No attachment or
execution shall be discharged nor shall the

seizure or sale of property seized be aban- 
doned, or assignee or receiver discharged, 

until every claimant presenting his claim
under ORS 652.510 to 652.570 has been paid
in full, or pro rata, as provided in ORS
652.510, or has consented to such discharge
or abandonment. 

652.560 Costs and attorney fees. 

Whenever any claim has been excepted to
under ORS 652.540 and the claim is estab- 

lished by judgment and the court rendering
the judgment is satisfied that the exceptions
were made without probable cause or that

the person so excepting could have ascer- 
tained with reasonable diligence that such
claim was true and just, the claimant in
such action shall be entitled to have the

costs of such action, including such sum as
the court may adjudge reasonable as
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attorney's fees, enforced by execution against
the person objecting as a judgment debtor in
the first instance. However, if the court does
not so find, or if execution, when issued, is
returned nulla bona, then in either case such
costs and attorney's fees shall be ordered
paid out of the proceeds of the property sold
next after the payment of all claims present- 
ed under ORS 652.510 to 652.570. 

652.570 Priority of wage claims over
transfers in payment of preexisting obli- 
gations; payment and subrogation of

transferee. (1) Every sale or transfer of any
property in payment of any preexisting debt, 
or obligation, and every mortgage or lien
created or executed to secure the payment of

a preexisting debt, shall be void as against
laborers or employes of such vendor, mortga- 
gor, or other lien debtor, to the extent of
their claims for wages, not exceeding the
sum of $ 300 to each of said laborers which
may be owing for work or labor performed
within 90 days next preceding such sale and
transfer or the execution of such lien or

mortgage, if the laborer or employe claiming
the benefit of this section: 

a) Within 10 days after the actual
delivery of the property or within 30 days
after the recording of any such deed, trans- 
fer, mortgage or lien, gives such owner or
holder of such lien or such vendee notice of
his claim substantially in the form and
verified as provided in ORS 652.520, which
notice shall be served by delivering it or a
copy thereof to such owner or holder of such
lien or such vendee in person or, in case he
cannot be found within the county in which
such lien or deed may be of record after
diligent inquiry, by delivering the notice or a
copy thereof to the clerk of the county court
for such owner or holder of such lien or such
vendee; and

b) Within 30 days commences a suit to
establish the claim and prosecute it to
judgment. 

2) The vendee or mortgage or lien

holder, or his assignee, may pay such claim
and thereby be subrogated to the rights and
lien of such laborer or employe, as against
the vendor, principal debtor or mortgagor, 
and as against subsequent mortgagees or

other subsequent lien creditors. 
3) This section does not apply to any

mortgage or lien given in renewal of a
preexisting mortgage or lien. 

652.580 Cost of preparation of lien
notice as part of claim. Whenever any
person files a notice or claim of lien under
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ORS 652.510 to 652.570, he may add to the
amount of his claim, as contained in the
notice, the sum specified in ORS 87. 910 as
costs for the preparation of the lien notice. 
Such amount thereupon shall become part of
the lien against the property described in the
notice. However, this section does not apply
to any lien claim paid in full prior to the
expiration of the time allowed by law for the
filing of the notice thereof, notwithstanding
the notice was filed before such expiration
date. 

STATEMENTS RELATING TO
EMPLOYE'S SALARY AND

DEDUCTIONS THEREFROM

Generally) 

652.610 Itemized statement of

amounts and purposes of deductions
required. ( 1) All persons, firms, partner- 
ships, associations, cooperative associations, 

corporations, municipal corporations, the
state and its political subdivisions, except

the Federal Government and its agencies, 

employing, in this state, during any calendar
month five or more persons, and withholding
for any purpose, any sum of money from the
wages, salary or commission earned by an
employe, shall provide such employe on regu- 

lar paydays with a statement sufficently
itemized to show the amount and purpose of

such deductions made during the respective
period of service which said payment covers. 

2) The itemized statement shall be

furnished to the employe at the time pay- 
ment of wages, salary or commission is
made, and may be attached to or be a part of
the check, draft, voucher or other instrument
by which payment is made, or may be
delivered separately from such instrument. 

652.620 Statement of yearly compen- 
sation on request of employe. All persons, 
firms, partnerships, associations, cooperative
associations, corporations, municipal corpora- 

tions, the state and its political subdivisions
thereof, except the Federal Government and

its agencies employing, in this state, five or
more persons, during any calendar month, 
upon the request of any employe or former
employe, and upon five days' notice to said
employer shall give to such employe, not

later than March 10 of each year, a state- 

ment showing the total compensation paid by
such employer to such employe, or former

employe, during the previous calendar year. 
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Agricultural Workers) 

652.630 Definitions for ORS 652.635
and 652.640. As used in ORS 652.630 to
652.640, unless the context requires other- 

wise: 

1) " Bonus" means an increase in the
agreed rate of compensation based on the

amount of time worked during a perishable
agricultural product season or based on the
amount of a perishable agricultural product

that is harvested. 

2) " Labor contractor" means a farm

labor contractor as defined in ORS 658.405. 

3) " Producer" means a person who

raises perishable agricultural products. 

1969 c.572 s. 1] 

Note: 652.630 to 652.640 were not added to and
made a part of ORS chapter 652 by legislative action. 

652.635 Growers to post certain

terms of employment. Every producer, or
his agent, who employs a labor contractor to

provide a working crew for harvesting per- 
ishable agricultural products or who offers a

bonus to those persons who harvest perish- 
able agricultural products shall cause to be
conspicuously posted and maintained on the
premises where the agricultural products are

to be harvested a notice that states: 

1) A description of the terms and

conditions of any bonus offered, including
the manner of determining when the bonus
is earned. 

2) That portion of the labor contractor's
compensation that is based on the amount of

work done by each employe of the labor
contractor. 

1969 c.572 s. 21

Note: See note under 652.630. 

652.640 Itemized statement of com- 
pensation and deductions required. Each
time a person who harvests perishable agri- 
cultural products receives compensation pay- 

ments at a regular pay period or upon termi- 
nation of employment, the producer, or his
agent, or, if the person is an employe of a
labor contractor, the labor contractor shall
furnish to such person a written statement

itemizing the total payment and each deduc- 
tion therefrom. 

1969 c.572 s. 31

Notes See note under 652.630. 

Me

FEES OR DEDUCTIONS FOR
MEDICAL CARE

652.710 Fees collected by employer
for medical care contracts are trust

funds; priority on liquidation. ( 1) All

moneys collected by an employer from em- 
ployes or retained from their wages for the
purpose of providing for or furnishing to
such employes medical and surgical atten- 

tion, hospital care, X -rays, ambulance, nurs- 

ing or any related service or care contingent
upon sickness or injury pursuant to a con- 
tract are trust funds and shall be placed and
kept in separate accounts by the employer
and shall promptly be paid over to the con- 
tractor. Such funds shall in no event become
a part of the assets of the employer. 

2) If the employer fails to place and

keep such funds in separate accounts and
pay them over to the contractor or if the
funds become commingled with the funds of
the employer and the employer becomes
bankrupt, insolvent or goes through volun- 

tary or involuntary liquidation, or if a

receiver is appointed to operate or liquidate
the affairs of the employer, the funds not
paid to the contractor shall be entitled to the
same preference as given to claims of the
State Accident Insurance Fund, as provided
in ORS 656.562. 
Formerly 655. 1301

652.720 Prohibited use by employer
of fees for medical care contracts with- 
held from employes' wages. ( 1) No em- 
ployer shall retain, directly or indirectly, 
from employes or from their wages any part
of the money collected or retained under
ORS 652.710 for his own use or benefit. 

2) No employer shall apply, directly or
indirectly, any portion of the money so
collected to his cost of compensation or to

the cost of any medical, surgical or hospital
care and attention for employes on account

of injuries sustained by them in the course
of their employment. 

Formerly 655.1101

PENALTIES

652.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation of sub- 
section ( 2) of ORS 652.020 is punishable, 

upon conviction, by a fine of not less than
50 nor more than $ 500. Every day's viola- 

tion is deemed a separate offense. 

2) Any person, body corporate, general
manager or employer who violates ORS
652.040 or causes ORS 652.040 to be violated
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is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not less than $50, nor more than $300, or by
imprisonment in the county jail for not less
than 30 days, nor more than three months, 
or both. 

3) Violation of ORS 652. 110 or 652.120

is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not more than $500. 

4) Violation of ORS 652. 130 by any
employer is punishable, upon conviction, by
a fine of not more than $500 or by imprison- 
ment in the county jail for not more than 60
days, or by both. Justice courts, district
courts and circuit courts shall have concur- 

rent jurisdiction in all cases arising under
this subsection. 

5) In addition to the civil damages
recoverable under ORS 652.230, violation of
ORS 652.210 to 652.230 is a misdemeanor. 

6) The violation of ORS 652.240 is a
misdemeanor. 

7) Violation of ORS 652.355 is a Class C
misdemeanor. 

8) Violation of ORS 652.610 or 652.620

is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not less than $ 10 nor more than $ 100 for
each offense. 

9) Wilful violation of ORS 652.635 or

652.640 by a producer or his agent is a
misdemeanor. 

10) Violation of any of the provisions of
ORS 652.710 or 652.720 by any employer is
punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not
less than $50 nor more than $500. 
Subsection ( 5) enacted as 1955 c. 193 s.4; subsection ( 6) 

enacted as 1957 c.243 s.2; subsection ( 9) formerly
655.990; subsection ( 8) enacted as 1969 c.572 s. 4; 1975
c. 397 s.51
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