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CROSS REFERENCES

CROSS REFERENCES

Assisting inmate to escape, penalty, 162.175
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Barbering, inmates receiving training for are eligible to
become apprentice barbers, 630.060

Child welfare generally, Ch 418

Commitments of youthful inmates to institutions mn
other states under Western Interstate Corrections
Compact, 421.294

Correctional Institution, Oregon State, 421.705
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Hallcrest School, 691.226

Cost accounting system in reformatory institutions,
421.055

Disposition and commitment proceedings for children
under 18, Ch 419

Escape from detention, penalty, 162 135 to 162 205

Escheat ;ﬁo property of inmates of state institutions,
179.

Nonresident and alie r public charges, Ch. 415

Notice prior to or after escape of release of arsonist
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432 165
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generally, Ch 292
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Support of child committed to state institution, collect-
ing from parents, 419.515
Witnesses, persons confined serving as, 44.240

420.005
Teachers, certification required, 342 174

420.031
Juvenile court’s powers to commit child to tramng
school, 419.509

420.810
Child-caring agencies, certification by Children’s
Services Division, 418.205 to 418.310
Foster homes, certification by Children’s Services

Division, 418 625 to 418 645
Placement of children in foster homes by child-caring
agencies, 418.280

420.910
Return of juveniles from other states, 417 030
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GENERAL PROVISIONS

420.005 Definitions. As used in ORS
420.005 to 420.045, 420.060 to 420.400,
420.810 to 420.840 and 420.905 to 420.915,
unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Administrator” means the Adminis-
trator of the Children’s Services Division.

(2) “Division” means the Children’s
Services Division.

(3) “Juvenile training schools” means the
Hillcrest School of Oregon, the MacLaren
School for Boys and any other school estab-
lished by law for similar purposes, and
includes the other camps and programs
maintained under this chapter.

[1965 ¢ 616 s 29, 1969 c 597 s 128; 1971 ¢ 401 s.96])

420.010{Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s.101]

420.011 Admissions to juvenile train-
ing schools; assignment of persons within
custody of Corrections Division. (1) Ex-
cept as provided in subsection (2) of this
section, admissions to the juvenile training
schools are limited to persons between the
ages of 12 and 18 years, found by the juve-
nile court to be within the court’s jurisdic-
tion by reason of a ground set forth in ORS
419.509 and placed in the legal custody of
the Children’s Services Division. No child
under the age of 12 years may be admitted
to, received by or cared for in a juvenile
training school. No child admitted to a juve-
nile training school shall be transferred by
administrative process to any penal or cor-
rectional institution.

(2) In addition to the persons placed in
the legal custody of the Children’s Services
Division under ORS 419.507, and with the
concurrence of the administrator or designee,
persons under the age of 21 years who are
committed to the custody of the Corrections
Division under ORS 137.124 may be tempo-
rarily assigned to a juvenile training school
by the Corrections Division. A person as-
signed on such a temporary basis would
remain within the legal custody of the
Corrections Division under ORS 137.124 and
such assignment shall be subject to termina-
tion by the Children’s Services Division
administrator by referring such youths back

to che Corrections Division.
[1965 ¢.616 s.31; 1969 c.679 s.5; 1971 c.401 s.98; 1971
c.458 s 1; 1975 ¢.182 s.1]

420.015(1959 ¢.432 s 73; 1963 ¢.256 s.1, 1965 c.616
s 35; renumbered 420.031]

420.016{Formerly 420.150
repealed by 1971 ¢.698 s.7]

420.020[Amended by 1955 ¢.89 s 1; 1965 ¢.616 5.40;
renumbered 420.075]

and then 420.050;

420.021 Expenses borne by county.
All traveling and other expenses incurred in
placing a person in a juvenile training schonl
in the legal custody of the Children’s Serv-
ices Division and delivering him into the
custody of the division under ORS 419.507
shall be borne by the county from which he
was placed in the legal custody of the divi-

sion.
[Formerly 420 160; amended by 1969 ¢.679 s6; 1971
c.401 s.97)

420.025[Formerly 420 170; 1969 ¢.679 s 7; repealed
by 1971 ¢ 401 s.120]

420.030[Amended by 1959 c.432 s 74; 1963 c 256
5.2; 1965 ¢ 616 s.41, renumbered 420 080)

420.031 Wardship over child at train-
ing school; legal custody of child. (1) The
granting of legal custody and guardianship
over the child’s person to the Children’s
Services Division does not terminate the
juvenile court’s wardship over the child.

(2) Upon parole of the person from a
juvenile training school, the legal custody of
the person is vested in his parents or other
person to whom he is returned, subject to

subsection (3) of ORS 420.045.
[Formerly 420.015; amended by 1969 c¢679 s8, 1971
¢ 401 s.99]

420.040 Liability for misconduct of
student of training school. The juvenile
training schools, the superintendents thereof,
the adminstrator and personnel of the
Children’s Services Division are not liable
for any damages whatsoever that are sus-
tained by any person on account of the ac-
tions or misconduct of a student of a juve-

nile training school.
[1963 ¢.256 s.10; 1965 ¢ 616 5.39; 1969 ¢.597 s 129, 1971
¢ 401 s 100]

420.045 Parole; discharge; revocation
of parole. (1) Upon finding that a student
of a juvenile training school is ready for
release therefrom and that he had best be
returned to his parent or guardian or to a
suitable and desirable home or facility, the
Administrator of the Children’s Services
Division or his authorized representative,
may, after advising the committing court,
release the student on parole conditioned
upon good behavior.

(2) At such time as the Administrator of
the Children’s Services Division or his
authorized representative, finds that final
release is compatible with the welfare of
society and the student, with the consent of
the committing court, the Administrator of
the Children’s Services Division or his
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authorized representative may make and
issue a final order discharging the student.

(3) The Administrator of the Children’s
Services Division or his authorized represent-
ative may revoke a parole if the conditions
of the parole have been violated or if the
continuation of the student on parole would
not be in the best interests of the student or
the community. After the revocation of
parole, the administrator of the division or
his authorized representative shall immedi-

ately advise the committing court thereof.
[1965 ¢.616 s 37, 1969 c 679 5.9; 1971 ¢.401 s.101]

420.050(Formerly 420.150; amended by 1965 ¢ 616
5.32; renumbered 420 016]

420.051[1965 c 616 s 38; repealed by 1967 ¢ 586 s 1]

420.055 Research coeducational pro-
gram. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 179.473,
420.120 and 420.320, the Children’s Services
Division may establish a research coeduca-
tional program to which may be admitted
children committed to both the MacLaren
School for Boys and the Hillcrest School of
Oregon, as determined by the division. Such
programs may be established at either or
both schools.

(2) In conducting the research programs
authorized by subsection (1) of this section,
the Children’s Services Division may use the
assistance of professional personnel from
other state agencies in establishing the
standards and determining the eligibility of
children at the schools fo1 admission to the
program; in designing, conducting and
evaluating the programs; and in developing
standards for the selection and training of
personnel engaged in various activities of
the programs.

(3) The director of the program is respon-
sible for the care and custody of all children
admitted to the program. However, such
responsibility shall not be considered as the
transfer of a child from one school to the
other within the meaning of ORS 179.473.

(4) The location of a research program
authorized by subsection (1) of this section at
either training school shall not be considered
a violation of ORS 420.120 or 420.320, and
the program so located shall be operated by
the Children’s Services Division with what-
ever assistance the division may require
from the training school at which the
program is located.

(1969 ¢.679 s5.10, 1971 c.401 s 102)

Note: 420 055 was not added to and made a part of
ORS chapter 420 by legislative action.
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EMPLOYMENT PROGRAM

420.060 Employment agreements;
definitions. (1) Upon finding that the educa-
tion and training of a student of a juvenile
training school will be furthered if the stu-
dent is permitted to work at gainful employ-
ment on a temporary basis, the superintend-
ent may enter into an agreement with any
suitable person or business establishment for
the temporary employment of the student.

(2) For the purposes of ORS 420.060 to
420.074, “juvenile training school” includes
youth care centers as defined in ORS
420.855 and approved by the Children’s
Services Division pursuant to ORS 420.865,
and “superintendent” includes the person in

charge of any such youth care center.
{1969 ¢ 410 s 1; 1971 ¢ 401 s 103]

420.065 Student compensation; dis-
position of compensation. (1) Such agree-
ments shall provide for compensation to be
paid for the student’s work at the prevailing
wages for such work in the community
where the student is employed or at a wage
rate approved by the superintendent.

(2) All sums earned by a student of a
juvenile training school, other than amounts
involuntarily withheld by the employer of
the student, shall be paid directly to the
superintendent or to the student if so direct-
ed by the superintendent. All moneys re-
ceived by the superintendent under this
section shall be placed in a trust account to

be used solely for the benefit of the student.
[1969 ¢.410 s.2]

420.070 Student in legal custody of
superintendent. A student of a juvenile
training school while temporarily employed
under ORS 420.060 to 420.074 shall remain
in the legal custody of the superintendent.
The superintendent shall continue to exercise
appropriate supervision over the student
during the period of his temporary employ-
ment.

[1969 ¢.410 s 3]

420.074 Employment status of stu-
dent. Students of a juvenile training school
while temporarily employed under the provi-
sions of ORS 420.060 to 420.074 are entitled
to the protection and benefits of ORS chap-
ters 652, 654 and 656 to the same extent as
other employes of their employer under 21,
except that:

(1) Payment of wages by an employer of
a student directly to the superintendent as
provided by subsection (2) of ORS 420.065
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shall not be deemed in violation of ORS
chapter 652;

(2) Compensation paid under ORS
chapter 656 that is not expended on medical
services shall be treated in the same manner
as the student’s earnings under ORS
420.065, so long as the student remains in
the legal custody of the juvenile training

school or youth care center.
(1969 c.410 s.4]

o8 14]20.075[F0rmerly 420.020; repealed by 1969 ¢.597
s.

420.080[Formerly 420 030, amended by 1969 c.314
s.35, repealed by 1969 ¢.597 s 281]

MacLAREN SCHOOL FOR
BOYS

420.110[Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s.101]

420.120 Supervision and objects of
school. (1) The MacLaren School for Boys,
located in Marion County, is a training
school for male persons under 21 years of
age. The administrator shall equip, conduct,
maintain and supervise the school in the
same manner as he does other institutions
within the Children’s Services Division.

(2) The superintendent, subordinate
officers and employes of the school shall use
their best and consistent endeavors to
govern, instruct, employ and reform the
youths committed to their charge, to the end
that the youths are trained and developed
into useful and honorable members of
society.

(3) The chief objects of the school are
educational and reformatory, rather than
penal, but this does not prevent the confine-
ment and discipline of juvenile offenders
therein.

(4) The superintendent, subject to the
approval of the administrator, may appoint
an assistant superintendent, who shall be in
the unclassified service for purposes of the

State Merit System Law.
[Amended by 1965 c.616 s42, 1971 c.401 s104; 1971
c.722 s 1]

420.130{Repealed by 1959 ¢ 432 s 59]

420.140[Amended by 1959 c 432 s 75, repealed by
1965 ¢.616 s 101]

420.150[Amended by 1963 ¢ 256 s3, renumbered
420 050 and then 420 016]

420.160[Amended by 1963 ¢ 432 s.76, 1965 c616
s 33, renumbered 420 021]

420.170[Amended by 1965 c.616 s34; renumbered
420.025]

420.180{Repealed by 1957
enacted 1n lieu of 420 180)]

c210 s.1; (420181
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420.181{1957 ¢ 210 s 2 (enacted in lieu of 420 180),
1963 ¢ 256 s 4, repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]

420.190{Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101}

420.200[Amended by 1953 ¢ 111 s3, repealed by
1959 ¢ 507 s 1]

420.210 Establishing temporary work
and training camps for boys. The Superin-
tendent of the MacLaren School for Boys,
with the approval of the Administrator of
the Children’s Services Division and in coop-
eration with any public agency, may estab-
lish at any place in this state one or more
temporary work and training camps for any
boys committed to the MacLaren School for
Boys who are determined by the superin-
tendent to be qualified and amenable as
security risks for work and training in such

camps.
[1953 ¢ 154 s1, 1963 ¢ 256 s5; 1969 ¢ 597 s 130, 1971
¢.401 s 105]

420.215 Operation of camps by su-
perintendent. Any camp established pur-
suant to ORS 420.210 on a temporary basis
shall be maintained and operated under the
supervision of the superintendent and shall
be governed, as far as applicable, by the
rules and regulations concerning discipline,
care and education of the MacLaren School

for Boys.
[1953 ¢ 154 s.2]

420.220 Responsibility for custody of
boys assigned to camp; scope of training
program. While at a camp established un-
der ORS 420.210 to 420.235, the superin-
tendent is responsible for the care and custo-
dy of all boys assigned to the camp. The
superintendent shall provide the same educa-
tional, training, religious, cultural and medi-
cal facilities that are available to the boys at
the MacLaren School for Boys, in so far as
this is feasible and appropriate; provided,
that the compulsory school attendance laws
are complied with.

[1953 ¢ 154 s 3]

420.225 Cooperation with other state
or federal agencies in work assignments.
The superintendent and the persons em-
ployed by him or designated to have direct
control of the boys at camp shall cooperate
to the fullest extent with any public agency
assisting in the camp program in making
assignments and in supervising any work or
training of boys who are physically able to

perform manual labor.
{1953 c 154 s 4; 1963 ¢ 256 s.6]
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420.230 Contracts with other state or
federal agencies. The superintendent, with
the approval of the Admininstrator of the
Children’s Services Division, may enter into
contracts with any public agency cooperating
or willing to cooperate in the camp program
to carry into effect the purposes of ORS
420.210 to 420.235, providing among other
things for the type of work to be performed
by boys at any camp, for rate of payment
and other matters relating to the mainte-
nance and training of the boys while at a
camp.

[1953 c.154 s 5, 1963 ¢ 256 s7, 1969 ¢ 597 s 131, 1971
¢ 401 s 106]

420.235 Return of rule violator or
bad security risk to MacLaren School for
Boys. Any boy who violates the rules and
regulations relating to discipline of a camp
or who appears to the superintendent to be a
bad security risk may be returned to the
MacLaren School for Boys on order of the

superintendent.
[1953 ¢ 154 s 6]

HILLCREST SCHOOL OF
OREGON

420.310[Repealed by 1959 ¢.432 s77 (420.331
enacted 1n leu of 420 310 and 420.330)]

420.320 Supervision and objects of
Hillcrest School. (1) The Hillcrest School of
Oregon, located in Marion County, is a train-
ing school for female persons under 21 years
of age.

(2) The administrator shall equip, con-
duct, maintain and supervise the school in
the same manner as he does other state
institutions. The school shall be conducted in
such manner as to provide an academic and
vocational education to its students and to
promote their moral, mental and physical
welfare.

(3) The superintendent, subject to the
approval of the administrator, may appoint
an assistant superintendent, who shall be in
the unclassified service for purposes of the

State Merit System Law.
{Amended by 1965 ¢.616 5.43; 1971 ¢.722 5.2}

420.330[Repealed by 1959 c¢.432 s.77 (420.331
enacted in lieu of 420.310 and 420.330))

420.331[1959 ¢ 432 s 78 (enacted in lieu of 420 310
and 420.330), repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]

420.340[Amended by 1957 ¢.210 s.3; repealed by
1959 ¢.432 s 59]

420.350[Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s 101]
420.360[Repealed by 1959 ¢ 191 s 1]
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420.370[Repealed by 1957
enacted 1n heu of 420.370)]

420.371{1957 ¢.210 s 5 (enacted in lieu of 420 370);
1963 ¢ 256 5.8, repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]

420.380{Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s.101]
420.390{Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]

c210 s4 (420371

420.400 Continuing application of
statutes. Sections 1, 2 and 3 of chapter 153,
Oregon Laws 1913, are continued in full
force as far as they affect actions pending,
rights accrued, judgments unexecuted, pro-
ceedings had and commitments thereunder
ordered.

COMMITMENT OF
JUVENILES TO MENTAL
INSTITUTIONS

420.500 Restriction on transfer of
juvenile training students to mental insti-
tutions. No student of a juvenile training
school may be transferred to an institution
for the mentally ill or mentally deficient for
a period of more than 14 days unless he has
been committed to an institution for the
mentally ill or mentally deficient in the

manner specified in ORS 420.505 to 420.525.
[1975 ¢ 662 s3]

420.505 Application by juvenile
training student for commitment to men-
tal institution; examination of applicant;
limitation on involuntary retention at
institution. (1) A juvenile who is a student
at a juvenile training school may apply for
commitment to an institution for the mental-
ly ill or mentally deficient. The application
may be made on behalf of the juvenile by
his parent or legal guardian.

(2) Within 72 hours after receipt of the
application, the superintendent of the juve-
nile training school shall cause the juvenile
to be examined by one or more qualified
persons at the school and shall request the
examination of the juvenile by one or more
qualified persons employed by the Mental
Health Division. The examination conducted
by the Mental Health Division shall take
place within 72 hours after receipt of the
request from the superintendent. The exam-
iners shall prepare reports in the manner
provided in ORS 426.120 and shall submit
such reports to the superintendent. Copies of
the report shall be given to the applicant.

(3) (a) If the superintendent finds that
the examiners agree that the juvenile is
mentally ill or mentally deficient and that it
would be in the best interests of the juvenile
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to be committed voluntarily to an institution
under the jurisdiction of the Mental Health
Division, the superintendent shall notify the
Mental Health Division and shall order the
juvenile transferred pursuant to instructions
from the Mental Health Division.

(b) If the superintendent finds that the
examiners disagree, he shall notify the
applicant that the application for voluntary
commitment has been denied.

(4) Except when a period of longer
hospitalization has been imposed as a condi-
tion of admission, pursuant to rules of the
Mental Health Division, no student at a
juvenile training school voluntarily admitted
to any state institution for the mentally ill
or mentally deficient under this section shall
be detained therein more than 72 hours after
he is at least 18 years of age and has given
notice in writing of his desire to be returned
to juvenile training school. If the juvenile is
under the age of 18 years, he may be so
returned after notice in writing has been
given by his parent or legal guardian, that
such parent or guardian desires that the
juvenile be discharged from the state institu-
tion for the mentally ill or mentally defi-
cient.

[1975 ¢ 662 s.4]

420.510{Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s 101]

420.515 Involuntary commitment of
juvenile training student; petition; exami-
nation of student; preliminary hearing;
duration of transfer. (1) Any two persons,
who may include the parents of a student at
a juvenile training school, the student’s legal
guardian and the superintendent of the juve-
nile training school may apply for involun-
tary commitment to a state institution for
the mentally ill or mentally deficient. The
two petitioning persons, physician attending
the allegedly mentally ill person or the phy-
sician attached to a hospital or institution
wherein the allegedly mentally ill person is
a patient shall in no way be held criminally
or civilly liable for the making of such appli-
cation, provided the persons act in good
faith, on probable cause and without malice.

(2) The juvenile whose transfer and
commitment are proposed shall be examined
by one or more physicians at the institution
to which the transfer and commitment are
proposed. If the examining physician finds
that the juvenile is mentally ill or mentally
deficient and that it is in the best interests
of the juvenile to be committed, he shall so
certify on oath and in writing. That certifi-
cate shall be transmitted to the juvenile
court of the county in which the state
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institution to which the proposed transfer
and commitment is to be made. The court
may require that any other records helpful
to its determination of the juvenile’s mental
condition be forwarded to the court, includ-
ing records of the juvenile court which
committed the juvenile to the juvenile
training school.

(3) The juvenile court shall hold a
preliminary hearing to determine whether
probable cause exists to believe that the
juvenile is mentally ill or mentally deficient.
Upon the showing of probable cause, the
court shall conduct a hearing to determine
whether to commit the juvenile. Prior to
such hearing, the court shall be advised of
any treatment or drugs being administered
to the juvenile which might substantially
affect his ability to participate in the hear-
ing. Notice of the hearing shall be given to
the juvenile, his parents and his legal
guardian.

(4) The court shall advise the juvenile of
his rights, the reasons he has been brought
before the court, the nature of the proceed-
ings and the possible results thereof. The
court may order such additional examina-
tions as it considers necessary to a determi-
nation of the proceedings. Such examination
shall be reported in the manner provided in
ORS 426.120. After reviewing the evidence,
including the results of all examinations, the
court shall determine whether to order if it
finds that the juvenile is mentally ill or
mentally deficient and that it is in the best
interests of the juvenile to be committed.
The commitment shall not extend beyond
180 days. Records of the proceedings shall be
made and disclosed as provided in ORS
426.160 and 426.170.

(5) The duration of a transfer from a
juvenile training school may not exceed the
period of the original commitment. Any such
individual must, prior to his release or
discharge, be returned to the juvenile
training school for release.

[1975 ¢ 662 s 5]

420.520[Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]

420.525 County of juvenile’s resi-
dence to pay certain expenses of commit-
ment proceedings. The costs of the hear-
ings held under ORS 179.473, 179.476,
419.507 and 420.500 to 420.525 and the fees
for physicians and other qualified persons
appointed under ORS 179.473, 179.476,
419.507 and 420.500 to 420.525 shall be
charged to the county of the juvenile’s resi-
dence prior to his initial commitment to a
juvenile training school or to the county of
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the inmate’s residence prior to his initial
commitment to a penal or correctional insti-
tution. Attorney fees may also be charged to
that county if the juvenile or inmate has no
separate estate or if the parents of the juve-
nile refuse or are unable to provide an attor-
ney.
[1975 ¢ 662 s.6]
420.530[Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s.101]
420.540[Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s.101]
420.550[Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]
420.560[Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s 101]
420.570{Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s.101]
420.580[Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s.101]
420.590[Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s.101]
420.600[Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101)
420.610[Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 s 101)
420.620[Repealed by 1965 ¢ 616 s 101]
420.630{Repealed by 1965 c.616 s 101]
420.640{Repealed by 1965 ¢.616 5.101]
420.710[Repealed by 1957 ¢ 160 s 6]
420.720[Repealed by 1957 ¢.160 s 6]
420.730(Repealed by 1957 ¢.160 s 6]

PLACEMENT OF STUDENTS
FROM JUVENILE TRAINING
SCHOOLS

420.810 Placement of students of
juvenile training school in foster homes.
All children in the legal custody of the
Children’s Services Division, who in the
judgment of the Administrator of the
Children’s Services Division or his author-
ized representative have made sufficient
progress in rehabilitation and reform, may
be placed with any person or family of good
standing and character for care and educa-
tion under an agreement pursuant to ORS

420.815.
{1953 ¢.153 s.1; 1965 c.616 s 44; 1971 ¢.84 s 1]

420.815 Placement agreements with
persons or families. (1) The Administrator
of the Children’s Services Division or his
authorized representative may enter into
agreements with persons or families found
suitable for the placement of children in the
legal custody of the Children’s Services Divi-
sion.

(2) The agreement shall provide for the
custody, care, education, maintenance and
earnings of the child placed for a time fixed
in the agreement but not to exceed the time
when the child reaches the age of 21 years.
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(3) The agreement shall be signed by the
person assuming the foster care and by the
Administrator of the Children’s Services
Division or his authorized representative.

(4) If the agreement provides for pay-
ments to the person assuming the foster
care, the Children’s Services Division shall

make these payments.
[1953 ¢ 153 s2; 1957 ¢ 77 s 1, 1959 ¢ 311 s.1, 1965 c 616
s 45; 1971 ¢.84 s 2)

420.820[1953 ¢.153 s 3, repealed by 1971 c.84 s.3
(420 821 enacted 1n heu of 420.820)]

420.821 Visiting of foster homes by
staff members. The Administrator of the
Children’s Services Division or his author-
ized representative shall designate members
of his staff as visiting agents. As required
by the administrator or his authorized repre-
sentative, these visiting agents shall:

(1) Visit the foster homes and children
placed therein;

(2) Ascertain whether the children are
properly placed; and

(3) Make reports to the administrator or
his designated representative concerning the
investigations and visits.

{1971 ¢ 84 s.4 (420.821 enacted 1n heu of 420 820)]

480.825 Return of child to school.
Any child placed pursuant to ORS 420.810 to
420.840 may on order of the Administrator
of the Children’s Services Division or his
authorized representative be returned to a
juvenile training school or replaced, if in the
opinion of the administrator or his author-
ized representative the child would benefit

by removal from the foster home.
[1953 ¢.153 s.4, 1971 c.84 s.5]

420.830[1953 ¢ 153 s.5, repealed by 1959 ¢ 652 5.24]

420.835 Prohibition of interference
with control of placed child. No parent or
other person not a party to the placement
agreement shall interfere with or assume

any control over the placed child.
[1953 ¢.153 s.6]

420.840 Cooperation of superintend-
ents with other child welfare agencies.
The Administrator of the Children’s Services
Division or his authorized representative in
carrying out the provisions of ORS 420.810
to 420.840 may cooperate with and consult
any private or public agency concerned with

child welfare.
[1953 ¢.153 s 8, 1971 c.84 s 6]
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YOUTH CARE CENTERS

420.855 Definitions for ORS 420.855
to 420.885. As used in ORS 418.020,
418.025 and 420.855 to 420.885, unless the
context requires otherwise:

(1) “Child” means a child between the
ages of 12 and 18 who is within the jurisdic-

tion of the juvenile court by reason of a
ground set forth in ORS 419.509.

(2) “Division” means the
Services Division.

(3) “Juvenile court” means the court
exercising jurisdiction under ORS chapter
419 in the county.

(4) “Youth care center” or “center”
means a facility established and operated by
a public or private agency or a combination
thereof, to provide care and rehabilitation
services for children committed to the
custody of the youth care center by the
juvenile court or placed by the Children’s
Services Division, but does not include
detention facilities established under ORS

419.602 to 419.616.
[1967 c.444 s.1; 1969 ¢ 597 s 139; 1971 c.401 s.62, 1971
c.698 s.4]

Children’s

420.860 Policy and intent. It is de-
clared to be the policy and intent of the Leg-
islative Assembly that the State of Oregon
shall encourage, aid and financially assist its
county governments and public and private
agencies in the establishment and develop-
ment of youth care centers for children
found to be in need of care and rehabilita-

tion pursuant to ORS 419.507.
[1967 c 444 5.10]

420.865 Commitment to youth care
center. (1) The Children’s Services Division
may place a child who has been placed in its
legal custody pursuant to ORS 419.507 in a
youth care center if the center complies with
the provisions of ORS 420.855 to 420.885
and has been approved by the Children’s
Services Division.

(2) Placement of a child by the
Children’s Services Division in a youth care
center does not terminate the juvenile
court’s wardship over the child or the custo-
dy of the Children’s Services Division. The
center may retain such children in full or
part-time residential care or, with the
consent of the Children’s Services Division,
may place them on a full or part-time basis

in foster homes.
[1967 c.444 ss2, 4, 1971 ¢ 401 s.63; 1971 c 698 s 5]
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420.870 Standards for approval of
youth care centers. Approval of the youth
care center by the Children’s Services Divi-
sion, required by ORS 420.865, shall be
based on reasonable and satisfactory assur-
ance that:

(1) Adequate physical facilities exist
which comply with applicable rules of the
State Board of Health and the State Fire
Marshal.

(2) There is employment of capable and
trained or experienced personnel.

(3) The youth care programs include
educational, vocational, recreational and
counseling opportunities that will be in the
best interests of the child.

(4) There is compliance with the applica-
ble provisions of ORS 418.555.

(5) A county must demonstrate that an
adequate probation system for children exists
in the county in order to be eligible for state

support for a youth care center.
[1967 c.444 s 3; 1971 ¢.401 s5.64]

420.875 Application for state support
of center; required reports. (1) An ap-
proved youth care center is eligible for state
support from funds appropriated to the
Children’s Services Division for that purpose
to meet its operating expenses. Public or
private agencies operating a youth care cen-
ter shall make application for state support
to the division. The application shall contain
such information as may be required by the
division.

(2) Upon receiving the application, the
division shall cause an investigation of the
affairs and methods of the youth care center
and, if it finds that the center meets the
requirements of ORS 420.870, shall grant its
application for state support.

(3) At such times as the Children’s
Services Division may require, all youth care
centers receiving state support under the
provisions of ORS 420.855 to 420.885, shall
file with the division a financial and statisti-
cal report, and a report on the content and
conduct of the program, in such form as may
be prescribed by the division. If any youth
care center fails to file the prescribed reports
within 30 calendar days after requested by
the division, no further state support shall
be paid until it has complied with the

provisions of this subsection.
[1967 c.444 5.5, 1969 ¢ 196 s.1; 1971 c.401 s 65]

420.880 Level of state support; sup-
port of child placed outside center. (1)
Subject to the availability of funds, each
youth care center that has received approval
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from the Children’s Services Division and
continues to meet the requirements of ORS
420.855 to 420.885 and the rules of the divi-
sion is eligible to receive state support in an
amount equal to 50 percent of the average
monthly cost for each child being cared for
by the center, but not to exceed $155 per
month per child. The remaining operating
costs may be met from private sources or
from local, other state or federal sources.

(2) Subject to the availability of funds, if
in the opinion of the youth care center, the
welfare of the child requires special care of
the interests of the child would be better
served outside the center, the center, with
the consent of the Children’s Services Divi-
sion, may place the child in foster care or
hospital and state support for such child
shall be allowed to the center in an amount
equal to 50 percent of the actual monthly
cost for each such child.

[1967 c 444 s.6; 1969 c.196 s.2; 1971 ¢ 401 s.66; 1971
c.698 s.6; 1974 s 5 ¢.57 s 1]

420.885 Audit and payment of
claims. (1) The youth care center shall
present to the Children’s Services Division
an itemized statement showing the names of
the children being cared for during the peri-
od for which the statement is submitted and
the amount which the center claims for the
period. The division shall investigate the
claim and approve only that portion which is
in accordance with the provisions of ORS
420.855 to 420.885 and the rules of the divi-
sion.

(2) When certified by the Children’s
Services Division, claim for state reimburse-
ments shall be presented to the Executive
Department and paid in the same manner as
the claims against the state are paid.

(3) If the center is operated jointly by
more than one public or private agency, each
agency participating in the operation shall
be entitled to a pro rata share of the amount
due, to be determined by the contribution of
each to the operating cost of the center.

(1967 c.444 s.7; 1969 ¢.196 s.3; 1971 ¢.401 $.67]

APPREHENSION OF
ESCAPED OR ABSENT
STUDENTS

420.905 Definitions for ORS 420.905
to 420.915. As used in ORS 420.905 to
420.915, “peace officer” means any sheriff,
constable, marshal, or the deputy of any
such officer, any member of the state police
or any member of the police force of any
city.

[1957 ¢.129 s.5)

420.910 Apprehension of escaped or
absent students of training school. When
any student of a juvenile training school has
escaped or without authorization is absent
from the institution to which committed, or
from the custody of any person in whose
charge he lawfully has been placed, the su-
perintendent or authorized representative of
the superintendent of the school concerned
may authorize any peace officer in the state
to apprehend and hold the escapee or absen-

tee.
(1957 ¢.129 s.1; 1957 c.481 s1; 1963 c256 s.9; 1965
c.616 s 46]

420.915 Procedure upon apprehen-
sion of escapee or absentee. (1) The peace
officer who holds an escapee or absentee
described in ORS 420.910 shall, so far as
practicable, hold him in a place separate
from adult persons in custody.

(2) Any peace officer who holds the
escapee or absentee described in ORS
420.910 shall immediately inform the insti-
tution to which such person was committed
and shall surrender him to any person
authorized by the superintendent, assistant
superintendent or representative of the
superintendent of such institution to receive
him.

{1957 ¢.129 ss.2, 4]

420.920[1957 ¢.129 s.3; repealed by 1965 c616
s.101]

PENALTIES

420.990 Penalties. Violation of ORS

420.835 is a misdemeanor.
[1953 ¢.158 5.7]
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