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725.010 LOAN ASSOCIATIONS AND LENDING INSTITUTIONS

725.010 Definitions. As used in this
chapter, unless the context requires other- 
wise: 

1) " Licensee" means every person

licensed under this chapter. 
2) " Licensing official' means the Su- 

perintendent of Banks. 

725.020 Short title. This chapter shall
be known as the Oregon Consumer Finance
Act. 
Amended by 1955 c. 71 $ 1] 

725.025 Declaration of legislative in- 
tent. It is the intent of the legislature in

enacting chapter 71, Oregon Laws 1955, to
consolidate the Small Loan Act, ORS chap- 
ter 725 [ 1953 edition], and the Motor Ve- 

hicle Finance Act, ORS chapter 727 [ 1953
edition], to provide uniformity in the busi- 
ness of making loans or advancements in
the amount or value of $ 1,500 or less and
to eliminate the present duplication of li- 
censes, records, reports and supervision. 

1955 c. 71 § 141

725.026 Existing contracts not affected. 
Nothing contained in chapter 71, Oregon
Laws 1955, shall be construed to impair or

affect the obligation of any contract law- 
fully made prior to August 3, 1955, including
any lawful contract made by a licensee un- 
der ORS chapter 725 [ 1953 edition] or ORS
chapter 727 [ 1953 edition] . 
1955 c. 71 § 161

725.027 Licenses of persons licensed
under ORS chapter 725 or 727 on August 3, 
1955, continued in force. ( 1) Any person li- 
censed under and subject to ORS chapter
725 on August 3, 1955, is deemed to be li- 
censed under and subject to ORS chapter

725 during the period from August 3, 1955, 
to and including December 31, 1955. Any
person not licensed under and subject to
ORS chapter 725, but who holds a license
under ORS chapter 727 on August 3, 1955, 

and who held such license on January 1, 
1955, is deemed to be licensed under and

subject to ORS chapter 725 during the pe- 
riod from August 3, 1955, to and including
December 31, 1955. Only one license shall
be issued for each licensed office, irrespec- 
tive of whether such office is licensed under
both ORS chapter 725 and ORS chapter 727
and irrespective of whether the two licenses

are held by different persons. The licensing
official shall charge no further fees for the
continuance of a license as provided in this

subsection. The licensing official shall inves- 
tigate the facts and satisfy himself that this
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section entitles a person to a continuance
of a license. 

2) Any license in effect on December
31, 1955, under subsection ( 1) of this sec- 

tion, shall be continued in force as long as
the standards are maintained under ORS
chapter 725, by payment of the required an- 
nual license fee, and such license shall be
evidenced by a new certificate which shall
be a continuing license. 

1955 c. 71 § 151

Note: Section 6, chapter 428, Oregon Laws 1973, 
provides: 

Sec. 6. ( 1) Any person incorporated under and
subject to ORS chapter 724 on the effective date of
this Act [ October 5, 1973] is considered to be licensed
under and subject to ORS chapter 725. The licensing
official shall not charge any additional fees for the
continuance of a license under this subsection. 

2) The licensing official shall investigate the
facts and satisfy himself that this section entitles a
person to a continuance of a license. 

725.030 License required before making
certain loans. ( 1) No person shall make any
loan, secured or unsecured, for which there

is charged, contracted for or directly or in- 
directly received any sum or value at a rate
in excess of 10 percent per annum, except as
authorized by this chapter and without first
procuring a license in accordance with this
chapter. 

2) This section does not apply to a loan
for which a rate in excess of 10 percent per
annum is expressly permitted by any law of
this state or a loan that does not exceed the
10 percent general interest rate under ORS
82.010. 

mended by 1955 c.71 § 2; 1971 c.450 § 1; 1973 c.428
1

Note: Section 7, chapter 428, Oregon Laws 1973, 
provides: 

Sec. 7. Nothing contained in this Act shall be
construed to impair or affect the obligation of any
contract lawfully made prior to the effective date of
this Act, [ October 5, 1973] including any lawful con- 
tract made by a corporation incorporated under ORS
chapter 724 on the effective date of this Act. 

725.040 Construction of chapter. Noth- 
ing in this chapter shall be construed or
held to limit the rights, powers or privileges

granted to any person by any law of this
state or of the United States whereby the
loaning of money or extending of credit is
regulated, provided that such person is

operating in compliance with the provisions
of such law. 

725.050 Prohibited transactions. No li- 
censee shall take: 

1) On loans of less than $2,000, any lien
upon real estate as security for any loan for
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which a greater rate of interest or considera- 
tion than 10 percent per annum is charged, 
contracted for or received, except such lien

as is created by law upon the recording of a
judgment. 

2) Any power of attorney from any
borrower, except a power of attorney to ef- 
fectuate the transfer of the ownership of
any motor vehicle at the time of making a
loan on a motor vehicle. 

3) Any note, promise to pay or pledge
of collateral which does not accurately dis- 
close the actual amount of the loan, the
time for which it is made, the rate of inter- 
est charged or the schedule of payments

agreed upon, or any instrument in which
blanks are left to be filled in after exe- 
cution. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 § 3; 1971 c.450 § 21

725.060 False advertising prohibited. 

No licensee or other person shall advertise, 

print, display, publish, distribute or broad- 
cast or cause or permit to be advertised, 
printed, displayed, published, distributed or
broadcast in any manner whatsoever any
statement or representation with regard to
the rates, terms or conditions for loans

which is false, misleading or deceptive. 

725.110 Residence qualifications of li- 
censees. No license shall be granted to any
person, partnership, association or corpo- 

ration unless that person and all members

of any such partnership or association are
bona fide residents of this state and unless
such corporation is an Oregon corporation
in good standing or a foreign corporation
legally qualified to do business in this state. 

725.140

notice and issue a license without regard to

such 30 -day period if the application is for a
license at a location where a license has been
surrendered because of: 

a) The transfer of the business of the
licensee, and the applicant is the transferee; 
or

b) The death of the licensee, and the

applicant is a representative or heir of the
licensee; or

c) The change of the name under which

the licensee does business, and the applicant
is the same licensee. 

3) Applicants at the time of making
application shall pay to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund $ 150 as an

annual license fee for a period terminating
on the last day of the current calendar year. 
However, if the application is filed after

June 30 in any year the license fee shall
be $ 75. In case the license is not issued
for cause or if the application is withdrawn

after the applicant has been investigated by
the licensing official, there shall be refunded
to the applicant all the license fee except

50 which shall be retained by the licensing
official; otherwise no part of any license fee
shall be refunded. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 4] 

725.120 Application for license; notice

of filing; annual fee. ( 1) Application for the

license shall be in writing in the form pre- 
scribed by the licensing official and shall
contain the name and both the residence and
business addresses of the applicant, and if
the applicant is a partnership or association, 
of every member thereof, and if a corpora- 
tion, of each officer and director thereof. 

The application shall also contain the county
and city or town with street and number, if
any, where the business is to be conducted
and any other information which the licens- 
ing official may require. 

2) Notice of the filing of the applica- 
tion shall be posted in the office of the

licensing official for 30 days and no license
shall be issued before the expiration of such

30 -day period. However, the licensing official
in his discretion may waive the posting of
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725. 125 [ 1971 c.450 § 5; repealed by 1973 c. 428
11] 

725.130 [ Repealed by 1955 c.71 § 171

725.140 Issuance of license; conditions. 

1) Conditioned upon the applicant's com- 

pliance with this chapter and the payment

of the license fee, the licensing official with- 
in 90 days after the date of filing the appli- 
cation referred to in ORS 725.120, shall dis- 
approve the application or shall issue and
deliver a license to the applicant to make
loans in accordance with this chapter at the
location specified in the application, which

license shall be a continuing license and need
not be issued annually, to remain in full force
and effect until it is surrendered by the li- 
censee or revoked or suspended as provided

in ORS 725.230 and 725.250; provided the

licensing official finds upon investigation: 
a) That the financial responsibility, 

experience, character and general fitness of
the applicant, and of the members thereof

if the applicant is a partnership or asso- 
ciation, and of the officers and directors
thereof if the applicant is a corporation, are
such as to command the confidence of the

community and to warrant the belief that
the business will be operated honestly, fairly
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and efficiently within the purposes of this
chapter. 

b) That allowing the applicant to en- 
gage in business will promote the conveni- 

ence and advantage of the community in
which the business of the applicant is to be

conducted, and in the absence of any other
reason or condition which in his judgment
would warrant the refusal to grant a license. 

2) The findings mentioned in para- 
graphs ( a) and ( b) of subsection ( 1) of

this section are conditions precedent to
issuance of a license under this chapter. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 5; 1963 c.167 § 1] 

725.150 Disapproval of applications; 

appeal. If the application is denied, the licens- 
ing official shall indorse thereon with the
date the word " Disapproved" and shall

immediately advise the applicant by regis- 
tered mail of the reason therefor. The

applicant shall have the right of appeal
from the decision to the circuit court for
the county of the city or town mentioned
in the application. The appeal must be taken

within 30 days after date of mailing of the
notice of disapproval. 

725.160 Form of license; posting; trans- 
ferability. The license shall be in a form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
state the address at which the business is
to be conducted and the full name of the li- 
censee. The license shall be kept conspicu- 

ously posted in the place of business of the
licensee and shall not be transferable or as- 
signable. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 § 61

725. 170 [ Repealed by 1955 c.71 § 17] 

725.180 Annual fee. Every licensee, on
or before December 15 of each year, shall

pay to the licensing official the annual li- 
cense fee of $150 for the next succeeding cal- 
endar year. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 § 71

725.190 Annual report of licensee; re- 

port of licensing official; penalty for failure
to report by licensee. ( 1) On or before Feb- 

ruary 15 of each year every licensee shall file
a report with the licensing official giving
such relevant information as the licensing of- 
ficial reasonably may require concerning the
business and operations during the preceding
calendar year of each licensed place of busi- 

ness conducted by the licensee within the
state. The report shall be made under oath

and shall be in the form prescribed by the li- 
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censing official, who shall make and publish
annually a recapitulation of such reports. 

2) Every licensee who fails to file any
report required under this chapter within the

time specified may be subject to a penalty of
10 per day for each day' s delay. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 8; 1973 c. 428 § 2] 

Note: See note under 725. 030. 

725. 200 [ Repealed by 1971 c. 743 § 4321

725.210 Additional licenses to same

applicant. No licensee shall transact any
business within the scope of this chapter
except under the name and at the place of

business named in his license. The licensing
official may issue more than one license to
the same licensee upon his compliance with

all the provisions of this chapter governing
an original issuance of a license for each
such additional license. However, each addi- 
tional license shall be for a separate and
distinct place of business for making and
completing loans as provided in this chapter. 

725.220 Change of place of business. 
1) Whenever a licensee wishes to change

his place of business to another location

within the same city or town, he shall sub- 
mit written notice thereof, together with his

license, to the licensing official. If the licens- 
ing official, upon investigation, finds that al- 
lowing the licensee to engage in business at
the proposed new location will promote the
convenience and advantage of the commun- 

ity in which the proposed new location of the
business is situated, he shall amend the li- 
cense of the licensee to reflect the new lo- 
cation, and shall return the amended license

to the licensee. If the licensing official dis- 
approves the proposed new location of the
business, he shall indorse on the notice of
the licensee the word " Disapproved," im- 

mediately advise the licensee by registered
mail of such disapproval and return the li- 
cense unchanged to the licensee. The licensee

may appeal from such disapproval in the
manner provided in ORS 725.150. 

2) No change in the place of business

of a licensee to a location outside the city or
town named in the original license shall be
permitted under the same license. 
Amended by 1955 c. 71 § 9] 

725.280 Revocation and suspension of
licenses. ( 1) The licensing official may re- 
voke any license under this chapter upon
10 days' notice to the licensee stating the
contemplated action and in general the
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grounds therefor and upon reasonable

opportunity for a hearing in connection
therewith, if he finds that: 

a) The licensee has failed to pay the
annual license fee or to comply with any
demand, ruling or requirement of the licens- 
ing official lawfully made pursuant to and
within the authority of this chapter or to
comply with the provisions of law to keep
the corporation in good standing if such
licensee is a corporation; 

b) The licensee has violated any pro- 
visions of this chapter or any rule or regu- 
lation lawfully made by the licensing official
under and within the authority of this
chapter; or

c) Any fact or condition exists which, 
if it had existed at the time of the original

application for such license, clearly would
have warranted the licensing official in re- 
fusing originally to issue such license. 

2) The licensing official may, without
notice or hearing, suspend any license for
a period not exceeding 30 days, pending
investigation. 

3) The licensing official may revoke or
suspend only the particular license with
respect to which grounds for revocation or

suspension may occur or exist, or, if he finds
that such grounds for revocation or suspen- 
sion are of general application to all offices

or to more than one office operated by a
licensee, he may revoke or suspend all the
licenses or such number of licenses issued
to the licensee as the grounds for revocation
or suspension apply to, as the case may be. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 301

725.310

725.260 Expiration of license; effect of
expiration, revocation or surrender. The

revocation, suspension or surrender of any
license shall not impair or affect the rights

or obligations of any preexisting lawful con- 
tract between the licensee and any borrower. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 11] 

725.270 Reinstatement of revoked li- 

cense; fee. The licensing official may rein- 
state any revoked license upon the licensee' s
compliance with the provisions of law or

any demand, ruling or requirement lawfully
made by the licensing official pursuant to
and within the authority of this chapter. 
For such reinstatement of license the licensee

shall pay a fee of $ 25. 

725.235 License denial procedure; pro- 
mulgation, review of rules and orders. ( 1) 

Where the superintendent proposes to refuse
to issue a license, or proposes to revoke or

suspend a license, opportunity for hearing
shall be #accorded as provided in ORS 183.310
to 183.500. 

2) Promulgation of rules, conduct of

hearings, issuance of orders and judicial re- 

view of rules and orders shall be as provided
in ORS 183.310 to 183.500. 
1971 c. 734 § 1761

725. 240 [ Repealed by 1971 c.734 § 21] 

725.250 Surrender of license. Any li- 
censee may surrender any license issued to
him by delivering written notice to the
licensing official that he thereby surrenders
such license, but such surrender shall not

affect the licensee' s civil or criminal liability
for acts committed prior to the surrender. 
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725.310 Investigation and examination

of licensees. ( 1) For the purpose of dis- 

covering violations of this chapter or secur- 
ing information lawfully required by him
under this chapter the licensing official may
at any time, either personally or by a duly
appointed examiner or deputy, investigate
the loans and business and gxamine the
books, accounts, records and files used there- 

in, of every licensee and of every person
who he has reason to believe is making loans
at a rate of interest in excess of 10 percent
per annum, whether such person acts or

claims to act as principal or agent or under

or without the authority of this chapter. For
such purpose the licensing official or his duly
appointed examiner or deputy shall have
free access to the place of business, books, 

accounts, safes and vaults of all such per- 

sons. The licensing official or his duly
appointed examiner or deputy shall have
authority to examine under oath all persons
whose testimony he may require relative to
such loans or business. 

2) The licensing official may cause an
examination to be made by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy of the loans and busi- 
ness, books, accounts, records and files of
each licensee under this chapter without

previous notice to the licensee and at such

intervals as the licensing official may deem
advisable or expedient and not less often
than once a year. The actual cost of each

examination, or the sum of $ 20, whichever

is larger, shall be paid to the licensing offi- 
cial for the State Banking Fund by every
licensee so examined. The licensing official
may maintain an action for the recovery
of such costs in any court of competent
jurisdiction. 

Amended by 1955 c.71 § 12; 1973 c.428 § 3] 
Note: See note under 725.030. 
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725.320 Rules and regulations. ( 1) The

licensing official may make such general
rules and regulations and such specific rul- 

ings, demands and findings as may be
necessary for the proper conduct of the
business regulated by this chapter and the
enforcement of this chapter in addition to
and not inconsistent with this chapter. 

2) All general rules and regulations
shall be filed by the licensing official with
the Banking Division in an indexed, perma- 
nent book, with the effective date thereof

suitably indicated, and such book shall be a
public record. A copy of every general rule
and regulation shall be mailed by the licens- 
ing official to all licensees at their respective
licensed places of business at least 10 days
before the effective date thereof. 

725.330 Licensee' s books and records. 
Subject to the provisions of this chapter, 

the licensing official may prescribe the form
of the books and records to be kept by the
licensee. All such books and records shall
be preserved and available for at least two

years after making the final entry on any
loan recorded therein. 

725.340 Limitations on interest and

other charges. ( 1) No licensee shall charge, 

contract for or receive any interest or con- 
sideration for loans, secured or unsecured, 

made to any one person: 
a) For loans having an original unpaid

balance of $ 5,000 or less, at a greater rate
than three percent per month on that part
of the unpaid principal balance not in excess

of $300, one and three - quarters percent per
month on that part of the unpaid principal

balance in excess of $300 but not in excess of
1, 000, one and one - quarter percent per

month on that part of the unpaid principal

balance in excess of $1, 000 but not in excess
of $5,000. 

b) For loans having an original unpaid
balance in excess of $5,000, at a greater rate

than one and one -half percent per month on
the entire unpaid principal balance. 

A licensee may precompute interest or con- 
sideration for loans as provided in subsec- 
tion (5) of this section. 

2) This section does not limit the man- 

ner of contracting for interest or considera- 
tion for loans whether by means of add -on, 
discount or otherwise if the rate of interest
or consideration for loans does not exceed
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the rate authorized in this section. In addi- 
tion to the interest or consideration for loans
authorized in this section no further or other
charge or amount whatsoever shall be di- 

rectly or indirectly charged, contracted for or
received for any examination, appraisal, in- 
vestigation, service, brokerage, commission, 

expense, fee or bonus or other thing or other- 
wise, except: 

a) Fees actually and necessarily paid
out by the licensee to any public officer for
filing or recording or releasing in any public
office any instrument securing the loan, 
which fees may be collected when the loan is
made or at any time thereafter. However, if
such fees are not so paid out within 30 days
after being charged or received, the licensee
shall lose all right thereto and shall return

them to the borrower or apply them toward
the payment of the borrower's debt to the li- 
censee. 

b) Insurance premiums actually paid
out by the licensee to any insurance company
or agent duly licensed and authorized to do
business in this state for insurance for the
protection and benefit of the borrower writ- 

ten in connection with any loan. 
c) Taxable costs and disbursements to

which the licensee may become entitled as
provided by law in connection with any ac- 
tion, suit or proceeding to collect a loan or to
realize on a security after default. 

d) For loans in excess of $5,000 that are
secured by an interest in real estate, reason- 
able fees or premiums for title examinations
or title insurance, appraisals and surveys, if
the costs are incurred and paid to a person
not a salaried employe of the licensee. 

3) Any loan made under this chapter by
any licensee for which a greater rate of in- 
terest or consideration than is permitted by
this section has been charged, contracted for
or received, except as the result of accidental

or bona fide error, shall be void and the li- 
censee shall forfeit the right to collect or re- 

ceive any principal, interest or charges what- 
soever on such loan and shall return to the

borrower free from the licensee' s lien any
collateral security which the borrower may
have deposited with the licensee and release
any lien taken to secure such loan and such
lien shall be void. 

4) No licensee shall induce or permit any
person, nor any husband and wife jointly or
severally, to become obligated, directly or
contingently or both,' under more than one
contract of loan made under this chapter at
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the same time, for the purpose of obtaining
a higher rate of interest or other charge than

would otherwise be permitted by this section. 
5) Charges may be precomputed on the

assumption that all scheduled payments will

be made when due. For a precomputed loan, 

an amount not exceeding five percent of the
instalment or $5, whichever is less, may be
charged for an instalment not paid within 10
days after its scheduled due date. Upon pre- 
payment in full of the unpaid balance of a

precomputed loan, a rebate shall be made, 

computed by the " rule of seventy - eights" or
sum of the digits" method as defined by rule

issued under ORS 725.320, for that portion

of the precomputed charge scheduled to fol- 

low the instalment due date after the date of

prepayment in full. 

6) If the borrower agrees to perform
certain duties to insure or preserve the col- 

lateral and fails to perform those duties, the

licensee may pay for the performance of
those duties and add the amounts he paid to

the unpaid principal balance. A charge may
be made for sums advanced, at a rate not ex- 

ceeding that permitted under this section, 
computed on the entire remaining unpaid
principal balance for the period of the loan

actually outstanding. 

7) The loan contract may provide that
after default and referral the borrower shall

pay the licensee for reasonable attorney fees
actually paid by the licensee to an attorney
not a salaried employe of the licensee. 
Amended by 1955 c.71 § 13; 1971 c. 450 § 3; 1973 c.428
4] 

Note: See note under 725. 030. 

725.350 [ Repealed by 1971 c.232 § 41

725.355 Prohibition against assignment

of earnings for loan security. ( 1) As used in

this section, " earnings" means salary, wage

or other compensation for service. 
2) No licensee shall take an assignment

of earnings as payment of or as security fo
payment of a loan. An assignment in violation

of this subsection is unenforceable by the as- 
signee and revocable by the assignor. Nothing
in this subsection is intended to prevent a

employe from authorizing deductions from
his earnings if the authorization is revocable

3) For the purpose of this section, a sale

of unpaid earnings made in consideration of

the payment of money to or for the account
of the seller of the earnings is considered a

loan to him, secured by an assignment of
earnings. 

1971 c. 232 § 31

725.360 Licensee's duty toward bor- 

rowers. Every licensee shall: 
1) Deliver to the borrower at the time

any loan is made a statement in the English
language showing in clear and distinct
terms: 

a) The name and address of the bor- 
rower and of the licensee. 

b) The amount and the date of the loan

and of its maturity or terms of payment. 
c) The rate of interest agreed upon

or consideration to be charged therefor. 
d) The nature of the security for the

loan, if a liven on personal property has been
taken by chattel mortgage, bill of sale, 

collateral agreement or otherwise. 

2) Make available to the borrower upon

request a plain and complete receipt for all

payments made on account of any such loan
at the time such payments are received by
the licensee, specifying the amount applied to
interest, if any, the date to which the interest
is paid, the amount applied to principal, if

any, and the unpaid principal balance of such
loan, if any remains. 

3) Permit payment to be made in ad- 

vance in any amount on any loan at any
time. 

4) Upon repayment of the loan in full

or upon renewal thereof, mark indelibly such
obligation signed by the borrower with the
word " Paid" or " Renewed"; and in the case

of repayment in full shall release any mort- 
gage, restore any security or collateral, 

return any assignment given by the bor- 
rower and return to him the canceled note

evidencing the loan. 
Amended by 1971 c. 450 § 4; 1973 c.428 § 5] 

Note: See note under 725.030. 

s 725.370 Effect of conviction of charg- 
ing excessive interest. If any licensee or
agent, member, officer or employe there- 

of or any other person is convicted by a
court of competent jurisdiction of having
charged, contracted for or received any
interest, fees or other charges in excess of

n those permitted by this chapter, then any
m such loan shall be void. The licensee shall

forfeit the right to collect or receive any
principal, interest or charges whatsoever

on such loan. He shall upon order of the
court return to the borrower free from the

licensee' s lien any collateral security which
the borrower may have deposited with the
licensee, release any lien taken to secure
such loan and shall pay into the county
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school fund of the county wherein the loan
was made all payments of principal and in- 

terest and all fees or other charges pre- 

viously collected under such loan. However, 
loans made or payable in other jurisdictions

and lawful where made or payable, shall

not be affected by this chapter. 

725.380 Duties of district attorney in
relation to Small Loans Act. The district

attorney of the judicial district in which the
place of business of the licensee is located, 
upon receipt of written advice from the

licensing official relative to any violations
of this chapter which are subject to penal- 
ties prescribed in ORS 725.990, shall imme- 

diately investigate such violation and in- 
stitute proceedings to enforce the provisions
of the law. The cost of all such investigations

and proceedings shall be paid by the county
in the same manner as in other criminal

procedures. The district attorney shall rep- 
resent the licensing official in all cases where
an appeal is taken under the provisions of
this chapter. 

725.990 Penalties. ( 1) Violation, or par- 

ticipation in the violation, of ORS 725.030, 
725.050, 725.060, 725.210, 725.220, 725.340

or 725.350 is punishable, upon conviction, by
a fine of not less than $ 100 nor more than

1,000 or by imprisonment in the county jail
for not less than one month nor more than
one year, or both. 

2) Upon conviction under subsection
1) of this section, no license shall be

granted to such person, nor to the husband

or wife of such person, nor to any partner- 
ship or association of which he is an agent
or member until two years after the date

of such conviction. 

Amended by 1971 c. 743 § 424] 
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