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CH. 323 CROSS REFERENCES

CROSS REFERENCES

Administration of tax laws generally, Ch. 305
Administrative procedures and rules of state agen- 

cies, Ch. 183
Date of receipt of reports, remittances and claims for

credit or refund, determination of, 293.660

Public officer failing to perform duties imposed on
him by tax law, penalty, 305.990

Refund of taxes adjudged invalid, 305.765

Uniformity of taxation, Const. Art. I, §32; Art. IX, §1
Verification of documents filed under tax laws, falsi- 

fication prohibited, 305.810, 305.815
When tax document deemed filed with tax official, 

305.820
Public contracts and purchasing, Ch. 279

323.195

Power of department to waive, reduce or compromise

tax, penalty and interest, 305. 145

23.225

Penalty, 323.990( 4) 
323.455

Adjustment of distribution upon filing of corrected
certificate of census, 190.620

Appraisal system, reimbursement of state by county
for costs of conducting appraisal from tax pro- 
ceeds, 308.061

City - county to receive share of funds distributed, 
199.755

Revenues from cigarette tax, prerequisite for receipt

by certain cities, 221.760
Use of county share to reimburse state services in

county appraisal program, 308.061
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CIGARETTE TAX

Note: Pursuant to section 1, Article IV of the

Oregon Constitution, chapter 535, Oregon Laws 1971, 
has been referred to a vote of the people at the regu- 

lar general election to be held throughout this state
on November 7, 1972. Because chapter 535, Oregon
Laws 1971, is subject to the approval or rejection of
the people, its provisions have not been compiled. 
However, for the user's convenience the provisions of

chapter 535, Oregon Laws 1971, are set forth as fol- 
lows: 

Sec. 1. ORS 323.030 is amended to read: 

323. 030. ( 1) Every distributor shall pay a tax
upon his distributions of cigarettes at the rate of four
and one -half mills for the distribution of each cigar- 

ette in this state. 

2) The taxes imposed by this chapter are in lieu
of all other state, county or municipal taxes on the
sale or use of cigarettes . 

3) Any cigarette with respect to which a tax has
once been imposed under this chapter shall not be
subject upon a subsequent distribution to the taxes
imposed by this chapter. 

Sec. 2. Sections 3, 4, 5 and 6 of this Act are added
to and made a part of ORS chapter 323. 

Sec. S. ( 1) For the privilege of holding or stor- 
ing cigarettes for sale, use, or consumption, a floor
tax is hereby imposed upon every dealer at the rate
of two and one -half mills ($0.0025) for each cigarette
in his possession or under his control at 12: 01 a.m., 
on the effective date of this 1971 Act [ September 9, 
1971]. 

2) The tax imposed by this section is due and
payable on or before 20 days from the effective date
of this 1971 Act. Any amount of tax imposed by this
section which is not paid within the time required
shall bear interest at the rate of one percent per
month, or fraction thereof, from a date which is 20
days after the effective date of this 1971 Act, until
paid. 

3) Every dealer, on or before 20 days from the
effective date of this 1971 Act, shall file a report with
the department in such form as the department may
prescribe. Dealer reports shall state the number of
cigarettes in the possession of or under the control of
the dealer in this state at 12: 01 a.m., on the effective
date of this 1971 Act, and the amount of tax due
thereon. Each report shall be accompanied by a re- 
mittance payable to the department for the amount of
tax due. 

Sec. 4. For the privilege of distributing cigar- 
ettes as a licensed distributor and for holding or stor- 
ing cigarettes for sale, use or consumption a floor tax
and cigarette indicia adjustment tax is hereby im- 
posed upon every licensed distributor as follows: 

1) In the amount of five cents for each Oregon
cigarette tax stamp or meter impression bearing the
designation 1120" and in the amount of two and one- 
half cents for each Oregon cigarette tax stamp bear- 
ing the designation " 10," which is affixed to any
package of cigarettes in the possession of the licensed
distributor or under his control at 12: 01 a.m., on the
effective date of this 1971 Act [ September 9, 1971]. 

2) In the amount of five cents for each unaf- 

fixed Oregon cigarette tax stamp bearing the desig- 
nation " 20" and two and one -half cents for each

unaffixed Oregon cigarette tax stamp bearing the
designation " 10" and 50 cents for each unused meter
register unit, in the possession of the licensed distrib- 
utor or under his control at 12: 01 a.m. on the effec- 
tive date of this 1971 Act. 

Sec. 5. Every licensed distributor shall take an
inventory as of 12: 01 a.m. on the effective date of
this 1971 Act [ September 9, 1971], of all packages of

323.010

cigarettes to which are affixed Oregon cigarette tax
stamps or meter impressions and all unaffixed Ore- 
gon cigarette tax stamps and unused meter register

units in his possession or under his control. Every li- 
censed distributor shall file a report with the Depart- 
ment of Revenue on or before 20 days after the effec- 
tive date of this 1971 Act in such form as the depart- 

ment may prescribe, showing: 

1) The number of Oregon cigarette tax stamps
and meter impressions, with the designations thereof, 
which were affixed to packages of cigarettes in his
possession or under his control at 12: 01 a.m. on the

effective date of this 1971 Act. 

2) The number of unaffixed Oregon cigarette
tax stamps, with the designations thereof, and un- 
used meter register units which were in his posses- 
sion or under his control at 12: 01 a.m. on the effec- 
tive date of this 1971 Act. The amount of tax required

to be paid with respect to the stamp, meter impres- 
sions and meter register units shall be computed and

remitted with the distributor' s report. Any amount
of tax not paid within the time specified for the filing
of the report shall bear interest at the rate of one per- 
cent per month, or fraction thereof, from the due date
of the report, until paid. 

Sec. 6. The provisions of sections 3, 4 and 5 of

this 1971 Act shall not apply to cigarettes owned and
in the possession or control of a licensed distributor

or to cigarettes stored in a bonded warehouse and
which are nontax paid under the provisions of

chapter 52 of the Internal Revenue Act of 1954, as
amended. 

Sec. 7. ORS 323. 455 is amended to read: 

323.455. ( 1) All moneys received by the depart- 
ment under this chapter shall be paid over to the
State Treasurer to be held in a suspense account es- 
tablished under ORS 293.445. After the payment of
refunds, seven - ninths shall be credited to the General
Fund. One -ninth is appropriated to the cities of this
state and one -ninth is appropriated to the counties of
this state. 

2) The moneys so appropriated to cities and
counties shall be paid quarterly, during April, July, 
October and January, for the preceding three months
respectively. Each city shall receive such share of the
money appropriated to all cities as its population, as
determined under ORS 190. 510 to 190.590 last preced- 
ing such apportionment, bears to the total population
of the cities of the state, and each county shall re- 
ceive such share of the money as its population, de- 
termined under ORS 190.510 to 190.590 last preceding
such apportionment, bears to the total population of
the state. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS

323.005 Short title; construction. ( 1) 

This chapter may be cited as the Cigarette
Tax Act. 

2) Except where the context otherwise
requires, the definitions given in this chapter
govern its construction. 

1965 c. 525 § §1, 2] 

323.010 Definitions generally. ( 1) 

Cigarette" means any roll for smoking, 
made wholly or in part of tobacco, irre- 
spective of size or shape and irrespective of

whether the tobacco is flavored, adulterated

or mixed with any other ingredient, where
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323.015 REVENUE AND TAXATION

such roll has a wrapper or cover made of

paper or any other material, except where
such wrapper is wholly or in the greater part
made of tobacco and 1, 000 such rolls weigh

over three pounds. 

2) " Department" means the Department
of Revenue. 

3) " Dealer" includes every person, 
other than a manufacturer or a person hold- 

ing a distributor's license, who engages in
this state in the sale of cigarettes. 

4) " In this state" means within the ex- 

terior limits. of the State of Oregon and in- 

cludes all territory within these limits owned
by or ceded to the United States of America. 

5) " Manufacturer" means any person
who makes, manufactures or fabricates ciga- 
rettes for sale to distributors. 

6) " Package" means the individual
package, box or other container in which re- 

tail sales or gifts of cigarettes are normally
made or intended to be made. 

7) " Person" includes any individual, 
firm, copartnership, joint venture, associa- 
tion, social club, fraternal organization, cor- 
poration, estate, trust, receiver, trustee, syn- 

dicate, this state, any county, municipality, 
district or other political subdivision of the

state, or any other group or combination act- 
ing as a unit. 

8) " Sale" includes any transfer of title
or possession for a consideration, exchange

or barter, in any manner or by any means
whatsoever, but does not include the sale of

cigarettes by a manufacturer to a distribu- 
tor. 

keeping or retention thereof for the purpose
of sale. 

12) " Wholesaler" means any dealer who
engages in the sale of cigarettes to any other
dealer for purposes other than use or con- 

sumption. 

1965 c.525 § §3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17; sub- 
section ( 12) enacted as 1967 c.193 § 2] 

323.015 " Distribution," " distributor" 

and " distributor engaged in business in this
state" defined. ( 1) " Distribution" includes: 

a) The sale in this state of untaxed
cigarettes. 

b) The use or consumption in this state
of untaxed cigarettes. 

c) The receipt or retention in this state
of untaxed cigarettes at a place of business

where cigarettes are customarily sold or of- 
fered for sale to consumers. 

d) The placing of cigarettes in vending
machines in this state. 

e) The use or consumption by the first
person in possession in this state of untaxed
cigarettes transported to the state in quanti- 
ties of more than 200 in a single shipment. 

f) Donations of sample cigarettes or

gift cartons by the manufacturers thereof, 
except sample packages containing not more
than five cigarettes and labeled as " sample," 
not for sale" or with similar wording. 

2) " Distributor" includes: 

a) Every person who after July 1, 1966, 
and within the meaning of the term " distri- 

bution" as defined in this section, distributes
cigarettes. 

9) " Transporter" means any person im- 
porting or transporting into this state, or
transporting in this state, cigarettes obtain- 
ed from a source located outside this state, 

or from any person not licensed as a distrib- 
utor under this chapter. It does not include
a licensed distributor, a common carrier to

whom is issued a certificate or permit by the
United States Interstate Commerce Commis- 

sion to carry commodities in interstate com- 
merce, or to a carrier of federal tax -free

cigarettes in bond, or any person transport- 
ing no more than 200 cigarettes at any one
time. 

10) " Untaxed cigarette" means any
cigarette which has not yet been distributed

in such manner as to result in a tax liability
under this chapter. 

11) " Use or consumption" includes the

exercise of any right or power over ciga- 
rettes incident to the ownership thereof, 
other than the sale of the cigarettes or the

1

b) Every person who sells or accepts
orders for cigarettes which are to be trans- 
ported from a point outside this state to a

consumer within this state. 

c) Notwithstanding the provisions of
subsection ( 3) of ORS 323.010, any dealer
who serves as his own distributor or who buys

directly from a manufacturer for resale in
this state shall be deemed to be both a dis- 
tributor and a dealer under this chapter. 

3) " Distributor engaged in business in

this state" includes any of the following: 
a) Any distributor maintaining, occupy- 

ing or using, permanently or temporarily, di- 
rectly or indirectly, or through a subsidiary
or agent, by whatever name called, an office, 
place of distribution, sales or sample room

or place, warehouse or storage place or any
other place of business. 

b) A distributor having a representa- 
tive, agent, salesman, canvasser or solicitor

operating in this state under the authority of
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CIGARETTE TAX § 323.065

the distributor or its subsidiary for the pur- 
pose of selling, delivering, or the taking of
orders for cigarettes. 

1965 e.525 § §6, 7, 8] 

I1IIPOSITION OF TAX

323.030 Tax imposed; rate; exclusive- 

ness; only one distribution taxed. ( 1) Every
distributor shall pay a tax upon his distribu- 
tions of cigarettes at the rate of two mills

for the distribution of each cigarette in this
state, after 8 a.m., Pacific Standard Time, 

on July 1, 1966. 
2) The taxes imposed by this chapter

are in lieu of all other state, county or mu- 
nicipal taxes on the sale or use of cigarettes. 

3) Any cigarette with respect to which
a tax has once been imposed under this chap- 
ter shall not be subject upon a subsequent

distribution to the taxes imposed by this
chapter. 

1965 c.525 § §18, 30] 

Note: See chapter note. 

323.035 Distributions by manufacturers
to licensed distributors exempted. The taxes

imposed by this chapter shall not apply to
distributions of cigarettes by the manufac- 
turer to a licensed distributor. 

1965 c.525 X19] 

323.040 Sales to common carriers in in- 

terstate or foreign passenger service ex- 

empted; tax on carriers. The taxes imposed

by this chapter shall not apply to the sale of
cigarettes by a distributor to a common car- 
rier engaged in interstate or foreign passen- 
ger service or to a person authorized to sell

cigarettes on the facilities of such carrier. 

Whenever cigarettes are sold by distributors
to common carriers engaged in interstate or
foreign passenger service for use or sale on
facilities of the carriers, or to persons author- 
ized to sell cigarettes on those facilities, the

tax imposed by this section shall not be lev- 
ied with respect to -sales of the cigarettes by
the distributors, but a tax is hereby levied
upon the carriers or upon the persons author- 

ized to sell cigarettes on the facilities of the

carriers, as the case may be, for the privilege
of making such sales in Oregon at the rate
of two mills for each cigarette sold. Such

common carriers and authorized persons

shall pay the tax imposed by this section and
file reports with the department as provided

in ORS 323.355. 
1965 c.525 § 20] 

323.045 Gifts of sample packets ex- 

empted. The taxes imposed by this chapter
shall not apply to donations of cigarettes as
samples in packets of five or less cigarettes. 

1965 c.525 § 23] 

323.050 Storage in bonded warehouses
exempted. The taxes imposed by this chap- 
ter shall not apply to cigarettes stored in a
bonded warehouse and which are nontax paid
under the provisions of chapter 52 of the
Internal Revenue Act of 1954, as amended. 

1965 c.525 § 22] 

323.055 Sales to federal installations
and veterans' institutions exempted. The

taxes imposed by this chapter shall not apply
to: 

1) The sale of cigarettes to United

States Army, Air Force, Navy, Marine Corps, 
or Coast Guard exchanges and commissaries

and Navy or Coast Guard ships' stores, the
United States Veterans Administration, 
ships' stores maintained under federal bond, 

or to any person which by virtue of the con- 
stitution or statutes of the United States

cannot be made the subject of taxation by
this state. 

2) The sale or gift of federally tax -free
cigarettes when the cigarettes are delivered

directly from the manufacturer under In- 
ternal Revenue bond to a veterans' home or

a hospital or domiciliary facility of the United
States Veterans Administration for gratui- 

tous issue to veterans receiving hospitaliza- 
tion or domiciliary care. The tax shall not

be imposed with respect to the use or con- 

sumption of such cigarettes by the institu- 
tion or by the veteran patients or domiciliar- 
ies. 

1965 c.525 § 21, 24] 

323.060 Consumer exemption; payment
of tax in certain cases. The taxes imposed

by this chapter shall not apply to the use
or consumption of untaxed cigarettes trans- 

ported to this state in a single lot or ship- 
ment of not more than 200 cigarettes, or of

not more than 200 untaxed cigarettes ob- 

tained at one time from any of the instru- 
mentalities listed in subsection ( 1) of ORS

323.055. The taxes resulting from a distribu- 
tion of cigarettes within the meaning of par- 
agraph ( b) of subsection ( 1) of ORS 323.015
shall be paid by the user or consumer. 

1965 c.525 § 25] 

323.065 Claim for exemption. Any claim
for exemption from tax under this chapter
shall be made to the department in such
manner as it shall prescribe. 

407
1965 c.525 § 29] 



323.075 REVENUE AND TAXATION

323.070 [ 1965 c. 525 § 26; repealed by 1971 c. 416
31

323.075 Distributor to collect tax on

certain sales. Every distributor engaged in
business in this state and selling or accept- 
ing orders for cigarettes with respect to the
sale of which the tax imposed by subsection

1) of ORS 323.030 is inapplicable shall, at

the time of making the sale or accepting the
order or, if the purchaser is not then obli- 

gated to pay the tax with respect to his dis- 
tribution of the cigarettes, at the time the

purchaser becomes so obligated, collect the
tax from the purchaser, if the purchaser is

other than a licensed distributor, and shall

give to the purchaser a receipt therefor in

the manner and form prescribed by the de- 
partment. 

1965 c.525 § 271

323.080 Manufacturers' agreements for

prepayment. Manufacturers may enter into
agreements with the department for the pre- 

payment of the tax on nonexempt cigarettes

given away for advertising and any other
purpose. 

1965 e.525 § 32] 

323.085 Presumptions regarding distri- 
bution and precollection of tax. ( 1) Unless

the contrary is established, it shall be pre- 
sumed that all cigarettes acquired by a dis- 
tributor are untaxed cigarettes, and that

all cigarettes manufactured in this state or
transported to this state, and no longer in

the possession of the distributor, have been

distributed. 

2) All taxes paid pursuant to the provi
sions of this chapter shall be presumed to b

direct taxes on the retail consumer precol

lected for the purpose of convenience an

facility only. When the tax is paid by an
other person, such payment shall be consid- 

ered as an advance payment and shall b
added to the price of the cigarette and r

covered from the ultimate consumer or use

Except for a person selling cigarette
through a vending machine or machines, an
person selling cigarettes at retail shall stat

or separately display in the retail premises
notice of the amount of the tax included i

LICENSE AND BOND

323.105 Distributor's license. Every per- 
son desiring to engage in the sale of ciga- 
rettes as a distributor, except a person who

desires merely to sell or accept orders for
cigarettes which are to be transported from
a point outside this state to a consumer with- 

in this state, shall file with the department

an application, in such form as the depart- 

ment may prescribe, for a distributor's li- 
cense. A distributor shall apply for and ob- 
tain a license for each place of business at
which he engages in the business of distrib- 

uting cigarettes. No fee shall be charged for
such license. For the purposes of this section, 

a vending machine in and of itself, shall not
be deemed a place of business. 

1965 c.525 § 34] 

323.107 Wholesaler' s license. ( 1) Every
person desiring to engage in the sale of cig- 
arettes as a wholesaler shall file with the

department an application, in such form as

the department may prescribe, for a whole- 
saler's license. No person shall engage in
business as a wholesaler without a license. 

A wholesaler' s license may be revoked or re- 
instated by the department as in the case of
a distributor' s license pursuant to ORS
323.140. 

2) A wholesaler is subject to all the re- 
quirements of this 1967 Act imposed upon

distributors relating to making, preserving
and supplying records necessary to effective
administration by the department. 

1967 c.193 § 3] 

Note: The Legislative Counsel has not, pursuant
to ORS 173.160, substituted ORS references for the
words " This 1967 Act" in ORS 323. 107. 1967 c.193
also enacted subsection ( 12) of ORS 323.010. 

d 323.110 Security required for licensing; 
conditions of bond. The department, to in- 

y sure compliance with this chapter, shall re- 

quire a licensee or an applicant for a license
e as distributor to deposit with it such se- 

curity as the department may determine. The
r

amount of the security shall be fixed by the
s department but shall not be greater than

Y two times the estimated average monthly li- 
e ability shown in the monthly reports, deter - 
a mined in such manner as the department

n
deems proper. The amount of the security

the selling price and charged or payable pur- may be increased or decreased by the depart- 
ment subject to the limitations herein pro - 

suant to this chapter. The provisions of this vided. Except as provided in ORS 323.120, 
subsection shall in no way affect the method the security shall be in the form of a bond
of collection of such tax as provided by this or bonds executed by the distributor as prin- 
chapter. cipal and by a corporation, authorized to en- 

1965 c.525 § §28, 31] gage in business as a surety company in
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CIGARETTE TAX

Oregon under ORS chapter 747, as surety, 
payable to the State of Oregon through its
Department of Revenue, conditioned upon
the payment of all taxes, penalties and other

obligations of the distributor arising under
this chapter. 

1965 c.525 § 35] 

323.115 Provision for withdrawal of

surety. Every bond shall contain a provision
substantially to the effect that when the
surety exercises its right to withdraw as
surety, the withdrawal shall be effective on
the first day of the calendar month after re- 
ceipt of the notice by the department if the
notice is received on or before the 15th day
of the month, otherwise the withdrawal shall

be effective on the first day of the second
calendar month after receipt of the notice by
the department. 

1965 c. 525 § 36] 

323.120 Deposit of money or securities
in lieu of bond. In lieu of a bond or bonds a
distributor, under such conditions as the

department may prescribe, may deposit with
the State Treasurer an amount of lawful

money equivalent to the amount of the bond
or bonds otherwise required, or he may de- 
posit readily saleable bonds or other obliga- 
tions of the United States, the State of Ore- 

gon, or any county of this state of an actual
market value of not less than the amount of

the bond or bonds otherwise required by this
chapter. The State Treasurer shall immedi- 

ately notify the department as to the time of
receipt and the amount of money or value of
bonds received by him. 

1965 c.525 § 37] 

323.125 Liquidation of security to pay
delinquency. Upon receipt of a certificate of
the department setting forth the amount of
a distributor' s delinquencies, the State Treas- 

urer shall pay to the department the amount

so certified from the money deposited with
him by the distributor or from the amounts
received from the sale of bonds or other obli- 

gations deposited with the State Treasurer

by the distributor. Securities deposited with

the State Treasurer which have a prevailing
market price may be sold by him for the pur- 
poses of this section at private sale at a price

not lower than the prevailing market price
thereof. 

1965 c.525 § 38] 

323.140

323.130 Issuance and display of license. 
Upon receipt of a completed application and

such bonds or other security as may be re- 
quired by the department under this chap- 
ter, the department shall issue to the appli- 

cant a license as a distributor. A separate
license shall be issued for each place of busi- 

ness of the distributor within the state. A

license is valid only for engaging in business
as a distributor at the place designated there- 

on, and it shall at all times be conspicuously
displayed at the place for which issued. The
license is not transferable and is valid until
canceled, suspended or revoked. 

1965 c. 525 § 39] 

323.135 Suspension of license; reinstate- 

ment; hearing. The license of any distributor
shall be automatically suspended upon the
cancellation of his bond, or if the bond be- 

comes void or unenforceable for any reason, 
or if the distributor fails to pay any taxes or
penalties due under this chapter. The license

shall be automatically reinstated if the dis- 
tributor files a valid bond, or pays his delin- 

quent taxes, as the case may be. Upon the

petition of any distributor whose license has
been suspended under this section, a hearing
shall be afforded him before the department, 
pursuant to ORS 183.310 to 183.500, after five

days' notice of the time and place of hearing. 
1965 c. 525 § 40; 1971 c. 734 § 36] 

323. 140 Revocation of license; notice; 

hearing; reinstatement. ( 1) Whenever any
distributor fails to comply with any provision
of this chapter or any rule or regulation of
the department prescribed and adopted under

this chapter, the department may revoke or
suspend the license held by him. The depart- 
ment shall not issue a new license to a dis- 

tributor whose license has been revoked un- 

less it is satisfied that he will comply with the
provisions of this chapter and the rules and

regulations of the department. 

2) Where the department proposes to
refuse to issue or renew a license, or proposes

to revoke a license, opportunity for hearing
shall be accorded as provided in ORS 183.310
to 183.500. 

3) Judicial review of orders under sub- 
section ( 1) of this section or under ORS

323.135 shall be as provided in ORS 183. 310
to 183.500. 

1965 c.525 § 41; 1971 c. 734 8371
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STAMPS AND METER MACIIINES

323.155 Tax payment by use of stamps
or meter impressions. Except for the use or

consumption of cigarettes by other than a li- 
censed distributor, and as may be authorized
under the provisions of ORS 323.170, the tax

imposed by this chapter with respect to dis- 
tributions of cigarettes shall be paid by dis- 
tributors through the use of stamps or me- 

ter impressions. The department shall fur- 
nish stamps for sale and provide for the sale

of meter register settings for metering ma- 
chines approved by the department. 

1965 e.525 § 42] 

323.160 Design; manner of affixing and
canceling. ( 1) Stamps and meter impres- 
sions shall be of such designs, specifications

and denominations as may be prescribed by
the department. The department shall pre- 

scribe by regulation the method and manner
in which stamps or meter impressions are to

be affixed to packages of cigarettes and may
provide for the cancellation of stamps or
meter impressions. 

2) An appropriate stamp shall be af- 
fixed to, or an appropriate meter impression
shall be made on, each package of cigarettes
prior to the distribution of the cigarettes. 

1965 c.525 § §43, 44] 

323.165 Use of metering machines; sale
of stamps and meter settings. ( 1) A meter- 

ing machine may be used and a meter may
be stored, transferred, transported, repaired, 

opened, set or used only in accordance with
rules and regulations prescribed by the de- 
partment. Meters, meter register settings, or

unaffixed stamps shall not be sold, ex- 

changed or in any manner transferred by a
distributor to another person without prior

written approval of the department. 
2) With the approval of the Executive

Department, the Department of Revenue may
enter into contracts with financial institu- 

tions, conveniently located with reference to
distributors, constituting such financial in- 
stitutions the department's agents for the

sale of stamps and setting of meters, and mat- 

ters appertaining thereto. 
1965 c.525 § 45] 

323.170 Payment for stamps and meter

settings; discount; study by department. 
1) Stamps and meter register settings shall

be sold to a licensed distributor at their de- 
nominated values less a sum allowed as com- 
pensation to a distributor for his services

in affixing stamps or meter impressions to
1

packages as required by this chapter. Pay- 
ment for stamps or meter register settings

shall be made at the time of purchase, pro- 

vided that a licensed distributor, subject to

the conditions and provisions of this chap- 
ter, may be permitted to defer payments
therefor. 

2) The compensation to distributors

shall be at the rate of $.00167 per package of

20 cigarettes for each package to which the

distributor affixes an Oregon stamp or meter
impression. 

3) The department shall make a study
to determine the reasonable costs of distrib- 
utors in affixing stamps and meter impres- 
sions required by this chapter, setting up
classes of distributors by volume of ciga- 
rettes distributed if this appears useful, and
shall make a written report of its findings

and recommendations to the Fifty -fifth Leg- 
islative Assembly. 

1965 c.525 § 47] 

323.175 Application for credit pur- 

chases of stamps and meter settings. A li- 

censed distributor may apply to the depart- 
ment to fix the maximum amount of de- 
ferred- payment purchases of stamps and
meter register settings which the distributor

may make in any calendar month. Upon re- 
ceipt of the application and the security de- 
posit required pursuant to ORS 323.110, the
department shall fix such amount. The de- 

partment at any time may designate the sales
locations where the distributor may make
deferred - payment purchases of stamps and

meter register settings and fix the amount

of such purchases which the distributor may
make within each monthly period at the des- 
ignated sales locations. 

1965 c.525 § 48] 

323.180 Authorization of agent; revoca- 

tion. A distributor shall authorize in writ- 

ing those persons who may order purchases
of stamps or meter register settings for the

account of the distributor at a location where
stamps or meter register settings are sold. 

The authorization shall continue in effect
until written notice of revocation of the au- 

thority is delivered at the sales location in
such manner as may be prescribed by the
department. 

1965 c.525 § 50] 

323.185 Date when payment for credit
purchases due; extension. ( 1) Amounts ow- 

ing for stamps and meter register settings
purchased on the deferred - payment basis for
a calendar month shall be due and payable
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on or before the 20th day of the next calen- 
dar month. Payments shall be made by a
remittance payable to the department. 

2) The department for good cause may
extend for not to exceed five days the time

for paying any amount owing for stamps or
meter register settings purchased on the

deferred - payment basis provided a request
for the extension is filed with the department
within or prior to the period for which the

extension may be granted. 
1965 c.525 § §49, 53] 

323.190 Suspension of credit. The de- 

partment may suspend without prior notice a
distributor's privilege to purchase stamps or

meter register settings on the deferred -pay- 
ment basis or may reduce the amount of per- 
missible monthly purchases fixed for the
distributor, if the distributor fails to pay
promptly for stamps or meter register set- 
tings when payment is due, if the bond or

bonds of the distributor are canceled, be- 
come void, impaired, or unenforceable for

any reason, or if in the opinion of the depart- 
ment, collection of any amounts unpaid or
due from the distributor under this chapter
are jeopardized. 

1965 c.525 § 51] 

323.195 Penalty for nonpayment of
credit purchase; interest. Any distributor
who fails to pay any amount owing to the
purchase of stamps or meter register set- 

tings within the time required, shall pay a
penalty of 10 percent of the amount due in
addition to the amount plus interest at the
rate of one -half of one percent per month, or
fraction thereof, from the date on which the
amount became due and payable until the
date of payment. 

1965 c.525 § 52] 

ADMINISTRATION

323.205 Manufacturers' reports. Every
manufacturer selling and shipping cigarettes
into this state to other than a distributor li- 
censed by this state shall deliver with each
sale or consignment of cigarettes a written

statement containing the name or trade name
of both the seller and the purchaser, the date
of delivery, the quantity of cigarettes, and
the trade name or brand thereof, and within
10 days shall deliver a duplicate of each such
statement to the department. Each cancella- 
tion or modification of the written statement

and any other information necessary to the
reconciliation of accounts shall be filed with

11

323.225

the department by the manufacturer at the
earliest possible date. 

1965 c. 525 § 54] 

323.210 [ 1965 c.525 § 55; repealed by 1971 c.260
1 ( 323. 211 enacted in lieu of 323. 210) ] 

323.211 Posting of certain information
on vending machines required; seizure for

failure to comply. Every distributor and deal- 
er or other person engaging in the sale of cig- 
arettes through the use of one or more vend- 

ing machines, must affix in a conspicuous
place on each machine, a card or decal bearing
the name, telephone number, address, and

place of business of the operator or owner who

regularly places cigarettes in the vending ma- 
chine. If a person fails to comply with this
section the department may seize the vending
machine and its contents. 
1971 c. 260 § 2 ( enacted in lieu of 323.210)] 

323.215 Records of vending machine op- 
erators. Every distributor and dealer or oth- 
er person engaging in the sale of cigarettes
through the use of one or more vending ma- 
chines shall keep a detailed record of each
vending machine operated for the sale of
cigarettes, showing the location of the ma- 
chine and the date of placing the machine on
location. 
1965 c.525 § 56] 

323.220 Records of distributors; preser- 

vation. Every distributor and every person
dealing in, transporting or storing cigarettes
in this state shall keep on the premises such
records, receipts, invoices, and other perti- 
nent papers with respect thereto in such

form as the department may require, and
each such paper shall be preserved for four

years from the time to which it relates. Dur- 

ing the four -year period and at any time
prior to destruction of records, the depart- 

ment may give written notice to a distributor
not to destroy records described in the no- 
tice without written permission from the

department. Notwithstanding other provi- 
sions of law, reports and returns filed with

the department shall be preserved by it for
four years and thereafter until the depart- 
ment orders them destroyed. 

1965 c.525 § 57] 

323.225 Transporters' permits and rec- 
ords. ( 1) Any transporter desiring to pos- 
sess or acquire cigarettes for transportation

or transport upon the highways, roads or
streets of this state shall obtain a permit

from the department authorizing such trans- 
porter to possess or acquire for transporta- 
tion or transport the cigarettes, and he shall
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have the permit in the transporting vehicle
during the period of transportation of the
cigarettes. The application for the permit
shall be in such form and shall contain such

information as may be prescribed by the
department. The department may issue a
permit for a single load or shipment or for

a number of loads or shipments to be trans- 
ported under specified conditions. 

2) Each transporter who shall trans- 

port or possess or acquire for the purpose of

transporting cigarettes upon the highways, 
roads or streets of this state is required to

have within the transporting vehicle invoices
or bills of lading covering the shipment of
cigarettes being transported which shall
show the name and address of the consignor

or seller, the name and address of the con- 

signee or purchaser and the quantity and
brands of cigarettes transported. 

1965 c.525 § 58] 

323.230 Examination of records by de- 
partment; supplemental reports. The depart- 
ment or its authorized representative, upon

oral or written demand, may make such
examinations of the books, papers, records

and equipment of persons dealing in, trans- 
porting, or storing cigarettes and such other
investigations as it may deem necessary in
carrying out the provisions of this chapter. 
In addition to any other reports required un- 
der this chapter, the department may, by
rule or otherwise, require additional, other, 

or supplemental reports from distributors, 
dealers, transporters, common and private
carriers, warehousemen, bailees and other

persons and prescribe the form, including
verification, of the information to be given

and the times for filing of such additional, 
other or supplemental reports. 

1965 c. 525 § 591

any subpena or order of the department or
produce or permit the examination or inspec- 

tion of any books, papers, records and equip- 
ment pertinent to any investigation or in- 
quiry under this chapter, or to testify to any
matter regarding which he may be lawfully
interrogated, the department may apply to
the Oregon Tax Court or to the circuit court

of the county in which the person resides or
where he may be found for an order to the
person to attend and testify, or otherwise to
comply with the demand or request of the
department. The application to the court

shall be by ex parte motion upon which the
court shall make an order requiring the per- 
son against whom it is directed to comply
with the request on demand of the depart- 

ment within 10 days after the service of the

order, or such further time as the court may
grant, or to justify the failure within that
time. The order shall be served upon the per- 
son to whom it is directed in the manner re- 

quired by this state for service of process, 
which service shall be required to confer ju- 
risdiction upon the court. Failure to obey
any order issued by the court under this sec- 
tion is contempt of court. The remedy pro- 
vided by this section shall be in addition to
other remedies, civil or criminal, existing un- 
der the tax laws or other laws of this state. 

1965 c.525 § 60] 

323.240 Search warrants; seizure of cig- 
arettes unlawfully held. Whenever the de- 
partment has good reason to believe that

any cigarettes are being kept, sold, offered
for sale or given away in violation of the
provisions of this chapter or regulations is- 

sued under its authority, it may make affi- 
davit of such fact, describing the place or
thing to be searched, before any judge of
any court in this state, and such judge shall

323.235 Subpenas; enforcement. ( 1) 

The department shall have authority, by or- 
der or subpena to be served with the same
force and effect and in the same manner that

a subpena is served in a civil action in the
circuit court, or the Oregon Tax Court, to re- 

quire the production at any time and place
it may designate of any books, papers, ac- 
counts or other information necessary to the
carrying out of this chapter, and may require
the attendance of any person having knowl- 
edge in the premises, and may take testi- 
mony and require proof material for the in- 
formation, with power to administer oaths
to such person. 

2) If any person fails to comply with
1

issue a search warrant directed to the sher- 

iff, any constable, police officer, or duly au- 
thorized agent of the department, command- 

ing him to enter and diligently search any
building, room in a building, place or vehicle
as may be designated in the affidavit and
search warrant, and to seize such cigarettes

together with any vending machine or re- 
ceptacle containing them and any vehicle
carrying them, and to arrest the person in
possession or control thereof. If, upon the

return of such warrant, it shall appear that

tax payable upon the cigarettes seized has

not been paid, the cigarettes, containers and

vehicle, if any, shall be forfeited to the state
and sold pursuant to ORS 323.245. 

1965 c.525 § 61] 
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323.245 Forfeiture and sale of seized
cigarettes and other objects; redemption. 

1) Whenever the department discovers any
cigarettes subject to tax under this chapter
and with respect to which the tax has not

been paid, it is hereby authorized and em- 
powered forthwith to seize and take posses- 
sion of such cigarettes together with any
vending machine or receptacle in which they
are held for sale and any vehicle in which
they are being transported. Such seized cig- 
arettes, vending machine or receptacle, and
vehicle, not including money contained in
such vending machine or receptacle, shall be

forfeited to the state. The department may, 
within a reasonable time thereafter, by pub- 
lic notice at least 20 days before the date of
sale, sell such forfeited cigarettes, vending
machines or receptacles, and vehicle, at pub- 
lic sale. 

2) Notwithstanding the provisions of
subsection ( 1) of this section, the person

from whom cigarettes were seized may re- 
deem the cigarettes and any vending ma- 
chine or receptacle and vehicle seized there- 
with, within 20 days from the date of sei- 
zure, by the payment of the tax due together
with a penalty of 100 percent thereof and
the costs incurred in such proceeding, which
total payment shall not be less than $ 100; 
however, such seizure, sale or redemption
shall not relieve any such person from fine
or imprisonment as provided for violation of
any provision of this chapter. 

3) Notwithstanding the provisions of
subsection ( 1) of this section, the owner of

such seized cigarettes, vending machine, re- 
ceptacle or vehicle shall have the right of re- 
demption provided in subsection ( 2) of this
section for a period of 60 days from the date
of such seizure if he claims such right prior
to the redemption provided for in subsection

2) of this section. 
4) Notwithstanding the provisions of

subsections ( 1), ( 2) and ( 3) of this section, 
the owner of a vending machine which is
seized for failure to comply with ORS 323.211
may redeem the seized vending machine and
its contents within a period of 60 days from
the date of such seizure by the payment of

25 plus costs of $15 or the actual costs in- 
curred in such seizure proceedings, whichever
is greater. 

1965 x525 §62; 1971 c.260 § 31

323.310

transmit information obtained under this
chapter to the proper officers of governmen- 
tal units outside Oregon which tax tobacco
products and which reciprocate in the ex- 
change of relevant information. 

1965 c.525 § 631

323.255 Rewards for information. The

department may pay rewards to persons, 
other than officers or employes of the de- 
partment, furnishing information that leads
to the recovery of tax from other persons
guilty of violating the provisions of this
chapter. Such rewards shall not exceed 10
percent of the net amount of tax, penalty
and interest recovered by suit or otherwise
and shall be paid only in cases where such
evasions of tax would not be disclosed by the
audit of reports or from other information
available to the department. 

1965 c.525 § 641

COLLECTIONS AND REFUNDS
323.305 Determination of amounts un- 

paid. If a distributor fails to make payment
for stamps or meter register settings when
payment is due, the department may compute
and determine from any available records and
information the amount required to be paid, 
including interest and penalties. One or more
determinations may be made of the amount
due for one or for more than one purchase. In
making a determination the department may
offset overpayments with respect to pur- 
chases of stamps or meter register settings
against underpayments for purchases and in- 
terest and penalties on the underpayments. 
The department shall give the distributor
written notice of its determination in the
manner provided by subsection ( 6) of ORS

323.380. Except in the case of fraud, every
notice of a determination made under this
chapter shall be given within three years of
the due date for payment of the purchase of
stamps or a meter register setting. 

1965 c.525 § 65) 

323.310 Petition for redetermination; 
deposit of security. The distributor against
whom a determination is made under ORS
323.305 may petition for the redetermination
thereof pursuant to ORS 323.405. He shall, 
however, file the petition for redetermination
within the time prescribed by ORS 323.315
and shall at the time of filing the petition de- 

323.250 Exchanges of information with posit with the department such security as
other governmental units. To promote ad- it may deem necessary to insure compliance
ministrative efficiency, the department may with this chapter. The security may be sold
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in the same manner as prescribed by subsec- 
tion ( 3) of ORS 323.385. 

1965 c.525 § 67] 

323.315 Finality of determination; in- 

terest on amount due. If the amount speci- 
fied in the determination made under this
chapter is not paid within 10 days after ser- 
vice of the notice upon the distributor, the
determination becomes final unless a petition
for redetermination is filed with the depart- 
ment within the 10 -day period. The de- 

termination is due and payable when it be- 
comes final and the amounts determined, 
exclusive of interest and penalties, shall bear
interest at the rate prescribed by ORS
323.195. 

1965 c.525 § 661

323.320 Refunds for unused stamps or

meter settings and for unsaleable or de- 
stroyed cigarettes. The department shall, 

pursuant to regulations prescribed by it, re- 
fund or credit to a distributor the denomi- 
nated values, less the discount given on their
purchase, of : 

1) Any unused or damaged stamps or
meter register settings. 

2) Stamps or meter impressions affixed

to packages of cigarettes which have prior
to distribution become unfit for use, unsale- 
able or have been destroyed, or which after
distribution have become unfit for use or un- 
saleable and have been returned for credit
or have been replaced, and the department
has proof of the cigarettes not being used
for smoking in the State of Oregon. 

1965 c. 525 § §68, 691

323.325 Limitation period on claim for

refund. No refund or credit for amounts
overpaid for the purchase of stamps or

meter register settings shall be allowed or
approved after three years from the due
date for payment of the purchase for which
the overpayment was made, or with respect

to a determination made pursuant to this
chapter, after six months from the date the
determination becomes final, or after six

months from the date of overpayment, 
whichever period expires the later, unless a
claim therefor is filed with the department
within such period. 

1965 c.525 § 70] 

the due date for payment of the purchase
for which the overpayment was made, until
paid, but no refund or credit shall be made
of any interest imposed upon the claimant
with respect to the amount being refunded
or credited. 

1965 c.525 § 71] 

323.335 Date when payment of tax is
due. When the tax imposed under this chap- 
ter is not paid through the use of stamps or
meter impressions, the tax shall be due and
payable monthly on or before the 20th day
of the month following the calendar month
in which a distribution of cigarettes occurs, 
or in the case of a sale of cigarettes on the
facilities of a common carrier for which the
tax is imposed pursuant to ORS 323.040, the
tax shall be due and payable monthly on or
before the 20th day of the month following
the calendar month in which a sale of ciga- 
rettes on the facilities of the carrier occurs. 

1965 x525 § 721

323.340 Report by distributors of distri- 
butions. ( 1) On or before the 20th day of each
month, every distributor shall file on forms
prescribed by the department a report con- 
taining such information as the department
may require to carry out the purposes of this
chapter. 

2) When any distributor regularly main- 
tains and closes his books and records pur- 

suant to a method utilizing periods ending
each four calendar weeks, the department by
regulation may require different reporting
and payment date for such distributor, con- 

forming as nearly as practicable with the re- 
porting and payment dates of other distrib- 
utors. 

3) A distributor holding more than one
distributor' s license and having centralized
accounting may file one composite report
combining the information required of each
license location under subsection ( 1) of this

section. 

1965 c. 525 § 73; 1971 c. 416 § 1] 

323.345 [ 1965 c.525 § 74; repealed by 1971 c.416
3] 

323.350 Quarterly remittance of tax due. 
The distributor shall submit quarterly a re- 
mittance payable to the department for the
amount of tax due and unpaid. 
1965 c. 525 § 75; 1971 c. 416 § 21

323 330 Interest on certain refunds. In- 

terest shall be computed, allowed and paid 323.355 Report of sales on common car - 

upon any overpayment for the purchase of riers in interstate or foreign passenger ser- 

stamps or meter register settings at the rate vice. On or before the 20th day of each

of one -half of one percent per month from month the common carriers and authorized
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persons specified in ORS 323.040 shall file
with the department a report of the sales of
cigarettes made by them on the facilities of
the carriers in Oregon in the preceding cal- 
endar month in such detail and form as the
department may prescribe, submitting with
the report the amount of the tax due under
ORS 323.040. 

1965 c.525 § 77] 

323.360 Report by consumers. Every
consumer or user subject to the tax result- 
ing from a distribution of cigarettes within
the meaning of paragraph ( b) of subsection

1) of ORS 323.015 from whom the tax has
not been collected under ORS 323.075 shall
on or before the 20th day of the month fol- 
lowing receipt of cigarettes file with the
department a report of the amount of ciga- 
rettes received by him in the preceding cal- 
endar month in such detail and form as the
department may prescribe, submitting with
the report the amount of tax due. 

1965 c.525 § 78] 

323.365 Extension of time for reports
and payment of tax; interest. ( 1) The de- 

partment for good cause may extend for not
to exceed 30 days the time for making any
report or paying any amount of tax required
under this chapter. The extension may be
granted at any time provided a request there- 
for is filed with the department within or
prior to the period for which the extension
may be granted. 

2) Any person to whom an extension is
granted shall pay, in addition to the amount
of tax, interest at the rate of one -half of one
percent per month, or fraction thereof, from
the date on which the amount of tax would
have been due without the extension to the
date of payment. 

1965 c.525 § 76] 

323.380 Deficiency determinations. ( 1) 

If the department is dissatisfied with the re- 
port filed by any person, or if any person
fails to file a report, it may compute and de- 
termine the amount to be paid upon the
basis of any information available to it. One
or more deficiency determinations may be
made of the amount of tax due for one or for
more than one month. 

2) The amount of the determination, ex- 
clusive of penalties, shall bear interest at the
rate of one -half of one percent per month, or
fraction thereof, from the 20th day after the
close of the month for which the amount o
the tax, or any portion thereof, should hav
been reported until the date of payment. 

323.385

3) In making a determination the de- 
partment may offset overpayments for a
month or months against underpayments for
another month or months and against the in- 
terest and penalties on the underpayments. 

4) If any part of the deficiency for
which a deficiency determination is made is
due to negligence or intentional disregard
for this chapter or the rules and regulations
adopted under this chapter, a penalty of 10
percent of the amount of the determination
shall be added thereto. 

5) If any part of the deficiency for
which a deficiency determination is made is
due to fraud or an intent to evade this chap- 
ter or the rules and regulations adopted un- 
der this chapter, a penalty of 25 percent of
the amount of the determination shall be
added thereto. 

6) The department shall give the per- 
son written notice of its determination. The
notice may be served personally or by certi- 
fied mail; if by mail, service shall be ad- 
dressed to the person at his address as it
appears in the records of the department, 
but the service shall be deemed complete at
the time of deposit of the notice in the mail
without extension of time on account of the
distance between the place of deposit and
the place of address. 

7) Except in the case of fraud, intent
to evade the tax, or failure to make a report, 
every notice of a deficiency determination
shall be given within three years after the
date when the amount should have been re- 
ported. 

1965 c.525 § 79] 

323.385 Jeopardy determinations. ( 1) 

If the department believes that the collection
of any amount of tax required to be paid by
any person under this chapter will be jeop- 
ardized by delay, it shall thereupon make a
determination of the amount of tax, noting
that fact upon the determination. The

amount determined is immediately due and
payable, with interest and penalty as pro- 
vided in ORS 323. 380. 

2) If the amount of the tax, interest, 
and penalty specified in the jeopardy de- 
termination is not paid within 20 days after
service upon the person of notice of the de- 
termination, the determination becomes final, 
unless a petition for redetermination is filed
within the 20 days. 

f ( 3) The person against whom a jeopardy
e determination is made may petition for the

redetermination thereof pursuant to ORS
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323. 405. He shall, however, file the petition
for redetermination with the department
within 20 days after the service upon him
of notice of the determination. The person

shall at the time of filing the petition for re- 
determination deposit with the department

such security as it may deem necessary to
insure compliance with this chapter. The se- 

curity may be sold by the department at
public sale if it becomes necessary in order
to recover any amount due. Notice of the

sale may be served upon the person who de- 
posited the security personally or by mail in
the same manner as prescribed for service of

notice by subsection ( 6) of ORS 323.380. 

Upon any such sale, the surplus, if any, 
above the amount due under this chapter
shall be returned to the person who depos- 
ited the security. 

1965 x525 X801

323.390 Collection of unsecured, unpaid

tax after deficiency or jeopardy determina- 
tion; collection charge; warrants. ( 1) If any

tax imposed by this chapter or any portion of
such tax is not paid within 30 days after no- 

tice of a deficiency determination is given un- 
der subsection ( 6) of ORS 323.380 or of a tax
determined under ORS 323.385, and no pro- 
vision is made to secure the payment thereof

by bond, deposit or otherwise, pursuant to
regulations promulgated by the department, 
the department shall: 

a) Assess a collection charge of $5 if the

sum of the tax, penalty and interest then due
exceeds $10. 

b) Issue a warrant under its hand and
official seal directed to the sheriff of any

county of the state commanding him to levy
upon and sell the real and personal property
of the taxpayer found within his county, for
the payment of the amount of the tax, with
the added penalties, interest, collection charge
and the sheriff' s cost of executing the war- 
rant, and to return such warrant to the de- 
partment and pay to it the money collected
by virtue thereof by a time to be therein speci- 
fied, not less than 60 days from the date of
the warrant. 

2) The sheriff shall, within five days
after the receipt of the warrant, file with the
clerk of his county a copy thereof, and there- 
upon the clerk shall enter in the judgment
docket in the column for judgment debtors, 
the name of the taxpayer mentioned in the
warrant, and in appropriate columns the
amount of the tax or portion thereof and pen- 

alties and interest for which the warrant is
issued and the date when such copy is filed. 
Thereupon the amount of the warrant so

docketed shall become a lien upon the title to
and interest in property of the taxpayer
against whom it is issued in the same manner
as a judgment duly docketed in the office of
such clerk. The sheriff thereupon shall pro- 
ceed upon the same in all respects, with like
effect and in the same manner prescribed by
law in respect to executions issued against
property upon judgment of a court of record, 
and shall be entitled to the same fees for his
services in executing the warrant, to be added
to and collected as a part of the warrant

liability. 

3) In the discretion of the department a
warrant of like terms, force and effect may
be issued and directed to any agent author- 
ized to collect income taxes, and in the

execution thereof the agent shall have all the

powers conferred by law upon sheriffs, but is
entitled to no fee or compensation in excess
of actual expenses paid in the performance of

such duty. 
4) If a warrant is returned not satisfied

in full, the department shall have the same
remedies to enforce the claim for taxes
against the taxpayer as if the people of the
state had recovered judgment against the
taxpayer for the amount of the tax. 
1971 c.417 X21

REDETERMINATIONS; APPEALS

323.405 Appeal to department for re- 
determination. ( 1) Any person aggrieved
because of any action or determination of
the department or its authorized agent may
appeal to the department for a redetermina- 

tion. The appeal shall be by way of written
petition, verified under oath as to the truth
of the facts asserted therein by the petition- 
er, stating: 

a) An assertion of protest; 

b) The basis of such protest; 

c) The particular matter to be presented
for determination; 

d) A concise recital of the facts affect- 

ing the controversial questions presented; 
e) A concise specification as to the par- 

ticular relief sought; 

f) A memorandum or statement of le- 

gal authorities relied upon by the petitioner
in support of his protest; and

g) Whether or not a hearing for the
1416
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presentation of oral argument or testimony
is required. 

2) An incomplete or insufficient peti- 

tion may be returned by the department to
the petitioner for additions or amendments. 

3) The department shall grant or may
require a hearing upon the appeal and, in
connection therewith, shall: 

a) Rule upon offers of proof and re- 
ceive relevant evidence; 

b) Take or cause depositions to be tak- 
en whenever the ends of justice would be

served thereby; 
c) Regulate the course of a hearing; 
d) Hold conferences for the settlement

or simplification of the issues; and

e) Dispose of procedural requests or
similar matters. 

4) The department shall mail to the pe- 
titioner by certified mail its decision and or- 
der, which shall contain a statement of find- 
ings of fact and conclusions of law and a de- 
termination of the amount of tax, if any, 
due, and shall refund to the petitioner the
amount paid in excess of the amount found
to be due; provided, that where there has
been an overpayment of any tax, penalty, in- 
terest or fee, the amount of such overpay- 
ment shall be credited against any other sum
then due from the petitioner to the State of
Oregon by reason of this chapter or other
Acts, and only the balance shall be refunded. 

1965 c.525 § 81] 

323.410 Appeal to Oregon Tax Court
from redetermination. An appeal from the
redetermination of the department under

ORS 323.405 may be taken by the petitioner
in the same manner as in income tax appeals
in the Oregon Tax Court as provided in ORS
314.460. 

1965 c.525 § 82] 

323.415 Appeal is exclusive remedy; not
a stay of collection proceedings. ( 1) The rem- 

edy provided in ORS 323.405 and 323.410 for
review of the decision of the department
shall be available to any person subject to
the provisions of this chapter and shall be
the exclusive remedy available to judicially
determine the liability of such person for the
taxes imposed by this chapter. 

323.455

delay, unless it be otherwise ordered by the
court. 

1965 c. 525 § §83, 84] 

323.420 Venue; departmental certificate
as evidence. ( 1) The failure to do any act
required by or under the provisions of this
chapter shall be deemed an act committed in
part at the office of the department in Salem, 
Oregon. 

2) The certificate of the department to
the effect that a tax has not been paid, that
a return has not been filed or that informa- 

tion has not been supplied, as required by or
under the provisions of this chapter, shall be
prima facie evidence that such tax has not
been paid, or that such return has not been
filed or that such information has not been
supplied. 

1965 c.525 § 85] 

ENFORCEMENT

323.435 Actions by Attorney General; 
limitation on actions. In addition to all other
remedies specified in this chapter, action

may be brought by the Attorney General, at
the instance of the department, in the name
of the state, to recover the amount of any
taxes, penalties and interest due under this
chapter, if the action for recovery is com- 
menced within three years from the time the
tax is due to be paid. 
1965 c.525 § 86] 

323.440 Department to enforce chapter; 
rules and regulations; personnel. ( 1) The de- 
partment shall enforce the provisions of this
chapter and may prescribe, adopt and enforce
rules and regulations relating to the adminis- 
tration and enforcement of this chapter. 

2) The department may employ account- 
ants, auditors, investigators, assistants, and
clerks necessary for the efficient administra- 
tion of this chapter and may designate rep- 
resentatives to conduct hearings, or perform
any other duties imposed by this chapter
upon the department. 

1965 c.525 §§ 87, 88] 

DISPOSITION OF REVENUE

323.455 Disposition of revenue. ( 1) All

moneys received by the department under
this cha to - 1 — 11 b ' d

2) An appeal to the department or to
the Oregon Tax Court under this chapter

shall not stay proceedings to collect any un- 
paid tax if the department believes the col- 

lection of the tax will be jeopardized by
11

p r a e pai over to the State

Treasurer to be held in a suspense account es- 
tablished under ORS 293.445. After the pay- 
ment of refunds, 50 percent of the balance in
this suspense account as of the end of each
month shall be credited to the General Fund
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to be available for general governmental pur- 

poses. Twenty -five percent is appropriated to
the cities of this state and 25 percent is appro- 
priated to the counties of this state. 

2) The moneys so appropriated to cities

and counties shall be paid quarterly, during
April, July, October and January, for the pre- 
ceding three months respectively. Each city
shall receive such share of the money appro- 
priated to all cities as its population, as deter- 
mined under ORS 190.510 to 190.590 last pre- 

ceding such apportionment, bears to the

total population of the cities of the state, 

and each county shall receive such share of

the money as its population, determined un- 
der ORS 190.510 to 190.590 last preceding
such apportionment, bears to the total popu- 
lation of the state. 
1965 c. 525 § 93; 1969 c.299 § 1; 1971 c.544 § 61

Note: See chapter note. 

3] 
323.460 [ 1965 c. 525 § 106; repealed by 1969 c. 229

PENALTIES

323.990 Penalties for certain violations
of chapter. ( 1) Any person required to ob- 
tain a license as a distributor under this

chapter who engages in business as a distrib- 
utor without a license or after a license has
been canceled, suspended, or revoked, and

each officer of any corporation which so en- 
gages in business, is guilty of a misdemeanor, 
and upon conviction thereof, shall be fined
not more than $1,000, or shall be imprisoned
for not more than one year, or both, for each
offense. 

2) Any person who fails or refuses to
file any report required to be made by this
chapter, or who fails or refuses to furnish a
supplemental report or other data required

by the department under this chapter, or who
renders a false report is guilty of a misde- 
meanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall

be fined not more than $500 for each offense. 

3) Any person required to make, ren- 
der, sign or verify any report under this
chapter, who makes any false report with
intent to defeat or evade the determination

required by law to be made is guilty of a
misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, 

shall be fined not more than $ 5, 000, or be

imprisoned for not exceeding one year in the
county jail, or be subject to both fine and
imprisonment, in the discretion of the circuit

court. 

4) Any transporter who violates the
provisions of ORS 323.225 shall be guilty of
a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, 

shall be fined not more than $ 1, 000, or be

imprisoned for not exceeding one year in the
county jail, or be subject to both fine and
imprisonment, in the discretion of the circuit
court. 

5) Any person who violates any pro- 
visions of this chapter, except as otherwise

provided, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not
more than $500 for each offense. 

1965 c.525 § 90] 

323. 992 [ 1965 c. 525 § 91; repealed by 1971 c. 743
432] 
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