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WAGES AND HOURS GENERALLY

§ 652.060

HOURS OF LABOR

652.010 Declaration of public policy con-
cerning maximum working hours in certain
industries. (1) It is the public policy of this
state that no person shall be hired, nor per-
mitted to work for wages, under any condi-
tions or terms, for longer hours or days of
service than is consistent with his health
and physical well-being and ability to pro-
mote the general welfare by his increasing
usefulness as a healthy and intelligent
citizen.

(2) Ithereby is declared that the working
of any person more than 10 hours in one
day in any mill, factory or manufacturing
establishment or the working of any person
more than eight hours, exclusive of one hour,
more or less, in one day, or more than 48
hours in one calendar week in sawmills,
planing mills, shingle mills and logging
camps is injurious to the physical health and
well-being of such person, and tends to pre-
vent him from acquiring that degree of in-
telligence that is necessary to make him a
useful and desirable citizen of the state.

652.020 Maximum working hours in
certain industries; overtime hours and pay.
(1) No person shall be employed in any
mill, factory or manufacturing establish-
ment in this state more than 10 hours in
any one day, or in sawmills, planing mills,
shingle mills and logging camps more than
eight hours, exclusive of one hour, more or
less, in one day or more than 48 hours in
one calendar week, except logging train
crews, watchmen, firemen and persons en-
gaged in the transportation of men to and
from work, and employes when engaged in
making necessary repairs, or in the case of
emergency where life and property are in
imminent danger. However, employes may
work overtime not to exceed three hours in
one day, conditioned that payment be made
for said overtime at the rate of time and
one-half the regular wage.

(2) No employer shall require or permit
any person to work in any place mentioned
in this section more than the hours provided
for in this section during any day of 24
hours. No employer shall permit or suffer
his overseer, superintendent or other agent
to violate this section.

(3) This section does not apply to per-
sons employed in the care of quarters or
livestock, conducting messhalls, superin-
tendence and direction of work, or to the
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loading and removal of the finished forest
product.

652.030 Enforcement of ORS 652.010
and 652.020 dependent upon like laws in
other states. ORS 652.010 and 652.020 shall
not be enforced in so far as they relate to
working hours in sawmills, planing mills,
shingle mills and logging camps until laws
containing like provisions regarding working
hours in such places of employment in the
states of California, Washington and Idaho
become effective in each of those states
respectively.

652.040 Maximum working hours in
mines. (1) No person who operates any
underground mine yielding gold or silver or
copper or lead or other metal shall permit
or require any person to work in such un-
derground mine for more than eight hours
in any 24 hours. The hours for such employ-
ment or work day shall be consecutive ex-
cluding, however, any intermission of time
for lunch or meals.

(2) In the case of emergency, where life
or property is in imminent danger, persons
may work in such underground mines for a
longer time during the continuance of the
exigency or emergency. This section does
not apply to mines in their first stages of
development, such as tunnel work to a
length of 200 feet, or shaft work to a depth
of 150 feet, or to any surface excavation.

652.050 Definitions for ORS 652.050 to
652.080. As used in ORS 652.050 to 652.080:

(1) “Fire fighter” means a person whose
principal duties consist of preventing or
combating fire or preventing loss of life or
property from fire.

(2) “Regularly organized fire depart-
ment” means any organization maintained
for the purpose of preventing or combating
fire and employing one or more persons on
a full-time basis as fire fighters.

652.060 Maximum hours for fire fight-
ers. (1) No person employed on a full-time
basis as a fire fighter by any regularly
organized fire department maintained
by any incorporated city, municipality or
fire district shall be required to be on regu-
lar duty with such fire department more
than 72 hours a week. However, any affected
incorporated city, municipality or fire dis-
trict shall be deemed to have complied with
this section and ORS 652.070 if the hours



§ 652.070

LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

of regular duty required of fire fighters em-
ployed by it average not more than 72 hours
a week over each quarter of the fiscal year
of the employing city, municipality or fire
district.

(2) In the event this section shortens
the working hours of fire fighters employed
by any such city, municipality or fire district
on July 1, 1959, the total wages of such
fire fighters shall not for that reason be

reduced.
[Amended by 1959 c.402 §1]

652.070 Overtime pay for fire fighters.
Every affected incorporated city, municipal-
ity and fire district shall put into effect and
maintain a schedule of working hours re-
quired of regularly employed fire fighters
which shall not be in excess of the average
hours established by ORS 652.060. Any af-
fected incorporated city, municipality or
fire district failing so to do shall pay to
every regularly employed fire fighter addi-
tional pay for every hour of regular duty
required of and performed by him over and
above 72 hours a week a sum equivalent to
one and one-half times his hourly rate of

pay at the time of such default.
[{Amended by 1959 c.402 §2]

652.080 Computing hours on duty for
purposes of ORS 652.060 and 652.070. In
computing the average or total number of
hours a week for the purposes of ORS
652.060 and 652.070, authorized vacation or
sick leave time shall be considered as time
on regular duty.

[1959 c.402 §4]

652.090 to 652.100 [Reserved for expansion]

PAYMENT AND COLLECTION
OF WAGES GENERALLY

652.110 Medium of paying employes.
No person engaged in any business or enter-
prise of any kind in this state shall issue,
in payment of or as evidence of indebtedness
for wages due an employe, any order, check,
memorandum or other acknowledgment of
indebtedness, unless the same is negotiable,
and is payable without discount in cash on
demand at some bank or other established
place of business in the county where the
same is issued, and where a sufficient
amount of funds have been provided and are
or will be available for the payment of such
order, check or other acknowledgment of in-
debtedness when due. Such person shall,
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upon presentation and demand, pay any such
order, check, memorandum or other acknowl-
edgment of indebtedness, in lawful money
of the United States. This section does not
in any way limit or interfere with the right
of any employe to accept from any person,
as an evidence or acknowledgment of indebt-
edness for wages due him, a negotiable
instrument, payable at some future date
with interest.

652.120 Establishing regular pay day;
pay intervals; agreement to pay wages at fu-
ture date. (1) Every employer shall estab-
lish and maintain a regular pay day, at which
date all employes shall be paid the wages due
and owing to them.

(2) Pay day shall not extend beyond a
period of 35 days from the time that such em-
ployes entered upon their work, or from the
date of the last regular pay day.

(3) This section does not prevent the em-
ployer from establishing and maintaining pay
days at more frequent intervals.

(4) This section does not prevent any
employer from entering into a written agree-
ment, prior to the rendering of any services,
and mutually satisfactory with his employes,

as to the payment of wages at a future date.
[Amended by 1961 c.662 §1]

652.130 Payment of wages due persons
employed on piece work scale or quantity
basis in forest product industries; furnishing
statement of scale or quantity. Every person
engaged in the business of logging or obtain-
ing or securing sawlogs, poles, spars, piles,
cordwood, posts or other timber or forest
products, or engaged in the business of
manufacturing sawlogs or other timber into
lumber, and employing one or more em-
ployes on a piece work scale or quantity
wage basis, shall furnish such employes at
least once monthly, a statement of scale or
quantity produced by them to their credit,
and shall pay all wages or amounts so
earned and due and payable under the law

regulating pay days.

652.140 Payment on termination of em-
ployment; notice of intention to quit; for-
warding wages by mail. (1) -‘Whenever an
employer discharges an employe, or where
such employment is terminated by mutual
agreement, all wages earned and unpaid at
the time of such discharge shall become
due and payable immediately; provided, that
in establishments where perishable or sea-
sonal commodities are processed or handled,
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when termination of employment results
from fluctuation in or cessation of the flow
of such perishable or seasonal commodities,
such termination shall not be regarded as a
discharge or termination by mutual agree-
ment, within the meaning of this section,
but all wages earned at the time of such
termination shall become due and payable
not later than the regular pay day on which
such wages normally would be paid.

(2) When any such employe, not having
a contract for a definite period, shall quit
his employment, all wages earned and un-
paid at the time of such quitting shall be-
come due and payable immediately if such
employe has given not less than 48 hours’
notice, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and
holidays, of his intention to quit his employ-
ment. If such notice is not given, such wages
shall be due and payable 48 hours, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, after such
employe has so quit his employment.

(3) The employer shall forward such
wages by mail to any address designated by
such employe if the employe requests such

employer so to do.
[Amended by 1957 ¢.242 §1]

652.150 Civil penalty for failure to pay
wages on termination of employment. If an
employer wilfully fails to pay any wages or
compensation of any employe who is dis-
charged or who quits his employment, as
provided in ORS 652.140, then, as a penalty
for such nonpayment, the wages or compen-
sation of such employe shall continue from
the due date thereof at the same rate until
paid or until action therefor is commenced;
provided, that in no case shall such wages
or compensation continue for more than 30
days: and provided further, the employer
may avoid liability for the penalty by show-
ing his financial inability to pay the wages
or compensation at the time they accrued.
[Amended by 1957 c.244 §1]

652.160 Payment in case of dispute over
wages. In case of dispute over wages, the
employer must pay, without condition, and
within the time set by ORS 652.140, all
wages conceded by him to be due, leaving
the employe all remedies he might otherwise
have or be entitled to as to any balance he
might claim,

652.170 Payment of wages in case of
strikes. When any number of employes enter
upon a strike, the wages due such striking
employes at the time of entering upon such

strike shall not become due and payable
until the next regular pay day after the com-
mencement of such strike, if the time be-
tween the commencement of the strike and
the next regular pay day does not exceed a
period of 30 days. If the intervening time
does exceed the period of 30 days, then
the wages shall be due and payable 30 days
after the commencement of the strike.

652.180 [Repealed by 1953 ¢.515 §2]

652.190 Payment of wages to surviving
spouse. All wages earned, not exceeding
$200, which have been earned by an em-
ploye within a period of three months prior
to the date of his death, shall upon his death,
become due and payable to his or her sur-
viving spouse, to the same extent as if the
wages had been earned by such surviving
spouse.

652.200 Attorney’s fee in action for
wages. (1) In any action for the collection of
any order, check, memorandum or other
acknowledgment of indebtedness referred to
in ORS 652.110, if it is shown that the
order, check, memorandum or other acknowl-
edgment of indebtedness was not paid for a
period of 48 hours, excluding Saturdays,
Sundays and holidays, after presentation
and demand for the payment thereof, the
court shall, upon entering judgment for the
plaintiff, include in such judgment, in addi-
tion to the costs and disbursements other-
wise prescribed by statute, a reasonable sum
for attorney’s fees for prosecuting said ac-
tion, unless it appears that the employe has
wilfully violated his contract of employment.

(2) In any action for the collection of
wages, if it is shown that the wages were
not paid for a period of 48 hours, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, after the
same became due and payable, the court
shall upon entering judgment for the plain-
tiff, include in such judgment, in addition to
the costs and disbursements otherwise pre-
scribed by statute, a reasonable sum for at-
torney’s fees for prosecuting said action,
unless it appears that the employe has wil-

fully violated his contract of employment.
[ Amended by 1957 c.242 §2]

652.210 Definitions for ORS 652.210 to
652.230. (1) “Employer” means any person
employing one or more employes, but does
not include the state, or any municipal cor-
poration or political subdivision of the state
having in force a civil service system based
on merit, or the Federal Government.
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(2) “Employe” means any individual
who, otherwise than as a copartner of the
employer or as an independent contractor,
renders personal services wholly or partly in
this state to an employer who pays or
agrees to pay such individual at a fixed rate.
However, where services are rendered only
partly in this state, an individual is not an
employe unless his contract of employment
has been entered into, or payments there-
under are ordinarily made or to be made,
within this state.

(3) “Wages” means all compensation for
performance of service by an employe for an
employer whether paid by the employer or
another person, including cash value of all
compensation paid in any medium other than
cash.

(4) “Rate” with reference to wages
means the basis of compensation for services
by an employe for an employer and includes
compensation based on the time spent in the
performance of such services, or on the num-
ber of operations accomplished, or on the
quantity produced or handled.

(5) “Unpaid wages” means the differ-
ence between the wages actually paid to an
employe and the wages required under ORS

652.220, to be paid to such employe.
(1955 ¢.193 51)

652.220 Prohibition against discrimina-
tory wage rates based on sex; employer not
to discriminate against employe-complainant.
(1) No employer shall:

(a) In any manner discriminate between
the sexes in the payment of wages for work
of comparable character, the performance
of which requires comparable skills.

(b) Pay wages to any employe at a rate
less than that at which he pays wages to his
employes of the opposite sex for work of
comparable character, the performance of
which requires comparable skills.

(2) Subsection (1) of this section does
not apply where:

(a) Payment is made pursuant to a sen-
iority or merit system which does not dis-
criminate on the basis of sex.

(b) A differential in wages between em-
ployes is based in good faith on factors other
than sex.

(3) No employer shall in any manner
discriminate in the payment of wages
against any employe because the employe
has filed a complaint in a proceeding under
ORS 652.210 to 652.230, or has testified, or
is about to testify, or because the employer

believes that the employe may testify, in
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any investigation or proceedings pursuant
to ORS 652.210 to 652.230 or in a criminal

action pursuant to ORS 652.210 to 652.230.
[1955 ¢.193 §2]

652.230 Employe has right of action
against employer for unpaid wages and dam-
ages. (1) Any employe whose compensation
is at a rate that is in violation of ORS
652.220 shall have a right of action against
his employer for the recovery of:

(a) The amount of the unpaid wages to
which the employe is entitled for the one
year period preceding the commencement of
the action; and

(b) An additional amount as liquidated
damages equal to the amount referred to in
paragraph (a) of this subsection.

(2) In addition to any judgment award-
ed to the plaintiff, the court shall allow rea-
sonable attorney’s fees to be taxed as costs
in any judgment recovered.

(3) The action for the unpaid wages and
liquidated damages may be maintained by
one or more employes on behalf of them-
selves or other employes similarly situated.

(4) No agreement for compensation at
a rate less than the rate to which such em-
ploye is entitled under ORS 652.210 to
652.230 is a defense to any action under ORS

652.210 to 652.230.
[1955 c.193 §3]

652.240 Paying wage lower than that
required by statute or contract prohibited.
Where any statute or contract requires an
employer to maintain the designated wage
Scale, it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a
lower wage while purporting to pay the

wage designated by statute or by contract.
[1957 c.243 §1]

652.250 Public employe’s wages as af-
fected by absence to engage in search or res-
cue operation. A public employe who takes
part without pay in a search or rescue op-
eration at the request of any law enforce-
ment agency, the Director of Aeronautics,
the United States Forest Service or any lo-
cal organization for civil defense, shall not
forfeit his wages while engaged in an op-
eration for a period of not more than five
days for each operation. If an operation con-
tinues for more than five days, the employ-
ing agency may allow the employe to con-
tinue to take part in the operation and to
receive his wages for as long as the em-
ploying agency considers proper.

[1959 c.46 §1]
652.260 to 652.300 [Reserved for expansion]
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ENFORCEMENT OF WAGE CLAIMS
(Generally)
652.310 Definitions of employer and
employe. As used in ORS 652.310 to 652.410,
unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Employer” means any person who
in this state, directly or through an agent,
engages personal services of one or more
employes and includes any successor to the
business of any employer, or any lessee or
purchaser of any employer’s business prop-
erty for the continuance of the same busi-
ness, so far as such employer has not paid
employes in full. “Employer” does not in-
clude:

(a) The United States or any state,
county, municipal corporation, town or other
governmental division.

(b) Trustees and assignees in bankruptey
or insolvency, and receivers, whether ap-
pointed by federal or state courts, and per-
sons otherwise falling under the definition
of employers so far as the times or amounts
of their payments to employes are regulated
by laws of the United States, or regulations
or orders made in pursuance thereof.

(2) “Employe” means any individual
who otherwise than as copartner of the em-
ployer or as an independent contractor
renders personal services wholly or partly
in this state to an employer who pays or
agrees to pay such individual at a fixed rate,
based on the time spent in the performance
of such services or on the number of opera-
tions accomplished, or quantity produced
or handled. However, where services are
rendered only partly in this state, an indi-
vidual shall not be an employe under this
section unless his contract of employment
has been entered into, or payments there-
under are ordinarily made or to be made,

within this state.
[Amended by 1963 c.348 §1]

652.320 General definitions for ORS
652.310 to 652.410. As used in ORS 652.310
to 652.410, unless the context requires other-
wise:

(1) ‘“Commissioner” means the Commis-
sioner of the Bureau of Labor.

(2) “Court” means a court of competent
jurisdiction and proper venue to entertain
the proceeding referred to in ORS 652.310
to 652.410.

(3) “Demand” means a written demand
for payment made during business hours on
an employer or any appropriate representa-
tive of an employer by an employe or by
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some person having and exhibiting due
authority to act in said employe’s behalf.

(4) “Pay” means to deliver or tender
compensation at a previously designated and
reasonably convenient place in this state,
during working hours, in legal tender or by
order or negotiable instrument payable and
paid in legal tender without discount on de-
mand in this state.

(5) “Payment” means the delivery or
tender of compensation in the medium of
payment described in subsection (4) of this
section. Such delivery or tender shall be
made to the employe concerned or to any
person having due authority to act in said
employe’s behalf,

(6) “Rate of payment” means the rate
at which payment is made or is to be made
in the manner described in this section.

(7) “Wage claim” means an employe’s
claim against his employer for compensa-
tion for his own personal services.

652.330 Powers and duties of commis-
sioner in enforcing wage claims and judg-
ments thereon. The commissioner shall en-
force ORS 652.310 to 652.410 and to that end
he may:

(1) Investigate and attempt equitably to
adjust controversies between employers and
employes in respect of wage claims or al-
leged wage claims.

(2) Take assignments of wage claims or
judgments thereon, in trust, for the assign-
ing employes, spouse, parent or legal guard-
ian, having a right to the wages of such em-
ploye. All such assignments shall run to the
commissioner and his successors in office.
The commissioner may sue employers on
wage claims thus assigned with the benefits
and subject to existing laws applying to ac-
tions by employes for collection of wages.
He is entitled to recover, in addition to other
costs, such sum as the court or judge may
adjudge reasonable as attorney’s fees. He
may join in a single proceeding and in one
cause of action any number of wage claims
against the same employer. If the commis-
sioner does not prevail in such action, he
shall pay all costs and disbursements of the
prevailing party from the moneys in the Bu-
reau of Labor Account deposited pursuant to
ORS 652.390.

(3) Make complaint in a criminal court
for any violation of any law providing for
payment of wages and imposing a penalty
for its violation as for a crime.

[Amended by 1957 c.465 §6; 1963 c¢.258 §2]
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652.335 Liability of liquor dispenser li-
censee for wage claims of individuals, not his
employes but working in his kitchen or din-
ing facilities. (1) A person operating a com-
mercial establishment where food is cooked
and served who holds a dispenser’s license is-
sued under ORS 472,110 is liable for all valid
wage claims of individuals employed in the
kitchen facilities and dining space of such
establishment who are not employed by such
person, if the wage claims cannot be enforced
against the employer of such individuals. The
commissioner may in such a case proceed un-
der ORS 652.310 to 652.410 against the per-
son operating the establishment as if that per-
son had employed the individuals assigning
the wage claims.

(2) This section does not impose any lia-
bility not otherwise imposed by law for com-
pensation for the performance of an indi-
vidual’s personal services in excess of a period
of 60 days, nor does it subject the person op-
erating an establishment described in this sec-
tion to criminal penalties for violation of any

law providing for payment of wages.
[1961 c.475 §2]

652.340 Requiring bond of employer.
(1) If upon investigation by the commis-
sioner, after taking assignments of any
wage claims under ORS 652.330, it appears
to the commissioner that the employer is
representing to his employes that he is able
to pay wages for their services and that
the employes are not being paid for their
services, the commissioner may require the
employer to give a bond in such sum as the
commissioner deems reasonable and ade-
quate in the circumstances, with sufficient
surety, conditioned that the employer will
for a definite future period not exceeding
six months conduct his business and pay his
employes in accordance with the laws of
Oregon.

(2) If within 10 days after demand for
such bond the employer fails to provide the
same, the commissioner may commence a
suit against the employer in the circuit court
of appropriate jurisdiction to compel him to
furnish such bond or cease doing business
until he has done so. The employer shall
have the burden of proving the amount
thereof to be excessive.

(3) If the court finds that there is just
cause for requiring such bond and that the
same is reasonably necessary or appropriate
to secure the prompt payment of the wages of
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the employes of such employer and his com-
pliance with ORS 652.310 to 652.410, the
court shall enjoin such employer from doing
business in this state until the requirement
is met, or shall make other, and may make
further, orders appropriate to compel com-
pliance with the requirement.

652.350 Notice to employer of wage
claim; penalty for failure to respond; com-
missioner’s cause of action. Upon being in-
formed of a wage claim against an employer
or former employer, the commissioner shall,
if such claim appears to be just, immediate-
ly notify the employer or former employer,
of such claim by mail. If the employer or
former employer, fails to pay the claim or
to make satisfactory explanation to the com-
missioner of his failure to do so, within 30
days thereafter, the employer or former
employer shall be liable to a penalty of 10
percent of that portion of the claim found
to be justly due. The commissioner shall have
a cause of action against the employer or
former employer for the recovery of such
penalty, and the same may be included in
any subsequent action by the commissioner
on said wage claim, or may be exercised
separately after adjustment of such wage
claim without court action.

652.360 Contract exempting employer
from liability or penalty not valid; excep-
tion. No employer may by special contract
or any other means exempt himself from
any provision of or liability or penalty im-
posed by ORS 652.310 to 652.410 or by any
statute relating to the payment of wages,
except in so far as the commissioner in writ-
ing approves a special contract or other
arrangement between an employer and one
or more of such employer’s employes. The
commissioner shall not give his approval un-
less he finds that such contract or arrange-
ment will not prejudicially affect the interest
of the public or of the employes involved,
and he may at any time retract such approv-
al, first giving the employer not less than
30 days’ notice in writing.

652.370 Jurisdiction; proceedings in
name of the state. (1) Justice courts and
district courts shall have concurrent juris-
diction with circuit courts over all cases
mentioned in ORS 652.330 or 652.340.

(2) The commissioner shall prosecute

all legal proceedings on his own official rela-
tion, but in the name of the State of Oregon.

o
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652.380 Remedies are cumulative; effect
of payment or tender by employer after
proceeding commenced. (1) The remedies
provided by ORS 652.310 to 652.410 shall be
additional to and not in substitution for and
in no manner impair other remedies and
may be enforced simultaneously or consec-
utively so far as not inconsistent with each
other.

(2) No payment or tender after the fil-
ing of a criminal complaint or commence-
ment of any proceeding by the commissioner
shall affect the liability therein of an em-
ployer for expenses, or prevent such employ-
er from being subject to fine or forfeitures,
or to the giving of bond under ORS 652.340.

652.390 Retention by commissioner of
part of moneys collected on each wage
claim. The commissioner may deduct and
retain from any moneys collected on each
wage claim, any costs and attorney’s fees
and an amount not in excess of five percent
of the sums so collected; and the amount
deducted shall be credited to the Bureau of
Labor Account and used only for the pur-
pose of administering the provisions of ORS

652.310 to 652.410.
[Amended by 1957 c.465 §71

652.400 Deposit of moneys in Wage Col-
lection Account; payment to persons entitled
thereto. Subject to ORS 652.390, all moneys
collected on judgments pursuant to ORS
652.330, including fines, shall be paid to the
commissioner and, together with all other
sums collected under ORS 652.310 to 652.410,
be deposited in the State Treasury to become
part of a special trust account to be known
as the Wage Collection Account, which ac-
count hereby is established in the State
Treasury. All moneys in the Wage Collec-
tion Account hereby are appropriated con-
tinuously for the purpose of payment to the

persons entitled thereto.
[Amended by 1957 c.465 §8]

652.405 Disposition of wages collected
by commissioner where payment cannot be
made to person entitled thereto. (1) The La-
bor Commissioner shall attempt for a period
of not less than seven years to make pay-
ment of wages collected under ORS 652.310
to 652.410 to the person entitled thereto.

(2) Wages collected by the commis-
sioner under ORS 652.310 to 652.410 and
remaining unclaimed for a period of more
than seven years from the date of collection
shall, within 30 days after June 30 of each
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year, be forfeited to the state and shall be
paid by the Labor Commissioner to the State
Land Board for the benefit of the Common
School Fund of this state. The State Land
Board shall issue a receipt for the money to
the Labor Commissioner. The person en-
titled to the wages or his heirs or personal
representatives may reclaim the wages paid
into the Common School Fund pursuant to
this section within the time and in the man-
ner provided for estates which have escheated

to the state.
[1957 ¢.465 §15]

652.410 Employer’s retention of part of
employe’s compensation for certain purposes
not affected. ORS 652.310 to 652.400 do not
affect the right of any employer under law-
ful contract to retain part of the compensa-
tion of any employe for the purpose of af-
fording such employe insurance, or hospital,
sick or other similar relief. Nor shall those
statutes diminish or enlarge the right of any
person to assert and enforce a lawful set-off
or counterclaim or to attach, take, reach or
apply an employe’s compensation on due
legal process.

(Reciprocal)

652.420 Definitions for ORS 652.420 to
(652.445. (1) As used in ORS 652.420 to
652.445:

(a) “Labor bureau” includes any agency,
bureau, commission, board or officer in an-
other state which performs functions sub-
stantially corresponding to those of the
Labor Commissioner.

(b) “Labor Commissioner” means the
Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor.

(2) The definitions of ORS 652.310 and
652.320 shall apply to ORS 652.420 to
652.445, but nothing contained in those sec-
tions shall be construed to preclude recip-
rocal enforcement of wage claims under ORS
652.420 to 652.445, where the services of the

employe were rendered in another state.
(1953 c.256 §1]

652.425 Authority of Labor Commis-
sioner to enter into agreements with other
states for reciprocal enforcement of wage
claims. The Labor Commissioner may enter
into agreements with the corresponding labor
bureau of another state for the reciprocal
enforcement and collection of wage claims,
if the other state has a reciprocal statute
similar to ORS 652.420 to 652.445 or other-
wise authorizes the reciprocal enforcement
and collection of wage claims in a manner
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substantially similar to ORS 652.420 to
652.445.
[1953 ¢.256 §2]

652.430 Assigning wage claim to labor
bureau of another state. Whenever a wage
claim is assigned to the Labor Commissioner
in trust pursuant to ORS 652.330 and the
employer or former employer upon whom
demand for payment is made by an employe
in this state has removed himself to another
state, the Labor Commissioner may re-
assign the wage claim, with the approval of
the employe, to the labor bureau of the other
state, if there is in effect at the time a valid
reciprocal agreement under ORS 652.425 ve-
tween the Labor Commissioner and the other

state.
[1953 ¢.256 §3]

652.435 Accepting assignments of wage
claims from labor bureau of another state.
Whenever a labor bureau in another state,
which has entered into a reciprocal agree-
ment under ORS 652.425 with the Labor
Commissioner and the agreement is in effect
at the time, takes an assignment of a wage
claim from an employe residing in the other
state for services rendered in the other state
to an employer or former employer who has
removed himself to Oregon, the Labor Com-
missioner may take an assignment of the
wage claim from such labor bureau and
enforce the collection thereof as provided in
the applicable provisions of ORS 652.330 to

652.410.
[1953 ¢.256 §41]

652.440 Retention by commissioner or
labor bureau of percentage of funds col-
lected. Any agreement concluded by the
Labor Commissioner shall make provision
for the transfer of funds collected pursuant
to ORS 652.420 to 652.445 and for retention
by the Labor Commissioner or the labor
bureau in the other state of percentile
amounts from the sums collected to defray
the administrative costs of ORS 652.420 to
652.445. Amounts authorized pursuant to
this section to be used to defray the adminis-
trative costs of ORS 652.420 to 652.445 shall
be credited to the Bureau of Labor Account
and shall be used only for the administration

of ORS 652.420 to 652.445.
[1953 c.256 §5; 1957 c.465 §91

652.445 Deposit of moneys in Wage Col-
lection Account. Except as provided in ORS
652.440, all moneys collected pursuant to
ORS 652.420 to (52.445, including fines and
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costs, shall be paid to the Labor Commis-
sioner and be deposited in the State Treasury
in the Wage Collection Account established
by ORS 652.400.

[1953 ¢.256 §6; 1957 c.465 §101

652.450 to 652.505 [Reserved for expansion]
PRIORITY OF WAGE CLAIMS ON
PROPERTY IN CUSTODY OF LAW OR
ASSIGNED FOR BENEFIT OF
CREDITORS

652.510 Payment of wage claims by re-
ceivers, assignees or court; filing statement
of wages due. (1) When the property of any
company, cooperative association, corpora-
tion, firm or person is seized upon by any
process of any court of this state, or where
their business or property is placed in the
hands of a receiver, or whenever any assign-
ment for the benefit of creditors under the
laws of this state is made, then in all such
cases the debts owing to laborers or em-
ployes, which have accrued by reason of
their labor or employment to an amount not
exceeding $300 to each employe for work or
labor performed within 90 days next preced-
ing the seizure or transfer or assignment of
such property, or appointment of said re-
ceiver shall be considered and treated as
preferred debts, and such laborers or em-
ployes shall be preferred creditors, and shall
first be paid in full, and if there is not suf-
ficient to pay them in full, their claims shall
be paid pro rata, after paying costs.

(2) Any such laborer or employe desir-
ing to enforce his claim for wages under
ORS 652.510 to 652570 shall present a
statement under oath showing the amount
due after allowing all just credits and set-
offs, the kind of work for which said wages
are due and when performed, to the officer
or person charged with the execution of
said process, within 10 days after the seizure
thereof on any execution or writ of attach-
ment, or to such receiver or assignee within
30 days after the same may have been
placed in the hands of any such assignee or
receiver.

652.520 Form of statement of wage
claim. The statement to be presented under
ORS 652.510 shall be substantially in the
following form:

Les

State of Oregon

County of y |
I, , being first duly sworn,
say that is indebted
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tomeinthesumof ____  dollars
over and above all just credits and setoffs,
on account of work, services and labor per-
formed by me for the said
upon the following terms and conditions, to

wit: That I was employed by the said
on or aboutthe
day of , 19 , to work

(here describe character of work) at the
rate of dollars per month (or
for a reasonable consideration for such
work), and that under said contract I began
to work on the day of

19 , and between that day and the

day of , 19 , I performed
work, services and labor days,
amounting to the sum of dol-

lars (or the reasonable value of
dollars) ; that the said has
paid me on account of the said labor the
sum of dollars, and no more;
and that there is now due me, the sum of
______ dollars, over and above all
just credits and offsets; and that during the
90 days next precedingthe _ day
of , 19 , I had performed
days’ labor under said contract,
amounting to the sum of dol-
lars (or that said services were reasonably
worth thesumof ____ dollars); and
that, applying all the credits above stated,
there is due me from the said ————,
on account of labor for the said 90 days, the
sum of dollars, and no more;
claim as due me,
Subscribed and sworn to before me this
day of , 19

652.530 Serving copy of statement; re-
port to court; order of payment. (1) The
person claiming the benefit of ORS 652.510
to 652.570 shall serve upon the debtor, or
upon the officer, assignee or receiver for the
debtor where personal service cannot be had,
a copy of the verified claim. Thereafter the
person receiving such statement shall report
the amount of such claim to the court hav-
ing jurisdiction of such officer, receiver or
assignee, together with a statement of all
costs occasioned by the seizure of said prop-
erty or of such receivership or assignment.

(2) The court shall order such claims to
be paid after payment of the costs and ex-
penses of such seizure and sale, and the costs
and disbursements which have accrued be-
fore the filing of the notice under ORS
652.510 and of assignment or receivership,
out of the proceeds of the sale of the prop-
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erty so seized, assigned, or placed in the
hands of an assignee or receiver.

652.540 Exception to claim; legal action
on claim. (1) Any person interested may
contest all or any part of a claim mentioned
in ORS 652.530, by filing in said court ex-
ceptions thereto, supported by affidavit,
within 10 days from the filing of the report
provided in ORS 652.530. Thereupon the
claimant shall be required to establish his
claim, by judgment in such court, before any
part thereof shall be paid.

(2) When any claim is excepted to as
provided in this section, the person desiring
to establish the same shall file in said court,
within 30 days after the claim is excepted to,
his verified complaint as in an action at
law and serve it upon the person excepting,
or his attorney of record, and upon the prin-
cipal debtor for the claim, or his attorney
of record.

(3) Thereafter the cause shall proceed
to final judgment between the parties as an
action at law.

652.550 Payment of claims prerequisite
to discharge of attachment or execution, as-
signee or receiver, or to abandonment of
seizure or sale. No attachment or execution
shall be discharged nor shall the seizure or
sale of property seized be abandoned, or
assignee or receiver discharged, until every
claimant presenting his claim under ORS
652.510 to 652.570 has been paid in full, or
pro rata, as provided in ORS 652.510, or has
consented to such discharge or abandon-
ment.

652.560 Costs and attorney’s fees.
Whenever any claim has been excepted to
under ORS 652.540 and the claim is estab-
lished by judgment and the court rendering
the judgment is satisfied that the exceptions
were made without probable cause or that
the person so excepting could have ascer-
tained with reasonable diligence that such
claim was true and just, the claimant in such
action shall be entitled to have the costs of
such action, including such sum as the court
may adjudge reasonable as attorney’s fees,
enforced by execution against the person
objecting as a judgment debtor in the first
instance. However, if the court does not so
find, or if execution, when issued, is re-
turned nulla bona, then in either case such
costs and attorney’s fees shall be ordered
paid out of the proceeds of the property sold
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next after the payment of all claims pre-
sented under ORS 652.510 to 652.570.

652.570 Priority of wage claims over
transfers in payment of pre-existing obliga-
tions; payment and subrogation of trans-
feree. (1) Every sale or transfer of any
property in payment of any pre-existing
debt, or obligation, and every mortgage or
lien created or executed to secure the pay-
ment of a pre-existing debt, shall be void
as against laborers or employes of such
vendor, mortgagor, or other lien debtor, to
the extent of their claims for wages, not
exceeding the sum of $300 to each of said
laborers which may be owing for work or
labor performed within 90 days next pre-
ceding such sale and transfer or the execu-
tion of such lien or mortgage, if the laborer
or employe claiming the benefit of this sec-
tion:

(a) Within 10 days after the actual de-
livery of the property or within 30 days
after the recording of any such deed, trans-
fer, mortgage or lien, gives such owner or
holder of such lien or such vendee notice of
his claim substantially in the form and veri-
fied as provided in ORS 652.520, which
notice shall be served by delivering it or a
copy thereof to such owner or holder of such
lien or such vendee in person or, in case he
cannot be found within the county in which
such lien or deed may be of record after
diligent inquiry, by delivering the notice or
a copy thereof to the clerk of the county
court for such owner or holder of such lien
or such vendee; and

(b) Within 30 days commences a suit to
establish the claim and prosecute it to judg-
ment.

(2) The vendee or mortgage or lien
holder, or his assignee, may pay such claim
and thereby be subrogated to the rights and
lien of such laborer or employe, as against
the vendor, principal debtor or mortgagor,
and as against subsequent mortgagees or
other subsequent lien creditors.

(3) This section does not apply to any
mortgage or lien given in renewal of a pre-
existing mortgage or lien.

652.580 Cost of preparation of lien
notice as part of claim. Whenever any per-
son files a notice or claim of lien under ORS
652.510 to 652.570, he may add to the
amount of his claim, as contained in the
notice, the sum specified in ORS 87.910 as
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costs for the preparation of the lien notice.
Such amount thereupon shall become part
of the lien against the property described
in the notice. However, this section does not
apply to any lien claim paid in full prior to
the expiration of the time allowed by law
for the filing of the notice thereof, not-
withstanding the notice was filed before
such expiration date.

652.590 to 652.600 [Reserved for expansion]

STATEMENTS RELATING TO
EMPLOYE'’S SALARY AND
DEDUCTIONS THEREFROM

652.610 Itemized statement of amounts
and purposes of deductions required. (1) All
persons, firms, partnerships, associations,
cooperative associations, corporations, muni-
cipal corporations, the state and its political
subdivisions, except the Federal Government
and its agencies, employing, in this state,
during any calendar month five or more per-
sons, and withholding for any purpose, any
sum of money from the wages, salary or
commission earned by an employe, shall pro-
vide such employe on regular paydays with
a statement sufficently itemized to show the
amount and purpose of such deductions made
during the respective period of service which
said payment covers.

(2) The itemized statement shall be fur-
nished to the employe at the time payment
of wages, salary or commission is made, and
may be attached to or be a part of the check,
draft, voucher or other instrument by which
payment is made, or may be delivered sepa-
rately from such instrument.

652.620 Statement of yearly compensa-
tion on request of employe. All persons,
firms, partnerships, associations, coopera-
tive associations, corporations, municipal
corporations, the state and its political sub-
divisions thereof, except the Federal Gov-
ernment and its agencies employing, in this
state, five or more persons, during any calen-
dar month, upon the request of any employe
or former employe, and upon five days’ no-
tice to said employer shall give to such em-
ploye, not later than March 10 of each year,
a statement showing the total compensation
paid by such employer to such employe, or
former employe, during the previous calen-
dar year.

652.630 to 652.980 [Reserved for expansion]
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PENALTIES

652.990 Penalties. (1) Violation of sub-
section (2) of ORS 652.020 is punishable,
upon conviction, by a fine of not less than
$50 nor more than $500. Every day’s viola-
tion is deemed a separate offense.

(2) Any person, body corporate, general
manager or employer who violates ORS
652.040 or causes ORS 652.040 to be violated
is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not less than $50, nor more than $300, or
by imprisonment in the county jail for not
less than 30 days, nor more than three
months, or both.

(3) Violation of ORS 652.110 or 652.120
is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not more than $500.

(4) Violation of ORS 652.130 by any em-
ployer is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not more than $500 or by imprison-
ment in the county jail for not more than 60
days, or by both. Justice courts, district
courts and circuit courts shall have concur-
rent jurisdiction in all cases arising under
this subsection.

(5) In addition to the civil damages re-
coverable under ORS 652.230, violation of
ORS 652.210 to 652.230 is a misdemeanor.

(6) The violation of ORS 652.240 is a
misdemeanor.

(7) Violation of ORS 652.610 or 652.620
is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of
not less than $10 nor more than $100 for

each offense.
[Subsection (5) enacted as 1955 ¢.193 §4; subsection
(6) enacted as 1957 c.243 §2]
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