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CERTIFICATION
(1943 Act)

842.005 Classes of certificates; fees. (1)
The following types of teachers’ certificates
shall be granted by the authority of the
State of Oregon, subject to the provisions
of ORS 342.005 to 342.045, 342.060, 342.085 to
342.100, 342.175, 342.180 and 342.602, and
the rules and regulations of the State Board
of Education drawn in conformity with said
provisions:

(a) One-year elementary state
cates.

(b) One-year secondary state
cates.

(c) Five-year elementary state
cates.

(d) Five-year secondary state
cates.

(e) Special one-year certificates.

(f) Special five-year certificates.

(g) Emergency certificates.

(2) The Superintendent of Public In-

struction shall collect a fee of $5 for each
original certificate or renewal thereof issued
by him, and $1 for each duplicate certificate.
All fees so collected shall be paid into the
General Fund of the State Treasury.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.518 §11

Note: ORS 842.005, 342.015, 342.020, 342.025,
342.030, 342.035, 342.040, 342.045, 342.050, 342.080,
342,105, 342.110 and 342.115 are repealed by section

certifi-
certifi-
certifi-

certifi-

13 of chapter 439, Oregon Laws 1961, effective July 1,
1965; until then, these sections remain in effect.

842.007 Expiration date of certificates.
Certificates issued after July 21, 1953, under
authority of ORS 342.005 to teachers and
other persons, shall expire on June 30 re-
gardless of the issue date of the certificate.
Certificates issued for a term not exceeding
one year shall expire on the June 30 next
following the issue date. The period from
the issue date to the first June 30 after the
issue date shall be considered a full year for
the purposes of this section in determina-
tion of the expiration date of certificates is-

sued for a term exceeding one year.
[1953 c.85 §1]

842.010 Authority of State Board of
Education. The State Board of Education
shall have authority to make such rules and
regulations, in conformity with ORS 342.005
to 342.045, 342.060, 342.085 to 342.100,
342,175, 342.180 and 342.602, as may be
deemed necessary for implementation thereof.

342.015 Certificate issue. Except those
provided for in ORS 342.055, all certificates

authorized by virtue of ORS 342.005 for
teachers and other persons shall be issued
by the Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.020 Existing certificates not invali-
dated. Nothing in ORS 342.005 to 342.045,
342.060, 342.085 to 342.100, 342.175 and
342.180 shall be construed to invalidate the
life of any certificate or diploma in full force
and effect in this state on February 25, 1943,
nor to invalidate the rights and privileges
granted prior to February 25, 1943, by the law
under which such certificate or diploma was
issued. The Superintendent of Public Instruc-
tion shall make such rules and regulations as
are necessary to implement this section.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.025 One-year clementary state cer-
tificates. One-year elementary state certifi-
cates authorizing persons to teach in any
elementary school or junior high school in
this state shall be issued on application to
otherwise qualified persons who have com-
pleted a three-year standard elementary
teacher training course, or its equivalent as
determined by the Superintendent of Public
Instruction. After July 1, 1955, one-year
elementary state certificates authorizing
persons to teach in any elementary school or
junior high school in this state shall be
issued on application to otherwise qualified
persons who have completed a four-year
standard elementary teacher training course,
or its equivalent as determined by the Su-
perintendent of Public Instruction.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.030 One-year secondary state certi-
ficates. One-year secondary state certificates
authorizing teachers to teach in any junior
high school or high school shall be issued
on application to such otherwise qualified
persons as have completed a five-year stan-
ard secondary teacher training course, or its
equivalent as determined by the Superinten-
dent of Public Instruction.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

342.035 Renewals and conversions of
one-year certificates. Any one-year elemen-
tary or secondary state certificate may be
renewed, or converted into a five-year cer-
tificate and renewal thereof under conditions
stipulated by the State Board of Education.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.
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342.040 One-year and five-year special
certificates. The State Board of Education
shall determine the uses of and the require-
ments for one-year and five-year special
certificates and renewals thereof. These shall
include exchange teacher certificates, certifi-
cates for teachers of the handicapped, kin-
dergarten certificates, vocational certificates,
certificates for teachers of adults, adminis-
trative certificates, and such other special
types of certificates not otherwise provided
for by law.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.045 Emergency certificates. Emer-
gency certificates, valid for a period not to
exceed one year, to teach in the elementary
schools, junior high schools or high schools
may be issued by the Superintendent of
Public Instruction when the State Board of
Education has declared that an emergency
exists because of an acute shortage in the
supply of regularly certificated teachers.
The Superintendent of Public Instruction
shall determine the fitness of any person to
qualify for an emergency certificate on the
basis of rules and regulations approved by
the State Board of Education.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.050 Special adult education teach-
ing certificates. The Superintendent of Pub-
lic Instruction, under rules and regulations
adopted by the State Board of Education,
may, upon receipt of a fee of $5, issue a
special certificate, without an examination,
to teach in adult education classes of ele-
mentary or high school grade and in ele-
mentary or high school subject matter. These
certificates shall entitle the holder thereof to
teach the subjects therein named for one
year in such adult éducation classes, unless
revoked for cause.

[Amended by 1955 ¢.518 §2]
Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.055 Certificates by districts with
more than 100,000 population. The school
board in districts having more than 100,000
population may create a board of examiners
for the purpose of examining all persons
who may be employed to teach in the dis-
trict schools. The county school superinten-
dent of the county in which the district is
located shall be ex officio chairman, and the
city superintendent shall also be a member.
Certificates issued by such board of examin-
ers shall not be valid in any district other

than that for which such certificates are
issued. The holder of a valid certificate may
be employed without further examination at
the option of the board.

342.060 Qualifications for teacher’s cer-
tificate. (1) No teacher’s certificate shall be
issued to any person until he has attained
the age of 18 years and has furnished satis-
factory evidence of proper educational train-
ing and that he is either an American citizen
or has filed his declaration of intention to
become an American citizen, except for for-
eign teachers teaching on an exchange basis.
All teachers except foreign teachers teach-
ing on an exchange basis shall be American
citizens or shall have filed a declaration of
intention to become an American citizen
within seven years next preceding the date
of certification. Any alien teacher failing to
obtain American citizenship within seven
years from the date of filing his declaration
of intention to become an American citizen
shall forfeit his teacher’s certificate and
shall be ineligible for further certification
until American citizenship is obtained.

(2) The Superintendent of Public In-
struction may also require an applicant for
any teacher’s certificate to furnish satis-
factory evidence of good moral character,
mental and physical health, and such other
evidence as he may deem necessary to estab-
lish the applicant’s fitness to serve as a
teacher.

(3) Without limiting the powers of the
Superintendent of Public Instruction to re-
fuse to issue a teacher’s certificate under
subsection (2) of this section, no teacher’s
certificate shall be issued to any person who
after August 20, 1957, has been convicted of :

(a) A violation of any law of any state
or any municipal ordinance involving any
sexual offense defined or referred to in ORS
163.210, 163.220, 163.270, 167.005, 167.015,
167.020, 167.025, 167.030, 167.035, 167.040,
167.045, 167.105, 167.115, 167.120, 167.125,
167.130, 167.135, 167.145, 167.150, 167.165,
167.210, 167.230, 167.240; or

(b) A violation of any law of any state
or of the United States or any municipal or-
dinance involving the illegal use, sale or pos-

session of narcotics.
[Amended by 1957 c.638 §11]

342.065 [Amended by 1955 ¢.101 §1; renumbered
342.602]
342.070 [Amended by 1957 c.638 §2; 1961 c.677

§1; renumbered 342.175]

342.075 [Amended by 1961 ¢.677 §2; renumbered
342.180]
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842.080 Kindergarten teachers and su-
pervisors to hold certificates. Kindergarten
teachers and supervisors employed by any
district school board shall hold kindergarten
certificates issued by the Superintendent of
Public Instruction.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.085 Effect of employing unquali-
fied teacher. Any school district which em-
ploys any teacher not qualified as provided
in ORS 342.005 to 342.100, 342.175, 342.180
and 342.602 shall forfeit any state or county
school funds due such district for the current
year during which a noncertified teacher is
employed, to the extent of the total salary

paid to such noncertified teacher.
[Amended by 1955 c.214 §1]

842.090 Qualifications of teacher train-
ing institutions. The qualifications of a
standard teacher training institution shall be
determined by the State Board of Education.

842.095 Elementary teacher training
courses. A standard elementary teacher
training course shall be given only by a
standard normal school, standard teachers
college, standard college or university ap-
proved for elementary teacher training by
the State Board of Education and which
meets the requirements of the State Board
of Education.

842.100 Secondary teacher training
courses. A standard secondary teacher train-
ing course shall be given only by a standard
college, university or teachers college, and
shall meet the requirements set forth by the
State Board of Education.

842.105 Qualifications for administrative
and supervisory certificates. The State Board
of Education shall prescribe reasonable rules
and regulations defining minimum qualifica-
tions, as to training and experience, for all
persons performing administrative or super-
visory duties for school districts. The State
Board of Education shall issue certificates
in the various categories of school adminis-
tration and supervision to applicants there-
for who have complied with such minimum
qualifications.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.110 Temporary administrative cer-
tificates. The State Board of Education may
issue temporary administrative certificates
effective for one year only to applicants

therefor who have not complied with the
minimum qualifications prescribed by the
board. Such temporary certificates shall
be renewable and shall be issued only to per-
sons holding a bachelor’s degree from an in-
stitution of higher education, an Oregon
teaching certificate for the level the applicant
would administer and having two years of
teaching or administrative experience at such
level.

[Amended by 1961 ¢.707 §1]

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

842.115 Administrative certificate re-
quired. After July 1, 1952, no person shall
engage in administrative or supervisory du-
ties for school districts unless he holds an
appropriate administrative certificate issued
by the State Board of Education. Persons
engaged in such administrative or supervis-
ory duties on August 2, 1951, may continue
in such capacities until July 1, 1956, without
certification.

Note: See note under ORS 342.005.

(1961 Act)

342.120 Definitions for ORS 342.120 to
342.160. As used in ORS 342.120 to 342.160,
unless otherwise provided by context:

(1) ‘“Administrator” includes all superin-
tendents, assistant superintendents, princi-
pals, vice principals and administrative direc-
tors in the public schools.

(2) “Board” means the State Board of
Education.

(3) “Instruction” includes direction of
learning of children or adults in class, in small
groups, in individual situations, in the library
and in guidance and counseling.

(4) “Intern teacher” means a regularly
enrolled student of an approved teacher edu-
cation institution who is noncertificated and
who teaches under the supervision of the
staff of such institution and of the employing
school district in order to acquire practical
experience in teaching and for which the stu-
dent receives both academic credit from the
approved teacher education institution and
financial compensation from the school dis-
trict.

(5) “Standard teacher education institu-
tion” is one which meets the standards of the
State Board of Education for preparation of
teachers and is so recognized by the board.

(6) “Standard teacher education pro-
gram” is one offered by a standard teacher
education institution and is so recognized by
the State Board of Education.
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(7) “Teacher” includes all employes in
the public schools who have direct responsi-
bility for instruction and who are compen-
sated for their services from public funds.

(8) “Teacher aide” means a noncertifi-
cated person employed by a school district
whose assignment consists of and is limited

to assisting a certificated teacher.
[1961 ¢.439 §11

342.125 Types of certificates; fees.
(1) The following types of teachers’ certifi-
cates shall be granted by the authority of the
State of Oregon subject to the provisions of
ORS 342.120 to 342.160 and the rules and
regulations of the State Board of Education:

(a) Basic teaching certificate.

(b) Standard teaching certificate.
(¢) Professional teaching certificate.
(d) Administrative certificate.

(e) Restricted teaching certificate.
(f) Educational specialty certificate.

(2) The Superintendent of Public Instruc-
tion shall collect a fee of $5 for each original
certificate or renewal thereof issued by him
and $1 for each duplicate certificate. All fees
so collected shall be paid into the General

Fund of the State Treasury.
[1961 c.439 §2]

342.130 Existing certificates not invali-
dated. Nothing in ORS 342.120 to 342.160
shall be construed to invalidate the life of
any certificate or diploma in full force and
effect in this state on June 30, 1965, nor to
invalidate the rights and privileges granted
prior to June 30, 1965, by the law and the
rules and regulations of the board under

which such certificate or diploma was issued.
[1961 c.439 §3]

342.135 Basic, standard and professional
teaching certificates. (1) Any teaching cer-
tificate provided for in this section shall
qualify its holder to accept in the public
schools of this state any instructional assign-
ment from kindergarten through grade 14
for which he has completed the professional
requirements as determined by the rules and
regulations of the board.

(2) A basic teaching certificate shall be
issued on application to an otherwise quali-
fied person who has completed the first four
years of a standard teacher education pro-
gram, has the baccalaureate degree from a
standard teacher education institution and
meets such other requirements as the board
may consider necessary to maintain and

improve quality of instruction in the public
schools of the state.

(3) A standard teaching certificate shall
be issued on application to an otherwise quali-
fied person who has completed a five-year
standard teacher education program, has
taught on a basic teaching certificate for a
minimum period of time to be determined by
the board, and is recommended for certifica-
tion by the standard teacher education insti-
tution or first class school district after the
fifth year of teacher preparation has been
completed. The fifth year of preparation shall
be a planned education program consisting of
courses taken in a standard teacher education
institution or in an in-service training pro-
gram offered by a first class school district
for which credit is given by a standard teacher
education institution or some combination of
both, in accordance with rules and regulations
established by the board.

(4) The professional teaching certificate,
valid for the period during which the holder
thereof is actively engaged in education as
defined by the board, shall be issued on appli-
cation to an otherwise qualified person who
has taught on a standard teaching certificate
for a minimum period of time to be determined
by the board, holds a master’s degree from
an accredited college or university and has
met such additional requirements as the board
may require. The professional teaching cer-
tificate shall be evidence of exceptional quali-
fications. It shall not be required for any

teaching position in the public schools.
[1961 c.439 §4]

342.140 Administrative certificate.
(1) An administrative certificate provided for
in this section shall qualify its holder to serve
in any administrative assignment for which
he has completed the professional require-
ments as determined by the rules and regula-
tions of the board.

(2) An administrative certificate shall be
issued on application to an otherwise qualified
person who meets such requirements as to
professional preparation and experience as
the board may require.

(3) An administrative certificate good
for only one year may be issued on application
to an otherwise qualified person who has not
complied with the minimum requirements pre-
scribed by the board for an administrative
certificate. Such temporary certificates shall
be issued to persons who hold a teaching

166




TEACHERS AND OTHER SCHOOL EMPLOYES

§ 342.175

certificate and meet such other requirements

as may be established by the board.
[1961 c.439 §5]

342.145 Restricted teaching certificate.
(1) A restricted teaching certificate shall be
issued on application to a person who demon-
strates a special aptitude that can be used
in the public schools and who meets such
requirements as may be established by the
board. The certificate may be issued to a
person of proven ability in a field other than
teaching.

(2) The board may issue restricted teach-
ing certificates that are temporary, partial,
provisional, conditional, reciprocal or ex-
change or specify other limitations or restric-
tions considered necessary. The nature of the
restriction or limitation shall appear on the

certificate.
[1961 c.439 §61]

342.150 Educationalspecialty certificate.
An education specialty certificate shall be
issued on application to an otherwise quali-
fied person who holds a valid standard
teaching certificate and who satisfied the
requirements of the board for certification
in specialized areas not part of the usual
classroom work where additional training is
considered necessary. Supervising, counsel-
ling, guidance and teaching handicapped or
mentally retarded children shall be considered
among the areas requiring the certificate; but
the board upon reasonable notice may require

the certificate for any other educational area.
[1961 c.439 §7]

342.155 Teacher aides and intern teach-
ers. A school district may employ teacher
aides and intern teachers subject to the rules

and regulations of the board.
[1961 c.439 §8]

842.160 Issuance and renewal of certi-
ficates. All certificates authorized in ORS
342,120 to 342.170 shall be issued by the
Superintendent of Public Instruction and shall
be renewable as required by the rules and

regulations of the board.
[1961 c.439 §91

342.165 Rules and regulations of state
board. The board shall make such reasonable
rules and regulations as are consistent with
the provisions of ORS 342.120 to 342.170 and
are necessary for the issuance, continuation,
renewal, lapse or reinstatement of certificates
issued under the provisions of ORS 342.120 to

342.170. In establishing such rules and regu-
lations, the board shall consider the norms
required for the teaching assignments, the
improvement of teaching, the adequacy of
the teacher supply and such other matters

as tend to improve education.
[1961 c.439 §10]

342.170 Certification Review Committee.
(1) The board shall appoint a Certification
Review Committee of seven members, con-
sisting of two classroom teachers, a principal,
a city superintendent, a county superin-
tendent, a school board member and a repre-
sentative of the standard teacher education
institutions. Terms of members shall be for
three years subject to reappointment for one
additional term.

(2) The Certification Review Committee
shall consult with the Superintendent of
Public Instruction and make recommenda-
tions to the board on requirements for
issuance and withholding of -certificates,
standards for reciprocal certification, equiva-
lent academic training for out-of-state and
foreign schools and such other matters relat-
ing to certification of teachers as may be
considered essential by the board. The com-

mittee may review special cases.
[1961 c.439 §11]

342.175 Revocation or suspension of cer-
tificate of administrator or teacher; reinstate-
ment. (1) (a) Action to suspend or revoke
any teacher’s or administrator’s certificate
may be initiated by the Superintendent of
Public Instruction on his own initiafive, or
upon the basis of a written complaint made
to him by or through any county school
superintendent or any administrator directly
responsible to a school board, charging such
teacher or administrator with immorality,
intemperance, crime against the law of this
state, gross neglect of duty or any gross
unfitness.

(b) Immediately upon the initiation of
such action the Superintendent of Public
Instruction shall make a preliminary investi-
gation of the facts involved in such charge.
If, in the discretion of the superintendent,
this investigation indicates that there are
probable grounds for suspension or revoca-
tion, he shall notify in writing the teacher or
administrator against whom charges have
been made, enclose a statement of the charges
and set a date for a hearing.

(¢) Prior to such hearing the Superin-
tendent of Public Instruction may cause an
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investigation of the facts involved in such
charge to be made by a committee of profes-
sional educators. Such investigation must be
made if requested in writing by the teacher
or administrator involved. This committee
shall be composed of five professional edu-
cators, including at least two classroom
teachers, selected by the Superintendent of
Public Instruction. It shall be furnished
appropriate professional and other special
assistance reasonably required to conduct its
investigation, shall be empowered to subpena
and swear witnesses and shall report in writ-
ing its findings and recommendations to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction and to
the teacher or administrator involved.

(d) The hearing shall be private unless
the teacher or administrator involved re-
quests a public hearing. Minors shall not be
permitted to attend such hearing except as
witnesses duly subpenaed to testify with
respect to the charges made. The proceedings
shall be governed by such reasonable rules
and regulations as may be prescribed by the
State Board of Education, preserving to the
teacher or administrator involved the right
to be represented by counsel and present evi-
dence and argument. The evidence shall be
confined to the formal charges made.

(e) Within 10 days after the hearing the
Superintendent of Public Instruction shall
render his decision, taking into consideration
the findings and recommendations of the
committee of professional educators pro-
vided for above and the evidence presented
at the hearing. If such decision is that the
charge of immorality, intemperance, crime
against the law of this state, gross neglect
of duty or any gross unfitness has been
proven, then the superintendent may, in his
discretion, suspend or revoke the certificate
of the teacher or administrator involved. The
superintendent shall notify in writing the
teacher or administrator involved of such
decision.

(2) Without limiting the powers of the
Superintendent of Public Instruction to sus-
pend or revoke a certificate under subsection
(1) of this section, the Superintendent of Pub-
lic Instruction shall revoke any certificate re-
ferred to in ORS 342.005 or 342.105 when the
holder after August 20, 1957, has been con-
victed of :

(a) A violation of any law of this state or
any municipal ordinance of this state involv-
ing any sexual offense defined or referred to
in ORS 163.210, 163.220, 163.270, 167.005,

167.015, 167.020, 167.025, 167.030, 167.035,
167.040, 167.045, 167.105, 167.115, 167.120,
167.125, 167.130, 167.135, 167.145, 167.150,
167.165, 167.210, 167.230, 167.240; or

(b) A violation of any law of this state or
of the United States or any municipal ordi-
nance of this state involving the illegal use,
sale or possession of narcotics.

Certificates revoked under this subsection
shall not be subject to reinstatement.

(3) The Superintendent of Public Instruc-
tion may revoke any certificate referred to in
ORS 342.005 or 342.105 upon evidence that the
holder knowingly made any false statement in
the application for the certificate.

(4) Any person whose -certificate has
been suspended or revoked under subsection
(1) or (3) of this section may apply to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction for rein-
statement of his certificate after one year

from the date of such revocation.
[Formerly 342.070]

342.180 Appeal to state board after sus-
pension or revocation. Any person whose
certificate has been suspended or revoked un-
der ORS 342.175 or who has been refused
reinstatement, and feels aggrieved at such
action, shall have the right to appeal from
such decision to the State Board of Education.
The appeal shall be filed within a period of 30
days after the date of notification of the deci-
sion of the Superintendent of Public Instruc-
tion. An appeal made under this section in a
proceeding to suspend or revoke shall operate
as a stay of such suspension or revocation un-
til the next meeting of the State Board of Edu-
cation, at which meeting the appeal shall be
decided. The State Board of Education may
affirm, reverse or modify the decision of the
Superintendent of Public Instruction, and
shall notify in writing the superintendent and

the person involved of its decision.
[Formerly 342.075]

342.185 Appeal from state board to
court. Any person whose certificate has
been suspended or revoked or who has been
refused reinstatement, and feels aggrieved at
such action, shall have the right to appeal
from the decision of the State Board of Educa-
tion under ORS 342.180 to the circuit court
for the county in which such person resides.
The appeal shall be filed within a period of 30
days after the date of notification of the deci-
sion of the State Board of Education. An ap-
peal made under this section in a proceeding to
suspend or revoke shall operate as a stay of
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such suspension or revocation until the deter-
mination of the appeal. The appeal shall be
governed by the practice in suits in equity.
The appeal may be carried from the circuit

court to the Supreme Court.
(1961 ¢.677 §31

342.190 ORS 183.310 to 183.510 not ap-
plicable to proceedings for revocation or sus-
pension. ORS 183.310 to 183.510 do not
apply to proceedings under ORS 342.175,
342.180 and 342.185.

[1961 c.677 §4]

842.195 and 842.200 [Reserved for expansion}

TEACHERS’ TENURE

842205 ORS 342.205 to 342.330 as
Teachers’ Tenure Law. ORS 342.205 to
342.330 shall be known as the Teachers’
Tenure Law.

342.210 Definitions for ORS 342.205 to
842.330. As used in ORS 342.205 to 342.330:

(1) “Teacher” or “teachers” includes all
supervisors, principals, vice principals, direc-
tors of departments and instructors em-
ployed by any school district to which the
Teachers’ Tenure Law is applicable.

(2) “Permanent teachers” includes all
teachers who have been regularly appointed
and employed by any such school district for
not less than three successive school years
prior to July 1, 1960, or who have, after July
1, 1960, completed three successive school
years of employment by any such school dis-
trict, whether such years commence before
or after that date, and have been re-elected
after the completion of the three years for
the next succeeding school year.

(3) “Probationary teachers” includes all
teachers, other than substitute teachers and
temporary teachers, regularly appointed and
employed by the school board during a pro-
bationary period of not exceeding three suc-
cessive school years.

(4) “Substitute teachers” are teachers
who are employed to take the place of pro-
bationary or permanent teachers who are
temporarily absent by reason of illness or
other authorized absence.

(5) “Temporary teachers” are teachers
who are employed to fill positions designated
as temporary or experimental or to fill va-
cancies which occur after the opening of
school because of unanticipated enrollments
or because of the death, disability, retire-
ment, resignation or dismissal of permanent

teachers or probationary teachers.
{ Amended by 1955 ¢.281 §1; 1959 c¢.433 §11]

342.215 [Repealed by 1957 ¢.591 §1]

342.216 Teachers’ Tenure Law in dis-
tricts having 4,500 students. (1) Whenever
the average daily attendance of any school
district shall exceed 4,500 students, the provi-
sions of ORS 342.205 to 342.330 shall become
effective in the district at the commencement
of the next succeeding school year provided
that the provisions of ORS 342.205 to 342.330
shall continue to apply in any district where
tenure has been put into effect prior to Sep-
tember1, 1958.

(2) Teachers who have been employed by
such school district at least 75 percent of the
number of days that the regular schools of
such district have been maintained during
the three school years immediately preced-
ing the effective date and are reemployed for
the school year commencing with the effective
date shall be classified as permanent teachers.

(3) Teachers who have been employed by
the school district at least 75 percent of the
number of days that the regular schools of
the district have been maintained for less
than the three school years immediately pre-
ceding the effective date and are reemployed
for the school year commencing with the ef-
fective date shall enjoy the rights of proba-
tionary teachers for the number of immedi-
ately preceding school years which they have

completed.
[1657 ¢.590 §2]

342.218 Teachers’ Tenure Law in admin-
istrative school districts. (1) Whenever an
administrative school district is formed pur-
suant to ORS 330.505 to 330.780 from districts
in which the average daily attendance in the
most populous district is less than 4,500 stu-
dents, and in its first year of operation the
average daily attendance of the administra-
tive school district exceeds 4,500 students, the
provisions of ORS 342.205 to 342.330 shall be-
come effective in the administrative school
district at the commencement of its second
year of operation.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (3),
teachers who are employed by the administra-
tive school district at least 75 percent of the
number of days its schools are in session dur-
ing its first year of operation and are reelected
shall enjoy the rights of second-year proba-
tionary teachers in the administrative school
district at the commencement of its second
year of operation.
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(3) Teachers described in subsection (2)
who during the immediately preceding school
year were employed by a district from which
the administrative school district is formed at
least 75 percent of the number of days its
schools were in session shall enjoy the rights
of third-year probationary teachers in the ad-
ministrative school district at the commence-
ment of its second year of operation.

(4) This section shall apply to any admin-
istrative school district which completes its

first year of operation after March 10, 1961.
[1961 c.69 §§2, 3]

342.220 Authority of board to employ,
remove, transfer, classify and fix salaries of
teachers. The district school board of any
school district in which the Teachers’ Tenure
Law is applicable may appoint, employ, clas-
sify and fix the compensation of all teachers
employed, or to be employed, by said dis-
trict; and, in the manner provided in ORS
342.230 to 342.330, and in that manner only,
may appoint, employ, retire, dismiss, remove,
transfer or demote any such teacher.
[Amended by 1957 ¢.591 §2]

842.225 Teacher classification. The dis-
trict school board of any school district in
which the Teachers’ Tenure Law is appli-
cable shall classify its teachers as follows:

(1) Administrative and supervisory em-
ployes, exclusive of superintendents of
schools, deputy superintendents of schools
and assistant superintendents of schools.

(2) Secondary school teachers.

(3) Elementary school teachers.

(4) Special teachers.
[Amended by 1957 ¢.591 §3]

842.230 Probationary teachers; dis-
charge, transfer or demotion. (1) The dis-
trict school board of any school district in
which the Teachers’ Tenure Law is applica-
ble may discharge or remove any probation-
ary teacher in its employ, at any time during
this probationary period for any cause
deemed sufficient by the board.

(2) Transfer or demotion of any proba-
tionary teacher may be made at any time
by the board when deemed for the good of
the service, but in the event of friction be-
tween any such teacher and his principal,
the board shall grant the teacher the privi-
lege of serving under another principal be-
fore taking any formal adverse action.

(3) The board may, when it deems such
action for the good of the service, refuse to

renew the contract of any probationary
teacher, or re-employ any such teacher when
not under contract, but such teacher shall be
entitled to at least 10 weeks’ notice of the
intended board action before expiration of
his contract or before the end of the school

year, whichever occurs earlier.
[Amended by 1957 c¢.591 §4]

342235 Probationary teachers; perma-
nent classification. Every probationary
teacher who has been employed in the schools
in any school district or districts in which the
Teachers’ Tenure Law is applicable as a reg-
ularly appointed teacher for three successive
school years and is re-elected for such next
succeeding school year shall, at the com-
mencement of the succeeding school year, be

classified and become a permanent teacher.
[Amended by 1959 c.433 §2]

342.240 Probationary teachers in armed
services. Probationary teachers who have
entered any of the armed services of the
United States, whether by voluntary enlist-
ment or by conscription, shall accumulate
teaching credit as probationary teachers dur-
ing such term of service to the same extent
as if actually present and performing the
duties of a probationary teacher, but no such
teacher shall be placed upon the permanent-
ly employed list until he has served as a pro-
bationary teacher for not less than two suc-
cessive school semesters after honorable dis-
charge from the armed service.

842.245 Permanent teachers not subject
to annual appointment; temporary suspen-
sion. Permanent teachers shall not be sub-
Jjected to the requirement of annual appoint-
ment, but shall continue to serve until re-
tired, dismissed or discharged as provided in
ORS 342.265 to 342.330 except that such
teachers shall at all times be subject to tem-
porary suspension under such reasonable
rules and regulations as may be prescribed
by the board.

342.250 Transfer of permanent teach-
ers. The school board may transfer any per-
manent teacher from his position in any
branch of the service, as classified in ORS
342.225, to another position in the same
branch of the service but no such teacher
who has served three years or more in a po-
sition in the branch of the service classified
as ‘“administrative and supervisory em-
ployes” or who has served two years or
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more in a position in any other branch of the
service shall be transferred from such posi-
tion to a lower paying position or to another
branch of the service without his consent or
without a hearing as provided in ORS
342.275 to 342.330. No such transfer shall
operate to remove a teacher from the list of
permanently employed teachers or to reduce
a teacher’s placement in the salary schedule

in terms of training or experience.
[Amended by 1957 ¢.211 §1]

342252 Substitute and temporary
teachers. Substitute teachers and temporary

teachers shall not be subject to the provi-

sions of ORS 342.230 to 342.330 or 342.635.
[1955 c.281 §3]

342.255 Filing complaints against teach-
er. All charges or complaints against a
teacher must be reduced to writing, signed
by the complainants and filed in the office
of the district superintendent of schools. All
such complaints shall remain open to inspec-
tion by the teacher concerned.

342.260 Record of complaints concern-
ing teacher. There shall be maintained in the
office of the district superintendent a record
of complaints, commendations and criticisms
that have been made from time to time as to
each teacher, the teacher’s denials or ex-
planations relating thereto and any sugges-
tions for correction and improvement made
to such teacher by the administration. Upon
any hearing provided for in ORS 342.250 to
342.330, such record shall be taken into con-
sideration by the board along with other evi-
dence in the case.

842.265 Causes for dismissal of perma-
nent teacher. No permanent teacher shall be
dismissed except for inefficiency, unbecom-
ing conduct, insubordination, neglect of duty
or failure to comply with such reasonable re-
quirements of the school board as may be
prescribed to show normal improvement
and evidence of professional training and
growth. :

842270 Recommendation of superin-
tendent for dismissal, transfer or demotion
of teacher; effect of charges filed by 10 or
more families. (1) Recommendations by the
district superintendent for dismissal, trans-
fer or demotion of a teacher must be in writ-
ing, and filed with the district school board
not later than 10 wecks before the end of the
school year. The recommendations shall dis-

close whether made upon the superintend-
ent’s own motion, or as the result of written
charges or complaints on file in his office,
and shall set forth the grounds or charges
upon which the recommendations are based.

(2) If the superintendent, after written
charges against a teacher have been filed in
his office by not less than 10 persons repre-
senting not less than 10 different families,
refuses or fails to bring them to the atten-
tion of the board and make recommenda-
tions in the matter, the persons filing such
charges may, after due notice to the super-
intendent, present such charges or com-
plaints to the board, and the board shall
proceed to dispose of them in the same man-
ner as if such charges had been presented
by the superintendent.

342.275 Board action after filing of
superintendent’s recommendation for dis-
missal, transfer or demotion. When recom-
mendations for dismissal, transfer or demo-
tion of a permanent teacher are filed, the
district school board shall, within five days
from the date of receipt of same and before
any formal action is taken thereon, notify
the teacher concerned, in writing, and inclose
a copy of the recommendations and a state-
ment of charges upon which they are based.
If the teacher is unwilling to abide by such
recommendations, he shall, within five days
from the date of receipt of such notice, so
notify the board. In such case, the board
shall set a time and place for a hearing and
the teacher concerned shall be given at least
10 days’ notice as to such time and place.

342280 Conduct of hearings. The hear-
ing shall be private unless the teacher re-
quests a public hearing. Minors shall not be
permitted to attend such hearing except as
witnesses duly subpenaed to testify with re-
spect to charges. The proceedings shall be
governed by such reasonable rules and regu-
lations as may be prescribed by the board,
preserving to the teacher and the board the
right to employ counsel and present evidence
and argument. The evidence on both sides
shall be confined to the formal charges
made.

342285 Copy of charges for teacher.
In advance of the hearing provided for in
ORS 342.275, the teacher concerned shall be
provided with copies of any and all written
charges or complaints against him on file in
the superintendent’s office.
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342.290 Witnesses. (1) Upon the teach-
er’s request all complainants having filed
written charges or complaints shall be sub-
penaed by and at the expense of the district
school board, in order that they may be sub-
jected to examination, at the hearing by the
teacher or his attorney. Subpenas for wit-
nesses to testify either in support of the
charges or on behalf of the teacher shall, as
requested, be issued in blank by the board
over the signature of its chairman or clerk,
and such witnesses shall be entitled to re-
ceive the same mileage and per diem as wit-
nesses called in civil cases in the circuit
courts of the state, but the board shall not
be accountable for the witness fees of more
than 10 such witnesses so subpenaed on be-
half of the teacher.

(2) Witnesses so subpenaed shall be
compelled to appear and submit to examina-
tion and shall be subject to the same penal-
ties for perjury or contempt, respectively, as
are provided in ORS 33.020 and 162.120. All
witnesses shall testify under oath or af-
firmation to be administered by any board
member or clerk of the board.

842.295 Decision on evidence only. At
the conclusion of the hearing provided for
in ORS 342.275 the board shall render its
decision on the evidence submitted at such
hearing and not otherwise.

342.300 Findings and order; report of
proceedings. The findings and order of the
board shall be in writing and a copy shall be
served upon the teacher concerned. The
board shall employ a competent person to
report the full proceedings, which record
shall be available, without charge, for the
use of the teacher in the event he wishes to
apply to the courts for a writ of review or
to appeal to the teachers’ tenure commission,
but no transcript of the testimony taken be-
fore the board need be supplied if the teach-
er demands that the case be heard de novo
on appeal.

342.305 Dismissal of charges; appeal
procedure. Unless approved or upheld by a
majority of the members of the board, the
recommendations or charges shall be dis-
missed. Unless the recommendations or
charges are approved or upheld by all mem-
bers of the board, the teacher shall have 10
days in which to appeal to the teachers’ ten-
ure commission. If the teacher concerned
applies to the courts for a writ of review,

such action shall operate as a waiver of the
teacher’s right to appeal to the commission.
An appeal to the commission may be taken
by filing notice thereof with the clerk of the
school board, which notice shall state wheth-
er such appeal is to be heard de novo or upon
the record made before the board.

342.310 Teachers’ tenure commission;
appointment; term and compensation. On
the first Tuesday after the first Monday in
January in each year, there shall be ap-
pointed in each school district in the state
having 20,000 or more persons, three com-
petent and disinterested citizens of the
United States, residents of the State of Ore-
gon and county in which the district is lo-
cated, to act as a teachers’ tenure commis-
sion. The Superintendent of Public Instruc-
tion, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
and the chairman of the State Board of
Higher Education shall each appoint one
such commissioner. Each member of the
commission shall serve without pay, for one
year and until his successor is appointed
and qualifies. The appointments and accept-
ance thereof shall be in writing, and copies
shall be filed by the Superintendent of Pub-
lic Instruction in the office of the clerk of
the school district concerned.

342.315 Commission organization; va-
cancies. The teachers’ tenure commission
shall, immediately after notification that an
appeal has been taken, meet and organize
through the selection of a chairman and a
secretary. The secretary need not be a mem-
ber of the commission but shall serve with-
out pay. In case of a vacancy in the office
of any commissioner the officer who ap-
pointed such commissioner originally shall
fill the vacancy by appointment, and the
appointee shall serve for the unexpired term
of his predecessor.

342.320 Commission powers and duties;
expenses; decisions and orders. The teach-
ers’ tenure commission shall formulate rules
of procedure which shall govern its proceed-
ings. In case of an appeal from an order or
decision of a school board, it may determine
the matter on a review of the record, as
certified by the clerk of the school board, or
in the event that three directors of a board
of seven or two directors of a board of five
dissented from the decision of the school
board, the commission may, upon demand
of the teacher concerned, hear the matter
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de novo, and to this end shall have power to
subpena and swear witnesses and receive
and consider competent evidence and per-
form such other acts as will enable it to
render a just judgment in the case. The
necessary and actual expenses of the com-
mission shall be paid by the school district
concerned, and upon itemized vouchers ap-
proved by the commission. The decision of
a majority of any such commission shall
stand as the decision and order of the com-
mission. The decisions or orders shall be in
writing, filed with the clerk of the school
board concerned, and spread upon the min-
utes of said board.

342.325 Rights of teachers in merged
districts. Whenever any school district is
merged into any other district of the same
or a different class, the teachers in the dis-
trict that loses its identity through such
merger shall enjoy the rights of probation-
ary teachers who have completed one year’s
service in the enlarged district.

342.330 Compulsory retirement; retired
teacher as substitute. (1) Except as pro-
vided in subsection (2) of this section, not-
withstanding the provisions of ORS 342.205
to 342.325, a teacher shall be retired on July
1 next following the date on which he
reaches the age of 65.

(2) Upon written recommendation of the
administrative head of his employer that
continued service on the teacher’s part is in
the public interest and upon approval of the
district school board, a teacher may be con-
tinued in service for successive periods of
one year each after reaching the compulsory
retirement age.

(3) Nothing in this section shall be con-
strued to prevent a school district from em-
ploying a retired teacher for not more than
600 hours in any calendar year as a substi-
tute teacher. -
[Amended by 1953 ¢.638 §2; 1959 ¢.400 §4]

842.335 to 842.500 [Reserved for expansion]

GENERAL PROVISIONS

342.505 Hiring of teachers. (1) Except
as provided in subsection (4) of this section,
the district school board, at a general or
special meeting called for that purpose, shall
hire teachers and shall make contracts with
such teachers which shall specify the wages,
number of months to be taught and time
employment is to begin, as agreed upon by

1

the parties, and shall file such contracts in
the office of the district clerk. If, however, the
contract is for a term longer than one year,
the method by which the wages are to be ar-
rived at during the term of the contract may
be specified.

(2) Unless otherwise provided in the
teacher’s contract, it shall be understood
that the branches provided for in the state
course for the first eight grades shall be
taught.

(3) Except as provided in subsection 4)
of this section, when a teacher is hired at a
regular meeting and such action is spread
upon the minutes, any contract signed after-
ward in conformity therewith by the chair-
man, clerk and teacher shall be binding upon
all parties.

_(4) No hiring or written contract of any
teacher is valid unless the teacher, on or
pefore the date employment is to begin,
holds a certificate issued in accordance with
ORS 342.005 to 342.100, 342.175, 342.180 and
342.602, and the certificate has been regis-

tered in accordance with ORS 342.600.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.219 §1; 1961 c.383 §11]

342.508 Contracts in districts not sub-
ject to Teachers’ Tenure Law but having
average daily membership over 800 pupils.
(1) In any school district which is not sub-
ject to the provisions of ORS 342205 to
342.330 but which has an average daily
membership in excess of 800 pupils, a teacher
or administrator who has been regularly ap-
pointed and employed by the school district
for the last preceding three successive school
years shall be issued by March 15 of the
third year a three-year contract if the school
board determines to rehire the teacher or
administrator. If the school board deter-
mines to rehire the teacher or administrator
at the termination of any three-year con-
tract made pursuant to this section, the con-
tract shall be renewed by March 15 of the
year of termination for an additional three-
year period.

(2) Each district school board of the
school districts referred to in subsection (1)
of this section shall give notice in writing,
by March 15 of the year the contract with
the teacher or administrator described in
subsection (1) of this section terminates, to
the teacher or administrator of his election
for a three-year period or of his dismissal.
If dismissed, the notice of dismissal and the
reasons therefor shall be given in the same
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manner as prescribed by ORS 342.635. If
the school board fails to give such notice by
March 15 of election for a three-year period
or dismissal, the teacher or administrator,
if he notifies the board by April 1 of his ac-
ceptance of the position for the following
school year, shall be deemed elected for the
following school year at a salary not less
than the annual salary he is then receiving,
The teacher or administrator may bring an
action of mandamus to compel the school
board to issue such a one-year contract for
the following year.

(3) When a school district covered under
subsection (1) of this section consolidates
with one or more other school districts or
annexes one or more school districts or other
territory and if the newly consolidated or
enlarged school district is not subject to_the
provisions of ORS 342.205 to 342.330, the
teachers or administrators covered under
subsection (1) of this section prior to the
consolidation or annexation shall continue to
be covered as if there had been no consoli-
dation or annexation. All other teachers or
administrators employed by the newly con-
solidated or enlarged school district shall be
entitled to count their prior continuous serv-
ice, but not for any year beyond the last
preceding two years, as a public school
teacher or administrator in the territory of
the newly consolidated or enlarged school
district toward satisfying the three-year re-
quirement under subsection (1) of this sec-
tion.

(4) Nothing in this section shall prevent
a school board from contracting with a
teacher or administrator described in sub-
section (1) of this section for a shorter pe-
riod than three years if the teacher or ad-
ministrator so requests.
[1957 c.446 §1]

342.510 Interchange of teachers. A dis-
trict school board may provide for the inter-
change of teachers with school districts of
other states or countries. Teachers exchanged
shall teach but one year, the year’s service
outside the state being credited to them as
teaching in the district in which they are
regularly employed when the interchange is
made. The salary of the Oregon teacher shall
be paid by the Oregon school district and
the salaries of the teachers outside of Ore-
gon exchanged to teach in this state shall be
paid by the school districts in their respec-
tive states or countries.

342.515 Employment of relatives as
teachers. No contract shall be made with
any teacher who is related by blood or mar-
riage within the third degree to any mem-
ber of the school board without the concur-
rence of all the board members, by a vote
duly entered on the clerk’s records of pro-
ceedings.

342.520 Discrimination on account of
sex or blindness forbidden. In the employ-
ment of public school teachers, district school
boards shall not discriminate:

(1) Between male and female teachers.
For the same and like service school boards
shall pay female teachers the same or like
compensation paid to male teachers, taking
into consideration the years of successful
teaching experience in the districts where
the teachers are employed.

(2) Against blind teachers having all

other qualifications required of a teacher.
[Amended by 1959 ¢.361 §1]

342.525 Contracts with teachers for re-
turn of part of salary prohibited. No district
shall enter into a contract with any teacher
whereby the teacher shall return to the dis-
trict either directly or indirectly any part
of the county school tax, or the Common
School Fund apportioned to the district. If
any board and teacher enter into such con-
tract, the contract shall be void in whole,
and the teacher’s certificate shall be revoked
by the State Board of Education.

342.530 Dismissal of teachers. The dis-
trict school board shall dismiss teachers only
for good cause shown. In case the board
passes an order to dismiss, the material
reason therefor shall be spread upon the
record ‘by the district clerk.

342,535 Appeal from dismissal. If a
teacher is unjustly dismissed, he may take
an appeal from the action of the board in
dismissing him to the county superintendent
and thence to the Superintendent of Public
Instruction, but for a breach of contract of
teaching the teacher or the district shall
have their ordinary legal remedies.

342.540 Teacher’s right to notice, hear-
ing and counsel. In the trial of a teacher,
when it is sought to dismiss him under ORS
342.530 and 342.535, the board, the county
superintendent or the Superintendent of
Public Instruction, as the case may be, shall
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give the teacher due and legal notice of the
charges against him and an opportunity to
be heard in his own defense in person or
by attorney.

342.545 [Reserved for expansion]

342.550 Payment of school employes;
payment for contracted services. The district
school board may authorize the chairman
and clerk to draw warrants for the payment
of the salaries of teachers, clerks, stenogra-
phers, janitors, cooks, bus drivers and other
regularly contracted services at the end of
each school month, upon proper evidence
that the service has been performed; pro-
vided that all teachers must hold legal cer-
tificates which must cover the entire time
of the teacher’s service and must specify all
the branches taught. Such certificate can
neither directly or indirectly be made to le-
galize another teacher’s services.

842.555 Payment for teacher’s last
month of employment. (1) A district school
board shall not pay the teacher’s salary for
the last month of employment until the reg-
ister has been submitted to the chairman
of the board, the chairman has found it
properly kept and has entered a certificate
to that effect upon the register.

(2) The clerk shall refuse to draw an
order for the teacher’s wages for the last
month until the teacher’s register, copy of
program, classification of pupils, where each
class began and closed in the state course
of study and such other data as may be re-
quired by the State Board of Education or
the county superintendent, have been exam-
ined, approved by the clerk and filed in his
office.

842.560 “Training school” defined for
ORS 342.560 to 342.575. As used in ORS
342.560 to 342.575, “training school” means
a school in which the pupils are taught
either wholly or in part by students of a:

(1) State normal school.

(2) Standard teacher training institu-
tion approved by the State Board of Educa-

tion under ORS 342.090 to 342.100.
[ Amended by 1955 ¢.618 §11]

842.565 Public schools as training
schools. Any district school board may at its
discretion authorize the use of all or any
part of the public schools under its juris-
diction for training school purposes, and for

this purpose may enter into a contract with
the Department of Higher Education upon
such terms as may be mutually agreed upon.

842.570 Where training school may be
taught. When a public school is used for
training school purposes, it may be taught in
a building not situated on the school site
provided by law for such public school. The
site upon which such building stands shall,
during such time, be deemed the legal school
site for such school.

842.575 Student teacher; authority to
teach; contract requirements and effect. 1)
Any student of a state normal school, or of
a standard teacher training institution ap-
proved by the State Board of Education un-
der ORS 342.090 to 342.100, who is assigned
to teach in a training school hereby is
vested with full authority to teach dur-
ing the time such student is so assigned,
and such assignment shall have the same
effect in all respects as if such student were
the holder of a valid teacher’s certificate.

(2) Any contract entered into by the
district school board and the Department of
Higher Education shall in all other respects
have the same effect and be subject to the
same requirements as a contract between a

teacher and a school district board.
[ Amended by 1955 ¢.618 §2]

842.580 General duties of teacher. When
in charge of a school or class, as applicable,
a teacher shall:

(1) Maintain order and conduct himself
before the pupils in such a manner as to
command their respect.

(2) Except when a different or lesser
number of hours has been ordered by the
district school board, commence school at
9 am. and close at 4 p.m. daily with one
hour for recreation at noon.

(3) Labor during school hours to ad-
vance pupils in their studies and to create
in their minds a desire for knowledge, prin-
ciple, morality, politeness, cleanliness and
the preservation of physical health.

(4) Give vigilant attention to school-
room temperature and ventilation, and see
that both are maintained at proper levels.

(5) Encourage healthful play at recess
and strictly prohibit all dangerous or im-
moral games and amusements.

(6) Follow the prescribed course of
study.
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842.585 Teacher’s register. Teachers
shall keep a register showing the names, sex
and daily attendance of all pupils attending
their classes, copies of their programs, clas-
sification of their pupils, the point in the
state course of study where each class began
and closed and such other data as the State
Board of Education may require. The teacher
shall file the register with the district school
clerk at the end of the school term; or, if he
leaves before the end of the school term, at
the time of leaving.

842.590 Final report of teacher. Each
teacher leaving a school before the close of
the school year shall, at the time of leaving,
submit a school report to the county school
superintendent for all that portion of the
school year from the beginning thereof to
the time of the teacher’s leaving. The
teacher shall file a duplicate of this report
with the district school clerk at the time the
register is surrendered.

342.595 Sick leave for teachers. (1) As
used in this section:

(a) “Sick leave” means absence from
duty because of a teacher’s illness or injury.

(b) “Teacher” includes any person for
whom a certificate is required as a basis for
employment in a public school.

(2) Each school district shall allow each
teacher at least 10 days’ sick leave at full
pay during each school year.

(3) At the option of the distriet school
board, sick leave in excess of five consecu-
tive school days shall be allowed only upon
certificate of the teacher’s attending physi-
cian or practitioner that illness or injury
prevents the teacher from working.

(4) Sick leave not taken shall accumu-
late. Unless the district school board auth-
orizes a greater number, no teacher is en-
titled to more than 100 days of accumulated
sick leave with pay. A district school board
is not required to permit a teacher to take

sick leave accumulated in another district.
[Amended by 1953 ¢.392 §2; 1961 ¢.357 §1]

342.596 Sick leave for other school em-
ployes. (1) As used in this section:

(a) “School employe” includes all perma-
nent, full-time employes of a public school
district except employes covered by ORS
342.595.

(b) “Sick leave” means absence from
duty because of a school employe’s illness
or injury.

(2) Each school district shall allow each

school employe at least 10 days’ sick leave
at full pay for each year.

(3) At the option of the district school
board, sick leave in excess of five consecu-
tive work days shall be allowed only upon
certificate of the school employe’s attending
physician or practitioner that the illness or
injury prevents the school employe from
working.

(4) Sick leave not taken shall accumu-
late. Unless the district school board au-
thorizes a greater number, no school em-
ploye is entitled to more than 50 days of ac-
cumulated sick leave with pay. A district
school board is not required to permit a
school employe to take sick leave accumu-
lated in another district.

(5) This section does not apply to em-
ployes who are covered by ORS 242.310 to

242.640.
[1957 ¢.457 §1]

342.600 Registration of teacher’s and ad-
ministrator’s certificates, contracts and
health certificates. (1) Each school year the
county school superintendent shall require all
teachers and administrators employed in any
school district in his county to register in his
office their certificates, their contracts and
their health certificates prior to October 15 of
such year, or within six weeks of date of con-
tract when the contract is executed after the
opening date of school.

(2) If any teacher fails to register his
teaching certificate, contract or health cer-
tificate, as required by subsection (1) of this
section, the teacher shall forfeit to the school
district the full amount of salary for the time
taught after the designated date for registra-
tion and before the teaching certificate, con-
tract and health certificate are registered.

(3) The county school superintendent
shall notify the district clerk of the amount
of such forfeiture and shall deduct the
amount of the forfeiture from the next ap-
portionment due the school district. The re-
quirements of this section shall be enforced
only by the county school superintendent of
the county in which is situated the school

building in which the teacher is employed.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.101 §2; 1961 c.439 §12]

342.602 Registration of school em-
ploye’s health certificate. (1) No person
shall be employed by any school or school
district in any capacity that involves contact
with school children or the handling or prep-
aration of food for school children until he

174-b




TEACHERS AND OTHER SCHOOL EMPLOYES

§ 342.620

has registered, for the school year in which
it is to be used, a certificate of health show-
ing that he is free from communicable tu-
berculosis. The certificate of health shall be
a certificate issued by a duly licensed physi-
cian and countersigned by the county health
officer in the county in which the person is
to function as a school employe. The certifi-
cate of health shall be registered with the
county school superintendent in the county
in which the certificate holder is to function
as a school employe.

(2) The State Board of Health may
adopt and promulgate regulations governing
the type of examination to be given to ascer-
tain whether or not such person is free from
communicable tuberculosis. The State De-
partment of Education shall furnish the re-

quired certificate blanks.
[Formerly 342.065]

842.605 Examination of contracts; ef-
fect of failure to pay minimum salary. The
county school superintendent shall examine
the teachers’ contracts filed with him as re-
quired by ORS 342.600. If he finds that a
contract provides for payment of a salary
less than the minimum specified in ORS
342.610 for the teacher concerned, he shall
forthwith notify the school board in writing
to correct the contract so as to conform to
the legal requirements. If the board does
not make a contract in accordance with ORS
342,610, the county school superintendent
shall withhold from the district its propor-
tion of the county school fund for the cur-
rent year, and the members of the school
board signing a contract with anyone to
teach for full time in the public school at a
salary less than the minimum specified 1n
ORS 342.610 shall be personally liable for
the amount set forth in the contract.

842.610 Minimum salary for teachers.
(1) No distriet school board shall pay a cer-
tificated teacher having less than a bache-
lor's degree preparation and teaching in a
public school under the jurisdiction of such
board a salary of less than $3,400 for a
school year of nine and one-half months, or
less than a proportionate amount of $3,400
for any period of service less than a school
year of nine and one-half months.

(2) No district school board shall pay
a certificated teacher having a bachelor’s
degree and teaching in a public school under
the jurisdiction of such board a salary of
less than $3,700 for a school year of nine

and one-half months, or less than a propor-
tionate amount of $3,700 for any period of
service less than a school year of nine and
one-half months.

(3) No district school board shall pay a
certificated teacher having a master’s degree
and teaching in a public school under the
jurisdiction of such board a salary of less
than $4,000 for a school year of nine and
one-half months, or less than a proportion-
ate amount of $4,000 for any period of serv-
ice less than a school year of nine and one-
half months.

(4) The provisions of subsections (1) to
(3) of thig section do not apply to substi-
tute teachers employed on a day to day basis,
except that no such substitute teacher shall
be paid less than $18 per day having a bach-
elor’s degree or less, or paid less than $20
per day having a master’s degree.

(5) In training schools as defined in
ORS 342.560, the aggregate salary of teach-
ers shall not be less than the minimum es-
tablished, but the district school board and
Department of Higher Education may agree
on the proportion of the total salary to be

paid by each under ORS 342.565.
[ Amended by 1955 ¢.130 §1; 1957 c.262 §11

842.615 Oath of allegiance of public
school teachers. Any person entering into a
contract to teach in the public schools of the
state shall, as a part of the contract, sub-
scribe to the following oath or affirmation:

“T solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will
support the Constitution of the State of
Oregon * * * and the laws enacted there-
under, and that I will teach, by precept and
example, respect for the flags of the United
Qtates and of the State of Oregon; * * *
reverence for law and order and undivided
allegiance to the Government of our country,
the United States of America.”

The oath or affirmation, duly signed, shall
be filed in the office of the examiner issuing
the certificate and a copy shall be given to
the applicant.

842.620 Oath of allegiance of other
teachers. With the exception of exchange
professors or teachers whose term of service
is temporary and who do not become perma-
nent residents of the United States, every
teacher employed in a private or parochial
school or in any academy, college, university
or other institution of learning shall, before
entering upon the discharge of his duties,
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take the same oath or affirmation of alle-
giance as that prescribed for public school
teachers in ORS 342.615. The oath or affir-
mation shall be taken and subscribed to
before some officer authorized by the state
to administer oaths. A copy of the oath or
affirmation shall be filed with the officer
or board in charge of such school or other
institution of learning.

342.625 Duty of school authorities con-
cerning oath of allegiance. No person in
charge of any public, private or parochial
school, or any academy, college, university
or other institution of learning shall allow
or permit any teacher to enter upon the dis-
charge of his duties, or to give instruction
therein unless such teacher has taken and
subscribed to the oath or affirmation of al-
legiance required by ORS 342.615 or 342.620.

342.630 Home teachers. District school
boards may employ teachers to be known as
“home teachers,” not exceeding one such
home teacher for every 500 units of average
daily attendance in the common schools of
the district, as shown by the report of the
county school superintendent for the next
preceding school year. Home teachers shall
work in the homes of the pupils, instructing
children and adults in matters relating to
school attendance and preparation therefor;
also in sanitation, in the English language,
in household duties, such as purchase, prepa-
ration and use of food and of clothing and
in the fundamental principles of the Ameri-
can system of government and the rights
and duties of citizenship. The qualifications
of home teachers shall be a regular kinder-
garten, primary, elementary or secondary
certificate to teach in the schools of Oregon
and special fitness to perform the duties of
a home teacher. The salaries of such teach-
ers shall be paid from the district school
funds.

342.635 FElection or dismissal of teacher
or administrator for following year. Each
district school board shall give notice in writ-
ing by March 15 of each year to all teachers
and administrators in their employ of election
or dismissal for the following school year. In
case the school board passes an order to dis-
miss, the material reason or reasong there-
for shall, at the request of the teacher or ad-
ministrator, be spread upon the records of
the school district by the district clerk who
shall furnish a copy of the same to the
teacher or administrator. If any school

board fails to give such notice by March 15,
the teacher or administrator will be deemed
to have been elected for the following school
year at a salary not less than that he is then
receiving, and may bring an action of man-
damus to compel the school board to issue
such a contract for the following school
year. The provisions of this section shall be
noneffective unless teachers or administra-
tors notify the board in writing on or before
April 1 of acceptance or rejection of the po-

sition for the ensuing school year.
[Amended by 1957 ¢.443 §1]

342.640 Termination of teacher’s con-
tract. Sickness or other unavoidable circum-
stances which prevent the teacher from
teaching one month shall be sufficient
reason for the termination of the teacher’s
contract, by either party thereto without
penalty. A school board may release a
teacher from a contract by mutual agree-
ment. No school board may be required to
consider any resignation not in writing.

342.645 Resignation in violation of con-
tract. (1) Any teacher in the public schools
and any teacher who has entered into a valid
contract to teach in any public school, who
willingly violates the terms of his contract
for teaching by resigning his position as
teacher within 90 days before the time when
the term contracted to be taught begins or
at any time during the period for which he
has contracted to teach, shall have his cer-
tificate suspended by the authorities issuing
same upon due notice from the school board.

(2) Any teacher whose certificate has
been so suspended shall have the right of
appeal to the State Board of Education with-
in 20 days following the suspension. The
notice of appeal shall be in writing and sent
by registered letter, with return receipt re-
quested, to the State Board of Education.
The letter shall be served upon the state
board no later than one day following the 20
days period. The state board shall set the
appeal for hearing on a day fixed by it at
the earliest possible date therefor and shall
notify the teacher and school board con-
cerned. The decision of the state board shall
be final,

(3) If an appeal is made to the State
Board of Education, the suspension of the
teacher’s certificate shall be held in abeyance
until the decision of the board is reached.

(4) A teacher whose certificate is sus-
pended under the provisions of thig section
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shall be disqualified from teaching in the
public schools of this state for the remainder
of the school year.

(5) The State Board of Education shall
adopt rules and regulations governing the

appeal and hearing procedure.
[Amended by 1953 c.36 §2; 1959 c.441 §1]

842.650 Wearing of garb of religious
order prohibited. No teacher in any public
school shall wear in said school, and while
engaged in the performance of his duty, any
dress or garb of any religious order, sect
or denomination.

842.655 Action against teacher violat-
ing ORS 842.650. Any teacher violating the
provisions of ORS 342.650 shall be imme-
diately suspended from employment in the
schools of such district, and such teacher’s
certificate shall be revoked as provided by
law.

842.660 Duty of school directors con-
cerning ORS 342.650. (1) The district school
board of any public school district employ-
ing a teacher who violates ORS 342.650 shall
suspend such teacher from employment in
the schools of such district and take the
necessary action to have such teacher’s cer-
tificate revoked.

(2) No member of a district school
board shall fail to comply with subsection
(1) of this section.

842.665 Annual teachers’ county insti-
tutes. The county school superintendent
may hold annually a teachers’ county institute
for a term of not more than two days for the
instruction of teachers and those desiring to
teach. All teachers in the public schools of the
county, except teachers in first class school
districts in which local inservice programs are
held, shall be required to attend. The Superin-
tendent of Public Instruction shall set stand-
ards for such institutes and may, upon a writ-
ten complaint of the county superintendent,
revoke the certificate, or refuse to grant a cer-
tificate to any teacher who refuses to attend
the county institute without cause. The coun-
ty superintendent shall receive the assistance
and cooperation of the Superintendent of Pub-

lic Instruction in holding annual institutes.
[Amended by 1961 ¢.204 §1]

342.670 Teachers’ benefits for institute
attendance, Every teacher attending any an-
nual county institute held in accordance with
ORS 342.665 shall be given by the county su-

perintendent a certificate setting forth at
what sessions of the institute such teacher
was in attendance. Any teacher who closed
school for the term of the institute in order to
attend shall not forfeit wages as teacher
during such time as he was in attendance at
the institute. The certificate shall be evi-
dence of such attendance. If the institute is
held during the session of school, the direc- .
tors shall grant the required number of days
of actual service to their teachers to attend
the institute, during which time their pay as
teachers shall continue.

342.675 Local institutes. Each county
school superintendent shall organize and
hold annually at least three local institutes
or educational meetings in various parts of
his county at such times and places as he
may deem expedient. He shall secure at
these meetings, so far as practicable, the
attendance and cooperation of school offi-
cers, teachers and parents.

342.680 Institute expenses. All claims
for defraying the expenses of county and
local institutes shall be audited and paid as
are all other claims against the county. The
total amount paid by any county for each
fiscal year shall be $2 for each schoolroom
in operation in such county during such
year. If in any county this amount does not
equal the sum of $150 for each fiscal year
then the county court of such county shall
appropriate from the general fund of the
county for defraying the expenses of such
teachers’ institutes the sum of $150. The
total amounts allowed for claims for such
expenses in any county for teachers’ insti-
tutes shall not exceed $400 for each fiscal
year.

842.685 Joint annual institute. Two or
more counties may, at the discretion of their
respective county school superintendents,
unite for the purpose of holding a joint an-
nual institute at such place as may be agreed
upon by such superintendents, and all the
provisions of ORS 342.665 to 342.680 shall
apply to such joint institute.

342.690 to 342.985 [Reserved for expansion]

PENALTIES

342.990 Penalties. (1) Violation of ORS
342,625 is punishable, upon conviction, by a
fine of not more than $100.
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(2) Violation of subsection (2) of ORS 60 days, or both.
342.660 is punishable, upon conviction, by a (3) Violation of ORS 342.050, 342.055,
fine of not more than $100, or by imprison- 342,080, 342.205 to 342.330, 342.505 or
ment in the county jail for not more than 342.510 to 342.590 is a misdemeanor.,

CERTIFICATE OF LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL
Pursuant to ORS 173.170, I, Sam R. Haley, Legislative Counsel, do hereby certify that I have
compared each section printed in this chapter with the original section in the enrolled bill, and
that the sections in this chapter are correct copies of the enrolled sections, with the exception
of the changes in form permitted by ORS 173.160 and other changes specifically authorized by law.
Done at Salem, Oregon, Sam R. Haley
on December 1, 1961. Legislative Counsel
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