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§ 681.070

681.010 Definitions. As used in this
ch.apter, unless the context requires other-
wise:

(1) “Abortion” means the expulsion of
the foetus at a period of uterogestation so
early that it has not acquired the power
of sustaining an independent life. It shall
be conclusively presumed for the purpose
of this chapter that the foetus has not
acquired such power earlier than 150 days
after gestation, and a disputable presump-
tion of lack of such power shall arise if the
expulsion takes place earlier than 240 days
after gestation.

(2) “Board” means the Board of Medical
Examiners of the State of Oregon.

(3) “Fraud or misrepresentation” means:

(a) The intentional misrepresentation or
misstatement of a material fact.

(b) Concealment of or failure to make
known any material fact.

(¢) Any other means by which misinfor-
mation or a false impression is knowingly
given,

(4) “Manifestly incurable condition of
sickness, disease or injury” means one that
is declared so incurable by competent osteo-
pathic physicians and surgeons.

(5) “Unprofessional or dishonorable con-
duct” means conduct unbecoming a person
licensed to practice osteopathy and surgery
or detrimental to the best interests of the
public. [Amended by 1953 ¢.183 §4]

681.020 Licensing of osteopaths. The
holder of a certificate issued under this
chapter shall be entitled to use the words
“Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon” to
designate his profession, and hereby is
authorized to issue any certificate which
is authorized or required from any physician
or surgeon under the laws of this state, and
shall be privileged to use anesthetics and
antiseptics.

681.030 Persons and practices not
affected. This chapter shall not be construed
to interfere with or prevent the practice of
or use of massage, Swedish movement,
physical culture, neuropathy, chiropractic,
naturopathy, or other natural methods re-
quiring the use of the hand or hands, or the
practice of osteopathy and surgery by a duly
appointed member of the resident staff, or
by an intern while actually serving as such,
in any legally incorporated osteopathic hos-
pital in this state approved for such practice
by the American Osteopathic Association.

681.040 Qualifications of applicants for
examination. (1) Any person holding a di-
ploma from an established school of osteo-
pathy, recognized as of good standing by
the Oregon Osteopathic Association, and
wherein the course of study comprises at
least four years of eight months each, shall,
upon application and the presentation of
such diploma to the State Board of Medical
Examiners and satisfying the board that he
is the legal holder thereof, be granted by

"the board an examination in anatomy, physi-

ology, chemistry, surgery, bacteriology, hist-
ology, pathology, gynecology, obstetrics,
theory and practice of osteopathy and diag-
nosis.

(2) All applicants who graduate after
July 1, 1949, shall present evidence of having
completed an internship of at least one year
in a legally incorporated osteopathic hospital
which is approved for internship by the
American Osteopathic Association.

681.050 Examination fees. The fee for
the examination, which shall accompany the
application, shall be no less than $25 upon
the first application to take an examination
to practice and no less than $10 for any
subsequent application. The fee shall be paid
to the treasurer of the board and used by
the board as are the other fees received by it.

681.060 Conduct of examination; issu-
ance of certificates. (1) Except as other-
wise provided in this chapter, the examina-
tion shall be conducted in the same manner
as is prescribed by law for other examina-
tions by the board.

(2) After examination, if the same is
satisfactory, the board shall grant a license
to the applicant to practice osteopathy and
the science of healing as taught in the
branches and embraced in the subjects
covered by the examination in the State
of Oregon, which license can only be granted
by the consent of at least four members of
the board, except as provided in this chap-
ter, and the license shall be signed by the
president and secretary of the board and
attested by the seal thereof.

681.070 Certificate from national board
in lieu of state examination. The board
may, at its discretion, accept a certificate
of successful examination issued by the
National Board of Examiners of Osteopathic
Physicians and Surgeons in lieu of its own

_ examination.
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681.080 [Repealed by 1953 ¢.183 §4]

681.090 Reciprocity. (1) Subject to sub-
sections (2) and (3) of this section, in all
cases where an applicant for a license under
this chapter produeces and delivers to the
board a certificate from another board of
medical examiners appointed under the laws
of any state or territory of the United States,
which state or territory recognizes licenses
from this state, certlfymg to the fact that
the person presenting the certificate is ‘quly
and well qualified to practice osteopathy
and the science of healing as taught in the
branches and embraced in the subjects
covered by the examination in the state
issuing the certificate, and the board is-
suing the certificate has subjected the ap-
plicant to 'a thorough examination to as-
certain’ these facts, such apphcant may, at
the discretion of the examining board, upon
the payment of a fee of no less than $100
and otherwise complying with the require-
ments of the laws of this state, receive from
the board a license to the same effect and
in the same form as if the examination of
the applicant was had in ‘this state, and
shall thereupon be legally quahfied to prac-
tice osteopathy and the science of heahng as

_taught in the branches and embraced in the
subJects covered by the examination. .
“(2) All applicants who graduate after
~July 1, 1949, shall present evidence of having
completed' an internship of at least one year
in' a legally incorporated osteopathic hos-
pital which is approved for internship by the
- American Osteopathic Association.

(3) An applicant whose application is
based on a certificate issued by another state
or territory,.or by the National Board of
Examiners of Osteopathic Physicians and
Surgeons, five years-or more prior to the
filing of his application with the Oregon
board may, at the discretion of the board,
be required to take an oral examination, This
oral examination .shall be given by a com-
mittee of examiners consisting of two mem-
bers of the board, one of whom shall be the
osteopathic member, and a nonmember se-
lected by the board from a panel of osteo-
pathic physicians and surgeons licensed to
practice in this state recommended by the
Oregon Osteopathic Association, [Amended
by 1957 ¢.680 §1]

681.095 Filing copy of license with
county clerk; furnishing secretary of board
with lists of licenses filed; clerk of court to
notify secretary when licentiate convicted of

a crime. (1) Each person licensed to practice
osteopathy and surgery in this state shall
file his license or a copy thereof with the
county clerk in each county in which he car-
ries on a substantial portion of his practice.
The county clerk shall file the license or copy
thereof, and enter a memorandum thereof,
giving the date of the license, the name of
the person to whom it is issued and the date
of such filing, in a book to be prov1ded and
kept for that purpose. -

(2) The county clerk shall also, on or
before February 1 of each year, furnish to
the secretary of the State Board of Medical
Examiners a list of ‘all licenses filed in his
office during the preceding year, and upon
notice to him of the death of a person so li-
censed, or "of the' suspension or revocation
of the license granted to such person, the
county clerk shall enter at the .appropriate
place in the record kept by him a memoran-
dum of such facts, so that the record kept by
the county clerk corresponds with the re-
cords of the board as kept by the secretary.

(3) The absence of such record of any
license claimed tobe held by any person shall
be prima facie’ ev1dence that no such hcense
has been issued.

(4) The county clerk of any county shall

"upon request of the secretary of the State

Board of Medlcal Examiners furnish 'a com-
plete list jof Aall such licenses on file “in h1s
office. T

(5) In case any licentiate is convieted
of a crime, the clerk of the court in which
such conviction’ shall be had shall send to

‘the secretary of the State Board of Med1cal
"Examiners a -certified copy of such’ judg-

ment. [1953 c.45 §2; 1957 ¢.680 §2] -

681.100 Annual registration certificate.
(1) Every osteopathic physician and surgeon
now or hereafter licensed to practice in this
state shall apply for annual registration, and
register annually with the board and shall
pay to the board the same annual registra-
tion fee as is provided in ORS 677.150, for

.persons licensed to practice medicine and

surgery.

(2) The application shall be made: upon
a blank form, which form shall be mailed
to such persons by the -secretary of the
board not later than October 15 of each
year. .

(3) In the apphcatlon the apphca.nt shall
state his full name, his business and resi-
dence addresses, the date and number of
his license and such. other facts for the
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identification of the applicant and his license
as the board deems necessary.

(4) The application for annual registra-
tion shall be filed with the secretary of
the board on or before December 1 of each
year and shall be accompanied with the
annual registration fee.

(5) For good and sufficient reason the
board may waive the payment of the annual
registration fee for a reasonable time.

(6) On or before January 1 of each year
the secretary of the board shall mail to the
persons who have complied with this section
a certificate of annual registration, which
shall remain in effect no longer than Decem-
ber 31 of such year.

(7) Every osteopathic physician and
surgeon shall display the certificate or re-
ceipt in some conspicuous place in his office.
[Amended by 1953 c.46 §3]

681.110 Failure to procure annual cer-
tificate of registration. (1) Any osteopathic
physician and surgeon licensed to practice
in this state who fails or neglects to comply
with ORS 681.100 regarding annual regis-
tration shall be notified-by the secretary of
the board of his delinquency. If such person
fails or neglects-to apply for registration and
accompany his application with the required
registration fees and any penalties provided
for by this chapter within 30 days after
notice of such delinquency mailed by the
secretary of the board to his last known
address, the license of such person shall
automatically be revoked. .

(2) In addition to any other penalties
provided for by law, the board or the secre-
tary of the board may require that a delin-
quent licensee pay a penalty, not to exceed
$1 for each day he is delinquent, before
issuing an annual registration certificate.

(3) All moneys received by the secre-
tary from fees or penalties shall be dis-
bursed by him in carrying out and main-
taining the provisions of this chapter and
of ORS chapter 677, except as otherwise
provided by law, and the board may collect
such fees or penalties by law.

6381.120 Duty of practitioner on chang-
ing location; effect of absence from state.
(1) Any registered osteopathic physician and
surgeon who changes his location during the
period between any two annual registration
dates shall, before practicing in his new loca-
tion, notify the secretary of the board of the
change in his location. :

(2) Any osteopathic physician and sur-

geon who desires to begin to practice in this
state subsequent to January 1 in any year
shall, before beginning such practice, regis-
ter and pay the annual registration fee for
that year as provided in ORS 681.100.

(3) If any licensed osteopathic physician
and surgeon changes his residence to some
other state or country and later resumes his
residence in Oregon, his absence from the
state shall not affect the validity of his
license or registration if he notifies the board
of his change of residence during his ab-
sence from the state and, except for the time
served in the United States Armed Forces,
pays an inactive registration fee of $5 per
annum during such absence. Before resum-
ing practice in this state, he shall notify the
board of his intention to resume active prac-
tice and obtain a certificate of annual regis-
tration for the year he returns less the
inactive registration fee previously paid for
that year. No person is entitled to resume
active practice in this state if, in the judg-
ment of the board, the practitioner’s conduct
has been such, during his absence, that he
would be denied a license if applying for an
initial license to practice osteopathy and sur-
gery in this state. [Amended by 1953 c.46

3]

681.130 - Publication of registry list. On
or before March 1 of each year the secretary
of the board shall cause to be published a
list of persons to whom certificates of
annual registration have been issued. The
list shall be arranged alphabetically, and
also by cities and towns. The names which
are added to the registry list after it has
been printed and distributed shall be report-
ed quarterly to any person upon request.

681.140 Grounds for denial or revoca-
tion of licenses. (1) The board may refuse
to grant a license to any person or may
suspend or revoke a license for any of the
following reasons:

(a) Unprofessional or dishonorable con-
duct. ’

(b) The procuring or aiding or abetting
in procuring an abortion unless such is done
for the relief of a woman whose health
appears in peril because of her pregnant
condition and after due consultation with
another duly licensed osteopathic or medical
physician and surgeon who is not an asso-
ciate or relative of the osteopathic physician
and surgeon, and who agrees that an abor-
tion is necessary. The record of this consulta-
tion shall be in writing and shall be main-
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tained in the hospital where the consultation
occurred or in the offices of all the physi-
cians and surgeons participating in the con-
sultation for a period of at least three years
after the date of the abortion.

(c¢) The employing of what are popularly
known as “cappers” or “steerers.”

(d) Representing to a patient that a
manifestly incurable condition of sickness,
disease or injury can be permanently cured.

(e) The obtaining of any fee through
fraud or misrepresentation.

(f) The wilful betraying of a professional
secret.

(g) Conviction of any offense for which
the punishment may be incarceration in a
state penitentiary or in a federal prison. A
copy of the record of conviction, certified
to by the clerk of the court entering the
conviction, is conclusive evidence.

(h) Habitual or excessive use of intoxi-
cants or drugs.

(i) Mental illness as evidenced by an
adjudication or by voluntary commitment
to an institution for treatment of mental ill-
nesses or as determined by an examination
conducted by three impartial psychiatrists
retained by the board.

(j) Fraud or misrepresentation in apply-
ing for or procuring a license to practice
in this state, or in connection with applying
for or procuring an annual registration.

(k) Making false or misleading state-
ments regarding his skill or the efficacy or
value of his medicine, treatment or remedy
in the treatment of any disease or other
abnormal condition of the human body or
mind.

(L) Advertising in any manner, either
in his own name or under the name of
another person, or clinic, or concern, actual
or pretended, in any newspaper, pamphlet,
circular or other written or printed paper
or document, professional superiority to or
greater skill than that possessed by fellow
osteopathic physicians and surgeons, the
restoration of “lost manhood,” the treat-
ment of private diseases peculiar to men
or women, or the advertising or holding
himself out to the public in any manner as
a specialist in the diseases of the sexual
organs or the diseases caused by sexual
weakness, self-abuse or excessive indulgence.

(m) Advertising or holding oneself out
to treat diseases or other abnormal condi-
tions of the human body by any secret

formula, medicine, method, treatment or
procedure.

(n) The use of any advertising in which
untruthful, improper, misleading or decep-
tive statements are made.

(0) The advertising of any medicines or
any means whereby the monthly periods of
women can be regulated, or the menses re-
established if suppressed.

(p) The impersonation of another licens-
ed practitioner or permitting or allowing any
person to use his certificate in the practice
of any system or mode of treating the sick
or afflicted.

(q) Aiding or abetting the practice of
any of the healing arts by an unlicensed
person or persons, or aiding or abetting any
person who has a license to practice any of
the healing arts to employ any method of
diagnosis or treatment not within the scope
of his license.

(r) The use of his name under the
designation ‘Doctor” or “Dr.” or “D.0.”
or any similar designation with reference
to the commercial exploitation of any goods,
wares or merchandise.

(2) After the revocation of a license
the holder thereof shall not practice osteo-
pathy or obstetrics in the state. [Amended
by 1953 ¢.183 §4; 1957 c.680 §31]

681.143 Procedure for suspension or re-
vocation of licenses. Any proceeding for sus-
pension or revocation of a license to practice
osteopathy and surgery shall be substan-
tially in accord with the procedure set out
in ORS 677.200. [1957 c.162 §2]

681.146 Diciplinary action by board.
The board may discipline as provided in ORS
677.205 any person licensed by the board un-
der this chapter who has: -

(1) Admitted the facts of a complaint
filed in accordance with this chapter alleging
facts which establish that the licentiate is
guilty of violation of one or more of the
grounds for suspension or revocation of his
license as set forth in ORS 681.140; or

(2) Been found guilty in accordance with
ORS 677.200 of violation of one or more of
the grounds for suspension or revocation of
licenses as set forth in ORS 681.140, [1957
¢.681 §10]

681.150 Appeal from order of denial
or revocation. In case of the refusal or
revocation of a license by the board under
this chapter, the applicant whose applica-
tion is refused or the licentiate whose
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license is revoked shall have the same right
of appeal as is by ORS 677.210 conferred
under similar instances on other applicants
and licentiates.

681.155 Automatic suspension of li-
censes; termination of suspemnsion., (1) A
person’s license to practice osteopathy and
surgery in this state shall be suspended
automatically if:

(a) After August 20, 1957, he is ad-
judged to be mentally ill or admitted on a
voluntary basis to any state hospital which
treats or cares for the mentally ill; or

(b) On August 20, 1957, he is a patient
committed or admitted to any state hospital
which treats or cares for the mentally ill.

(2) The clerk of the court making the
order of commitment shall cause to be mailed
to the State Board of Medical Examiners, as
soon as possible, a certified copy of the court
order adjudging the person to be mentally
ill. The clerk shall also record such mem-
orandum as is required under ORS 681.095
in the case of a suspension of license by the
State Board of Medical Examiners. No fees
are chargeable by the clerk for performing
the duties prescribed by this subsection.

(3) The superintendent of the state hos-
pital to which a person licensed to practice
osteopathy and surgery in this state has vol-
untarily applied for admission shall cause to
be mailed to the State Board of Medical
Examiners, as soon as possible, a certified
copy of the record of the voluntary admis-
sion of such person. Upon receipt of the copy
of the record of voluntary admission by the
State Board of Medical Examiners, the sec-
retary of the board shall give notice of the
suspension resulting under subsection (1) of
this section to the appropriate county clerk
as in the case of a suspension of a license
by the board.

(4) A suspension under this section may
be terminated by the board; but the suspen-
sion shall continue and the board shall not
restore to the former practitioner the privi-
lege to practice in this state until:

(a) The board receives competent evi-
dence that the former practitioner is not
mentally ill; and

(b) The board is satisfied, with due re-
gard for the public interest, that the former
practitioner’s privilege to practice may be
safely restored. [1957 ¢.264 §2]

681,160 Appointment of osteopath to
Board of Medical Examiners, The Governor
shall appoint one person who is a reputable
practitioner of osteopathy, selected from a
number of not less than three who are
recommended by the State Osteopathic
Association, who shall be a member of the
State Board of Medical Examiners and shall
qualify in the same manner as other mem-
bers of the board. His term of office is five
years and he shall hold office until his
successor is duly appointed and qualified.

681.170
shall:

(1) Present to the Board of Medical
Examiners a fraudulent or false diploma, or
one of which he is not the rightful owner,
for the purpose of procuring a license under
this chapter.

(2) File or attempt to file with the clerk
of any county in the state the license of
another as his own.

(3) Falsely personate anyone to whom a
license has been granted by the board.

(4) Practice osteopathy or obstetrics in
the state without having first obtained the
license required by this chapter.

(5) Continue to practice osteopathy or
obstetrics after the revocation of his license.

6381.180 to 681.980 [Reserved for ex-
pansion]

681.990 Penalties. (1) Any practicing
osteopathic physician and surgeon required
by this chapter to procure a certificate of
annual registration who fails to procure such
certificate within 90 days after the date he
is required by this chapter to obtain the
certificate is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(2) Violation of ORS 681.170 is punish-
able, upon conviction, by a fine of not less
than $50 nor more than $100, or by imprison-
ment in the county jail not less than 10 days
nor more than 90 days, or by both.

Unlawful practices. No person
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