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725.010 Definitions. As used in this
chapter, unless the context requires other-
wise:

(1) “Licensee” means
licensed under this chapter.

(2) “Licensing official” means the Su-
perintendent of Banks.

v25.020 Short title. This chapter shall
be known as the Oregon Consumer Finance
Act. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §1]

725.025 Declaration of legislative in-
tent. It is the intent of the legislature in
enacting chapter 71, Oregon Laws 1955, to
consolidate the Small Loan Act, ORS chap-
ter 725 [1953 edition], and the Motor Ve-
hicle Finance Act, ORS chapter 727 [1953
edition], to provide uniformity in the busi-
ness of making loans or advancements in
the amount or value of $1,500 or less and
to eliminate the present duplication of l-
censes, records, reports and supervision.
[1955 c.71 §14]

725.026 Existing contracts not affected.
Nothing contained in chapter 71, Oregon
Laws 1955, shall be construed to impair or
affect the obligation of any contract law-
fully made prior to August 3, 1955, including
any lawful contract made by a licensee un-
der ORS chapter 725 [1953 edition] or ORS
chapter 727 [1953 edition]. [1955 c.71 §16]

%25.027 Licenses of persons licensed
under ORS chapter 725 or 727 on August 3,
1955, continued in force. (1) Any person li-
censed under and subject to ORS chapter
725 on August 3, 1955, is deemed to be li-
censed under and subject to ORS chapter
725 during the period from August 3, 1955,
to and including December 31, 1955. Any
person not licensed under and subject to
ORS chapter 725, but who holds a license
under ORS chapter 727 on August 3, 1955,
and who held such license on January 1,
1955, is deemed to be licensed finder and
subject to ORS chapter 725 during the pe-
riod from August 3, 1955, to and including
December 31, 1955. Only one license shall
be issued for each licensed office, irrespec-
tive of whether such office is licensed under
both ORS chapter 725 and ORS chapter 727
and irrespective of whether the two licenses
are held by different persons. The licensing
official shall charge no further fees for the
continuance of a license as provided in this
subsection. The licensing official shall inves-
tigate the facts and satisfy himself that this

every person

section entitles a person to a continuance
of a license.

(2) Any license in effect on December
31, 1955, under subsection (1) of this sec-
tion, shall be continued in force as long as
the standards are maintained under ORS
chapter 725, by payment of the required an-
nual license fee, and such license shall be
evidenced by a new certificate which shall
be a continuing license. [1955 c¢.71 §15]

v25.030 License required before making
certain loans; maximum loan amount. (1)
No person shall engage or continue in the
business of making loans in amounts of
$1,500 or less, secured or unsecured, for
which there is charged, contracted for or
directly or indirectly received any sum or
value at a rate in excess of 10 percent per
annum, except as authorized by this chapter
and without first procuring a license in
accordance with this chapter.

(2) The making of one loan in the
amount of $1,500 or less, by any person, se-
cured or unsecured, on which there is
charged, contracted for or directly or indi-
rectly received any sum or value at a rate in
excess of 10 percent per annum, shall con-
stitute engaging in the business, and shall
be deemed a violation of this chapter unless
such person first procures a license in ac-
cordance with this chapter.

(3) The aggregate amount which may
be loaned at a rate in excess of 10 percent
per annum to any one person by a licensee
under this chapter shall not exceed $1,500.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §2]

725.040 Construction of chapter. Noth-
ing in this chapter shall be construed or
held to limit the rights, powers or privileges
granted to any person by any law of this
state or of the United States whereby the
loaning of money or extending of credit is
regulated, provided that such person is
operating in compliance with the provisions
of such law.

725.050 Prohibited transactions. No li-
censee shall take:

(1) Any lien upon real estate as security
for any loan for which a greater rate of
interest or consideration than 10 percent
per annum is charged, contracted for or
received, except such lien as is created by
law upon the recording of a judgment.

(2) Any power of attorney from any
borrower, except a power of attorney to ef-
fectuate the transfer of the ownership of
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any motor vehicle at the time of making a
loan on a motor vehicle.

(3) Any note, promise to pay or pledge
of collateral which does not accurately dis-
close the actual amount of the loan, the
time for which it is made, the rate of inter-
est charged or the schedule of payments
agreed upon, or any instrument in which
blanks are left to be filled in after exe-
cution. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §3]

725.060 False advertising prohibited.
No licensee or other person shall advertise,
print, display, publish, distribute or broad-
cast or cause or permit to be advertised,
printed, displayed, published, distributed or
broadcast in any manner whatsoever any
statement or representation with regard to
the rates, terms or conditions for loans
which is false, misleading or deceptive.

725.070 to 725.100 [Reserved for expan-
sion]

¥25.110 Residence qualifications of li-
censees. No license shall be granted to any
person, partnership, association or corpo-
ration unless that person and all members
of any such partnership or association are
bona fide residents of this state and unless
such corporation is an Oregon corporation
in good standing or a foreign corporation
legally qualified to do business in this state.

725.120 Application for license; notice
of filing; annual fee. (1) Application for the
license shall be in writing in the form pre-
scribed by the licensing official and shall
contain the name and both the residence and
business addresses of the applicant, and if
the applicant is a partnership or association,
of every member thereof, and if a corpora-
tion, of each officer and director thereof.
The application shall also contain the county
and city or town with street and number, if
any, where the business is to be conducted
and any other information which the licens-
ing official may require.

(2) Notice of the filing of the applica-
tion shall be posted in the office of the
licensing official for 30 days and no license
shall be issued before the expiration of such
30-day period. However, the licensing official
in his discretion may waive the posting of
notice and issue a license without regard to
such 30-day period if the application is for a
license at a location where a license has been
surrendered because of:

(a) The transfer of the business of the

licensee, and the applicant is the transferee;
or

(b) The death of the licensee, and the
applicant is a representative or heir of the
licensee; or

(¢) The change of the name under which
the licensee does business, and the applicant
is the same licensee.

(3) Applicants at the time of making
application shall pay to the licensing official
for the State Banking Fund $150 as an
annual license fee for a period terminating
on the last day of the current calendar year.
However, if the application is filed after
June 30 in any year the license fee shall
be $75. In case the license is not issued
for cause or if the application is withdrawn
after the applicant has been investigated by
the licensing official, there shall be refunded
to the applicant all the license fee except
$50 which shall be retained by the licensing
official; otherwise no part of any license fee
shall be refunded. [Amended by 1955 c.71
§4]

725130 [Repealed by 1955 c.71 §17]

725.140 Issuance of license; conditions.
(1) Conditioned upon the applicant’s com-
pliance with this chapter and the payment
of the license fee, the licensing official with-
in 40 days after the date of filing the appli-
cation referred to in ORS 725.120, shall dis-
approve the application or shall issue and
deliver a license to the applicant to make
loans in accordance with this chapter at the
location specified in the application, which
license shall be a continuing license and need
not be issued annually, to remain in full force
and effect until it is surrendered by the li-
censee or revoked or suspended as provided
in ORS 725.230 and 725.250; provided the
licensing official finds upon investigation:

(a) That the financial responsibility,
experience, character and general fitness of
the applicant, and of the members thereof
if the applicant is a partnership or asso-
ciation, and of the officers and directors
thereof if the applicant is a corporation, are
such as to command the confidence of the
community and to warrant the belief that
the business will be operated honestly, fairly
and efficiently within the purposes of this
chapter.

,(b) That allowing the applicant to en-
gage in business will promote the conveni-
ence and advantage of the community in
which the business of the applicant is to be
conducted, and in the absence of any other
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reason or condition which in his judgment
would warrant the refusal to grant a license.

(2) The findings mentioned in para-
graphs (a) and (b) of subsection (1) of
this section are conditions precedent to
issuance of a license under this chapter.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §5]

725.150 Disapproval of applications;
appeal. If the application is denied, the licens-
ing official shall indorse thereon with the
date the word ‘Disapproved” and shall
immediately advise the applicant by regis-
tered mail of the reason therefor. The
applicant shall have the right of appeal
from the decision to the circuit court for
the county of the city or town mentioned
in the application. The appeal must be taken
within 30 days after date of mailing of the
notice of disapproval.

725.160 Form of license; posting; trans-
ferability. The license shall be in a form
prescribed by the licensing official and shall
state the address at which the business is
to be conducted and the full name of the li-
censee. The license shall be kept conspicu-
ously posted in the place of business of the
licensee and shall not be transferable or as-
signable. [Amended by 1955 c.71 §6]

125170  [Repealed by 1955 ¢.71 §17]

%25.180 Annual fee. Every licensee, on
or before December 15 of each year, shall
pay to the licensing official the annual li-
cense fee of $150 for the next succeeding cal-
endar year. [Amended by 1955 c.71 §71

725190 Annual report of licensee; re-
capitulation by licensing official. Every
licensee between February 1 and March 1 of
each year shall file a report with the licens-
ing official giving such relevant information
as the licensing official reasonably may re-
quire concerning the business and operations
during the preceding calendar year of each
licensed place of business conducted by the
licensee within the state. The report shall
be made under oath and shall be in the
form prescribed by the licensing official,
who shall make and publish annually a
recapitulation of such reports. [Amended by
1955 .71 §8]

725.200 False entries and statements
prohibited. No licensee or any agent, mem-
ber, officer or employe thereof or any other
person shall make or cause to be made any
false entry or statement in any record or

in any report filed with the licensing official
calculated to deceive any person.

725.210 Additional licenses to same
applicant. No licensee shall transact any
business within the scope of this chapter
except under the name and at the place of
business named in his license. The licensing
official may issue more than one license to
the same licensee upon his compliance with
all the provisions of this chapter governing
an original issuance of a license for each
such additional license. However, each addi-
tional license shall be for a separate and
distinet place of business for making and
completing loans as provided in this chapter.

725.220 Change of place of business.
(1) Whenever a licensee wishes to change
his place of business to another location
within the same city or town, he shall sub-
mit written notice thereof, together with his
license, to the licensing official. If the licens-
ing official, upon investigation, finds that al-
lowing the licensee to engage in business at
the proposed new location will promote the
convenience and advantage of the commun-
ity in which the proposed new location of the
business is situated, he shall amend the li-
cense of the licensee to reflect the new lo-
cation, and shall return the amended license
to the licensee. If the licensing official dis-
approves the proposed new location of the
business, he shall indorse on the notice of
the licensee the word “Disapproved,” im-
mediately advise the licensee by registered
mail of such disapproval and return the li-
cense unchanged to the licensee. The licensee
may appeal from such disapproval in the
manner provided in ORS 725.150. .

(2) No change in the place of business
of a licensee to a location outside the city or
town named in the original license shall be
permitted under the same license. [Amended
by 1955 ¢.71 §9]

725.230 Revocation and suspension of
licenses. (1) The licensing official may re-
voke any license under this chapter upon
10 days’ notice to the licensee stating the
contemplated action and in general the
grounds therefor and upon reasonable
opportunity for a hearing in connection
therewith, if he finds that:

(a) The licensee has failed to.pay the
annual license fee or to comply with any
demand, ruling or requirement of the licens-
ing official lawfully made pursuant to and
within the authority of this chapter or to
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comply with the provisions of law to keep
the corporation in good standing if such
licensee is a corporation;

(b) The licensee has violated any pro-
visions of this chapter or any rule or regu-
lation lawfully made by the licensing official
under and within the authority of this
chapter; or

(¢) Any fact or condition exists which,
if it had existed at the time of the original
application for such license, clearly would
have warranted the licensing official in re-
fusing originally to issue such license.

(2) The licensing official may, without
notice or hearing, suspend any license for
a period not exceeding 30 days, pending
investigation.

(3) The licensing official may revoke or
suspend only the particular license with
respect to which grounds for revocation or
suspension may occur or exist, or, if he finds
that such grounds for revocation or suspen-
sion are of general application to all offices
or to more than one office operated by a
licensee, he may revoke or suspend all the
licenses or such number of licenses issued
to the licensee as the grounds for revocation
or suspension apply to, as the case may be.
[Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §10]

725.240 Notice of revecation; appeal.
Whenever the licensing official revokes a
license issued pursuant to this chapter, he
shall notify the licensee to that effect by
registered mail. The notice shall state the
reasons or grounds supporting the revoca-
tion of the license. The revocation shall be
effective as of the date of mailing of the
notice and the licensee shall thereupon sur-
render his license to the licensing official.
The licensee shall have the right of appeal
from the decision to the circuit court for
the county in which his place of business
is located. However, the appeal must be
taken within 30 days from the date of
mailing.

725.250 Surrender of licemse. Any li-
censee may surrender any license issued to
him by delivering written notice to the
licensing official that he thereby surrenders
such license, but such surrender shall not
affect the licensee’s civil or criminal liability
for acts committed prior to the surrender.

725.260 Expiration of license; effect of
expiration, revocation or surrender. The
revocation, suspension or surrender of any
license shall not impair or affect the rights

or obligations of any pre-existing lawful con-
tract between the licensee and any borrower.
{Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §11]

725270 Reinstatement of revoked li-
cense; fee. The licensing official may rein-
state any revoked license upon the licensee’s
compliance with the provisions of law or
any demand, ruling or requirement lawfully
made by the licensing official pursuant to
and within the authority of this chapter.
For such reinstatement of license the licensee
shall pay a fee of $25.

725.280 to 725.300 [Reserved for expan-
sion]

725.310 Investigation and examination
of licensees. (1) For the purpose of dis-
covering violations of this chapter or secur-
ing information lawfully required by him
under this chapter the licensing official may
at any time, either personally or by a duly
appointed examiner or deputy, investigate
the loans and business and examine the
books, accounts, records and files used there-
in, of every licensee and of every person
who he has reason to believe is making loans
in amounts of $1,500 or less, at a rate of
interest in excess of 10 percent per annum,
whether such person acts or claims to act
as principal or agent or under or without
the authority of this chapter. For such pur-
pose the licensing official or his duly
appointed examiner or deputy shall have
free access to the place of business, books,
accounts, safes and vaults of all such per-
sons. The licensing official or his duly
appointed examiner or deputy shall have
authority to examine under oath all persons
whose testimony he may require relative to
such loans or business.

(2) The licensing official may cause an
examination to be made by a duly appointed
examiner or deputy of the loans and busi-
ness, books, accounts, records and files of
each licensee under this chapter without
previous notice to the licensee and at such
intervals as the licensing official may deem
advisable or expedient and not less often
than once a year. The actual cost of each
examination, or the sum of $20, whichever
is larger, shall be paid to the licensing offi-
cial for the State Banking Fund by every
licensee so examined. The licensing official
may maintain an action for the recovery
of such costs in any court of competent
jurisdiction. [Amended by 1955 ¢.71 §12]
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%25.320 Rules and regulations. (1) The
licensing official may make such general
rules and regulations and such specific rul-
ings, demands and findings as may be
necessary for the proper conduct of the
business regulated by this chapter and the
enforcement of this chapter in addition to
and not inconsistent with this chapter.

(2) All general rules and regulations
shall be filed by the licensing official with
the State Banking Department in an indexed,
permanent book, with the effective date
thereof suitably indicated, and such book
shall be a public record. A copy of every
general rule and regulation shall be mailed
by the licensing official to all licensees at
their respective licensed places of business
at least 10 days before the effective date
thereof.

v25.330 Licensee’s books and records.
Subject to the provisions of this chapter,
the licensing official may prescribe the form
of the books and records to be kept by the
licensee. All such books and records shall
be preserved and available for at least two
years after making the final entry on any
loan recorded therein.

v25.340 Limitations on interest and
other charges. (1) No licensee shall charge,
contract for or receive any interest or con-
gideration for loans, secured or unsecured,
made to any one person in the aggregate
sum of $1,500 or less, at a greater rate
than three percent per month on that part
of the unpaid principal balance not in excess
of $300, two percent per month on that part
of the unpaid principal balance in excess of
$300 but not in excess of $500, and one per-
cent per month on that part of the unpaid
principal balance in excess of $500 but not
in excess of $1,500.

(2) No interest or consideration charged,
contracted for or received by any licensee
shall be compounded and no amount of
interest whatsoever shall be deducted or
received in advance. In addition to such
interest or charge no further or other charge
or amount whatsoever shall be directly or
indirectly charged, contracted for or re-
ceived for any examination, appraisal, in-
vestigation, service, brokerage, commission,
expense, fee or bonus or other thing or
otherwise, except:

(a) Fees actually and necessarily paid
out by the licensee to any public officer for
filing or recording or releasing in any public

office any instrument securing the loan,
which fees may be collected when the loan is
made or at any time thereafter. However, if
such fees are not so paid out within 30 days
after being charged or received, the licensee
shall lose all right thereto and shall return
them to the borrower or apply them toward
the payment of the borrower’s debt to the
licensee.

(b) Insurance premiums actually paid
out by the licensee to any insurance com-
pany or agent duly licensed and authorized
to do business in this state for insurance for
the protection and benefit of the borrower
written in connection with any loan.

(c) Taxable costs and disbursements to
which the licensee may become entitled as
provided by law in connection with any ac-
tion, suit or proceeding to collect a loan or
to realize on a security after default.

(3) Any loan made by any licensee for
which a greater rate of interest or considera-
tion than is permitted by this section has
been charged, contracted for or received
shall be void and the licensee shall forfeit
the right to collect or receive any principal,
interest or charges whatsoever on such loan
and shall return to the borrower free from
the licensee’s lien any collateral security
which the borrower may have deposited with
the licensee and release any lien taken to
secure such loan and such lien shall be void.

(4) No licensee shall induce or permit
any person, nor any husband and wife joint-
ly or severally, to become obligated, directly
or contingently or both, under more than
one contract of loan at the same time, for the
purpose or with the result of obtaining a
higher rate of interest or other charge than
would otherwise be permitted by this section.

(5) No licensee shall directly or indi-
rectly charge, contract for or receive any
interest or consideration at a greater rate
than 10 percent per annum for any part or
all of any indebtedness for principal under
one or more loan contracts which exceed
$1,500 in the aggregate, owed directly or
contingently or both by any person as bor-
rower, as indorser, guarantor or surety for
any borrower, or otherwise, or by any hus-
band and wife jointly or severally. [Amended
by 1955 ¢.71 §13]

"25.350 Assignment of wages. For the
purpose of this chapter, the payment or the
advance of money or any other thing of
value as consideration for any assignment
or order for the payment of any salary,
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wages or other compensation for services,
whether earned or to be earned, shall be
deemed a loan secured by such assignment
or order. The amount by which such as-
signed compensation exceeds the amount of
such consideration actually paid shall be
deemed interest or charges upon such loan
from the date of such payment to the date
such compensation is payable. No assign-
ment of or order for the payment of any
such compensation, whether earned or to be
earned, given to secure any loan by any
licensee under this chapter, shall be valid
unless the amount of such loan is paid to
the borrower simultaneously with its execu-
tion. Under any such assignment or order
for the payment of future salary, wages,
commissions or other compensation for serv-
ices given as security for a loan made by
any licensee under this chapter, a sum not
exceeding’ ‘10 percent of the borrower’s
salary, wages, commissions or other com-
pensation "for services shall be collectible

from the employer of the borrower by the

licensee at the time of each payment to the
borrower of such salary, wages, commissions
or other compensation for services from the
date that a copy of such assignment, verified
by the oath of the licensee, or his agent,
together with a similarly verified statement
of the amount unpaid upon such loan is
served upon the employer.

725.360 Licensee’s duty toward bor-
rowers. Every licensee shall:

(1) Deliver to the borrower at the time
any loan is made a statement in the English
language showing in clear and distinct
terms:

(a) The name and address of the bor-
rower and of the licensee.

(b) The amount and the date of the loan
and of its maturity or terms of payment.

(c) The rate of interest agreed upon
or consideration to be charged therefor.

(d) The nature of the security for the
loan, if a lien on personal property has been
taken by chattel mortgage, bill of sale,
assignment of wages, salaries or other com-
pensation, collateral agreement or otherwise.

(2) Give to the borrower a plain and
complete receipt for all payments made on
account of any such loan at the time such
payments are received by the licensee, speci-
fying the amount applied to interest, if any,
the date to which the interest is paid, the
amount applied to principal, if any, and the

unpaid principal balance of such loan, if
any remains.

(3) Permit payment to be made in ad-
vance in any amount on any loan at any
time.

(4) Upon repayment of the loan in full
or upon renewal thereof, mark indelibly such
obligation signed by the borrower with the
word “Paid” or “Renewed”; and in the case
of repayment in full shall release any mort-
gage, restore any security or collateral,
return any assignment given by the bor-
rower and return to him the eanceled note
evidencing the loan.

725.370 Effect of conviction of charg-
ing excessive interest. If any licensee or
agent, member, officer or employe there-
of or any other person is convicted by a
court of competent jurisdiction of having
charged, contracted for or received any
interest, fees or other charges in excess of
those permitted by this chapter, then any
such loan shall be void. The licensee shall
forfeit the right to collect or receive any
principal, interest or charges whatsoever
on such loan. He shall upon order of the
court return to the borrower free from the
licensee’s lien any collateral security which
the borrower may have deposited with the
licensee, release any lien taken to secure
such loan and shall pay into the county
school fund of the county wherein the loan
was made all payments of principal and in-
terest and all fees or other charges pre-
viously collected under such loan. However,
loans made or payable in other jurisdictions
and lawful where made or payable, shall
not be affected by this chapter.

725.380 Duties of district attorney in
relation to Small Loans Act. The district
attorney of the judicial district in which the
place of business of the licensee is located,
upon receipt of written advice from the
licensing official relative to any violations
of this chapter which are subject to penal-
ties prescribed in ORS 725.990, shall imme-
diately investigate such violation and in-
stitute proceedings to enforce the provisions
of the law. The cost of all such investigations
and proceedings shall be paid by the county
in the same ‘manner as in other criminal
procedures. The district attorney shall rep-
resent the licensing official in all cases where
an appeal is taken under the provisions of
this chapter.
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725.990 Penalties. (1) Violation, or par-
ticipation in the violation, of ORS 725.030,
725.050, 725.060, 725.200 to 725.220, 725.340
or 725.350 is punishable, upon conviction, by
a fine of not less than $100 nor more than
$1,000 or by imprisonment in the county jail
for not less than one month nor more than
one year, or both.

(2) Upon conviction under subsection
(1) of this section, no license shall be
granted to such person, nor to the husband
or wife of such person, nor to any partner-
ship or association of which he is an agent
or member until two years after the date
of such conviction.
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