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NOTARIES PUBLIC AND COMMISSIONERS § 194.090

NOTARIES PUBLIC AND
COMMISSIONERS

194.010 Appointment of notary public;
qualifications; office deemed nonlucrative
upon waiver of fees. The Governor shall ap-
point in each county of the state one or more
notaries public who shall hold their offices
for the term of four years from the date of
their appointment, unless sooner removed
by the Governor. A notary public may act
by virtue of his office throughout the state.
Every person appointed as a notary public
must, at the time of appointment, be 21
years of age and a citizen of the United
States and of Oregon. Every notary public
may file with the Secretary of State a state-
ment waiving the fees prescribed in ORS
194.160; and in each such case the office
of notary public shall be deemed nonlucra-
tive.

194.020 Fees for notarial commission;

duty of Secretary of State. Every applicant’

for appointment as a notary public shall
pay in advance to the Secretary of State
for the benefit of the State Treasury a fee
of $5, which shall include affixing the seal
of state to his commission, and an additional
fee of $1 for the benefit of the county treas-

. ury of the county wherein the notary public

resides, for recording the commission. The
Governor, upon the appointment of a notary
public, shall deliver the commission to the
Secretary of State, who shall, after the re-
ceipt and approval of the appointee’s bond,
oath of office and the seal impression, as
provided by ORS 194.030, transmit the com-
mission, with the fee of $1, to the county
clerk of the county wherein the notary pub-
lic resides.

194.030 Notary’s seal; impression of
seal, oath and bond to be deposited with
Secretary of State. Every notary publie, be-
fore he enters upon the duties of his office,
shall provide an official seal, and deposit
an impression of the same, together with
the oath and bond, in the office of the Sec-
retary of State.

194.040 County “record of notaries pub-
lic”’; county clerk’s power to certify notary’s
status and acts. (1) The county clerk shall
keep a book of suitable dimensions, to be
called “Record of Notaries Public,” and up-
on receiving the commission shall record it
in said book and promptly forward the com-
mission to the appointee. The appointee
shall upon receipt of the commission imme-

diately send his official signature and an
impression of his official seal to the county
clerk upon a blank form provided by the
county clerk for that purpose. The county
clerk is thereupon authorized to certify as
to the official character of such notary pub-
lic and the genuineness of his signature and
seal upon all instruments requiring such cer-
tificates, and as to whether such instru-
ments are executed according to the laws
of Oregon.

(2) Any notary public may record his
commission in the office of the county clerk
in any county in this state.

194.050 Oath; bond. Each notary public,
before he enters upon the duties of his of-
fice, shall take an oath to support the con-
stitution and laws of the United States and
of the State of Oregon, and to faithfully
discharge the duties of his office, and shall
give, subject to approval by the Governor,
a bond to the State of Oregon, with suffi-
cient surety, in the penal sum of $500, con-
ditioned for the faithful discharge of the-
duties of his office.

194.060 Date of expiration of notarial
commission to be shown on instruments ex-
ecuted before notary. Each notary public
shall, on all instruments executed by and
before him in his official capacity, write or
stamp after his signature the date of ex-
piration of his commission.

194.070 Protesting commercial paper;
notice to makers and indorsers. Each notary
public who protests any bill of exchange,
promissory note or other written instru-
ment for nonacceptance or nonpayment
shall give notice thereof to the maker and
each indorser of a bill of exchange, and to
the maker or makers of, and each security
or indorser of any promissory note, or othér
written instrument, immediately after such
protest is made.

194.080 Notice to persons protested
against. Each notary public shall personally
serve the notice of protest upon the persons
protested against if they reside within two
miles of the residence of such notary public;
but if such persons reside more than two
miles from such residence, the notice may
be forwarded by mail or other safe convey-
ance.

194.090 Record of notices; effect as evi-
dence. Each notary public shall keep a rec-
ord of all notices of protest, the time and
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manner in which they were served, the
names of all the parties to whom the notices
were directed and the description and
amount of the instrument protested. Such
record is competent evidence to prove such
notices, in any trial before any court in this
state where proof of such notice becomes
requisite.

194.100 Powers of notary connected
with business organizations; limitations. (1)
Any notary public-who is a stockholder, di-
rector, officer or employe of a bank or trust
company or other corporation may take the
acknowledgment of any party to any writ-
ten instrument executed to or by such cor-
poration, administer an oath to any other
stockholder, director, officer, employe or
agent of such corporation, or protest for
nonacceptance or nonpayment bills of ex-
change, drafts, checks, notes and other ne-
gotiable instruments which are owned or
held for collection by such corporation.

(2) No notary public shall take the ac-
- knowledgment of an instrument executed
by or to a bank or trust company or other
corporation of which he is a stockholder,
director, officer or employe, where the no-
tary is a party to such instrument, either
individually or as a representative of such
corporation, nor shall he protest any nego-
tiable instrument owned or held for collec-
tion by such corporation, where the.notary
is individually a party to the instrument.

194.110 Power to take acknowledgment.
Notaries public may take acknowledgments
of deeds.

194.120 Faith and credit given acts of
notary. Full faith and credit shall be given
to all the protestations, attestations and
other instruments of publication of all no-
taries public, now in office or hereafter ap-
pointed under ORS 194.010.

194.130 Disposition of notary’s records
on vacancy in office; destruction, deface-
ment or concealment of records; penalties
and liability. (1) Whenever the office of any
notary public becomes vacant, the records
of the notary public, together with all the
papers relating to the office, shall be de-
posited in the office of the county clerk of
the county in which the notary public re-
sides. Any notary public neglecting for the
space of three months after his resignation
or removal from office to deposit such rec-
ords and papers in the clerk’s office as afore-

said, or any executor or administrator of
any deceased notary public neglecting for
the space of three months after the accept-
ance of that trust to lodge in the clerk’s of-
fice such records and papers as aforesaid
which come into his hands, shall forfeit and
pay a sum not less than $50 nor more than
$500.

(2) If any person knowingly destroys,
defaces or conceals any records or papers of
any notary public, he shall forfeit and pay
a sum not less than $50 nor more than $500,
and shall be, moreover, liable to an action for
damages by the party injured.

194140 County clerks to keep the no-
taries’ records and papers deposited in his
office and to furnish attested copies; effect of
copies. Each county clerk shall receive and
keep safe all the records and papers directed
by this chapter to be deposited in his office
and shall give attested copies of any of the

* records or papers when required. Copies so

given by the clerk are as valid as if given
by the notaries public.

194.150 Recovery of forfeitures. All
forfeitures under ORS 194.130 shall be, one-
half to the use of this state and the other
half to 'the person who sues for the same,
and shall be recovered in a civil action in any *
court having jurisdiction of the same in the
county where the notary public resides.

194.160 Schedule of notary fees. The
fees of notaries public shall be as follows:

(1) For every protest of a bill of ex-
change or promissory note, $1.

(2) Attesting any written instrument
and seal, $1.

(3) Noting a bill of exchange or prom-
issory note for nonacceptance or nonpay-
ment, $1.

(4) Registering protest of bill of ex-
change, $1.

(6) Certifying and taking an affidavit,
and all certificates under seal, $1. .

(6) Taking the acknowledgment of any
deed or other instrument of writing, $1.

(7) Making and taking proof of any le-
gal instrument, for each folio, 25 cents.

(8) For taking depositions, each folio,
25 cents.

(9) For administering an oath, 25 cents.

(10) For protesting a bank check, for
noting a bank check for nonacceptance or
nonpayment and registering protest of a
bank check, $1; except that no fees shall
be allowed for noting the nonpayment of a
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check or protesting a check because of the
failure of the bank upon which the check
was written.

194.170 Mileage of notaries public. Ev-
ery notary public whose fees are prescribed
in ORS 194.160 who is required to travel in
order to execute or perform his duties as a
notary public, in addition to the fees pre-
scribed in ORS 194.160, shall be entitled to
mileage at the rate of eight cents a mile, and
no more, in going to and returning from the
place where the service is performed.

194.180 to 194.200 [Reserved for ex-
pansion]

194.210 Appointment of commissioners;
term of office; powers. The Governor may
appoint as many commissioners in each of
the other states, or in a territory of the
United States, or in the District of Columbia,
as he may deem expedient. The commis-
sioners shall hold their offices for four
years. They may, within the state, territory
or district for which they are appointed, and
not otherwise, take and certify:

(1) The proof or acknowledgment of a
conveyance of real property within this
state, or of any other written instrument to
be used or operate therein.

(2) The acknowledgment of satisfaction
of any judgment or decree of a court of this
state.

(3) An affidavit or deposition to be used
in any court of justice or before any judicial
officer of this state.

The commissioners may also exercise any
other power and perform any other duty
conferred or imposed upon them by statute.

194.220 Commissioner’s seal and oath
of office. A commissioner appointed under
ORS 194.210 shall, before he can exercise
the powers therein conferred:

(1) Provide himself with a seal of office,
with the arms of this state engraved in the
center thereof, and with the following in-
scription surrounding the same: “Commis-
sioner for Oregon, s the blank following
the word “Oregon’ to be filled with the name
of the state, territory or district for which
such commissioner is appointed;

(2) Take and subscribe an oath before a
judicial officer in the county, city or town
where he resides, to perform faithfully the
duties of the office of a commissioner; and

(3) File such oath and an impression of
such seal in the office of the Secretary of
State of Oregon.

194.230 to 194.300 [Reserved for expan-
sion]

194.310 False personation of notary or
commissioner of deeds and fraud or false
certificate in exercise of powers prohibited.
(1) No person shall represent to any person
that he is, or hold himself out to the public
as being entitled to.act as, a notary public
or commissioner of deeds, or assume, use or
advertise the title of notary public or com-
missioner of deeds, or equivalent terms in
any language, in such a manner as to convey
the impression that he is a notary public or
commissioner of deeds when he is not a
duly appointed, qualified and acting notary
public or commissioner of deeds.

(2) No notary public or commissioner of
deeds, in the exercise of the powers or in
the performance of the duties of such office,
shall practice any fraud or deceit, or wilfully
make any false certificate, acknowledgment
or jurat. :

194.320 Removal from office for com-
mitting prohibited acts. The clerk of the
court in which a conviction for acts prohib-
ited by ORS 194.310 is had shall forthwith
transmit to the Governor of Oregon a duly
certified copy of the judgment, which is
sufficient grounds for the removal of the
convicted notary public or commissioner of
deeds.

194.330 to 194.400 [Reserved for expan-
sion]

PERFORMANCE OF NOTARIAL ACTS BY
OFFICER OF ARMED FORCES

194.410 Notarial acts before or by com-
missioned officers in Armed Forces. In addi-
tion to acknowledgment of instruments and
performance of other notarial acts in the
manner and form as otherwise authorized
by law, instruments may be acknowledged,
documents attested, oaths and affirmations
administered, depositions and affidavits
executed, and other notarial acts performed,
before or by any commissioned officer in
active service of the Armed Forces of the
United States with the rank of second lieu-
tenant or higher in the Army or Marine
Corps, or with the rank of ensign or higher
in the Navy or Coast Guard, or with equiva-
lent rank in any other component part of the
Armed Forces of the United States, by any
person who either is a member of the Armed
Forces of the United States or is serving as
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a merchant seaman outside the continental
limits of the United States included within
the 48 states and the District of Columbia or
is outside said continental limits of the
United States by permission, assignment or
direction of any department or official of the
United States Government, in connection
with any activity pertaining to the prosecu-
tion of any war in which the United States
is then engaged.

194.420 Validation of acts; admissibility
in evidence. Such acknowledgment of instru-
ments, attestation of documents, administra-
tion of oaths and affirmations, execution of
depositions and affidavits, and performance
of other notarial acts, heretofore or here-
after made or taken, hereby are declared
legal, valid and binding, and instruments and
documents so acknowledged, authenticated,
or sworn to are admissible in evidence and
eligible to record in this state under the
same circumstances and with the same force
and effect as if made or taken within this
state before or by a duly qualified officer or
official as otherwise provided by law.

194.430 Formalifies of executing docu-
ments before commissioned officers. (1) In
taking acknowledgments and performing
other notarial acts requiring certification, a
certificate indorsed upon or attached to the
instrument or documents, which shows the
date of the notarial act and which states, in
substance, that the person appearing before
the commissioned officer acknowledged the

instrument as his act or made or signed the
instrument or document under oath, is suf-
ficient for all intents and purposes.

(2) The instrument or document is not
rendered invalid by failure to state the
place of execution or acknowledgment.

(3) If the signature, rank and branch of
service, or subdivision thereof, of any com-
missioned officer described in ORS 194.410
appears upon the instrument, document or
certificate, no further proof of the authority
of such officer so to act is required and such
action by the commissioned officer is prima
facie evidence that the person making the
oath or acknowledgment is within the pur-
view of ORS 194.410 to 194.430.

194.440 to 194.980 [Reserved for expan-
sion]

PENALTIES

194990 Penalties. (1) The Governor
may revoke the commission of any person
appointed as notary who fails to send his
official signature and an impression of his
official seal to the county clerk of his county
as required by ORS 194.040.

(2) The Governor may cancel the com-
mission of any notary public who fails to
comply with ORS 194.060.

(3) If punishment therefor is not other-
wise provided for, violation of ORS 194.310
is a misdemeanor.

CHAPTERS 195 TO 200
[Reserved for expansion]
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