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INVESTMENT CONTRACT COMPANIES

§ 731.070

%31.010 Deflmtlons in this
chapter:

(1) “Commissioner’”’ means the State In-
surance Commissioner.

(2) “Department” means the Depart-

ment of Insurance of the State of Oregon.

As used

731.020 Licensing of investment con-
tract business organizations. Except as pro-
vided in ORS 731.140, any person transact-
ing business in Oregon on a plan whereby
moneys are received in lump sums or in in-
stalments and credited upon shares, stocks,
notes, bonds, debentures, certificates or con-
tracts, or in a passbook, with a fixed or
guaranteed maturity, withdrawal, surrender
or redemption value, and whereby the pro-
ceeds are credited upon such shares, stocks,
notes, bonds, debentures, certificates or con-
tracts, or in such passbooks, shall, together
with its agents, dealers and securities, be
subject exclusively to licensing, examination
and regulation by the department in the
manner provided by ORS 736.100, 736.105,
736.120, 736.210, 736.470, 736.510, 736.515,
736.525, 736.545 to 736.565, 739.505 to
739.515 and 739.555, so far as applicable to
such business.

731.030 Capital. Any company applying
for authority to transact the business de-
fined in ORS 731.020 shall show, to the sat-
isfaction of the commissioner, if a foreign
company, that it is possessed of paid-up
capital or maintains a deposit capital in the
United States over all liabilities therein, for
the benefit of all contract holders in the
United States, of not less than $200,000 and
a surplus of not less than $100,000, or, if a
domestic company, a paid-up capital of not
less than $100,000 and a surplus of not less
than $50,000, and that it complies with the
requirements of the laws of this state relat-
ing to such paid-up capital.

731.040 Certificate of authority. If the
company has furnished evidence of its au-
thority to transact the business described in
ORS 731.020 in this state and has complied
with all the requirements of law and of the
department, the commissioner shall issue his
certificate of authority to the company. The
certificate shall continue in full force and
effect until suspended or revoked by the
commissioner.

%31.050 Suspension or revocation of cer-
tificate of authority. The certificate of au-
thority granted to such companies or to
persons may be suspended by the commis-

sioner on receipt of satisfactory evidence
that the company is financially impaired or
that the acts of the company or its agents
are contrary to the public good. The certifi-
cate of authority also may be revoked for
the same causes after due notice of com-
plaint has been given and hearing granted to
the company on such complaint.

731.060 Licensing of foreign or alien
persons. Any foreign or alien person trans-
acting a business described in ORS 731.020
may be authorized or licensed to do such
business in this state when it has:

(1) Filed with the commissioner a cer-
tified copy of its charter, articles of incor-
poration, association or partnership, and a
statement of its financial condition and busi-
ness in the United States in such form and
detail as he may require, sighed and sworn
to by at least two of its executive officers or
partners or its manager;

(2) Satisfied the commissioner that it is
fully and legally organized under the laws of
its state or government to do the business it
proposes to transact; and

(3) Met the requirements of ORS
731.030.
731.070 Bond; deposit of securities. (1)

Every foreign or alien company or person,
before engaging in the business defined in
ORS 731.020:

(a) Shall deposit with the commissioner,
as he may prescribe, either $25,000 in ap-
proved securities to be held in trust, or, in
lieu of such securities, a corporate surety
bond of the same amount payable to the
State of Oregon, such deposit or bond to be
held and conditioned upon the faithful per-
formance by such company of all contracts
and other requirements within the state; or

(b) May deposit in a bank or trust com-
pany of the state in which the company has
its principal place of business or such other
depositary or public officer of such state or
of this state as the commissioner may pre-
scribe for the benefit of the holders of such
contracts 'in Oregon, cash or securities, sat-
isfactory to the commissioner, of the total
value of not less than 100 percent of its
total liabilities, by way of withdrawal, sur-
render or loan values, on all contracts sold
or issued in this state.

(2) The bond shall be executed by a
duly licensed surety company and approved
by the commissioner, and shall continue in
full force and effect until the commissioner
receives 60 days’ written notice of its termi-
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§ 731.080

INVESTMENT CONTRACT AND MOTORISTS’ SERVICE COMPANIES

nation, which notice shall be given by the
surety company that executed such bond.

(3) Any securities or bond deposited
with the commissioner or the deposit men-
tioned in this section made by any such com-
pany likewise shall be applicable to the pay-
ment of any liability on contracts written to
residents of this state assumed by the com-
pany prior to June 14, 1941, whether the
cause of action which formed the basis of
such liability accrued before or after that
date.

731.080 Certificate of authority to for-
eign person. Upon compliance with the re-
quirement of ORS 731.060 and 731.070 and
upon payment of the fees and charges im-
posed by ORS 731.100, the commissioner
shall issue to the foreign or alien person a
certificate of authority to transact business
in this state, which, on 30 days’ notice, may
be revoked if the commissioner finds that its
condition in the United States is unsound or
its surplus of admitted assets.in the United
States over all contract liabilities pertaining
to business in the United States has not been
maintained or is less than required by ORS
731.030.

731.090 Filing of business forms.
Every company or person before receiving a
license or a renewal of license to transact
the business defined in ORS 731.020, shall
file in the office of the commissioner its ap-
plications and contract forms to be used in
the transaction of its business in this state.

731.100 Fees. Every person shall pay to
the department fees as follows:

(1) For issuing certificate of authority
to transact business, $5.

(2) For filing power of attorney in case
of corporations, $2.50.

(3) For filing annual report, $5.

(4) For annual license, $100.

(5) For annual license, resident agents,

$2.

(6) For annual license, nonresident
agents, $5.

(7) For certificate under seal of depart-
ment, $2.

(8) For copy of papers filed in depart-
ment, per folio, 25 cents.

(9) Annually on or before April 1 of
each year, a sum equal to one-tenth of one
percent of the sums received during the pre-
ceding calendar year on the securities or
contracts sold in this state, but in no case

shall such amounts be less than $250 or
more than $500.

731.110 Nonapplicability of other for-
eign corporation law. Any foreign or alien
company transacting business defined in
ORS 731.020 which has complied with the
requirements of ORS 731.020 to 731.100
shall not be subject to any other provisions
of the laws of this state relating to the ad-
mission or licensing of foreign or alien cor-
porations.

731.120 Suit by commissioner upon in-
solvency of sellers of investment contracts.
Whenever any person engaged in the busi-
ness described in ORS 731.020 and who has
deposited money, securities, or a surety bond
with the commissioner or such other deposi-
tary or public officer of the State of Oregon
as the insurance commissioner may have
prescribed, has become insolvent, the com-
missioner shall file a bill in the Marion
County Circuit Court for the benefit of the
State of Oregon, and of all claimants having
valid claims against such deposits or bonds.
In case such deposits or bonds have been de-
posited with a depositary or public officer
of the State of Oregon other than the com-
missioner, such depositary or public officer,
as the case may be, shall be a party to the
suit.

731.130 Disposition of deposits or
bonds; claims; expenses. (1) The deposits
or the proceeds of the bonds shall be distri-
buted by the court in settlement of claims
originating in Oregon for the payment of
which such deposits or bonds were made.
The deposits and the proceeds of such bonds
shall be apportioned and paid ratably by the
commissioner to all claimants whose claims
against the company have bheen proved to
the satisfaction of the commissioner and
have been approved by the court.

(2) The claims shall be in such form as
the court shall require, and notice of the
time, place and manner of the filing thereof
shall be given by the commissioner by publi-
cation in a newspaper printed and published
in the most populous county in the state at
least once each month for a period of six
months from the date of the filing of the
bill in court. All claimants having claims pay-
able from such deposits or from the pro-
ceeds of such surety bonds shall file claims
with the commissioner within the six-month
period.

(8) The expenses of publishing notice,
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§ 731.990

together with any unpaid fees and taxes due
from the depositor to the state and county
and the costs and expenses of the commis-
sioner in connection with the settlement of
the claims, are preferred claims payable
from such deposits.

(4) Any residue of any such deposits or
of the proceeds derived from any such bonds
shall be disposed of by the commissioner as
the court may direct. The commissioner and
other depositary or public officer shall
thereupon be discharged from any further
duties or responsibilities with respect there-
to.
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731.140 Application of statutes. ORS
731.020 to 731.110 and 731.990 do not apply
to banks and trust companies, insurance
companies, credit unions, industrial loan
companies or to building and loan or savings
and loan associations which were qualified
and authorized to do business under the pro-
visions of chapter III, title XXV, Oregon
Code 1930.

731.990 Penalties. Violation of any of
the provisions of ORS 731.020 to 731.100 is
a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof,
the offender, its or their officers, agents and
representatives are publishable by a fine not
exceeding $500.
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