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681.010 Definitions. As used in this
chapter, unless the context.requires other-
wise:

(1) “Abortion” means the expulsion of
the foetus at a period of uterogestation so
early that it has not acquired the power
of sustaining an independent life. It shall
be conclusively presumed for the purpose
of this chapter that the foetus has not
acquired such power earlier than 150 days
after gestation, and a disputable presump-
tion of lack of such power shall arise if the
expulsion takes place earlier than 240 days
after gestation. -

(2) “Board” means the Board of Medical
Examiners of the State of Oregon.

(3) “Fraud or misrepresentation” means:

(a) The intentional misrepresentation or
misstatement of a material fact.

(b) Concealment of or failure to make
known any material fact.

(¢) Any other means by which misinfor-
mation or a false impression is knowingly
given.

(4) “Manifestly incurable condition of
sickness, disease or injury” means one that
is declared so incurable by competent osteo-
pathic physicians and surgeons.

(5) “Unprofessional or dishonorable con-
duct” means such conduct as would not be
indulged in by an ethical osteopathic physi-
cian and surgeon, under all the circum-
stances, taking into consideration the good
of the patient, and the public, and time
and place.

681.020 Licensing of osteopaths. The
holder of a certificate issued under this
chapter shall be entitled to use the words
“Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon” to
designate his profession, and hereby is
authorized to issue any certificate which
is authorized or required from any physician
or surgeon under the laws of this state, and
shall be privileged to use anesthetics and
antiseptics.

681.030 Persons and practices not
affected. This chapter shall not be construed
to interfere with or prevent the practice of
or use of massage, Swedish movement,
physical culture, neuropathy, chiropractic,
naturopathy, or other natural methods re-
quiring the use of the hand or hands, or the
practice of osteopathy and surgery by a duly
appointed member of the resident staff, or
by an intern while actually serving as such,
in any legally incorporated osteopathic hos-

pital in this state approved for such practice
by the American Osteopathic Association.

681.040 Qualifications of applicants for
examination. (1) Any person holding a di-
ploma from an established school of osteo-
pathy, recognized as of good standing by
the Oregon Osteopathic Association, and
wherein the course of study comprises at
least four years of eight months each, shall,
upon application and the presentation of
such diploma to the State Board of Medical
Examiners and satisfying the board that he
is the legal holder thereof, be granted by
the board an examination in anatomy, physi-
ology, chemistry, surgery, bacteriology, hist-
ology, pathology, gynecology, obstetrics,
theory and practice of osteopathy and diag-
nosis.

(2) All applicants who graduate after
July 1, 1949, shall present evidence of having
completed an internship of at least one year
in a legally incorporated osteopathic hospital
which is approved for internship by the
American Osteopathic Association.

681.050 Examination fees. The fee for
the examination, which shall accompany the
application, shall be no less than $25 upon
the first application to take an examination
to practice and no less than $10 for any
subsequent application. The fee shall be paid
to the treasurer of the board and used by
the board as are the other fees received by it.

681.060 Conduct of examination; issu-
ance of certificates. (1) Except as other-
wise provided in this chapter, the examina-
tion shall be conducted in the same manner
as is prescribed by law for other examina-
tions by the board.

(2) After examination, if the same is
satisfactory, the board shall grant a license
to the applicant to practice osteopathy and
the science of healing as taught in the
branches and embraced in the subjects
covered by the examination in the State
of Oregon, which license can only be granted
by the consent of at least four members of
the board, except as provided in this chap-
ter, and the license shall be signed by the
president and secretary of the board and
attested by the seal thereof.

681.070 Certificate from national beard
in lieu of state examination. The board
may, at its discretion, accept a certificate
of successful examination issued by the
National Board of Examiners of Osteopathic
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Physicians and Surgeons in lieu of its own
examination.

681.080 Persons licensed under former
statutes. All persons who have been regu-
larly licensed to practice osteopathy in the
State of Oregon under heretofore existing
laws of this state are entitled to a license
under this chapter upon making application
therefor.

681.090 Reciprocity. In all cases where
an applicant for a license under this chapter
produces and delivers to the board a certifi-
cate from another board of medical exam-
iners appointed under the laws of any state
of the United States, which state recognizes
licenses from this state, certifying to the
fact that the person presenting the certifi-
cate is duly and well qualified to practice
osteopathy and the science of healing as
taught in the branches and embraced in
the subjects covered by the examination in
the state issuing the certificate, and the
board issuing the certificate has subjected
the applicant to a thorough examination to
ascertain these facts, such applicant may, at
the discretion of the examining board, upon
the payment of a fee of no less than $100,
and otherwise complying with the require-
ments of the laws of this state, receive from
the board a license to the same effect and
in the same form as if the examination of
the applicant was had in this state, and
shall thereupon be legally qualified to prac-
tice osteopathy and the science of healing as
taught in the branches and embraced in the
subjects covered by the examination. All ap-
plicants who graduate after July 1, 1949,
shall present evidence of having completed
an internship of at least one year in a legally
incorporated osteopathic hospital which is
approved for internship by the American
Osteopathic Association.

681.100 Annual registration certificate.
(1) Every osteopathic physician and surgeon
now or hereafter licensed to practice in this
state shall apply for annual registration, and
register annually with the board and shall
pay an annual registration fee of $10 to the
board.

(2) The application shall be made upon
a blank form, which form shall be mailed
to such persons by the secretary of the
board not later than October 15 of each
year.

(3) In the application the applicant shall
state his full name, his business and resi-

dence addresses, the date and number of
his license and such other facts for the
identification of the applicant and his license
as the board deems necessary.

(4) The application for annual registra-
tion shall be filed with the secretary of
the board on or before December 1 of each
year and shall be accompanied with the $10
registration fee.

(5) For good and sufficient reason the
board may waive the payment of the annual
registration fee for a reasonable time.

(6) On or before January 1 of each year
the secretary of the board shall mail to the
persons who have complied with this section
a certificate of annual registration, which
shall remain in effect no longer than Decem-
ber 31 of such year.

(7) Every osteopathic physician and
surgeon shall display the certificate or re-
ceipt in some conspicuous place in his office.

681.110 Failure to procure annual cer-
tificate of registration. (1) Any osteopathic
physician and surgeon licensed to practice
in this state who fails or neglects to comply
with ORS 681.100 regarding annual regis-
tration shall be notified by the secretary of
the board of his delinquency. If such person
fails or neglects to apply for registration and
accompany his application with the required
registration fees and any penalties provided
for by this chapter within 30 days after
notice of such delinquency mailed by the
secretary of the board to his last known
address, the license of such person shall
automatically be revoked.

(2) In addition to any other penalties
provided for by law, the board or the secre-
tary of the board may require that a delin-
quent licensee pay a penalty, not to exceed
$1 for each day he is delinquent, before
issuing an annual registration certificate.

(3) All moneys received by the secre-
tary from fees or penalties shall be dis-
bursed by him in carrying out and main-
taining the provisions of this chapter and
of ORS chapter 677, except as otherwise
provided by law, and the board may collect
such fees or penalties by law.

681.120 Duty of practitioner on chang-
ing location. (1) Any registered osteopathic
physician and surgeon who changes his loca-
tion during the period between any two
annual registration dates shall, before prac-
ticing in his new location, notify the secre-
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tary of the board of the change in his
location.

(2) Any osteopathic physician and sur-
geon who desires to begin to practice in this
state subsequent to January 1 in any year
shall, before beginning such practice, regis-
ter and pay the annual registration fee for
that year as provided in ORS 681.100.

(3) If any licensed osteopathic physician
and surgeon changes his residence to some
other state or country and later resumes his
residence in Oregon, his absence from the
state shall not affect the wvalidity of his
license or registration; but if he returns to
thig state after the expiration of the period
covered by his last certificate of annual
registration he shall, before resuming prac-
tice in this state, obtain a certificate of
annual registration for the year during
which he returned.

681.130 Publication of registry list. On
or before March 1 of each year the secretary
of the board shall cause to be published a
list of persons to whom certificates of
annual registration have been issued. The
list shall be arranged alphabetically, and
also by cities and towns. The names which
are added to the registry list after it has
been printed and distributed shall be report-
ed quarterly to any person upon request.

681.140 Grounds for denial or revoca-
tion of licenses. (1) The board may refuse
to grant a license to any person or may
suspend or revoke a license for any of the
following reasons:

(a) Unprofessional or dishonorable con-
duct.

(b} The procuring or aiding or abetting
in procuring an abortion unless such is done
for the relief of a woman whose health
appears in peril because of her pregnant
condition after due consultation with another
duly licensed osteopathic or medical physi-
cian and surgeon.

(c) The employing of what are popularly
known as ‘“‘cappers” or ‘“steerers.”

(d) Representing to a patient that a
manifestly incurable condition of sickness,
disease or injury can be permanently cured.

(e) The obtaining of any fee through
fraud or misrepresentation.

(f) The wilful betraying of a professional
secret.

(g) Conviction of any offense for which
the punishment may be incarceration in a
state penitentiary or in a federal prison. A

copy of the record of conviction, certified
to by the clerk of the court entering the
conviction, is conclusive evidence.

(h) Habitual or excessive use of intoxi-
cating liquor, or narcotic drugs.

(i) Fraud or misrepresentation in apply-
ing for or procuring a license to practice
in this state, or in connection with applying
for or procuring an annual registration.

(j) Making false or misleading state-
ments regarding his skill or the efficacy or
value of his medicine, treatment or remedy
in the treatment of any disease or other
abnormal condition. of the human body or
mind.

(k) Advertising in any manner, either -
in his own name or under the name of
another person, or clinic, or concern, actual
or pretended, in any newspaper, pamphlet,
circular or other written or printed paper
or document, professional superiority to or
greater skill than that possessed by fellow
osteopathic physicians and surgeons, the
restoration of ‘“lost manhood,” the treat-
ment of private diseases peculiar to men
or women, or the advertising or holding
himself out to the public in any manner as
a specialist in the diseases of the sexual
organs or the diseases caused by sexual
weakness, self abuse or excessive indulgence.

(L) Advertising or holding oneself out
to treat diseases or other abnormal condi-
tions of the human body by any secret
formula, medicine, method, treatment or
procedure.

(m) The use of any advertising in which
untruthful, improper, misleading or decep-
tive statements are made.

(n) The advertising of any medicines or
any means whereby the monthly periods of
women can be regulated, or the menses re-
established if suppressed.

(o) The impersonation of another licens-
ed practitioner or permitting or allowing any
person to use his certificate in the practice
of any system or mode of treating the sick
or afflicted.

(p) Aiding or abetting the practice of
any of the healing arts by an unlicensed
person or persons, or aiding or abetting any
person who has a license to practice any of
the healing arts to employ any method of
diagnosis or treatment not within the scope
of his license.

(q) The use of his name under the
designation ‘“Doctor” or “Dr.” or “D.O.”
or any similar designation with reference

1183



§ 681.150

OCCUPATIONS AND PROFESSIONS

to the commercial exploitation of any goods,
wares or merchandise.

(2) After the revocation of a license
the holder thereof shall not practice osteo-
pathy or obstetrics in the state.

681.150 Appeal from order of denial
or revocation. In case of the refusal or
revocation of a license by the board under
this chapter, the applicant whose applica-
tion is refused or the licentiate whose
license is revoked shall have the same right
of appeal as is by ORS 677.210 conferred
under similar instances on other applicants
and licentiates.

681.160 Appointment of osteopath to
Board of Medical Examiners. The Governor
shall appoint one person who is a reputable
practitioner of osteopathy, selected from a
number of not less than three who are
recommended by the State Osteopathic
Association, who shall be a member of the
State Board of Medical Examiners and shall
qualify in the same manner as other mem-
bers of the board. His term of office is five
years and he shall hold office until his
successor is duly appointed and qualified.

681.170
shall:
(1) Present to the Board of Medical

Unlawful practices. No person

Examiners a fraudulent or false diploma, or
one of which he is not the rightful owner,
for the purpose of procuring a license under
this chapter.

(2) File or attempt to file with the clerk
of any county in the state the license of
another as his own.

(3) Falsely personate anyone to whom a
license has been granted by the board.

(4) Practice osteopathy or obstetrics in
the state without having first obtained the
license required by this chapter.

(5) Continue to practice osteopathy or
obstetrics after the revocation of his license.

681.990 Penalties. (1) Any practicing
osteopathic physician and surgeon required
by this chapter to procure a certificate of
annual registration who fails to procure such
certificate within 90 days after the date he
is required by this chapter to obtain the
certificate is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(2) Violation of ORS 681.170 is punish-
able, upon conviction, by a fine of not less
than $50 nor more than $100, or by imprison-
ment in the county jail not less than 10 days
nor more than 90 days, or by both.

1184



